RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info
Skills List (2d6)
Skills List (2d6)
Pay What You Want











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Deep Blues: Airship
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/14/2013 09:44:42

If you have ever thought that an airship would be a neat place to stage part of an adventure, now's your chance.

This product contains a selection of plans based around a 800ft monster airship, the sort that boded fair to become the transportation of the future in the 1920s... then the Hindenburg burned to a cinder and people switched to aircraft instead. This one, however, can fly on in your imagination and your games.

The plans start with an overview of the entire airship: side view, section, front and rear views. There are struts to enable access to the main body of the airship, primarily intended for inspections of the giant gasbags that provide the airship's lift. These can be seen in the side section view. Passengers never see these in the normal course of events but they can make for exciting chases and combats where it is vital to avoid even a single spark! Then there is more detail on the gondola, where passengers and crew travel. Equipped for 20 people - presumably both crew and passengers as I cannot see any crew quarters separate from the main sleeping chambers and common lounge area - there are limited bathroom facilities and space for pilot and navigator and a kitchen as well as the lounge already mentioned. There are side elevations, and logitudinal and transverse sections of the gondola as well as the more familiar plan view. Particularly wealthy adventurers might even own the airship, others may travel as passengers.

The options available include 'blueprint' or black and white line art, along with gids (hex or square, in feet or metric scale), whether or not you want to see the furniture, a settable north pointer (not much use, airships move!) and so on, controlled via 0one's standard 'Rule the Dungeon' feature. Everything is drawn in vector graphics so can be scaled up or down without image degradation.

An airship may be quite a specialised thing to have a plan for, but when your game calls for one - well, this is a nice one... although budding Indiana Joneses will have to supply their own aircraft, there isn't one here!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deep Blues: Airship
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deep Blues: Victorian House
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/13/2013 11:55:50

Here is a magnificent Victorian-style house, standing in its own grounds, and presented in exquisite detail. It's up to you whether it is as creepy as the Addams Family home or warm and welcoming...

In this product, 0one Games have taken their customary mastery of PDF technology and used it to present a mapset that is easy to customise to your needs. Working at individual page level or via the 'Rule the Dungeon' feature to customise the entire mapset at one go, there are a lot of things that you can change. There is a choice of hex grid, square grid, metric grid or none at all. You can decide which way is North, and whether or not you want it to be shown. You can have furnished or bare rooms... and of course you can decide whether you want 'blueprints' (white lines on a blue background like a classic technical drawing) or black lines on white.

The house itself is three stories high, and has a driveway leading up to it as well as a quite extensive garden. As well as a view of each level, including extensive cellars and the rooftop, there is a plan view that shows the house in its grounds including an outbuilding (probably, in the terminology of the day, a 'motor-house') and a 'front view' (or 'elevation' in architect's parlance). There are also several pages you can use to make notes about the various locations within the house and grounds. US players will note the European nomenclature: we have a ground floor, first floor and second floor. It's not difficult to see what is what, though.

Overall, it's a delightful house and I'd be happy to live there... until, that is, you populate it with ghosts and other unspeakable things appropriate to a horror game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deep Blues: Victorian House
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Basic Paths: Wrath of the Orc God (Pathfinder)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/11/2013 12:29:12

Whilst like the preceding adventures in the Basic Paths series this one is aimed particularly at beginning players and GMs, this is both aimed at slightly more experienced (4th Level) characters and is set in the same township, with the intention that the characters are beginning to get to know, and hopefully care about, the locals.

The adventure opens with a scream, as a lone orc attacks the settlement of Gafolweed. A single orc is no trouble to a whole party of adventurers, but it soon becomes apparently that there are hordes of orcs out there all on the warpath, and the characters' help will soon be enlisted to deal with the problem. And we're off...

Background is vivid and engaging, be it the backstory to the adventure provided for the GM, the overview of Gafolweed, or the details of locations and individuals encountered along the way. Particularly of note are sidebars designed to highlight and explain features of the rules for novice GMs - even the most experienced will find snippets of mechanics that will enhance their game knowledge - for example, a clear description of the art of 'reskinning' a familiar monster to give it a wholly-new aspect without having to go to the trouble of designing one from the bottom up.

The adventure doesn't shy away from things that novices might find hard, like mass combat, but settles down to explain what needs to be done clearly and concisely. Worth studying in advance, but even a new GM should find it possible to run hordes of orcs and equally-numerous defending cavalry confidently.

As the adventure unfolds, there is plenty to do and a quite surprising route to discovering and combatting the evil that has come to roost in the neighbourhood. Everything is presented clearly, with discussion of the options available and catering for many of the things that players might do that could so easily catch an unprepared or new GM on the hop!

In classic style, this adventure moves smoothly from the initial set-up and a good brawl, through a journey along which information, resources and even allies can be gathered to wind up with a dungeon-delve and climactic showdown. There's a lot to see and do throughout, with interaction and investigation balanced well with combat. The dungeon is no mere backdrop to the climatic fight, either, just getting there provides a good challenge with plenty of the things all good dungeons have (traps, monsters, tricky bits...) even before you get to the final showdown.

Everything is laid out clearly and where you're going to need it, with some flavourful illustrations, delightful maps and battlemaps for the main brawls. There are even paper 'standee' miniatures for the main opposition. Overall a well-presented adventure that is a delight to run... and ought to be fun from the other side of the screen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Basic Paths: Wrath of the Orc God (Pathfinder)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: Orc Fortress
by Tim G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2013 04:52:28

Excellent map, I am very pleased. All you need to add as DM is where there are guards and other creatures. This saved me much time, instead of having to make a castle map myself. And so the function that allows you to remove furniture and such, awsome. Priceworthy indeed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Orc Fortress
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: The Ruined Town, Temple, Farms and Dungeon
by Tim G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2013 04:47:34

I had great use of the temple map. The farm maps could maybe be useful for beginner DMs. Very high quality work. Priceworthy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Ruined Town, Temple, Farms and Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Ladies: Villainesses in RPGs
by Julian J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2013 20:46:25

I was under the impression that there would be descriptions on creating villainesses that would fit each archetype.

Essentially, the product gets stat blocks on several (17) dark ladies. So it delivers what was promised.

I personally wouldn't have bought it, had I been able to browse the book in a store. But if you're looking for ready made female NPCs to use as villains, then you'll find a good selection.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ladies: Villainesses in RPGs
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Harker Asylum - Virtual Boxed Set©
by Steven C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2013 16:08:20

I think the artwork in this set is 5/5, but the 3 different PDF readers I used(including acrobat) all had a hard time chugging through the various layers and options. It could be an issue with my machine, but it's a quad core/4 gig of ram/decent vid card. I exported the parts I intended to use with photoshop and went from there with no problem. That's the only issue I could find with the product though. The small amount of story included with it is a nice touch, and the individual tiles let you customize to your hearts content. The inclusion of notes section with a picture of each tile is also very handy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Harker Asylum - Virtual Boxed Set©
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: Meteora
by Stephane G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2013 13:00:52

Finally, a map to a building on a cliff top or plateau. We see these kinds of structures in artwork and movies but rarely do we find something like this for our campaigns. Oone does a great job giving us detailed plans that look like they could really exist.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Meteora
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deep Blues: Airship
by Douglas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2013 18:44:31

Fantastic for what it does! Granted, that is very limited, but I am not going to complain heavily against one of the very few airship (aka zeppelin,.dirigible, rigid airship) maps out there for the Pulp gamer. Actually, only two airship maps come to mind after careful thought - this one of 0one's and the one by Fabled Environments here on RPGNow. I bought both as soon as they were released due to the rarity of such items for Pulp gamers.

This blueprint is close to real airship, the LZ-127 Graf Zeppelin. This plan is for a somewhat larger airship though. Therefore, it is good for a small-to-medium passenger airship in most any pulp game out there including Crimson Skies.

Unfortunately, this plan is too small for a large, multi-deck, passenger airship, like the real airship LZ-129 Hindenburg. Moreover, it does not have the necessary compartments or decks for a military airship like the larger real U.S.S. Akron/Macon or the smaller real airships used by both sides in WWI.

It would fabulous if 0one would expand their offerings within the "Deep Blues" series to include both of these type of airships, including both types of military airships. No one else out there really does anything in the air for us Pulp gamers!

PLEASE - no blimps! Limit your efforts to airships that can be called "zeps" in gaming circles please.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deep Blues: Airship
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sinking: The Mole
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2012 10:13:26

This pdf is 15 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with a total of 9 pages of adventure, so let’s check this out!

This being an adventure review, the following contains SPOILERS, so potential players should please jump to the conclusion.

Still here? All right! When an earthquake makes it possible to find a new way down the sinkhole via newly discovered tunnels, the PCs embark on a visit to wealthy widow Hassebruk (who will be a recurring character in the happenings around the strange sinkhole) and their best option is to attend her conveniently soon to happen masquerade. At the party, the PCs will have to navigate a shark’s basin no less dangerous than the typical dungeon, gathering favor points to score said permission and engage in battles of wits with a bardic agent of the Trypus Academe indirectly sent to discredit the heroes.

Once they finally have managed to gain the permit to enter the warehouse, they are in for the investigation of a short-five-room-dungeon, where the brave adventurers will not only have to fend off attacks by an assassin root, but also by a multitude of draugr and a guecubu (whose stats are provided, should you not have Bestiary III), an undead spirit of earth and bone, who will endeavor to seal the PCs alive in the tunnels, making for a potentially deadly cool adversary and finally allowing the PCs unearth a tragedy long past – but alas, no entry to the lower levels of the sinkhole…. For now.

Conclusion: Editing and formatting, while not perfect, can still be considered good – I did not notice any glitches that impeded my ability to understand the content or rip me out of the narrative. Layout adheres to 0onegames’ 2-column standard and the b/w-artworks and map provided are of top-tier quality. The pdf also thankfully comes fully bookmarked. It is rather interesting, how many ideas the authors of the sinking-serials manage to cram into the precious few pages the modules consist of – and David Schwartz’ Mole is no exception, succeeding in providing a nice social challenge as well as a cool mini-dungeon. While lacking the utter brilliance of e.g. “Politics Unusual”, this module still remains a very good purchase – in the end one that I feel I can rate 4.5 stars and round up to 5 due to the low price.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sinking: The Mole
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: Hill of Many Dungeons
by Trey H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2012 14:24:57

The quality is very well done and worth the price. I would give it 5 stars except the security permissions are very strict. As a DM I prefer to layup my maps and export them with sections hidden and link them to my own maps. These wont allow me to even place in indesign which is very annoying. So I have to print cutout and paste/glue like it was 1984? Kind of defeats the digital maps on my tablet. Screencaps work, but not as cleanly as I'd like. As long as you don't expect to edit or link these maps to your own campaign they are fantastic. Very impressed with the creativity and quality.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Hill of Many Dungeons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: Eerie Forest
by Trey H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2012 14:24:37

The quality is very well done and worth the price. I would give it 5 stars except the security permissions are very strict. As a DM I prefer to layup my maps and export them with sections hidden and link them to my own maps. These wont allow me to even place in indesign which is very annoying. So I have to print cutout and paste/glue like it was 1984? Kind of defeats the digital maps on my tablet. Screencaps work, but not as cleanly as I'd like. As long as you don't expect to edit or link these maps to your own campaign they are fantastic. Very impressed with the creativity and quality.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Eerie Forest
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: Cairns
by Trey H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2012 14:22:51

The quality is very well done and worth the price. I would give it 5 stars except the security permissions are very strict. As a DM I prefer to layup my maps and export them with sections hidden and link them to my own maps. These wont allow me to even place in indesign which is very annoying. So I have to print cutout and paste/glue like it was 1984? Kind of defeats the digital maps on my tablet. Screencaps work, but not as cleanly as I'd like. As long as you don't expect to edit or link these maps to your own campaign they are fantastic. Very impressed with the creativity and quality.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Cairns
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Customizable Battlegrounds: Dark Cathedral
by Richard F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2012 06:56:01

As always, the artwork from 0one is stunning. That being said, the print resolution is still a bit grainy. My main concern is with the tiled artwork. I don't know of ANY printer that can print edge to edge on an 8.5x11" sheet of paper, but that is the ONLY way you can print this map to scale. I had to scale it down to 93% in order to get it to print, which throws off the grid. If I print at full resolution, it will still leave a small border where the limitations of the printer are reached. In future, I would recommended that 0one take maximum print size into consideration when making tiled maps. Either give a little overlap between tiles, so there's room for cutoff, or at best, format the tiles so there is a 1/2" margin. Very disappointing.

Also, I was not very happy with the customization options here. In their customizable battle maps products, they offer the ability to have objects that are intact OR smashed OR missing. In this one, you either have smashed objects OR no objects at all in random spots. There is one column TOTALLY missing from the map unless you include the rubble, and then it's smashed, and you also have to have a smashed door to go with it. This is shoddy. Why can't I have the option for a complete temple with all of the statues and braziers intact? Is that too much to ask? It seems they really cut corners here, and it saddens me.

All in all, it's still a nice map, and if you want a map in various stages of disrepair, it's totally worth the $3. However, if you want a more versatile map with lots of customization options, this one is so-so, but it's lacking in some very big ways.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Customizable Battlegrounds: Dark Cathedral
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Basic Paths: Curse of the Sickled Hand (Pathfinder)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/03/2012 09:09:36

Do not be deluded by terms like 'basic' and 'introductory'... this adventure promises full-bore excitement, well-resourced and smooth to run, no matter whether players or GM are novices or experienced. It takes place in a wilderness area near to a rural village called Gafolweed, which can be placed anywhere suitable in your campaign world; those who have played the adventure Fangs from the Past may recognise some NPCs and locations, but it is not necessary to have done so to get full enjoyment from this scenario.

The Background lets the GM know what's really going on, and an Adventure Synopsis provides a framework for the plot, along with a nice map of Gafolweed where the adventure proper begins - in a tavern, with the characters' supper being interrupted by a frantic cleric incoherently babbling about walking dead raiding the graveyard... enough to spoil anyone's meal. Moreover, if they calm the poor priest long enough to get the story, these undead seemed impervious to his clerical powers, carrying on meticulously exhuming bodies and carting them off despite his prayers and spells!

Convinced that his deity has deserted him, the cleric intends to retreat to his monastery to repent and meditate, but has managed to collect a fair amount of coin with which to pay the characters to investigate the matter on his behalf. Assuming they accept, they will find plenty to do tracking down the walking dead and discovering what they are up to... and nothing is quite what it seems.

Each encounter is set out clearly, with descriptive material and game mechanics laid out ready for the GM to use. Spotted about are 'GM Tips' which are intended for novice GMs but contain good advice for anyone wishing to improve their game-mastering skills. There's an immense amount of background detail which makes the whole place come alive, and it is well worth spending time studying it so that you can use it to good effect during play. Characters who interact with the locals can find out much that will aid them, although naturally more martial skills will also be required to achieve success, as will expertise in dungeoneering - there are tombs and caverns to explore.

This adventure proves an excellent introduction in that it has just about all the elements of classic fantasy role-playing: a threatened community, an evil villain scheming away, hordes of minions, trick- and trap-filled complexes to explore... and it is laid out in a manner to make running it easy for novice and experienced GM alike. Maps are beautiful and comprehensive, and there's a collection of lush battlemaps for groups who enjoy miniatures or just like to see precisely what their characters see, even some 'standees' for the main NPCs/monsters likely to be involved in combat. Adventure beckons... accept the challenge!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Basic Paths: Curse of the Sickled Hand (Pathfinder)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 649 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG