RPGNow.com
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Gaslight Victorian Fantasy (Savage Worlds Edition)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/06/2012 17:09:28

If you enjoyed the old Masque of the Red Death game, or just Victorian Gothic games in general then this is a great choice. What is particularly nice about this nice about Gaslight is how much history is included in the book. While that might be your thing, this is quite important for a Victorian game. There is also a great overview of the whole world, not just England. For these alone Gaslight is a worth the price as resources for any other Victorian game. Gaslight does give you more than that. There are new races you can play, such as werewolf and vampire, which are found in many games. But also the more uncommon Beast Men (which I have only seen in one other game) and the unique (as far as I can tell) Wildlings; or unaging wild children. There are plenty of new options for all sorts characters, of any race or background. Not to mention new magic, groups, and plenty of foes to face. I compared this game to the old Masque of the Red Death. Well if MotRD is "Dracula" then Gaslight is "Varney the Vampire"; less familiar, but maybe a touch darker.

This Savage Worlds edition requires a copy of the Savage Worlds rules.

They layout is simple and easy to read and the art is authentic Victorian illustrations and maps that give a real authentic flavor. Battlefield Press provides a lot of freebies and support for this game and that pushes up a bit in my opinion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gaslight Victorian Fantasy (Savage Worlds Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gaslight Map Pack
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2012 13:30:07

Interesting Resource, but not Play-Ready This consists of reproductions of a number of genuine Victorian maps. The most significant is a map of London (divided into a number of sections). There are also maps of Bombay and other locales. Consdidered as a background resource they are interesting and informative, but I expect it would require considerable work to convert a section of one of these maps into a playable game map.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Gaslight Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gaslight Savage Worlds Character Sheet
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/14/2011 06:34:45

Savage Worlds sheet for Gaslight. Very functional, and despite it's plainness I like it better than the Rippers sheet.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gaslight Savage Worlds Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gaslight OGL Character Sheet
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/14/2011 06:33:56

Quick and easy OGL sheet for Gaslight. Nothing fancy but gets the job done well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gaslight OGL Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gaslight Calender Pack: 1888 Edition
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/14/2011 06:32:59

Very useful resource for Gaslight or any other Victorian era game. Important dates and moon phases. Wish it had some more detail, not looking for a full almanac here, but just a touch more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gaslight Calender Pack: 1888 Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gaslight Victorian Fantasy (Savage Worlds Edition)
by J C. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2010 16:34:18

I am a big fan of Scientific Romance, Steampunk, and Victoriana style gaming overall. I have played many games in the past (Victoriana, Age of Empire, Castle Falkenstien, etc.) and while I liked most of them I always found the systems a bit too much in one direction. I love the fact that this game has put down some groundwork for doing this sort of gaming with the Savage Worlds system. Gaslight gives me a great foundation to port in all my fave genre tropes and use it with SW. Years ago i wrote a LoEG scenario for SW and recently tweaked it using some of the rules from this book.

If I were to give feedback, I would ask that they focus less on races and more on meaty bits. Everyone and their grandmother's Victorian game has elves, and other mythic creatures. If anything I would have went for a more Bros. Grimm approach to creating the setting.

I hope to see more development on this game in the next year.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gaslight Victorian Fantasy (Savage Worlds Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Open Core Role Playing System Classic
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2010 18:57:23

Well first off this isn't a bad system, i rather like the set up. Especially the Attributes and Derived Attributes, this alone gets a thumbs up because i am so tired of the usual d20 OGL rip off. And this introduces a albeitly simular scores, the ability range can vary from 1-6 for a more mundane game, to 1-10 in a more extraordinary game. But there is no limit to the actual score itself. Perhaps the biggest bog down was when you had to develope your skills, i tried using the detailed skill system and found myself going way over in points. Im sure this system works alot better if you use the broad grouped skills variation of the system. Now i love playing Super Heroes, and i always try to test the system when it comes to this. And this is where i was let down. It looks like they borrowed the power/trait system from the Tri-Stat system. And the values of some of the powers and traits were simply borrowd over without taking them into account with the points the game gives you. I tried using a Very High Level game setting, to recreate an important character from my own super hero setting. And found myself 99 points over before i even got to determining drawbacks.

I give this game 3 stars over all, it has a great retake on the attribute system and skill levels. But i found the powers section, less than desirable and perhaps not thought well enough through when pricing them.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Open Core Role Playing System Classic
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sherwood: The Legend of Robin Hood (Savage Worlds Edition)
by Piotr K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2009 12:52:04

Well done setting. The new rules are good, and follow the spirit of the story they are helping to tell. Gazetter is helpful, and gives background for adventures. And of course, there is Rogues Gallery. Not your classic bestiary - it is a gallery of all VIPs from Robin Hood legend. I especially like that authors described different visions of the Legend, and that authors included a few different ways to play them - according to those visions.There is one thing I didn`t like in there, to be honest - there is no Robin, the Hooded Man vision - but it can be easily played with Sherwood, so I can live without it.

Good job, guys!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sherwood: The Legend of Robin Hood (Savage Worlds Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sherwood: The Legend of Robin Hood (Savage Worlds Edition)
by Grimur F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2009 04:15:01

I didn´t hesitate to make this purchase. I like the classic tales and legends and tell them to my son at bedtime. As a Savage Worlds gamer, I was excited to see the book as well.

After a nice poem, the introduction is about heroes (archtypes) and sets the mood of the setting from a players point of view. After that it comes to character generation, with a few new edges, arcane backgrounds and trappings. Those elements are nicely done, although I would have liked to see more edges and maybe a hindrance or two.

Next is a chapter on swashbuckling adventures and this is really the best part of the book, especially about the acrobatic maneuvers and alternatives for the agility trait test. They really add spice to the setting and I plan to adopt many of them in my non-sherwood homegame. The rules about the archery contest are well done and gives you an idea on how to run similar events in other settings.

The chapter about gear is nothing special and does hardly add any new stuff, if you already own a few savage (medieval/fantasy) products.

The Gazetteer about 13th century England is well written and gives a good overview of the time period. Nothing in-depth, but enough inspiration for a GM to get the game going right away.

The next chapter gives some adventure seeds, that remind me of the SW on sheet adventures. Im not a big fan of them, but OK.

The following Rogues Gallery is great. Friar Tuck, Will Scarlet and everyone else we remember from the stories are well done, in description as well as the stats. I enjoyed this section very much.

The last chapters about mythic sherwood and beast are OK. These parts are problably expected by gamers, but I could have lived without them. They add a new Arcane Background and a few spells. The beast are from a rules point of view well done, as all SW elements in this book.

The downside of this release, is its layout. A boring cover, badly done table formatting and artwork that I have seen other places. The images are OK, but are placed unproffesionally on the pages.

Still content is king, but this book would easily have earned 5 stars with a better layout and artwork. The character sheet at the end is actually the best layoutet item in the book.

I purchased it for 9.95 and it definatly worth it. The normal 19.95 seems a little too much in my opinion.

Summary: A well done setting for SW, well written and with alot of inspiration and good SW rules. Unfortunaly the layout cannot make me go 5 stars. I hope Battlefiled Press will consider this in a new edition and earn the 5.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Luftwaffe 1946 Role Playing Game Open Core Edition
by Gunther B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2008 11:45:59

The game has pro's and cons: Pro You get two role playing systems to chose from to meet your gaming style Neutral The background history is interesting but way to short and needs to be expanded and fleshed out. The character profiles provided are very well done Con The game only provides stats for 17 aircraft and with the exception of the B-35 Flying Wing all were in the air before the war ended in 1945. A technical manual with addition planes was planned but never released Overall Expected more



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Luftwaffe 1946 Role Playing Game Open Core Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Open Core Role Playing System Classic
by Robert D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2008 15:17:13

I felt that this was an easy and painless prosses that I would repeat anytime I wish to purchase books.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Open Core Role Playing System Classic
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Luftwaffe 1946 Role Playing Game Open Core Edition
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2007 08:04:20

I purchased this product because it has conversion notes to Fudge (product uses the Action System).

Overall I liked it, and I've found one adventure on the internet for the game.

I would have liked to see more setting material.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Luftwaffe 1946 Role Playing Game Open Core Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Luftwaffe 1946 Role Playing Game Open Core Edition
by Bill C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2007 00:00:00

Not what it could be, more specifically, not much about the Luftwaffe, or the Comic book world Luftwaffe 1946.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Great dogfight rules. Also includes two RPG systems allows me to pick and choose my own system from the formalised Core and freestyle Fudge rules systems<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Great Wildwest rules and two RPG systems means it covers the same subjects twice.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Arakos The Eighth Age
by Peter W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2006 00:00:00

It's not often that one sees a setting written for Anime d20, especially given the discussions cropping up regarding Guardians of Order's status as a company as of the writing of this review. So, it was a pleasant surprise to see Arakos: the Eighth Age made available, even more so considering that it comes from the author and artist duo who brought us Livin' on a Dream for Heartquest. So how does Arakos stack up?

Overall, it's not bad. The writing's good, and so is the layout for the most part (though the font used for titles and headers could've been a little better). The character artwork's good as well, fitting the anime fantasy style well, even if it is dominated by female characters. Editing is also good for the most part, though a few errors have slipped through (?King NAME?, anyone?).

Mechanics-wise, we're given eight races, along with five classes (though one of them is Anime d20's Adventurer class, reprinted to keep it handy). The races include a few tribes of humans, along with a race descended from alien refugees long ago, another offshoot of that race, the almost-requisite cat-people race, and a race descended from giants. Aside from the Adventurer class, the other classes presented are variations of standard fantasy classes.

It also provides some guidelines as to which attributes, defects, skills, and feats to use and not to use in an Arakos campaign, along with providing new ones associated with the setting. Perhaps the most interesting of the new attributes would be the Ki Guardian, which not only provides a protector for the character who has it, but also gives a background hook for that character in that it requires that someone in that character's life engage in ritual self-sacrifice in order to become one.

There's also a comprehensive section of magic specific to Arakos, divided into four schools of magic for Spirited Sorceresses (one of the classes in the book), along with both light and dark divine spells for the Pure Priestesses (one of the other classes). With all the spell lists, this section easily takes up nearly a third of the book.

The last portion of the book is for the setting itself, and this is where it disappoints. Simply put, the information given on Arakos itself as a world is a bit bare-bones and could've used some fleshing out. Information is given only for a few important locations and only one important NPC (Naomi the Pure, and no stats are given on her, just her backstory). Furthermore, with all the player races available, it's surprising that there aren't any creatures unique to Arakos listed, just some templates to use to convert creatures over to the dark side. It also gives some information on a few artifacts, but no game stats, either.

All in all, this is a book that had a lot of potential, and is still good for what it gives the reader. However, it could've used some beefing-up in terms of the setting. This is even more disappointing given the work that the author has done with just one city in his previous work, Livin' on a Dream. Still, it's not a bad buy, and if you're willing to do some extra work to create more NPCs as well as various creatures for the setting, it's worth a look.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Nice artwork, some new races, classes, and various attributes, feats, and skills for the setting.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The world could've used more development, as well as more NPCs (along with stats on them) and more info on artifacts.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Arakos The Eighth Age
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Luftwaffe 1946 Role Playing Game Open Core Edition
by Ian B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2006 17:18:10

LUFTWAFFE: 1946 Role Playing Game Jonathan M. Thompson and Michael Scott Battlefield Press, Inc., April 2004 (First Printing) Downloaded from DRIVETHRURPG.com January 2006

Luftwaffe: 1946 is a role-playing game based on the Antarctic Press comic book series of the same name. I had a slight familiarity with the comic book series so when I say this game I purchased the e-book version. I wish I hadn’t.

Luftwaffe: 1946 RPG uses Gold Rush Games ACTION! SYSTEM as its core mechanic. This is both the advantage and disadvantage of this game. It appears that the authors wrapped the ACTION! SYSTEM with the Luftwaffe: 1946 background material. Unfortunately, it appears they didn’t translate enough. For instance, combat uses 5ft, 50ft, and 250ft scales. However, the distances in the Combat Modifiers Table (pg 66) are all in meters. Other times it is an inconsistency with naming conventions. For instance, in Chapter 7: Vehicles under Vehicle Speed, paragraph Initiative, the rule states: “ An alternative is to roll initiative for each vehicle, using the vehicles initiative modifier." Yet in the Table: Sample Vehicles (pg 88) as well as A List of Typical Luftwaffe 1946 Aircraft (pg 90) there is no “Initiative Modifier” listed, just a Maneuverability Bonus (MB). Is this the same, or not? It is issues like this that render the system near unusable.

One would imagine that in the world of Luftwaffe: 1946 that aerial combat would be key. Air combat rules are here but they are very simplified. If you are looking for an air combat game to add to your role-playing this is NOT the system. You are probably better off finding a simple set of miniatures rules and figuring out how to fit them in yourself. The game includes stats for only 17 aircraft (none with pictures). The least the authors could of done was gone to the Luft ’46 website (http://www.luft46.com/) or even used the Antarctic Press Luftwaffe: 1946 Technical Manuals for more illustrations. Furthermore, to an old grognard like me, the only real difference between aircraft is the Maneuverability Bonus. They range from +5 for an A6M5 “Zero” to a –3 for large bombers like the B-35A Flying Wing. This extreme simplification is too much for me. I imagined a robust air combat system in a game where air combat is so important to the storyline and plot. It’s not here.

Finally, there is a touchy political issue here that offended me. In the introduction, Ted Nomura (author of the Luftwaffe: 1946 comic book series) gets his say. He discusses the early influences on his art and his quest for accuracy and details in models and eventually drawing. Near the end of his introduction though, he makes some statements that I have trouble just letting go. From page 7: “Being educated in America and thus thinking that we’re a free-press society, I found the obvious censorship of history highly insulting to my intelligence. Thus, beginning in the early 1970s, I made a careful study of Nazi Germany and found out that their atrocities were not much worse than what other major countries had done to their people and their neighbors throughout the centuries of warfare. Focusing on a selected few seemed not only unfair but inaccurate. Telling only half-truths was just as bad as telling half-lies.”

If you can put the politics aside, then this game may be for you. If you are focused on the RPG aspect and very familiar with the ACTION! SYSTEM them you may be able to use these rules. If you are looking for an air combat game to use in your RPG world, STAY AWAY.

A final note: Apparently there is a newer version of this game out there that has 160 pages versus the 109 in my version. Not having seen this later version I cannot comment further on it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Luftwaffe 1946 Role Playing Game Open Core Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 52 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG