RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Five by Five
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2016 17:24:24

All right. I probably would have rated it better if the author hadn't improved this system in his Hero DxD, for supers. Since I read Hero first, it had to pale by comparison.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Five by Five
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero DxD
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2016 15:52:46

Really like the rules lite approach. Love the writing and how everything is explained in great detail. Origional rules and details that should have been done years ago. like only heroes roll, not villains option. Artwork is really good. Gives worked out percentages for how each ratng rolls. (this level trait suceeds on x% of rolls). I admit I misread theis at first and got a poor impression - my fault.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero DxD
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero DxD
by keith b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2016 20:07:03

While I am rating Hero DxD (which is unique) I would also like to give a recommendation for other gamers to check out the publisher homepage. There you will find several other free games across a variety of genres. All are free and worth checking out. On to Hero Dxd, I am a huge fan of super hero rpgs(+ other genres to a lesser degree) and also of some more rule heavy games but I am also a fan of games that can be learned very quickly and run without much thought or preperation. I am sure after one play session the players should understand the game and rules without much if any difficulty. After a couple sessions all the traits should be engrained in your mind and a game could be started anywhere any time even without the rule book or any character sheets. I have paid alot more for a lot less. Add in the dice mechanics ( sometimes a 6 or double dice are good and other times bad) along with the ace card moving from player to player giving the option of saving the day for another hero is awesome as it does nothing for you but can help another hero if they fail a roll. Seriously people it is free. why are you even thinking whether you will download or not. DO IT!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero DxD
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2016 18:09:55

Superhero RPGs are a compulsion for me, I admit. I have well, a very high percentage of them, let's say. That being said, this is one of the most original approaches to the genre that I've seen. The central dice mechanic is fresh and felxible enough to feel substantial without feeling overly complicated. You have to be willing to let go of "power intensities," "strength levels," and other such hoary old benchmarks, but once you do, the ability to make (and play) literally any superhero you can imagine shows through...and you can make that hero as quickly as you can think of them. I obvioulsy haven't had time to try this game out at the table yet, but the game seems very well set up to encourage and reward the kinds of gameplay that you'd want to see happening in a 4 color comic book style game. I can't help but wish there was a clearer "advancement path" than the one provided (spending "Triumph" points on any number of different improvements at will), as I think it would help players to create "more experienced" heroes right away with ease, but that is my only bit of criticism. Otherwise: it's excellently designed, it's well written, and it's free! Get it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five by Five
by Michael C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2014 13:10:38

Up front: I've known the author since the early 1980s and he is a friend of mine and we are now game-testing a superhero version of this system online. But having said that I enjoy this game system. It is very open ended and the GM and player have a vast sandbox in which they can work together on characters and scenarios. It's a rules-lite game that requires more imagination and less flipping through the book to see what plusses or minuses your feat actually gives you. And I like the dice system - a unique take on the usual d20. Nothing wrong with ployhedron dice, but this is a nice change of pace!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five by Five
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Five by Five
by Michael A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2014 09:27:34

I find the concept of this easy and quick system very appealing. Also liked the idea of a trouble skill. This is the original version of these rules,which I find to be better and more enjoyable than the updated version of the 5X5 system. This system sparked many ideas for future game play



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Five by Five
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2013 14:41:35

The rule book is clear and well annotated. I enjoy the system as given. Would be a great way to introduce players to role playing for the first time. The sample adventures were unique, but lacked good situations for non-combat trait use.

There is a depth to skills that is character dependent, the more skilled you are, the more likely to roll under your characters target number - much like Gurps. Where there is an automatic fail in 5x5, fails which are not automatic (a roll of the same number on both D6) can be overcome with Karma - which is generated by rolling an automatic fail.

They then flip this for skills your character is grossly unskilled (or handicapped at), rolling a double is the only way to succeed and you get a karma for making it. "[Tr] Trouble: This is something that other people seem to be able to do without much difficulty. But not you. This always gives you trouble." This strikes me as a nice way to round out a character, a hydrophobic air-man character for example, really shouldn't be attempting to swim. A vegetarian might have Trouble eating meals with any meat in them.

I enjoy the combat system, it's got a depth to it that I find missing in many role playing systems which rely on attack vs AC or another relevant static number. "The Combat Traits are: Interrupt (act before the enemy,) Attack (successfully hit the enemy,) Defend (negate the attacks of an enemy,) and Resist (shake off the effects of damage to keep fighting.)" Armor only reduces the likely hood of critical damage. However characters are not massive wound tanks as depicted in some role playing games, in 5x5 combat is harmful and threatening. Despite the simplifications and low hit points, with some of the examples presented in the game the rules provide a good format for experimentation and customization. However the rules as stated are probably best used in tightly focused scenes with a limited number of opponents rather than large amalgamations of opponents.

The magic system was a bit of a disappointment, after having enjoyed the combat section so much. Some better examples or even two samples of combat magic would have been appreciated for scope and reference. If I used this system I would think long and hard about allowing magic, perhaps adapting a more familiar setting. Attaching target numbers to a short list of spells which are supported by a few general traits comes to mind.

One detail that was over looked.

Page 13. Task Rolls has a line regarding rolls for actions without traits, which is clarified in the section Rolling Unskilled. However this section does not exist, as written. It is covered on the top of page 14 in the section All Other Tasks. But not with the exact phrasing giving on page 13.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for your feedback. I corrected the typo on page 13 ... thanks for catching that! I plan to produce various supplements for Five by Five in the future. I will give serious consideration to a magic supplement that can introduce a "real" magic system. Thanks again, for your support! (Oh, the revised doc also includes a new rule for cooperative task resolution!)
Five by Five
by Matthew H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2013 22:09:28

Five by Five is the best short game I have read in a long time. I came across this game at exactly the time I have been thinking about how The Last of Us' has changed how I think about games. Five by Five is the answer to that question. Why is that? Firstly; the basic essentials missed by so many games: Bookmarks, clear rules examples and uncluttered layout. Five by Five has all of these. Secondly; its concise! 48 pages gives me the rules, two adventures and an explanation of the math behind the rules. Nice. Thirdly; great rules! The dice mechanic is roll 2d6 and multiply, low is best. Six = 0 and is an auto success. Rolling doubles is an autofail with a side reward to offset the pain. The combat system is dynamic with interesting tactical options. Fourthly; A Trait system is wedded to a set of defined combat skills to empower characters for any genre. A Trouble Trait rewards the player for pushing their character outside the comfort zone and is an easy win for emulating genre's that can by surprisingly difficult in RPGs, eg; theI'll be back in a moment' action in survival horror. Finally; Five by Five made me wanna play it. This is the icing on the cake. Plenty of games tick some or even all of the first four boxes, few tick all of them. This is the best game I have read since STALKER RPG and I consider that game the high tide mark in game design and writing. So I give it 5 stars. It is cleverly compiled, gets to the point, has great rules, interesting character design opportunities and I want to play it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG