RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hollenthon, Issue 1
by shawn u. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2011 13:11:56

This first Issue contains great art work and is put together very well in regards too updating the players of the game system as well as giving another army list and updates too the games rules. It allows people too learn more of the fluff and background of GROMM as well as entertaining and helping its community in more than one way.


I would recromend this book too anyone interested in a great fantasy skrimish game system. Also for being completely free it even surpasses some bought rule books in quality of art and in amount of updates and continuesly adding too the game system.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hollenthon, Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Animorphs
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2011 12:26:23

This is not the worst treatment of anthropomorphic animals I have ever seen, that prize goes to Savage Species, but it is the most confusing. There is nothing here to really judge or be entirely useful. The component parts are fairly easy to understand but the end result is not. Each animal type is given a point total and very brief overview of how to compile totals in the beginning but that's all there is. There is no scale. No range of numbers to determine how powerful a given race might be, just point totals. What are we GMs supposed to compare these numbers to? Is this supposed to link up with Ultimate Races when it gets published by Paizo? Is there a scale of point totals that got left out somehow? In the absence of any sense of scale a given GM is left to guess what the point totals mean.


If you really want these types of races in your game don't get this unless you're prepared to invent your own sliding scale. Skortched Urf's Fursona pdfs are much more concise, if they do go overboard with the sexual themes that not everyone wants in their games. As a GM this one is going on my list of purchaes I have made that I really shouldn't have but as an alternate system to Fursona it is clearly lacking.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Animorphs
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lightspeed: Cargo Manifest
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2011 12:53:45

Very useful for those occasions when another ship is required and you don't wish to fall back on the game standard options.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lightspeed: Cargo Manifest
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

APMR #1, Avalon Mini-Games #120
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2011 13:42:50

The game is nothing more than the All Purpose Miniatures Rules published by Crunchy Frog in a new wrapper. Avalon seems to be breaking the system up into installments. This installment is the skirmish game. No massed or massive combat is included. No Robots. No vehicles. I own the original game so I am, naturally disappointed. If you own the original game, don't bother. If you don't and want to buy a game in installments, the system is not a bad one.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
APMR #1, Avalon Mini-Games #120
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Terror Network: A Counter Terrorism RPG by Bedrock Games
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2011 11:31:58

Terror Network is a focused role-playing game. Players assume the roles of counter-terrorism agents working together in a variety of operations. Personally, I like games like this, which set out to do one thing well. Everything is tied together: character creation options, action resolution system, even the adventuring system (or operations as they are known in this game.) Furthermore, as another reviewer has already written, the game is to the point. The rules take less than ten pages and give the framework to resolve most situations.


This book is well organized. It starts with the nearly mandatory introduction to role-playing games, with a twist: it includes an overview of the game, with terms that will be used throughout the book. It follows with character creation and equipment and then the game rules. After those, there are background chapters on terrorism and counter-terrorism, ideas on how to run the game and a sample scenario. There is also a useful index at the end.


If there is one thing to complain is that I really liked the concept of the "Character Network" and I wish it could have received some more attention on the rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Terror Network: A Counter Terrorism RPG by Bedrock Games
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Scale D Core Rules
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2011 10:49:11

Scale D is a lot more like a combat system for a role-playing game than a miniature skirmish system. It uses square grid-based terrain and an action point system to determine actions that each character can perform on a game turn (characters have a set amount of points and each type of action has a certain cost.)


I can understand that the goal of the authors was to allow a more varied range of actions during the game rather than just moving and shooting, as is often the case. However, the result is a complex system, with a considerable amount of bookkeeping per character in the skirmish. For instance, it is necessary to roll and keep track of initiative for each character on each game turn. Now consider doing this for even a dozen figures on each side of a skirmish, besides tracking their action points and other statistics. There are references in the text that seem to imply that the game is played with one character per player and even a "game master" is mentioned (for instance in pages 6 and 13). These facts made me think that the game is a lot more like a combat-oriented "lite" RPG than a skirmish game.


Information is not well-organized in the book. Character attributes are described right away but then, character creation rules go into the character development chapter (the last in the book.) Rules for movement are spread throughout the book. The long list of possible character actions is not organized in any pattern that I could distinguish. Information isn't complete, either: there are no scenarios and no examples of play besides a few diagrams. The authors mention that "specific books" would supplement these core rules with more detail (for instance in pages 6, 11 and 26) but I suppose that those were never released.


Visually, the book has a readable layout but the authors decided to add a thick black "noisy" border on each page, so that I would never even think of printing it. The whole book is set in black and white and the illustrations follow the same "noisy" style. The diagrams illustrating movement and some other actions are clear and useful.


In summary, I think that for a skirmish game this is too complex without any added benefits. There are other skirmish games with task systems that allow for different actions in more elegant ways. It might appeal for groups of players looking for a "lite" RPG focused on combat but since there are so many combat-heavy RPGs out there with more source material than this, I'm not sure if it would be worth, either.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Scale D Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Altered Earth
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2011 18:46:05

Fans of 4e should eat this up. The only real problems here are the lack of mutant animal and mutant plant characters.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Altered Earth
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ASTRAL EMPIRES-THE ROLEPLAYING GAME Galaxy Master's Guide
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2011 18:42:30

Of the Astral Empires D6 PDFs, this one as the most original material. ...a fair companion to the freely available D6 Space PDFs.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ASTRAL EMPIRES-THE ROLEPLAYING GAME Galaxy Master's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ASTRAL EMPIRES-THE ROLEPLAYING GAME Interstellar Arsenal Technology Guide
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2011 18:39:29

I only paid a dollar for this, but since the vast majority of it was taken directly from D6 Space and D6 Ships, both available for free in a much more readable layout, I was ripped off.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
ASTRAL EMPIRES-THE ROLEPLAYING GAME Interstellar Arsenal Technology Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ASTRAL EMPIRES-THE ROLEPLAYING GAME Core Rules Powered by OpenD6
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2011 18:36:14

This PDF is an excellent example of everything that can go wrong with an ogl product. The text of the first half of the book is taken almost entirely from D6 Space, and the second half is far from original. The formatting leaves a lot to be desired. Download D6 Space instead, for free.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
ASTRAL EMPIRES-THE ROLEPLAYING GAME Core Rules Powered by OpenD6
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Once Upon a Time, OpenD6 Version
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2011 18:32:12

This PDF is a little better than some of Avalon's translations from d20 to D6 but still suffers from some editing issues and makes a point to head a colomm "spell points" without saying how characters aquire them.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Once Upon a Time, OpenD6 Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Homestead: Guide to Frontier Life, Open D6 Version
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2011 18:26:39

This is was a great idea very poorly edited. Some of the d20 references stil remaimd; in fact, the newspaper editor writeup is given entirely without D6 system stats. The stat blocks that are there are poorly formatted...only paid a dollar for this.. Still a ripoff.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Homestead: Guide to Frontier Life, Open D6 Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Road Rage Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Donald H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2011 12:07:55

Overall, a fun little game, as advertised. You drive your armed and armored cars (and trucks) down a changing highway. Each player chooses a car template and customizes it to their taste (add those missiles, oil slicks, passengers, etc.). Each player also holds a hand of road tiles which they play during the game, extending the highway as necessary. You make your moves, make a driving skill roll, and if you pass that, you can fire on the other players. Our group found that the driving skill rolls often resulted in more damage to the cars than the weapons. The base set includes 3 car templates and plenty of road cards; the expansions add other cars plus trucks, a handful of new road tiles and some random effect cards to mess up the other players with.


The only minor shortcomings are some misspellings, occasionally referring to the same table by different names, and sometimes we were a little confused by the organization of the rules. Luckily, the rules are short enough that we could always figure things out. Some of our players could have used an example of how to fill out their car templates.


If there are future expansions, we vote for pedestrian rules and the chance to get off the highway. Next game, we're setting up an arena circuit and adding zombies!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Road Rage Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Game Geek Issues #21
by Paul E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2011 12:35:57

Though a great deal of work went into this issue, most of the artwork, the layout, and the great many mis-spellings and poor sentence structure, are extremely amateur, like much of my work with the first four issues of Argent Fire I did between 2004 and 2007. That being said, I know how difficult it is to produce an eZine on your own, without help -though, to be honest, if there had been any help I wouldn't have known because there is only one credit given in the contents-, and still... there is extant software to help with desktop publishing that could have made this magazine more enjoyable to look at. I think the largest peave I have, however, comes in the way of the cards throughout the book; I understand they need to be a particular size to be handled appropriately, though this could still have been accomplished. Rather than placing the back-side of a card to the right or left of its' front-face, put the front face on the top row toward the top of a page, and the accompanying back-sides beneath those on that same page. Much space could have been saved by doing it this way, rather than having a set of two cards on a single page, the remaining space wasted.


Since subsequent works tend to show improvement through experimentation and learning, I would be highly disappointed to see what the previous 20 issues look like.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Game Geek Issues #21
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Game Geek Issues #21
by Ben P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2011 12:21:39

Some of the art in this issue was excellent, but much of it was amateur and grainy (including poor quality scans) and the writing subpar. Lots of ads. It was free, and I got what I paid for. Probably won't continue to follow it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 106 to 120 (of 348 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG