RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
by Michele Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2008 08:08:10
Ciao.
Prodotto notevole in quanto a semplicità di meccaniche di gioco, creazione dei personaggi e scelta dei poteri. Il sistema si basa su 3 statistiche fondamentali (Mente, Muscoli ed Agilità) il cui punteggio viene moltiplicato per il risultato di 2d6. Il risultato viene confrontato con il punteggio dell'avversario o una soglia di difficoltà. I poteri non sono specifici per ogni singolo uso o manifestazione ma vengono descritti come tipologie di potere; al giocatore il compito di personalizzarlo e di rnderlo unico. Tutta la descrizione dei poteri e delle meccaniche di gioco vengono riassunti in poco più di 20 pagine. Il sistema è dunque un ottimo compromesso tra semplicità e giocabilità.
Aspetti negativi sono soprattutto legati alla revisione del gioco. In prima battuta ci sono discrepanze tra la versione estesa e quella print-friendly. Altro aspetto che richiede attenzione e "interpretazione" delle regole è che a volte la descrizione dei poteri è un pò troppo sintetica e quindi richiede un certo grado di interpretazione (nulla di eccessivamente complesso, comunque).
Per essere un gioco auto-prodotto è davvero riuscito. Consiglio vivamente l'acquisto.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Wow, my first Italian review! Glad to know the game is getting some international exposure!
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2007 15:36:42
I concur with the previous reviewers with regard to the quality of the system and emulation of the genre. The system is not 100% compatible with later products in the BASH! line, but those books, Fantasy and Sci-fi, have conversion suggestions. This book also does not include the sub-genre variation rules that have become standard with BASH!. Pulp, and gritty-style variations would have been nice.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2007 15:26:37
This is the BASH! equivalent of purchasing the first 3 AD&D hard backs plus Oriental Adventures! [Remember pre-'89 AD&D? This book captures that spirit.] The only drawback is that some knowledge of the genre is presupposed. The typical monsters covered in the OGL are statted here but not given descriptions, so new players and GMs could be thrown off a bit. Don't look for fancy art here either, but then again first generation rpgs didn't have much of it, and Basic Action Games doesn't need to pass the cost of commissioned art on to the consumer. A well-formatted printer-friendly version is included.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BASH! Sci-Fi Edition
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2007 13:59:26
OK, here's what I like about this book--the exact same rule-lite system as BASH! Fantasy edition, none of those weird soak roll rules from the supers version. For $15.00, which I still argue is steep for a pdf, you get a highly workable system complete with the standards--aliens, psionics, starships, mecha, etc with solid rules for a good number of genres and random alien species generation, so it's as if you're buying 3 or 4 books of the price in terms of usability of the content. My one complaint, as far as content, is that a "giant transformable sentient robot species" section was not included, though those types of characters could be worked up with the system with a little time. An adventure generator would be nice too, but that's probably pushing it.

As for the documents themselves, I appreciate the print-friendly pdf, but why include pictures in it? The table of contents and index are not hyperlinked, which is a little annoying.

These issues don't bother me so much, but be aware that the book is mostly illustrated with stock art you've probably seen before and that other than named sample alien species emulating sci-fi staples, no setting information is given.

In short if you like the BASH! Fantasy rules set and want the same quality of hidden gems were genre is concerned, you'll love this.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Sci-Fi Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for the review-- as to your one major complaint-- Sentient transformable robot species are addressed in the rules of the Mecha section! You can have a "Living Mecha" as a character along with the "Transform" power for said Mecha!
Megapolis: A City of Supers
by Russell C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2006 00:00:00
The first supplement for BASH! (Basic Action Super Heroes) RPG presents an entire campaign setting for the system in the form of Megapolis: A City of Supers.

The PDF is 81 pages in length with the text formatted into two columns and includes a generous number of illustrations. There is also a printer friendly version included (basically the same text and formatting but without illustrations) and that comes out at 66 pages. The illustrations are all black and white (apart from the cover) and although not as consistently good as those in the BASH! rulebook they are still okay. The small font size, compact formatting and lack of wasted space all ensure that there is a lot of information included here.

As stated this is a sourcebook for the fictional city of Megapolis. Located somewhere on the East Coast of America - its actual location is left intentionally vague so that GMs can locate it where they please. Information on the history of the city is given, as well as the various boroughs that make up its environs. There is also some more detailed info on various places of interest to be found within the city, including; the local air force base, super prison (and inmates) the other-dimensional realm of Arcadia (for those who want to mix superheroes with fantasy) and various organisations to help or hinder your heroes.

As well as the information on the city, about half of the book is given over to its numerous super-denizens. These include individual heroes and villains as well as teams. Some of the characters have already appeared in the BASH rulebook, but the majority are new.

Finally there is a short section of additional rules and information for the GM. Also included here is a sample timeline of events for the city, outlining a complete campaign year to enable GMs to kick start their own games.

All in all this is a nice supplement for BASH! There is nothing particularly new here, but nothing outrageous either that might prevent it from easily being added to any existing contemporary superhero campaign. You get a setting that is detailed enough to be useful but not so complete that you can't make it your own. The inclusion of the timeline also makes it a great option for time-poor GMs wishing to start their own campaign.

If you are looking for a setting for your BASH! game and don't want to put in the work yourself this is worth getting. Even if you don't need a new campaign city for your games this supplement is probably still worth getting if only for the numerous superhero and villain NPCs included within.



LIKED: A good solid setting with lots of ready-made supers and the ability to kick off a new campaign with very little effort, plus includes a printer friendly version.

DISLIKED: A few typos and no bookmarks, but these are relatively minor problems.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Megapolis: A City of Supers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I am glad you liked this work and hope you get good use from it!
BASH! Fantasy Edition
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2006 00:00:00
A really neat, elegant system - ideal for short campaigns where you have a brilliant idea but not the time to develop it for a more complex system (Hero system, for instance). Everything is covered - magic, combat, skills etc. Everything is resolved using 2D6 multiplied by the influencing stat.


LIKED: Everything except its quirky layout.

DISLIKED: Quirky layout and odd references to 1 square radius (for example).

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Glad you like it, but you know it is good for playing campaigns as well!
Island of the Forgotten Tomb
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2006 00:00:00
A supplement and campaign background for BASH fantasy. Set in a swashbuckling age, it plays to the strengths of the BASH system to perfection, right down to fencing schools with different styles.
Contains a sample adventure (rather deadly looking) and lots more suggestions about naval life.


LIKED: Everything

DISLIKED: There's nothing to dislike

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Island of the Forgotten Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Glad you appreciate it, Matey!
Megapolis: A City of Supers
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2006 00:00:00
A campaign background for BASH, complete with places of interest, villainous organisations and more examples of the flexible nature of character creation than you can shake a stick at.
Some new powers and (dis)advantages complete the bulk of the work.
There is an outline calendar of events for a campaign lasting a game year!


LIKED: Everything

DISLIKED: The map of the city of Megapolis could have had more detail, but that is a quibble.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Megapolis: A City of Supers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Originally we were going to use a color map, but that would have made it less "printer friendly".
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2006 00:00:00
This a a really neat and simple system for playing low-power superhero games. There are only three stats - brawn, agility and mind. Almost everything is resolved using 2D6, usually multiplied by the controlling stat. For skills it is vs. a diffciculty number for other powers it might be versus the appropriate defence (again generated by 2D6 multiplied by appropriate stat).
Almost any power you can think of is covered. Optional character advancement is included (but not encouraged!).
It makes a wonderful system for a one-off or a short campaign.


LIKED: The elegance and simplicity.

DISLIKED: Occasional lack of clarity and peculiar layout (e.g. movement rates are buried under movement powers).

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks.
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2006 00:00:00
Does what it says on the tin, i maybe tweaked two areas to suit me better, but aprt from that used it straight out of the , erm, tin.


LIKED: Price, decent sized dungeon, ideally suited to me and my players

DISLIKED: where is the next one, should have released more of these by now! Can i write one for you, for free just to get something published!!

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Sure that sounds like a great offer!
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2006 00:00:00
I'd like to able to fill this box in without having to put anything in this comment box, alas I cannot- I apologise but I've not got a lot of free time and yet I want to rate the products.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
I am glad you liked it.
BASH! Fantasy Edition
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2006 00:00:00
Bash - Fantasy Edition This game uses the same system as Bash - Supers. Right down to the font and formatting which is one of my two issues with it, but let me talk about the contents first and then I will explain my issues

Character creation is the same simple procedure as stated in Bash - Supers. New races are added including, but not limited to, Dwarves (my favorite race), Elves, Humans, Bird and Cat men and a few others. Then there are a listing of Advantages and Disadvantages. Powers are seperated into Mundane and Magical. Mundane powers are like skills (or feats for D&D3.5 fans) and
Magical Powers are, well, magic. Doh! :-)

Combat is pretty much the same but now there are different levels of soak to accomodate different types of armour.

The Monster section has several monsters listed/stated including all your fantasy favorites like Minotaurs, Manticores, Goblins and a gaggle of different oozes. They also add a Danger Level into the monster section which allows the Gamemaster to gauge the danger level to the characters.

Some traps are also listed and they helped me greatly when attempting to design my own character mashing, bashing, slicing, slashing and all around pulverizing of players... yummy! ;-)

A sample story arc is given as well as some sample characters. There is also several alternate fantasy settings listed, some with new advantages and equipment as well.

There is alot packed into this 79 page book. Well worth the money I spent on it.

As for the issues I have with this game. There are two

1) The font and formatting should be changed to more fantasy and less comic book looking. The author may have intended the game have a consistent feel with the Supers game, but I think, though it uses the same system it should have it's own look.

2)Campaigning with this system seems suspect as I think this system is better suited to one shot sessions. With both of those issues this is still quite a good game and did not detract from the quality or more importantly the fun of this game.




LIKED: A fun, simple and quick Fantasy game.

DISLIKED: The comic themed font. Would be better to use a more fantasy themed font.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
We are glad this product pleased you!
Island of the Forgotten Tomb
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2006 00:00:00
Island of the Forgotten Tomb for BASH - Fantasy.

This is a mini-setting and an adventure for the BASH - Fantasy game. I was hesitant to buy this on it's own, since I am not into swashbuskling as a general rule, but since this was bundled with BASH-Fantasy edition and was a bargain I thought I'd give it a try.

I am happy I did. This is a great supplement for BASH - Fantasy. The mini-setting works well in this game and the adventure is fun in a pulp action hero kind of way. Reminds me of Pirates of the Caribbean and the old Errol Flynn movies. I am assuming that is what they were trying to go for and they hit the nail on the head. Congrats!


LIKED: The fun pulp action feel.

DISLIKED: If i had to say anything it would be the lack of a table of contents, but not worth losing a point for it.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Island of the Forgotten Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Look for the sequel this summer!
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2006 00:00:00
BASH - Basic Action Super Heroes

This game I bought on a whim. I was looking for a new Superhero game to try and I did not want it to be complex (ala Hero System) nor D20 (ala M&M, though that is a good D20 game, which is few and far between). There were several other superhero system to try from RPGNow. I tried this one first and I am glad I did. This is a great simple system that conveys the supers feeling very well. The art fits the feel of the book quite well.

I was, at first, skeptical about the 30 page count of the rules system. I was thinking it would be incomplete or too basic. I was, however, proven quite wrong. The rules system is simple yet refined enough to allow any situation to be covered.

Character creation takes up most of the book, with powers taking up most of character creation since there are only three stats to deal with. Character creation is simple and quick. You could easily start a game within 10-20 minutes of sitting down to create a character. There is a also a sample story arc and sample characters listed to give you some starting points and ideas.




LIKED: The great superhero feel and the refined simplicity of the system.

DISLIKED: I wanted more, though everything was covered and ideas were given. The system just doesn't seem to deal well with character improvement and that is mentioned at the end of the book, but a suggested system is given for experience.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I am glad you liked it and there is good news! There IS MORE! You can get Megapolis: A City of Supers. It is the first BASH! Sourcebook. Also be on the lookout for BAM! Basic Action Magazine-- a free fanzine.
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
by ronald w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2006 00:00:00
The BASH game system easy to work with. I now have a use for the Marvel Universe RPG. It was very easy to modify the BASH sysytem to work with the 1 - 10 stat scale of MURPG.


LIKED: The game promotes fast cinematic action. Easy to use game mechanic.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Well thanks for your enthusiasm and happy gaming!
Displaying 46 to 60 (of 87 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG