RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Deathwatch: Mark of the Xenos
by Dennis S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/22/2012 15:10:20
Mark of the Xenos is an excellent addition to the Deathwatch line, and about as close as we'll get (thus far) to a truly comprehensive monster book for the Warhammer 40k RPGs. Pretty much everyone you'd want to kill as a Space Marine is here (except the Eldar and Necrons, sadly), from all the big-name Chaos daemons, to the Tyranids, the Tau's broadside and pathfinders, and the Orkz' boys, nobs and warbosses. If you've got the Deathwatch core rulebook, then you've got the complete set, basically, of tyranid, chaos and tau adversaries for the Jericho Reach, and are unlikely ever to be at a loss for enemies to throw at the Space Marines. What's more, the book is laden with adventure seeds, lore, and fluff ideas for you to base missions and campaigns around, so you can easily take the book and pretty much immediately start running missions out of it. It's fantastic. I just wish that, at some point, we'd get a book that I could review as "completely comprehensive" – with all the iconic adversaries in one place.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: Mark of the Xenos
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Heresy: Core Rulebook
by Carson H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2012 08:58:54
I rated so low because I first down loaded this and the text was fuzzy and the bookmarks didn't work. Then an update was posted so I down loaded it again. Now the bookmarks work, but the cover was blank and the text was still fuzzy. It is "usable" as a quick referance, but with a $30 price tag it needs to be improved.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Black Fire Pass
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2012 02:05:14
While I have no interest in playing 3rd Edition Warhammer, there's enough fluff in here that I can use in my 2nd Edition game to make it worthwhile picking up in PDF form. I would recommend it for any GM running 1st or 2nd Edition with an interest in the region (my games usually take place in Averland, so this is a perfect fit for me). Glad I can get the material without all the bits I don't need.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Black Fire Pass
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Book of Grudges
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2012 02:02:14
While I have no interest in playing 3rd Edition Warhammer, there's enough fluff in here that I can use in my 2nd Edition game to make it worthwhile picking up in PDF form. Glad I can get the material without all the bits I don't need.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Book of Grudges
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rogue Trader: Core Rulebook
by Joseph W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2012 10:43:02
Glad to see it's updated so the sidebars are visible on Ipad.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deathwatch: Achilus Assault
by Idle R. H. P. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/09/2012 20:20:26
This book is firmly in the fluff camp of RPG supplements. In fact, if you can’t get enough 40K fluff and art (yes, you’ll recognize pieces), then this could be a five-star product for you. As you would expect from a Fantasy Flight 40K product, this book looks good. There are over a hundred gorgeous pages of history, planet descriptions, characters and adventure seeds to read through. The book details (and by “details”, I mean writes about, not stats out) the Tyranid threat, the Chaos menace and the Tau presence in the Jericho Reach. There are a few beautiful star maps and lots of flavor.

What keeps this from being a five-star product for me, however, is the lack crunch. There’s a new relic and deed in the book, and there are some intriguing antagonists, the colony of nanoscopic robots called simuloptera being my favorite. The rules on how to play interactions with a particular Imperial commander also look like a lot fun. It left me wanting more, though. The star maps and art had me hoping for a starship deck plan. The Commander Ebongrave rules made me wish that all NPCs had their own rules.

The first rule of show business is that you should always leave them wanting more, and this book definitely did that. It also made me want to play in the Jericho Reach.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: Achilus Assault
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rogue Trader: Hostile Acquisitions
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/07/2012 21:17:08
This is the supplement I've been waiting for. Everyone who I've played Rogue Trader with has skirted Imperial rule at best and obviously flown in the face of it at worst. Now, they finally have the ability to take alternate career ranks in just the type of criminal they have always wanted to be. More than that, the book describes what exactly a Rogue Trader should be expected to get away with and what would get them all but killed in the more "civil" parts of the Imperium. There are a number of adversaries for the players to contend with focused on Imperial lawkeepers, Inquisitors, and the like. Take that to the next level and you get the Nemesis path. This let's the GM create a fully fleshed out nemesis for his RT crew. It's a nice addition with some RP elements to make them feel more real. Finally, you get a ton of exotic and ridiculously valuable loot that your players can pursue. They obviously require a bit of smuggling and probably some treason to really take full advantage of, but you can't make an omelet without overthrowing a few Imperial planets.

I love the Warhammer 40K books and this finally gave me the kick in the pants to get a campaign going AND convinced my gaming group to jump on board to be flagrant space pirates. The art is insane as usual, so there's no reason not to buy this book.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: Hostile Acquisitions
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Black Crusade: Game Master's Kit
by Billiam B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/31/2012 23:35:01
Interior and border art alone is utterly stunning! (Full colour PDF only)
Slick table presentation, nice little adventures and forbidden background information for "Heretical Campaigns"!

Billiam B
bit.ly/rpgblog

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Black Crusade: Game Master's Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rogue Trader: Hostile Acquisitions
by Dennis S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/31/2012 17:58:37
Hostile Acquisitions is another excellent entry into the Rogue Trader line of products. It is also an extremely useful book for Dark Heresy or Black Crusade because of its subject matter. The same laws and groups that will be faced by the Rogue Trader as he or she deals with aliens, bootlegs bolters and engages in piracy, will also be the ones that are enforced by Dark Heresy (where you can play as Arbites) and be fought against by the Heretics in Black Crusade. Hostile Acquisition includes tons of flavorful new equipment and alternate class ranks. The Nemesis Origin Path is incredible stuff. It's so nice to be able to create an adversary through similar steps to how PCs are created, and it really helps flesh out the characters. While it is a very focused book (none of the material will work if the PCs want to stay within Imperial law, especially because the alternate class ranks IMMEDIATELY make you an enemy of some, or ALL OF the Imperium) it includes so many neat details it is nonetheless, in my opinion, worth the purchase for any Warhammer 40k RPG enthusiast.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: Hostile Acquisitions
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Heresy: Core Rulebook
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2012 11:58:05
While the book would normally be a 5 star, from the site I can only give it a single star due to the fact I spent 30 dollars for the digital version, and cannot download it since it has a 0 MB size, or in other words, there is no book for me to download despite spending the money. Perhaps once customer service gets back to me I can change my rating of this book.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Black Crusade: Game Master's Kit
by Dennis S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/06/2012 12:16:00
The Black Crusade Game Master's Kit is a serviceable aid to any Black Crusade campaign. It contains a fairly well-developed and lengthy campaign by Warhammer 40k RPG standards, focusing on the heretics seeking out treasures and power in a warp-ravaged world that still manages to have some semblances of the destitute normality one would see in Imperium worlds, and thus quite a lot of potential for roleplay. However, the sections with actual aid for GMs beyond the module, while it does contain important rules that increase the (somewhat lacking) longevity of Black Crusade player characters in comparison to the other RPGs, are short, and much of the material feels unambitious compared to the GM aids for the other lines. It is a worthwhile product, but if you're never going to look at the adventure module its value is greatly reduced.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Black Crusade: Game Master's Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Midnight Chronicles Package
by John F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2012 15:45:55
This setting is a great alternative to the usual fare. It is a dark world, cut off from all gods save one evil world-dominating power that has the peoples of Eredane living in fear. Izrador's church of shadow is the ruling power and uses orc minions to terrorize the populace into submission. Elves and dwarves are hunted while humans are enslaved. The "veil of shadow" has game impacts on magic and the oppressive society makes arms contraband.

Likes: Oppressive setting, lending to constant harassment for the players from the ruling powers. Numerous adventures rise out of "rebel" activity. New mechanics for magic that allow any player to practice some magic. Interesting new monsters and great adaptations of existing ones, especially undead and dragons. Somewhat interesting new base classes.

Dislikes: Class options are fairly limited, though they are expanded with heroic paths and a vast array of prcs. Players might tire of the restrictive setting. There's some ideas that seem a bit too familiar to other fantasy literature (Izrador to Sauron, the night kings to the nazgul, the veil and the fell remind me of the Sword of Truth).

The Movie: I really saw this as a bonus since it was only an additional $5. The movie is reasonably well produced with mediocre actors and a fairly engaging story. The ending is a bit anti-climactic but it does give you a feel for the oppressive nature of the setting and certainly measures up to other genre movies, not that that's saying much :)

Overall: A quality stand alone campaign setting, or perhaps more valuable for those who are just looking for interesting ideas to incorporate into a custom setting; Midnight includes a rich history and well laid out setting.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Midnight Chronicles Package
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fireborn: Player's Handbook
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2012 09:17:53
I wasn't sure what to expect when I bought this as I had just recently found a DM I liked and he offered to run this game. I am always willing to try new RPG's as I find the major ones to be getting kind of stale. So I bought this mainly on his recommendation and the fact that it was very cheap. I was pleasantly surprised.

The main thing I like about this game is the simplicity and how smooth the system seems to run. On top of that there seems to be a good bit of realism in the game. The only major negative that comes to mind is that the book is hard to use as a reference in that specific rules are hard to find when you need them. I didn't like the fact that the game is based in London though that isn't anything against London it is more that I don't like it when a game system insists on the setting being in one place. The simplicity factor is that the the game uses one type of dice which is the six sided dice. When you roll you either have a success(4-6) or you don't have a success(1-3). You get several dice depending on your stats and the point is to try to get enough successes to accomplish what you are trying to do. There are no levels to gain which I like a lot. You improve your character by increasing your skills or your stats. You also create a dragon character and a scion character which is a dragon that has forgotten his true nature and lives as a human. I thought this was a unique and cool concept that I haven't seen before. In addition the combat system is fairly intuitive and really simulates combat pretty well which is where the realism factor comes in.

Overall I really like this game and I haven't been this enthusiastic about a game in a while. The only reason it didn't get top marks is because of the less than optimal editing of the book.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fireborn: Player's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Heresy: Daemon Hunter
by Markus K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2011 09:24:47
The book is a must have for all players wanting to do an "against the enemy beyond" campaign. There are some interesting character options to be found and some really nice equipment.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy: Daemon Hunter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deathwatch: First Founding
by Dennis S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/20/2011 21:21:25
First Founding was perhaps designed to allay a common complaint among Warhammer 40k fans, that Deathwatch did not include enough of the classic Space Marine chapters for prospective players to use when building their characters. First Founding includes Chapter advancement tables and powers for the First Founding chapters not covered in the original Deathwatch: the Iron Hands, Salamanders, Raven Guard and White Scars. It also includes new stuff for the previously introduced chapters, the Ultramarines, Blood Angels, Dark Angels, Space Wolves and Imperial Fists. Fantasy Flight Games has always done a really good job with the Warhammer 40k setting, in my book. They’ve made it a really accessible universe to game in even if you have never heard of Games Workshop before, just because they digest its vast, sordid history so neatly and so well in their books. First Founding is no different. It includes reams of fluff to help you understand each Chapter of the Space Marines and how they are different. Not only that, it includes quite a bit of fluff about the ancient conflict which is the backbone of the entire setting, the Horus Heresy, as well as the Traitor Legions that initiated it. What's more, there is a lot of new rules material to fully support and integrate the First Founding chapters into the Deathwatch game. Whether you're running a Deathwatch campaign already (in which case there are new options for your old characters) or looking to start a new one entirely, First Founding is an excellent product to procure.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: First Founding
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 91 to 105 (of 238 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG