RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
How to be a Great GM
by Johnn F. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/18/2011 20:38:42
Overall, the book seems geared more towards the beginner GM and written in such a way one can readily grasp the concepts after a single read through, with the added bonus of being short enough most people can get through it in a single sitting. (It took me less then an hour to read from start to finish.)

If you’re a new GM or haven’t had the pleasure of GMing for a while and feel a bit rusty, give this book a try.

Full review at http://www.roleplayingtips.com/tools/how-to-be-a-great-gm/

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
How to be a Great GM
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Lightspeed: Alien Contact
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2011 07:38:27
Note that although this is for Lightspeed, a Fuzion system, the book is more geared to d20 alien creation. A very good product with at least 2-3 pages for one alien race and about 17 alien races. Usable in any system with a little work, as some of their personalities seem to be a bit similar at times (several enemy races, for example). Would a small sample adventure showing how they interact be too much?

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lightspeed: Alien Contact
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Far Avalon
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2011 07:34:10
This is exceptional. A systemless setting that provides all the detail (and I'm still going through it weeks later to absorb it all) you may need. I'm just not sure if all that detail was necessary because I think some of it could be put in a separate book (all the starships, for example) and instead include a quick-start adventure. That is a small complaint an incredible job. Although systemless, I also think it would be easy to provide some sample characters with word-based statistics (an Great Mechanic or an Excellent Mechanic both would imply high skill as opposed to a Poor Mechanic or an Average one) or an internal number system (1 to 10). And an adventure or two.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Far Avalon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Haunts and More
by Nathan C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/28/2011 12:44:49
2010 Halloween Review

Layout gaffs aside, the inside cover has the splash page to their other book, Haunts and More is a far more focused and interesting read. Presented by AGES games, it delves out 12 pages of deadly haunts to build adventures from. Haunts are traplike areas that can not be cured by a +2 axe and a fully rested sorcerer. Instead, you have to perform a mission that solves the problem. It is a bit disappointing that almost half of the 12 pages are “bonus material” with a less than par ranger build at level 2. The Iron Nugget is in the expansive creativity put into the Haunts themselves. If you liked this concept, you are going to want to pick this up

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Haunts and More
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Lightspeed: Alien Contact
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2011 09:10:42
First of all, I'm slighty miffed that I bought this PDF at full price before seeing the half off discount on the Lightspeed yahoo group. If I had paid $3.50, this would be a four star review. I was pleased to see this product. Lightspeed was one of the first PDFs I bought on rpgnow around a deCade ago. I'm partial to the setting, and though Fuzion isn't ICONS or Savage Worlds, at least it"s not d20. This PDF is well-written, and a scifi game can never have too many aliens. My problem is that the alien writeups don't take advantage of the setting Christian Concle has developed in previous PDFs. There are no tie-ins to any of the
Lightspeed setting plot points. Also, the layout lacks the signature Lightspeed style.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Lightspeed: Alien Contact
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Avalon Design Elements Stone Set 2
by Rainer G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2011 21:57:07
What little you see in the preview is what you get. Notice the boulders capping the ends are simply mirror images. In fact there really is only 1 wall, the rest are differing scaled portions of the same. Even the walls have repeating stones turned around in differing positions and are a mirrored from the middle outward. The stones are not very high resolution and the edges have jaggies. Anyone competent with Paint.net, GIMP or other paint programs can Google "seamless stone textures" or copy from a image search of "field stone wall" and make a nicer wall.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Design Elements Stone Set 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Fudge Treats: Shoujo Manga
by Jeff M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2011 23:41:48
I recently picked this up at a special price and I am glad that I did. Shoujo Manga means, "comic books for girls." It is not a setting I had sought to explore at my gaming table before, and I am still not certain that I am ready to run a fully romance based campaign or anything like that, but this small 48 page package has enough good stuff going for it that I am able to give it high marks even though for me, the setting wasn't it's greatest selling point. There are other Shoujo Manga games available, and they may explore this genre more fully, I am not sure, but I know that beyond a collection of skills inspired by the genre and some advice on different campaigns based on this sort of manga, the game rules themselves don't offer anything novel or different that will make resolving romance based situations more interesting or dynamic.

What is here is a solid representation of an Anime themed generic RPG adventure game using the Fudge system. It's quick, it's lite, it's easy to understand and read, and I do plan to use it at my gaming table for a science fiction campaign I am running, because for a rules lite generic RPG it does what it does very well. I have read a handful of Fudge iterations. (I found FATE to be too complex in it's presentation.) I want something that I can reference quickly without becoming too bogged down in the details. Fudge Treats: Shoujo Manga provides what is, for me at least, an ideal level of complexity and detail. The rules for character creation are straight forward and easy to understand. They seem diverse enough to allow for a good variety of character types.

The game is complete except for "Supernormal Powers." The game mentions future Fudge Treats: A Magical Girls one, and a Super Powers one, that will fill this void. But some more examples in this area would have been welcome, and I have looked but find no trace of the other mentioned products. (This product is more than 6 months old, maybe it hasn't sold well enough to justify the promised additions.) Also, although most of the rules are summarised in a handy appendix, there is no character sheet. Finally some of the full page art obscures game text making those pages more difficult to read on my Kindle, but it's not terrible. However, I do feel that future products might consider avoiding this. Otherwise, I found all the art work to be pleasing and appropriate to the subject matter.

So, no character sheet or supernormal powers, and no ground breaking innovations that make this a must buy, but it is a strong accessible iteration of the Fudge system for Shoujo Anime themed role play. I think it might be ideal for younger players, especially girls (at whom Shoujo Anime is targeted,) or for people like myself who want a nice easy version of Fudge to adapt and use within their own setting, as it seems flexible enough for this and worthy of adapting. For providing me with that, I feel the product lived up to it's promise as a "Fudge Treat" and certainly it is worth the modest price. - 4 stars.

Jeff Moore

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fudge Treats: Shoujo Manga
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Agency Resource Guide, a Terror Network Guide Book
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/01/2011 04:24:05
The Good:

- Wonderful new expansions to the Equipment Chapter.
- Just a ton of research, and conveyed without boring you with the details.
- Great section on the Global Hotspots.

The Bad:

- There was an (apparently) missing sidebar early on in the book.

Pretty much an essential purchase for Terror Network GMs, incredibly useful. For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/03/tommys-take-o-
n-agency-resource-guide.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Agency Resource Guide, a Terror Network Guide Book
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Terror Network: A Counter Terrorism RPG by Bedrock Games
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/28/2011 07:06:48
The Good:

- Incredibly comprehensive, well researched.
- Writing is to the point, doesn't beat you over the head with said research.
- Very even handed treatment of the subject matter, and not just US vs Muslims.

The Bad:

- No real treatment of torture, which is rather important for the genre, in my view.
- As with Crime Network, the system probably isn't quite as lethal as it is implied.

For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/02/tommys-take-o-
n-terror-network.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Terror Network: A Counter Terrorism RPG by Bedrock Games
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Infinite Futures
by David R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2011 19:23:30
I wanted to like this, i really did, but between the bad art, the poor editing (the classes chapter stuck out in this reguard) and the boring races (i understand your trying to be generic, and that they released an aliens book shortly after, but a little more effort would've been nice) i just can't recomend this book. If i had paid more than a dollar for it, i would be upset. As is, maybe i can mine it for some interesting bits for my HARP SciFi game.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Futures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Crime Network: Cosa Nostra by Bedrock Games
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/07/2011 04:46:09
The Good:

- Great amount of detail and ideas on using the Mafia in an RPG.
- Complete, fictionalized city to drop you in, ready to play.
- Some humorously great options for Shortcomings, like Mama's Boy.
- Just about every page is packed with information.

The Bad:

- The system doesn't come across as gritty as advertised.
- It can veer into Player vs Player pretty easily, and that can be disruptive to some groups.

For my full review, please read: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/02/tommys-take-o-
n-crime-network-cosa.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crime Network: Cosa Nostra by Bedrock Games
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Lightspeed
by matthew o. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2011 07:50:00
I like the idea in general. However, I was under the impression that it was a d20 system as well as fusion. this is probably because it ws listed under d20 rule systems. I don't know if this is a drivethru rpg error or Comstar games. None of the free downloads showed any rules so I could not tell. Next to the game it says:

Rule System
d20/OGL 3rd Edition _ d20 System/OGL 3rd Ed.
Fuzion

I'm not really that interested in learning a new system so I am pretty disappointed with the purchase.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Lightspeed
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Fantasy Maker Handbook
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/30/2011 13:30:53
The Fantasy Maker Handbook is a workbook for creating your own fantasy world. Each page contains topics for the GM to consider about the fantasy world they would like to create, and the idea is to fill in the spaces on each page as ideas are developed. While the title says "fantasy," this is a tool that could be used for any kind of world-building, even alternate history or real-world settings in undiscovered lands. It could also be used for fleshing out sections of an existing campaign world.

There isn't much in the way of tips, suggestions, or guidance in the workbook - the direction you take is entirely up to you. This is simply a series of subject areas such as flora and fauna, weather, politics, and technology (to name a few) that you may want to consider when detailing your world.

Included in the package are blank grid and hex pages for mapping out specific areas or the entire globe, blank lined paper for taking notes, and an image file of parchment, presumably for printing out and using as a prop.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Maker Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Infinite Futures
by Chris F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2011 00:12:29
Infinite Futures is an ambitious product, an attempt to convert D20 Future to make them fully compatible with the Pathfinder RPG. It's a decent attempt, and will be useful for gamers wanting new feats, futuristic and modern weapons, cybernetics and alien races to add to their PFRPG campaigns or who want to update an old D20 Future campaign.

At over 450 pages, the sourcebook is a decent bargain. However, I really wish the Avalon Game Company had gone a bit farther in their changes. Pathfinder felt like a really ambitious and innovative new take on D&D 3.5. By contrast, Infinite Futures felt somewhat tame. Aside from some minor mechanical changes, large portions of the text seemed like a straight translation of old D20 Modern SRDs. Character concepts in this converted system aren't quite as customizable as a Pathfinder Rogue or a Sorcerer and the dozen or so bloodline options available to that class.

Avalon Game Company illustrated Infinite Futures with stock art by Sade and other CGI artists, many of whose images I've used myself. However, I did feel that some of the art was badly chosen and just tossed into the manuscript to color a page without concern for the text on that page.

Finally, there are a few elements brought over from the Pathfinder RPG to this system and imported with no translation. Look in the section on diseases and curses? Why are there curses in a sci-fi game? Your guess is as good as mine. Also, why are all the diseases fantasy standards like 'devil chills' or 'cackle fever'. Where's AIDs, ebola and weaponized nanotech?

These complaints aside, Infinite Futures is a strong and ambitious release from a fairly young company. I definitely want to see more products in this line, and want to see some more support for a sci-fi / fantasy rule set that seems to have a lot of potential.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Futures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Arcana Journal #1
by Ward M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2011 19:10:45
This is a brilliant idea for a camaign setting book. Instead of releasing one socking huge book worth a fortune, it is being released in the form of a monthly digest. Each issue includes details on one hex of the regional map. Most issues also include an article on one of the kingdoms in the setting, and part of the "Encyclopedia Arcana".

Dislikes: spelling and grammar continue to be an issue with this series of products. (Manner house? Really?)

Also of note: Say you want to adventure in the Kingdom of Mulithor. You would need the journals that cover hexes 2, 9, and 10. (Not a complaint, but it is something you should be aware of.)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arcana Journal #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 136 to 150 (of 338 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG