RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Rogue Trader: Hostile Acquisitions
by Dennis S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/31/2012 17:58:37
Hostile Acquisitions is another excellent entry into the Rogue Trader line of products. It is also an extremely useful book for Dark Heresy or Black Crusade because of its subject matter. The same laws and groups that will be faced by the Rogue Trader as he or she deals with aliens, bootlegs bolters and engages in piracy, will also be the ones that are enforced by Dark Heresy (where you can play as Arbites) and be fought against by the Heretics in Black Crusade. Hostile Acquisition includes tons of flavorful new equipment and alternate class ranks. The Nemesis Origin Path is incredible stuff. It's so nice to be able to create an adversary through similar steps to how PCs are created, and it really helps flesh out the characters. While it is a very focused book (none of the material will work if the PCs want to stay within Imperial law, especially because the alternate class ranks IMMEDIATELY make you an enemy of some, or ALL OF the Imperium) it includes so many neat details it is nonetheless, in my opinion, worth the purchase for any Warhammer 40k RPG enthusiast.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: Hostile Acquisitions
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dark Heresy: Core Rulebook
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2012 11:58:05
While the book would normally be a 5 star, from the site I can only give it a single star due to the fact I spent 30 dollars for the digital version, and cannot download it since it has a 0 MB size, or in other words, there is no book for me to download despite spending the money. Perhaps once customer service gets back to me I can change my rating of this book.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Black Crusade: Game Master's Kit
by Dennis S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/06/2012 12:16:00
The Black Crusade Game Master's Kit is a serviceable aid to any Black Crusade campaign. It contains a fairly well-developed and lengthy campaign by Warhammer 40k RPG standards, focusing on the heretics seeking out treasures and power in a warp-ravaged world that still manages to have some semblances of the destitute normality one would see in Imperium worlds, and thus quite a lot of potential for roleplay. However, the sections with actual aid for GMs beyond the module, while it does contain important rules that increase the (somewhat lacking) longevity of Black Crusade player characters in comparison to the other RPGs, are short, and much of the material feels unambitious compared to the GM aids for the other lines. It is a worthwhile product, but if you're never going to look at the adventure module its value is greatly reduced.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Black Crusade: Game Master's Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Midnight Chronicles Package
by John F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2012 15:45:55
This setting is a great alternative to the usual fare. It is a dark world, cut off from all gods save one evil world-dominating power that has the peoples of Eredane living in fear. Izrador's church of shadow is the ruling power and uses orc minions to terrorize the populace into submission. Elves and dwarves are hunted while humans are enslaved. The "veil of shadow" has game impacts on magic and the oppressive society makes arms contraband.

Likes: Oppressive setting, lending to constant harassment for the players from the ruling powers. Numerous adventures rise out of "rebel" activity. New mechanics for magic that allow any player to practice some magic. Interesting new monsters and great adaptations of existing ones, especially undead and dragons. Somewhat interesting new base classes.

Dislikes: Class options are fairly limited, though they are expanded with heroic paths and a vast array of prcs. Players might tire of the restrictive setting. There's some ideas that seem a bit too familiar to other fantasy literature (Izrador to Sauron, the night kings to the nazgul, the veil and the fell remind me of the Sword of Truth).

The Movie: I really saw this as a bonus since it was only an additional $5. The movie is reasonably well produced with mediocre actors and a fairly engaging story. The ending is a bit anti-climactic but it does give you a feel for the oppressive nature of the setting and certainly measures up to other genre movies, not that that's saying much :)

Overall: A quality stand alone campaign setting, or perhaps more valuable for those who are just looking for interesting ideas to incorporate into a custom setting; Midnight includes a rich history and well laid out setting.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Midnight Chronicles Package
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Fireborn: Player's Handbook
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2012 09:17:53
I wasn't sure what to expect when I bought this as I had just recently found a DM I liked and he offered to run this game. I am always willing to try new RPG's as I find the major ones to be getting kind of stale. So I bought this mainly on his recommendation and the fact that it was very cheap. I was pleasantly surprised.

The main thing I like about this game is the simplicity and how smooth the system seems to run. On top of that there seems to be a good bit of realism in the game. The only major negative that comes to mind is that the book is hard to use as a reference in that specific rules are hard to find when you need them. I didn't like the fact that the game is based in London though that isn't anything against London it is more that I don't like it when a game system insists on the setting being in one place. The simplicity factor is that the the game uses one type of dice which is the six sided dice. When you roll you either have a success(4-6) or you don't have a success(1-3). You get several dice depending on your stats and the point is to try to get enough successes to accomplish what you are trying to do. There are no levels to gain which I like a lot. You improve your character by increasing your skills or your stats. You also create a dragon character and a scion character which is a dragon that has forgotten his true nature and lives as a human. I thought this was a unique and cool concept that I haven't seen before. In addition the combat system is fairly intuitive and really simulates combat pretty well which is where the realism factor comes in.

Overall I really like this game and I haven't been this enthusiastic about a game in a while. The only reason it didn't get top marks is because of the less than optimal editing of the book.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fireborn: Player's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dark Heresy: Daemon Hunter
by Markus K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2011 09:24:47
The book is a must have for all players wanting to do an "against the enemy beyond" campaign. There are some interesting character options to be found and some really nice equipment.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy: Daemon Hunter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Deathwatch: First Founding
by Dennis S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/20/2011 21:21:25
First Founding was perhaps designed to allay a common complaint among Warhammer 40k fans, that Deathwatch did not include enough of the classic Space Marine chapters for prospective players to use when building their characters. First Founding includes Chapter advancement tables and powers for the First Founding chapters not covered in the original Deathwatch: the Iron Hands, Salamanders, Raven Guard and White Scars. It also includes new stuff for the previously introduced chapters, the Ultramarines, Blood Angels, Dark Angels, Space Wolves and Imperial Fists. Fantasy Flight Games has always done a really good job with the Warhammer 40k setting, in my book. They’ve made it a really accessible universe to game in even if you have never heard of Games Workshop before, just because they digest its vast, sordid history so neatly and so well in their books. First Founding is no different. It includes reams of fluff to help you understand each Chapter of the Space Marines and how they are different. Not only that, it includes quite a bit of fluff about the ancient conflict which is the backbone of the entire setting, the Horus Heresy, as well as the Traitor Legions that initiated it. What's more, there is a lot of new rules material to fully support and integrate the First Founding chapters into the Deathwatch game. Whether you're running a Deathwatch campaign already (in which case there are new options for your old characters) or looking to start a new one entirely, First Founding is an excellent product to procure.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: First Founding
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Game Master's Pack
by Jonathan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2011 08:02:05
Cheap way to have the information at your fingertips- especially if you use a laptop for GM'ing purposes. All in all a good product and a neat opening adventure.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Game Master's Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Rogue Trader: Battlefleet Koronos
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/04/2011 23:16:21
I had the opportunity to review 'Rites of Battle' recently and concluded that no 'Deathwatch' GM could run the game without it. Given the focus of 'Rogue Trader', I feel exactly the same way about this book. Chock-full of information which simply would not have fit in the main rulebook (a hefty tome in itself), this definitely required a separate supplement.

Perhaps the authors wanted to start with a bang, as it jumps straight into a vast array of new weapons which are simply devastating. Torpedoes are given a full treatment, followed by attack craft, then the impressive Nova Cannon and rounding off the chapter with a selection of new starship hulls. Each hull comes with an illustration in the best 40K style - aficionados of the wargame will not be disappointed. In fact, with 11 pages dedicated to new starships, the players and GM alike will not lack for choice. Having played a number of sci-fi RPGs, I can say that I'm always on the lookout for new vehicles, and this sentiment is obviously shared by the games' designers.

Chapter 2 gives an interesting overview of the form and function of the Imperial Navy and provides a range of interesting nuggets of information which can be seamlessly woven into your campaign. Chapter 4 likewise gives a host of new information for the game in terms of space warfare from squadrons to scaling space battles and is well worth the read.

Chapter 3 was actually the first one I read in the book. As a GM for 'Dark Heresy' and 'Deathwatch' I'm on immediate lookout for anything Xenos, and this chapter, whilst designed for 'Rogue Trader' is eminently useful for the other game lines too. Herein you'll find Orks and Eldar (among others) with new weapons, information and of course ships. In my opinion, the most useful 30 pages in the book, although I shan't disparage the quality of the other chapters.

The book has internal links which I have come to expect from FFG e-publications and this improves navigation immensely, especially as I see this primarily as a reference book. As I mentioned before, the artwork is wonderfully faithful to the wargame and the layout logical and readable.

I can't honestly see how one runs 'Rogue Trader' without a copy of this book and 'Into the Storm' as they form a core trilogy of purchases for any newcomer to the game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: Battlefleet Koronos
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Game Master's Pack
by Thomas D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2011 03:08:39
Having recently bought WFRP I was looking for something to expand the game which I could easily throw in as and when required. This pack suits that perfectly.
The extra tables/lists of characters, events, taverns etc really help to colour your game or just give you an insight into the world.
The DM screen is also a useful addition as I'd noticed that this game could be tabletastic but now they are all is one place!
The PDF came out fine and was easily readable and for only $5 (around £4) it is well worth it just for the extra fluff.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Game Master's Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Deathwatch: First Founding
by Berin K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/02/2011 13:53:53
Forget the crunchy bits, if you love the 40k universe at all this is worth reading just for the fluff and the artwork. If you play the game, there are useful rules bits as well. Another excellent 40k RPG sourcebook.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: First Founding
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Game Master's Pack
by Rob H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2011 14:45:55
Very cheap for what you get as this is both the original GM pack and the newer GMs Toolkit.

The original pack comes with alot of the first edition material reprinted for second edition as well as an excellent introductory adventure which is one of the few published adventures not to be about chaos cults and mutants.

The GMs Toolkit comes with a very helpful information pack with lots of expanded ideas for setting adventures in cities and towns as well as plothooks and other adventure ideas.

Given that buying these packs in hardcopy is going to set you back at least 10 times the price on here, this is a very worthwhile purchase.

It's also my first experience with Drive Thru RPG and I am very impressed with the service.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Game Master's Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Black Crusade: Core Rulebook
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2011 17:45:39
Great content!
Excellent game!
Astonishingly badly proofed, even for an RPG, especially for an FFG product.

If you can get past this (which you should because it is still an excellent game) then it's an excellent addition to the 40K universe.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Crusade: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Black Crusade: Core Rulebook
by Alex B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2011 11:38:29
The Best Warhammer 40 000 roleplay game book. Very detailed. After reading this, i have no questions about rules, which i cannot say about other core rulebooks in warhammer 40000 ruleplay series.
Game mechanic changed, which i like very much(less homerules). And, now, i can say: Death To The False Emperor! Ave Dominus Nox!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dark Heresy: Church of the Damned
by Nearly e. D. P. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/27/2011 18:19:14
Church of the Damned is the second book of the The Apostasy Gambit campaign and a follow up to the first book, The Black Sepulchre. The book promises to have something for every player, whether that is all-action guns blazing, or mystery and intrigue.

To be fair, there are small spoilers, so I suggest if you want a summary - skip to the last paragraph!

The book is split up into three separate stories - that weave together into one module. The first chapter starts you in a cathedral with a non-linear exploration and investigation part into the duties of the Ecclesiarchy. All the little details are there from holy scriptures into what Sisters of Battle do when they aren't blasting their enemies to shreds. The second chapter has you involved in the underhive and gang wars which will give your players they action they crave. Finally in the third chapter it has you making your way to a Shrine world where all hell, literally, breaks loose.

As would be expected from Fantasy Flight, the production values are excellent. The artwork is stunning and the book style really hits home the 40k universe. At the end of each chapter is the infinitely helpful "troubleshooting" section which can help a GM think of a way to deal with potential problem scenarios. At the beginning there is also a detailed GM brief to help give an overview of what is going on.

Obviously it would be best if you have played the first module before this one, but it isn't difficult to take this as a standalone adventure if you so want. It is a great little story and I heartily recommend it. There really is something for every type of acolyte and the twist in the plot really is a great idea. This certainly gets 5/5 from me.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy: Church of the Damned
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 91 to 105 (of 230 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG