RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
BASH! Fantasy Edition
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2012 19:22:26
After years of searching and testing I have found this to be the best starting RPG for kids. Curiously this is what it was designed for. Kids needs to be able to read and do basic arithmetic. After that the rules are easy to follow, characters are quick to build. My 7yo and 9yo are totally into this game.

It would also work for adults and experienced RPGers.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Honor + Intrigue
by Marc H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2012 12:45:20
Intro: I have Savage Worlds, and am a huge fan of it, and was thinking about using it for the ubiquity setting of Regime Diabolique, wich i loved but somehow just couldn't get the hang of the system. It is a great system, but just not for me.

And then this came along. Sliced bread for swashbuckling. Awsome! The system is easy, yet complete, and has a tremendous swashbuckling feel. I am so going to use this for Regime Diabolique!

It's not going to replace Savage Worlds as my go to system, but having this for my musketeer action will keep that fresh, and keep SW fresh for other stuff as well.
One minor flaw: I had to turn to Barbarians of Lemuria to get some divine magic rules ( it has a free version, but it would have been nice to have that in this set of rules as an option )

Get it......It's awsome

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Honor + Intrigue
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review, Marc! Regarding "Divine Magic", there are some things. On page 189 it says that the Clergy career can be used to transfer a blessing that is used to fight unholy monsters like demons and undead. Likewise they can make prayers that grant protection to allies against such unholy monsters and sorcery. They can also do exorcisms on unholy creatures. You are right that Clergy are not by default "magic". Mysticism is not part of the the "normal" training that they would receive. However, there is nothing stopping a person with the Clergy career from also having the Magician, Astrologer, or Alchemist career if you want to have a character more focused on the mystical. The Soothesaying aspect of Divination magic might be especially appropriate if viewed as "miracles" or talking to spirits.
Honor + Intrigue
by Nick R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2012 10:18:55
This is an excellent RPG for anyone who loves the simplicity of Barbarians of Lemuria but wants a bit more crunch. The fencing manuever rules are superb and give a totally cinematic experience. I ran a sample game at Conception 2012 and wrote it up here: http://forum.rpg.net/showthread.php?614181-Honor-Intrigue-Fa-
ir-Wind-in-Jamaica.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
BASH! Ultimate Edition
by Emma M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2012 19:13:06
At just over 140 pages, you'd be forgiven for thinking BASH was a beer-&-pretzels, no-brainer kind of game. Don't be fooled for a second. The writing is tight & concise, the artwork fun (while a bit too DC Animated for my taste), and above all, the system is player -and- GM-friendly, a rare thing in an ever-increasing market of superhero titles. Character creation is effortless, and encourages the player to think in terms of the character as a person, not just a set of numbers. There are some critics who say the game lacks 'granularity', but let's be honest, when you've just picked up an M1 Abrams tank, do you care whether you can throw it 45 meters or 50? No, me neither. In the end, the game does exactly what it sets out to: Presents a fast, fun, adaptable & wide-open superhero game with none of the bean-counting of certain other titles. I've played most of the superhero games out there, but when you (and your players) read a new book and ask yourself 'How can I create *insert your regular character here* in these rules?', you know you've found a keeper. 'Basic' doesn't have to mean 'dumbed-down', and this is one case where it definitely doesn't! Stop reading now & go buy this. Really. You'll be so glad you did.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Ultimate Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
BASH! Ultimate Edition
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/08/2012 21:24:31
BASH! is a fantastic little game of Super Heroes. Instead of a huge book of powers or effects, BASH instead focuses on "What do you want to do?" and "What kind of hero are you?", Simple, but powerful questions.
The game achieves the near miraculous feat of being simple to use and learn and yet powerful enough to keep you interested and coming back to the game.
The mechanic is kind of an odd one with multipliers (but I think it works for supers) and exploding doubles on 2d6, which I admit I like. It also has a cool FASRIP-looking chart for die results, so it gives it an old school feel (something all old school supers games had were charts, lots of them!). I like that the main Abilities have been reduced to just three; reminiscent of Tri-Stat, but these a Brawn, Agility Mind (BAM!), which appeals to me. Everything after that are skills and powers.
It has it's legions of fans and I can see why.

BASH is a nice alternative to M&M or Icons, both very fine games, but BASH is easier to get going in. Yes, even compared to Icons.
In addition to all of that BASH has a great power leveling system to play everything from Street Level Mystery Men to Cosmic "New Gods".

It's not perfect. BUT just like like the comics would sometimes have huge cross-over events, so can games. If you are happy with your current Supers RPG, great, but maybe the characters fall into a wormhole-spacetimebridge-cosmicsink and end up in a BASH universe. At under 10 bucks it is totally worth it.

I have a quibble with the "Bruce Timm" inspired-art. I am not really sure how they got away with that.
Now mind you, I like the art. I like Supers games to looks like comics or supers cartoons, but this seems a bit odd to me.

No matter. Bottom line. Great game. Great fun. Great Respons...er sorry, Great Price.
If you like supers games then get this.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
BASH! Fantasy Edition
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2012 13:31:30
Wow. This is an elegant, simple, yet deep and HIGHLY flexible game. As an older gamer, a husband, and father who does some solo-gaming (using Mythic GM Emulator and house rules) I wanted a system that was easy to learn and play without being too 'fluffy'. BASH Fantasy fit all my criteria. You can create any character you can think of, add powers, add new races, add whatever you want, it's so easy to customize. Want a Sky-Rim style adventure where anyone can wield swords and magic or strict class system where mages can't use swords? Okay, fine. This system can handle whatever you want. Quick combat with enough tactics to satisfy most, a great magic and enchanting section, and tons of great settings ideas round out a great rules set.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
BASH! Ultimate Edition
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2011 11:27:56
I have been a loooonnnggg time FASERIP fan since the Yellow Box came out. The advanced set rules were the best representation of fast and fluid supers combat/action ever. Sure, I had a few issues that I would try to house rule (movement was always a mess, an Incredible ranked attack ALWAYS does 40 damage, lack of opposed rolls) but all in all it was my boo. Bought M&M (way too much bean counting) and downloaded Icons (too loosey goosey) but nothing ever could replace MSH FASERIP. I see the appeal of M&M and Icons to others, but they didn't work for me.

For months I'd read up on BASH! UE and came close to buying it but always worried about the simplicity of it. I want simplicity but it seemed too simple. I finally took the plunge over the weekend (9.99 on sale) and am so glad I did. It makes me look at FASERIP and think "what was I waiting for?".

It simple and also very deep and versatile, no small feat. You can make any character you want and they can co-exist with any other power level type of character in your campaign. Sure, Superman will win most of the time but Captain America can make it interesting...just like he would in the world of comics. I love the rules for combat, quick simple, but thanks to hero points/dice any character can surprise (just like the comics!). One thing that drove me crazy in FASERIP and M&M is that Superman/Juggernaut/Magneto/Wolverine could kill almost any other hero in 1-2 actions and that's that. Sure that CAN happen in the comics but it doesn't. BASH! UE gets that. Supers is not a genre where hard core, rigid rules apply. Jubilee and Hawkeye should have the ability to make a real difference once in awhile and BASH! UE allows that with a very solid system.

The thing I keep thinking as I read the rules and make characters is, "this reminds me of when (insert hero) did (insert epic action) and saved the day". BASH! UE captures supers in a way no other game does. For the first time in 30 years I have mothballed all my FASERIP stuff. It's in the closet and BASH! UE is on the shelf.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Ultimate Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
BASH! Ultimate Edition
by Gerry S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2010 12:22:10
Much improved over the original edition, BASH UE gives you the tools to run fast paced, comic book style super hero adventures. Rules are not too crunchy, but not too light either.

Includes a GM's section that covers running various genres, from pulp to cosmic level games.

well worth purchasing if you want an alternative to games like M&M/Champions

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
BASH! Sci-Fi Edition
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2010 02:20:44
BASH Sci-Fi Edition is indeed a complete toolkit for running any type of science fiction adventure a modern sci-fi fan can imagine, and it's also no slouch when it comes to running modern action or thriller games either. The system is deceptively complete, covering all of the major genres of science fiction. In addition, any or all of these genre packs, all of which are contained in the single pdf file for this game, can be combined seamlessly, allowing stories with combined genres or ones set in the far future where all of the strange technologies of fiction have come to pass.

Most modern games have a simple-to-understand action resolution system nowadays, but most generic, multigenre, or toolkit systems drop the ball when it comes to character creation, either leaving many options out in the name of simplicity, or falling prey to overcomplexity in the name of completeness. BASH does not fall prey to either of these issues. While characters are still built from points, the point values use much lower number all around, and the explanations for anything you might want to buy are quick and broad in scope without being vague. No calculators or reams of paper required to build a character - all of the point values for attributes, skills, advantages, and powers are in the single digits. A slight bit of game balance might be lost, but this broad-strokes style of bookkeeping is still precise enough to make sure there's a significant difference in cost between the powers to move small objects with your mind, turn invisible, or completely mind control someone.

Balance between mundanes and people with "powers" (each power is judged based on effect, and simply restricted to power sources that make sense) is kept by making near-impossible feats of mundane expertise into its own category of powers. In essence, being good at something is a skill or a high attribute, but being action-hero good at it is a power, just like mind control would be, and bought from the same pool of points that powers are.

Skills are judged by "have" or "have-not" and if a character has a skill, the character can roll their attribute to accomplish a relevant task. The have-nots can still make an attribute check, but, lacking the skill, will have a penalty on the attribute roll. This skill system is one of my only issues - while it makes the game very quick and easy to play, the lack of an ability to increase ratings in individual skills makes running a campaign slightly more difficult than a one-shot. However, it is possible to raise ratings in specialized areas of mastery within a skill, to alleviate this problem.

Finally, a lot of good examples are provided, even within the specialized genre packs, all within the book's 137 pages.

A lot of generic or toolkit game systems claim to cover all possibilities while remaining rules-light, but I am of the opinion that BASH is the only game system to manage being complete and being rules light, without these two goals interfering with each other. Overall, very little assembly required. I *will* use BASH the next time I run a Sci-Fi story for my group, and I expect that both the old hands and the newbs will be satisfied with the result.

For the asking price of the PDF, a solid value. I only wish it were sold in a pocket or digest-sized print edition I could slip in to my laptop bag or backpack, in case of pickup game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Sci-Fi Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review. I would like to point out though that you *Can* improve your ratings in various skills by spending XP (3XP to raise a skill or buy a new specialty, page 45). You can also choose at character creation to put multiple "slots" into a single skill choice, raising the multiplier. Thanks again for the review, and I'll think about that digest size suggestion...
Vengeance is Nigh
by Justin P. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/24/2010 21:16:06
Vengeance is Nigh is the first published adventure for BASH Ultimate Edition. I jumped on this as soon as it was released and recently had a chance to run it for a group of friends. We enjoyed the adventure, as it scratches the itch of an introductory superhero adventure and serves as a fantastic introduction to the grittier side of Megapolis. The end also comes with a rather surprising twist for how the adventure begins.


My only complaint with this one is that this adventure falls victim to the standard flaw of the great heroes looking to the little guys for help, and comes off as too much of a rail-road. If there was a little more setting description and a little more information that made this adventure feel like more of a comic book and less of a "quest" it would have gotten five stars. Still, it was an enjoyable introduction for new players to the mechanics behind BASH and the setting of Megapolis.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vengeance is Nigh
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
BASH! Ultimate Edition
by Justin P. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/24/2010 21:08:11
Let me start by saying I am a huge fan of superhero games. The first RPG I ever got my hands on was Champions, which I picked up from a used book store when I was nine years old simply because it had something to do with comic books. Because of that, Hero will always have a place in my heart but I always looked for the supers game that really lets me mimic what I see in the comics without putting a lot of work on anyone. Then I found BASH.

BASH Ultimate Edition quickly moved to the top of my list for superhero games because of simple, fast-paced mechanics, a flexible character creation system and, most importantly, the ability to handle heroes of vastly different power levels without a hitch. This is a game where you can have Dazzler and Thor standing side-by-side and neither one of them is out of place. This is the first game I've played where I can accurately play out the team-ups we see in comics all the time. How is this possible? Hero Points and Hero Dice.

It is a clean, simple system that emulates comic book action. The basic mechanic has you roll 2d6 and multiply it by a number, which is decided by what you are trying to do. Do you want to punch someone? Roll 2d6 times your Agility. Are you shooting someone? Roll 2d6 and multiply it by your Mind. If you roll doubles your dice explode, allowing you to throw another d6 and add it to your roll before multiplying. Hero Points allow a player to modify rolls while Hero Dice can be used to add an additional die to your roll or temporarily gain the use of a new power. Yes, you read that right.

If you are a fan of comic book action I strongly suggest you give BASH Ultimate Edition a try.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Ultimate Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
BASH! Ultimate Edition
by Ryan G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2010 09:58:32
In the 20+ years I've been role-playing this is the best game I've ever had the privilege of playing. It is a simple yet incredibly flexible system, I've yet to find anything I can't do with it. I have used it to simulate everything from Call of Cthulu to Star Wars. If you have one game on your shelf it should be this one.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
BASH! Ultimate Edition
by Ronald B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/11/2010 10:23:25
BASH! Ultimate Edition feels like an indie game and an old school game at the same time. The rules are simple and straightforward: roll 2d6, multiply by stat. There are tables for those averse to math. Just about every power I could think of is in there, and the game seems like it scales well, allowing for play at any level in the comic book super hero genre.

My only gripe is there is advice given in the front of the book about transparency with players, but there are key mechanics buried in the narrator's section. Aside from this foible, BASH! fires on all cylinders.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Vengeance is Nigh
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/24/2010 15:47:39
This supplement is everything that an introductory superhero adventure supplement should be. It contains a straightforward plot with several solid, genre-appropriate set pieces, interesting characters and gives the strong impression of a larger, wider world.

The characters (optional pregenerated characters are provided, along with colorful character sheets) face off against a vigilante who has crossed the line and has been killing gang members in a bad part of town. Of course there's more going on than meets the eye, and a superscientific organization is also introduced, trying to cover up their involvement as well.

Probably the most important thing that sets this adventure supplement apart is the extensive appendix, in which all the players in the scenario are detailed very thoroughly, so that the GM has a great deal of material to extrapolate from, to make the world more real-feeling. This is very important in a genre about people in dance outfits shooting lasers at each other.

The adventure really gives a solid introduction to the BASH system and I would highly recommend it for a first night of play for anyone wanting to get things started in that system without jumping in cold.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vengeance is Nigh
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
BASH! Ultimate Edition
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2010 18:26:54
Like many others interested in BASH!, I've played my share of SuperHero RPG's over the years; dozens of different systems and paradigms. BASH! is easily one of the most fluid for the genre; I mean that the game mechanics flow smoothly, the rules are simple to comprehend in a short time with very no overwhelming amount of detail, yet it covers the use of superpowers and skills very well. The book is well written, although I found it a bit vague at first... it's very important that you review the key terms near the beginning to "get" how the system works; if you don't you'll do what I did and keep looking in vain for definitions of some terms (especially Dice Bonus and Defense). If you take the time to review them (yes, that means you, mister experienced RPG'er), you'll get right into the heart of the system much quicker and enjoy it that much more.

I'm starting a BASH! game next week with my regular group, and so I've decided to make a large pool of characters for them to choose through, and character generation is unbelievably quick. It almost seems too quick to be useable, but it's just an illusion. The characters in BASH! are plenty full of what you need to play a superhero: Powers (many defined, and many more possible with options), skills (a good selection) and advantages/disadvantages (all the rage in many RPG's now-a-days).

I can't recommend BASH! UE enough. It's heresy, but I gotta say it. Give up on FASERIP, and go BASHing!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Ultimate Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for your review! That's high praise indeed. Don't forget that for doing a quick pick-up game that you can always use the Sample Archetypes from the back of the book to generate some quickly.
Displaying 16 to 30 (of 87 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG