RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2006 00:00:00

This a a really neat and simple system for playing low-power superhero games. There are only three stats - brawn, agility and mind. Almost everything is resolved using 2D6, usually multiplied by the controlling stat. For skills it is vs. a diffciculty number for other powers it might be versus the appropriate defence (again generated by 2D6 multiplied by appropriate stat).
Almost any power you can think of is covered. Optional character advancement is included (but not encouraged!).
It makes a wonderful system for a one-off or a short campaign.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: The elegance and simplicity.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Occasional lack of clarity and peculiar layout (e.g. movement rates are buried under movement powers).<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks.
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2006 00:00:00

Does what it says on the tin, i maybe tweaked two areas to suit me better, but aprt from that used it straight out of the , erm, tin.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: Price, decent sized dungeon, ideally suited to me and my players<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: where is the next one, should have released more of these by now! Can i write one for you, for free just to get something published!!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Sure that sounds like a great offer!
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2006 00:00:00

I'd like to able to fill this box in without having to put anything in this comment box, alas I cannot- I apologise but I've not got a lot of free time and yet I want to rate the products.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
I am glad you liked it.
BASH! Fantasy Edition
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2006 00:00:00
Bash - Fantasy Edition This game uses the same system as Bash - Supers. Right down to the font and formatting which is one of my two issues with it, but let me talk about the contents first and then I will explain my issues

Character creation is the same simple procedure as stated in Bash - Supers. New races are added including, but not limited to, Dwarves (my favorite race), Elves, Humans, Bird and Cat men and a few others. Then there are a listing of Advantages and Disadvantages. Powers are seperated into Mundane and Magical. Mundane powers are like skills (or feats for D&D3.5 fans) and
Magical Powers are, well, magic. Doh! :-)


Combat is pretty much the same but now there are different levels of soak to accomodate different types of armour.


The Monster section has several monsters listed/stated including all your fantasy favorites like Minotaurs, Manticores, Goblins and a gaggle of different oozes. They also add a Danger Level into the monster section which allows the Gamemaster to gauge the danger level to the characters.


Some traps are also listed and they helped me greatly when attempting to design my own character mashing, bashing, slicing, slashing and all around pulverizing of players... yummy! ;-)


A sample story arc is given as well as some sample characters. There is also several alternate fantasy settings listed, some with new advantages and equipment as well.


There is alot packed into this 79 page book. Well worth the money I spent on it.


As for the issues I have with this game. There are two


1) The font and formatting should be changed to more fantasy and less comic book looking. The author may have intended the game have a consistent feel with the Supers game, but I think, though it uses the same system it should have it's own look.


2)Campaigning with this system seems suspect as I think this system is better suited to one shot sessions. With both of those issues this is still quite a good game and did not detract from the quality or more importantly the fun of this game.


<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: A fun, simple and quick Fantasy game.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The comic themed font. Would be better to use a more fantasy themed font.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
We are glad this product pleased you!
Island of the Forgotten Tomb
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2006 00:00:00

Island of the Forgotten Tomb for BASH - Fantasy.


This is a mini-setting and an adventure for the BASH - Fantasy game. I was hesitant to buy this on it's own, since I am not into swashbuskling as a general rule, but since this was bundled with BASH-Fantasy edition and was a bargain I thought I'd give it a try.


I am happy I did. This is a great supplement for BASH - Fantasy. The mini-setting works well in this game and the adventure is fun in a pulp action hero kind of way. Reminds me of Pirates of the Caribbean and the old Errol Flynn movies. I am assuming that is what they were trying to go for and they hit the nail on the head. Congrats! <br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: The fun pulp action feel. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: If i had to say anything it would be the lack of a table of contents, but not worth losing a point for it.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Island of the Forgotten Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Look for the sequel this summer!
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2006 00:00:00

BASH - Basic Action Super Heroes


This game I bought on a whim. I was looking for a new Superhero game to try and I did not want it to be complex (ala Hero System) nor D20 (ala M&M, though that is a good D20 game, which is few and far between). There were several other superhero system to try from RPGNow. I tried this one first and I am glad I did. This is a great simple system that conveys the supers feeling very well. The art fits the feel of the book quite well.


I was, at first, skeptical about the 30 page count of the rules system. I was thinking it would be incomplete or too basic. I was, however, proven quite wrong. The rules system is simple yet refined enough to allow any situation to be covered.


Character creation takes up most of the book, with powers taking up most of character creation since there are only three stats to deal with. Character creation is simple and quick. You could easily start a game within 10-20 minutes of sitting down to create a character. There is a also a sample story arc and sample characters listed to give you some starting points and ideas.


<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: The great superhero feel and the refined simplicity of the system.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I wanted more, though everything was covered and ideas were given. The system just doesn't seem to deal well with character improvement and that is mentioned at the end of the book, but a suggested system is given for experience.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I am glad you liked it and there is good news! There IS MORE! You can get Megapolis: A City of Supers. It is the first BASH! Sourcebook. Also be on the lookout for BAM! Basic Action Magazine-- a free fanzine.
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
by ronald w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2006 00:00:00

The BASH game system easy to work with. I now have a use for the Marvel Universe RPG. It was very easy to modify the BASH sysytem to work with the 1 - 10 stat scale of MURPG. <br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: The game promotes fast cinematic action. Easy to use game mechanic. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Well thanks for your enthusiasm and happy gaming!
BASH! Fantasy Edition
by Steve Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2006 00:00:00

A very good fantasy game that will give you a lot of play for your money. Very light and easy rules and generic enough that it can be used for nearly any style of fantasy game you want to run. I'm impressed.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: The simplicity yet comphrehensiveness of the game. Plus, notes for the old west! <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I don't like that how far a character can normally move is stuck in with the Movement powers rather than in an easier to find section. A small quibble.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Always glad when a customer is happy. Check out the BASH! Fantasy supplement: Island of the Forgotten Tomb if you want to run a swashbuckling campaign! Also, BASH! Sci-Fi is in the works. It is on the same Heroic (as opposed to super-heroic) scale as BASH! Fantasy.
BASH! Fantasy Edition
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2006 00:00:00

I was looking for a simple yet versatile fantasy RPG, and surprisingly I found it here, with BASH! Fantasy. The core book is to-the-point and if it has any flaws at all it might be a dearth of flavor text (a common trait of modern games), but I did not miss it. The writer's prose is well-written, chatty and easily explains the simple but flexy mechanics. The core mechanic is simple: roll 2d6, doubles add and roll over, and multiply by the relevant trait/attribute (there are three core attributes btw, Brawn, Agility and Mind). Opposing rolls are compared and the higher total wins....very simple. As an old fan of Tunnels & Trolls, I find BASH to be very comfortable.
This product is also very complete, providing spells, skills, advantages and disadvantages, monsters, and an overview of all the key fantasy settings from steampunk to dark fantasy and asian. Not bad for a book that takes up about as much space as the original basic and expert D&D sets.
In terms of presentation, the cover is workable (not ugly, not great, you won't be ashamed of it) and the interior is a clean printer-friendly format. The art is decent, but a little scarce. The font is easy to read for old gamer eyes like mine.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: Simple yet complete
Plenty of detail and useful content
Basic but workable mechanic
Easy to pick up and go with
Author has a friendly, chatty writing style that works extremely well.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Could have used some more art
Tends to favor lists when charts might be easier to access
Light on flavor text (but not necessarily a bad thing)<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Well, thank you, Nicholas. Always glad when a customer appreciates our work! Look for our ezine, Basic Action Magazine (or BAM!) soon for updates!
Island of the Forgotten Tomb
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2006 00:00:00

A slick and to-the-point campaign adventure with world background modelling a fantasy realm with suspiciously historic-seafaring age overtones. If you want to run a BASH! Fantasy game set on the high seas of a world suspiciously similar too, but otherwise very much unlike our own during the 16th-17th century, then this is a good start. Like BASH! Fantasy, the art is decent but skimpy. The maps are good, and I loved the cover on this one. In the end, the real weakness I saw was that I could have used about 30-40 more pages on the setting, as it held my interest and left me wanting more material and adventures. It has a good introductory adventure, and a nice section of genre-specific rules and monsters, but could use much more, I felt, in terms of setting and scenarios. <br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: Good, to-the-point campaign setting, easy for novice and expert GMs to tinker with and run<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Sparse on art (but nice cover)
Could use more material/adventures (hint!)<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Island of the Forgotten Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Nicholas, believe me, I hear you on the extra pages for the setting. This was only an introduction to En Garde- and we plan on putting out another product in this line (with much more detail on the Caramaks & Akirima) this summer!
BASH! Fantasy Edition
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2006 00:00:00

This is Fantasy Role playing at its fineset. Simple machanics and fast play. Combats are in and out and back to the role playing. Or you can hack and slash to your hearts content.
Grab a copy. Make the designer rich and maybe he'll give us a POD!<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: Simple mechanics and fast play. Very customizeable to your style of role play.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing at all<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks a lot!
BASH! Fantasy Edition
by Alan E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2006 00:00:00

Great system that is completely customizable to suit your needs. Fast and fun to play! <br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: Fast easy rules that at first glance seem to simple but that have their own elegance about them<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Could have some better explanations of a few rules, but not even close to being a game breaker.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Ah, thanks for the review. If you have any rules questions, please see our message boards or visit our Yahoo! group. That way, I can assure that they are addressed in future products.
Island of the Forgotten Tomb
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2006 00:00:00

One Word ... WOW!
I'm a fan of the BASH System as it is, but this little download, helped make me a believer. The setting is a fun one for both fantasy and swashbuckling adventure. The extras bonus rules add real flavor to an already tasty system.


All I can say is if you like the BASH system (and if you try it, you will...) this is a must have!<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: Very presentable, nice artwork... builds a swashbuckling mood.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: .... hhmmmm... nothing!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Island of the Forgotten Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Avast, John, we aim to please!
Island of the Forgotten Tomb
by Alan E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2006 00:00:00

Again a fast and easy system to use. Just started a new campaign and getting a feel for the rules and their game effect. Very similar to another product of the same genre but holds it own with the differing fencing schools and rules governing their use.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: Ease of play and fast outcomes<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: nothing<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you think. We always appreciate it!
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2006 00:00:00

Very Nice. As a long time Supers fan (from a long time Champions fan) who likes Simple RPG's, this was a refreshing change. Adaptable and fun.
Grab a copy. Well worth the money.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: Simple mechanics and fast play. But very customizable.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>-
: Can't think of anything.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Glad you enjoy the product! We hope to put out more support products for this very soon.
Displaying 61 to 75 (of 94 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG