RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Deathwatch: First Founding
by Berin K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/02/2011 13:53:53
Forget the crunchy bits, if you love the 40k universe at all this is worth reading just for the fluff and the artwork. If you play the game, there are useful rules bits as well. Another excellent 40k RPG sourcebook.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: First Founding
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Game Master's Pack
by Rob H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2011 14:45:55
Very cheap for what you get as this is both the original GM pack and the newer GMs Toolkit.

The original pack comes with alot of the first edition material reprinted for second edition as well as an excellent introductory adventure which is one of the few published adventures not to be about chaos cults and mutants.

The GMs Toolkit comes with a very helpful information pack with lots of expanded ideas for setting adventures in cities and towns as well as plothooks and other adventure ideas.

Given that buying these packs in hardcopy is going to set you back at least 10 times the price on here, this is a very worthwhile purchase.

It's also my first experience with Drive Thru RPG and I am very impressed with the service.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Game Master's Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Black Crusade: Core Rulebook
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2011 17:45:39
Great content!
Excellent game!
Astonishingly badly proofed, even for an RPG, especially for an FFG product.

If you can get past this (which you should because it is still an excellent game) then it's an excellent addition to the 40K universe.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Crusade: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Black Crusade: Core Rulebook
by Alex B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2011 11:38:29
The Best Warhammer 40 000 roleplay game book. Very detailed. After reading this, i have no questions about rules, which i cannot say about other core rulebooks in warhammer 40000 ruleplay series.
Game mechanic changed, which i like very much(less homerules). And, now, i can say: Death To The False Emperor! Ave Dominus Nox!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy: Church of the Damned
by Nearly e. D. P. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/27/2011 18:19:14
Church of the Damned is the second book of the The Apostasy Gambit campaign and a follow up to the first book, The Black Sepulchre. The book promises to have something for every player, whether that is all-action guns blazing, or mystery and intrigue.

To be fair, there are small spoilers, so I suggest if you want a summary - skip to the last paragraph!

The book is split up into three separate stories - that weave together into one module. The first chapter starts you in a cathedral with a non-linear exploration and investigation part into the duties of the Ecclesiarchy. All the little details are there from holy scriptures into what Sisters of Battle do when they aren't blasting their enemies to shreds. The second chapter has you involved in the underhive and gang wars which will give your players they action they crave. Finally in the third chapter it has you making your way to a Shrine world where all hell, literally, breaks loose.

As would be expected from Fantasy Flight, the production values are excellent. The artwork is stunning and the book style really hits home the 40k universe. At the end of each chapter is the infinitely helpful "troubleshooting" section which can help a GM think of a way to deal with potential problem scenarios. At the beginning there is also a detailed GM brief to help give an overview of what is going on.

Obviously it would be best if you have played the first module before this one, but it isn't difficult to take this as a standalone adventure if you so want. It is a great little story and I heartily recommend it. There really is something for every type of acolyte and the twist in the plot really is a great idea. This certainly gets 5/5 from me.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy: Church of the Damned
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rogue Trader: Core Rulebook
by James H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2011 16:53:15
I really enjoy the content.

The layout could be improved -- character creation is spread out and requires flipping back and forth as well as discovering several near-hidden bits tucked away.

Some bits of art seem to be damaged or obscured (layer issue?).

The Table of Contents and searching (Mac OS 10.6.x, Preview app) ... is really not good. The ToC is nested down three levels of disclosure triangles. Clicking on any item in the ToC does not take you to that section. Seems like a rush job was done here. Thumbs down.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rogue Trader: The Citadel of Skulls
by Adam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2011 11:45:15
The art was pretty, there's some information on Iniquity, a couple of small story hooks, and a reasonable selection of NPCs and NPC ships.

However, it felt quite railroady, and I didn't see a lot of resources or interesting ideas useable outside this adventure. All in all, it's just another pretty formulaic dungeon crawl.

To expand a bit on the railroadyness, I particularly disliked the conductor NPC. "Oh, yeah, all the secrets you want to know about are in this one place, let me take you there." I would rather give the party bits of information until they decided that they wanted to go to this place - or not. Grabbing them by the hand and telling them they should go to this place is not something I would want to do. They do give an alternative path if you kill the conductor, but it's just to replace him with another conductor. There is not so much as a sidebar giving tips for alternate ways to get the party to want to get on the railroad tracks. Sure, I can come up with my own ideas, but given the unimpressive nature of the adventure, at that point I may as well just create a wholly original one.

This adventure wasn't much to my liking, but it's not without some redeeming value, hence my rating.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: The Citadel of Skulls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deathwatch: Game Master's Kit
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2011 07:41:53
In my opinion this is the best of the Warhammer 40K RPG GM Kits. The screen contains the most important charts and tables, weapon stats, a summary table of combat actions and rules reminders for different shooting types (automatic, overwatch etc.) and combat against Hordes.

The scenario is the high point of this kit. Without wanting to give things away, it gives the Kill-team a planet as their sandbox and the GM the freedom to run it at the pace and intensity he wishes. Like the best of this kind of scenario, it contains enough structure that the GM will feel comfortable with everything that's going on. The preview on Drivethru should give you a good idea whether this scenario will suit you or not. There's more to this than the scenario in the core rulebook, and it would make a good first scenario for a new Kill-team.

The scenario section also includes some information that it would have been nice to see in the main book - a few paragraphs on day to day life on Watchfortress Erioch and some illustrated NPCs from Erioch. These are the things that help me get a feel for a setting and I'm glad they fitted them in here.

The last section is about how to build good missions and importantly make them different from one another. This will be invaluable to less experienced GMs, but I don't think it hurts to have this kind of material and game-specific examples no matter how long you've ben running games. Given that we seem to have less time to come up with games as we get older, this sort of information is a real timesaver.

I wouldn't normally get a GM screen in PDF, the main reason I did here was because I plan to run Deathwatch online. I don't actually end up using most of the GMs screens I do have though, so that shouldn't really be a factor. I'd thoroughly recommend this product as a solid adventure and some good additional information to supplement the main book.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: Game Master's Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rogue Trader: The Citadel of Skulls
by Nearly e. D. P. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/03/2011 15:03:56
Citadel of Skulls is the second book from the warpstorm trilogy (actually starting with The Frozen Reaches ) which continues on the adventure path for the Rogue Trader system. On the hunt to discover the cause of vanishing settlements and increased xenos sightings, you and your fellow Explorers are thrust on a perilous journey. You discover that a great beast has awakened from beyond the edges of the Koronus Expanse which risks destroying all that is nearby. Before you can attempt to seek it out and destroy it, you have to discover what and where it is. Finding the answer is a almost impossible task, pitting you against an infamous pirate lord blessed by Chaos.

Like a big majority of Fantasy Flight products the module looks asthetically fantastic. Careful proof-reading and design means I haven't spotted a single error within this book. The first few pages give excellent detail for the Games master to get a good feel of what is going on whether they have played the first adventure or not and gives plenty of background information to help them get a good understaning of what the player will be facing. There are maps for the GM to refer to so they have a good visual aid of the area the players will be roaming in and in case, like every adventuring party, they decide that going off course is the only route possible then there is plenty of fluff to help them get it back on track.

The adventure module does recommend that you run The Frozen Reaches first and I do agree. While this could be run as a standalone in itself you would need to help come up with an explanation as to why the players are doing this and Frozen Reaches sets this up really nicely. I personally haven't read the first module of this adventure path but thankfully there is a small description of it at the beginning of this book.

All the NPCs are detailed in the appendix and also help give a bit more insight to them, so as to help the GM act them out if necessary. It has stat blocks for everything and a list of all special abilities or talents. It also has, unsurprisingly, a list of experience you can get for each chapter in the adventure and achievement points the player can earn as well. They could have given far less detail or for less information and you would still be able to run this adventure module successfully and instead you get a fantastic level of information to drip feed your players as they go. I love how some of the NPCs have little quirks that only occur in certain situation that you can choose how they affect your players. For example, Skar's little quirk is just a nice touch to add.

The adventure itself is excellent. Again I don't want to give away too much of the detail surrounding the adventure but it is in the true, gritty style of the 40K universe and one particular line stood out to me that really did sum it up perfectly:

"The explorers should get out by the skin of their teeth"

Overall this is an excellent quality book with plenty of detail and beautiful artwork as would be expected from a Fantasy Flight module. The story is interesting and challenging for the players and in plenty of detail. It really feels it would be much better for the players if you run the first module before going onto this one, however a resourceful Games Master could easily slot this in to their game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: The Citadel of Skulls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Heresy: Church of the Damned
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/23/2011 17:20:01
‘Church of the Damned’ is a very strong follow-up to ‘The Black Sepulchre’ and proves without a doubt that sequels can be as good as the first instalment. It offers from the outset a promise that there will be something for everyone, whether you like action, mystery or simply just immersing yourself in the creepy horror that is the forty-first millennium.

It shares the same format as ‘The Black Sepulchre’, offering three interlocking stories. What is very appealing about this is that the authors have taken great care in making each adventure a distinct, unique experience, and have utilised the backdrop of the 40K universe effectively for this purpose. The first adventure takes place in a cathedral and offers insight into the daily workings of the Ecclesiarchy from sermons, holy texts, relic authentication and the medicae (including treatments for ailments of the mind, body and soul). The second moves to Gunmetal City and a tromp through the Underhive in pursuit of the less than salubrious elements of society. The adventure wraps up with a visit to a Shrine World where the level of blasphemy has been ‘turned up to eleven’.

As you can well imagine, the product delivers on its’ promise to offer all characters a chance to shine, but it was the little details that really made this a joy to read. Snippets of information about the daily duties of the Sisters of Battle, odd currency systems in the Underhive and even artwork which reflects the current range of Games Workshop miniatures (like the Skyshield platform just visible on p. 52) show that the authors are just as enthusiastic as the players in creating a believable, faithful world. The player handouts in the Appendix are excellent props and care has obviously been taken to make each look authentic – print these in colour for your players (accept no black and white substitutes).

I really can’t fault this product in terms of content, art direction and layout. The production values are high; but I would have liked to have seen the internal links to chapters and pages that have been evident in other FFG products. This is, however, a minor flaw in an otherwise perfect product. I’ll be eagerly awaiting part three to see how this all ends (which will hopefully be with a bang, and lots of fire).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy: Church of the Damned
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: The Edge of Night
by Kirlian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2011 12:17:56
the book has a great content, but is copy protected and does not come with extra accessories like the printed version.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: The Edge of Night
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Winds of Magic & Liber Mutatis [BUNDLE]
by Skippy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2011 01:56:50
I enjoyed all the information provided about each order of magic, but there's two problems for me. First, I would have liked to see more about Necromancy, but there's only a few paragraphs on it and nothing you couldn't think of yourself. The second problem is that this book needs the cards that go with it: you're getting the book but absolutely no spells with it. But since Amazon is selling this for a bit more than the price of $10, I suppose I shouldn't complain. Otherwise it's a very good book and helps in details for the WFRP3e setting.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Winds of Magic & Liber Mutatis [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Heresy: Daemon Hunter
by Claus P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2011 13:44:39
The book in itself is good, however the PDF file is not compatible with Apple devices as it is atm. It only renders in Adobe Reader.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy: Daemon Hunter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Heresy: Daemon Hunter
by Alexander I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2011 06:56:10
I have a corrected copy now. Very good and useful book. Thank you!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: Core Rulebook
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2011 02:36:42
Nice fast delivery and quality of digital books is very good.

However there seem to be some duplicate items in the download which increased the downloaded package.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 106 to 120 (of 235 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG