RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Generic Maps #9.5: Terrain Pack II Add-On
by Carkis F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2012 20:00:11
simple 2d tiles. plain colors no bells and whistles. I whip these out when I need a quick and simple dungeon.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Generic Maps #9.5: Terrain Pack II Add-On
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Quirin Maps #15: Saint Isabelle
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2011 11:50:06
I don't give low reviews lightly, but this one does earn it. You can see from the preview that 80% of the image is useless water, despite it suppose to be a ship. What is not easy to tell from the preview is that the "bird's eye view" that is seen in the preview is the best part of the pack. It lacks all the oversized font of telling us everything that is there and the arrows of which way the stairs go. However the sails take up a sizable portion of the deck. There's an upper deck and lower deck images but you must have the arrows or writing or other pieces. Plus these are in shadow making them DARK. The upper deck has shadows where the sails are and the lower deck is completely in shadow. Plus they both have arrows there showing which way the stairs go. So I can't call them something else. I MUST make them stair cases. If I really wanted to the arrows there, I could put them in myself.

Then there is the grid. It is at 100% opacity so it obtrusive. Mind you, these are jpgs so there is no file with a grid layer that can be turned off and alter it to your needs. What you see is what you get.

The only thing keeping this from being a 1 star review is the high dpi count. I cropped the boat down to 2000 x almost 600 pixels. There is some nice detail there, but I still have to deal those arrows right in the middle of the decks or I have to have the sails block most of the image.

As a publisher, I cannot recommend this image.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Quirin Maps #15: Saint Isabelle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Quirin Campaign #1: The Temporal Key
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2009 21:18:28
This product contains another beautiful map, this time of a region that is highly detailed. There is a large text PDF section that explains the campaign and world in extensive detail. It includes campaign hooks, encounters at different levels, etc. For anyone who wants a complete world to run their PCs in, I highly recommend this free product. I've seen expensive products that cannot match this download!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quirin Campaign #1: The Temporal Key
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Quirin Stock Art #18.5: Trassp Add-On
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2009 21:09:02
This is one bad-looking monster! I shall have to give this thing some 3.5 statistics, so I can use it in one of my adventures. This product contains several variations of the same monster, which allows for a variety of preferences. Thanks to Christian for another great free download.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quirin Stock Art #18.5: Trassp Add-On
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Generic Maps #7: Terrain Pack I
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2009 20:51:20
I have used many of the maps in this pack in my published adventures. They add a standard of quality mapping that I could never match. Christian Janke is highly talented and I know that I will use his work frequently in the future.
The generic map sampling here are what I needed to imagine the actual travel for the adventure. Anyone who has bought our (Black Death Publishing) products knows that I like to incorporate travel throughout my world and the planes. I can say the same for all of the maps that I have purchased from GMC!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Generic Maps #7: Terrain Pack I
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Generic Maps #6: Floorplan Pack II
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2009 20:50:06
If you look at some of our latest adventures, you will see these maps included within. They are beautifully presented, very imaginative and highly useful for designing encounters in dungeons and buildings. The layouts match up from top to bottom, including stairs and other access areas between floors. The maps can be sized up or down, depending on their application.
I used practically all of the ones in this pack and will use all of them at some point. They bring a professional look to may adventures that I could never match!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Generic Maps #6: Floorplan Pack II
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Generic Maps #4: Floorplan Pack I
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2009 20:45:03
I have used many of the maps in this pack in my published adventures. They add a standard of quality mapping that I could never match. Christian Janke is highly talented and I know that I will use his work frequently in the future.
The generic map sampling here are what I needed to imagine the setting for indoor and dungeon encounters. These are professional, colorful and imaginative works and it's hard to believe they can be bought for this price!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Generic Maps #4: Floorplan Pack I
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Generic Maps #7.5: Terrain Pack I Add-On
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2009 20:42:04
I have used many of the maps in this pack in my published adventures. They add a standard of quality mapping that I could never match. Christian Janke is highly talented and I know that I will use his work frequently in the future.
The generic map sampling here are what I needed to imagine the actual travel for the adventure. Anyone who has bought our (Black Death Publishing) products knows that I like to incorporate travel throughout my world and the planes.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Generic Maps #7.5: Terrain Pack I Add-On
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Quirin Maps #7: Nrasra's Tower
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2009 07:37:34
When I have good visual images to work with, I can more easily write the details of an adventure. This publication has good artistry and the images are very useful for me as a writer. I am sure that they are also what a DM needs to use in a game situation. You can use the images (or parts of images) by the copy and paste method and place them wherever needed in your own adventure. I like the way the rooms fit together. I like the way they look in a doc, odt or pdf format. The details are taken care of and the options are many!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Quirin Maps #7: Nrasra's Tower
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Quirin Encounter #3: Healing Device
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2008 21:58:39
This fairly trivial encounter is quite unclearly described in places and would be literally half as long without the unnecessary repetition of SRD text. The publisher has gone to a lot of effort to add a nice layout and cartography to not much. The idea of a defective trap is mildly useful and the author has found some combinations worth a second look, such as the Trap of Unreliable Doom.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Quirin Encounter #3: Healing Device
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Planar Maps #1: Prison Demiplane of Sagyanak
by Bo V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2008 15:47:35
This is a believable, irregular swath of sand with three elevation marks on it, a scale and an arrow pointing north. Towards the middle, there are some hills a few corpses and a some dark patches.

There is no backstory. There are no mechanics. No description of the nature of the plane. No discussion of its placement or any of its inhabitants. What you see behind the text on the cover is what you get, only 30 or 40 times larger. Between zipped images and pdf the product takes up a whopping 154mb on the hard drive.

I can only think this is an incomplete package. It would profit from some substance - differing shelters of the wasteland, inhabitants, items, legends, description of gates etc. etc...

I have never been less impressed with a pdf.

I think the time based 'sale' where the price doubles each month is a clever promotion but I think the product's lack of context and the single, albeit hugely zoomed picture, makes this uninteresting and very disappointing.

Save your bandwidth and hard drive space.


- Sigurd

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Planar Maps #1: Prison Demiplane of Sagyanak
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Planar Maps #1: Prison Demiplane of Sagyanak
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2008 19:00:56
It's a good-looking digital artifact and rewards some time spent going over the details.

I don't know what you would practically use it for, at the full price asked.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Generic Maps #6: Floorplan Pack II
by Jason G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2008 13:47:41
Well, these are definately generic maps. The mansion floorplan is nice, and worth the price just by itself, but the other floorplans are just square plans with the interior walls moved around. Wanted to print and go with these, only to find that the PDF doesn't show all of the maps, just the instructions for how to edit the maps. So I had to open the zip folder and print each png file individually. They took a long time to print due to the size of each file. I understand that they are big files because they need to be high rez for editing, but a PDF file with print-ready maps for the average Joe like me would have been nice.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Generic Maps #6: Floorplan Pack II
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Quirin Adventure #1: Nrasra's Death
by Shane O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/21/2007 00:00:00
Quirin Adventure #1: Nrasra's Death is a short adventure for 10th-level characters from GMC. The zipped file is just under four megabytes in size, and contains PDFs of the adventure, and of a printer-friendly version. The main file is nineteen pages long, including a page each for the front and back covers, a page for the table of contents, and one for the OGL.

There's a fair amount of art in this product. The covers are both done with mild colors, and the table of contents has a tan background. The map for the GM is in color and is marked with encounter tags, whereas the player's version of the map is black and white and has no markings. Several black and white pictures are scattered throughout also. The printer-friendly version of the product eliminates the maps, covers, and illustrations, though the boxed text is still bluish-grey.

Nrasra's Death is about, naturally, the death of Nrasra. A cranky old sorcerer, Nrasra wanted to crossbreed magical creatures, and was trying to do so out in the woods when he died of old age. The bindings on his monsters wore off shortly after that, and now they're in the Woods of Amaran, terrorizing people crossing through and nearby. The nearest town wants someone to get rid of these monsters, and the PCs are just the ones to do it.

This adventure has everything you'd expect from GMC, with detailed notes on adapting each encounter for various PC levels, character hooks, information about what PCs might know about the Woods, as well as an appendix with a pair of new magic items, and full statistics for all of the creatures and NPCs (including Nrasra himself, though given that he died of natural causes he couldn't be brought back even if the PCs were inclined to do so).

Ultimately, Nrasra's Death is a springboard to further adventures. The slaying of the monsters, and even finding Nrasra's tower, are largely backdrops to meeting the ghost druid Drusil. From him, the PCs can get hints which lead to bigger adventures (not coincidentally, these are fleshed out more in further GMC products). While that works well to form a campaign, it somewhat hurts this product's ability to stand on its own. Remove that one key encounter, and your characters are essentially just killing things for profit. Still, it's easy enough to have that singular encounter lead wherever you need it to, so that isn't really a fault. Ultimately, Nrasra's Death makes a great jumping-off point for a higher-level campaign.



LIKED: This adventure seems simplistic, but serves very well as a starting point for a new campaign at the higher-levels.

DISLIKED: Minus the single pertinent encounter, this is a pretty bare-bones adventure, with the PCs just being tasked to kill some dangerous monsters.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Quirin Adventure #1: Nrasra's Death
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Quirin Adventure #4: The Clownish Village
by Shane O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/21/2007 00:00:00
Quirin Adventure #4: The Clownish Village is an adventure for 10th-level characters from GMC. The zipped file is almost ten megabytes in size, and contains a PDF of the adventure, and a printer-friendly PDF. The main file is fifty pages long, including two pages for the covers, one for the table of contents, and one for the OGL. The products have full bookmarks as well as the table of contents being hyperlinked.

There's a fair amount of artwork in The Clownish Village. The covers are both in color (though lightly so) and the table of contents has a tan background. Several black and white illustrations dot the interior, and there are both color GM?s maps and black and white player's maps. The printer-friendly version, of course, eliminates the covers, illustrations, and maps, cutting about ten pages out of itself without them.

The adventure is divided into three parts. The first section covers the village of Ridge Ville, a town where evil half-elves rule over other races as slaves. Despite this, travelers are (at least somewhat) welcome, so the PCs can get acquainted with the populace and have a minor encounter or two. The second part of the adventure ties in fairly closely with another GMC adventure, Nrasra's Death. A yrthak is loose in the nearby woods and a group called the Flaming Circus wants it brought back alive for their show (others would just like it dead). The PCs are tasked to find the thing's lair and deal with it. The last part of the adventure is the real meat of what's going on, as a noble is kidnapped, and the PCs are framed for it. They need to dodge bounty hunters and figure out who the real culprit is, as well as why the noble was kidnapped in the first place.

As expected, GMC has a wealth of tables for what encounters to alter depending on the level of the party that goes through this adventure. After that is the adventure background and synopsis, along with possible character hooks, before the adventure itself. Afterwards it has some appendices which include a handful of new magic items (including a new minor artifact that's the cause of all the fuss) and a new orc sub-race, the Neorc, which has both PC and NPC information. A fairly large section of monster and NPC stat blocks then follow, along with the player handouts.

All in all, The Clownish Village has plenty of adventuring potential, but it feels somewhat confusingly laid out. A lot of information and NPCs are thrown at both the GM and the players, without much breathing room. It's very easy to become confused or even overwhelmed with everything given here, as the presentation and layout together make the text somewhat intimidating. Still, once deciphered, there is a lot of adventuring potential here, and PCs will have their work cut out for them cleaning up The Clownish Village.



LIKED: There's a lot of depth in this adventure, with potential to expand it further than what is just written here.

DISLIKED: The text seems almost relentless in portraying the history of places and characters, making it intimidating to wade through.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Quirin Adventure #4: The Clownish Village
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 28 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG