RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
BASH! Fantasy Edition
by Steve Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2006 00:00:00
A very good fantasy game that will give you a lot of play for your money. Very light and easy rules and generic enough that it can be used for nearly any style of fantasy game you want to run. I'm impressed.


LIKED: The simplicity yet comphrehensiveness of the game. Plus, notes for the old west!

DISLIKED: I don't like that how far a character can normally move is stuck in with the Movement powers rather than in an easier to find section. A small quibble.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Always glad when a customer is happy. Check out the BASH! Fantasy supplement: Island of the Forgotten Tomb if you want to run a swashbuckling campaign! Also, BASH! Sci-Fi is in the works. It is on the same Heroic (as opposed to super-heroic) scale as BASH! Fantasy.
BASH! Fantasy Edition
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2006 00:00:00
I was looking for a simple yet versatile fantasy RPG, and surprisingly I found it here, with BASH! Fantasy. The core book is to-the-point and if it has any flaws at all it might be a dearth of flavor text (a common trait of modern games), but I did not miss it. The writer's prose is well-written, chatty and easily explains the simple but flexy mechanics. The core mechanic is simple: roll 2d6, doubles add and roll over, and multiply by the relevant trait/attribute (there are three core attributes btw, Brawn, Agility and Mind). Opposing rolls are compared and the higher total wins....very simple. As an old fan of Tunnels & Trolls, I find BASH to be very comfortable.
This product is also very complete, providing spells, skills, advantages and disadvantages, monsters, and an overview of all the key fantasy settings from steampunk to dark fantasy and asian. Not bad for a book that takes up about as much space as the original basic and expert D&D sets.
In terms of presentation, the cover is workable (not ugly, not great, you won't be ashamed of it) and the interior is a clean printer-friendly format. The art is decent, but a little scarce. The font is easy to read for old gamer eyes like mine.


LIKED: Simple yet complete
Plenty of detail and useful content
Basic but workable mechanic
Easy to pick up and go with
Author has a friendly, chatty writing style that works extremely well.

DISLIKED: Could have used some more art
Tends to favor lists when charts might be easier to access
Light on flavor text (but not necessarily a bad thing)

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Well, thank you, Nicholas. Always glad when a customer appreciates our work! Look for our ezine, Basic Action Magazine (or BAM!) soon for updates!
Island of the Forgotten Tomb
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2006 00:00:00
A slick and to-the-point campaign adventure with world background modelling a fantasy realm with suspiciously historic-seafaring age overtones. If you want to run a BASH! Fantasy game set on the high seas of a world suspiciously similar too, but otherwise very much unlike our own during the 16th-17th century, then this is a good start. Like BASH! Fantasy, the art is decent but skimpy. The maps are good, and I loved the cover on this one. In the end, the real weakness I saw was that I could have used about 30-40 more pages on the setting, as it held my interest and left me wanting more material and adventures. It has a good introductory adventure, and a nice section of genre-specific rules and monsters, but could use much more, I felt, in terms of setting and scenarios.


LIKED: Good, to-the-point campaign setting, easy for novice and expert GMs to tinker with and run

DISLIKED: Sparse on art (but nice cover)
Could use more material/adventures (hint!)

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Island of the Forgotten Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Nicholas, believe me, I hear you on the extra pages for the setting. This was only an introduction to En Garde- and we plan on putting out another product in this line (with much more detail on the Caramaks & Akirima) this summer!
BASH! Fantasy Edition
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2006 00:00:00
This is Fantasy Role playing at its fineset. Simple machanics and fast play. Combats are in and out and back to the role playing. Or you can hack and slash to your hearts content.
Grab a copy. Make the designer rich and maybe he'll give us a POD!


LIKED: Simple mechanics and fast play. Very customizeable to your style of role play.

DISLIKED: Nothing at all

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks a lot!
BASH! Fantasy Edition
by Alan E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2006 00:00:00
Great system that is completely customizable to suit your needs. Fast and fun to play!


LIKED: Fast easy rules that at first glance seem to simple but that have their own elegance about them

DISLIKED: Could have some better explanations of a few rules, but not even close to being a game breaker.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Ah, thanks for the review. If you have any rules questions, please see our message boards or visit our Yahoo! group. That way, I can assure that they are addressed in future products.
Island of the Forgotten Tomb
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2006 00:00:00
One Word ... WOW!
I'm a fan of the BASH System as it is, but this little download, helped make me a believer. The setting is a fun one for both fantasy and swashbuckling adventure. The extras bonus rules add real flavor to an already tasty system.

All I can say is if you like the BASH system (and if you try it, you will...) this is a must have!


LIKED: Very presentable, nice artwork... builds a swashbuckling mood.

DISLIKED: .... hhmmmm... nothing!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Island of the Forgotten Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Avast, John, we aim to please!
Island of the Forgotten Tomb
by Alan E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2006 00:00:00
Again a fast and easy system to use. Just started a new campaign and getting a feel for the rules and their game effect. Very similar to another product of the same genre but holds it own with the differing fencing schools and rules governing their use.


LIKED: Ease of play and fast outcomes

DISLIKED: nothing

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you think. We always appreciate it!
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2006 00:00:00
Very Nice. As a long time Supers fan (from a long time Champions fan) who likes Simple RPG's, this was a refreshing change. Adaptable and fun.
Grab a copy. Well worth the money.


LIKED: Simple mechanics and fast play. But very customizable.

DISLIKED: Can't think of anything.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Glad you enjoy the product! We hope to put out more support products for this very soon.
BASH! Fantasy Edition
by Paul P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2006 00:00:00
A nice little simple fantasy RPG, but really the generic and flexible rules could work for any game genre - which is not surprising, given that it started life as a superhero game. It's almost but not quite a match for BESM, or another fast fun furious game. With some work, you could tweak it for any heroic genre (I suspect it wouldn't work all that well for the grim and gritty style), and indeed there are some short but well thought out sections on other settings (such as Conan-esque dark fantasy, swashbuckling (expanded in Island of the Forgotten Tomb), Roman empire, steampunk, and Oriental adventures). Really, BASH has learned a great deal from other successful games (such as BESM, 7th Sea, Dungeons and Zombies/Unisystem, and of course D&D) and incorporated what it's learned well. And that's no small accomplishment.



QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Well thank you. I don't think I have ever played half of those games before, but I wouldn't be surprised if BASH had things in common with them. As for the gritty style, don't knock it yet. When we make a BASH modern product, there will be a horror section as well as pulp, and there will be plenty of grit to it! Of course, right now, Megapolis is our #1 priority, after that, We may see Modern or Sci-Fi.
Island of the Forgotten Tomb
by Paul P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2006 00:00:00
A nice adventure and expansion for BASH Fantasy, essentially the Swashbuckling Supplement, complete with equipment, swordsman schools, a world based on 17th century Europe, and advanced naval rules. It is EXTREMELY similar to a certain popular swashbuckling RPG, but given how much I love that game, that's no bad thing. Comes in print-friendly and illustrated versions for convenience, which is always a nice thing about BASH products.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Island of the Forgotten Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Well Paul, I am glad you liked it. Of course, when two games both emulate the same historical period there are bound to be similarities. The next product in this line will focus more on the "New World" however, which many games of that period gloss over. It will be a while before that though. Maybe this Summer!
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2005 00:00:00
This is a very welcome and easy to jump into supers game. There is plenty of room for "rules expansion", but very little need to use that room. BASH has an exceptionally on-target feel to it, and it inspires comic-book roleplaying just by its sheer design.


LIKED: A small, focused product, with great art (samples, yes, but very good ones). Easy to pick up system, and the rules actually invite the players and GM to expand on the game w/o dragging out some laborious algortihms on how to do so. BASH has captured the fun of hero gaming. Can't wait to see more!

DISLIKED: Well, if I had to choose one thing.....maybe I would have liked the option to order a print version? But, the printer friendly file takes care of that, I guess!

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you, Max. We aim to please. We are also planning to get into the print on demand thing, relatively soon!
BASH! Fantasy Edition
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2005 00:00:00
BASH uses a simple and common sense approach Role-playing. I got this on the strength of the Super Hero Rules and I have not been disappointed. In fact I would say its better than the original. It is better set out, no type/formatting errors (that I have seen so far), and separate PDF file for the printer friendly version. At first when reading through, it started to look like just a rehash of the original but in a fantasy setting with the powers just becoming magical powers. But the next section puts the powers into colleges of magic based on elements and renamed to fit the genre. The Colleges of Magic I really like and will be using in my games. The Rulebook has a very good selection of common fantasy monsters, a sample adventure and sample characters. What really sets this rule book apart form others is the Attentive Fantasy setting section at the back. It gives scope of a lot of games beyond the normal fantasy genre. I think I will be using this rulebook a lot and for some time.

Again some minor faults that is in the original Super Heroes Rules:
One illustration is in color which is not in keeping with the rest of the illustrations. I do like the grayscale illustrations.

Still, I would have liked to have seen some rules for using miniatures and battle maps as I have known from my own kids they do like to use them. But it should be easy to include these in your game.


LIKED: The whole lot and would like to give it 6 stars.

DISLIKED: None really

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Well Steve, glad you liked the book. We will be coming out with a Science Fiction book as well in the future, which will likewise deal with the varying sub-genres, hopefully pleasing fans of everthing from space opera to cyberpunk to Jules Verne! I am currently also writing a story-arc for BASH Fantasy set in the Swashbuckling setting and another set in the feudal Japan setting, both of which will be in commercial release in the near future.
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2005 00:00:00
BASH uses a simple and common sense approach Role-playing. I have been looking for a Super Hero RPG for some time and have no regrets about buying this one. Not long after I had downloaded the rulebook and told my kids about it, they wanted to play it. You will have had to have some experience of Role-playing as these rules are not for the beginner but I have got a little feed up with rules that seem to spend some time telling what a role-playing is about. The System is based around comic book theme with pages instead of rounds and a panel for character actions.

There is a few minor faults that I hope Basic Action Games will change make the rulebook perfect.
As the system was originally designed for kids I have found one of the illustrations unsuitable for kids (Pyre needs a flame resistant Bra) and my kids prefer the illustrated version over the printer friendly.
Illustrated and printer friendly is on the same PDF.
Some minor typing/formatting errors: The Golden Rule text changes font which looks odd, ?What can I do in a Panel?? Goes 4, 5 and 6 in the printer friendly section.
One illustration is in color which is not in keeping with the rest of the illustrations. I do like the grayscale illustrations.
I hope to see an update with these improvements as I really do like these rules.

I would have liked to have seen some rules for using miniatures and battle maps as I known from my own kids; they do like to use them. But it has been easy to include these in our game.


LIKED: The whole lot. Good solid RPG system.

DISLIKED: Only minor faults given in the comments above. Still gets 5 stars.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your enthusiasm! I hope you and your family enjoy playing this game as much as I do! I have been using miniatures and battlemats to play it since I first wrote it. I guess I could add a page emphasizing that this is an excellent way to represent the action.
Fatal Flaws: Disadvantages for the d20 System
by A. F. Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2005 00:00:00
This is fun! I want to add it into my game ASAP :) They feel alot of like the 2nd ed Feats but that's ok (I really liked them too).

LIKED: The different types of flaws to pick from.

DISLIKED: Could have had some more flaws.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fatal Flaws: Disadvantages for the d20 System
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Glad you enjoyed these! I may try and come up with another suppliment like this in the future. perhaps focusing on mystical flaws for characters.
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
by I. P. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/04/2005 00:00:00
?The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon? is an interesting product to evaluate. It is intended to be the bare bones minimum needed for a dungeon master to run a session with only last minute preparations. It is certainly bare bones. If you expect any kind of descriptive text, you are looking at the wrong product. The PDF is actually three pages, map, room information, Open Game License.

There are 17 rooms, and one of those rooms has areas a - d. Unfortunately, the map contains door symbols that prevent it from being used for player viewing. There is no player friendly version, nor is there any way to ?deselect?, as other products have begun to incorporate, particular options which would result in a player friendly version. Despite the room symbols, other symbols are not on the map, such as traps. I would like to see products such as this provide a complete map and a player friendly version.

As I already said, the room information is minimal and squeezes stats on the proposed encounters. The text is single spaced and densely covers the page. I would have a very difficult time using the sheet as it is.

If you use this product as intended, you will be providing descriptions of everything from rubble strewn floors to vacated dormitory space. What I would like to see in this product is a more complete description of the physical space to help set the mood for the DM in a rush. I know this would take more space, but the single sheet could be supplemented with a sheet of descriptive text so that the user would have the option of using it or not.

In the end, I am not sold on the one sheet concept. I would rather see the information presented in a better format and with more emphasis on the physical descriptions, even if the monsters (or just their stats) had to be left off. Though, if they are no longer limiting themselves to one sheet, there would be no reason to leave anything out. My main concern is that this product would not actually be quicker to prepare than an adventure that provided more information. In the situation where the dungeon master has no time to prepare, the brevity of this product is a liability. A more complete product would require less preparation and allow for a passable experience. (Remember, nobody ever said that running an adventure with minimal preparation is the best way to run a game!)

While I am discussing the options that are available, I should mention that you could also use the map and fill the dungeon with your own critters. This is likely the best use of this product, but at that point, you are purchasing the map and no longer benefitting from the ?no prep? concept. For this purpose, the old school map is enjoyable. Note that printing this map would tax your ink reserves.

While I like the ingenuity shown in attempting this product, I cannot say that I would purchase it. The best use would be to use the map and populate it yourself. Anyone willing to do that could either make their own dungeon, purchase a product intended to be used in that manner, or find one free.

To rousing gaming and ample rewards,
I. Perez

LIKED:
1. Attempt to provide what, eventually, every DM needs. This will keep the DM from having to dig up an old adventure map (in my experience, often an old official module!) to run a gaming session at the last minute.
2. Simple map for quick use.

DISLIKED:
1. I would like to see a player?s version of the map, without concealed doors, etc. There should also be a version of the map without the grid, so that those that can use an electronic version can apply their own grid. (Whether face to face or online.)
2. One sheet concept.


QUALITY: Disappointing

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Well, we are going to be making it so that there is more room in the furure. Instead of stating out every creature for every encounter, future releases will simply cite the page number in the Monster Manual (or there will be a seperate page with monster stats). This would leave some room for more descriptive text. Another thought I had was making a map and including a random generator for making the dungeon work for parties of 2nd, 5, 7, and 11th level all with the roll of a die...
Displaying 61 to 75 (of 87 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG