RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
B&W Adventures: The Spirit of the White Wyvern
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/24/2011 13:02:58

As I look over any of 0one's mapsets, adventure ideas always begin to stir... so, here is the first in a line that takes some of their 'Black and White' line of game-ready tiles and battlemaps and presents you with an adventure tailored to that location.

The location in question is the White Wyvern Inn, situated with an eye to the travelling (and adventuring) community about a day's journey from anywhere... you pick a suitable place in your campaign world. The adventure is not just based in the inn, it is built around the very fabric of the place, and provides opportunities for those who wish to exercise their brains and their role-playing abilities, as well as their sword-arms.

The work begins with some extensive background, some of which can be explained to the characters as events unfold, some of which they might find out for themselves... and some of which they may never know, but which make for a rich experience as you use the whole to good effect as the game proceeds.

It is left to you to arrange for the characters to be in the White Wyvern Inn. Perhaps they're 'passing trade' or they may have been sent for deliberately... because the landlord has a bit of a problem. A ghost that haunts the taproom, playing the organ and entertaining the patrons, even acting as bouncer when people get a bit rowdy. But it has a disquieting habit of possessing someone mid-evening and declaiming a monologue in their voice, leaving them unharmed it is fair to say, but not everyone is happy about it and so the landlord has decided that the spook must go. Can the characters help?

Naturally, there's plenty else going on, even if the task of discovering how to ensure that the ghost goes to its rest was not enough. There's a whole cast of well-detailed characters each with their own distinct personality, agenda and set actions for the night - picking their way through what everyone is up to will provide plenty to keep your characters busy, never mind attending to their ghost-busting duties. Some may attack, some will try to enlist the characters' aid in their own schemes... and should you wish to make this an integral part of an ongoing campaign, rather than a one-night stand, much can be used to foreshadow further adventures.

The Inn itself naturally plays a starring role, and is described in loving detail, and referencing the original mapset if you have it. There's a decent-size map for the GM to work from, and if you like lots of floorplans and battlemaps to put in front of your players you can either get the original White Wyvern Inn set or don't buy this at all but get the Spirit of the White Wyvern Game Pack instead: adventure, maps, tokens and more.

After all this, background and maps and room descriptions and all, we actually reach the adventure itself. On page 8, there it is, the 'read aloud' text to introduce the characters to what you have in store for them - must be one of the longest introductions I've read in a long time! Once launched by their arrival, events move at a cracking pace with plenty of detail about what the NPCs are doing and how they will react to whatever the characters get up to. Everything is presented in two parts - there are the 'location' based events that will take place whenever the characters go to the stated location, and the 'timed' sequence of events that will take place at the appropriate time wherever the characters have got to... all melding together to create a vivid alternate reality that should come to life around your characters.

It's a cracking little location-based adventure with a lot crammed in, full of excitement. Drop this in somewhere suitable, tweak events a little to fit your own campaign, and it could become a momentous and memorable part of the story you and your players are creating together.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B&W Adventures: The Spirit of the White Wyvern
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sinking: The Plumb Line
by Dark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2011 13:47:41

The Sinking: The Plumb Line by Rite Publishing

This product is 17 pages long. It starts with a cover, OGL, ToC and credits. (4 pages)

The Adventure (11 pages) This is the 7th part in the new adventure path in the Great City. It starts with a summery of the adventure and a background. The PC's are hired to find a missing architect, the first part is them getting the job. After some investigation and social encounters the PC's will be ambushed by some thugs. Eventually the PC's learn he went to investigate some tunnels found by the large sink hole in the city. From here it turns into a mini dungeon.

It ends with a back cover and ads. (2 pages)

Closing thoughts. The art work is black and white, and pretty good. Editing and layout is very good. I didn't notice any mistakes. Being as how this is only the second part of the adventure I own and don't have the rest I am unsure how this ties into the rest of things. This of course can very easily be played as a stand alone adventure with a few minor tweaks in any setting for 3rd level characters. It has a nice mix of some investigation, RPing and combat. The maps are pretty good. So what's my rating? I am going to give this one a 4 star review. Good, but I think could have been better. I would have liked to have seen a couple of more pages of investigation myself.

Trust me, I'm a Succubus.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Sinking: The Plumb Line
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sinking: Ascension of the Prophet
by Dark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2011 13:47:20

The Sinking: Ascension of the Prophet by 0one Games

This product is 16 pages long. It starts with a cover, credits, ToC, and OGL. (4 pages)

Adventure (10 pages) This is season 1, part 5 of the adventure. It is for 2nd level characters. It starts off with a intro, plot overview and starting of the adventure. It starts off with a bit of RPing the PC's are hired to go after a crossbow of a assassin that is trying to kill the Prophet. They head off to the assassins hideout, only to find hired goons there. After a fight and hopeful some information gathering and a bit of RPing they are off again to a inn. At the inn they do some more investigation and RPing to find out more about the assassin. Eventually they go to a smith that supposedly made the weapon, this can be just RPing or end up into a fight depending on the PC's. At this point they head back with the crossbow where the Prophet is giving a speech and that’s where the plot twist comes in. I won't say what but it is neat and I think most players will like it. The last little bit is dealing with the sudden plot twist. It ends with half a page about the aftermath and advice on scaling the adventure, plus a a full page map of the area of the city.

It ends with a back cover and ad. (2 pages)

Closing thoughts. The art work is black and white and ok. Editing and layout was good. I don't have the first 4 parts yet or any of the follow up parts. So I don't know how well this ties in with the rest of the adventures in the series. It is a short, interesting urban adventure that has a good mix of combat, RPing and investigation. With a really nice plot twist at the end. I liked the adventure, my only real complaint is it was a bit too short, I would have liked for there to been a bit more to it. I might feel differently once I read the rest of the adventures in the series though. So what's my rating? For the price it is a nice quick adventure that can be run in the series or as a one shot. So I am giving it a 4.5, very good but could have used a little more to be great.

Trust me, I'm a Succubus.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sinking: Ascension of the Prophet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sinking: Epicenter Rising
by Paco G. J. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/22/2011 16:51:16

This review was first published in GMS Magazine and written by Thilo Graf

This pdf from 0one Games is 16 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 2 pages advertisements and 1 page back cover, leaving 9 pages for the adventure.

The Sinking is the new project by 0onegames and consists of a series of short adventures that can be played in one session. The series will change the face of the Great City and this adventure is the Pilot for the events to come. Thus, being an adventure, this review will contain spoilers, potential players beware.

Epicenter Rising send the PCs on a quest to destroy a minor smuggling organization – 4 hooks are provided and the lead the PCs to a cheese shop. The shop features a nice map (although I would have loved a version of the map sans map-key numbers – I love handing maps to my players and the numbers detract from their suspension of disbelief) and has the PCs enter the smuggler tunnels/sewers in which they experience minor tremors and some sewerish encounters. The coolest encounter ensues after the PCs have left the smuggler tunnels for the sewers and has experienced the first minor cave-in: We get a nice, key-less map of complex sewers, complete with planks etc. to serve as a backdrop for a great chase scene that can end in a nice scene, or if you as a DM feel particularly sadistic (like I usually do), a three-way battle between a smuggler, a young Otyugh and the PCs. The final encounter has the PCs fight the head of the smugglers who tries to make a getaway by torching his shack. An additional small map of the shack would have been nice. In the aftermath of this encounter, the panic in the streets is evident and a huge sinkhole has opened right in the city, providing a nice omen of the things to come and an appropriately cool end to the module.

Conclusion:

Editing is top-notch, I didn’t notice any glitches. Layout is beautiful, easy to print-out and adheres to the two-column standard. the b/w-artwork is nice, the maps are great. There is one minor formatting glitch in the "Into the Sewers"-box: There is a blank line too much and the final sentence feels awkward, spelling out "That was the designer’s intent." Oh well, more importantly, I would have loved to see a small map for the final encounter and/or some alternative means of problem-solving (roleplaying, stealth, whatever, expanded chase-rules) in this very straight-forward, action-oriented romp. Thus, I’ll settle for 4 stars – a very good and promising start of the new series.

Source: GMS Magazine (http://s.tt/13bLU)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sinking: Epicenter Rising
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: Hill of Many Dungeons
by Kevin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2011 17:35:03

Very reminiscient of the maps of old, and done very well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Hill of Many Dungeons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sinking: The Devil's Smuggler
by Nearly e. D. P. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/02/2011 16:10:16

The Sinking: The Devil's Smuggler is a short adventure published by 0One Games and is designed for their Great City setting for the Pathfinder Roleplaying game. The adventure is designed for a 4th level party and the presentation is the usual crisp, quality production I've come to expect from them.

The adventure takes place after a major event in the City, namely the formation of a huge sinkhole in one of the districts and focuses on what happens to one of the crime families in that area in it's aftermath. I like the idea of the sinkhole as a way of hooking in the party to the events of the adventure, it's always good to see a different method of starting a scenario and using the background of a natural disaster/event is quite a refreshing change.

Without giving too much away the party will find themselves tangling with a crime family and some extraplanar foes, all of which should provide a reasonable challenge to the group. On the whole this is quite a nice product, if I had a criticism it's that the adventure is a little too linear and a bit too short for my liking, it looks like a party should be able to get through this in a session or two at the most.

That aside I like the scenario and although it's not set in my current game world it could easily be worked into it and would prove an interesting diversion for a party.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Sinking: The Devil's Smuggler
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: Eerie Forest - Red Vampire's Way Inn
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/02/2011 13:20:40

Originally Posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2011/08/02/the-gazetteer-volume-i-issue-ii/

I’ll admit, as much as I like really detailed and in-depth maps, I have a soft spot for the old school blue or black maps that we saw from the original version of Dungeons and Dragons into first edition AD&D. This is exactly the type of map that 0one games provides to gamers. Couple that with a name that feels like a perfect fit for one of my Ravenloft campaigns and you have a product I definitely was interested in. What’s really neat about this nineteen page collection of maps is that it’s not only a map of the primary location, that of the Red Vampire Way’s Inn, but it also includes a surrounding would-be haunted forest. IS it actually populated with things that go bump in the night? That’s up to the DM.

What I really like about these maps are how they can be customized to use as a straight PDF or for printing. Usually I’m down on giving players the actual maps I’m using unless it is a miniatures based campaign, as they might see something they shouldn’t. With this particular map, the PDF is editable by a “Master Control Button” Using this map turns certain things on or off so that the map you print can contain just the items you want your players to see. You can turn off the hexes, the room numbers, doors, furniture, text, etc. It’s pretty impressive just how much you can modify this map and it makes for a nice tool to use with players, say, by having them purchase a map from a vendor who promises it will show them how to get through the forest.

I also love that the map pack contains a VERY detailed legend so that you know what every little bit on the map means, if anything. You’d be surprised how few maps actually have one of these anymore. It’s a great boon to DMs, so I have no idea why map makers have stopped this.

One of the other things that really makes this map stand out is that it contains a story hook and a full background of the inn. Basically, it’s a trap by a vampire who uses it to lure in victims without having to exert any real effort. I was really excited about this, as again, this is a great map for a Ravenloft campaign, but also for any generic fantasy gaming session.

The various maps included with this pack are

1) a map of the haunted forest and surrounding other locations 2) a map of the ground level floor of the inn 3) a map of the inn’s first level 4) a map of the inn’s rooftops 5) a map of the inn’s cellars 6) a set of notes for the DM to write down ideas and information on

This is a really great in depth package. For less than two dollars, you are getting a set of maps that basically write an adventure for you. The maps are appealing to old school gamers, and although there isn’t enough detail to use it with a miniatures based campaign, the thing is wonderful for a campaign that just uses storytelling and imagination. This is a hard product to say no to.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Eerie Forest - Red Vampire's Way Inn
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Great City: Urban Creatures & Lairs
by Paco G. J. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/17/2011 11:09:52

This review was written by Thilo Graf and first published in GMS Magazine.

This pdf by 0one Games is 103 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page blank inside of front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page back cover, 1 page ad, 1 page SRD, leaving 96 pages.

We also get three pages of monsters indexed by CR, alphabetical order and a wandering monsters-table.

After one page of foreword by Tim Hitchcock, we are introduced to the creatures and lairs. The best of monsters provide the GM with a plethora of ideas for adventures or encounters once being read and this book goes a step further – it also provides “lairs”. Which is actually a misnomer – this monster-book goes far beyond just providing lairs for the monsters and instead often provide mini-adventures or at least encounters. I won’t spoil the encounters/adventures, but I will comment on the best ones. That being said, let’s dive in!

Arrbiong (CR 2): Urban fey that feeds off dreams with a nice twist and some great roleplaying potential. Bay Zombie (CR 4) & Bay Zombie Leviathan (CR 18): Necromantic experiments gone wrong these creatures feature tentacles and claws. The leviathan makes for a great mystery/campaign arc/seed that is further enhanced by the lair. Bone Hag (CR 8): Urban hag with a flexible anatomy and a great, disturbing artwork the made me reminiscent of my old Solomon Kane stories and comics. The legend provided along the lairs also rock and this one just screams to be used. Corpse Rider (CR 4): A disturbing, tiny fey (think tooth-fairy gone horribly wrong) that can take over dead people and animate them. Their hooks rock and make for great conspiracy-potential. Earwig, monstrous (CR 1) & Earwig Swarm (CR 4): The lair for these monsters is actually a supremely cool sketch of a low-level adventure. Two thumbs up! Fabricata (CR 1/2): A creature worthy of China Mièville in its imaginative potential, these self-aware constructs are animated pieces of cloth that have their own society and secret wars. Awesome! Ferals include Feral Dogs (CR 1/2), Feral Cats (CR 1/4) and a Feral Cat Swarm (CR 2). Cool, but no lair/sample adventure is given. Devil, Gutterkin (CR 5): Manipulative little devils that push addicts and people who are down on their luck over the edge. Despicable and cool. Harvestman (CR 6) and his Harvesters (CR 2): Arachnid construct that, as a local boogeyman, hunts and drains arcane casters. The lair/mini-adventure is cool. Jacke-in-the-Rafters (CR 7) and the Weitheryn template (CR +1): An old Goblin who cheats death by killing other people in its stead. Not only does the template and creature rock, but the adventure is great, too. Especially the ideas for further adventuring. Mokkahl (CR 11): A bulette-turned-ooze by necromantic/arcane waste, this thing is not only disturbing, but might make for a terrible encounter with the PCs. Nice! Penumbra Bride (CR 9): Shape-changing aberrations, these brides make for a disturbing twist on the doppelgänger-trope. Their lair is a great location, too. Plague Lichen (CR 3): A virulent fungus that rapidly and virulently spreads when in contact with flesh. Disturbing fungi, but you only get a very short encounter, which is a pity, I have some great ideas for this one… Saaran (CR 10): Once a pure and noble gladiator, this giant now is a broken thing that still clings to his former principles and would make for a great “right wrongs-adventure”. Screegie (CR 1/4) and Screegie Swarm (CR 2): Eye-picking, impersonating birds, their mini-adventure once again rocks. Shi (Sin-Eater) (CR 13): An extradimensional earth-aligned junkie dependant on souls, these creatures may unintentionally raise the dead and, by consuming souls, get into conflict with undead or work as a medium for the deceased. Siluri (CR 3): Croaking monstrous humanoids, they are unique and disturbing. Stone Gouger (CR 1/2): Miniature gargoyles, they live in the walls and attics. Unfortunately we don’t get a lair/mini-adventure for this one. Tillochann (CR 14): Extremely cool owl-like outsider with bizarre abilities to use silk and cocoons. The lair is ok, although it is not up to the supremely cool critter. Believe me, you haven’t seen one like these before. Zaelemental (CR 13) and Zaelemental, Greater (CR 16): Filth and muck-aligned creatures of all the negative, tainted dark things associated with cities, these creatures make frightening and yet cool enemies. The lair rocks, too. Conclusion:

Editing and layout are great, the b/w-artworks rock, the file is extensively book-marked and the lairs/adventures rock. The creatures are all killer, no filler and quite frankly, each and every one of them made me immediately come up with either an additional encounter or even a whole adventure or campaign-arc revolving around them. The sheer quality and the imaginative potential of the writing is supreme and the content is just stunningly well-crafted. While I encountered 2 minor editing glitches, for the low price and the exceptionally awesome content, I’ll settle for 5 stars.

Source: GMS Magazine (http://s.tt/12Ogk)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Great City: Urban Creatures & Lairs
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Road to Revolution: The Skullcrackers
by Paco G. J. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/17/2011 11:07:16

This review was written by Thilo Graf and first published in GMS Magazine

This pdf is from 0one Games is 43 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page blank inside front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of advertisements, 1 page SRD and 1 page back cover, leaving 35 pages of adventure, so let’s check it out!

Layout adheres to the clear and concise 0one-games-two-column-standard, the pdf is extensively bookmarked and comes with free colour-versions of the hand-outs (and broadsides that are put up throughout the city) in a separate pdf and also has its own conversion notes to make the adventure compatible with PFRPG. Editing is good – I only noticed one glitch.

This being an adventure review, SPOILERS will continue to abound, so potential players please jump to the conclusion and stop reading NOW.

….

Still here?

All right! The PCs stumble across the body of Malkan Abberbaugh, who was supposedly murdered by wild animals in a park – not everything is as it seems, though, and the PCs will hit a brick wall of bureaucratic red tape by the army, who wants to keep the death under wraps. After having the corpse taken away, the PCs can track it to Grang’s Crematorium, where they’ll be met with a rather uncooperative fellow. Why? Well, turns out ol’ Grang has turned to cannibalism and enjoys his meals with a gourmet ghoul. Yep, you heard it. Cool, isn’t it? We get a map for the crematorium and once the PCs have infiltrated the place and analyse the corpse, they’ll notice that both druids and their animals definitely are innocent of the murder and will continue to army ward, where Marcus Galwatty, a sergeant tries to block them and intimidate them to keep away from the investigation.

A full blown bar brawl can also see the PCs accused of murder and arrested and after asking around town in this free play-style sandboxy setting, the PCs will have encountered the legendary alchemist Mafurin and his coat-with-tails-wearing Troll Werewolf-bodyguard Hulg. Via the street urchin Eddie Gin or some other means, the PCs will meet a guy called Grosh One-Ear, who claims that a member of the Dragon Claws-gang has murdered Abberbaugh. A member of said gang will contact the PCs and claim that rogue members are responsible. After a short mini-crawl in the sewers (with its own map), the PCs will again be contacted by the Dragon Claw, who points them towards to true culprits, a subsection of the army called Skullcrackers that dominate illegal fight clubs in the residential ward. In this climate of racial tensions, they will venture into smuggler’s tunnels to find a lost piece of jewellery for a member of a crossroads club serving a shrine spirit. Should they survive their trek into the subterranean tunnels, they’ll have their final clue, the identity of the killer. In a cinematic and highly unusual finale, the PCs go to the fight club and take out the deadly dwarven wererat rogue and his henchmen while bets are flung on the outcome and the crowd is cheering – in any way, a cool and rather uncommon finale.

Conclusion:

This investigation is very interesting in the fact that it’s not strictly linear and has several tools for the GM to keep it going in both the NPCs and the encounters. The adventure is fast-paced and has some cool, iconic backdrops and immediately sets a tone of mistrust and paranoia that will continue to spiral out of control during the course of the campaign arc. The NPCs and critters are sufficiently unique and cool and the adventure is uncommon enough to provide something different and thankfully humanoid-centric for the PCs to enjoy. The only weak point of the story is that the PCs should have a serious stake in the murder to not be disheartened by the red tape that is flung at them. My players would love that, but Some players might be annoyed. Diligence triumphs in the end, though, and the DM can always throw the PCs a bone with the plethora of NPCs integrated into the plot.

My final verdict will be 5 stars, a great adventure to kick off the road to revolution. Personally, I prefer “A Pound of Flesh”, but you could always play that one after the Skullcrackers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Road to Revolution: The Skullcrackers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sinking: Tunnels of Despair
by Peter I. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/11/2011 08:40:31

The Sinking - Tunnels of Despair is a short Pathfinder RPG serial adventure set in 0One Roleplaying Games' Great City campaign setting. This is a stand-alone adventure that forms part of a series of adventures that are entwined with a devastating event happening in the Great City. This particular adventure sees the player characters become involved in the underground slave activities of a dangerous crime organisation, where they come head-to-head with these criminals in a struggle that affects the lives of many in the Great City. This adventure is suitable for 1st level characters. As with all of 0One Roleplaying Games' products, the presentation and format of the product is immaculate and very professional. The artwork is fabulous, the maps are detailed and clear, and the writing is vivid and rich.

Following the devastation brought to the Great City through recent events, this adventure takes the characters on a rescue mission as a barmaid is captured by some thugs raiding the cellars of a local tavern. From there they delve into the tunnels beneath the gladiatorial arena, to become embroidered in the conflict between the highly dangerous Crimson Medusa and some refugee slaves set free by the recent cataclysmic events in the city. The characters must face various threats in the tunnels as they dance with the Crimson Medusa and the captors of the barmaid. Eventually things come to a head, and they must decide how to tackle the Crimson Medusa and how to deal with the slaves.

The adventure is energetic with lots of action, lots of hidden subterfuge and threats, and fast-paced. It balances roleplaying and combat nicely and offers enough material to allow the player characters to know that they are in charge of their own fate. The combat can be quite tough for 1st level characters, particularly the final stages of the adventure, but that's fair as the PCs aim to end the adventure threat with a bang. Here and there I wish the adventure had offered a little more detail and direction, particularly in the tunnels as the characters chase after the kidnappers. One minute they're chasing after the kidnappers and the next they're bumping into Crimson Medusa on the same path. The kidnappers have apparently managed to evade them but it's not clear how.

The adventure leaves a few strands of interest and plot development dangling, leaving you wondering exactly how things are going to pan out, and for that reason I'm looking forward to seeing how the remainder of the series is structured. I'm quite a fan of this format of adventures as it allows GMs to pick and choose adventures to their liking and string together those adventures that suit their needs and tastes. The Great City is a very accessible adventure campaign and this format goes a long way to making it even more so. Tunnels of Despair is a good addition to adventures in the Great City, and players and DMs alike will enjoy the nature and action of this adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Sinking: Tunnels of Despair
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Road to Revolution: Tides of Blood
by Dark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2011 13:58:57

The Road to Revolution: Tides of Blood by 0one Games

This product is 43 pages long. It starts with a cover, ToC, and credits. (4 pages)

Introduction (2 pages) This is a urban based 7-9th level adventure. This section has a history, plot summery, how the adventure begins and a side bar. The side bar has information on how to link this with the previous adventure in the series depending on how the last one ended.

Chapter 1: Blood in the Gutters (1 page) The opening encounter that gets the whole adventure going. I can't give away much since this is a adventure based on a mystery. I will say the PC's get attacked unexpectedly which starts the adventure, namely the PC's trying to figure out who had them attacked and why.

Chapter 2: The Set Up (2 ½ pages) This section takes place in the Dockward, after the first encounter this is the direction the PC's will end up taking. There is a single encounter, some room for RPing and perhaps some unexpected help.

Chapter 3: Meeting with Royalty (2 ½ pages) This section will likely be a RP only section, though there could be combat depending on what the PC's do exactly. It is interesting and really sets up other parts of the adventure and ties other parts of the city together. It helps make the city feel like a living breathing city.

Chapter 4: Dinner with … (1 ½ pages) Here the PC's meet another NPC to gather information. While there could be combat just like the last chapter, it should just be a heavy RP scene that sets up further things. I left the full name of the chapter blank so as not to spoil the things.

Chapter 5: Lost their Mittens (1 page) This is another RP scene that leads directly to the next chapter.

Chapter 6: Church of the Damned (6 ½ pages) This part is a mini dungeon crawl. There is 4 likely encounters in this section the PC's are likely to face.

Chapter 7: The Recovered.... (½ page) This section is a RP scene that follows the last chapter once the PC's have recovered what they went looking for and are sent directly to the next chapter.

Chapter 8: On the Trail of... (11 ½ pages) This chapter is another mini dungeon but much larger than the first one. There is some possible RP to be had but it is more leaning towards a dungeon crawl. There is 22 keyed locations and a possible 17 encounters, including traps.

Chapter 9: The Finale (2 ½ pages) Here the PC's race against time to stop the final act in the adventure. There is 2 rather large encounters in this section. It ends with a section on wrapping the adventure up.

Appendix( 4 ½ pages) This section talks about people that live beneath the streets of the city, a new PrC the Sewer Runner, which I believe is in their Players Guide to the great city. There is also a sample stat block for the PrC and a new monster, the Siluri with a full stat block.

It ends with a OGL, back cover, and ad (3 pages)

Closing thoughts. The artwork is black and white and averages from fair to decent. The maps are solid and pretty good, they get the job done. Layout and editing where good, I didn't notice any major errors. The adventure takes place with in The Great City campaign setting, all with in the Docks Ward section of the city. It would be fairly easy though would take some work to drop it into another city of the GM's choosing.

The adventure has a nice mix of RPing, mystery solving, dungeon crawling and thrilling heroics. There is a little something for just about any player to get excited about and times for any PC to shine. I really liked this adventure, but to be fair adventures with a nice mix of elements always appeal to me. So what's my rating? Well I really couldn't find any real flaws and the adventure is well written. So I am going to give it a 5 star review.

Trust me, I'm a Succubus.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Road to Revolution: Tides of Blood
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Trouble Brewing at Witchcliff - Game Pack
by Billiam B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/30/2011 16:40:40

I'm a big fan of large floor plan sets. I've just bought this (bargain at $6.98) and am printing bits out - lots of fun putting it together. The only downside is that the margins might be too narrow for some printers - but since all the pages fill the same width, page "scaling" will be uniform across the pack, i.e. the grid will still match up. Naturally there's a lot of black ink involved, but the final effect is worth it, also you get to save on colour cartridges! The scenario is larger than I expected (I never read the product description too closely), 20 pages of Pathfinder compatible adventure (will also work with D&D 3.5 I'm guessing). The counters are a nice optional touch - some with head art, many blank - with a 2D "counters bag" as well. :D

Add some 6th-7th level characters and Pathfinder (or d20/D&D 3-3.5) rules and you have a complete immersive tabletop gaming experience, similar to any "out of the box" game currently on sale by the larger publishers.

Excellent!

Bb http://bit.ly/rpgblog billiambabble (at) yahoo.co.uk (Purchased copy)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Trouble Brewing at Witchcliff - Game Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sinking: Tunnels of Despair
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/27/2011 06:24:18

This adventure in the campaign The Sinking sends the characters into the Army Quarter, showing them some of the aftermath of the cataclysm there... as well as, wherever you might go in the Great City, how adventure, danger and opportunity are never too far away!

As in many of the best adventures, it is a seemingly minor event that sets the whole thing in motion. The sort of event that the best GMs slip in just to make their alternate reality come alive in their players' minds, in this case used as a neat way to begin the adventure. Better yet, it's an adventure that poses a moral quandry to the characters, faced with conflicting pleas for assistance, who should they help?

The adventure revolves around some former slaves, who took advantage of the cataclysm to part company with their previous masters, and other denizens of the sewers and catacombs in which they have taken refuge. It begins, however, where adventurers are often found: in a tavern. As usual, several hooks are provided to encourage the characters to get involved, ranging from employment opportunities to a barmaid offering one of the characters... er, well, you know, we'll say her favours. However they become involved, a merry chase through the sewers ensues.

The sewers are well-described, although the map is rudimentary. The text will enable you to set the scene well, and the characters should soon realise that anyone living there by choice must have a very good reason for not emerging into the world above. Naturally, whatever the characters do has consequences, including raising the ire of the slavers, leading to a climatic scene on a yacht in the harbour. All very nicely done, there is the real feel of this being an operation in progress that the characters have happened upon, that would be going on whether or not they were around, rather than something provided for them.

In reviewing 0one product, the fact that the company's native tongue is not English is normally only apparent by occasional clumsy turns of phrase, but this one alas is dotted with errors that at times make it quite hard to figure out just what is being said. A good proofread, preferably by a native English speaker, would have been of benefit.

The aftermath of the adventure will leave the characters with both enemies and allies for the future, but provides a satisfactory conclusion if you choose to run this as a one-off. Overall it is a good and exciting adventure with plenty to do, and scope for characters who enjoy interaction as well as those looking to exercise their sword-arms.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Sinking: Tunnels of Despair
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sinking: Infestation
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/26/2011 10:24:51

Just as in the real world, cataclysmic events also have domestic consequences, as families and organisations are forced to seek alternate premises whilst their own, damaged or destroyed, are repaired. Here we have a congregation who have a rarely-used place of worship in the Temple District which, being kind and religious types, they are willing to loan out to those in need. Trouble is, the temple has already been taken over by somewhat unpleasant denizens of the sewers, who have been rendered homeless but were not in the mood to wait to be invited to take up residence. Someone's going to have to do something about it!

Several ideas for getting the characters involved are provided. If they're members of the congregation their superiors suggest the task as a trial of faith. Or a wealthy worshipper might ask them to take on the job for pay. There's a few other suggestions as well, at least one is delightfully sneaky and probably the one I'll employ when I run the adventure next! The temple in question is dedicated to a Goddess of the Harvest, and is only used at harvest-time. The cult has fallen on hard times, so the prospects of much reward are low... and they are quite keen to stress that it would be most inconvenient if the place got damaged as they would not be able to afford much in the way of repairs!

The entire Temple District is pretty chaotic, as many displaced or injured folks have sought aid here. It's well described in an atmospheric manner, and there's scope for you to bulk out events a bit should you so wish. As for the temple itself, it's small and rather tatty but the new inhabitants do not want to leave and are prepared to defend it vigorously! Unfortunately, being sewer-dwellers originally, they are none too good at personal hygiene and a few cure disease spells may come in useful. Oh, and they are not the only displaced persons in residence, some critters have taken refuge here too... and there are things there that the original owners apparently didn't know about as well. Plenty to keep the characters busy once they embark on the task of clearing the place.

The adventure is designed to run in a single evening and as such is pretty straightforward. Yet it manages to pack in a lot of flavour, a lot of those delightful small details that make your alternate reality come alive. Should the characters be successful at cleaning the place out, fortune smiles on the cult and it prospers, giving them a long-term resource for favours. A neat little adventure to have to hand.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sinking: Infestation
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: Caverns of Chaos
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2011 00:10:25

This is a sprawling interconnected series of rooms, caves and caverns. Very similar to the Keep on the Borderland Caverns of Chaos or the caves could be used for WotC's Chaos Scar. There are over 200 caves/rooms. This is a no frills, no color product and for the price a very good buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Caverns of Chaos
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 106 to 120 (of 661 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG