RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Deathwatch: Core Rulebook
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2013 03:17:49
In my view, the best 40KRPG.

The 'Deathwatch' provides a good narrative device for pulling together Marine characters from a variety of otherwise disparate Chapters, while the military squad role choice ensures that teamwork is still paramount. The characters are competent in combat situations t a near superhuman level, although they never seem to quite lose their human condition. While the main focus is on military assault style missions, you can still throw a bit of investigation and exploration into their stories, so it's actually becomes a more flexible premise than the other games in the series. Moreover, almost every gamer will instantly recognise the iconic Space Marines, and be able to settle into play with little need for exposition.

The presentation and organisation within the book is outstanding, as you might expect, but the file itself is much smaller meaning your iPad/computer won't suffer a heart attack each time you save it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dust Warfare: Core Rulebook
by Matheus C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2013 13:36:34
It's a very good book and great game! Very easy to start and very fun to play!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dust Warfare: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: The Enemy Within
by Michael A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/06/2013 07:40:09
This is it. This is the capstone of WFRP 3rd Edition.

The Enemy Within 3rd Edition is not a reprint of the classic 1st Edition campaign. It is a reimagining and worthy successor. Even better, there are hints and plot threads that allow this 3rd Edition campaign to tie into the 1st Edition one, indicating that the Purple Hand might be related to the Black Cowl. Best of all, you can easily port this campaign back to your prefered WFRP edition - the writers realized for this adventure that mechanics can't get in the way of story.

That said, it should also be noted that this Enemy Within has a slightly different tone than the previous. There is definitely a more epic feel towards the end, with characters brushing shoulders with luminaries of the Empire, attempting to stop assassinations, and facing a larger-than-life foe. It's all in keeping with current Warhammer Fantasy lore, but it just needs to be pointed out that the entire campaign isn't down in the gutters.

This PDF version does spend some time discussing the bits provided in the boxed set. Most of these aren't necessary. However, the background cards sound cool and I wish that had been provided in the book. Additionally, there are a number of handouts, maps and letters, that really should have been appended to this PDF - there's no reason these can't be included.

Luckily if you buy the boxed version nothing is needed for this chronicle beyond the contents of the Core Box or the Corebooks. If you get this on PDF only and want to use it in WFRP 3rd, you'll need to get a little creative with enemy ability cards, but it's nothing impossible.

The adventure is divided into three parts, with an optional "Epic Level" story at the end. Characters begin at tier 1 and go all the way to the end game. The campaign is also broad enough that you can fit in side trips and extra adventures - and the campaign includes some loose ends that could tie into these.

The optional story at the end is, I feel, the weakest part. It essentially culminates in a big battle - and not a particularly interesting one. There's cool stuff along the way and it puts characters in a strong political position for future adventures... but it just feels like an underwhelming finish. I'd suggest grabbing some of the more psychadelic adventure material found in The Thousand Thrones and using that for inspiration.

So yeah. The Enemy Within is awesome and WFRP fans of every edition are going to get a lot of mileage out of this. I highly recommend it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: The Enemy Within
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deathwatch: Ark of Lost Souls
by Malcolm M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2013 18:13:56
A Warhammer 40K adventure/campaign which will appeal to players of all the WH40KRPG games. A major Space Hulk finally appears in the Koronus Expanse, ready to terrorize players with Genestealers, and worse!

While Ark of Lost Souls is meant for Deathwatch Space Marines players, it can be readily adapted for other WH40KRPG games with some work by the Gamemaster. The module is primarily a branching storyline, with significant encounters, and NPCs and enemies described.

The module also includes a descriptive random-encounter generator, which means that this Space Hulk can be as large, and as expansive, as the Gamemaster desires.

Even without inserting randomly-generated story content, Ark of Lost Souls falls somewhere between a standard adventure and a campaign. By adding in additional content, this Space Hulk could be home to an ongoing series of adventures -- a full-blown campaign. That's what I'm planning to do.

Those hoping to use the Ark of Lost Souls in a Rogue Trader, or a Dark Heresy, campaign will have to scale back the strength of the enemies here, or swap them out for appropriately-levelled similar enemies from the Rogue Trader or Dark Heresy creature books.

For those who don't already know, a starting Deathwatch Space Marine is built on 14,000 xp; while a starting Rogue Trader character is built on 5,000 xp; and a starting Dark Heresy character
is worth 1,000 xp.

These equivalancies are _very_ rough, because gear, wealth, and specific skills and talents all play a part in how "tough" a character might be -- but some adjustment of the combat scenarios in this adventure must happen if a Rogue Trader crew, or agents of the Inquisition, are investigating the Space Hulk instead of Space Marines.

It's worth noting here, however, that Rogue Trader statistics for Genestealers, and a Broodlord, recently appeared in the Rogue Trader supplement Stars of Inequity.

All in all, I have to give Deathwatch: Ark of Lost Souls a 5 out of 5. It delivers more than I expected, including an intriguing, branching storyline, and a random-content-generator which will extend the lifespan of the adventure setting at the Gamemaster's whim.

In my reviews, a 5 score never means instant perfection for any and all who might look upon the material (I review in the real world); it means that I found a well-made, well-presented product which offered more than I expected, and carried no obvious flaws.

Recommended to any who might be interested.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: Ark of Lost Souls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rogue Trader: Stars of Inequity
by sebastiano s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2013 13:21:28
I think this is the best rogue trader supplement I bought. I love the simple but well done star systems generation rules; I'm a fan of all edition of traveller from the first to mongoose one and nowhere I found rules to generate a star system so pleasurable, simple but detailed and above all it's captured the unique feeling of WH 40k universe.
The colonial rules are a marvel and I found it enjoyable, making the colonial endeavour a challenge for every team of explorers.
Useful and well done the encounters and treasure chapter with a lot of tables for the lazy and short of time gm.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: Stars of Inequity
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rogue Trader: Stars of Inequity
by Malcolm M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2013 01:39:25
Another solid Rogue Trader support product which hits all the usual strengths of the best products in the RT line.

The book gives a solid chunk of useful detail on the central topic -- building WH40K science-fantasy-appropriate star systems and colony worlds -- with mechanics in place for handling things like player-sponsored colonies, in the abstract.

Those looking for hard-science detail regarding solar system creation are looking in the wrong place, as this is Warhammer 40K -- fundamentally, a science-fantasy universe, for all its gear and tech.

Most of what's here is conceptual, and meant to facilitate adventure-running and storytelling. It respects the _appearance_ of astronomical and planetological science, for the most part, but it does not set out to replicate science in this regard.

As with the best RT products, this book also provides goodies and details one might not expect from reading the back cover blurb. For example, a Genestealer is presented here, using Rogue Trader stats, as well as its Tyranid cousin, the Broodlord.

Add to all this the quality production values, and the imagination-inspiring color artwork, and Stars Of Inequity seems a welcome addition to the line.

All in all, a worthy purchase if the main focus of the book seems useful to your campaign.

NOTE: My 5 out of 5 score represents solid content and production throughout the work, with no major or obvious failings relevant to what the book appears to promise. It does not signify universal and perfect satisfaction. for all who may purchase it. I review in the real world. :-)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Midnight: 2nd Edition Core Rulebook
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/30/2013 23:36:35
WHAT WORKS: The production values are amazing. The flavor text is generally short but evocative, and the art almost universally compliments the feel of the setting. A ton of information is provided (it is a 400 page book), giving ample material to run the setting out of the one book (or so I assume…I do own the whole game line). A lot of effort has gone into making the world oppressive. In many ways, Midnight is more horrific than classic horror settings like Ravenloft. Also, there is no metaplot. The game line never really advances the timeline, so the setting is truly yours to do with as you will.

WHAT DOESN’T WORK: I would kill for a version of the book that isn’t written for d20, though I do have a great Savage Worlds conversion downloaded. I don’t necessarily need more supplements, but the line being available via print on demand or something would be great. The setting is written with the assumption that the heroes will always fail, though with no true metaplot being present, that can be worked around.

CONCLUSION: Midnight, along with the Art Haus Ravenloft, is the best thing to come out of the d20 era for me, regardless of how I feel about the game system. I’m eager to give the Savage Worlds conversion a go, and I’ll report back on how that goes here on the blog. I went out of my way to ensure that I purchased the entire Midnight collection in print (I even own the first edition and Against the Shadow, both of which were largely folded into Second Edition), and I’m glad I did. And while I will run the setting harsh, the outcome will ultimately be very much in the hands of the PCs, not myself or the designers’.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2013/01/tommys-take-o-
n-midnight-second-edition.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Midnight: 2nd Edition Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Only War: Core Rulebook
by Seamus C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2013 13:43:30
It's interesting to think that this started off as merely a splatbook for Dark Heresy, and funny to see just how much this whole great idea ran away from them. Short version: good book, good game, worth the money.

Being more-or-less the same system as DH it is easy for a 40kRPG veteran to get into, but there are some interesting changes to pay attention to. Righteous Fury has been streamlined a bit, for instance. Probably the most interesting change is 'leveling up'. In previous 40kRPGs what class you were determined what skills and talents you could learn and how much they cost, in addition to the XP cost of improving attributes. In Only War there is something called the 'Aptitude' system. For instance, one might have an Aptitude in both Ballistic Skill and in, say, Offense (I'm almost certainly paraphrasing). That's two aptitudes that run along the same track, so talents and skills along the lines of Two Weapon Wielding (Ballistic) will be at their cheapest (the 100 XP track). A single aptitude gives you slightly less of a discount (the 250 track) and having none of a talent, skill, or attribute's associated Aptitudes means you'd be paying full price (the 500 xp track). A character gains Aptitudes depending upon what specialty/class they choose, with additional ones sometimes being granted by your regiment. While this certainly makes a given character specialty lean towards taking certain things it does not actually restrain them from going for the most expensive options; there are no character paths to progress by, merely a small block of 'recommended' advances. While going outside of your Aptitudes is expensive, actual prohibited advances are few to none.

The regimental set-up is very interesting, especially the regimental creation rules which allow the entire party to build the regiment that they come from using a point buy system. This also simplifies the character creation process, as your regiment plays a large part in determining your basic kit, a few starting talents or skills, and maybe an aptitude. Replacing a dead character is much easier, as you are handed a bunch of equipment and goodies at character creation and do not have to worry about being TOO far behind the older, surviving characters.

The Logistics set-up is interesting, in-character for the universe, and potentially hilarious (were supposed to be issued a tank, were instead issued several crates of booze, for instance).

The Comrade system allows for PC created and controlled NPCs to fill out the squad (and for the GM to kill mercilessly whenever the players make a mistake).

The vehicles are a great addition, ESPECIALLY the new tables for Critical Damage as done to vehicles. The Crit tables in the FF 40kRPGs were always a blast, and now we have an entirely new set.

I will say, however, that there was a severe oversight in the vehicle section: no aircraft. The explanation given is that they are more the purview of the Imperial Navy and will thus not be in Only War. But there is an entire type of regiment designed to be jumping out of aircraft, a specialty that is built to handle vehicles and would need just one more option to choose to be able to fly them, and there are pictures of Valkyries. All. Throughout. The Book. Teasing you. And Valkyries had to be flown during the Free RPG Day last year! They clearly are being used, so where are the stats guys? They've used a decent in-universe excuse, and I understand the need to hold things back for future books since this IS a business, but this seems a little too forward for me to just nod in an understanding fashion. So, even though I'm probably nitpicking, I'll wave a yellow card and dock a star for Overly Blatant Milking of the Customers.

That's . . . pretty much the only thing about this book that bothered me. I love what they've done with the Imperial Guard, I'm looking forward to the upcoming splatbooks giving us more pre-built regiments, Rough Rider options, and mixed regiment creation, and would highly recommend that any fan of 40k or gritty military sci-fi get this game and try it out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Only War: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Only War: Core Rulebook
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/23/2013 19:38:24
Only War is the latest RPG out for the Warhammer 40k rpgs released by Fantasy Flight Games. After tackling the Inquisition, Rogue Traders, Space Marines and Chaos, the series finally pays attention to the true backbone of the Imperium's endless war: the men and women of the Imperial Guard.

In many ways I was looking forward to this book the most. While there's some kind of glamour associated with the Space Marines, the true heart of many stories set in war come from the front lines. The Imperial Guard are the ones who see the fight first, and suffer incredible losses in their days at war. They are the ones who stand to lose the most, and are most vulnerable to the enemy but they don't back down despite the horrors of war, because that is what they do.

Most of all, this is the game that allows you to really tell more well-rounded, human stories rather than the laser focus of just plain hating on the Xenos, the Mutant, the Daemon and the Heretic. (I know I'm oversimplifying things here, but bear with me.)

In any case, those familiar with the rules for Dark Heresy will find that Only War uses the same system, with some intresting new mechanics. One of my favorites is the Regiment creation system, where a group (or the GM) can plan out what kind of Regiment they want to play if they don't want to use any of the ones provided. That said, there's a lot of interesting Regiments to choose from, starting with the Cadian Shock Troops to other iconic Regiments like the Catachan, the Mordians and the Tallarn.

Players can take on the roles of more than just Guardsmen as they get to choose specialties such as Heavy Gunner, Medic, Operator, Sergeant and Weapons Specialist. Furthermore they have Support Specialists as further options including the infamous Commissar, Ministorum Priest, Ogryn, Ratling, Sanctioned Psykers, Storm Troopers and Tech-Priest Engineers. The sheer variance provided is a very nice touch as it helps dispel the impression that everyone essentially plays a grunt with a helmet and a lasgun.

Another interesting mechanic is the generation of Comrades. These are special NPCs that fight alongside the player characters. Mechanically they're sort of like familiars, as each player has direct control over their Comrades by the use of Orders. This doesn't mean that Comrades are expendable by any stretch as certain abilities rely on having a Comrade, and it is to a player's best interest to keep their Comrades alive as long as possible.

Vehicles also a large part in an Imperial Guard game, and vehicle rules account for movement and combat, including some interesting systems critical hit charts that go a long way to simulate the harrowing nature of taking a critical hit while inside a vehicle. Repair rules are also present, giving more opportunities to simulate the "less than ideal" world of living with vehicles that have been patched together by field repairs.

As with all the books in the Warhammer 40k line, the artwork is solid and the layout is readable. I'm glad that the fonts they chose for this are readable while retaining the whole Warhammer 40k vibe. Also of note is the fact that the PDF has been cross-linked, making rules look ups as painless as possible.

Overall, I feel that Only War is a product that shows just how used to the system the team is already at this point. Furthermore, they have a very strong vision as to what the game should be about and aren't afraid to push that agenda via the rules. There's a lot of fluff discussing the nature of the war and how it grinds humanity down, but it never comes off as too depressing as to be utterly unplayable. There are real opportunities to live (and die) as heroes in the war. It's admittedly not the easiest thing to do in the context of RPGs, but in this case Only War deserves a Medal.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: The Enemy Within
by Douglas N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2013 00:01:40
Missing some of the material found on the cards in the larger box, but otherwise a great product. Great story,

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: The Enemy Within
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Night's Dark Masters
by Sebastian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2013 20:35:42
The best WFRP supplement imo. I love it for it's dark fantasy atmosphere.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Night's Dark Masters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deathwatch: Rites of Battle
by Marc S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2013 15:36:12
As a player, I love this book. I find it kinda difficult to tell when a book is meant for the player as oppose to the GM but Rites of Battle is easily one of the best player-centric books for Deathwatch. The expanded chapters, the new equipment, the advanced specialties, new psychic powers all cater to being a better Space Marine. Obviously, if you're a GM, you'll want this so you know what your players are doing. The quality is great and I have no complaints there.

The biggest gripe I have with this, which is why I rated 4/5, is that the bookmarking is TERRIBLE. It's just a giant list with no collapsible categories and and a lot of section names in all caps. It's not fun to scroll through and it's a huge peeve of mine having it like that. I hope this can be resolved somehow by DTRPG or FFG.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: Rites of Battle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Core Rulebook
by Sebastian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2013 16:52:05
Probably the best fantasy RPG out there. If you looking for something different from D&D get it! But remember; this is grim world where death is always near.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Core Rulebook
by Brendan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2012 18:02:45
Impossible at this early stage to rate a game at 5 stars. I played 1st edition back in the day and loved it so I'm really anticipating something special, RPG-wise. I read the designer notes at the back and felt the reasoning for the the amendments were sound. The main attraction of the game is its low fantasy vibe. Yes the setting is fantastical but it's less Masters of the Universe and more Lord of the Rings. A completely immersive experience in a convincingly realised setting.
A note of caution on the quality of the PDF version that I bought. Sometimes it is difficult to read the text as it is blurred. Also, when the character sheet has bits of text missing. For example, the words 'name', 'age' and 'race' are almost completely missing!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: The Navis Primer
by Jamie D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2012 17:51:39
I think this is a great book. It covers some very in depth rules on navigating the warp and astral telepathy. Which no doubt most GM's will be happy with. It has some extra careers for most explorers and new powers and ship to ship skills for astropaths and navigators. Some of the powers seem a little under-powered compared to what is already out there. However, they certainly have good roleplay aspects to them. A few xenos psykers are covered (with powers, equipment etc) and enemies of psykers. Although there isn't a huge amount of new explorator equipment there is an excellent section on familiars including creating your own.

In short this book is a must for GM's & psyker players (or wannabe psyker players.)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: The Navis Primer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 238 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG