RPGNow.com
Browse













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Art of Michael Wolmarans, Nightmares and Dreamscapes Book 2
by Joshua P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2017 15:59:01

These images are not really usable in a professional product. Other art by Michael Wolmarans is amazing, but this doesn't do his other work justice.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Art of Michael Wolmarans, Nightmares and Dreamscapes Book 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Art of Michael Wolmarans, Nightmares and Dreamscapes
by Joshua P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2017 15:58:38

These images are not really usable in a professional product. Other art by Michael Wolmarans is amazing, but this doesn't do his other work justice.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Art of Michael Wolmarans, Nightmares and Dreamscapes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Heroes Wear Masks, 5e D&D Version
by Danny H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2017 09:28:28

Poorly executed, and not very well thought out at all. The guidelines for constructing heroes is so linear that it is nearly impossible to create any heroe other than the narrowly defined path. Want a street level hero with lot's of experience? Sorry won't work. Want a young and powerful hero who hasn't learned to control his awesome power? Sorry, can't do that either? This game is a direct reflection of the problem with trying to make actual roleplaying games like video games.

Guardians of Order, and Green Ronin did this idea far better, with 3.5, and the latter eventually had to abandon the D&D system altogether to make it work. Guardian's of Order made it work right off the bat. In short, don't waste your money on this if you want to play anything resembling a non-standardized superhero.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes Wear Masks, 5e D&D Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Heroes Wear Masks, 5e D&D Version
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2017 13:10:31

Bottom line up front: This is a great idea that has been poorly executed. Until a revision is printed that at least corrects the mechanical problems in this game, I can not recommend it.

  • Mechanics Problems: In short, the game has multiple examples of game mechanics that are not part of 5th ed. (neither in the main section nor in the optional rules section). Those mechanics therefore are not useable. The game mentions that it was once based "heavily" (their words) on the Pathfinder rules set. This doesn't exonerate the writers from purging the old material out and making this a truly 5th ed compatible game. As it stands the reader will have to adjust a lot of powers and rules himself to conform to the 5th ed RAW. Also, there are optional 5th ed rules being used in this game (which is well and good), but it would be a nice touch if the writers noted where optional 5th ed rules are being used for the benefit of those unfamiliar.
  • Index of terms: This game needs an index of terms badly. Meanings of words like "Scene", for instance have to be gleaned and are not overtly explained. An index would be a great one stop shop of information.
  • Category of heroes: The authors have done a pretty good job of encompassing the genre, but I don't think their classes and subcategories encompass the totality of the genre. This is merely a personal opinion however.
  • Character creation and conversion: The authors really need a better step by step guide to both character creation and most needed conversion guidelines
  • Super Heroism--Lastly there is a large section of the book that is an explanation of the philosophy of what it means to be a super hero. It pretty much reads like a wordy op-ed piece. I HIGHLY recommend this be edited down.
  • Things I like--the Activation roll is a neat convention. It works well within 5th ed and adds an element of 'comic-bookiness' to the game. The power point / resource point convention is also really good method for 'buying' powers. This game definiatley has a 'Comic Book' feel to it.

In summary, this is a sloppy product in dire need of some editing and revision. Until this happens, again, I cannot recommend. However, I want to be clear if these things were cleaned up I would recommend this product in a heartbeat.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes Wear Masks, 5e D&D Version, Preview
by Danny H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2017 14:21:40

As a preview, it was a bit short. There was little to give the reader any idea of how smoothly the game ran, what kind of powers could be developed, or how characters were even created. I would like to have seen something more like the Stingy Gamer's Edition from the old Guardian's of Order. Altough I'm all about superhero roleplaying games, this one would require me to invest in both 5th Edition Dungeons and Dragons, something I'm not sure I want to do, plus this game just to find out if it is any good. All in all this preview was a complete waste of my time and effort.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes Wear Masks, 5e D&D Version, Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Comic Book Adventures, Mission Book 3R
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2017 10:39:23

A good product for those not able to find a superhero game or for a GM needing some story ideas.

The only downsides are a need for better artwork and proofreading.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Comic Book Adventures, Mission Book 3R
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Comic Book Adventures, Mission Book 2
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2017 12:38:01

Artwork could have been a bit better and the editing more thorough but other than that a good adaptation of Pathfinder rules to a Superhero setting. The adventures a great for someone with no way to play otherwise or as cores for group play with a GM.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Comic Book Adventures, Mission Book 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Comic Book Adventures, Mission Book 1
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2017 12:35:40

Artwork could have been a bit better and the editing more thorough but other than that a good adaptation of Pathfinder rules to a Superhero setting. The adventures a great for someone with no way to play otherwise or as cores for group play with a GM.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Comic Book Adventures, Mission Book 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Kung Fu Kuma
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2016 22:18:04

Personally I love non-european settings and Kung Fu Kuma had me excited as it seemed to be "Jade Claw" for pathfinder. The setting has an intresting premise to the inclusion of various anthropormorphic races found in the campaign setting. Despite the words "Kung Fu" that is not a chinease based setting, but an Oriental blend of both China/Japan. If you do not own any previous Oriental D20 or Pathfinder type rules, the book has you covered by providing flavored classes suited for the setting and races found here in. In addition it provides a rule system of martial arts that characters can take. Overall it is a good introductory package to an Asian Flavored Campaign Setting. The only thing that I found to be lacking was the inconsistant style of artwork, especially when there are tons of anthro avatar makers out there for inspiration.

Give it a chance as a beginer set, especially since there are already a number of support books detailing more races!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Kung Fu Kuma
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Astral Empires, Starship Design Components Book
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2016 05:42:29

NOt bad, but seems to be designed for making smaller craft. I don't think it would work very well for making large starships.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Astral Empires, Starship Design Components Book
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monster Hunters RPG
by Martin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2016 13:46:46

This book presents options to play a Gothic Horror themed campaign or a game set somewhere in 1911. This book does not provide a set of monsters or present locales or cities. It is important to note that the material contained herein is based on the Pathfinder Rules.

Almost half the book is dedicated to character origins and classes. Character origins are background that can help flesh out a character and also provide a few options beyond what is accessible through a class. Each origin also provide a summary explanation as to why a character from such origin would choose to become a hunter. These origins provide the same versatility that races provide in Pathfinder, though obviously, everyone is a human herein.

The next chapter presents character classes. Players can become exorcist, hunter, magician, murderer, scientist, scoundrel, soldier, spiritualist, vagabond, white witch, prize fighter. I will not into the details of all the classes, but most of them are built around talents that can be chosen from a list and bring diversity to each class. Many of these classes are not proficient with any weapons which I find quite refreshing because this book is set in a close approximation of our world (albeit more than a hundred years ago), so not everyone would be good at using a weapon. However, these classes usually have access to spells and other interesting abilities that more than make up for the lack of weapons. Of all the classes, I found the scientist the least appealing. It has similarities with the alchemist class, but the Scientific Gadgets class feature seems a bit over-complicated and I am not entirely sure what they are supposed to do. I did not get the chance the play with it, but I think I would need to see it in action to better understand the class. The last class, the prize fighter, is a monk archetype that works quite well in this more modern setting. It seems very fun play. The other classes seems interesting, but I think that the capstone for the Magician, transcendence, is an overpowered ability making the character pretty much immortal.

The next two chapters cover skills, feats an gear. They are expansion of what you have in the core rule book, providing new rules and adapting other rules where appropriate. A large portion of the gear is dedicated to firearms, which are not used in all pathfinder campaign.

The chapter on combat provides additional rules for using firearms in combat. The rules are fairly simple and the part on called shot presents easy rules to make combat more fun in my opinion. A brief chapter describes what life was like in 1911 and suggests resources to help bring this period to life for your players.

Chapter 8 provides tricks and tips on how to run a game for Monster Hunters. This is a nice chapter that helps to bring into perspectives the differences between a fantasy game and a gothic horror game. I feel however that many Ravenloft supplement back in the days of 2nd edition were doing a much better jobs at providing guidance than this chapter but still, the right elements are there.

The book ends with a short sample adventure that helps to emphasize on what was discussed in the previous chapter. the adventure is straightforward and lacks details, but does provide a nice starting point and great foundation should a Huntmaster (as GMs are called in this book) wishes to expand it.

Overall I really enjoyed this book. I did not get a chance to run a game using these rules yet, but I feel like it would be easy to do using this book as a reference. The additional rules are simple and easy to grasp. They feel appropriately grim and would make for nice change of pace. I like that the classes are simple and easy to play. I also liked the rules on called shots. Tough I am not a big fan of this, I think these rules made sense. If you liked Ravenloft of you would like to play in setting similar to what Bram Stoker and Mary Shelley described, than this is for you.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Hunters RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Slayers of the Great Serpent
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2016 05:24:45

This is a solid adventure and a good start to what looks to be a fun adventure path to both run and play. It definitely had made me interested in finding the adventure modules that follow it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slayers of the Great Serpent
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Faces of Misery
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2016 19:04:38

DO NOT BUY THIS!! Instead of the aformantioned deck of inspiring cards I got a 22page polish document which I can't even read a single page of... I tried downloading it again 3 times but every time I got the same 22 page long polish all text thing... Throughly dissapointed, and it feels like I just thrown money out the window...



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Faces of Misery
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
We are sorry for the confusion, the wrong file was attached to this product for some reason. We have fixed the error and uploaded the correct file and an email to everyone that has downloaded this product. As a suggestion for the future, instead of supplying a negative review, it would be best to either contact Avalon directly or One Book\'s customer service people and together we will solve any problem you have. Had you done so, we would have detected the error much sooner, instead of waiting until we got around to looking at reviews of our product, which we do not do very often, and have no notification that a new one has been generated. We hope you will enjoy the corrected work and find it a fun addition to your gaming.
Erpegowe Święta
by Robert E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2016 15:04:55

Dary trzech wiedźm. Trzy godziny sesji, dwóch graczy, mechanika Adventurers!, setting autorski. Wszyscy się zgodziliśmy, że przygoda rewelacyjna. Musiałem odrobinę zaadoptować do realiów settingu ale tylko drobna kosmetyka. Zabawa super. BARDZO polecam.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Erpegowe Święta
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

How to Spice Up Combat
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2015 07:24:14

The text consists of 12 pages, of these 4 pages are used entirely for 2 lists: 1. Music suggestions and 2. Quotes from popular movies to be used in RPGs. So without these lists the main text has about 8 pages. The text is printer friendly (although I had to scale it down a bit) with lots of illustrations.

I believe the strength of this little text is the music list with about 40 suggestions (sometimes complete albums and sometimes several tracks from an album). fantasy: 8 suggestions, "Pulp combat": 1 and the rest is in the category"Modern/Cyberpunk/Sci-Fi". Some very good ideas, of course not a complete list.

The quotes are interspersed into the text and some more in a list to be found in the last chapter. Quality varies and I think the author would have come up with a better result, if he would have invented the quotes' part himself.

To me as a beginner GM the main text didn't help, in my opinion there was way to little information on how to make game (battle) mechanics easier or more efficient (i.e. faster).

My conclusion: 6$ for this item is way too much. In my eyes it comes down to how much you are willing to pay for the music list. I am very happy I bought at the same time another HOW TO Guide from this publisher, as otherwise I would have had a very poor impression of Avalon, and would have missed "How to be a great GM - Fan Edition", which may also be a little expensive but at least you get good quality for you money.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
How to Spice Up Combat
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 357 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG