RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
Five Henchmen
Five Henchmen
Pay What You Want









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Agency Resource Guide, a Terror Network Guide Book
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/01/2011 04:24:05
The Good:

- Wonderful new expansions to the Equipment Chapter.
- Just a ton of research, and conveyed without boring you with the details.
- Great section on the Global Hotspots.

The Bad:

- There was an (apparently) missing sidebar early on in the book.

Pretty much an essential purchase for Terror Network GMs, incredibly useful. For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/03/tommys-take-o-
n-agency-resource-guide.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Agency Resource Guide, a Terror Network Guide Book
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Terror Network: A Counter Terrorism RPG by Bedrock Games
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/28/2011 07:06:48
The Good:

- Incredibly comprehensive, well researched.
- Writing is to the point, doesn't beat you over the head with said research.
- Very even handed treatment of the subject matter, and not just US vs Muslims.

The Bad:

- No real treatment of torture, which is rather important for the genre, in my view.
- As with Crime Network, the system probably isn't quite as lethal as it is implied.

For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/02/tommys-take-o-
n-terror-network.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Terror Network: A Counter Terrorism RPG by Bedrock Games
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Infinite Futures
by David R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2011 19:23:30
I wanted to like this, i really did, but between the bad art, the poor editing (the classes chapter stuck out in this reguard) and the boring races (i understand your trying to be generic, and that they released an aliens book shortly after, but a little more effort would've been nice) i just can't recomend this book. If i had paid more than a dollar for it, i would be upset. As is, maybe i can mine it for some interesting bits for my HARP SciFi game.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Futures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crime Network: Cosa Nostra by Bedrock Games
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/07/2011 04:46:09
The Good:

- Great amount of detail and ideas on using the Mafia in an RPG.
- Complete, fictionalized city to drop you in, ready to play.
- Some humorously great options for Shortcomings, like Mama's Boy.
- Just about every page is packed with information.

The Bad:

- The system doesn't come across as gritty as advertised.
- It can veer into Player vs Player pretty easily, and that can be disruptive to some groups.

For my full review, please read: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/02/tommys-take-o-
n-crime-network-cosa.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crime Network: Cosa Nostra by Bedrock Games
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lightspeed
by matthew o. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2011 07:50:00
I like the idea in general. However, I was under the impression that it was a d20 system as well as fusion. this is probably because it ws listed under d20 rule systems. I don't know if this is a drivethru rpg error or Comstar games. None of the free downloads showed any rules so I could not tell. Next to the game it says:

Rule System
d20/OGL 3rd Edition _ d20 System/OGL 3rd Ed.
Fuzion

I'm not really that interested in learning a new system so I am pretty disappointed with the purchase.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Lightspeed
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasy Maker Handbook
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/30/2011 13:30:53
The Fantasy Maker Handbook is a workbook for creating your own fantasy world. Each page contains topics for the GM to consider about the fantasy world they would like to create, and the idea is to fill in the spaces on each page as ideas are developed. While the title says "fantasy," this is a tool that could be used for any kind of world-building, even alternate history or real-world settings in undiscovered lands. It could also be used for fleshing out sections of an existing campaign world.

There isn't much in the way of tips, suggestions, or guidance in the workbook - the direction you take is entirely up to you. This is simply a series of subject areas such as flora and fauna, weather, politics, and technology (to name a few) that you may want to consider when detailing your world.

Included in the package are blank grid and hex pages for mapping out specific areas or the entire globe, blank lined paper for taking notes, and an image file of parchment, presumably for printing out and using as a prop.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Maker Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Infinite Futures
by Chris F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2011 00:12:29
Infinite Futures is an ambitious product, an attempt to convert D20 Future to make them fully compatible with the Pathfinder RPG. It's a decent attempt, and will be useful for gamers wanting new feats, futuristic and modern weapons, cybernetics and alien races to add to their PFRPG campaigns or who want to update an old D20 Future campaign.

At over 450 pages, the sourcebook is a decent bargain. However, I really wish the Avalon Game Company had gone a bit farther in their changes. Pathfinder felt like a really ambitious and innovative new take on D&D 3.5. By contrast, Infinite Futures felt somewhat tame. Aside from some minor mechanical changes, large portions of the text seemed like a straight translation of old D20 Modern SRDs. Character concepts in this converted system aren't quite as customizable as a Pathfinder Rogue or a Sorcerer and the dozen or so bloodline options available to that class.

Avalon Game Company illustrated Infinite Futures with stock art by Sade and other CGI artists, many of whose images I've used myself. However, I did feel that some of the art was badly chosen and just tossed into the manuscript to color a page without concern for the text on that page.

Finally, there are a few elements brought over from the Pathfinder RPG to this system and imported with no translation. Look in the section on diseases and curses? Why are there curses in a sci-fi game? Your guess is as good as mine. Also, why are all the diseases fantasy standards like 'devil chills' or 'cackle fever'. Where's AIDs, ebola and weaponized nanotech?

These complaints aside, Infinite Futures is a strong and ambitious release from a fairly young company. I definitely want to see more products in this line, and want to see some more support for a sci-fi / fantasy rule set that seems to have a lot of potential.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Futures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Arcana Journal #1
by Ward M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2011 19:10:45
This is a brilliant idea for a camaign setting book. Instead of releasing one socking huge book worth a fortune, it is being released in the form of a monthly digest. Each issue includes details on one hex of the regional map. Most issues also include an article on one of the kingdoms in the setting, and part of the "Encyclopedia Arcana".

Dislikes: spelling and grammar continue to be an issue with this series of products. (Manner house? Really?)

Also of note: Say you want to adventure in the Kingdom of Mulithor. You would need the journals that cover hexes 2, 9, and 10. (Not a complaint, but it is something you should be aware of.)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arcana Journal #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Arcana Core Book
by Ward M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2011 17:34:29
This product is exactly what it claims to be--a system-neutral overview of a campaign setting. It has timelines, plots, characters, and settings. (In short: "Instant campaign settng; just add water")

Likes: The PDF is bookmarked, which is always a plus in my book. I like the world and its people, and the core plotline grabbed my attention.

Dislikes: The spelling and grammar are abominable. Either this book was written in a foreign language and translated with Babelfish, or Avalon can't afford a proof-reader.

Vulgar language warning: If you are easily offended, there is one place in the text where a rumor is dismissed by saying "This is bullsh**". (I think "this isn't true" would have done just fine, IMO)

This product should not be confused with "Arcania" or "Arcanum", also products from Avalon.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arcana Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Infinite Futures Free Preview
by Gary N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2010 10:40:08
I wish to comment only on the grammar/spelling of the free preview. I do believe most buyers would not pick up on the problems pointed out by Lucas Jung, but I sincerely hope the publication will be run through (at least) a spell-checker before its final production. The internet has exposed the poor education many people have, but I cannot help expecting a major product to contain as few spelling errors as possible. My own education is extremely limited, yet I do know how to run a spell checker. Although misspellings in the preview are few, it would be nice if the editor would fix them and others that may exist in the RPG before I.F. is made available. I still give it 3 stars because everything else about the game seems great.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Futures Free Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Strike Legion
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2010 20:01:26
Good set of rules I like the hidden defensive and offensive electronic warfare (EW) rules. The rules also have mutiple tech levels and handle mechs, tanks, grav, hover, all types of infantry, aircraft ect. plus a large great construction section to make your own vehicles/army. I really like the rules and look foward to playing many games with them

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strike Legion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Infinite Futures Free Preview
by Lucas J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2010 15:28:05
I hope that a whole lot of editing happens before the final release: spelling errors abounded, I saw more sentences with improper grammar than not (mixed tense and mixed plural/singular were especially common), and many of the sentences with correct grammar were nonetheless difficult to parse because of awkwardly phrased prose. If I were rating this solely on the quality of the writing I would have given it one star instead of two.

On the plus side, the artwork was very impressive and the layout looked professional. In fact, I'm completely dumbfounded at the uneven production quality: they obviously put a lot of attention and effort into the art and layout, so why is the writing so painfully bad? They should have bought fewer illustrations and spent the resulting savings on a better editor instead. If I were rating this solely on the quality of the artwork I would have given it five stars; for the layout, four.

There simply wasn't enough content in the preview to be able to tell how well designed and balanced the rules are, but I'm holding out hope. I can put up with bad writing as long as the underlying mechanics work right. I'll most likely end up buying this when it first comes out, because that will be the only way to know for sure.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Futures Free Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Divine Foes
by Aaron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2010 11:53:15
There’s a lot of fantastic material being presented in Divine Foes, although you may need to come up with your own plot points to incorporate it into other game systems or even Divinity character creation. The tactics are valuable pieces of information, the descriptions are well thought-out, and the overall use is fairly valuable.

While I like the content, the layout could benefit from a few changes here and there. The biggest one that stands out to me is that there are no illustrations. Even though the descriptions are fairly detailed for each foe, an illustration could really help paint a 3-dimensional picture. Also, the background of the pages is a bit dark and can sometimes make reading tricky. Although it’s not so dark as to prevent the content from being read. The last thing to note is how the foes are presented. While the content is very smooth and easy to read, it could benefit from each foe being presented with its own 2-page spread and allowing room for expanded information or an illustration. This could help to better define each section for quicker reference. Other than that, they publication is very professional and flows smoothly.

I really like the ideas presented in Divine Foes. It’s a great look at possible ways of creating your Divine characters or creating interesting encounters for them to overcome. The plot points are good adventure or even campaign starting points and the tactics help to create a more dynamic foe rather than a simple one. The source material would make a great addition to a GMs library and even adds value to a players character creation.

As much as I like how the material adds to Divinity, I really like the idea of how easy it would be to incorporate the source material into other game systems, adventures, or campaigns as another encounter or even a series of adventures. I would definitely recommend this to any player of Divinity, Space Opera, Space Travel, Social Sci-Fi, or Post-Apocalyptic.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Divine Foes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Infinite Futures Free Preview
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2010 23:14:44
Pathfinder compatible? Well, not really, as a quick look at the table on page 6 will show. This is a separate branch of the well-known family tree and I can only guess that Avalon thought that would sell better than "d20 system". Art by Poser, editing by .. from the title page, no-one, though spelling and missed find-replace work is only mildly distracting here. It looks reasonable for third-party work if a new D&D/SF mashup with a medium-light learning curve is what you want, not a standout as SF systems go generally. Free download or not, it should include the OGL.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Futures Free Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Infinite Futures Free Preview
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/25/2010 07:37:28
This product makes me really, really excited for the full game. I've always wanted to play a sci-fi Pathfinder game, and this looks like it will deliver.

My only gripes, though are:

3d rendering: Most of it is nice, but I'm still not loving anything with exposed skin in a render, even though there are programs *coughSkinVuecough* that allow such rendering without such a heavy uncanny valley effect.
Typos: Few and far between, but there's some, the most glaring (for me), is when being a Space Pirate captain "take no soul".

Ultimately, I feel that this game has the potential to overcome its backgrounds on the d20 system (Yeah, I have to bash it once a review, being a d6/d8/d10 snob), and be a really, really fun game. I'm just not 100% sure, but you can look for yourself.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 136 to 150 (of 330 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG