RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
Industrial Battle Maps
Industrial Battle Maps
Pay What You Want











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi Genre
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/27/2015 21:28:51

Sci-fi clip art. It is in PDF format, so not very useful if you are planning on reusing it. Fine for printing out at the game table. Wish I had seen some samples first. Not really to my liking.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi Genre
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi 2
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/27/2015 21:28:31

Sci-fi clip art. It is in PDF format, so not very useful if you are planning on reusing it. Fine for printing out at the game table. Wish I had seen some samples first. Not really to my liking.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wizards and Gunslingers
by Jon M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2014 02:12:45

Custom system, but well organized. I haven't played it, but giving 5 stars because it's complete with rules, setting, maps, tools to quickly construct scenarios, put together NPCs and good tips for new GMs.
Definitely leans towards creative role-playing and story telling and not for crunchy combat. Good for groups that want to have an adventure, rather than groups who want to compare how many hitpoints their weapon can dish out per round. (You can probably sense my own bias here)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wizards and Gunslingers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DICE-Tractions: Dice Racing, Mini-Game #104
by Dierk D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2014 12:50:54

11 Seiten ? Stimmt: 1 Cover, 1 Inhaltsverzeichnis, 3 Seiten Regeln, ... UND 6 SEITEN WERBUNG! Normalerweise bin ich Besseres von Avalon gewöhnt! Das zweite Mal bei Avalon eingegangen. Nie mehr bei diesem Preis-Leistungsverhältnis!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DICE-Tractions: Dice Racing, Mini-Game #104
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DICE-Tractions: Dice Football, Mini-Game #106
by Dierk D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2014 12:45:20

18 Seiten ? Stimmt: 1 Cover, 1 Inhaltsverzeichnis, 6 Seiten Regeln, dann nochmal 4 Seiten die Zeichnungen vergrößert... UND 6 SEITEN WERBUNG! Normalerweise bin ich Besseres von Avalon gewöhnt!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DICE-Tractions:  Dice Football, Mini-Game #106
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Heroes Weekly, Vol 2, Issue #20, The Ancients
by Matthew H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2014 12:53:03

Sounds like an interesting idea, but there is no "there" there. A supervillain team of ancient magical creatures? Awesome! But all that you get is five small paragraphs giving type of creature and attitude, plus a write up of a minion. That's right, the villains have not a single stat or hint as to powers. I feel ripped off at a dollar, if I'd paid four dollars for it I'd be livid. Avoid.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes Weekly, Vol 2, Issue #20, The Ancients
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

APMR #1, Avalon Mini-Games #120
by alain D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2014 18:20:17

this is a" no purpose" miniature rules. the cost for weapons or armor/defense is not indicated. many mistakes. (bastard sword supposed to be more lethal are not). it' s impossible to hit an ennemy with a sword who deal 1 dammage, if a light armor deduct 2 dammages...and what about shield? etc... are you kidding? No, you deceive people. It's a shame, i' feel so angry. these "rules" worth nothing. The Worst rules I ever seen.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
APMR #1, Avalon Mini-Games #120
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Infinite Horizons Issue #2
by Mark G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2014 07:28:17

I'm giving Infinite Horizons #2 ezine 4 stars. If I had bought it, I'd go 3 but you get a lot here for free. First off, the cover art is really cool and I'm loving the alien. Must scour it to see if there's any description given for it (or stats). I think the prestige classes are good, especially the Guardian who I'd select as sort of an elite guard or guard leader, seems a bit more of a non-player character but can be worked around. I liked the one-handed shot feat, the new gear (lots of weapons!). The paper model by Fantasy Cutouts was really neat and is based on a most interesting ship design. Might have to have a go. There's also an excerpt from JD Wallington's Temple Alliance Origins, Book I called A New Beginning. Very atmospheric first-person tale. Scott Virtes' Alien Flop short story I liked even more, mainly because I enjoy dialogue. There's others I haven't even read yet. Loved The Horror of Colony 6 and the art samples of Gordon Napier!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Horizons Issue #2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Avalon Quests
by Olivier M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2014 03:39:02

I was really excited about this product as I enjoy solo gaming, especially of the RPG kind, but there are very few options out there for such gaming.


Sadly, Avalon Quests feels unpolished to a point where it's uncomfortable to read through and use as reference.
Mostly, my qualms are with the layout and organization of the rulebook and the travel book which make it rather hard to understand how things work. For example, the travel book references "Sections" multiple times, but these are not indicated. If you read everything, you can guess at which paragraph they begin, but having to do that isn't normal.
The use of roman and arabic numerals to refer to the adventure or rules books is commendable, but remained confusing to me. Various typos do not help. The night encounters section is a blatant copy/paste of the day encounters, down to the table number being the same. As such, tables 3.3, 3.3.1 and 3.4 are noted 2.2 and so on.


Ultimately, it's a mess, and while I have been prodding at this in the hopes of getting some solo gaming going, I find myself exhausted and frustrated before I even start. Today I decided I wouldn't even think of trying this for a long while.


Other things of note about this product:




  • The adventure provided requires 6 PCs. I find this to be too much. Soloing is not easy to begin with and while I have played one-on-one games controlling 4 PCs, I can't imagine doing it with 6, especially without a GM to catch my mistakes. It might be worth trying a multi-player yet GM-less game with such a party though.




  • Art is really subpart, though tactical maps are provided for various encounters.



  • There is a lot of content, whether random region events or adventure specific encounters and quests, which makes it even more frustrating that I feel I can't get to it in a comfortable fashion.


Overall, there is a lot of potential here, but right now, it's a rough stone ripped off the wall and it's in need of some serious cutting and polishing before it can become pleasant to play.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Quests
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Battle Axe Dwarf War Band [BUNDLE]
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2014 12:23:48

This game is hard to rate. I feel some elements of the game are worth 5-Stars while others are barely worth 1-Star.


Concept: 5-Starts. I think the idea of a card-driven skirmish minis game is really good. I especially like the deck building aspect where the availability of Battle Cards is limited to what Faction and which Figures you are playing.


Rules: 4-Stars. In general I think the rules are pretty good. The one thing that bothers me is how damage works. In general the rules are streamlined and quick (deep enough to be interesting) but when assigning damage you have to use a chart where you cross reference the attackers damage type (piercing, slashing, etc) with the targets armor rating. This really slows things down and complicates an otherwise fairly quick and simple system. If I were to spend much time playing this game I would definitely create alternate house rules for damage.


Quality: 1-Star. This is where the game falls on its face. Some of the artwork is pretty good but a great deal of it seems rushed and poorly done. There are Massive amounts of typos, word-substitutions and formatting errors. Many of these errors are on the cards that you play the game with. There is no excuse for this amount of errors present in a product that you are asking customers to pay for.


Conclusion: I'm not entirely dissatisfied with this purchase. While I'm unlikely to ever play with the game as written or use these components I may very well create my own game and components based on some good ideas that I got from this product.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Axe Dwarf War Band [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Battle Axe Orc War Band [BUNDLE]
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2014 12:21:54

This game is hard to rate. I feel some elements of the game are worth 5-Stars while others are barely worth 1-Star.


Concept: 5-Starts. I think the idea of a card-driven skirmish minis game is really good. I especially like the deck building aspect where the availability of Battle Cards is limited to what Faction and which Figures you are playing.


Rules: 4-Stars. In general I think the rules are pretty good. The one thing that bothers me is how damage works. In general the rules are streamlined and quick (deep enough to be interesting) but when assigning damage you have to use a chart where you cross reference the attackers damage type (piercing, slashing, etc) with the targets armor rating. This really slows things down and complicates an otherwise fairly quick and simple system. If I were to spend much time playing this game I would definitely create alternate house rules for damage.


Quality: 1-Star. This is where the game falls on its face. Some of the artwork is pretty good but a great deal of it seems rushed and poorly done. There are Massive amounts of typos, word-substitutions and formatting errors. Many of these errors are on the cards that you play the game with. There is no excuse for this amount of errors present in a product that you are asking customers to pay for.


Conclusion: I'm not entirely dissatisfied with this purchase. While I'm unlikely to ever play with the game as written or use these components I may very well create my own game and components based on some good ideas that I got from this product.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Axe Orc War Band [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Battle Axe Orc Warband
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2014 12:20:15

This game is hard to rate. I feel some elements of the game are worth 5-Stars while others are barely worth 1-Star.


Concept: 5-Starts. I think the idea of a card-driven skirmish minis game is really good. I especially like the deck building aspect where the availability of Battle Cards is limited to what Faction and which Figures you are playing.


Rules: 4-Stars. In general I think the rules are pretty good. The one thing that bothers me is how damage works. In general the rules are streamlined and quick (deep enough to be interesting) but when assigning damage you have to use a chart where you cross reference the attackers damage type (piercing, slashing, etc) with the targets armor rating. This really slows things down and complicates an otherwise fairly quick and simple system. If I were to spend much time playing this game I would definitely create alternate house rules for damage.


Quality: 1-Star. This is where the game falls on its face. Some of the artwork is pretty good but a great deal of it seems rushed and poorly done. There are Massive amounts of typos, word-substitutions and formatting errors. Many of these errors are on the cards that you play the game with. There is no excuse for this amount of errors present in a product that you are asking customers to pay for.


Conclusion: I'm not entirely dissatisfied with this purchase. While I'm unlikely to ever play with the game as written or use these components I may very well create my own game and components based on some good ideas that I got from this product.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Axe Orc Warband
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Battle Axe Dwarven Warband
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2014 12:19:34

This game is hard to rate. I feel some elements of the game are worth 5-Stars while others are barely worth 1-Star.


Concept: 5-Starts. I think the idea of a card-driven skirmish minis game is really good. I especially like the deck building aspect where the availability of Battle Cards is limited to what Faction and which Figures you are playing.


Rules: 4-Stars. In general I think the rules are pretty good. The one thing that bothers me is how damage works. In general the rules are streamlined and quick (deep enough to be interesting) but when assigning damage you have to use a chart where you cross reference the attackers damage type (piercing, slashing, etc) with the targets armor rating. This really slows things down and complicates an otherwise fairly quick and simple system. If I were to spend much time playing this game I would definitely create alternate house rules for damage.


Quality: 1-Star. This is where the game falls on its face. Some of the artwork is pretty good but a great deal of it seems rushed and poorly done. There are Massive amounts of typos, word-substitutions and formatting errors. Many of these errors are on the cards that you play the game with. There is no excuse for this amount of errors present in a product that you are asking customers to pay for.


Conclusion: I'm not entirely dissatisfied with this purchase. While I'm unlikely to ever play with the game as written or use these components I may very well create my own game and components based on some good ideas that I got from this product.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Axe Dwarven Warband
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Battle Axe Basic
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2014 12:11:51

Concept: 5-Starts. I think the idea of a card-driven skirmish minis game is really good. I especially like the deck building aspect where the availability of Battle Cards is limited to what Faction and which Figures you are playing.


Rules: 4-Stars. In general I think the rules are pretty good. The one thing that bothers me is how damage works. In general the rules are streamlined and quick (deep enough to be interesting) but when assigning damage you have to use a chart where you cross reference the attackers damage type (piercing, slashing, etc) with the targets armor rating. This really slows things down and complicates an otherwise fairly quick and simple system. If I were to spend much time playing this game I would definitely create alternate house rules for damage.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Axe Basic
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Avalon Quests, Adventure #2
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/05/2014 09:01:48

Utilising an innovative system to enable a single player to participate in a full-blown party-style Pathfinder RPG adventure without even benefit of a referee, this is no mere 'adventure' but a full-blown campaign with a whole bunch of things going on to get involved with. There are places to visit and people to interact with, a whole complex world in which your party can wander.


Narrative is atmospheric and interesting and despite the mechanical constraints, even combats have the potential to be interesting as the set-up and opposition tactics are well explained. Most come with a map showing the starting positions of both sides, giving considerable scope for the development of party tactics, and there are frequent opportunities to insert a random element to opponents' behaviour to keep things lively.


A nice touch is the addition of 'Friendly Encounters' which add interest along with considerable variation introduced by various rolls and tables to determine both precise who is encountered and what their response will be. You can meet caravans, mercenary bands, military patrols, rangers, travellers and more - but with several pages to determine the precise nature of each encounter there is massive scope for variation and realistic interaction.


Naturally, there are also 'Unfriendly Encounters' - those where there is a strong potential that the meeting will end in violence. After all, meet a bunch of goblins and it's likely to end in a brawl! Still, there is scope for variation - they might, if they spot you first, choose to evade an encounter. And if all this wasn't enough, there are also random monsters to be found.


Complete with a tracking sheet and the all-important hex map upon which all this adventure occurs, if you cannot find anyone to play with here's something to keep you entertained. For that matter, if you are short of ideas for a game, you could use the randomised encounter generation system and other elements to put something together for a more regular group.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Quests, Adventure #2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 347 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG