RPGNow.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Avalon Models Free Sample Jan 2012
by Kennita W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2012 12:54:51

It took WAY too many clicks to check out this item. Also, there should be a square outline for simpler cutting out, and suggestion for cardboard backing to use (cereal box?) and easy-to-get-and-use tape or glue, all of which should also be available on this site along with the self-adhesive film you suggest. Th cutting tool should be here, too. I shouldn't have to go to any other store to make my minis.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Models Free Sample Jan 2012
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

How to be an Expert GM
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2012 20:34:39

While I have been the game master for over twenty years this book gave me insight into the 'hows' and 'whys' of the new style of game mastering. It goes beyond having the characters meeting in a bar and being approached by shadowy stranger. I highly recommend this book for any game master.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How to be an Expert GM
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

How to be an Expert GM
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/13/2011 09:47:56

An informal essay on improving GMing skills and presenting an enjoyable roleplaying experience to the players. The writing is a bit casual, but the advice is sound, and it gave me a few points to ponder about my own GMing style. Any GM can find useful advice here, but I think it would be most beneficial to moderate or inexperienced gamemasters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lightspeed for Mongoose Traveller, Ranger Threat Assessment Guide
by GJ D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2011 16:50:26

A rehas of previously released material from Lightspeed and Lightspeed:Old Earth Empirs (with uncredited material and Art from Colin Dunn too). Total of 31 pages of which 9 are adverts.

The actual relevance to Traveller is maybe 3 paragraphs, and the conversion of the Robot Nexus to Traveller is basically "Read the Traveller Robots supplement"...

A poor effort.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Lightspeed for Mongoose Traveller, Ranger Threat Assessment Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lightspeed for Mongoose Traveller, Ranger Threat Assessment Guide
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2011 05:08:30

Some credit is due this publisher that their production values, while still rough, show improvement. The Saure' (their punctuation, when they bother) and Hunters are pretty much exactly what you might think they are. Although advertised for the Traveller SRD, the painfully long Ranger section and the Robot Nexus contain no recognisable Traveller rules. The other creatures each rate part of a line for stats. It's all a bit of an insult.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Lightspeed for Mongoose Traveller, Ranger Threat Assessment Guide
by Wayne G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2011 11:32:33

Ranger Threat Assessment Guide

The product is 41 pages. Unfortunately, the last nine pages are advertisements. Of the remaining 32 pages, the layout is so horrendous, it could easily have been condensed to at least 16 pages of actual content - the amount of wasted white space on each page is staggering. There are carriage returns in the middle of sentences for no apparent reason, which at a glance appear to be the start of new paragraphs.

Note: When I purchased the product, it was listed as 41 pages. As I type this review, the description now says 95 pages. I downloaded it again to see if changes were made, but the download is still 41 pages, not the currently listed 95. Technical glitch? idk, but the product I have is 41 pages



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
How to be a Great GM
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2011 14:06:27

How to be a Great GM is an excellent resource for new game masters and game masters wanting to get back to the basics of the craft of game mastering. It provides excellent advice that is often available in pieces around other role playing game books, the Internet and game master sections of RPG books.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
How to be a Great GM
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hollenthon, Issue 1
by shawn u. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2011 13:11:56

This first Issue contains great art work and is put together very well in regards too updating the players of the game system as well as giving another army list and updates too the games rules. It allows people too learn more of the fluff and background of GROMM as well as entertaining and helping its community in more than one way.

I would recromend this book too anyone interested in a great fantasy skrimish game system. Also for being completely free it even surpasses some bought rule books in quality of art and in amount of updates and continuesly adding too the game system.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hollenthon, Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Animorphs
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2011 12:26:23

This is not the worst treatment of anthropomorphic animals I have ever seen, that prize goes to Savage Species, but it is the most confusing. There is nothing here to really judge or be entirely useful. The component parts are fairly easy to understand but the end result is not. Each animal type is given a point total and very brief overview of how to compile totals in the beginning but that's all there is. There is no scale. No range of numbers to determine how powerful a given race might be, just point totals. What are we GMs supposed to compare these numbers to? Is this supposed to link up with Ultimate Races when it gets published by Paizo? Is there a scale of point totals that got left out somehow? In the absence of any sense of scale a given GM is left to guess what the point totals mean.

If you really want these types of races in your game don't get this unless you're prepared to invent your own sliding scale. Skortched Urf's Fursona pdfs are much more concise, if they do go overboard with the sexual themes that not everyone wants in their games. As a GM this one is going on my list of purchaes I have made that I really shouldn't have but as an alternate system to Fursona it is clearly lacking.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Animorphs
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lightspeed: Cargo Manifest
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2011 12:53:45

Very useful for those occasions when another ship is required and you don't wish to fall back on the game standard options.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lightspeed: Cargo Manifest
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

APMR #1, Avalon Mini-Games #120
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2011 13:42:50

The game is nothing more than the All Purpose Miniatures Rules published by Crunchy Frog in a new wrapper. Avalon seems to be breaking the system up into installments. This installment is the skirmish game. No massed or massive combat is included. No Robots. No vehicles. I own the original game so I am, naturally disappointed. If you own the original game, don't bother. If you don't and want to buy a game in installments, the system is not a bad one.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
APMR #1, Avalon Mini-Games #120
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Terror Network: A Counter Terrorism RPG by Bedrock Games
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2011 11:31:58

Terror Network is a focused role-playing game. Players assume the roles of counter-terrorism agents working together in a variety of operations. Personally, I like games like this, which set out to do one thing well. Everything is tied together: character creation options, action resolution system, even the adventuring system (or operations as they are known in this game.) Furthermore, as another reviewer has already written, the game is to the point. The rules take less than ten pages and give the framework to resolve most situations.

This book is well organized. It starts with the nearly mandatory introduction to role-playing games, with a twist: it includes an overview of the game, with terms that will be used throughout the book. It follows with character creation and equipment and then the game rules. After those, there are background chapters on terrorism and counter-terrorism, ideas on how to run the game and a sample scenario. There is also a useful index at the end.

If there is one thing to complain is that I really liked the concept of the "Character Network" and I wish it could have received some more attention on the rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Terror Network: A Counter Terrorism RPG by Bedrock Games
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Scale D Core Rules
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2011 10:49:11

Scale D is a lot more like a combat system for a role-playing game than a miniature skirmish system. It uses square grid-based terrain and an action point system to determine actions that each character can perform on a game turn (characters have a set amount of points and each type of action has a certain cost.)

I can understand that the goal of the authors was to allow a more varied range of actions during the game rather than just moving and shooting, as is often the case. However, the result is a complex system, with a considerable amount of bookkeeping per character in the skirmish. For instance, it is necessary to roll and keep track of initiative for each character on each game turn. Now consider doing this for even a dozen figures on each side of a skirmish, besides tracking their action points and other statistics. There are references in the text that seem to imply that the game is played with one character per player and even a "game master" is mentioned (for instance in pages 6 and 13). These facts made me think that the game is a lot more like a combat-oriented "lite" RPG than a skirmish game.

Information is not well-organized in the book. Character attributes are described right away but then, character creation rules go into the character development chapter (the last in the book.) Rules for movement are spread throughout the book. The long list of possible character actions is not organized in any pattern that I could distinguish. Information isn't complete, either: there are no scenarios and no examples of play besides a few diagrams. The authors mention that "specific books" would supplement these core rules with more detail (for instance in pages 6, 11 and 26) but I suppose that those were never released.

Visually, the book has a readable layout but the authors decided to add a thick black "noisy" border on each page, so that I would never even think of printing it. The whole book is set in black and white and the illustrations follow the same "noisy" style. The diagrams illustrating movement and some other actions are clear and useful.

In summary, I think that for a skirmish game this is too complex without any added benefits. There are other skirmish games with task systems that allow for different actions in more elegant ways. It might appeal for groups of players looking for a "lite" RPG focused on combat but since there are so many combat-heavy RPGs out there with more source material than this, I'm not sure if it would be worth, either.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Scale D Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Altered Earth
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2011 18:46:05

Fans of 4e should eat this up. The only real problems here are the lack of mutant animal and mutant plant characters.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Altered Earth
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ASTRAL EMPIRES-THE ROLEPLAYING GAME Galaxy Master's Guide
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2011 18:42:30

Of the Astral Empires D6 PDFs, this one as the most original material. ...a fair companion to the freely available D6 Space PDFs.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ASTRAL EMPIRES-THE ROLEPLAYING GAME Galaxy Master's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 106 to 120 (of 355 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG