RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!
Dangers Untold
Dangers Untold
$14.00 $6.00









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Rogue Trader: The Koronus Bestiary
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/14/2012 15:39:26
An excellent addition to Rogue Trader, providing a whole host of creatures and races to use in games (along with some some good rules for building new ones). It's a shame that some of the iconic creatures of the 40K universe were not included (where are the Genestealers!?!?!?) but we do get expanded rules for Orks, Eldar and demons.

As always, excellent art and writing which you expect for a product that has such a wealth of material to draw upon.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: The Koronus Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Career Compendium
by Paul E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2012 14:48:04
I have, indeed, found this book to be absolutely invaluable in my playing of Warhammer Fantasy 2nd Edition, especially since I won't even tough 3rd Edition; too dumbed down for me, thanks. Recently, 12 Sept 2012, this book was updated and re-released. The re-release does not have the quality of the old one in the way of "color" richness, meaning the black of the original release was perfect print quality, while the re-release is lacking in that department. As well, it looks as though someone attempted to put in links to the PDF, though not to each career, which would have been handy. So, I wonder precisely what was updated?

Still, this is an amazing book, well-constructed, and FFG did a fantastic job. Now, if we could just have some errata on what was changed, please, as there seem to be two pages missing over the original file? Feel free to contact me regarding these changes at kwolf71@hotmail.com ; thank you.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Career Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Lure of Power
by Fabien G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2012 04:49:19
Unfortunately this electronic version does not inculde the cards. I was looking for the career card that describes the master thief, but it is not in the pdf... :-(

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Lure of Power
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Deathwatch: Honour The Chapter
by Barney H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2012 16:37:48
With Honour The Chapter, Fantasy Flight Games does extraordinarily well to cover the less famous - and in some cases, infamous - Chapters of the Adeptus Astartes. Any collector of the Forge World Imperial Armour books and model ranges will be thrilled to find backgrounds, rules and details to create characters from these, as well as successors to the major Legions of the First Founding. This allows the Deathwatch team to have far more variety, allowing different rivalries, motivations, and of course, abilities.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: Honour The Chapter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Deathwatch: Honour The Chapter
by Jason H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2012 13:44:05
I am thoroughly enjoying "Honor the Chapter" very much. As a GM it provides me more options for my campaigns and give my players more options for the characters they want to create. I was rather pleased with the expediency of the download as well as the quality of the scanned material.

I hope that the partnership between FFG and DriveThruRPG continues to be a long one!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Rogue Trader: The Koronus Bestiary
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/06/2012 20:24:44
FINALLY! This is the book I've been waiting for. I love Rogue Trader, but don't have the time to generate my own Xenos nor do I want to hand-wave too much in order to preserve balance. This book provides me with all the nasties and big bads I need to punish, er, challenge my players. It's 146 pages of pure sadistic delight. It's organized pretty easily. There are beasts, sentient aliens, creatures of chaos, and your very own quick generator for dangerous plant, animal, and Xenos life. As with all the books, the art is off the hook and really shows the brutality and ferocity of these foes.

You probably haven't seen a lot of the beasts in the source books so far, so I'm digging the new options. It's always fun to throw some feral creatures at your players. I like the diversity. There are great narratives about various Traders running across these, giving you plenty of idea of how to ambush unsuspecting PCs. There are a pretty broad range of just animals to formerly sentient beings and a good selection of environments you might find the things.

With the aliens, I'm glad to finally see a lot more Eldar. I don't play the tabletop game, so I don't have stats at the ready and these are some of the most dangerous Xenos you can pull out of your pocket. All the Xenos have background on their race, motivations, etc. The Orks have a good number of options (you can make those as PCs though also). Then there are a handful of the less well known species. The Tau and some of the previously described races are left out here, but I'm fine with that.

The creatures from the Warp are sure to be the biggest challenge to your players. These things corrupt by just being near them and have huge ramifications on the characters' psyches. I'd probably use these sparingly unless you are unusually cruel. The base stats may not always seem all too crazy. I'd suggest you look at the traits, which more than make up for a 70 Weapon Skill. Again, great representations of the creatures and descriptions of just how evil they really are.

If you plan on running Rogue Trader, and I plan on running it a lot more now, this is a must have. Whenever you feel like it's time to add a hurdle, pull out something nasty and see how many limbs it can remove before the PCs can take it down. I'm so happy right now.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: The Koronus Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Rogue Trader: The Koronus Bestiary
by Christian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2012 19:57:19
A great book with lots of information about the dangers of the koronus Expanse. Not only monsters are described, also a lot of Xenos of the Koronus Expanse and theyr Backgrounds. With the initial Errors in the PDF corrected in under a week, it's a must have book for every Rogue Trader Game master.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Rogue Trader: The Koronus Bestiary
by will b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2012 15:06:00
I previously wrote a review for this book and due to the fact it had a few missing bits of information I rated it at a three. However, today they fixed that and now it is complete. Once again i will say this is a book in the format of FFGs other critter books, with a good section on void and warp beasts, great full info on eldar and ork forces and a xenos generator as well. Not a lot concerning daemons, the only ones i think are seen elsewhere in one of the books (perhaps Daemon Hunter) but overall a great book, i enjoy it much more than the creatures anthema for dark heresy and the enemies seem like they will present a challenge.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Only War: Core Rules Beta
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/25/2012 06:23:35
Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2012/07/25/tabletop-review-only-wa-
r-beta/

’Join the Imperial Guard’ they said…
‘See the universe’ they said…

Fantasy Flight, those magnificent masters of game production, have put out a “beta test” set of rules for a game that is meant to be the spiritual successor to Games Workshop’s Rogue Trader, that classic tome that originally defined the world of Warhammer 40,000 for those who already knew and loved Warhammer Fantasy (at that time just called Warhammer). Did you know that licensing for RPG products related to Warhammer had been handed over to Fantasy Flight? I didn’t.

Only d10s
The game uses d10s exclusively, and will require both regular d10 rolls and d100 rolls (roll two d10s, one die represents tens, the other represents ones). For special effects like scatter rolls (where a grenade or some similar object hits the ground), a d10 is also rolled to determine the direction that it travels next, according to a diagram. Whatever needs to be decided with a die roll, d10s will be used.

The testing process is similar to many other games, like D&D for example: you take a base stat that corresponds to the action you are attempting, and add or subtract from that according to any modifiers that may apply. The GM can assign bonuses or penalties based on the conditions that the action is taking place in, like cover in a firefight granting defensive bonuses, etc. If you roll equal to or under the final number with a percentile roll, you have succeeded. The result of the test is further modified by the amount that you succeeded at or failed the test by, so that the GM can tell more precisely how the result of the test plays out in the game. There is also a handy table for the GM to consult that gives several levels of difficulty and their modifiers.

Taking a cue from more recent RPGs perhaps, a character will have “Fate” points, that are a sort of currency allowing them to do various things like re-roll or remove damage. This seems to be a standard addition to most games lately, and I can’t say I disagree with the decision. I do wish it had a different name because now I’m thinking about the FATE system and other sort of indie RPGs and I can’t help but think it’s a little cribbed. Whatever though, I look forward to more innovations in RPGs like meta-game currency.


Only Imperial Guard
You will be playing Imperial Guard. I expect that other armies will become available in the future but after a quick glance at the Fantasy Flight website I wasn’t able to confirm that. I did not delve into the forums however, where I’m sure such questions have been asked and possibly answered.

As an Imperial Guard, you have TONS of stuff to choose from. Just about any of the IG factions (as far as I know, I’m not as up on 40k as I used to be) are available: Catachan Jungle Fighters, Mordian Iron Guard, etc. The types of troops are available as classes: Medic, Priest, Heavy Weapons, Storm Trooper, Psyker, even Ratling and Ogryn are there to choose from. The only class I don’t understand is the Commissar. How is someone supposed to play the Commissar in a group? What if the group decides to retreat, does the Commissar shoot them? Well, check this out: if your character is close to death, the Commissar can shoot your Comrade to get you back in the game. That’s right. I think that’s cool, I just don’t understand how a player is supposed to be part of the group and behave like a Commissar. Read the class description yourself and see if you agree. At the very least it would take some creative players to pull it off.

Looking at the classes, a squad might begin to look like your typical D&D group: Fighter, wizard, priest, and rogue turn into Ogryn, Psyker, Ministorum Priest, and Ratling. What is kind of funny to me, is that there is no class for just a regular Guardsman. There are five standard classes, and then seven support classes, but not one of them is a regular Joe. Hm. I mean, the standard classes are supposed to cover skill sets belonging to basic “grunt” guardsmen, but it doesn’t cover the most basic!

Your character, once you’ve chosen a regiment and class, and a few other things, will be given various other attributes that may flesh him or her out as a character or give them special skills or bonuses. For instance, there is a large table (taking up two pages) of “Demeanours” that you will roll on to give your character some aspect of their personality or being that distinguishes them. You might roll “Psycho” or “Dreamer”, and then consult the brief description of the attribute and act accordingly. It’s a bit strange that a table is used to determine a character’s personality, but since I am a proponent of separating the character from the player I actually applaud this decision. It even adds a bit of old school flavor to character creation. Gotta love tables.

One of the most interesting things about character creation is the fact that you will generate a Comrade along with your character. This person is your buddy, and while not all classes get one, most do. After all, the I.G. is all about numbers isn’t it? Basically, a comrade is an NPC that performs various servile functions and may provide some nice backup or cannon fodder from time to time, depending on how a character uses him or her. I think it’s a really cool idea, my only worry is that it will clutter up play by forcing the player to think about what their comrade is doing or remembering in a certain scene where their comrade is etc. Imagine comrades as “red shirts” in the Warhammer world.

Character creation is going to take up some significant time, and it will probably be best if the group is together when it happens. Since the group is functioning as a regiment, or a squad, or whatever, then they will all belong to the same faction and have similar purposes in the course of the game. Players will also have to decide how many of them will be support classes and which will be standard classes, since it could easily happen that everyone wants to be a support class. I could see a cool scenario where everyone is a support class helping out different portions of a regiment in a large-scale battle, going wherever they are needed. However, mixes of regular Guardsmen and special classes might get difficult to work with. Another reason creation will likely be lengthy is because there are pages of things like Aptitudes, Traits, Demeanours, Skills, and Talents (not counting equipment) that will have to be decided on by a player or rolled on a chart. Most of it is decided by the player. I’m not excited about poring over lists of attributes and such things to “customize” my character, since I consider the mere fact that I am controlling my character to be enough to differentiate him or her from the other characters. However, those who prefer a bit of rules crunch will like it I suppose.


Only Gear
My word, is there a lot of gear to paw through. As I mentioned earlier, I am not quite up on my 40k so I don’t know if all of this is available in the miniatures game, but I recognize a lot of it. Las-weapons, various grenades, flamers, even down to bows and flintlock pistols, are all available. Pages and pages of stuff.

After the gear rules are sections on Psyker powers and vehicles, I’ll leave it up to the reader to pore over the stats contained therein.

Only Combat?
This is a serious question: is the game only combat? The answer, of course, lies with the people that play it. However, the game is based on a combat-only miniatures game, and is focused with that in mind, so you have to wonder. Certainly the bulk of the game would be expected to take place in combat conditions.

When in combat, characters have a wide variety of possible actions. You can aim, perform a wild melee attack, fire off a shot, fire off a spray of rounds, run, cover a position, jump…all kinds of stuff. What I love about this is that it takes the action of Warhammer and gives you a granular detail. Imagine that I.G. unit ducking, covering a line of fire, attacking some Ork stragglers, and at the same time tossing grenades over a low wall instead of just standing there on the table, frozen in some sort of action pose. This brings the action that is imagined in the miniatures game and brings it to life.

As described above, attacks will be determined by a d100 roll. If you hit somebody, you also determine the location of the hit, a nice little detail adding more granularity to the combat. At first glance, you might think this will slow down combat, but you don’t actually roll any more dice to determine the hit location on the table, you simply reverse the two numbers you rolled on your to-hit roll. For example, if you hit with a 35, your hit location would be 53 (a body hit). That’s pretty clever.

Did you say something about wanting more tables? Well, let me wet your whistle with this information: there are 8 pages of critical effects tables for doing damage to different parts of a character depending on what type of weapon is being used. Depending on the table roll, the effect will be underwhelming or spectacular and grisly. These effects only happen if a character is below 0 Wounds (the Hit Points of Only War), so if you find yourself in that situation take care, because the next frag grenade could deploy your leg to another front on the battlefield.


Only Rules
There is a lot more in this book, it would take pages and pages to cover it all. You’ve got everything from GM advice to vehicle movement, and combat rules to codexes of bad guys (Chaos, Dark Eldar, and Orks by the way). There is also a beginner adventure in the back, which is always the sign of good decisions being made in my book. The adventure is rather wordy and all of the facts appear to be buried in paragraphs upon paragraphs of text, however. As a GM I would be loathe to run this adventure as is, and would have to make several notes and summaries so that I didn’t have to read through chunks of text just to get some basic information or to try and get a grasp on the scene. The monotony of prose could really use some simple tables or charts or maps or something to stop the wall of text from being so imposing. Of course, this is the beta version and there is a lot of art missing from the book at this point, so it can probably be assumed that some nice art will be inserted somewhere in there.

Overall, I am quite impressed with what the designers have attempted here and how they have done it, to bring Warhammer 40,000 to life in the minds of players on a more individual level has obviously taken a lot of work and a lot of care to get it to where it is. I think it is going to prove an enjoyable game, especially for fans of the miniatures game who also happen to be interested in role-playing. The game is definitely combat-focused, but the RPG element now adds endless possibilities for stories, instead of just battle after battle with nothing in between.

To me this game is not ambiguous; the designers and players know that war is the focal point of everything, and the game does not pretend to be interested in anything else. This game is like an electric guitar plugged into a fuzz pedal and an amp turned up to 9 (11 is too loud): it’s destined for action.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Only War: Core Rules Beta
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Anima Beyond Fantasy: Core Rulebook
by Cedric C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/14/2012 21:54:12
Introduction: I'll admit not having played Final Fantasy or other Japanese video roleplaying games. I'm still familiar with genre, and even visuals alone will tell you that these fantasy games are quite different than their western counterparts. And, while Japan has its tabletop RPGs, few have been translated to American markets. Indeed, Anima, which looks on the surface to be a tabletop rpg version of Japanese computer rpgs, was originally published by Edge Entertainment in Spain. That doesn't make it any less qualified to be a thorough and detailed treatment of the genre. However, its complex character generation rule may put gamers off.

Character Generation: Anima character generation is flavorful but highly detailed and complicated. If you're the type who approaches character generation as a spreadsheet budget, or someone who must create a super-exotic mondo-unique uber-butt-kicking character (or, much worse, have a player who wants to be one), expect to spend quite a bit of time going through several chapter's worth of character creation options. But if you limit first characters to the same basics the sample character uses (yes, Ki, Magic, and Psychic abilities are not basic!), you should be able to play soon enough. After their first game, players you can your players recreate their characters or introduce new ones. If you do a search on "anima roleplay character generation", you should be able to find jmbowman's Anima character generator.

Combat: Anima combat is straightforward, with optional complexity. Each turn you have an action, often an attack. In an attack, you and your opponent both do a "skill die roll" of an attack skill (eg. Attack Ability) versus a defense skill (eg. Dodge). You then cross-index the difference (negative numbers can cause counterattacks!) against armor. This results in a percentage which you multiply against your weapon's damage to determine how much damage you actually do. (This is easier done than said, since Anima provides a table and 100% damage is a multiple of ten.) Additional rules and modifiers are provided for ranged and optional hand-to-hand and ranged attacks.

Sourcebook: Much of the gamemaster's section is source material: Gaia's history, Countries and Cities, Organizations (factions), The Supernatural World, and Powers in the Shadow (conspiratorial organizations influencing Gaia), Hell (supernatural worlds and their races), Light and Darkness (deities and mechanics for their gifts), and Supernatural Presence (how much of the world's reality is centered around a character -- including the PCs).

Gamemaster: Other gamemaster sections include gamemaster advice and guidelines, Common Characters (common NPC stats), Creation of Beings (detailed mechanics for creating special creatures), Creature Compendium (example creatures), and a character sheet.

Art and Layout: Bring out your iPads. At 322 full-color pages, you're not going to print this out. It's too bad that Anima doesn't have a printer-friendly or text-only version.

Conclusion: This is not a casual roleplaying game. The system is complicated, and the source material extensive. However, if you're looking for a detailed tabletop treatment of a Japanese video game, Anima is a definite choice.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Anima Beyond Fantasy: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Only War: Core Rules Beta
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2012 06:26:29
The latest of the WH40KRP line, and arguably the best, although it's still in play test form. This is probably the first game in the series that provides a decent range of character types (12), whilst also retaining a human-centric feel that is lacking in some of the other games. The Ogryn and Ratling 'specialities' add a more exotic feel to the choices, although I feel that the Ogryns look a little underpowered in the rules as they stand. Military platoons are pretty easy to motivate into action, and there are a large variety of missions that they can undertake (giving the GM a lot of room to create scenarios from) There is a good spread of iconic Xenos types to fight against (again missing from previous games) and solid vehicle rules too. The new regiment rules are interesting with the view that each character will have an additional NPC companion to contribute also - a bit like Troupe roleplaying from Ars Magica presumably. I expect the presentation will improve significantly in the full published edition, although it's a clean and functional download as it stands. The 40K universe isn't a subtle one, and military missions may well be the best way of experiencing it in game. Good stuff, and I look forward to the full version.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Only War: Core Rules Beta
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dark Heresy: Core Rulebook
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2012 05:21:18
Dark Heresy has probably been around long enough for the gaming community to recognize the setting, and the rules are a pretty straightforward percentile affair, with customizable archetypes being used for character generation. The art looks quite impressive, and it's got a very large page count for it's background. I do feel that there isn't enough support for a GM to run it without supplements, however, and actually feel that some of the editing (in terms of what to include) could have been organized better. Moreover, later 40K games have formatted themselves better, and are a lot more streamlined in the presentation of their rules. The file itself is enormous, which can lead to some technical issues in downloading. Although the basic premise is eminently workable, it currently ranks as the weakest of the 40KRP game line because of these reasons - and certainly deserves an updated edition, in my view.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Only War: Core Rules Beta
by Levy K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2012 22:52:24
For a beta this book certainly offers more than what a finish books can offer. I was not expect much out of this beta, but I am glad to say I am proven wrong. This is a whole book. Though what really carries it is the fact that this beta is not afraid to show its teeth with the regimental rules. I spent a couple of hours just making up regiments for fun.

If you love the 40k setting, want a low level game, and don't want to use dated rules from other 40k rpg books then only war will work for you. Plus you can leave suggestions in the forums in the Fantasy Flight site that can help shape the game. What more can you want from a beta?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Only War: Core Rules Beta
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Only War: Core Rules Beta
by Kyle W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/26/2012 00:56:34
Only War does a good job at being a WH40k game of great quality, even in its beta state; there are a lot of people who gripe about something or other in terms of how the beta is being handled, but as a product, I've seen full games less polished than this, and the high-quality rating and what art is already in here is of absolutely top-notch quality.

Just as a game, Only War is pretty spectacular, using FFG's polished percentile-based rules, with pretty much all the rules you would need to play through military campaigns and the like. It's got simple rules when simple rules are required and there is an obvious eye to detail when it comes to the mechanics; covering everything from ascending cliff faces to requisitioning supplies without becoming needlessly bloated.

Basically, if you're on the edge of the fence when it comes to getting this game, hop on over; the Imperial Guardsman setting is absolutely awesome when it comes to playing within the 40k Universe, especially if you follow some of the novels.

I'd say that if you're at all skeptical, don't worry about the $20 cost; you get the game as-is early, plus a coupon for $20 off the final edition.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Only War: Core Rules Beta
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/25/2012 00:23:38
In many ways, this is the model for successful games design to which every company should be paying attention. ‘Only War’ works conceptually, financially and ethically on a number of fronts and FFG should be congratulated.

Firstly, is the nature of the release. By ‘Beta Rules’, I expected to see a fairly slim volume indicative of the final game. Instead, I was (pleasantly) surprised to receive 267 formatted pages which look as though they are only missing the final full-colour and full-page glossy art to be be ready for printing. The black-and-white nature of the book is kind to the printer and for $20.00 you still feel that you’re receiving a quality product. As for the price tag for a beta product, I also received an email to inform me that the $20.00 for the beta would come off the cost of the final version of the .pdf upon release. Well done, FFG.

That said, onto the book itself. For those familiar with ‘Dark Heresy’, ‘Rogue Trader’ and ‘Death Watch’ there should be no mechanical surprises whatsoever. The game works on the basic d100 princicples of its’ predecessors, with the rules being interchangeable with the other systems. In many ways, this product is the perfect accompaniment to the other games, as Inqusitors from ‘Dark Heresy’ should be able to recruit guardsmen (especially the Storm Troopers in ‘Only War’), there are reasons for a regiment to work with Rogue Traders, and definitely to provide support in ‘Death Watch’ campaigns. The interoperability of the rules between the games is a massive advantage, whilst those new to the system will still have a fully-fleshed out rulebook which stands admirably by itself.

The premise of the game is to play a unit of Guardsmen – by far the most numerous (and expendable) military asset of the Imperium of Man – in the pursuit of various missions. Those familiar with ‘Death Watch’ will be notice that the rules for constructing missions are almost identical. There are a range of complications to keep life interesting as well as a swag of new kit that can be assigned for the completion of the mission.

‘Only War’ introduces a unique element to character creation in terms of the Comrade. This individual is assigned to a PC (unless you play a Commisar or Storm Trooper) and offers mechanical benefits for their presence. In doing so, they are a useful companion (comrade-in-arms) that a GM could flesh out with their own motivations and back story should they wish. Also, as these are effectively a second PC, it increases the unit size to a more believable level (ie five PCs plus their comrades equals a ten-man squad). There are plenty of rules around the comrade, including injuries and death (and how not to abuse them as a living shield) and also requisitioning new comrades. On this note, the requisition rules for equipment add an extra element to the game, especially given that some non-combat skills can grant bonuses to tracking down that ‘special’ item. The random equipment table also offers a host of opportunities to anyone wanting to take the role of the bent quartermaster or simply run a bit of a side business with other Guardsmen (amazing what those guys in the other platoon will pay for a lho stick when they run out, isn’t it?).

The developers clearly saw that the tread-heads in the audience would be appeased with vehicle rules, and they are present with most of the recognisable vehicles in the Guard represented in the book. The Front/Side/Rear armous system will appeal to war gamers and most of the vehicle entries read like a Codex with upgrades for weapons and the like. There has been effort made to ensure consistency in nomenclature between the tabletop battles and the RPG books, which is excellent. I’m not sure how many times PCs will be able to comandeer a Baneblade, but if they do, the GM has the rules.

Likewise, there are very straightforward rules for representing the theatre of war. It is rare that the mission will only involve the handful of Guardsmen portrayed by the PCs, so these rules allow the GM to have a cast of millions, somplete wiht artillery and mechanised assault which can form a stunning (and manageable) backdrop to the story.

I can see this fast vying for top spot on my FFG shelf at home, due to the human-ness which shines through and the versatility of play experiences. To play a foot slogger in 40K has to be an incredibly dreary (and fatal) experience, but the designers have made it an exciting prospect and I’m looking forward to exploring the human dimension of these war stories. Whilst it is the grim darkness of the 40K universe, you could easily adapt this to play in the tones of anything from ‘Dad’s Army’ to ‘The Dirty Dozen’ to ‘The Expendables’ or ‘Inglorious Bastards’. I’d highly recommend serving this with a side dish of Dan Abnett’s ‘Gaunt’s Ghosts’ series which will help you to visualise the non-combat core elements of a game like this.

Whilst this is a Beta, I haven’t spotted any immediate changes (after two readings cover-to-cover) but actual play will be the true test – and I can’t wait to do so. I just have to find a GM willing to let me play a Commisar now…

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 46 to 60 (of 230 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG