RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Maelstrom Classic Fantasy Toolkit
by Graham R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2012 06:12:52
Maelstrom is a classic game, perhaps overlooked in the past due to its' relatively realistic historical focus. Indeed, purely historical role playing games are a niche market, and although the Maelstrom core rulebook does contain a hint of fantasy (with the innovative magic rules), it is on the whole very much a historical RPG.
It's a shame Maelstrom isn't more widely known, the rules are simple, the setting colourful and when it was released (back in the 80's), the magic system was revolutionary.
With the release of the classic fantasy toolkit, Maelstrom may now become a little more widely known and used, broadening its' appeal to those who perhaps steer clear of historical games. In essence, the toolkit does what I suspect many Maelstrom GMs have pondered or attempted; turning Maelstrom into a fantasy RPG.
The supplement introduces the standard fantasy elements to the game, such as fantasy races (elves, dwarves and halflings), and the typical classes of classic dungeon delving games (fighters, thieves, assassins, wizards, paladins etc). The information is presented succinctly, and in a useable format, so that it can easily be used alongside the core rules. There's a monsters section which includes details for the 'usual suspects' of a fantasy RPG (goblins etc). Of note is the artwork, which is well executed and evocative of early fantasy RPGs.
The supplement is by no means perfect; there's no information on a fantasy setting for example, and an adventure would have been nice. However, for the price, I don't think there's really any cause to grumble.
In summary then, for a few dollars, euros or pounds, you get the essentials for creating fantasy scenarios using the splendid Maelstrom system.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Maelstrom Classic Fantasy Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Saxons Set
by Tristan K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2012 12:06:12
Just what I've been waiting for. The Saxon period of English history is one that is of great interest to me, and I'm glad to find affordable miniatures that I can use for games set in this era.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saxons Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Steampunk Set
by tim h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2012 15:56:56
good - clear pictures
bad - why write what they are on the base? e.g. I may want to use the 'adventurer' figures as npc thugs or my player may want the 'assassin' figure as their pc!! Not many 'steampunky' figures - more mechanics, tinkerers etc would be nice - having 2 identical soldiers is not really steampunk.
makes a good addition to the victorian figure range though.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Steampunk Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review. As far as the names being on the base; If you use the powerpoint version, you can remove the names in seconds.
WWII Germans Set
by Philip S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2012 08:30:07
Absolutely amazing. A brilliant mix of German forces that has a good variety of poses, and covers a all the theaters. An excellent mix of firearms from the era, with the Kar 98, MP 40, the Sturmgewehr, as well as half-tracks, motorcycles, and tanks. This is of a very superb quality and, at least in my opinion, is well worth the $5. I really, really hope that they do a Japanese WWII pack as well, that's something I'd buy in a heartbeat. For the time being, I'll just cross my fingers and enjoy this wonderful pack while I hope and wait.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WWII Germans Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cavemen Set
by john b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2012 13:24:10
The graphics are very well done, you can shrink the pics for proper mm size.
I only wish Arion games would make a conquestiors set to go with the aztecs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cavemen Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Queen Mini-Set
by Robert O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/07/2012 11:03:42
Queen Mini-Set - without a doubt an art is really great. Those paper figurines can add a color to every tabletop fantasy RPG. The only thing that is not right is a price. 99$? At first I thought it was a mistake. But it is not. This art really costs 99$...

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Queen Mini-Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
As stated in the sale text, this set is not intended for general sale, but as a reward to customers who purchased sets during our Diamond Jubilee Bonanza. You can however still get it as part of the 2012 Subscription!
Modern Soldiers Set
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2012 17:38:29
This set contains modern soldiers in varied poses, most of them carrying an assault rifle, although there are also a sniper, a soldier with a rocket launcher and one big guy carrying a machine gun. Some of them are in desert camo (like the one in the product image) while others use a jungle camo outfit. Besides the grunts, there are a medic and a sergeant -- however, the medic comes only in desert camo and the sergeant only in jungle camo... There are also a few other figures, including a sailor, paratrooper and officer, all of which seem to me a lot more like WWII than modern uniforms, and a soldier in a gray outfit and red beret marked as paramilitary. Figure scale is "true 25mm," with figures measuring around 23mm from feet to eye level. Poses and facial expressions are good, and the lighting adds volume to the figures.

I'm giving this four stars because it would be great to have all soldiers in both camo outfits (or even in a single outfit.) As it is, the jungle camo soldiers don't have a medic and the desert camo ones (which in my opinion look better) don't have support weapons or a sergeant.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Soldiers Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Orientals Set
by Philip S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2012 15:56:02
First and foremost, I'd like to start with the fact that I've always loved your rendering style. As always, it's top-notch, and very impressive. And admittedly, you inspired me to make 3d miniatures myself. I must admit, I love your work.

Truth be told, I was very slightly disappointed with the fact that the nobleman is wearing a mere kimono and yukata. Being a fan of Japanese history (and military history) this was a minor let down, but one that I can live with. Also, I found it odd the peasant was using a western farming tool. Most rice-paddy farmers deal in a very wet environment in which a tool like that would be next-to-useless.

However, as my rating reflects, 5-out-of-5, that I have a great deal of respect for your work. However, when it comes to historically accuracy, I'd be more likely to rate this product as "fantasy" more than historically accurate. I can tell you put a lot of work into this one, and I must say I'm very impressed. However, if you ever need someone to talk to about Japanese culture, armor, and weapons, let me know, and I'll be glad to give you advice, and references if you're interested in doing another orientals set. (Which I'd love to see, and would buy in a heartbeat)

Keep up the great work!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orientals Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cavemen Set
by Drew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2012 14:18:48
This set pretty much completes my Lost Worlds kit. Including the wildlife along with the hominids makes it a must-have. I've bought a lot of Arion sets recently because of their consistent quality and graphics. I'm trying to introduce other genres of gaming to my friends (you can only play so much D&D) and Arion brings great looking minis to the table without breaking the bank.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cavemen Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Maelstrom
by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2012 19:59:19
First off let me say that this game has soul. I role playing game set in Tudor England written by a 15 year old. The thing is this little works wonderfully in it's intended purpose. There could be some more information on some subjects but for the sheer amount of data you are really getting something special. I know many have written about the herbal section, which in my opinion is reason enough to own this game. The fact that you can challenge yourself to play something like a fishmonger or a mercer (cloth salesman) amazes me. When written in 1984 you could only challenge yourself by choosing to be one of 5 classes and one of 7 races. This is groundbreaking stuff, and it is well worth the price of admission.

Why shoudl you buy it?

1. If you want to play a decently realistic facsimile of Tudor life (or later Renaissance life) this is the book for you.
2. A staggering amount of career choices and background options.
3. A very neat and low key magic system. It jibes with the historical setting very well.
4. THE HERBALIST INFORMATION!

Things that are a bit clunky (but charming)
1. The combat system. The Maelstrom Companion does a lot to remedy some of the "crunchiness".
2. A very gritty and debilitating wound system. You are going to want to make house rules for this.
3. A more detailed explanation of the workings of the Church (or churches) of the time. That's a sticky subject, but there was a Reformation going on.

I love this game. Do yourself a favor and pick up a copy and see for yourself. It is well worth the money and ideas inside are top notch.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Maelstrom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Maelstrom Companion
by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2012 19:42:43
What the Maelstrom Companion does is try to fill gaps in the original Maelstrom game. Maelstrom is the kind of game that is open enough in design that you can plug in pretty much any mechanic and get a desire playable effect; that is to say if you want very heroic action and cinematic play styles you can plug a rule in. The Maelstrom Companion takes a lot of the "homework" out of this for you.
The firearms rules are very good, playable and will work. The added character "livings" are a nice touch. The additional adventure background is very good for those who hate to pick up a history book. You get a lot for your money in this book and it makes Maelstrom a lot more playable. I hope that there will be more to come!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Maelstrom Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasy Heroes II Set
by SengKok L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2012 00:46:30
Arion publishes many sets of PDF paper miniatures with a good enough variety with each set that there should be something suitable for most players. In particular, the Fantasy Heroes I, II and III are great starter sets to begin with.

The color and detail are very good in this set of figures and there is enough variety in the poses to easily recognize each character. Mounted versions of 4 of the figures are also provided which is a nice touch. If I could make a recommendation, it would be that each figure would also have a matching mounted version.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Heroes II Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

SpaceRatz Set
by Alejandro A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2012 16:30:10
One the best sets ever, space ratz delivers beautiful sci-fi ratmen, in pdf and ppt formats yo build an enrire army. A cheap alternative to plastic or metal miniatures, and a gret miniatures on their own, to be used either in flat format or triagonal. Worth every cent.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SpaceRatz Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Humanoids Set
by Ryan E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2012 16:28:06
Overall, a good set. There's a decent selection of typical humanoid races here. Of the large figurines, the Ogre is rather plain but the others are pretty good (the Minotaur is a particular standout!). If you want a larger selection of Medium and Large-size figures, grab Humanoids II and Trolls & Ogres, but this is still worth getting, especially as a starting point.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Humanoids Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Arion Games 2012 Paper Mini Subscription
by Warren H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2012 09:38:27
As artwork is mostly personal preference I would advise downloading one of the free sets to see if you like the style.

I purchased this the first week of March and got 5 sets immediately with 1 more as soon as I can make up my mind as to which one I want. So with 25% of the year gone by I already have 50% of the cost back.

Because this is a subscription I can't really be specific to a single set but as you can see from Arion's catalouge there are a variety of genres offered. In each set I have purchased (through subscription or individually) I got a decent amount of figures with 3 different methods of assembly.

Option 1 is the standard A frame mini with a full color front and back image

Option 2 is my prefered one, the front and back images are glued together on a square base

Option 3 is great for larger creatures and is a a three sided mini (triagonal) with a right side, left side and rear image. Used with figures assembled by either of the above methods and your mounted figures or large monsters seem to dwarf individual figures as they should.

If you use mini's of any kind this is a great deal. If you don't use minis but have kids this is still a great deal as they love playing with them no matter what the images are.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arion Games 2012 Paper Mini Subscription
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 893 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG