RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Vikings Set
by Lyle E. S. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2013 03:19:05

Excellent product that can be used in several Fantasy RPG games. Great price as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vikings Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Swords & Sorcery Set
by Lyle E. S. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2013 03:13:54

Another outstanding product from Arion Games. I especially enjoyed the selection of guards in this set.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords & Sorcery Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Advanced Fighting Fantasy Quickstart
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/10/2013 08:05:12

Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.-
com/2013/01/10/tabletop-review-advanced-fighting-fantasy-qui-
ckstart/


I am a huge fan of the Fighting Fantasy line of game books, even though I have only made it through the first ten and am working on the eleventh. All told, there are fifty-five of them in the original series, with most books after the tenth being written by authors other than the two that started it all: Steve Jackson and Ian Livingstone. I have eyed the Advanced Fighting Fantasy core books before, but could not bring myself to actually purchase them as I was unsure of what they did to the system to make it worth building a full game around. You see, the strength of the books lies on the way that the decisions play with the reader’s mind.


A book will present you with an innocuous peasant merely asking for a coin, and if you give this peasant a coin something awesome might happen, or they might turn out to be the lookout for a group of brigands behind the trees ready to rob you blind. Most of the time, you just never know. The weakness in the system, being more or less finalized as it was in 1984, was (is) its simplicity and reliance on die rolls. Most rolls in the game books are simply based on one of your character’s three attributes: Stamina, Skill, and Luck. Even your attributes are determined by adding a die roll to a base number, so it’s possible to start out with ridiculously low scores.


So, when I saw these sample rules up for free I grabbed them in order to get a picture of what Advanced Fighting Fantasy has to offer.


Basics Only


There are no character creation rules in this booklet, you simply get a handful of pre-gens (five) at the end to work with. As those who read my articles may know, this is totally fine with me. I would rather look through pre-gens and pick one that I like most of the time than roll up a new character. So, since there is no need to create characters, a group can just pick up these rules, read through the basic explanation of combat and tests and then start playing the introductory adventure included. This adventure, titled “The Well”, was the first adventure in the original Fighting Fantasy role-playing game (also from 1984, not a solo game book) and I have played it a few times with people just for kicks. This new version of the adventure is different, and missing some of the interesting mind games and social encounters of the old version, which is a shame.


Combat is as basic as ever, except there has been a change made that I really like. Let me explain how combat works first: you roll two six-sided dice and add the number to your Skill score, then the GM (the Director in this game) rolls two six-sided dice and adds the number to your opponent’s Skill score. Whoever has the highest number hits the other. Sounds simple and logical right? Well, in practice this simplistic and die-dependent mechanism can be really frustrating in combat. There are simply no tactical choices to make in a fight, it’s just die roll after die roll and hoping you come out on top (hint: you are much more likely to win and easily if your Skill is even a point higher than your opponent’s). So, besides the sad fact that this has not changed with the “advanced” version, they have introduced one interesting aspect. When someone hits with a weapon, they now roll a die and consult a table to see how good the hit was. If you roll a “6” after hitting, your weapon will do its best damage, the opposite with a “1”. In addition, the recipient of the blow will be able to roll a die for their armor and prevent an amount of damage depending on how well they roll. In the universe of Fighting Fantasy mechanisms, this is huge!


Another improvement they added is the attribute of Magic to characters. In the solo books, this was an additional attribute in The Citadel of Chaos, as well as being wonderfully implemented in the Sorcery! series in a very ingenious way. In Advanced Fighting Fantasy it seems that they have more or less opted for a standard magic system, using utilitarian descriptive names and costing the wizard Magic Points that will be replenished the next day. Seems like a necessary addition, I just really like the way it was implemented in some of the solo books and wish they could bring that ingenuity to this game. Looking at the character sheets, one can see that now heroes also have “Special Skills” that differentiate them from other heroes. Ah, but it’s starting to look more like a retro-clone all the time…


Advanced Fantasy, Simple Game


As I said earlier, the real magic in the solo books came from the brilliant writing and difficult adventures with a gritty feel. In Advanced Fighting Fantasy the game master has to become that brilliant and imaginative writer, or this will be just another simple fantasy RPG. Simply adding in more complex elements will not a great RPG make, but there is also a wealth of setting information in the source books Out of the Pit and Titan, which contain creatures and information about the world Fighting Fantasy is set in respectively. I love the world, I love the stories, and I really want to love Advanced Fighting Fantasy, but I would like to have seen some more innovation in the combat mechanisms, which are quite antiquated. If I do pursue this game in the future, and I plan to, then I will do some tinkering of my own to see if I can come up with a solution. Other than that, I do recommend these quick start rules, especially if you are looking to jump into a fantasy adventure right away with a small to medium group. Further to my delight, who else publishes the books but Cubicle 7 Entertainment?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Fighting Fantasy Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Humanoids III Set
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/08/2013 03:25:00

This is a nicely diverse set of miniatures which should prove an asset to any fantasy GM who likes to use paper miniatures in combat or to set the scene... never underestimate the potential effects of visual aids when running a game - players react better to "You see... THIS!" as you show a picture or plonk a miniature down, rather than to a verbal description.


The mountain troll who graces the cover is the real star: a meaty ugly customer. There are also five bugbears, five lesser goblins and five knockers (in all cases a female, a chief and three other male figures), as well as an elebeast, a rhinoman and a stegorian. Plenty of variety, but all look pretty mean and ready to attack at the drop of a hat!


Each figure is presented both as a 'A-frame' standee (front and back views) and as a triangular one (3 views from different angles), so you may choose which style suits your needs. Illustrations are crisp and clear, and present considerable variety. The female bugbear is particularly good, in a kneeling pose with a youngster at her side. A generally useful set.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Humanoids III Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Arion Games 2013 Paper Mini Subscription
by Douglas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2013 16:56:36

The 2012 Subscription was worth the cost by far.
Got 2-3 dollars of product for every dollar spent - possibly more!


Looking forward to the same great deal, maybe even better, in 2013.


Thank you Graham!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arion Games 2013 Paper Mini Subscription
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Arion Games 2012 Paper Mini Subscription
by Douglas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2013 16:54:22

Fantastic product for a fantastic price!
Thank you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arion Games 2012 Paper Mini Subscription
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Conquistadors Set
by john b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2012 16:00:20

I was so glad then they came out with these guys. for...
These paper mini's are so highly detailed, my cortez vs. the aztecs hex counter game will now get an upgrade. thanks arion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conquistadors Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aztecs Set
by john b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2012 15:58:51

These paper mini's are so highly detailed, my cortez vs. the aztecs hex counter game will now get an upgrade. thanks arion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aztecs Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Musketeers Set
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/31/2012 10:41:38

If you play historical games set in the 17th century (or quasi-historical ones such as 7th Sea), this is a fine set of paper miniatures for any set-piece combats or other occasions where precise location becomes important.


Don't worry about the anatomical imperfections of the fellow on the cover, although most of the musketeers are impossibly thin most at least have decent hips (and in a few cases, quite tasty buns!). There are a wealth of poses and options available too - with seven musketeers on foot (one labelled as a 'Lord'), most with their rapiers out and ready for action.


Others in the set are a single Lady, a Cardinal (in slightly suspect but identifiable cassock), four 'Guards' with long tabards and rapiers ready to quell those pesky musketeers, a couple of servants and four mounted men (again one designated as a 'Lord' even though he looks like the others).


Furthermore, for every figure you have the choice of an A-frame (front and back views) standee or a triangular one (3 views of the figure from different angles). They're all rather fun and will be gracing a gaming table hereabouts if I fire up my Flashing Blades game any time soon!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Musketeers Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Bash Core Set
by Ken F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2012 18:33:35

Another Great Arion Set. In fact, this is probably the best set they offer for the DM either looking to see what Arion has to offer or for variety.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Bash Core Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Saxons Set
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2012 10:11:46

Superb-looking miniatures, with quite a selection supplied (e.g. a noblewoman and peasants to add to the expected fighting figures). Historically-accurate to the best of my knowledge. I'll definitely be getting more of these sets.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saxons Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Roman Set
by Jason W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2012 18:34:06

Great Artwork...Very Nice mix of figures... great value, and enough to encourage me to pick up some of the other packs as well... and I have yet to be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Roman Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

WWII Germans Set
by Tim S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2012 03:48:37

Great variety and therefore utility in this set! Nice range of weaponry for different troops and love the TANKS!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WWII Germans Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Saxons Set
by Raymond F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2012 20:13:25

Picked up this set and the companion Normans set to try out a new set of miniature rules. They were a great buy and with the quality of the artwork, I may never get around to painting actual minis for the rules. The set had a nice selection of characters, and having the option of three styles (A-frame, single fold, or triangular) of figure was a bonus.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Saxons Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Post-Apocalyptic Set
by Irungames O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2012 13:44:07

I bought this set today for use in an upcoming Omega World game. I've purchased Arion products in the past (YOTZ minis) and have been pleased with the quality of the images and high production standards.


If you read the product description, it fully details exactly what you get in the set. There is one page of character miniatures set up on an a-frame arrangement and one page set up on tri-fold. There are eight pages of vehicles, one vehicle per page.


All of the character minis look human. No cat-people or two headed cows, etc. As I mentioned though, the minis are accurately described in the product blurb. However there is a range of clean and scruffy types, male and female, civilized and uncivilized. They could serve as humans or near-humans in a variety of PA settings.


The vehicles are arranged one per sheet, with all six sides represented. All of the vehicles are well drawn and detailed. The vehicles are as versatile as the characters. Again, there is a nice variety.


Image resolution is very good, even when zooming in. When printed out on a Kinkos laer printer, these are beautiful. Well, beautifully apocalyptic anyway...


Even with the wide variation on Post Apocalyptic settings, hese miniatures are versatile enough that they should find a place in almost any PA, Sci-Fi or even Modern game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Post-Apocalyptic Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 927 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG