RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Rodney R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2016 13:21:39

Me:I am avid gamer with over 30 years expereince. I played 7th Sea 1st edition back when it first came out and thourghly enjoyed it.
Setting:The setting is a fantastical take on the European area, so you have an idea of what the people are like. The changes are just enough so that while similar, the countries in 7th Sea are their own vibrant places. There is great art work within the book to help bring this world to life within your imagination. With this extensive world, that shall continue to grow, the adventure posibbilities are endless. Want to play pirates? Great. Interested in playing a campaing similar to the Three Musketeers? Can do. Want to play a band of roving heros righting wrongs in the world? Absolutlely!
Characters: Each character starts out with the five basic Traits at Rank 2 and gets two points to increase them, plus and additional increase based on your Nationality. You pick two Backgrounds that provide you with 1 point in five skills each plus 1Quirk per backgroud. Then you can add 10 more points to any of the 16 skills, to a maximum Rank of 3. You also gain advatages from your Backgrounds and have 5 points to spend buying more. You have a Virtue and a Hubris that will provide you with a game mechanic. When completed, each character is roughly of equal power to each other, each with their own strengths and weaknesses.
Mechanics: The changes from first to second mainly involve the game mechanics to make it more of a storytelling experience where the dice do not absolutely control the game. The Raises and Risks system allows players much more freedom in what they can attempt than many other games. Each Risk the player takes has a Reward of succcessful and a Consequence if failed. Each move the Story along. Just becasue this is focused on telling stories doesn't mean that death is not a Consequence in the game. Each character has Wounds and Dramatic Wounds (DW). DW's influence the game and when you have accumulated four, your character is Helpless - at the mercy of the Villian. Hopefully your friends will save you from most certain death at his hands.
Final Words: Each game has a distinctive group that responds well to it and some that don't. Power gamers and min/maxers will find this is a very balanced system. This is not about being the most powerful character in the area, but rather this game is about telling the most fascinating stories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Jamie G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2016 12:40:42

I waited ten years for this and it exceeded expectations.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Eric S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2016 12:52:44

I will admit to being slightly biased - I was one of the first and biggest fans of the 1st edition of 7th Sea, and one of the first kickstarter backers of this edition. But there's a reason it did as successfully as it did, and that's because 7th Sea is what RPG gaming should be - fast, approachable, and imaginative collective storytelling.


If you're looking for "crunchy bits" with different weapon stats and charts to tell you what to roll when, look elsewhere. Much like Fate and other narrativist systems, the rules in 7th Sea are meant to advance the story, not limit it. The greatest example of this is that your character literally cannot die. The mechanics encourage you to take crazy, stupid risks, and think up new ways around every situation - for example, you get a bonus die each time you use a skill you haven't used already this scene.


The setting is "European history as interpreted by a 14-year-old", in that it deliberately cherry-picks the most fun parts of every historical European culture and shoves them together in a blender. Queen Elizabeth is also King Arthur; the Inquisition is a fearsome juggernaut trying to snuff out imagination and individuality; the French nobility are absurdly decadent and ripe for revolution. Now with added Poland!


If you want a dungeon crawl with a lot of poring over character sheets and miniatures, take a pass. If you want swashbuckling action on the high seas, with chandeliers to swing from no matter where you are, then fork over the Guilders for 7th Sea, right now.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Philip K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2016 17:43:39

7th Sea 2nd Edition is a complete rework and remix of the original. The system has been stripped down and rebuilt from the ground up to be leaner, faster, and promote more daring, swashbuckling action and adventure. The setting has also been revamped into a more cosmopolitan and politically charged set of nations.


Pros



  • The core idea of "The GM creates scenes, the players make raises, and then the players spend raises to change the scene" is incredibly powerful in play. It empowers players to change the story in dramatic ways.

  • The setting is streamlined and honed to produce more swashbuckling and intrigue than ever before.

  • The art and prose are phenomenal.


Cons



  • The base rules for combat are very minimal and will require a change in approach for most gamers in order to function well as swashbuckling adventure.

  • The tone in several areas of the setting were jarringly discordant with the rest of the book (specifically the horror elements in sever of the magic traditions and the nation of Eisen.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Derek P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2016 12:45:53

As a huge fan of the original game I am incredibly happy with the new edition. The machnics are very different, so don't expent to be able to port your old characters directly, but the feel is spot on. The designers have done with 2nd Edition what they did with 1st, stood on the forward edge of narrative design and married it perfectly with satisfying game mechanics.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swashbuckling Adventures
by Benjamin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2016 13:42:08

7th Sea is a story of larger than life heroes that defy conventional concepts of character design.


By adding a class system and attempting game balance, the game misses the point of itself.


Stick to the original 7th Sea. It's jagged and unbalanced, yes, but it conveys the spirit of swashbuckling adventure, dashing heroes, and mustache twirling villains far better.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Swashbuckling Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crescent Empire
by Richard T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2016 21:40:25

I really wish I could dislike this more, as it's just the same old Orientalist view of anything that's east, but considering the really, really bad lampshading in regards to all the other places in Theah, I can't. With this is mind, I can't justify calling it stereotypical and/or racist when the Inish (literally one letter away from "Irish!") exist in the setting. I just wish they would've put abit more pre-Islamic Arab stuff in it and less obvious copy/paste from various Islamic sources.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Crescent Empire
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

7th Sea: Second Edition Quick Start
by Arnold V. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2016 00:03:52

New GM/player to the 7th Sea world and this quick start guide was an excellent read to help introduce myself into the world and the system. Right now I'm using this to "sell" the world to my playe friends with a quick and action packed romp int Thean.


Also backed the kickstarter (because really, i was sold on 7th Sea when I read magic and pirates in one sentence).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Second Edition Quick Start
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

7th Sea: Second Edition Quick Start
by Nicholas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2016 00:29:16

I got to say wow it`s a grate game. I played the first Edition when it was out and loved it. So when I saw the 7th Sea: Second Edition Quick Start it was a must have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Second Edition Quick Start
by Juergen I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2016 13:11:17

A bit of Salt in the air... 7th Seas is back! Great stuff for all who love sword fights, dashing heros and scheming enemies! Rules are easy to understand, ready to play. Off we go an mission which can be good or ill for the beloved kingdom... familiy... cause and captain.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Second Edition Quick Start
by Mark D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2016 12:10:42

Love the 1st Edition looking forward to the 2nd Edition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Second Edition Quick Start
by Sampo L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2016 03:25:46

Its a good little introduction to the world and adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wicked Fantasy (Full Book)
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2015 03:48:55

Wicked Fantasy is over 300 pages, covering 10 races old and new and presenting new background information, stats, options, and stories to help bring them to life. The book covers humans, haffuns (halflings), orks, elves, dach'youn (gnolls), gnomes, gobowins (goblins), uvandir (dwarves), roddun (ratfolk), and kuba-chubisi ("noble kobolds" will get you somewhere near the mark). So let's roll right into this!


To begin with, I have some negative things to say about this book, and I want to get them out of the way up front so they're not the last thing on your mind after reading this review.


First, the mechanics and rules language are surprisingly rough for such a beautiful hardcover. There are numerous instances of typed bonuses where the type is nonstandard and undefined, references to non-existent templates for size increases, poorly constructed rules language (for example "You can do this a number of times a day for each god's blood item you are wearing"), areas where the fluff and crunch are in direct conflict (the roddun entry refers to the fact that every fight challenging for the title of King Rat is a fight to the death, then talks about Ex King Rats reclaiming their titles), entire new base classes lacking BAB entries or reference tables, the list kind of goes on. Some of these are things where a reasonably experienced player or GM can easily divine the intent and smooth the rough edges, others are bad enough that the abilities need to be thrown out or rewritten entirely to be useful.


Secondly, the races, all of which have completely rewritten stats and racial abilities, are [i]crazy freaking strong[/i], generally by a substantial and very noticeable degree. This may be exacerbated even more by the awkward rules language; for example, the human "Hometown" racial trait refers to the human gaining a bonus feat, presumably of their choice, for each of two specific skills they have at least a +4 bonus in. Considering the humans also get an additional class skill of their choice that receives a +2 bonus and 1 rank plus the class skill bonus already puts them at +4, this means every human can easily get 2 bonus feats at 1st level. They also get their choice of +2 to any one physical stat [i]and[/i] +2 to any one mental stat, an awkwardly worded ability that gives them certain advantages in their hometown (separate from the Hometown ability), a bonus to Will saves that starts at +1 and scales up to +5, a more loosely worded and thus potentially more powerful version of the Inquisitor's Solo Tactics called Improved Teamwork, and an ability that procs off of their critical hits which can provide up to their Charisma modifier as a bonus to attack and damage rolls for all allies within 30 feet. All of the other races presented are essentially as strong or stronger. Honestly, these races are so ridiculously strong that you basically [i]have[/i] to limit your players to only the races in this book if you're going to allow them to use the new racial stats, otherwise the player using these options will be at a distinct and probably game-disrupting advantage. If you do have your whole group use the options presented herein, be ready to bump the difficulty of the challenges you throw at them to compensate for their increased power.


Okay, sound a little rough so far? Wondering if that 3 star rating was a mistake, maybe a sneeze where I accidentally scrolled up a bit? It's not, and here's why:
This book is, at its heart, more about creating a kind of pseudo campaign setting, a new way to look at races some people have probably been playing with for years. Every chapter has a long description of the ecology, philosophy, and history of the race, and a short story giving you an example of how they fit into the world. Let me tell you, this stuff is gold. The world and people presented in Wicked Fantasy are exciting and interesting. My wife loves orcs, and frequently comments about how so many authors and designers "get them wrong" (I have no idea where her standard for orcs comes from, but I think it's mostly Thrall or his parents in some of the better written Warcraft novels), and she absolutely loves the orks presented here, a sentiment I share. The haffun manage to deftly weave some of the classic halfling stereotypes into a broader and darker tapestry that makes them much deeper and interesting, the roddun ratfolk as good-natured mafioso is just magical in its presentation, and every race is supported not just by a wealth of beautifully presented information, but also spectacular art. I literally sat down on the couch with my wife after buying this book at the game store and read it cover to cover in one sitting, something I don't think I've ever done before, and which I [i]know[/i] my wife hasn't. While I picked it up largely because of John Wick's gaming pedigree, the beautiful art, and the Pathfinder compatible logo, having read this I could recommend it to any fan of fantasy as an enjoyable and interesting read.


So, how do you rate something like this? I've been trying to avoid the words "fluff" and "crunch", but I think I'm going to have to use them now. The crunch of this book, sadly, fails entirely. I often found myself reading something and thinking that the author must have been playing the game long enough they don't even realize what things they are house-ruling, and in an earlier iteration of this review I questioned whether the writers ever actually picked up a Pathfinder Core Rulebook at [i]any[/i] point in the design and development process. It smacks of either laziness bred by familiarity, or enthusiasm without a firm foundation of system knowledge, and I can't always tell which. If this book's sole value was as a rules resource, I would have to give it 1 star. But it's not just a rules resource, it is a genuinely enjoyable read, a collection of short stories, a thesis on how classic fantasy races might develop and interact in a different kind of world than we are normally presented with, and in that regard it is an amazing success, 5 stars hands down. My final verdict then will be an average of the two, 3 stars, because I cannot in good faith go any higher than that given its deficiencies in the realm of balance and rules presentation/development. It is, after all, presented as being Pathfinder Roleplaying Game compatible, and I fear that is only true in the broadest sense. If that's not a complete turn-off for you though, I suggest you pick it up anyway, and enjoy it for the piece of art it is.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wicked Fantasy (Full Book)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cat (Revised & Expanded)
by Allan D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2015 12:19:43

Cat Revised is just exactly as it sounds. A simple and fun game with an interesting concept. All cats are the protector of humans from evil spirits called 'Boggins'. The system allows an extremely quick start-up and easy to follow. Includes the creation rules for dogs, humans, and boggins; which allow storytellers an extremely wide range of flexibility with the system and possible story-lines. It is AMAZING for getting kids excited about role-playing for the first time!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cat (Revised & Expanded)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Big Book of Little Games
by Robert L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2015 14:24:12

Excellent package. Absolutely loved the concept for the CATS! rag and can hardly wait to play a game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Big Book of Little Games
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 167 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG