RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Normans II Set
by Pieter L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2013 11:03:12

Nice set indeed, and my introduction to the 2013 collection.


The tails on the horses look a bit stretched, but very well done nonetheless



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Normans II Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Normans II Set
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/24/2013 10:33:10

If you want a diverse set of miniatures for a historical mediaeval or quasi-mediaeval setting, especially if you want people who are not all tooled up for combat, this is well worth a look. Most of these figures would not look out of place on the streets of any historical or fantasy town.


In the set you get a selection of fighting men - knight, serjeant, man-at-arms, crossbowman and mercenary - and a huntsman who might after all not be looking for boar with that long spear... Then the others: a lady, a priest, a monk, a woodsman, a wise woman, a peasant, a shepherd, a rogue and a thief. The two religious figures are robed, the robes being nondescript enough that they do not scream 'Christian' even though that's what they are, if you are using these figures as actual Normans. The peasant, rogue and thief are pretty much interchangeable, just regular commoners with nothing to make the 'thief' character any more villainous than the rest!


There are also a few mounted figures: a knight, a lady and a serjeant and possibly the real gem of the set: an ox wagon! That makes a fine addition to any scene, and could come in useful for a band of travellers if they have plenty of stuff.


All figures come as both 2-sided and 3-sided variants - although the 3-sided ox cart comes in two separate bits due to its size (and is labelled 'Serjeant' for no readily apparent reason). A nice set.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orientals Set
by Jason W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2013 18:27:09

What can I say...These sets are just beautiful...
Incredibly detailed, High Quality Images, that far surpass the majority of the paper minatures available.
The cover image is an honest indication of the quality of the image for each figure included in the set.
True Value for Money... Go have a look at the range of sets offered... well worth a look!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orientals Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Arion Games 2013 Paper Mini Subscription
by Lyle E. S. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2013 03:45:32

Excellent value. I purchased the 2012 subscription and was extremely happy with the quantity of items I received throughout the year. If I had purchased the items separately, it would have cost me two or three times more than I paid for the subscription.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arion Games 2013 Paper Mini Subscription
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Humanoids II Set
by Lyle E. S. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2013 03:36:16

Outstanding selection of Goblins, Orcs, Gnolls and other 'evil' races. This set will keep your PCs busy for hours. Excellent value considering the amount of figures that you get;



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Humanoids II Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Beastmen Set
by Lyle E. S. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2013 03:28:48

Nice assortment of useful figures. Excellent for dungeon fodder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beastmen Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasy Heroes III Set
by Lyle E. S. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2013 03:23:43

Excellent product that would make a great starter set for many fantasy RPGs. Several useful figures, including mounted figures.Great value as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Heroes III Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vikings Set
by Lyle E. S. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2013 03:19:05

Excellent product that can be used in several Fantasy RPG games. Great price as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vikings Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Swords & Sorcery Set
by Lyle E. S. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2013 03:13:54

Another outstanding product from Arion Games. I especially enjoyed the selection of guards in this set.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords & Sorcery Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Advanced Fighting Fantasy Quickstart
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/10/2013 08:05:12

Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.-
com/2013/01/10/tabletop-review-advanced-fighting-fantasy-qui-
ckstart/


I am a huge fan of the Fighting Fantasy line of game books, even though I have only made it through the first ten and am working on the eleventh. All told, there are fifty-five of them in the original series, with most books after the tenth being written by authors other than the two that started it all: Steve Jackson and Ian Livingstone. I have eyed the Advanced Fighting Fantasy core books before, but could not bring myself to actually purchase them as I was unsure of what they did to the system to make it worth building a full game around. You see, the strength of the books lies on the way that the decisions play with the reader’s mind.


A book will present you with an innocuous peasant merely asking for a coin, and if you give this peasant a coin something awesome might happen, or they might turn out to be the lookout for a group of brigands behind the trees ready to rob you blind. Most of the time, you just never know. The weakness in the system, being more or less finalized as it was in 1984, was (is) its simplicity and reliance on die rolls. Most rolls in the game books are simply based on one of your character’s three attributes: Stamina, Skill, and Luck. Even your attributes are determined by adding a die roll to a base number, so it’s possible to start out with ridiculously low scores.


So, when I saw these sample rules up for free I grabbed them in order to get a picture of what Advanced Fighting Fantasy has to offer.


Basics Only


There are no character creation rules in this booklet, you simply get a handful of pre-gens (five) at the end to work with. As those who read my articles may know, this is totally fine with me. I would rather look through pre-gens and pick one that I like most of the time than roll up a new character. So, since there is no need to create characters, a group can just pick up these rules, read through the basic explanation of combat and tests and then start playing the introductory adventure included. This adventure, titled “The Well”, was the first adventure in the original Fighting Fantasy role-playing game (also from 1984, not a solo game book) and I have played it a few times with people just for kicks. This new version of the adventure is different, and missing some of the interesting mind games and social encounters of the old version, which is a shame.


Combat is as basic as ever, except there has been a change made that I really like. Let me explain how combat works first: you roll two six-sided dice and add the number to your Skill score, then the GM (the Director in this game) rolls two six-sided dice and adds the number to your opponent’s Skill score. Whoever has the highest number hits the other. Sounds simple and logical right? Well, in practice this simplistic and die-dependent mechanism can be really frustrating in combat. There are simply no tactical choices to make in a fight, it’s just die roll after die roll and hoping you come out on top (hint: you are much more likely to win and easily if your Skill is even a point higher than your opponent’s). So, besides the sad fact that this has not changed with the “advanced” version, they have introduced one interesting aspect. When someone hits with a weapon, they now roll a die and consult a table to see how good the hit was. If you roll a “6” after hitting, your weapon will do its best damage, the opposite with a “1”. In addition, the recipient of the blow will be able to roll a die for their armor and prevent an amount of damage depending on how well they roll. In the universe of Fighting Fantasy mechanisms, this is huge!


Another improvement they added is the attribute of Magic to characters. In the solo books, this was an additional attribute in The Citadel of Chaos, as well as being wonderfully implemented in the Sorcery! series in a very ingenious way. In Advanced Fighting Fantasy it seems that they have more or less opted for a standard magic system, using utilitarian descriptive names and costing the wizard Magic Points that will be replenished the next day. Seems like a necessary addition, I just really like the way it was implemented in some of the solo books and wish they could bring that ingenuity to this game. Looking at the character sheets, one can see that now heroes also have “Special Skills” that differentiate them from other heroes. Ah, but it’s starting to look more like a retro-clone all the time…


Advanced Fantasy, Simple Game


As I said earlier, the real magic in the solo books came from the brilliant writing and difficult adventures with a gritty feel. In Advanced Fighting Fantasy the game master has to become that brilliant and imaginative writer, or this will be just another simple fantasy RPG. Simply adding in more complex elements will not a great RPG make, but there is also a wealth of setting information in the source books Out of the Pit and Titan, which contain creatures and information about the world Fighting Fantasy is set in respectively. I love the world, I love the stories, and I really want to love Advanced Fighting Fantasy, but I would like to have seen some more innovation in the combat mechanisms, which are quite antiquated. If I do pursue this game in the future, and I plan to, then I will do some tinkering of my own to see if I can come up with a solution. Other than that, I do recommend these quick start rules, especially if you are looking to jump into a fantasy adventure right away with a small to medium group. Further to my delight, who else publishes the books but Cubicle 7 Entertainment?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Fighting Fantasy Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Humanoids III Set
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/08/2013 03:25:00

This is a nicely diverse set of miniatures which should prove an asset to any fantasy GM who likes to use paper miniatures in combat or to set the scene... never underestimate the potential effects of visual aids when running a game - players react better to "You see... THIS!" as you show a picture or plonk a miniature down, rather than to a verbal description.


The mountain troll who graces the cover is the real star: a meaty ugly customer. There are also five bugbears, five lesser goblins and five knockers (in all cases a female, a chief and three other male figures), as well as an elebeast, a rhinoman and a stegorian. Plenty of variety, but all look pretty mean and ready to attack at the drop of a hat!


Each figure is presented both as a 'A-frame' standee (front and back views) and as a triangular one (3 views from different angles), so you may choose which style suits your needs. Illustrations are crisp and clear, and present considerable variety. The female bugbear is particularly good, in a kneeling pose with a youngster at her side. A generally useful set.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Humanoids III Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Arion Games 2013 Paper Mini Subscription
by Douglas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2013 16:56:36

The 2012 Subscription was worth the cost by far.
Got 2-3 dollars of product for every dollar spent - possibly more!


Looking forward to the same great deal, maybe even better, in 2013.


Thank you Graham!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arion Games 2013 Paper Mini Subscription
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Arion Games 2012 Paper Mini Subscription
by Douglas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2013 16:54:22

Fantastic product for a fantastic price!
Thank you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arion Games 2012 Paper Mini Subscription
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Conquistadors Set
by john b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2012 16:00:20

I was so glad then they came out with these guys. for...
These paper mini's are so highly detailed, my cortez vs. the aztecs hex counter game will now get an upgrade. thanks arion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conquistadors Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aztecs Set
by john b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2012 15:58:51

These paper mini's are so highly detailed, my cortez vs. the aztecs hex counter game will now get an upgrade. thanks arion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aztecs Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 934 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG