RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Rogue Trader: Drydock
by peter b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2016 12:34:09

it is cool i was happy with it i like the pdf thank you



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: Drydock
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Tome of Corruption
by Michael D. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2016 12:08:16

A Good Release, but not without Issues


I love the WarPG 2nd Edition source books. They are always written with a stunningly grounded and coherent tone that really helps the world and the setting come to life.
This book is no exception, in that it does a wonderful job getting into the nitty gritty about Chaos in the Old World, and most importantly, delving into the details that a cursory understanding of the setting might overlook.


As an example, in discussing the cults of Chaos, the book talks about the worship of Slaanesh, and how or why one might fall under his sway. The average gamer, slightly familiar with the setting, will know Slaanesh as "the perverted God", who's all about drugs, sex, and rock and roll.
The Tome of Corruption dismisses that theory, and details each of the Gods as a fleshed-out and understandable concept, which could serve as a believable point of worship for characters who don't have to be cartoon evil.


That's the best thing this book does. It discusses corruption, chaos, and the dark arts as something born out of real and believable events and concepts, and not as the cartoon enemies that they can easily be turned into. Chaos here is layered and 'realistic'. For that reason alone, I think that this book is a necessity for any GM running a campaign of WarPG. To have that understanding of Chaos will help you create motivated villains that feel even sympathetic, in some ways, rather than always having to rely on the evil cultist or beastman who just wants destruction for its own sake.


The book is a real variety show of material, from new careers, relics, plot hooks, sample cults, and even a mutation chart that requires you to roll a d1000...


My biggest complaint about this book is that like Chaos itself, it's almost incoherent in places. There were clearly deadlines looming here, because the book is rife with typos, repeated sentences, and even some formatting errors in some parts where paragraphs are switched around between subsections.
Not enough to make the book unusable, but definitely noticeable enough to dock a point from it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Tome of Corruption
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The End Of The World: Zombie Apocalypse
by Jamie S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2016 14:45:25

Such a great game, the rules were really simple to get the hang of and it led to moments of comedy and terror. We'll go and get more of these games for new experiences



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The End Of The World: Zombie Apocalypse
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Realms of Sorcery
by Michael D. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2016 15:56:47

This is one of the best RPG resource-books I've ever picked up. I was already extremely well-versed in the lore of Warhammer Fantasy, so I didn't think I would get much out of this except for an expanded collection of spells and magic items.


In that regard, this expansion does not disappoint. It just about triples the amount of spells for each of the lores in the Core Rulebok, and adds several pages of new magic items.


What I loved the most about this book, however, was just how rich and interesting the flavour of magic came across. From short stories and quotations, everything comes alive. The essence and nature of magic in the Warhammer Fantasy world have never, to my knowledge, been so thoroughly detailed, complete with excellent notations and suggestions for how to incorporate different thematic elements into your game mechanically.


To top it all off, there are very complete descriptions of each of the colleges of magic, and interesting rules for runic magic that Dwarfs can forge.


The only thing this book does not cover are the traditions and spells of the high elves, but the book itself explains very convincingly why it wouldn't have been an appropriate inclusion.


Overall, I'd recommend this for any WarPG GM, whether his group has a spellcaster or not. It will help one understand how magic operates and interacts with the game setting, and allow one to better depict the whole host of magician allies or enemies any group is likely to encounter along the way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Realms of Sorcery
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Masterwork Anthology
by Ismael A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2016 16:41:23

While this product did not impress me terribly, the premise was a noble one, and in that I think this product succeeded. This product acts as a showcase of various different D20 ideas and vignettes that are at once well written and developed. However, this product is also a teaser, and does little to satisfy either a thematic itch or a mechanically inclined one. While many of the parent products can now be found for a nominal rate, it was a bit of a hard sell to think that this book would lead to more sales, though I can't say whether the efforts paid off or not, I can only speak to my own inclinations.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Masterwork Anthology
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragonstar: Starfarer's Handbook
by Roger N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2016 08:04:44

With Starfinder just announced, we can hope this setting gets a well deserved update.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonstar: Starfarer's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

L5R- Game Master's Screen and Adventure
by Ja D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2016 03:52:18

I really would like to rate this higher, the adventure is good and the screen looks great - but the formatting for the pdf of the screen is awful. It is two pdf pages, each of which are about 4 pages wide - this doesn't allow me to actually print out and use the sheet at all so why did I buy it?


Please AEG, fix the pdf format so that it goes across 8 pages and is actually printable. I really want to rate this higher but I can't even use it as it is.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
L5R- Game Master's Screen and Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deathwatch: The Emperor Protects
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2016 16:00:00

This supplement is fantastic, three great missions to run with your kill. It has everything you need to run a small campaign with your killteam.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: The Emperor Protects
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Heresy Second Edition: Enemies Beyond
by drew l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2016 15:40:34

This book is fairly similar in format to the Enemies Within and Enemies Without, so if you are familiar with those two books then you know what to expect. There's a bunch of new worlds described with some interesting plot hooks, and some player stuff related to Ordo Malleus daemon hunters- special weapons and ammo, talents etc... It does include some new psychic powers, mostly related to demonology/summoning- I haven't looked at them too closely yet, but they seem like they would be of more use to villainous NPC psychers than PCs. That being said, an extreme radical acolyte might make use of them.


Of the three books I think that my favourite one is Enemies Without, but I like that there a lots of stat blocks for various daemons- not just Nurgle related ones (which was all we got in the Core book). I GM, so for me that is the highlight of this book, and my main reason for getting it. It should be noted that Daemons are pretty powerful RAW in 2e DH- for example the hellblades of the Bloodletters do something like 1d10+16 damage with a 5 Penetration- not sure how balanced that is. There's also rules for creating daemon princes, but I haven't had a chance to delve into those to deeply yet.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy Second Edition: Enemies Beyond
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Merchant's Guide to Rokugan
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2016 11:59:50

This book is NOT what it says on the box. In fact, the disconnect between the cover text and contents led AEG to the unusual step of offering refunds for purchasers of this book when it was first published back when it was first released in print.


People were excited about a sourcebook of gear and money and actual pricing guidelines and the like, and they were hugely angry when this failed to deliver that.


Because this is the Kolat sourcebook.


It was a total bait-and-switch, and I absolutely understand people getting upset about it.


BUT if you're planning to use the Kolat heavily in your game, I'd argue that this is a near-essential book, even for 4e (although Enemies of the Empire for 4e is good enough for a more casual overview of the conspiracy and its methods).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Merchant's Guide to Rokugan
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Heresy Second Edition: Enemies Without
by Szabolcs G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2015 09:06:54

Hello dear DH loving fans.


Enemies Without is just another proof of the company's great love and...just kidding. :)


So, after the first readout, I found some absence/deficit in useful information about the xenos. I mean c'mon, I could and CAN use the wiki pages for W40k, but I payed $20 to found this in the book. And could I? Sadly, the answer is no.


Another WTF moment was when I saw that one of the new playeable characters is a heretech. WAT?! Guys, are you serious? Why?
But after a few says I started to like the idea. A lot of folks are just hate the Empire of Man becouse they opress anything innovative. And here it is...the Heretech, whose sole reason is to be as innovative as a living being just can. Nice.


The artworks are gorgeous as always.


If the daemonic book will be as good as the first two accessory, 2nd ed will truly be the best choice instead of DH 1.0.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy Second Edition: Enemies Without
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Heresy Second Edition: Enemies Within
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2015 17:01:00

Genuinely adds a great amount to the background and also provides some interesting new character options. Only real gripe is I found some of the plot ideas they gave pretty vague and washy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy Second Edition: Enemies Within
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
by Brandon P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2015 16:32:44

I have played the system before and I am about to start another game it is really fun even though it can be quite lethal at the same time, but thats half the fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Android: Free Fall
by Brander R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2015 12:30:51

Just finished the book. I'm not at all familiar with the game so I my review is focused on the actual book.


Overall I liked it. Good detective in the near future, and a solid grasp on the technology elements. Sometimes the pacing was a little clunky, but forgivable. Worth a read.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Android: Free Fall
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Only War: Shield of Humanity
by Peter S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 00:10:51

i love this book so damn much. it truly helps in advancing characters for the game. i definitely recommend that people who play the Only War series should definitely purchase this book to better their playing experience



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Only War: Shield of Humanity
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 392 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG