RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Book of the Tarrasque
by Jerry B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2017 12:48:22

This is a thorough and entertaining look at the history of the Tarrasque and how to use it in your game. It gives great advice on how to run the Tarrasque either as a one-shot or as part of a longer campaign. I definitely plan on running the Tarrasque sometimes in the near future using the information found in this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of the Tarrasque
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Book of the Tarrasque
by Mark H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2017 20:42:49

Really graet quality and the information in here is just rediculous--important to me since I'm a lore nut. Will be a great addition to my top tier campaign. I'd see this working great at cons too. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Legacy Weapon - A Dungeon World Artifact and One Shot
by Senda S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2017 13:52:12

This is a brilliant solution to two player Dungeon World -- maintains the feeling of playing the full game, while solving for lack of moves if you're down to one player. Above and beyond that, it creates interesting stories in its own right as you describe the history of the weapon itself. Can't wait to show this one off to more people!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Legacy Weapon - A Dungeon World Artifact and One Shot
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Legacy Weapon - A Dungeon World Artifact and One Shot
by Fraser S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2017 11:25:11

Heard about this on Misdirected Mark and Discern Realities podcasts. A fantastic idea implemented very well, the kind of fiction I like often focuses on some specific character arcs I don't often get to experience in a group dynamic, this allows for that goal wonderfully. The layout looks great, professional, clean, and great implementation of a design goal I am excited about.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Legacy Weapon - A Dungeon World Artifact and One Shot
by Logan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2017 10:45:46

I heard about this on the Discern Realities podcast and couldn't wait for it to come out. I was delighted to find that it surpassed my expectations! This is a really cool way to make a one-on-one game of Dungeon World possible. I can't wait to use it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rockerboys & Vending Machines
by Zen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2017 16:03:24

Not worth the 5 minutes it takes to read. And the artwork is really amateurish as well.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Rockerboys & Vending Machines
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The First Adventure - A Fiasco Playset to Teach Fantasy Gaming and Roleplaying to New Gamers
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2017 18:45:23

There were two files. One was printed sideways, making it a headache inducer to read, so I gave up. The other may have been useful if you had the Fiasco rules set. Almost every thing needs to be explained by getting and reading that other main ruleset. Since I don't, most of the book is unintelligible.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The First Adventure - A Fiasco Playset to Teach Fantasy Gaming and Roleplaying to New Gamers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The First Adventure - A Fiasco Playset to Teach Fantasy Gaming and Roleplaying to New Gamers
by George C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2017 04:35:18

Not a bad Playset. I'm looking forward to seeing what the publisher brings out in the future



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rockerboys & Vending Machines
by Jared R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2017 19:21:25

On the surface, this is a lighthearded, rules light game for playing cyberpunk stories. If you have ever seen Lasers and Feelings, you've seen this system. It fits on two pages, so the rules are workable, but not robust. Despite this lack of rules depth, they work amazingly well to quickly adjudicate a storyline.

What makes this so awesome (beyond it being free), is the cyberpunk mission generator, which is actually kind of a neat resource for ANY cyberpunk game you might be running. Add to this the fact that the artwork is great, and it's an amazing product that is worth your time to download and read through.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rockerboys & Vending Machines
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dangerous Space Jail
by Pete F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2015 09:44:34

Dangerous Space Jail: A Dungeon World Adventure by Encoded Designs

Dangerous Space Jail is the first published adventure from Encoded Designs, the new imprint of Gnome Stew veteran and Engine Publishing author Phil Vecchione. I was happy to find that it was made for Dungeon World, one of my favorite games.

Among other respected folks credited in the product, Vecchione is joined by podcasting mensch Chris Sniezak of the Misdirected Mark show, one of the best gaming podcasts out there right now.

The adventure delivers on Encoded's goal of providing "Weaponized Games for Busy GMs." This is not surprising given Phil's voluminous and ever growing word count of rpg wisdom.

Its fast playing, unique concept clocks in at 39 pages and includes cool, simple art and cartography, including the first published work by Victor Wyatt. I hope to see more of his maps in the future.

According to the company, Weaponizing a game means baking in three primary qualities:

1) Great Stories

2) Interesting Mechanics

3) Ample advice to run the game in a manner suiting the GM's style.

Let’s take a look at how these weapons show up in this adventure.

Great Story

To ensure that I don't spoil anything, allow me to offer the same textual trailer with which DSJ teases its potential players and GMs.

"After a successful adventure in the Goblin Badlands, the heroes retire to the town of Meridor to rest and recreate. That plan falls apart when the heroes are roused out of bed in the wee hours of the morning by the Mayor. A floating fortress has appeared over the town square, the likes of which have never been seen before. The fortress is motionless, save for the curls of black smoke rising off of the battlements. There are faint sounds of battle coming from above. Why is it here? What is its purpose? What is inside? The townsfolk are scared, and the Mayor needs someone to find out what is going on. There will be time later for ale and merriment, because the Dangerous Space Jail awaits."

Opening Questions

GMs are given some suggested opening questions to ask players in order to set some context for what is to come, to hand the GM some juicy narrative hooks, and to generate character bonds. These are helpful for making the bonds meaningful to the scenario.

Actor Shortcuts

I love these. After each description of an NPC, a famous actor and one of their well-known characters is suggested as a GM quick-start for inhabiting the character.

Bulleted Speaking Points

Most GMs I know try to get outside of the box text in order to bring their characters to life, so instead of encasing NPCs' words in quotation marks that are encased in paragraphs, NPC scripts are presented as bullet points, detailed enough that even if some are left out, the players will still get plenty of flavor and information to chew on.

Scene Structure

Scenes are organized into three parts: Opening, Body, and Closing. Simple. I was impressed how each scene dovetailed into the next. Or to use another metaphor, the scenes are tongued and grooved with enough repetition forward and backward to help keep everyone oriented and on track. It also helps a new GM with awkward spaces between events where she feels like she is supposed to read the scenario writers' minds.

Interesting Mechanics

Tension and Timing

Dangerous Space Jail is a tense affair. This tension is fostered by a narratively appropriate timing mechanic that informs the nature of the players' looming opposition and also their blood pressure.

This timing mechanism and its related variable opposition interlock nicely with custom terrain moves and character condition mechanics. All of this works together to ensure a serious sense of urgency.

Ample GM Advice

Options Aplenty

The tips in the adventure increase gamemaster options. These are good suggestions many people will use.

Modes of Running It

Details are given that show how to use the adventure as a one-shot (its default mode), as a campaign starter, or as part of an existing campaign. I was impressed by the thought that went into this section.

Custom Hard Moves and More

Also provided are additional Hard Moves that repeat when necessary throughout the adventure, minimizing the need to flip through pages and, thereby, slow the game down. This is good news if you are PDFing on a slow Kindle like yours truly. Of course, there are Hard Move suggestions in addition to the repeated ones when they are specific to the the scenarios current context.

There are helpful thoughts on the opposition mechanic, player Scaling, and character leveling as well.

Final Thoughts

I had a blast running Dangerous Space Jail for my sons and will use the adventure as one of my go to one-shots for pick-up games and conventions. New GMs, if you are planning one of your first original adventures, this one strikes me as a great first model.

I am excited to see what the future holds for Encoded Designs and its weaponized wares.

*Full Disclosure: I received a review copy of the adventure, but I stand behind my opinions here.

*Additionally, I am not a DW expert, but for me the dissatisfaction that DSJ does not feature outright, traditional Fronts was comforting for a one shot and gave me the sense that I could make a good DW adventure. Mostly, I just relied on Dungeon World's trust in the GM to go with the flow. There is plenty of space--even talked about in the rules--to allow the players to stray from the "prescribed" (not really) narrative. I might run it at the school gaming club today.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dangerous Space Jail
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dangerous Space Jail
by Alisson V. d. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2015 18:00:01

Yeah... I've bought this adventure and our my fears were confirmed. It has all been planned, plots everywhere, there are scenes prepared, nothing like our beloved Fronts. It's like a traditional D&D adventure painted with some DW mechanics.

The adventure have nice ideas, it's delightful to read, but you should adapt to Dungeon World style before playing.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dangerous Space Jail
by Tom F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2014 08:54:21

Picked this up to run for my kids group. When I say kids, I'm talking 20 - 18 year olds. We love playing RPGs that are big on character and Dugeon World is perfect for fun character play.

And this game is perfect for a Dugeon World adventure that's more than just a dungeon crawl. The adventure has a built in timer that keeps the players moving and the pdf design is innovative.

Lastely, let's not forget the real reason you buy and adventure - the story. It's fun, engaging and can easily be continued as a setting for future Dungeon World adventures!

What are you waiting for? Go on, click Add to Cart - you won't regret it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG