RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Legend of the Five Rings: Legacy of Disaster
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2011 15:52:58

This pdf was made available for free, which is definitely a shame, as I would have been extremely happy with my purchase had I spent money on it. This module is ready to go, no NPC creation necessary. It deftly handles multiple paths a group of samurai handling this adventure might take, written out like a mini "choose your own adventure" for STs. I have never read a module and immediately felt comfortable with the thought of running it without making some kind of change, but this did not need any. I truly hope AEG makes more of these, and I will purchase any that they make.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Legacy of Disaster
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Winter Court: Kyuden Seppun
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2011 09:50:29

This book is nothing but general setting info, often repeated from other L5R sources, most of which in no way pertains to a court setting. I purchased this in hopes of better understanding how a traditional Winter Court would flow, a topic strangely absent from this book. The book did give me noteworthy NPCs (for the time period) and a map of Kyuden Seppun, but I am no closer to understanding the schedule of events or traditions of an actual court in Rokugan. This is the first L5R book I have purchased and later felt cheated.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Winter Court: Kyuden Seppun
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legends & Lairs: Draconic Lore
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/25/2010 10:06:23

Passing by a couple of pages tabulating and categorising the dragons herein, we come to a Welcome! which explains both that this is the first softcover book in the Legends and Lore series (although preceded by several hardbacks) and something about the contents. The dragon, of course, is THE iconic fantasy monster, and one which characters, however powerful, ought to fear. Some of the dragons presented here are designed to be just that, the fearsome end-of-campaign climactic challenge. Others, whilst still posing sufficient challenge to make any character think twice about taking them on, have purposes such as populating specific environments or meeting particular needs.

Each dragon is presented in a standard manner, with a stat block and considerable amounts of descriptive material. Tables cover the necessary detail pertaining to draconic abilities based on age/size. Most are going to provide opposition to your characters, although a few have sufficient intelligence and inclination to become allies or companion beasts. The aquatic varieties are of particular interest, as is the cavern dragon which is only to be found in the darkest depths underground. This dragon is blind, but has excellent hearing and sense of smell - it is said that one you have attracted the attention of a cavern dragon the only escape is to get above ground, as they do not venture out onto the surface. Their lack of sight provides for some unusual treasure hoards as they eschew the 'shiny' items in favour of those which feel or smell attractive.

Diamondback dragons like mountainous regions near deserts and feature a rattle on the end of the tail, the source of their magical abilities which include hypnosis and suggestion, although they are powerful fighters and have a breath weapon as well. They are crafty and, as they are restless wanderers, ensure that their lairs are protected by ample traps to guard them whilst they are out.

As for the aquatic dragons, a fun one is the dragonshark, which combines the most savage aspects of a dragon and a shark - not something you want circling around when at sea. They number amongst the several 'mindless killing machine' dragon varieties in this book, although some aquatic communities claim to have managed to tame dragonsharks if captured young. There are aquatic 'real' dragons as well, the oceanic dragon poses a threat to ships while the reef dragon is smaller and weaker, using skills, magic and allies to make up for their less-than-imposing stature.

A reclusive and uncivilised group of sentient humanoids, the dragoth, are available as NPCs or indeed characters. Bearing draconic characteristics such as coloured scales (in the hues of the main chromatic dragons) and accessing, at higher levels, breath weapons they could prove an interesting culture to interact with, despite being regarded as mere legend by many.

Drakes are smaller cousins to the true dragons and can prove valued companions if they choose to befriend you. Variants can serve as mounts, guards, scouts or couriers, all exhibiting great loyalty as well as mental communication with their companion being... and, it seems, the drake is convinced that it's an equal partnership, whatever the companion may think!

Tome lizards are strange, although not smart enough to be able to read they love books and are drawn to libraries. They can be trained as guards, provided you can keep them from eating the volumes in their care! Their breath weapon is a black ink, prized amongst wizards for writing in spellbooks, and they can make good familiars. They have more dubious uses: wizards have been known to release one in a rival's library and they can be used to destroy other records that a crafty individual would prefer remained unknown or unavailable.

Amongst the other varieties presented, another intriguing one is the woolly dragon, which lives in extreme cold and is an intelligent and cruel hunter. Although scaled, they also grow fur or wool, hence the name. They do not fly but climb well, and harbour a mutual racial hatred for white dragons.

From the ecological stand-point, this is a fun assemblage of variants on the theme of 'dragon' - you can imagine numerous learned tomes tracing the relationships between the creatures here and the classic dragons we already know. There's plenty of scope for adventure and encounters involving these creatures, in all a neat collection.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legends & Lairs: Draconic Lore
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Game Master's Screen and Adventure
by Don L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2010 20:57:49

I have a problem with the way it was scanned. I would like to print this off but as it is scanned now, it is difficult to do. I have tried using GIMP but I have not figured out how to divide it into easily printed sizes.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Game Master's Screen and Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Anima Beyond Fantasy: Core Rulebook
by Richard T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2010 09:28:44

First impressions here... A solid product. Good mechanics, love the richness of the game world. Character creation is not simple or quick, but I feel like this helps add to the customizability and depth of the characters. Magic users and ki users characters are even more involved. Overall, Anima is a welcome departure from the standard 'MMO on paper' that seems to have taken over mainstream gaming. Pick it up today!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Anima Beyond Fantasy: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/19/2010 05:20:09

Third and Fourth Edition of L5R herald a return to the 'Roll & Keep' system that is long overdue after the debacle that was D20 L5R. The system is excellent in conveying the flavour of the setting - one of heroism and epic deeds and is well-married to a rich, deep setting. The setting - a quasi-historical fantasy Japan - that offers a myriad of role-playing styles and opportunities. You want a game focused on ninja assassinations? Fine. How about a high-intrigue court game with an intense social setting? Done. How about a tragic game of honour, loss and epic battle? Check.

This is not 'AD&D with katanas'. It is a game where the social setting, etiquette, customs and culture come to the fore and the 'kewl powers' take a definite backseat. It is a setting where your characters see definite advancement and it is not always measured in dice and stats.

I'd recommend two other items to go with this purchase - the free module 'Legacy of Disaster' to get you started, and the novels. Whilst the latter are not brilliantly written (very standard gaming novel fare), but they do evoke the setting and advance the timeline very well.

On this note, the backstory is quite well-developed and tied to the events in the card game's continuity, but don't let this discourage you - it makes for entertaining reading and you can ignore almost all of it in any campaign.

In short, if you are after a fantasy game with a little more substance and a very different feel, this will fit the bill.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Legacy of Disaster
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/16/2010 19:40:53

The question I have to ask about this product is:

Why hasn't everyone with an internet connection downloaded this?

Take everything I like about L5R, put it in an easy-to-play package, and you've got Legacy of Disaster. Granted, there's a lot you can do with more, but if you wanna give the system a quick spin, this is perfect for you.

This is like a slice of cake: There's still more out there, but it's really, really good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Legacy of Disaster
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Game Master's Screen and Adventure
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/16/2010 19:09:15

There's one thing you know for certain when you look at anything related to L5R. High quality.

That's all I can say about the GM screen and Descent into Darkness.

Top notch art, top notch writing.

While the $9 may be a lot for a GM Screen, if you play L5R, this is a must-have, and the included adventure provides a great stepping point for a campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Game Master's Screen and Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Masters of Court
by Nicolas D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2010 14:27:24

Article mal scanné. Dommage. 20€ pour un pdf illisible... J'ai contacté le support RapideJDR, ils m'ont dit qu'ils n'avaient pas le problème et de le re-télécharger... C'est vrai que la qualité d'affichage d'Acrobat dépend beaucoup du téléchargement. LOL !!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of Court
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/08/2010 22:18:27

I have only one gripe with this: It's so long.

However, once you get past that, Legend of the Five Rings is worth the read. Basically a mix of cultural analysis and game, the nice thing about Legend of the Five Rings is that you can play it in any style: politics and fighting are available, so if you want a game of social intrigue, or wanton bloodshed, you can run it.

The rules are unique and interesting, and I must say that it avoids most of my gripes with the majority of systems out there. There are no huge modifiers leading to foregone conclusions, and you don't wind up throwing hundreds of dice.

The setting has loads and loads of content to go with it, almost all of the 400 pages are crammed with information, making it one of the best books around.

The art and typesetting is perfect. I really cannot find a complaint. Legend of the Five Rings has exciting, gripping typesetting and art that make it an easy read because you feel engaged and immersed.

Granted, at $36, it's an investment, but you really do get what you pay for, and since it has the content of many lesser systems, Legend of the Five Rings is a one-stop-shop for any feudal Asian setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
by Shotgun G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/07/2010 18:46:16

Having discovered L5R through the CCG, I was immediately hooked on the whole history of Rokugan. For 15 years, AEG have been adding to this amazing story of a land torn by warring Clans, threats from the Shadowlands and more recently pestilence and disease.

3rd edition to me was very clunky, with a lot of things that made it slow and labourious. 4th edition is has been redesigned, almost from the ground up. Changes to combat, the Clan schools and tweaks here and there; have made the whole system smoother.

Whether your new to L5R or a player of the older versions, this edition should appeal. From the rich artwork to the streamlined character creations, the book is very well presented and full to the brim with information.

At 405 pages, it is a hefty read. But it is also an easy read, with each section broken into smaller Books. The Book of Air details the history of Rokugan, the culture that makes up society; as well as sections on all of the Clans. The Book of Earth is the general mechanics of the game; while The Book of Fire is the Character Creation. Book of Water has all the information on Advanced Mechanics, with the Book of Void covering all the GM aspects of the game.

Overall a great update on the system, with some tweaks that make the whole thing a lot sharper to play; both as a player and GM. If you like Japanese History or just enjoy an RPG with an oriental flavour; then Legend of the Five Rings is perfect for this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Anima: Gaia Volume 1: Beyond the Dreams
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/06/2010 03:15:13

Wow. I’ve been looking over this system for a while, the incredible attention to the art being a primary attraction for me. The question always arose of whether the game was all style and no substance (did they blow their budget on the art with nothing left for writing) – and the answer is that this provides both. The PDF copy has been formatted with utility in mind, with many internal links allowing you to ‘flick’ through the book rather than scrolling ad nauseum.

This is essentially a World Guide, analogous to the release for any other game world – now you have the rules, it’s time to look at where you can go. Each section is logically set out, with interesting facts about each locale and gives the reader a good feel that each place is slightly different and has its own flavour – a point that is made by the attention to the artwork in each section too. Whilst it is all tied by a common theme, there are distinct differences which is a nice touch.

Overall, Anima players and GMs alike will find this a valuable addition to their bookshelves (virtually or in print) and the internal links make this a game-night-friendly supplement.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Anima: Gaia Volume 1: Beyond the Dreams
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Anima Beyond Fantasy: Core Rulebook
by James b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2010 14:56:21

WOW! I curse myself for not getting this sooner then I did. Amazing in almost every aspect, definitely something I am going to get my group to take a serious look at when it comes time for a new campaign. From the rules, simple but can get as crunchy as ya like, to the general feel of it all, it works wonderfully. A nice break in the world that seems obsessed with the D20.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Anima Beyond Fantasy: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Grimm: Core Rulebook
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2010 07:18:07

Grimm is a fantasy-type setting for a world of imagination that resembles the classic fairy-tales of old. You play the part of a kid caught in this world, trying to make your way home, completing adventures and quests along the way.

It's a fascinating book, with a unique game-play system and a rich world to explore. The rating would have been 5 star, except for the price; either buy the PDF or the book, but not both: I suggest that you buy the book, unless you really like to read things from the computer screen.

All in all, a great purchase and a great game -- seasoned game players will find it interesting, beginners will find it informative. Grimm is a must-have for your collection.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Grimm: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fireborn: Player's Handbook
by John Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2010 23:11:34

great game great product....fast download and the ebook is excelent in quality....extreamly clear :) worth every penny I spent...maybe more would recommend this to a friend



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fireborn: Player's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 220 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG