RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Urban Adventures: A Pound of Flesh
by Brian G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2015 11:00:37
I stumbled upon this adventure module quite by accident. Having grown a little lazy and shorter on time to prep gaming material...I often will turn to pre-made modules for a basis or inspiration for running an adventure for my gaming group.

I was looking for some interesting material based on a city adventure. The old trope of explore caves and ruins and underground complexes has gotten a little old for my tastes. I wanted something different...and this was it.

A Pound of Flesh offers an interesting, complex, engaging foray into a city adventure. It is set in 0one's Great City, but that can quite simply be overlooked and any city can stand in for it.

The basic plot is fairly linear: missing person, PCs have to investigate and persuade (or threaten) to get the info they need, follow the clues and discover what is behind the disappearance. There are several sections to the plot-line and depending on how clever your players are, some of them may be bypassed all-together. Taverns, gambling halls, rundown apartments, dilapidated old docks, abandoned warehouses, prostitutes, zombies, thugs, aristocrats, and cultists.

How can you go wrong with that mix?

The story is really well developed, as are all the NPCs. Backgrounds, motivations, and knowledge of all the characters is laid out quite nicely. The scenes of the adventure flow beautifully together. My group even skipped a couple and threw a curve-ball at me on another that let me do a little improvising to keep things on track.

The detail of the locations and buildings is full fleshed out, even providing some non-plot-relevant NPCs to interact with. My players loved when they mistakenly stumbled in the the dominatrix's abode, and the hilarity that ensued.

The module is 50 pages of full stated foes for the 3.5 rule set which can easily be used for Pathfinder. I ran the adventure using Savage Worlds, so it was pretty easy to convert on the fly, and worked out quite well.

Whether you are looking for an immersive, role-playing opportunity, or a combat-focused, roll-playing one, A Pound of Flesh can provide either quite nicely, or a blend, all depending on how you run it and how your gaming group approaches the challenges.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Urban Adventures: A Pound of Flesh
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Great City: Castle Ward
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/08/2015 16:46:34
Was looking for a walled castle and this fit the bill. I used it mostly for the maps and really didn't use the NPCs (although they were perfectly fine).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Great City: Castle Ward
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Battlemaps: Slave Ship
by scott i. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2015 23:40:52
The preview image and overview maps look very lush, illustrated, and immersive, but the scale maps are low poly count CGI images with limited textures, and not illustrated.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemaps: Slave Ship
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Colorprints #10: The Sunken City
by Patrick V. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2015 12:02:44
I was hoping that this would include a battle map because finding one of sunken city isn't easy, but this product doesn't include one. Otherwise, it's a decent product for a DM.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Colorprints #10: The Sunken City
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sinking: Animation
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/06/2015 06:23:59
Whilst this adventure starts in an inn, it's not the usual cliche of a bunch of adventurers being approached by a stranger with a job or a treasure map for them... well, not quite. For a start, it's the landlord and he needs help with a gremlin problem. Up for a spot of extermination?

The Great City, in which the adventure is set, has suffered a cataclysm, a giant sink hole has appeared. The adventures in The Sinking series are all in some way linked to this event, but can be played in any order or as stand-alone adventures, rather than as a true adventure path. This one is no different, with a plague of annoying events rapidly escalating into something quite dangerous. Gremlins are the least of the characters' worries.

The adventure is well-paced, with the initial contract to deal with gremlins developing into a mysterious event that leaves all manner of items, including street furniture, animated and causing trouble. Chaos erupts swiftly, and the party is on hand to deal with it - if they can but figure out what is going on. Interestingly, you are given two explanations: one to use if playing this as a one-off adventure and a variant if you are using as part of a linked sequence with other adventures in The Sinking series.

It's a neat short adventure, occupying but an evening in-character and likewise playable in a similar timescale. The chaos can prove entertaining as well as exciting, and ought to keep the characters on their toes. It is well supported with maps of the inn and surrounding area, and with good descriptions of encounters, and a couple of new things - a construct and a magical item - that may prove of use in your own adventures. This should provide for an amusing evening's play.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sinking: Animation
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sinking: Doom Golem Rising
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/01/2015 10:09:41
Intended as the climax to the entire saga of The Sinking - a series of stand-alone yet linked adventures set in the Great City - this could also be run as a one-off adventure although it might be a bit confusing and would certainly involve a fair bit of explanation and even some handwaving to convince the characters that they are where you'll need them to be to begin the adventure. It would be much better if they are familiar with the Great City and have experienced at least some of the earlier adventures, that way they should have a handle on what is going on!

The adventure starts in media res with the characters stepping through a dimensional gate. From there, they have an underground complex to explore and some evil creatures to deal with, interestingly there is scope for interaction as well as combat... they can even be convinced to be helpful! The complex is described vividly and as they explore they should gain some understanding of what makes its denizens tick, and just how much danger previous visitors pose to surface dwellers particularly those living in the Great City.

As the adventure proceeds, the characters will be able to gather information and equipment necessary to defeat those who created the sinkhole in the first place before coming up through it to find them on the surface busy announcing that they are the heroes of the day... leading to a climactic fight between two 'doom golems' in the finest mecha style! The Great City won't forget this day in a hurry.

Throughout the adventure, there are references to earlier adventures in the series, which are explained well enough for those who have not played them although they'll work better if the characters have their earlier experiences to draw upon. There's plenty of scope for political double-dealing, or at least the exposure thereof, so players who prefer intrigue to brawling will also have plenty to do, whilst those who revel in combat will have a blast!

You ought to get several sessions of high-octane adventure out of this one, especially enjoyable if you have played at least some of the preceding adventures and can follow the strands that have led to this point. It's a cracker!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sinking: Doom Golem Rising
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints PRO: Kobolds Warrens
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2015 10:32:50
While these are, IMHO, not publishable-grade maps, they are really good author turn over maps (turnover map being what the author turned over to me after writing an adventure). I would have no problem taking any map from this set, giving it to an author, saying "make me an adventure using this map" and then turning it over to a cartographer saying, draw me this, only better. The maps are readable, and clear and using them as the basis for writing an adventure should be no problem.

At a price of $10 for 5 turnover-grade maps (one map being 3 levels of a tower, another being a cemetery and the crypt underneath), I'd call it worth the price, barely. I would rank this as 3 stars, but the fact that everything is on separate layers, something I want to encourage, I am bumping this to 4 stars.

One final note: if you are publishing your first product/adventure, these can certainly be used as publishable maps. These are a great starting point for a new publisher without a large library of art and connections to established artists.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints PRO: Kobolds Warrens
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints PRO: Ten Small Dungeons
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2015 10:27:57
While these are, IMHO, not publishable-grade maps, they are really good author turn over maps (turnover map being what the author turned over to me when an adventure). I would have no problem taking any map from this set, giving it to an author, saying "make me an adventure using this map" and then turning it over to a cartographer saying, draw me this, only better. The maps are readable, and clear and using them as the basis for writing an adventure should be no problem.

At a price of $10 for 10 turnover-grade maps, I'd call it worth the price if you publish adventures. I would rank this as 3 stars, but the fact that everything is on separate layers, something I want to encourage, I am bumping this to 4 stars. Certainly worth it.

One final note: if you are publishing your first product/adventure, these can certainly be used as publishable maps. These are a great starting point for a new publisher without a large library of art and connections to established artists.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints PRO: Ten Small Dungeons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Basic Paths: Murder a la Carte (Pathfinder)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/11/2015 08:11:36
This adventure is designed with the novice GM in mind, and involves a series of unfortunate events in a mansion near the rural settlement of Gafolweed. It's intended for 3rd-level characters, ideally from the area. This mansion is the home of an adventurer called Marcellus Drake... an adventurer who has ensured his fame lasts by penning a series of autobiographical stories about his adventures.

The characters are brought into the story by an ingenious twist: the late adventurer's lawyer contacts them stating that they are his heirs, but to claim their inheritance they must solve the mystery of the adventurer's own murder!

With most adventures, this is where I'd make some comment about not everything being quite so straightforward, but in this one it is not a case of all is not what it seems - nothing is what it seems! The mansion is, needless to say, absolutely bursting with traps and other dangers, and the dungeon beneath is inspired by the stories of the adventurer's exploits.

The adventure begins in Gafolweed, where the legends around Marcellus Drake have become a cottage industry. Copies of the stories and related merchandise can be obtained here, and it is here that the party will be approached by the 'lawyer' informing them of their good fortune. Everything is well laid out with helpful hints and tips for the GM on how to run each encounter, even in the fairly loose and freeform early stages. Stat blocks for each encounter are clear and placed just where you need them. Good notes are given on playing each NPC as that individual is first presented, whilst descriptions - of people, places and things - paint vivid pictures. In addition there are neat "GM's Tips" that give additional advice on how to deal with various issues from concealing that an NPC is lying to keeping track of a horde of them.

The course of the adventure is quite free-form, with the characters able to wander around at will, interacting with the household staff and exploring the various parts of the mansion. Yet everything is laid out clearly so that the GM will be able to let the party have free rein while being able to respond appropriately. Ways of passing information on to the characters are suggested, including gleaning clues from knowledge of Drake's exploits (even if they have to speed-read the books - assuming they bought any - mid-dungeon!).

Several battlemaps (0one are good at them!), paper standees for the monsters and handouts are provided. The handouts are slightly marred by obtrusive product branding, but it is just about possible to cut around it if you prefer 'realistic' looking handouts.

This is a novel and well-resourced take on that old classic, the puzzle dungeon. It's coherent and logical, and should make for an entertaining game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Basic Paths: Murder a la Carte (Pathfinder)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sinking: Locks of the Panopticon
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/22/2015 04:31:07
An Endzeitgeist.com review of the revised edition

This installment of the Sinking-mini-modules clocks in at 21 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 14 pages of content, so let's take a look!



This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players will want to jump to the conclusion.



Still here? All right!

With a massive bounty on their heads, courtesy of the Trypus Acadamae, the PCs hopefully have managed to flee the city once again towards their refugee camp, where blood senator Vulgrax may actually prove helpful with the help of the information the PCs have uncovered - the PCs are presented with a blade with weird etchings that may prove to be from the hold the Malchort Cabal operates from/seeks to control - the fabled Panopticon. (And yes, if this does not feature an omni-scrying device, I will be very much disappointed for using cool terminology and then failing to deliver.)



Now via the lost tunnels in the Vulgrax's old holdings, the PCs may penetrate the fortress of the Malchort -however, they will have to succeed in elementally-themed challenges - from freezing cold subterranean lakes with sea serpents, magma lakes etc. - the challenges per se are simply awesome and at this point, I've seen *A LOT* elemental shenanigans: They actually require brains as well as brawns to solve and e.g. challenge the player's logic with an AWESOME poem/light-based puzzle. Better yet, the problematic map-glitch that rendered one puzzle unwinnable has been fixed - kudos!

Finally bypassing a crystal dragon and dread undead guardians, the PCs can penetrate the panopticon through the Darkgate...where the final chapter of The Sinking awaits!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are good - since the map-glitch has been resolved, no particularly crucial mistakes remain.. Layout adheres to a 2-column b/w-standard and the pdf comes with cool, original b/w-artworks and 0onegame's great cartography. The pdf comes extensively bookmarked for your convenience.



Author John Ling cares about this module and one can see why. He has delivered an array of solid challenges, which, while in theme being of the "been there, done that" type, in execution, panache and flair more than make up for the classic theme. I love it if players need to use their brains as well. The elemental challenges herein proved to be surprisingly neat and this module with its low price point and now fixed maps may not stand as the best in the series, but it is definitely a good module. My final verdict will clock in at 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Sinking: Locks of the Panopticon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Black & White: Medusa Hideout
by Tiago C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2015 12:29:54
This map is very nice, the author take care to let we print the map and not to spend to much ink.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Black & White: Medusa Hideout
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deep Blues: Victorian House
by Noah D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2014 09:57:27
I am normally a huge fan of 0one products, but I was very disappointed in this one, which appears to have been done quickly and without a lot of thought. The plans lack a number of things one would expect to see in a house of that area, including (arguably) a bathroom, privies and most especially quarters for the servants! There are also some anomalies in the house, including an extra room on both the first and second floor, each of which have a door and a window but no furnishings and no apparent function. On a production level the Legend pages for those floors, which might have explained the purpose of those rooms, are not included in the product.

Altogether, this is NOT Oone's best piece of work by a long shot.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Deep Blues: Victorian House
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Black & White: Medusa Hideout
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2014 18:44:11
Think the thought put into it. Will work well in the sewers of my current campaign. One issue the collapsing bridge is not well explained--how does she cross?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Black & White: Medusa Hideout
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Black & White: Medusa Hideout
by Charles M T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2014 12:02:00
I got this a couple of years ago and was quite pleased. Apart from the odd English grammar (the author is not a native speaker, so I can forgive that), it is a good starting point for a low-level adventuring party or a drop-in location in a sandbox campaign. Since it does not clarify just what the nature of the Medusa truly is, I decided I would use it in a sci-fi campaign rather than fantasy. My Medusa was a woman with access to technology that emulated the mythical creature's powers. This is worth grabbing whatever genre you decide to use it in. It certainly convinced me to try the rest of the materials released by 0One.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Sinking: Beneath the Shadowheart
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/05/2014 04:23:30
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Sinking-mini-modules clocks in at 21 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 14 pages of content, so let's take a look!



This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.



Still here? All right!

After a two-module spanning furious escape from the City into the holds of the enigmatic, xenophobic Kalks, the PCs have deserved a breather - alas, no rest for the wicked: One of Senator Vulgrax allies, bloodied and beaten, manages to find his way into the PC's sanctuary - and his tidings do not bode well. The poor sap has tried to escape via the shadowheart, one of the outskirts of the notorious Dungeon Under the Mountain - for the Trypus has quarantined the area around the sinkhole, collecting dissidents - and now, execution may be eminent.



It does look like the PCs will be on the hunt through the shadowheart to enter the city and prevent the worst -hence, the following excursion through the tunnels is a fast-paced dungeon-crawl (featuring lavishly cartographed, player-friendly maps) through the doppelganger-infested tunnels - only to find a perished creature that may spawn a dread new type of undead. The Crusader Tavern and the crackdown of the Kharel on the place coincides with the PCs re-entering the city and from there on, they better be on their way towards the compound - where gathering information finally becomes possible - the strange plans the Trypus hatched and the true nature of the sinkhole - provided the PCs can get in fast and get out again, Vulgrax may actually, with the information, finally provide some answers...



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant issues. Layout adheres to a 2-column b/w-standard and the pdf comes with cool, original b/w-artworks and 0onegame's great cartography. The pdf comes extensively bookmarked for your convenience.



Tim Hitchcock's Beneath the Shadowheart starts off slow with and then turns into a cool "behind enemy lines/enemy of the state"-scenario that is quite an awesome set-up for the things to come - add to that the neat hazards and creatures and we get a cool module indeed, if one that in my opinion could have used slightly more information on the security procedures. Still, a great module for an almost unbeatable price and well worth 4.5 stars, rounded up to 5 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sinking: Beneath the Shadowheart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 620 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG