RPGNow.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Black Pudding #2
by Shane W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2017 10:51:39

I love every page of this zine! It's chalk full of great ideas. If your a b/x fan this is a must have. If you are not aware, it's cross compatible with a lot of OSR systems, including Labryinth Lord. Great work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Pudding #2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Black Pudding #1
by Daniel N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2017 15:33:25

Such a fun resource! So many great zines popping up lately and Black Pudding certainly makes the list as one of my favorites. It has some good humor, fun adventures and monsters. Overall a winner.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Pudding #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Black Pudding #1
by mark k. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2017 17:57:06

As the other reviewers have already said these 'zines are awesome! The humour combines with atmospheric art makes these a real pleasure to read! BTW Thanks to the Frugal DM for recommending them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Pudding #2
by mark k. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2017 17:54:04

Just like the first issue, these 'zines are awesome. The art is wicked! The humour is outstanding. These little 'zines drip with Old school goodness. I'm a fan and as long these keep coming out I will be buying them. Just Excellent!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Pudding #2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Black Pudding #1
by Thaddeus M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2016 13:48:07

Really enjoyed this 'zine well worth the small price. Good production values and well written. Looking forward to issue 2!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Pudding #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Black Pudding #1
by Kevin Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2016 19:40:46

Black Pudding #1 absolutely oozes with personality and charm (yes, I'm sorry for that one, I'll show myself out). The art style is cartoony and campy in a way reminiscent of 70s and 80s cartoons, while the rules and materials are simple and adaptable to nearly any OSR-style campaign. Overall, this is one of my favorite purchases that I have made, and I can't wait for more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Pudding #1
by David O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2016 19:43:56

This is an excellent and fun product. It makes the 16 year old in me want to play D&D (Labyrinth Lord) again. It would be great fun to run a campaign with all the classes in this zine. As fun as this is, it is a meaty product with lots and lots of play valure. I'm looking forward to more Black Pudding! How can you have any pudding if you don't eat your meat?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rabbits & Rangers
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2016 13:21:17

Wow! Great fun for all ages. A good start for youngsters to begin RPGs or just a fun night of gaming away from your regular gritty campaign. Lots of animal characters to choose from. Well worth the price. I liked the PDF so I ordered a print copy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rabbits & Rangers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rabbits & Rangers
by William W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2016 14:08:13

A really fun product for Labyrinth Lord. I've been a fan of anthropomorphic races in my RPG's going all the way back to the original edition of Gamma World. This product allows you to run an animal-centric fantasy game using the Labyrinth Lord rules. The general approach has a cartoony feel (which is alot of fun), but you can use this supplement to run more serious games as well. For $2.00 you can't beat the price. Now I'm off to go roll up a party of animal characters! I believe a print edition is in the works and I will definitely be adding the print copy to my gaming library.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Howler
by Jesse R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2016 23:08:54

I like this. It's to the point and short, with interesting encounters and a unique monster to spring on your players. I like that the area the adventure takes place in isn't some far out of the way place. It's compatible with just about any setting, published or homebrewed, and it looks easy to adapt to your rules of choice, even if it's not based on the usual dnd fare (I can see this being used for something like Torchbearer). It requires very little work from me and I think it will be easy to use at the table. It's well written, enjoyable, and while I haven't played it just yet I'm excited to run it. Good art and good layout. I'm going to keep my eye on this writer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Howler
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Winds of the Ice Forest (LL)
by Shane W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2016 16:44:34

First off I would like to say that this module is incredibly well laid out. So much so that as far as I'm concerned this module sets a new standard for "Pay What You Want". The artwork by J.V. West is not only amazing but fits perfectly within the module. That is to say the subject matter and the art go hand in hand. It has a bit of a cartooney feel that I absolutely adore, However there are shades of darkness in it as well.

The premise of the adventure is that a very nice forest has become evil, the reason why is unknown. There is a road thru the forest that is used by the general populace, travelling merchants etc. Of course it is overrun by bad guys!

There are a variety of adventure hooks & rumours to get you started wandering thru the fors

The adventure includes a new class, new monsters, new magic items and new spells! All of which are awesome. Particularly the "Barbarian" class, which IMHO is done perfect.

The adventure also includes pre generated characters.

This adventure hits everything you need to get up and running quickly. Not only that but it does things that more modules need to do: Include new things! new monsters, magic, items, and classes. Just another thing to push myself & other independent publishers to do.

One thing that I've always loved about Basic Fantasy modules, is that all the monsters hit points are pre rolled and there are nice little boxes to check off during combat. Winds Of The Ice Forest includes this as well. (THUMBS UP!).

I've decided in my infinite wisdom to create a scoring for reviews. So from hence forth reviews will be getting "Mugs Of Ale"

And this one gets 5 Mugs Of Ale! HUZZAH!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Winds of the Ice Forest (LL)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Howler
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2015 09:04:41

Sometimes you need a low level but well done party crawl adventure and the 'Howler' delivers exactly that. It strikes a nice balance between a nice evenings adventure and a full blown delve into darkness. The PC's are going to be challenged here and really rolled in with some neat little challenges. J.V. West strikes a nice balance with his maps, art, and writing. The nice part about this little adventure is the format, it comes with everything you need back written for OSRIC which means its easily adaptable to any AD&D 1st edition campaign. Coming in at just under twenty one pages this module offers some interesting challenges and some nicely written ideas to challenge a group of players. Everything is included in one concise and well put together package for easy digestion and a quick night's entertainment. The artwork is fun, the map is very well put together, and the ideas here very nicely thought out. I love the new monster type, and the challenges here mean that the players are going to have fun. The artwork throughout is very nicely thought out and goes with the author's tone for this adventure. I can't stress that this adventure is made to be a fun evening's romp through an old school dungeon. The download even comes in two consistent flavors 3.5 or the OSRIC style flavor. Can I see using this adventure with other retroclone systems? I sure can! This adventure could easily be ported over to either Fantastic Heroes and Witchery with no work at all for a low level sword and sorcery introduction adventure or for Astonishing Swordsmen and Sorcerers of Hyperborea where you don't need a total party killer but a solid adventure to introduce the concepts and conceits to a group of newer players. I would place 'The Howler' outside one of the various city states. The Howler could also be used with Labyrinth Lord Advanced or even as a science fantasy cross over adventure for the Mutant Future feature Mutants And Mazes. The potential here is really up to the DM. I love the art,the concise writing, and the potential for campaign expansion as well as using this adventure for introducing key old school elements to a campaign. Five out of five stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Howler
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Winds of the Ice Forest (LL)
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2015 00:32:39

Winds of the Ice Forrest is perfect for a romp through the wilds of a barbarian themed land. I kept thinking about some of Conan's home land's comments and of Fafnar's ice themed realm whilst clawing my way through the concise and well written text. This is a pretty nicely done Labyrinth Lord Adventure for PC's first through third level and a nice round number of PC's is going to be needed to navigate through the ins and out of this snow bound affair of a module. The maps are well done and the adventure makes excellent use of it's snow bound environs. Echoes of many old school tropes round this adventure out and it handles itself with wit and style.

Winds of The Ice Forrest is devided into parts with Entering the Forrest giving all of the basics and making good solid use of the adventures content and the set up. We've got the Ice Forrest Rumor table. A quick series of encounters with back story and set up. Hazards and boom the PC's are right in the middle of the action.
Part Two The Ice Forrest is the heart and soul of the adventure placing the PC's right into harms way and bring in some of the heavy gun monsters of the module. Here's where men and barbarians get separated. Nicely thought out and well written the authors do a fine job bring in the action with some rough and tumble encounters. Don't let the artwork fool you into comfort here. The Labyrinth Lord monsters are anlogous to their AD&D counterparts. They can easily be substituted for use with a 1st edition AD&D style take on this module. Or for use with the LL's Advanced Companion. Maps here are nice, simply designed, and straight to the point of use. The treasures seem well balanced here with an OD&D style of flavor in the offering. There are multiplicity of adventure locations woven into the fabric of the module and adventure. Part III Escape From The Forrest - Here's that one final push of nastiness and its very dangerous. Have a care right here. The Appendix are interesting with a nice little sample party thrown in. New spells which have a definitive sword and sorcery flavor. Plenty of Winter themed monsters to draw from for LL New Magic items with a wintry sword and sorcery taste to them. Another take on the Barbarian class for LL as well pretty sweetly balanced. Monster list for even more random encounter action.

I really like the cover art as well. So yeah I do think this is a module well worth picking up. A very solid offering from Random Order Creations



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Winds of the Ice Forest (LL)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Winds of the Ice Forest (LL)
by Damon D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2014 06:56:06

Winds of the Ice Forest is a winter-themed adventure module for Labyrinth Lord suited for first to third level characters, and is structured as a series of random encounters, with several possible goals and adventure hooks to get the party started. It is very unlikely that players will experience everything this adventure has to offer; there are multiple adventure hooks that each provide unique goals and NPCs, and encounters which change depending on those goals, and the order in which they are experienced.

While written as an old-school adventure, it isn't quite as unforgiving as the modules of old. There are plenty of mechanisms within the adventure that allow characters to recover hit points at a decent rate, though combat can still be very lethal if players don't use their wits, and one trap in particular will one-hit kill a first level character if used as written.

The art isn't brilliant, but provides enough flavor and detail to establish the atmosphere of the adventure. And, honestly, I find it incredibly charming, though I'm certain most would disagree with me. There is no overall map necessary for the adventure, though there are several maps detailing specific encounters, and they are well laid out and easy to read.

The one major complaint I have regards some of the magic items. One NPC in particular, when defeated, will load up the party with a variety of decently powerful magic items, which some GM's may find unsuitably powerful for a starting first-level party.

Overall, Winds of the Ice Forest is well put together adventure. The content is creative and fun, and is laid out in a neat, organized manner that makes it extremely easy to navigate. If you decide to pick up this adventure, definitely throw some dollars their way, it's highly deserved.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for the kind review, Damon. The constructive criticism is highly valuable and greatly appreciated!
Winds of the Ice Forest (LL)
by Kyrinn E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2014 11:51:25

This random-table distributed adventure is very well written and offers many more possibilities than the 20 encounters included. For the most part, they could even be run sequentially without too much strain of belief, and as random encounters, they work very well; each contributing to the overall feel of the locale and the mythology of the site.

The art is for the GM, and I found it both disarming and charming, like a wink and nod, although the adventure is not cutsie by any means. It is actually a pretty brutal and lethal adventure for lower level characters; I'd be surprised if there won't be casualties.

I urge GMs to D/L this and after reading it, go back and pay a reasonable price for this Pay-What-You-Want adventure; it is well worth the time to read, and provides a lot of play-value due to its modular structure -- any encounter can be dropped into any snowy setting or scenario.

Big Thumbs Up



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thank you, Kyrinn. I\'m happy to see that the modular set up is working for people. Your feedback is much appreciated!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG