RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Isaac R. D. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2016 10:36:29

7th Sea Second Edition is a rules light story focused swashbuckling rpg. Return to a reimagined Theah as you sail the seven seas, duel vicious villains, search ancient ruins, and attend grand balls wrought with political tension. This edition uses D10s like the original, but with a different twist. The book also covers everything in one beautiful high quality pdf that took the first edition two books to go over. I am extremely happy with my purchase and heartily recommend 7th Sea Second Edition to anyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2016 05:40:46

7th Sea (2nd ed.) is the new generation of a heart warming, lovable game of adventure, daring do and swashbuckling in the land of Theah.


Will you go help unearth dangerous relics of an ancient race from ruins lost in steamy jungles or maybe buried in the catacombs beneath ancient moldering mausoleums and find that it's a matter of leverage whilst the merchant prince's guards hunt you down?


Or perhaps you will be hanging from the rigging prepared to board ship as you and your scurvy bunch of Sea Dog friends chase down a treasure galleon for Queen, Country and Glamour!


The new system is very narrative driven, you roll for an advantage and then describe how that advantage is used to achieve your goals... eventually.


Be witty, be quick and most of all have a wonderful time sailing the seven seas.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Elyezer L. d. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2016 23:42:25

As a kickstarter backer I was already impressed by the interesting new system they came up with. When the book finally came to me through the previews they sent me I was instantly hooked. I just couldn't stop reading. Every section was better than the one before. Their focus on role-playing is amazing, the system is really simple and makes you really use your imagination, beeing the GM or a player. Every play is a risk, every scene has so many angles, so many things to explore.
The only reason I won't give a perfect score to the book is because I missed a world history section. Don't get me wrong, the story is there, but you have to piece it together trhough out the book.
All in all, it has been close to a decade since I last found a RPG book that got me so excited to play. Keep up the good work guys.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Iam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2016 18:03:20

Fun and easy. If you are familiar with FATE it is very similar with an emphisis on being thematic, dramatic, big, and using "raises" to accomplish your desired actions, which you are encouraged to describe to the GM and party, and be a hero. Very high seas drama and a lot of fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Nick J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2016 15:33:37

Haven't quite finished it, but everything I've read has been absolutely fantastic. I started playing in a 7th Sea adventure over on gamersplane.com and am having a blast. Also, any any gaming system that has a mechanic called "The McClane Effect" which makes the characters more awesome the more damage they take is brilliant!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Rodney R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2016 13:21:39

Me:I am avid gamer with over 30 years expereince. I played 7th Sea 1st edition back when it first came out and thourghly enjoyed it.
Setting:The setting is a fantastical take on the European area, so you have an idea of what the people are like. The changes are just enough so that while similar, the countries in 7th Sea are their own vibrant places. There is great art work within the book to help bring this world to life within your imagination. With this extensive world, that shall continue to grow, the adventure posibbilities are endless. Want to play pirates? Great. Interested in playing a campaing similar to the Three Musketeers? Can do. Want to play a band of roving heros righting wrongs in the world? Absolutlely!
Characters: Each character starts out with the five basic Traits at Rank 2 and gets two points to increase them, plus and additional increase based on your Nationality. You pick two Backgrounds that provide you with 1 point in five skills each plus 1Quirk per backgroud. Then you can add 10 more points to any of the 16 skills, to a maximum Rank of 3. You also gain advatages from your Backgrounds and have 5 points to spend buying more. You have a Virtue and a Hubris that will provide you with a game mechanic. When completed, each character is roughly of equal power to each other, each with their own strengths and weaknesses.
Mechanics: The changes from first to second mainly involve the game mechanics to make it more of a storytelling experience where the dice do not absolutely control the game. The Raises and Risks system allows players much more freedom in what they can attempt than many other games. Each Risk the player takes has a Reward of succcessful and a Consequence if failed. Each move the Story along. Just becasue this is focused on telling stories doesn't mean that death is not a Consequence in the game. Each character has Wounds and Dramatic Wounds (DW). DW's influence the game and when you have accumulated four, your character is Helpless - at the mercy of the Villian. Hopefully your friends will save you from most certain death at his hands.
Final Words: Each game has a distinctive group that responds well to it and some that don't. Power gamers and min/maxers will find this is a very balanced system. This is not about being the most powerful character in the area, but rather this game is about telling the most fascinating stories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Jamie G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2016 12:40:42

I waited ten years for this and it exceeded expectations.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Eric S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2016 12:52:44

I will admit to being slightly biased - I was one of the first and biggest fans of the 1st edition of 7th Sea, and one of the first kickstarter backers of this edition. But there's a reason it did as successfully as it did, and that's because 7th Sea is what RPG gaming should be - fast, approachable, and imaginative collective storytelling.


If you're looking for "crunchy bits" with different weapon stats and charts to tell you what to roll when, look elsewhere. Much like Fate and other narrativist systems, the rules in 7th Sea are meant to advance the story, not limit it. The greatest example of this is that your character literally cannot die. The mechanics encourage you to take crazy, stupid risks, and think up new ways around every situation - for example, you get a bonus die each time you use a skill you haven't used already this scene.


The setting is "European history as interpreted by a 14-year-old", in that it deliberately cherry-picks the most fun parts of every historical European culture and shoves them together in a blender. Queen Elizabeth is also King Arthur; the Inquisition is a fearsome juggernaut trying to snuff out imagination and individuality; the French nobility are absurdly decadent and ripe for revolution. Now with added Poland!


If you want a dungeon crawl with a lot of poring over character sheets and miniatures, take a pass. If you want swashbuckling action on the high seas, with chandeliers to swing from no matter where you are, then fork over the Guilders for 7th Sea, right now.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Philip K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2016 17:43:39

7th Sea 2nd Edition is a complete rework and remix of the original. The system has been stripped down and rebuilt from the ground up to be leaner, faster, and promote more daring, swashbuckling action and adventure. The setting has also been revamped into a more cosmopolitan and politically charged set of nations.


Pros



  • The core idea of "The GM creates scenes, the players make raises, and then the players spend raises to change the scene" is incredibly powerful in play. It empowers players to change the story in dramatic ways.

  • The setting is streamlined and honed to produce more swashbuckling and intrigue than ever before.

  • The art and prose are phenomenal.


Cons



  • The base rules for combat are very minimal and will require a change in approach for most gamers in order to function well as swashbuckling adventure.

  • The tone in several areas of the setting were jarringly discordant with the rest of the book (specifically the horror elements in sever of the magic traditions and the nation of Eisen.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Derek P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2016 12:45:53

As a huge fan of the original game I am incredibly happy with the new edition. The machnics are very different, so don't expent to be able to port your old characters directly, but the feel is spot on. The designers have done with 2nd Edition what they did with 1st, stood on the forward edge of narrative design and married it perfectly with satisfying game mechanics.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swashbuckling Adventures
by Benjamin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2016 13:42:08

7th Sea is a story of larger than life heroes that defy conventional concepts of character design.


By adding a class system and attempting game balance, the game misses the point of itself.


Stick to the original 7th Sea. It's jagged and unbalanced, yes, but it conveys the spirit of swashbuckling adventure, dashing heroes, and mustache twirling villains far better.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Swashbuckling Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crescent Empire
by Richard T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2016 21:40:25

I really wish I could dislike this more, as it's just the same old Orientalist view of anything that's east, but considering the really, really bad lampshading in regards to all the other places in Theah, I can't. With this is mind, I can't justify calling it stereotypical and/or racist when the Inish (literally one letter away from "Irish!") exist in the setting. I just wish they would've put abit more pre-Islamic Arab stuff in it and less obvious copy/paste from various Islamic sources.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Crescent Empire
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

7th Sea: Second Edition Quick Start
by Arnold V. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2016 00:03:52

New GM/player to the 7th Sea world and this quick start guide was an excellent read to help introduce myself into the world and the system. Right now I'm using this to "sell" the world to my playe friends with a quick and action packed romp int Thean.


Also backed the kickstarter (because really, i was sold on 7th Sea when I read magic and pirates in one sentence).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Second Edition Quick Start
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

7th Sea: Second Edition Quick Start
by Nicholas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2016 00:29:16

I got to say wow it`s a grate game. I played the first Edition when it was out and loved it. So when I saw the 7th Sea: Second Edition Quick Start it was a must have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Second Edition Quick Start
by Juergen I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2016 13:11:17

A bit of Salt in the air... 7th Seas is back! Great stuff for all who love sword fights, dashing heros and scheming enemies! Rules are easy to understand, ready to play. Off we go an mission which can be good or ill for the beloved kingdom... familiy... cause and captain.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 157 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG