RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Play Your Character Like A Fucking Boss
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2017 21:00:24

Play Your Character like a Fucking Boss is the latest title from Venger Satanis and is his book end to his other work How To Game Master like a Fucking Boss. Clocking in at about fifteen pages this book is really geared towards OSR style players, well mostly. What this book is actually is a primer or manifesto for Venger's wit and wisdom when it comes to his style of gaming for the player. So what your getting is a primer for the player's side of the screen. The cover is pretty awesome with a Venger style wizard taming his three headed dragon and yeah the cover is boss. The advice inside is as well for players up to a point, the break down here is the finer points of this book is the fact that at certain levels its not really a primer for players. But a set of guidelines for smoother play & more cooperation between dungeon masters & the players. It has more between its pages then a simple review of it can kinda of encompass. There are some ideas for PC guidelines, quick idea backgrounds, how to approach both both play at the table, and how to deal with the dungeon master at your table. All of this is done with Venger's usual unique take. It kinda boils down like this. Without the players you don't have a game & its really not about being a complete jerk. Talking & having complete communication across the table is key here. Which basically makes this book something a look into a set of opinions, PC guidelines, & some solid advice. This isn't so much a book of incredibly awesome ideas but simple on the ground common sense. That right there makes this book far more valuable to me as a player. Do I agree with everything in this book, umm no but then I'm not meant to and neither are you as a player. Play Your Character Like A Fucking Boss is a box of chocolates in this regard. Pick and choose the pieces of advise that are in there for you.

The part about the OSR I agree with mostly but then again I don't; "Players, you have a lot more power than you realize.Banding together with common goals is the equivalent of forming a union. If I was part of this player union, my first order of business would be to find an easy, fun, rules-lite system that the majority will enjoy. I'm sure you can think of several off the top of your head, but indulge my blatant pimping… Crimson Dragon Slayer, The Outer Presence, and Alpha Blue are prime examples of simplistic yet awesome roleplaying games. On the flip-side, strong unions - when thoroughly corrupted by power - deserve to be broken. By the way, I feel the same way about strong, corrupt corporations. That's all part of the fascinating pushpull dynamic between the Game Master and players. Neither side has absolute power, and thank the gods for that, as the game would lose its fun. The second old school element I dislike is that player characters were occasionally… what's the opposite of putting something on a pedestal? Don't get me wrong, I'm all for initiation - the risk of a quick, unceremonious death comes with the old school territory. However, when you beat the odds, make the right decisions, and lady luck smiles upon your character, succeeding despite all the nasty shit the GM throws at you… I expect a fucking parade!" Which I mostly agree with but many OSR games find their own level and quite quickly. This is one of the reasons why its been easier to get players to play Dungeons and Dragons rather then Alpha Blue. This product is part manifesto and part advise primer by someone whose been in the hobby a long while. The artwork is very well done and the layout is top notch. The advise is right on target & for what it does 'Play Your Character Like A Fucking Boss' By Venger Satanis gets five out of five.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Play Your Character Like A Fucking Boss
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Play Your Character Like A Fucking Boss
by K. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2017 15:18:45

Another great fucking resource by Venger. This time, with direct advertising to sell hardcore awesomeness straight to the player.

This is a brief guide, only 15 pages in length, with 4 1/2 pages of truly gorgeous artwork that you won't find in the usual Politically Correct publications we get today. Checking the credits, some of the same artists reappear from prior publications (such as HTGMLaFB, AB, GGR, etc) which have similarly been great. Both a color version of the PDF as well as a B&W printer friendly is released. In the color version, the artwork extends to provide some pleasing color effects on the text pages which creates a high shelf professional appearance.

Of the remaining pages, you are immediately dropped into a densely packed and marvelously well written educational experience for players. Full of instant take home points, yet amazingly interwoven with interesting supporting facts and tidbits to support each individual section that make the entire document a fun read. Included, are enticing titles like "Mastering the Puppet Master", "What Kind of Man are You?", and "The Coolest Bitch in Town". Look no further than the "7 Ways to Awesome" if you only have a minute to absorb the core fundamentals. There are the common sense (which somehow isn't always 'common'?) topics of "Be Appreciative" and "Be Courteous" that similarly are presented in the most directly important manner without losing an ounce of necessity. Lastly, I really liked the last section which is a pithy two paragraphs with some advice for the Dungeon Masters (sorry, I prefer DM to GM ;).

You should pick up this concise manifesto. It is well worth the low cost of entry for a ticket into the mind of a master.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slaves of Tsathoggua
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/21/2017 05:47:51

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This adventure for Crimson Dragon Slayer (the new, d6-based version) clocks in at 16 pages, 1 page front cover, 1/2 a page editorial, leaving us with 14 1/2 pages of content, so let's take a look!

So, we begin this pdf with a d20-chart that lets you determine how much of a peasant your character is: While some of these have minor in-game effects (like being a bad gambler), they also include living in a cardboard box, having dirt on even the dirt on you, etc. In short - this can make for a fun negative-bragging at the table: "Dude, my characters is so peasant, he only has rolls 3 teeth remaining!"

The PCs thus approach the little village of Needham, witnessing a strange funeral procession - the priest seems to have died and is now carted towards a cave...after all, anyone who has entered it will thereafter be brought back there for an eternal vigil. The 8 rumors similarly seem to speak of nasty things hidden there...but the road's been long, the weather foreboding, so the adventurers will probably head towards the tavern...and here, a man is goaded into entering the cave...a fool named Atsop. Witnessing the sod enter and exit will net a nasty scene, as he exits, slime eating his body, slowly and painfully....and indeed a suicide hidden in the village's vicinity similarly enhances the foreboding atmosphere.

...and this is about as far as I can go without going into serious SPOILERS. Potential players should jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

All right, still here? Great! So, the main meat of the module represents a small dungeon crawl - the cavern complex is basically a ring of caverns around a strange machine, the scoop, which scoops up beings and deposits them inside the cave - as such, the numerous caverns to the sides of this central hub contain a variety of truly diverse encounters. The GM can resort btw. to a small d4-table to determine the desires of the respective creatures encountered. The planar instability also extends to the caverns - 12 entries of a table can allow the GM to make a cave Lovecraftian, icy, watery...etc. Similarly, a d30-table allows you to determine the weird insides of things the PCs may kill, slice open or dig into...ranging from endless bacon to small dolls with mysterious masks...so yeah, this is where the slightly gonzo weird comes in....but it retains a sinister streak. In short: It is a nice compromise between the gonzo Heavy Metal fantasy of the original Crimson Dragon Slayer and the darker aspects championed by the recent quick-play d6-based version in tone.

So that pertains the general dressing and environments - but what about the specific? Well, there would be Simon, a friendly tentacled diplomat from another dimension; there are silurians and zygothians, robots and plant monsters, faceless purple-skinned humanoids...there is a man with delusions of invulnerability, a horrible oracle who can employ emotional illusions and implant them within beings...but ultimately, in one of those side-caverns, the PCs will find a way deeper into the complex, past deadly insects and worse...oh, and if your PCs are idling, they'll meet radical anthropomorphized fruit sooner or later. And yep, these guys have a mean streak. Anyways, the PCs will probably sooner or later meet The Thing. - a horrid and very powerful entity...and past it, there looms a nugget of cosmic truth, of genocides in the past and the looming return of dread Tsathoggua...

But even if the PCs manage to survive this meat-grinder of a module (the progressive bosses have A LOT of HP), there is a handy 20-entry-table to roll regarding PTSD for surviving this insane experience. These range from drawbacks to benefits to primarily roleplaying relevant tricks.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant hiccups. Layout adheres to a nice full-color two-column standard and the pdf actually comes with a second, printer-friendly version - kudos! The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience with extensive bookmarks and the b/w-artworks featured herein are amazing original pieces. The cartography by Glynn Seal is excellent as well, though I certainly wished we got a key-less version to cut up and hand to the PCs as they go.

After the revision of Crimson Dragon Slayer hit digital shelves, I wasn't too blown away; the sample module is pretty much standard dark fantasy minus all the gonzo weirdness that made me like the original Crimson Dragon Slayer. This module would then be a synthesis of both approaches: This is very much dark and brooding fantasy and a grinder of a module, yes - but at the same time, it features quite a lot of thoroughly surreal and interesting components. The surreal aspects are more grim than before, sure - but at the same time, the module manages to sell them as both scary-weird and atmospheric, which is a feat as far as I'm concerned. In short: This is significantly better than the intro-module of for CDS's revision and feels once again like it has its very own identity. Now the module may not be a world-shaking scenario, but for the fair price point, it certainly delivers an enjoyable session of gaming. So yeah, I don't have significant complaints against this module by Venger As'Nas Satanis...and thus, my final verdict will clock in at 5 stars - If you want to play the new Crimson Dragon Slayer version, get this module to accompany it.

Endeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slaves of Tsathoggua
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Descent into the Candy Crypts
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/10/2017 04:00:18

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This module for Crimson Dragon Slayer clocks in at 14 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page inside of front cover, 2 pages of editorial,1 page back cover/Kort'thalis glyph, leaving us with 9 pages of content, so let's take a look!

The Candy Realms lie west of Valeece and are inhabited by candy people (which are also known as candles). Sounds nice, right? Well, candy people are colossal a-holes. They are totally into slavery, considering themselves to be a delightfully sweet master-race. Fruit people, also known as Fruities, have been enslaved for a while by this vile nation and only recently threw off the yoke of the candy people oppression. Turns out they consider the candy folk to be too sweet...and aren't really that much better. The big question is why the players of a Crimson Dragon Slayer game should care about that. Well, this question is answered by a d8-table.

This table includes having lost a leg to candy land-mines, having been cheated at cards by Cando Carysian, being the offspring of a dentist...you get the idea. Basically, you hate candy. Oh, and guess what. You can play the long-suppressed fruities!

There would be Strawberry Folk, who get -2 Strength and Willpower and 4 racial hit points, but have a mean streak: When you make a strawberry see red, you're doomed: 1/day, they may gain advantage on attacks for level rounds. On a 2, they attack the nearest target; on a 1 they hit themselves while thus afflicted. To nitpick: Specifying that this pertains to the attack roll would have been helpful - it's evident, but first generated some minor confusion.

Banana-men look like bananas with arms and legs and eyes...the eyes of a serial killer. They have no mouths. They get -2 to Dexterity and Charisma and have 6 racial hit points. 1/day, they can start a death stare that forces the GM to select another target when trying to attack them.

Thirdly, grapes. Grapes get -2 Strength and Constitution and 8 racial hit points. They look like anthropomorphized grapes...with a tentacle that they can 1/day you to seduce a target, making it inclined to non-violent conflict resolutions. Yeah...don't try to picture it. Grapes are purple. Tentacles, purple...leitmotif for Kort'thalis. The rules here could be slightly more precise, but as a whole, you can grasp their intent.

The module comes with conversion notes to other old-school RPGs and has a d12 "Let's make this interesting"-table for the GM: From granting laser guns to every foe, finding the necromonicon, to boys that can use wishes - basically, this is the big chaos-infusion if, at one point the GM gets bored and things are running too smoothly.

And that is as far as I can go without going into SPOILERS. Potential players should jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

All right, still around? Well, the module takes place in the Too Sweet Asylum's ruins - the place seems to have rotted from within, like a bad tooth...and below it lie the eponymous candy crypts. Within the ruins of the asylum, one can encounter ring pop wraiths, a convenient dentist (for those that abuse cotton candy healing) and fruities planning the infiltration of the compound - for below, in the candy crypts, there are fruitie prisoners to be freed. And yes, a kiwi-fruitie speaks with a New Zealand accent. Obviously. Treacherous peaches and a genius-level insane pina-colada marshmallow can also be found among the prisoners and the PCs will stumble over the dread result of candy genetic engineering...and potentially blow up if they fail to stabilize a sabotaged generator about to bust. Guards are btw., obviously, donuts and can jam you into their hole, squeezing hard for serious damage. This sentence sounds somehow so damn wrong...

Anyways, a small chocolate river contains a deadly fudge golem must be passed and there would, obviously, be the evil lolipop king with his butterscotch wizard, who has a CANDYFICATION MACHINE! Beyond this horrible threat, the gumdrop ichor, the dread peanut brittle vampire - there a copious amounts of bonkers foes. And yes, the module for a system that quotes Heavy Metal F.A.K.K. actually quotes South Park's Cat-Piss-episode quoting Heavy Metal F.A.K.K....which, I'm pretty sure is one step short of generating a referential black hole... Oh, and I should also mention the cherry light district in the crypts. 5 rooms are devoted to...yeah, there's a sugarplum faerie stripping on a pole. There is a rap battle in process. And a jello massage parlor. I'll just add my voice to the comment of the module: "You don't want to know what goes on there."

The pdf also has 4 magic items - a sword of vengeance, a lightning wand, kryptonite candy...and the amethyst ring of WTF, which ties in with the Purple Islands of Putrescence.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no serious glitches. Layout adheres to a 2-column standard and is pretty elegant. The pdf's b/w-artwork is nice, original and bonkers. The map of the complex by Glynn Seal is absolutely excellent - no player-friendly, key-less version is included, though. The pdf has no bookmarks, which constitutes a comfort-detriment.

Venger As'Nas Satanis excursion into the candy crypts left me somewhat baffled. In all my years, I have never thought I'd be typing, seriously, a review of a module wherein you play anthropomorphized fruit, duking it out with genocidal candy folk. This feels, very much, like a LSD-hallucination of a module in the sheer outré nature of the proceedings. "What happened at the gaming session today?" "Well, I got stuck in a donut and squeezed to death."

How do you rate this? Well, it's pretty much a straight dungeon-crawl regarding its structure. I can also say that this is by far the best module wherein you defeat evil anthropomorphized candy people I have read to this date. This is EXTREMELY WEIRD AND GONZO. And know what? I like it. If you strip away the weird, the module is nothing groundbreaking, but oh boy did I laugh my behind off! The rules-language aspects could be slightly more precise here and there, but that does not change that this module is more entertaining than it has, structure-wise, any right to be. Considering the pretty fair price-point, I feel justified in rating this 4.5 stars. And while I, as a person, had more fun with this than with comparable, brief dungeons and believe that wonky, bat-shit crazy stuff should be supported, the module's structure etc. is nothing mind-boggling beyond the premise. Hence, the reviewer in me demands that I round down for my official verdict.

Need something mega-gonzo? Look no further.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Descent into the Candy Crypts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The S'rulyan Vault
by Kai P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2017 19:18:20
The PDF contains a short history of the region and dungeon, original artwork by Bojan Sucevic, and several random tables for making this dungeoncrawl easier to run and more interesting. „

So says the sales text. One needs to understand that this product REALLY -just- is

  • the short history of the region and the vault
  • one map (offered in two visual styles) that may be used as a geomorph to create the dungeon
  • about one page of descriptions for four named NPC
  • about a dozen random tables (the largest a d100 table) to generate the dungeon (or: ideas to generate the dungeon). Six of these are meant to generate some random fortune telling which (quote from the product) "may or may not have any bearing upon the campaign".

To give an example of what the tables are like, I will reveal to you the first six entries of a d20 table that is titled „What is in the dungeon?“ (and is meant to be used to determine what is in a given room or corridor, I guess).

######################################################################### 1# Doom!: Anything from unkillable monsters, death rays, or crystals placed in a particular sequence that will destroy the world.

2# Trap with monster: Laser beams, falling boulders, acid splash, floor opening into abyss, dimensional doorways leading realm of giant man-eating spiders, etc.

3# Trap: Pit traps, poison needles, spiked walls closing in, paralyzing gas, chamber filling up with water, etc.

4# Monster without treasure:

5# Nothing obvious:

6# Evil humanoid NPC(s): … 1) orcs, 2) goblins, 3) dark elves, 4) lizard-men, 5) snake-men, 6) demons.

If a set of tables like this, the background ideas provided by this supplement and some really nice artwork is all you need (and ask for), you will be as pleased with this product as any of the other reviewers who gave five out of five starts for it.

I for one expected a dungeon crawl, and there are just the tools to make one. Perhaps I am unjust here, but I am a bit disappointed.

  • The resulst of the tables are to vague to me. At least, for the price I paid.
  • I would have liked some key rooms and perhaps a clear "center point" or "end point"
  • Some descriptions for monsters would have been nice instead of just ideas


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The S'rulyan Vault
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Sorry to read you were disappointed with this product. Essentially, purchasers are getting the map. That's what the original Kickstarter campaign was for. Just a big dungeon map in two different styles. But I also wanted to provide some bonus material in the form of a PDF containing random tables and a little background information. For those who assume this product is a finished cake, I understand their frustration because the accompanying PDF is only the recipe for baking a cake.
A Green Jewel They Must Possess
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/20/2016 11:09:13

An Endzeitgeist.com review

The first stand-alone module for the rules-light Outer Presence role-playing game clocks in at 11 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, leaving us with 9 pages of content, so let's take a look!

Before we dive into the meat and grit of the module, we are introduced with a 20-entry strong table of character subplots for PCs - whether en route towards a bad drug-habit, PTSD getting worse or having been diagnosed with terminal cancer, there is a stressor back in the PC's mind. It is autumn in Chicago, sometime during the 1970s and the second concept to determine would be how the PCs are aligned with Ezra Jackson, their employer in this adventure.

It is him they'll meet in a seedy restaurant...and it is here that I will need to get into SPOILERS. Potential players should jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Only GMs left? Great! Ina recent excavation in what would become Syria, a strange sphere of unknown material was unearthed; the archaeologists died due to strange circumstances and the sphere was shipped to America. Ezra opens a musty tome, Intrusions from the Outside and notes that the object may have been a present to the high priest of the Outer Gods, one Azran at-Ra. Now here's where the PCs come in - Ezra wants them to help him liberate the sphere from the Chicago Museum of Antiquities...and if the PCs seem hesitant, he'll note that another group may want the sphere...and who knows what these guys may want to do with it, right?

Now, which is pretty nice in spite of the brevity of the module, we actually get some nice information the PCs unearth via investigation and the heist. The opposition of the players would be Theta Chartreuse, a splinter group of a certain paramilitary anti-mythos organization (cough Delta Green /cough) who serves the dark; said foes may try to employ sorcery to steal it if mundane means fail. Ezra may well be killed or kidnapped, but the trail still remains and adept investigators may find out about Ezra's dark secret past...but ultimately, the trail leads to an occult bookshop, where a sorceror called Arnold Strangle may or may not remain amid the living - but the main task will be to keep the indestructible sphere out of the master of Theta Chartreuse, one nasty sorceror named Von Zos....but that leaves the issue of the dread (and lethal) sphere...so how to contain it? Well, the PCs will have to find out how themselves... have I mentioned the paintings that may generate sudden, emotional shifts? Well, there are some nice little vignettes here.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to an aesthetically-pleasing two-column standard that is pretty printer-friendly and pleasing to the eye - the slight green and blood-splotch-like stains are neat! The pdf comes with several, nice and original b/w-artworks. The pdf comes with excessive bookmarks for your convenience.

Venger As'Nas Satanis' module here builds upon the pulpy atmosphere established in "The Outer Presence" and is, actually in my book, the better module - it is more structured in its themes and narrative and tells its story well. It makes for a nice, fast-play pulp module with dark themes. Much like "The Outer Presence", it is not horror in my book, but rather a fun, pulp module that employs classic horror tropes - it's not scary, but it makes for a fun game. The module does well what it sets out to do and generates a solid atmosphere.

At the same time, the module does not do anything radically novel or beyond its usual genre tropes - it is a good module, a nice genre-piece, but do not expect to be totally blown away. My final verdict will hence clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded up to 5 for the purpose of the platform.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Green Jewel They Must Possess
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

How to Game Master like a Fucking Boss
by Chad S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2016 18:45:39

No, the title and artwork aren't family friendly. Once you get past that, it's all good stuff. I've been a game master a little over 25 years and I wish I could have given a copy of this to Much Younger Me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How to Game Master like a Fucking Boss
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

How to Game Master like a Fucking Boss
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2016 11:14:38

I bought this for myself and introduced it to my wife when she was interested in running her first game. Having read the book cover to cover she GMed a game that even veteran GMs would be jealous about.

The information in this book is insightful and is excellent food for thought for everyong wanting to run any kind of game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slippery When Wet
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2016 10:20:05

There are dark times in the galaxy when a bunch of outlaws & sleazoids are needed to take on the worst scum in the universe. This is the set up for Slippery When Wet an Alpha Blue rpg adventure which has a bit of everything from space battles to dungeon crawling. Here's the thing about Alpha Blue despite the silly/sleazy names in the adventure this is one that's tightly designed & well written. But I think that unless your ready for what Venger Satanis is trying to pull off this one isn't going to make a lot of sense unless your into the Eighties sci fi vibe of the Alpha Blue universe. This is the result of the highly successful kick starter for the Trinity of Awesomeness that Venger did back in October Here's the low down on Slippery When Wet;"This is a 4- 5 page adventure of sleazy space opera action in the 23rd century. After a large-scale assault, the PCs hitch a ride on an underwater vessel named the bearded clam. Their destination is the undersea citadel Aqua Vulva. " It's made for the Alpha Blue RPG, but will be usable with almost any sci-fi RPG of your choice. Ever wanted to play in a universe akin to Ice Pirates, Flash Gordon, Spacehunter: Adventures in the Forbidden Zone, Starchaser: The Legend of Orin, Space Balls, Heavy Metal, or some porn parody of Star Wars or Star Trek? " So what's the party of adventurers in Slippery When Wet? Well a bit of gun running, double crosses, lots of space sex, and plenty of death if your players take some very dumb risks. Slippy When Wet clocks in at about fourteen pages & there's some great cartography by Glynn Seal of Monkey Blood design. There is balance in the design work of the adventure & I don't really think that this is a beginning adventure for Alpha Blue rather this would actually be a good middle or connecting adventure for a party of experienced Alpha Blue players. Some of the menaces here are clearly very dangerous and could be retro fitted into some of the back adventures from the Alpha Blue product line. Slippery When Wet adds in myriad underwater elements to the Alpha Blue game and several minor factions to play as well. Some of these could be expanded upon to give even more nasty surprises to players as their time in the Alpha Blue universe gets underway. Several of the major Alpha Blue interstellar power blocks come on stage for the weirdness of this adventure. Remember this is an adult title so its not one for the kids!

Slippery When Wet could be used with Universal Exploits to be expanded into a full blown campaign with almost but not quite Italian Star Wars rip style weirdness throughout. This sort of an adventure is one of my favorites and my preferred way of running Alpha Blue has been with Crawljammer in the past. These two game system really work well together & Alpha Blue's Slippery When Wet fits right into the background of Crawljammer. Given the free range of the material in Alpha Blue it fits into the Dungeon Crawl Classics fanzine ethos quite nicely. There are more then enough ways of exploiting this vibe to create fully detailed DCC funnels within the Alpha Blue universe but that's a blog entry for another time.

Do I think that Slippery When Wet is worth the price of admission? In a word yes because of the fact that so many of the Alpha Blue elements are on parade & its done with the bravado and sleazy weirdness that I've come to love from the game! Grab this one and get some friends together to play in the interstellar strangeness of Alpha Blue



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slippery When Wet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Death Race: Fury Road
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2016 05:07:55

Product Review: Death Race Fury Road From Kort'thalis Publishing Cost: Free http://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/196994/Death-Race-Fury-Road

Death Race Fury Road is a simple race simulator for a race in a chaos filled world where getting there is half the fun. This is pretty good because the chance of winning the race is slim to none.

The layout of Fury Road leaves a little to be desired as it starts referencing parts of the book that you haven't read yet. That being said it is really short, so it doesn't take much time to scan and figure out.

The important thing to remember about Fury Road is it isn't about winning. IF your racer doesn't die, then you have a 15% chance of placing and "winning the race". You can only get worse odds from there. While there are lots of ways for racers to die, and even to do each other in, this isn't much incentive if you stick strictly to the rules presented in it. The booklet must assume that there are dozens of racers, as your ending roll gives you a fixed finishing place (i.e. rolling a 5 on a d20 means you finish 5th place), so no matter how many racers die, there are always 20 left, because you can come in 20th place (sucks to be you!). A simple tweak that fixes this is to have the rolls for placing be relative with the racer closest to 1 placing first and the racer closest to 20 placing last.

What the book does well is give the feel of a no rules, high octane, murder race with ADHD In which there is so much chaos involved, it might be more of an incentive for a racer to just say forget the race and come in last because they would rather hook up with that willing stranger they met on the side of the road.

I see some value in Fury Road, not for PCs but as a backdrop event that PCs can bet on. They can roll for their racers and see the outcome of chaos. It might present some interesting story hooks if players want to run down the racer who threw the race because of (fill in blank, but probably has to do with sex).

All told a decent piece of inspirational work, and you can't beat the price of free.

http://wherearemydice.blogspot.de/2016/11/product-review-death-race-fury-road.html



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Death Race: Fury Road
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Outer Presence
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/01/2016 10:41:51

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This module/system for very rules-light investigative horror clocks in at 45 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page inside of front cover, 2 pages of editorial/introduction, 2 pages of space for notes, 2 empty pages, 2 pages depicting the Kort'thalis glyph, 1 page inside of back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 33 pages of content, so let's take a look!

We begin this book with character generation, which is pretty simple - we begin with choosing a profession from a list of 20, though adding new ones is heartily encouraged. For purposes of determining cohesion and identity within the world, 10 organizations and 6 possible relationships with said organizations can be found. A total of 8 different basic motivations and drives that push the character forward are similarly included and the system also assumes that you must pick one of 20 character flaws.

This background, mostly dressing, as you may have noticed, is in service to the very simple and important design paradigm that everyone is average until proven otherwise, which ties in with conflict resolution and basically anything. The system presented is based on the VSd6-engine also employed by other books by Kort'thalis Publishing, though with a modified focus towards the subject matter at hand. To reiterate: You usually roll a dice pool of 2d6 and consult the best value. Advantages on your end let you roll 3d6, disadvantages/slim chances are represented by rolling 1d6 and the worst cases require the rolling of 2d6 and taking the worse result.

The latter is particularly important if you wish to play a "Special" character - whether you're psychic, a sorceror, an alien or other weird entity or just hard to kill, the decision to become special has a serious drawback, namely that you either must take 3 flaws...or just 1 flaw. If you elect to pursue the latter option, you, alas, suck at your background and thus reduce your dice pool for related tasks by minus 1d6...which can accrue a lot of flack fast. You see, while the backgrounds mentioned before don't look like much on paper, they are your guideline to determine what you get to do and how many dice you can roll...

Dice pool interpretation is simple: 1 is a Critical failure, 2 is a failure, 3 a partial failure, 4 a partial success, 5 a success and 6 a critical success. I'd strongly suggest going with the optional rule, which lets you change your fate when rolling doubles, allowing for quirky twists of fate. Combat is also based on the dice pool system and the respective system: Even a roll of 4 wounds your victim and 2 wounds equal being rendered unconscious; 5 already knocks the foe out in one hit and 6...well. Instakill. It doesn't take a genius to determine that combat with this system is very lethal. Here's a very important aspect, though: You do get a bonus die per session, which you may use to increase your chances of success...and each session survived nets you another one. You'll need them. Trust me.

Encountering the truly weird, i.e. the insanity-inducing, pretty much is an instant efF-U for the poor sap of a character, who rolls a d6 and may immediately be converted to basically cultist status, assume fetal catatonia, begin ranting and raving, faint, develop a phobia...or, on a roll of 6, just shake it off. Yeps, a 1 in 6 chance to remain basically in control. You won't do a lot of fighting versus the weird (without dying horribly) in this system - a general notion I like as a fan of purist Cthulhu-esque games. Similarly, killing the basically unkillable is subject to GM-fiat more than just rolls and as such, can lend itself to appropriately bleak scenarios. Initiative, just fyi, is assumed to be handled via "common sense" - which may just boil down to rolling and going by results, but whatever works for your groups is fine. After the first combat, players won't be so keen to begin one anyways...at least they won't be after some of their own have died horribly.

Anyways, this is about the extent of the rules array; told you it was simple, right?

Anyways, the bulk of the book is actually devoted to a rather significantly-sized scenario, which lends the title its name. It is set in the 1970s (obviously) and begins when Dr. Karl Steiner and his expedition-force with rival Dr. Zachary Stevenson, assistant Vanessa Hargreaves and crony/lackey Elliot Richelieu and the student Jasper Johnson is lost in New Guinea, supposedly on an anthropology trip to study the Meepie tribe (which generates associations of "meek" and "sheeple"...at least for me) a random 12-entry table lets the GM easily determine what characters were doing when they got the class, for they are off to New Guinea on behalf of Miskatonic University!

...and this is as far as I can go without diving into SPOILER-territory. Players should jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

All right, only GMs around? Great! So, basically, while the system looks like it is geared up for bleak, purist Cthulhu-style horror, the scenario herein is actually somewhat of a Frankenstein-entity, which is a good and a bad thing, as far as I'm concerned. Even in the introductory scenes at university, a missive from Steiner can be found, which bespeaks already his madness and if that alone did not send your alarm-bells a-ringin' - well, then you probably haven't see the movies and read the books I have. Anyways, the first section of this module boils down to a bow before the exploitation classics like Cannibal Holocaust...or, if you'd be more literally inclined, "Heart of Darkness", one of the most misunderstood books ever written. The travel to the Meepie tribe, is, surprisingly, glossed over for the most part, which really surprised me, considering that Heart of Darkness is all about the progressive changes and the effects on the human psyche. Anyways, you may well insert and emphasize the journey - though the association with the aforementioned exploitation flicks becomes immediately obvious upon making contact with the Meepie - who are now lorded over by Dr. Steiner as a kind of god-king, leading them ever further into depravity.

The PCs will probably want to kill the Kurtz-ian villain that Steiner has become, but this is where the weird begins - for he does not perspire, victim to his self-inflicted, own horror and psychological devolution, but rather find out that the 7-eyes beast/deity Zor'raev Tsog is protecting the bestial man. Worse, his crony Eliot is very willing to kill. Let's hope the PCs keep their composure for now, for there are things to be found in the Meepie village - Jasper's journal, for example...as well as a scroll and a weird skull...but yeah. Between the feud with another tribe, the Kahli, and Steiner's atrocities, it should be possible to slip away and move towards the temple that seems to be Steiner's obsession - if the PCs manage to not be eaten by a giant snake, they may encounter an intriguing vignette here - the mountain does contain a weird, jellyfish-like thing, worshipped as deity by local tribesmen; examined by another expedition...and hunted by a large game hunter and his team, making for an intriguing dynamic...I just wished it had a bit more room to shine for its dynamics; at just one page, it feels like a captivating insertion and one you can easily cut in e.g. the convention-circuit. I think it could carry its own module...but onwards.

The second part of the module would be the exploration of Nafu Aata, the temple of dark secrets. The complex comes with a lavish map in b/w, though no player-friendly iteration can be found. Yes. Dungeon-exploration. With these rules. PCs will die. Horribly. The complex begins by throwing giant spiders at the PCs...thereafter, the hapless fools can find a statue of Zor'raev Tsog - who is lavishly-rendered in b/w...thogh, alas, in its obvious, awakened form. Pity that we don't get the non-fool-grabbing art to show the PCs...the artwork is amazing, but now will only be used when PCs are stupid enough to tinker with it. The rest of the complex's challenges, from water to strange, star-shaped entities, are surely sufficiently diverse...and include a battle of cultists of Zor'raev Tsog and teh Outer Presence sealed within the complex - both of which arrive from strange portals, ending in a combat of laser guns versus curved, magic daggers. The finale, ultimately, deals with the horrific-insight-granting, living black tentacle-studded relic. You see, the eponymous Outer Presence and Zor'raev Tsog don't really see eye to eye regarding the extinction/enslavement of humankind. Tsoggie sounds bad...but see that cover? That's what happens if the presence isn't stopped...which is nigh impossible. Thankfully, both Meepie, mad journal, the horribly-impregnated Vanessa that can be found here or other NPCs can fill in at least a bit of the blanks here.

The pdf concludes with further adventure suggestions as well as a nice primer of Meepie words for your roleplaying edification.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant issues. Layout adheres to an easy-to-read, cleanly-presented two-column b/w-standard. The pdf sports several absolutely gorgeous b/w-artworks, including full-page ones that make for cool handouts. Cartography is excellent, though a key-less, player-friendly version would have been nice. The pdf iteration of the book has no bookmarks, which constitutes a comfort-detriment -I'd suggest getting the print-version, which has thus the upside regarding the navigation aspects.

Venger As'Nas Satanis' Outer Presence is two things - for one, it is a simple, easy to explain and grasp roleplaying system that works rather well for purist horror modules. Oddly, then, would be the fact that the system eschews this basic strength (perhaps supplemented via a bit more investigation) and instead bashes you over the head with its barrage of the weird. This book is about as subtle as a sledgehammer to the face and, to make that clear, in my book, this is about as scary as a dungeon of bones and blood.

If you expect fully developed psychological horror, the system can deliver that, though the module employing it does not - this is very much indebted to the aesthetics of exploitation movies and pulpy explorations into the weird. Reading the module, it frankly feels like a jumbled mess of themes - Apocalypse Now/Heart of Darkness/Cannibal holocaust, interlude of weird set-piece, then dungeon, which includes sudden influx of potential scifi aesthetics. If your players stop to wonder and think this through, the module may crumble under its own weight and the fact that its themes feel a bit too crowded. You don't have one theme, but a rapid oscillation of horrible things. But guess what? In play, if you maintain a proper pace, you can actually employ this strategy to maintain a sense of wonder and surprise, always keeping the players on their toes. The Outer Presence, frankly, plays much, much better than it reads.

For all intents and purposes, this shouldn't work this well, but it does...which is surprising. At the same time, you should probably generate an atmosphere that emphasizes this pulpy aesthetic: If you go the whole way with sounds, lighting and locale, the module is too inconsistent in its themes to make full use of these components. There is no linear rise of tension, but rather a rapid succession of spikes and as such, a beer-and-pretzel-environment may actually work better here and make it still feel like pulpy horror; something also emphasized by the simplicity of rules.

So, while we had a blast, I'd hesitate calling the module-portion "horror" - it features horrific themes, yes, but the engine could do the horrific better than what is presented here. That being said, this can be an incredibly fun, pulpy experience of dying in horrible ways and marveling at what's around the next corner - think of this, in theme, closer to Cthulhu meets JohnnyQuest/Indiana Jones than bleak, nihilistic cthulhiana. In my own sense of the word, this is not horror - it does not generate fear, a sense of being disturbed or the like. This startles the players, it does not frighten them.

For people looking for a psychological scenario, I'd rate this as a low 4; however, for getting a fast-paced, easy to run and prepare pulpy one-shot, this is a fun book to have and works well in the context. Thus, my final verdict will clock in at 4.5 stars...and while personally, I'd round down (since I'm very much a believer of the power of subtlety in horror, of establishing leitmotifs and themes and of some restraint being better than overkill), if you're looking for popcorn-cinema horror, this delivers in bucketloads and spades. Hence, my official verdict will round up.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Outer Presence
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Death Race: Fury Road
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2016 19:17:14

Sometimes you need a good set of Mad Max style OSR rules that can handle an interstellar cosmic or OSR wasteland race! Did I mention that Venger Satanis has been working on exactly that and its free? Shall we dive into the deep end race fans?! So I've been waxing & waning between Sword & Sorcery & my ever wasteland present muse post apocalyptic old school gaming. Then a couple of weeks ago Venger Satanis emails me about his current project Death Race Fury Road. The set up for this is pure post apocalpytic gold, I didn't have as much time as I would have liked to contribute more to the community based project. But its been birthed onto the world like new born mutant baby. Cue Thundarr The Barbarian theme music here. Man that brings back memories but not in a bad way at all, I can honestly see using these rules to inject some weirdness into a game between adventures. The PC's become drafted into some of the most insane weirdness that some wizards can draft them into especially a race of comic level strangeness. This might actually work well as a side game for Alpha Blue or Crimson Dragon Slayer. But it would actually work as a nice side support for any OSR game. I can actually see using this as a Mutant Future or Planet Mother F@#$er side support game add on. So its time to get your race on and bring your best gear down to the track, take your best pit crew, get your driving gloves on, and whatever you do don't let the Mok drive! All in Death Race Fury Road is a really nice add on for any O5R or OSR game & its something that can be used again and again because its going to be different every time because of the random tables and awesomeness! Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery Blog Want to see more independant OSR content for this and other fine products? Subscribe to http://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death Race: Fury Road
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Alpha Blue
by Kurt R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2016 23:40:42

Alpha Blue by Venger Satanis, Review by Kurt R.

Think of this as “The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas” on Sci-Fi steroids. This PDF is a Rule-set and Campaign Setting for a space station that cruises the galaxy offering Sex, Drugs and Rock-n-Roll. This is a mature and adult offering, please be advised!

After the introduction pages, 6 through 35 are how this rules-light system can be run, and a chapter on character creation. These rules are fairly straightforward and use a basic concept of dice pools of d6s with advantages and disadvantages to resolve non-combat and combat alike. These should work well for fast encounters and situations. There’s also a quick guide for OSR conversion, on page 12. There are lots of great tables for adding randomness to the game, but the table on page 30 is my favorite, because it lists, ‘Space Mountain Dew’...LOL. These tables and other references from our own time are listed throughout this eBook. Whether it’s Farscape or Doctor Who, Star Wars, or Planet of the Apes, there’s a little something for everyone, there are also tons puns all over the place Next begins the section on character creation, lots of tables for random options from occupation, fashion and alien forms and sexual fantasy and fetishes. You can go wild with these and just when you think you know what you want, other choices will show up to distract you, much like the ‘Satisfiers’ of Alpha Blue.

Pages 36 to 45 are a run-down titled, “About the Universe”, first the factions that the Space Game Master can throw at the players and then ‘Universal Phenomena’ that occur throughout the galaxies every day. These are great little snapshots about interesting and sometimes deadly things and that can add spice to your game, it’s a great list!

The Alpha Blue training manual starts at page 46 and goes to page 65, includes the life forms, men, and ‘Oh’ the women as well as mechanical bodies that inhabit the space station, including the main computer, maintenance crews, drugs and space TV stations. This is a city in space traveling around picking up beings from all over and dropping others off along the route. There’s lots of great material here, you could spend many game sessions just having your PCs exploring every nook and cranny of Alpha Blue. There’s plenty of sex for everyone on board!

The next section, pages 66 to 82 is the readout of the various sections of the Alpha Blue directory. These areas, like the medical bay, the spa, the Holodeck and the Pleasure Dome, and all the rest of the locations have write-ups about them that really flesh...heh… out the station to give it the feel of being a real place.

The next 4 pages list out some adventure starters that you can use to get your players in trouble in no time. With the next sections being, NPCs, Technology, Potential Enemies, Campaign Advice, Space Station Maps, Character sheets and Notes. I really like the Advice part, really shows you some insight for how to get your Space GM mind in the role for these adventures, but they should be treated like mini-TV series and maybe even a block-buster movie.

Overall this eBook is well thought out and should make for a great game, just for an older crowd of gamers that like to explore a new kind of space adventure. It is bookmarked throughout and should be relatively easy to print off at home or at your favorite copy shop. There’s very evocative art though the book and it’s, pretty racey, but provides a look into the station’s life and goings on. The layout is top notch, because Glynn Seal of Monkey Blood Design, took care of formatting and Cartography.

I would love to run this and play it too, so I give this 5 Blue Stars.

Disclosure: I was given a free review copy of this eBook.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alpha Blue
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A Green Jewel They Must Possess
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2016 16:00:48

Did you ever look at an adventure & think yeah there's something slightly off with that one. Yeah it makes you want to run it all the more. This is one of those adventures, A Green Jewel They Must Possess is from the prolific mind of Venger Satanis. Now is that time of year when you really need an adventure for a Saturday or Sunday night with the holidays coming up. Very few folks have the time to put something together on the spot, that's where our next adventure comes in.A Green Jewel They Must Possess From Kort'thalis Publishing clocks in at about ten pages taking place in the Early Eighties and its mostly a back handed homage to the animated film Heavy Metal. I say mostly because its actually its own beast & really wallows in its own Eighties slime filled juices more on that in a moment. A Green Jewel They Must Possess is about a compact an investigative adventure that a DM can get it clocks in at eleven pages and gets out of its own way in the first page establishing you relationship with the main protagonist in the first two minutes with a random table. "It's Chicago in autumn, nineteen seventy-something. Ezra Jackson calls one of the investigators, asking to meet at a nearby restaurant in order to talk business. He sets the meeting for 5:00pm on a Tuesday. Ezra is about 30, medium height with a medium build, long brown hair, glasses, and wears a tan corduroy jacket with brown suede patches at the elbows. He's usually quiet unless he has something to say. Ezra is ambitious, but not at the expense of his friends. He became fascinated with the occult at a young age, but never went too far down the rabbit hole. Determine which of the following suggestions explain Ezra Jackson's relationship to each investigator." The investigators or adventures meet at a local restaurant and things get weird as he sketches out the origins of the green artifact. "Ezra Jackson has a little proposition for the investigators. Ezra heard about excavation in what is now Syria - a new temple was discovered by a team of Americans, buried underneath what was considered the oldest temple discovered - until now, that is. Within this temple, the archaeologists found a sphere made of an unknown material. After touching it, the sphere began to glow green. After one of the archaeologists died under mysterious circumstances, the sphere was shipped back to America for study and eventual display. "Nothing like this has ever been seen or recorded, not only in the Middle East but any ancient civilization on earth... this is truly a unique artifact!""

Yeah that's right this is actually an occult heist adventure rather then a standard occult investigation and that marks it as both different and well executed. The black market underbelly of artifact, archaeological, smuggling, theft,murder & crime isn't something that nice rpg's like to talk about but not this adventure. Your PC's are put smack into the cross hairs of the Lovecraftian rifle scope. This adventure takes place some very nefarious & dangerous NPC characters. Something that the Outer Presence rpg adventure also takes full advantage of. So basically this puts A Green Jewel They Must Possess right into the rpg camp of Call of Cthulhu's Delta Green or Call of Cthulhu 's Eighties territory this isn't a bad thing at all. This adventure could serve as an introduction to a black market Delta Green or Call of Cthulhu campaign quite easily. The material is there to full advantage of any weird moves on the PC's part in this 'job' adventure but there is a heavy Lovecraftian or occult object here buts its not a red herring in this case. Don't forget this is a homage to the Eighty One Heavy Metal film, the green glowing artifact isn't a dead end, its a major plot element in this adventure & a very deadly one. So now the big question that everyone was recently asking me about 'A Green Jewel they must possess can it be connected to Alpha Blue or Crimson Dragon Slayer? The answer is a very easy yes! In fact with very little work, the back drop of the story could be changed to another world and the same characters could be used as sleazy and dangerous space smugglers whom the PC's have to do a job for. That's the beauty of A Jewel They Must Possess its easily adaptable for all kinds of mayhem with the PC's. The background of the Heavy Metal film gives an easy in for the PC's. One of the nice things that the Jewel They Must Possess has is a table for continuing the events after the adventure is over with. This makes continued place not only possible but campaign events can be linked into the adventure's backdrop for extended play. Seems like a simple thing to do but many adventures miss doing this. On the whole I really really enjoyed this adventure, it does what it says on the tin and creates a really nice set up for a mini campaign in the world of the Outer Presence. Not too shabby at all for a three dollar adventure. Five out of five stars in my opinion Eric Fabiaschi Sword & Stitchery Blog Want to see more support for this or other OSR systems subscribe to http://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Green Jewel They Must Possess
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Slaves of Tsathoggua
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2016 21:36:30

There's a wealth of eldritch, bizarre adventure in this relatively small package, and the tables provided are fun and useful in themselves. Both CDS 1.11 and 'classic' CDS are great games-- and there are things I prefer about the rules of classic CDS-- but in terms of setting, I'm enjoying the move towards less comedy and more Lovecraftian science-fantasy that this adventure represents.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slaves of Tsathoggua
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 106 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG