RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Road to Revolution: The Skullcrackers
by Paco G. J. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/17/2011 11:07:16
This review was written by Thilo Graf and first published in G*M*S Magazine

This pdf is from 0one Games is 43 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page blank inside front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of advertisements, 1 page SRD and 1 page back cover, leaving 35 pages of adventure, so let’s check it out!

Layout adheres to the clear and concise 0one-games-two-column-standard, the pdf is extensively bookmarked and comes with free colour-versions of the hand-outs (and broadsides that are put up throughout the city) in a separate pdf and also has its own conversion notes to make the adventure compatible with PFRPG. Editing is good – I only noticed one glitch.

This being an adventure review, SPOILERS will continue to abound, so potential players please jump to the conclusion and stop reading NOW.

….

Still here?

All right! The PCs stumble across the body of Malkan Abberbaugh, who was supposedly murdered by wild animals in a park – not everything is as it seems, though, and the PCs will hit a brick wall of bureaucratic red tape by the army, who wants to keep the death under wraps. After having the corpse taken away, the PCs can track it to Grang’s Crematorium, where they’ll be met with a rather uncooperative fellow. Why? Well, turns out ol’ Grang has turned to cannibalism and enjoys his meals with a gourmet ghoul. Yep, you heard it. Cool, isn’t it? We get a map for the crematorium and once the PCs have infiltrated the place and analyse the corpse, they’ll notice that both druids and their animals definitely are innocent of the murder and will continue to army ward, where Marcus Galwatty, a sergeant tries to block them and intimidate them to keep away from the investigation.

A full blown bar brawl can also see the PCs accused of murder and arrested and after asking around town in this free play-style sandboxy setting, the PCs will have encountered the legendary alchemist Mafurin and his coat-with-tails-wearing Troll Werewolf-bodyguard Hulg. Via the street urchin Eddie Gin or some other means, the PCs will meet a guy called Grosh One-Ear, who claims that a member of the Dragon Claws-gang has murdered Abberbaugh. A member of said gang will contact the PCs and claim that rogue members are responsible. After a short mini-crawl in the sewers (with its own map), the PCs will again be contacted by the Dragon Claw, who points them towards to true culprits, a subsection of the army called Skullcrackers that dominate illegal fight clubs in the residential ward. In this climate of racial tensions, they will venture into smuggler’s tunnels to find a lost piece of jewellery for a member of a crossroads club serving a shrine spirit. Should they survive their trek into the subterranean tunnels, they’ll have their final clue, the identity of the killer. In a cinematic and highly unusual finale, the PCs go to the fight club and take out the deadly dwarven wererat rogue and his henchmen while bets are flung on the outcome and the crowd is cheering – in any way, a cool and rather uncommon finale.

Conclusion:

This investigation is very interesting in the fact that it’s not strictly linear and has several tools for the GM to keep it going in both the NPCs and the encounters. The adventure is fast-paced and has some cool, iconic backdrops and immediately sets a tone of mistrust and paranoia that will continue to spiral out of control during the course of the campaign arc. The NPCs and critters are sufficiently unique and cool and the adventure is uncommon enough to provide something different and thankfully humanoid-centric for the PCs to enjoy. The only weak point of the story is that the PCs should have a serious stake in the murder to not be disheartened by the red tape that is flung at them. My players would love that, but Some players might be annoyed. Diligence triumphs in the end, though, and the DM can always throw the PCs a bone with the plethora of NPCs integrated into the plot.

My final verdict will be 5 stars, a great adventure to kick off the road to revolution. Personally, I prefer “A Pound of Flesh”, but you could always play that one after the Skullcrackers.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Road to Revolution: The Skullcrackers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sinking: Tunnels of Despair
by Peter I. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/11/2011 08:40:31
The Sinking - Tunnels of Despair is a short Pathfinder RPG serial adventure set in 0One Roleplaying Games' Great City campaign setting. This is a stand-alone adventure that forms part of a series of adventures that are entwined with a devastating event happening in the Great City. This particular adventure sees the player characters become involved in the underground slave activities of a dangerous crime organisation, where they come head-to-head with these criminals in a struggle that affects the lives of many in the Great City. This adventure is suitable for 1st level characters. As with all of 0One Roleplaying Games' products, the presentation and format of the product is immaculate and very professional. The artwork is fabulous, the maps are detailed and clear, and the writing is vivid and rich.

Following the devastation brought to the Great City through recent events, this adventure takes the characters on a rescue mission as a barmaid is captured by some thugs raiding the cellars of a local tavern. From there they delve into the tunnels beneath the gladiatorial arena, to become embroidered in the conflict between the highly dangerous Crimson Medusa and some refugee slaves set free by the recent cataclysmic events in the city. The characters must face various threats in the tunnels as they dance with the Crimson Medusa and the captors of the barmaid. Eventually things come to a head, and they must decide how to tackle the Crimson Medusa and how to deal with the slaves.

The adventure is energetic with lots of action, lots of hidden subterfuge and threats, and fast-paced. It balances roleplaying and combat nicely and offers enough material to allow the player characters to know that they are in charge of their own fate. The combat can be quite tough for 1st level characters, particularly the final stages of the adventure, but that's fair as the PCs aim to end the adventure threat with a bang. Here and there I wish the adventure had offered a little more detail and direction, particularly in the tunnels as the characters chase after the kidnappers. One minute they're chasing after the kidnappers and the next they're bumping into Crimson Medusa on the same path. The kidnappers have apparently managed to evade them but it's not clear how.

The adventure leaves a few strands of interest and plot development dangling, leaving you wondering exactly how things are going to pan out, and for that reason I'm looking forward to seeing how the remainder of the series is structured. I'm quite a fan of this format of adventures as it allows GMs to pick and choose adventures to their liking and string together those adventures that suit their needs and tastes. The Great City is a very accessible adventure campaign and this format goes a long way to making it even more so. Tunnels of Despair is a good addition to adventures in the Great City, and players and DMs alike will enjoy the nature and action of this adventure.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Sinking: Tunnels of Despair
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Road to Revolution: Tides of Blood
by Dark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2011 13:58:57
The Road to Revolution: Tides of Blood by 0one Games

This product is 43 pages long. It starts with a cover, ToC, and credits. (4 pages)

Introduction (2 pages)
This is a urban based 7-9th level adventure. This section has a history, plot summery, how the adventure begins and a side bar. The side bar has information on how to link this with the previous adventure in the series depending on how the last one ended.

Chapter 1: Blood in the Gutters (1 page)
The opening encounter that gets the whole adventure going. I can't give away much since this is a adventure based on a mystery. I will say the PC's get attacked unexpectedly which starts the adventure, namely the PC's trying to figure out who had them attacked and why.

Chapter 2: The Set Up (2 ½ pages)
This section takes place in the Dockward, after the first encounter this is the direction the PC's will end up taking. There is a single encounter, some room for RPing and perhaps some unexpected help.

Chapter 3: Meeting with Royalty (2 ½ pages)
This section will likely be a RP only section, though there could be combat depending on what the PC's do exactly. It is interesting and really sets up other parts of the adventure and ties other parts of the city together. It helps make the city feel like a living breathing city.

Chapter 4: Dinner with … (1 ½ pages)
Here the PC's meet another NPC to gather information. While there could be combat just like the last chapter, it should just be a heavy RP scene that sets up further things. I left the full name of the chapter blank so as not to spoil the things.

Chapter 5: Lost their Mittens (1 page)
This is another RP scene that leads directly to the next chapter.

Chapter 6: Church of the Damned (6 ½ pages)
This part is a mini dungeon crawl. There is 4 likely encounters in this section the PC's are likely to face.

Chapter 7: The Recovered.... (½ page)
This section is a RP scene that follows the last chapter once the PC's have recovered what they went looking for and are sent directly to the next chapter.

Chapter 8: On the Trail of... (11 ½ pages)
This chapter is another mini dungeon but much larger than the first one. There is some possible RP to be had but it is more leaning towards a dungeon crawl. There is 22 keyed locations and a possible 17 encounters, including traps.

Chapter 9: The Finale (2 ½ pages)
Here the PC's race against time to stop the final act in the adventure. There is 2 rather large encounters in this section. It ends with a section on wrapping the adventure up.

Appendix( 4 ½ pages)
This section talks about people that live beneath the streets of the city, a new PrC the Sewer Runner, which I believe is in their Players Guide to the great city. There is also a sample stat block for the PrC and a new monster, the Siluri with a full stat block.

It ends with a OGL, back cover, and ad (3 pages)

Closing thoughts. The artwork is black and white and averages from fair to decent. The maps are solid and pretty good, they get the job done. Layout and editing where good, I didn't notice any major errors. The adventure takes place with in The Great City campaign setting, all with in the Docks Ward section of the city. It would be fairly easy though would take some work to drop it into another city of the GM's choosing.

The adventure has a nice mix of RPing, mystery solving, dungeon crawling and thrilling heroics. There is a little something for just about any player to get excited about and times for any PC to shine. I really liked this adventure, but to be fair adventures with a nice mix of elements always appeal to me. So what's my rating? Well I really couldn't find any real flaws and the adventure is well written. So I am going to give it a 5 star review.

Trust me, I'm a Succubus.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Road to Revolution: Tides of Blood
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Trouble Brewing at Witchcliff - Game Pack
by Billiam B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/30/2011 16:40:40
I'm a big fan of large floor plan sets. I've just bought this (bargain at $6.98) and am printing bits out - lots of fun putting it together. The only downside is that the margins might be too narrow for some printers - but since all the pages fill the same width, page "scaling" will be uniform across the pack, i.e. the grid will still match up. Naturally there's a lot of black ink involved, but the final effect is worth it, also you get to save on colour cartridges! The scenario is larger than I expected (I never read the product description too closely), 20 pages of Pathfinder compatible adventure (will also work with D&D 3.5 I'm guessing). The counters are a nice optional touch - some with head art, many blank - with a 2D "counters bag" as well. :D

Add some 6th-7th level characters and Pathfinder (or d20/D&D 3-3.5) rules and you have a complete immersive tabletop gaming experience, similar to any "out of the box" game currently on sale by the larger publishers.

Excellent!

Bb
http://bit.ly/rpgblog
billiambabble (at) yahoo.co.uk
(Purchased copy)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Trouble Brewing at Witchcliff - Game Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sinking: Tunnels of Despair
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/27/2011 06:24:18
This adventure in the campaign The Sinking sends the characters into the Army Quarter, showing them some of the aftermath of the cataclysm there... as well as, wherever you might go in the Great City, how adventure, danger and opportunity are never too far away!

As in many of the best adventures, it is a seemingly minor event that sets the whole thing in motion. The sort of event that the best GMs slip in just to make their alternate reality come alive in their players' minds, in this case used as a neat way to begin the adventure. Better yet, it's an adventure that poses a moral quandry to the characters, faced with conflicting pleas for assistance, who should they help?

The adventure revolves around some former slaves, who took advantage of the cataclysm to part company with their previous masters, and other denizens of the sewers and catacombs in which they have taken refuge. It begins, however, where adventurers are often found: in a tavern. As usual, several hooks are provided to encourage the characters to get involved, ranging from employment opportunities to a barmaid offering one of the characters... er, well, you know, we'll say her favours. However they become involved, a merry chase through the sewers ensues.

The sewers are well-described, although the map is rudimentary. The text will enable you to set the scene well, and the characters should soon realise that anyone living there by choice must have a very good reason for not emerging into the world above. Naturally, whatever the characters do has consequences, including raising the ire of the slavers, leading to a climatic scene on a yacht in the harbour. All very nicely done, there is the real feel of this being an operation in progress that the characters have happened upon, that would be going on whether or not they were around, rather than something provided for them.

In reviewing 0one product, the fact that the company's native tongue is not English is normally only apparent by occasional clumsy turns of phrase, but this one alas is dotted with errors that at times make it quite hard to figure out just what is being said. A good proofread, preferably by a native English speaker, would have been of benefit.

The aftermath of the adventure will leave the characters with both enemies and allies for the future, but provides a satisfactory conclusion if you choose to run this as a one-off. Overall it is a good and exciting adventure with plenty to do, and scope for characters who enjoy interaction as well as those looking to exercise their sword-arms.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Sinking: Tunnels of Despair
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sinking: Infestation
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/26/2011 10:24:51
Just as in the real world, cataclysmic events also have domestic consequences, as families and organisations are forced to seek alternate premises whilst their own, damaged or destroyed, are repaired. Here we have a congregation who have a rarely-used place of worship in the Temple District which, being kind and religious types, they are willing to loan out to those in need. Trouble is, the temple has already been taken over by somewhat unpleasant denizens of the sewers, who have been rendered homeless but were not in the mood to wait to be invited to take up residence. Someone's going to have to do something about it!

Several ideas for getting the characters involved are provided. If they're members of the congregation their superiors suggest the task as a trial of faith. Or a wealthy worshipper might ask them to take on the job for pay. There's a few other suggestions as well, at least one is delightfully sneaky and probably the one I'll employ when I run the adventure next! The temple in question is dedicated to a Goddess of the Harvest, and is only used at harvest-time. The cult has fallen on hard times, so the prospects of much reward are low... and they are quite keen to stress that it would be most inconvenient if the place got damaged as they would not be able to afford much in the way of repairs!

The entire Temple District is pretty chaotic, as many displaced or injured folks have sought aid here. It's well described in an atmospheric manner, and there's scope for you to bulk out events a bit should you so wish. As for the temple itself, it's small and rather tatty but the new inhabitants do not want to leave and are prepared to defend it vigorously! Unfortunately, being sewer-dwellers originally, they are none too good at personal hygiene and a few cure disease spells may come in useful. Oh, and they are not the only displaced persons in residence, some critters have taken refuge here too... and there are things there that the original owners apparently didn't know about as well. Plenty to keep the characters busy once they embark on the task of clearing the place.

The adventure is designed to run in a single evening and as such is pretty straightforward. Yet it manages to pack in a lot of flavour, a lot of those delightful small details that make your alternate reality come alive. Should the characters be successful at cleaning the place out, fortune smiles on the cult and it prospers, giving them a long-term resource for favours. A neat little adventure to have to hand.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sinking: Infestation
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: Caverns of Chaos
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2011 00:10:25
This is a sprawling interconnected series of rooms, caves and caverns. Very similar to the Keep on the Borderland Caverns of Chaos or the caves could be used for WotC's Chaos Scar. There are over 200 caves/rooms. This is a no frills, no color product and for the price a very good buy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Caverns of Chaos
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Great City Campaign Setting
by Paco G. J. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/18/2011 23:13:53
This review was written by Thilo Graf and first published in gmsmagazine.com

This campaign setting/city source book from 0one Games is 162 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page blank inside front cover, 1 paged editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, 1 page advertisement, 1 page blank inside back cover and 1 page back cover, leaving a whopping 154 pages of content for us to lose ourselves in, so let’s check it out!

Due to the size of this book, I’ll not comment on each and every nook and cranny of the city as detailed in this pdf, but rather give you an overview, some examples and generally tell you which components caught my fancy.

After a 1 page foreword, we’re treated to an introduction to the city per se in chapter 1, complete with a nice map, heraldry of the noble houses and basic information such as political positions and taxation. The basic premise for the general political landscape is that there are two human ethnicities, the Azindraleans and the Kortezians and the latter have subjugated the land in the past, now having been installed for a very long time. While this might look like a colonial backdrop, it really isn’t – the city is aptly named after London in its imperial heyday, as it is a blistering metropolis of trade, intrigue and adventure, at the same time blessed and cursed by the cultural discrepancies between the houses of its ruling class.

Set against this backdrop of a now semi-independent metropolis with political unrest, we are introduced to the individual wards of the city, all of which get their own maps. Even better, we get personalities of interest, a huge plethora of interesting locations that fit to the ward and even some more than interesting adventure locales. Each of the wards comes with such a distinct flair that they might actually serve as their own towns and the distinctiveness of the wards lends itself to comparisons of the best among modern urban fantasy writing: Though I happen to love the work of e.g. China Míéville, you don’t have to necessarily dwell upon the more urban/steam-punkish/weird elements of the city, as this setting succeeds in walking the tightest of lines, providing on the one side all you’d need to do to steer your campaign in that direction, while still having the option to ignore the almost industrial-revolution feeling of the city. Nice bits of details like parade, festivities, etc. are also presented as are new and old street names, taking to conflict between Azindraleans and Kortezians and their supporters to the linguistic level. That being said, on to the wards (which all get their alternate monikers to choose from depending on the NPC):

The Army Ward contains both a coliseum and of course, the judicial branch as well as the barracks for the military. Consequently, we are also introduced to several generals and to the intrigues within the military.
The Castle Ward contains, surprise, the castle and the mansions of the ruling class. As such, it’s of course heavily patrolled And features some nice ideas with regards to the politics of the city. We also get a sidebar detailing the prejudices of the different ethnicities towards other factions and people, which proved to be immensely useful. Once again, the adventure hooks are plain awesome.
Dock Ward, the trade-hub could have easily fallen prey to feeling somehow like Freeport. Thankfully, due to the great writing, the docks feel unique and even comes with a nice, creepy children’s rhyme.
Residential Ward: Probably one of the coolest districts, at least in my humble opinion, this is the hot-bed of Kortezian resistance against their oppressors. The district is almost catatonic in day-time. At night, however, the whole district erupts into an extremely atmospheric carnival and drunken revelry, including a butcher that makes entertainment of his slaughtering pigs likened to the nobility, a group of creepy mimes as well as hilarious jokes played upon the tax-collecting lord. This chapter alone is probably cooler than almost any ward I’ve ever read in any medium.
Temple Ward: A rather safe place, the temple ward features a procession of benevolent ghosts that seek to ease the burden of the downtrodden, cultist and clerical intrigues and a disfigured, albeit brilliant soprano who has become a kind of celebrity with a nice twist and potential for political unrest.
Trades Ward: This is where both mercantile feuds and criminal syndicates/gangs clash, where the slave-trade is orchestrated and where adventurers can both spend and earn money in a plethora of different ways.
After that, we get a great investigation-style introductory adventure in which the PCs have 3 days to prove the innocence of a man who is charged for murder and can expect no justice from the court.

We also get some nice monsters, one of which, an aberration, is just plain genius.

Finally, we get a huge amount of pages devoted to providing stat-blocks for all the NPCs introduced in the book.

Conclusion:

Layout adheres to the two-column standard, is clear and concise and printer-friendly b/w. The book is extensively bookmarked, but could have used another pass at editing: I noticed a bunch of minor typos & editing glitches as well as some minor homophone-errors. While none impeded my ability to understand the content, it’s the only significant problem I have with this book. The writing of the were-cabbages is absolutely stunning and the city comes to life in a way I have rarely encountered in any work of fiction, be it RPG-book or fantasy novel. The huge amount of unconventional ideas and hooks for adventures is enough to keep a DM going for years and even make you actually want to do it. While the details presented, the setting falls somewhat short on the item/drugs/poison/etc. section, but with e.g. 4Wind Fantasy Games “Luven Lightfingers”-book, you can easily remedy that. Usually, I’d settle for a verdict of 3 or 3.5 stars due to the amount of editing glitches, HOWEVER: Even if you’re as nitpicky as I am, at least think about giving this book a chance – the writing is that good. Yeah, it’s 3.5 and while the stats thus are not PFRPG, the writing alone is more than sufficient to make up for that. My final verdict will thus be 4 stars: One of the best, most imaginative city-sourcebooks out there.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Great City Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ironhill Citadel: Virtual Boxed Set©
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/10/2011 19:15:12
This is a HUGE map set. It includes a number of areas of the Ironhill Citadel like the Merchant District, Lord District, Citizens' District, and several others. You can print these in sections or as the entire map. Like the other Oone's Blueprints sets you can get wireframe versions, versions with overlayed items/terrain, and a host of other options. This is just massive and quite frankly is a great map to use as a city-state in Dark Sun. With the number of options and huge overall size, this is well worth the $20.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ironhill Citadel: Virtual Boxed Set©
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: Pirate Ship
by Adam P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2011 19:44:16
A quality product with a major oversight.

The ship is very detailed and clean and has optional furniture and grid types. I'm okay with the lack of maps for the rigging, but that's not really the deal-breaker. Unfortunately, the lack of any guns on this ship makes it very ineffective as a pirate ship. By forgetting to place the cannons on this ship, they make it difficult to roleplay ship to ship combat effectively, which was one of my primary motivations for this purchase.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Pirate Ship
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sinking: Epicenter Rising
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/22/2011 13:10:09
The introduction explains the concept, a series of short inter-connected adventures designed to occupy an evening's play, centred around the Great City (mapped in beautiful detail by 0one Games) and somehow connected to a significant event. Which of course, is not yet explained, even to the GM!

Moving swiftly along to this adventure, the pilot for the series, we hear that - for the moment - things are quiet in the City, with little more than youthful high jinks to disturb the peace... but even those can lead to trouble!

The plot centres around an investigation of a band of smugglers. Several reasons are provided to get the characters involved, from doing their civic duty (with the added bonus of payment) to dealing with the competition to their own nefarious activities! A spot of asking around, and a beggar who'll do virtually anything for a hot meal, and they will soon be set on the right track.

Everything is beautifully described, with those delightful little details - like a cheesemonger who 'corrects' his coffee so often he's normally drunk by the time he closes his shop for the night - that help you bring the alternate reality of your game to life. This goes far to overcoming the linear nature of the starting phases of the adventure, and the blatent 'even if you succeed in this skill check, certain things will not become known' which forces a brawl irrespective of how the characters might have handled it were they allowed. Later events allow more leeway, with some of those encountered prepared to fight or negotiate depending on how the characters decide to approach the encounter, whilst the claustrophobic situation and growing environmental danger allow you to build tension to create a moment that the characters will remember for years to come.

Whilst this is an atmospheric introduction to what may well become pivotal events, it is a bit thin for even an one-session scenario, perhaps it would be best presented almost as an aside during other adventures with its true significance only becoming apparent later. For indeed. this puts the characters at the beginning of events that will change the Great City forever.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Sinking: Epicenter Rising
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Spirit of the White Wyvern - Game Pack
by Cedric C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/14/2011 00:28:43
*SPOILER* Spirit of the White Wyvern is a timeline adventure set in a tavern. By timeline, I mean that certain events will happen during the period the party stays at the in. It's definitely a change from the usual "we go to the next room" location-based dungeon slogging of most adventures. The party wanders into a tavern, and is hired to drive out a ghost -- actually a red herring subplot for the real event, a settling of old scores between two old enemy organizations. Some of the side characters, including the ghost, are amusing, and the players get to have some combat in the end. While the adventure is officially for Pathfinder et al., the adventure is *very* easily adaptable to any adventure system of low-magic levels.

The adventure is accompanied by a black-and-white two story tavern map. The map's better than a wash-and-wipe board, but. if you have your own tavern map, you might as well use it for this adventure -- certainly you'll save printer ink. The adventure comes with black-and-white counters, but you're better off just using your own miniatures or tokens.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Spirit of the White Wyvern - Game Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ironhill Citadel: Virtual Boxed Set©
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/10/2011 16:50:42
I'm a little skeptical about Ironhill Citadel's claim to be the most detailed citadel ever mapped, but it certainly is the most detailed one I've ever seen.

When I saw the price, I was at first questioning who would pay $20 for a map. Then I saw how many maps Ironhill Citadel had. There's easily enough to run a whole campaign in the city with only a few frequently visited areas. The detail is good, though at times the line art ran together for me, and there were a couple times when little nitpickings about how the type ran through other lines at places distracted me from the map. However, I will say this. There's a lotta map here. The concurrent rooftop and dungeon maps don't hurt either (though I had a little ADD with Assassin's Creed style stuff running through my head, so I may be biased pro-rooftop).

The Rule the Dungeon feature is useful for people, and I like the simultaneous blueprint/black maps, even if they make it a little harder to figure out what's going on while still in the digital side.

For $20, my only gripes with this product is that you'll have to do the printing yourself (and it's a lot of printing, depending on what you want), but with two poster-sized maps, and more maps than most people have table for, I'd say go for it. No digital option for those of us who use digital tabletops, but I guess there's reasoning behind that that I can't argue with.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ironhill Citadel: Virtual Boxed Set©
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ironhill Citadel: Virtual Boxed Set©
by Alexander M. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/10/2011 09:40:38
I've used 0one Game's products in my fantasy campaigns for years. They are a Gamemaster's best friend - well-crafted maps for virtually any imaginable fantasy environment. The Ironhill Citadel Virtual Boxed Set is no exception, and the production value is even higher than the normal Oone quality. If you are intent on running urban games in a fantasy setting, this handy virtual boxed set will give you a complete city with maps for every location, as well as some beautiful full-color poster maps you can show your players. Highly recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadly Ice (Pathfinder)
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/26/2011 21:03:38
As modules go 'Deadly Ice' is very standard fare. It doesn't deviate too far from the 'go to the tavern and take on a quest' mantra, and the usual fantasy stereotypes are presented. That said, I feel that a beginning party (it is designed for character levels 4-5) would probably find it an interesting evening. There are equal parts puzzle-solving, investigation and combat, so there is a chance for most character types to have a moment in the spotlight. The nature of the plot means that any DM should be able to pick up the main themes and run the module with very little prep time.
Given the title, locale and emphasis on the environment, I expected the terrain to be a major feature and challenge; and I felt this was under-developed. An enterprising DM could easily take this and make the environment a true challenge for the party.

The new creatures presented were interesting and I can see myself slipping a couple of these (especially the Whitemonks and the Ice Lords) into my regular campaign.

The production values remind me of the original D&D module produced in the early 80's - the artwork is average at best, the maps detailed and the text arranged in a very readable manner (with obligatory stat blocks throughout making these ready-reference materials in combat).

Overall, it is a good entry-level module and in the hands of an imaginative, prepared DM it could become quite an experience - if they are willing to do the work to make it so.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Deadly Ice (Pathfinder)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 610 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG