RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
1%er - The Outlaw Motorcycle Game
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2017 13:22:45

This is a great rules light game that does exactly what it sets out to do, and adds a bunch of cussing along the way.

I am giving it four out of five stars, because I think it is lacking one thing that I would want in this game, and that is more details on motorcycle racing and chases in general. While maybe not truly neccessary for the game, I think that a neat subsystem for handling races/chases would really add focus to the game.

As an additional note, I think this game would work great for the entire sub-genre of modern gritty-cinematic street stories. In addition to outlaw bikers you could eaily play dirty cops, unlucky drug dealers, desperate street thieves and other modern noir denizens of the underside.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
1%er - The Outlaw Motorcycle Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bath Salts
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2016 21:29:10

Oh man this is way too real. I could see getting a bunch of ex-call-center employees together for a therapeutic round of it, though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bath Salts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dead Teenager RPG
by Aaron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2014 20:21:53

The following review was originally posted at Roleplayers Chronicle and can be read in its entirety at http://roleplayerschronicle.com/?p=41636.

Dead Teenager RPG is one of those beer and pretzels games that flirts with being something more. This game is based on the horror and slasher films that kept many people reading this review up late at night, because at least one of those films struck a cord, one of those films eviscerated you until it found that one thing that scares you most, and put it up on the screen for the entire world to see. Dead Teenager allows you to recreate those films at the gaming table.

DTRPG is a storytelling game, things like loot and saving the kingdom are really not part of this game, trying to survive the game and having fun however, are. This game involves the use of two decks of cards rather than dice. I prefer dice, but I see the logic in using something common like a few decks of cards. For gamers who are incarcerated, this is actually a big deal as many prison systems will not allow dice, but will allow playing cards. Might not sound like a big deal but for someone who is behind bars it is huge. The other advantage is that you can gather a group of non-gaming friends around a table at most any gathering, ask them to grab a couple of decks of cards, open the rule book, and get to playing pretty quickly.

The layout and art work in this book is top-shelf; the pages have a black background with a red blood splattered pattern on it. Most of the drawings and pictures are creepy, really creepy; each and every one fits with the theme of the book and they really add to the immersion into the horrible world that the gamers are stepping into. The title page headings are in a dripping blood font, and all of the charts are easy to read. The writing is on point while still remain casual and informative.

One thing I found interesting about this game was the self-regulating rating system the creators added into the mechanics. Well saying they are part of the mechanics is kind of flawed, but they were included and this is how they work: as a group you look over the “ratings” chart to determine what elements you do or do not want to have in your game, the ratings go from G to NC-17 just like the standard movie rating system. You don’t have to follow that chart to the letter, but it gives everyone a good idea of what the ratings mean and how much sex, drugs, and rock and roll each game will have. Any player can lower the rating towards G at any time during the game if they are uncomfortable with what is happening in the game, the only way a game may be upgraded say from R to NC-17 is by a unanimous consent from all of the players. I know some readers are saying that is a bunch of political correctness bull crap, well I would argue that games are designed to be fun and while RPGs do allow people to try things in games they wouldn’t ever in the real world, they should always be fun. This rating system lets everyone involved know what to expect and allows people to adjust the level so they can have fun. I don’t think it is a bad thing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dead Teenager RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dead Teenager RPG
by Mattias S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2014 14:13:47

While I haven't had an opportunity to actually play Dead Teenagers RPG yet, I am really looking forward to trying it out. The rules seem straightforward enough to teach them to new players without too much effort, and I imagine my gaming group will easily have enough fun with this game to make it worth the (fairly small) amount I payed for it.

I am a bit concerned that it may be just a bit too simple, though. In the first phases of the game, when establishing the session's environment and setting, almost no support at all is given to the players by the rules - everything is up to the players' imagination. While some people may like it just this way, I feel that I would have preferred to have a little more structure of one kind or another (rules, lists of suggestions, etc) to help players along. I think it would have been especially beneficial to players that are new to the rpg/storytelling world.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hello Mattias, and thank you for your purchase, and I hope that your first game of Dead Teenager goes great for you and your group! With your concern, is it regarding Establishment Scenes in Act I and Element creation?
Dude, Run!
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/08/2013 01:07:24

WHAT WORKS: A fun, light RPG-ish game that could well appeal to non gamers who are open to a little roleplaying. Price point isn't bad and the game knows it's not a deep RPG, avoiding complicated subsystems and instead settling for a quick competitive/cooperative experience. I am utterly in love with that cover.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: The game is built with the assumption of an ongoing campaign in mind, but I can't imagine ever really using it more than once or twice a year.

CONCLUSION: Dude, Run! seems like it would be a good deal of fun in the right setting. I could see busting it out annually around Halloween as a much lighter alternative to other horror games like Slasher Film, especially if you have a curious non-gamer or two willing to sit in.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2013/12/tommys-take-on-dude-run.html



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dude, Run!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

One Foot in the Grave
by Aaron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2013 08:08:10

The following review was originally posted at Roleplayers Chronicle and can be read in its entirety at http://roleplayerschronicle.com/?p=40291.

One Foot in the Grave is a comedy horror RPG by Creepy Doll Studios and it is far from decaying or even dying, even when the PCs are “guests” at an Assisted Living Facility or (ALF). That’s right, you didn’t misread it; you play an elderly person who is trapped in an ALF that has just been infested with zombies thanks to a sick and often caught sleeping employee who had a fight with a hobo on his way into work. The characters must kill all of the zombies, or find the security guard who has the pass key to escape the ALF. The only problem is that he is convinced that everyone in the building is a zombie. Grab some, okay a lot, of d6s and let the fun begin.

Talk about 52 pages of fun! Creepy Doll Studios has managed to create a very legitimate, and really fun beer and pretzels type game. I’ve played and reviewed plenty of gimmick games, some work really well but the vast majority fall flat on their faces and end up being a huge waste of time. One Foot in the Grave is easy to learn and quick to play. Because it is a location based game, the Event Coordinator (EC) doesn’t have to come up with endless maps or even building plans; the building plans might be helpful, but with very little prep time this game can be fun and started quickly.

The cover of this book is great – the subdued zombie, green splattered with black sets the mood. Throw in a zombie, some well thought out text and you have a simple yet highly effective game book cover. Throw in the Creepy Doll Studios Logo in the top right corner and the entire package comes in at just right. The layout is fairly standard and most of the interior art is black and white silhouettes. Creepy Doll Studios isn’t a big publisher, however I feel like they know their limits and produced a clean looking book that still tells the story they want to tell. They stayed within their means and in this case less was more, and more importantly, more felt right.

[Read more at Roleplayers Chronicle]



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Foot in the Grave
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dude, Run!
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/13/2013 12:07:49

A delightful send-up of the 'real paranormal' investigation shows that frequent the airwaves, a mix of role-playing and near boardgame which pits the players' Investigators against each other and the cold hard light of day provided by the GM or Skeptic.

The base concept is simple - the Investigators visit a suitable location and stuff happens. It is up to them to come up with suitable paranormal explanations for everything that happens, gather supporting evidence... and try not to scare themselves silly in the process.

As the game is supposed to last around two hours, gameplay is of necessity a bit mechanical. There is an initial call for investigation - hunters saying that they have spotted Bigfoot or someone saying that their house is haunted - and once the characters turn up there are hotspots to investigate and weird events (or are they?) to explain by collecting evidence.

The mechanics are fairly straightforwards although not completely intuitive. The wilder the explanations that the players come up with the better, though, as long as they can tie them in to their observations and the evidence that they have collected. However, play may become a bit mechanical as it is very reliant on rolling dice: this concept is possibly better played more freeform - provided your group is able to agree. Die-rolling is good for settling arguments, after all.

There is a useful summary of different kinds of paranormal events and creatures to draw upon both when constructing the setting and when trying to interpret the evidence. To round the whole thing off, there is a complete investigation episode to get you started.

Good fun but a bit mechanical in the actual playing out of the game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dude, Run!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

One Foot in the Grave
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/13/2013 11:08:31

OK, this is different. There are plenty of zombie games around, but in this one the live humans fending them off are... wait for it... senior citizens! Will their zimmer-frame assisted dodder be faster than a zombie shuffle?

The set up is simple. The seniors are residents in an assisted-living facility, and have decided that watching TV is more interesting than playing bingo. Then one of the aides turns up, having been attacked by zombies on the way to work, and things start to get lively...

The game system is simple too. It is turn-based, with both zombies and seniors having but one action per turn. Neither is capable of moving fast enough to do more than that. For this is a game in which the physical limitations that accompany old age play a major part - doing anything is tiring for the seniors and so they have to portion out their energy carefully to survive. Worse, virtually nothing comes with automatic success. Young whipper-snappers may be able to scamper upstairs without a thought, but even the simple things can be a challenge once you get old enough.

The task resolution system uses handfulls of dice (all D6s), and includes a neat mishap mechanism - a roll of 1 on a special 'Ooops!' die which can result in anything from the urgent need for a bathroom break to mishearing something or falling over.

There is also a creative use of bingo cards - a roll that comes up all sixes allows the player involved to roll two dice to generate a number, and everyone checks their bingo cards for that number. If in the course of the game anyone fills a row (horizontal, vertical or diagonal) they call BINGO and at that point the military storm the building and kills everybody - zombies and seniors alike - apart from whoever called BINGO.

All this explained, next we find out how to create our Senior characters. That's quite straightforward and descriptive. There is a similar and even more simple section for the GM that explains how the zombies function. A word or two about the assisted living facility, and you are good to go.

Neat concept, nicely executed. Some - perhaps older gamers or those who have elderly relatives - may find it a little distasteful, but it's fun if you don't take it all too seriously... and after all, not everyone who encounters a zombie horde is going to be a combat-ready sprinter!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Foot in the Grave
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG