RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
BASH! Fantasy Edition
by Paul P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2006 00:00:00

A nice little simple fantasy RPG, but really the generic and flexible rules could work for any game genre - which is not surprising, given that it started life as a superhero game. It's almost but not quite a match for BESM, or another fast fun furious game. With some work, you could tweak it for any heroic genre (I suspect it wouldn't work all that well for the grim and gritty style), and indeed there are some short but well thought out sections on other settings (such as Conan-esque dark fantasy, swashbuckling (expanded in Island of the Forgotten Tomb), Roman empire, steampunk, and Oriental adventures). Really, BASH has learned a great deal from other successful games (such as BESM, 7th Sea, Dungeons and Zombies/Unisystem, and of course D&D) and incorporated what it's learned well. And that's no small accomplishment.


<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Well thank you. I don't think I have ever played half of those games before, but I wouldn't be surprised if BASH had things in common with them. As for the gritty style, don't knock it yet. When we make a BASH modern product, there will be a horror section as well as pulp, and there will be plenty of grit to it! Of course, right now, Megapolis is our #1 priority, after that, We may see Modern or Sci-Fi.
Island of the Forgotten Tomb
by Paul P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2006 00:00:00

A nice adventure and expansion for BASH Fantasy, essentially the Swashbuckling Supplement, complete with equipment, swordsman schools, a world based on 17th century Europe, and advanced naval rules. It is EXTREMELY similar to a certain popular swashbuckling RPG, but given how much I love that game, that's no bad thing. Comes in print-friendly and illustrated versions for convenience, which is always a nice thing about BASH products.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Island of the Forgotten Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Well Paul, I am glad you liked it. Of course, when two games both emulate the same historical period there are bound to be similarities. The next product in this line will focus more on the "New World" however, which many games of that period gloss over. It will be a while before that though. Maybe this Summer!
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2005 00:00:00

This is a very welcome and easy to jump into supers game. There is plenty of room for "rules expansion", but very little need to use that room. BASH has an exceptionally on-target feel to it, and it inspires comic-book roleplaying just by its sheer design.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: A small, focused product, with great art (samples, yes, but very good ones). Easy to pick up system, and the rules actually invite the players and GM to expand on the game w/o dragging out some laborious algortihms on how to do so. BASH has captured the fun of hero gaming. Can't wait to see more!<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Well, if I had to choose one thing.....maybe I would have liked the option to order a print version? But, the printer friendly file takes care of that, I guess!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you, Max. We aim to please. We are also planning to get into the print on demand thing, relatively soon!
BASH! Fantasy Edition
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2005 00:00:00

BASH uses a simple and common sense approach Role-playing. I got this on the strength of the Super Hero Rules and I have not been disappointed. In fact I would say its better than the original. It is better set out, no type/formatting errors (that I have seen so far), and separate PDF file for the printer friendly version. At first when reading through, it started to look like just a rehash of the original but in a fantasy setting with the powers just becoming magical powers. But the next section puts the powers into colleges of magic based on elements and renamed to fit the genre. The Colleges of Magic I really like and will be using in my games. The Rulebook has a very good selection of common fantasy monsters, a sample adventure and sample characters. What really sets this rule book apart form others is the Attentive Fantasy setting section at the back. It gives scope of a lot of games beyond the normal fantasy genre. I think I will be using this rulebook a lot and for some time.


Again some minor faults that is in the original Super Heroes Rules:
One illustration is in color which is not in keeping with the rest of the illustrations. I do like the grayscale illustrations.


Still, I would have liked to have seen some rules for using miniatures and battle maps as I have known from my own kids they do like to use them. But it should be easy to include these in your game.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: The whole lot and would like to give it 6 stars.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: None really<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Well Steve, glad you liked the book. We will be coming out with a Science Fiction book as well in the future, which will likewise deal with the varying sub-genres, hopefully pleasing fans of everthing from space opera to cyberpunk to Jules Verne! I am currently also writing a story-arc for BASH Fantasy set in the Swashbuckling setting and another set in the feudal Japan setting, both of which will be in commercial release in the near future.
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2005 00:00:00

BASH uses a simple and common sense approach Role-playing. I have been looking for a Super Hero RPG for some time and have no regrets about buying this one. Not long after I had downloaded the rulebook and told my kids about it, they wanted to play it. You will have had to have some experience of Role-playing as these rules are not for the beginner but I have got a little feed up with rules that seem to spend some time telling what a role-playing is about. The System is based around comic book theme with pages instead of rounds and a panel for character actions.


There is a few minor faults that I hope Basic Action Games will change make the rulebook perfect.
As the system was originally designed for kids I have found one of the illustrations unsuitable for kids (Pyre needs a flame resistant Bra) and my kids prefer the illustrated version over the printer friendly.
Illustrated and printer friendly is on the same PDF.
Some minor typing/formatting errors: The Golden Rule text changes font which looks odd, ?What can I do in a Panel?? Goes 4, 5 and 6 in the printer friendly section.
One illustration is in color which is not in keeping with the rest of the illustrations. I do like the grayscale illustrations.
I hope to see an update with these improvements as I really do like these rules.


I would have liked to have seen some rules for using miniatures and battle maps as I known from my own kids; they do like to use them. But it has been easy to include these in our game.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: The whole lot. Good solid RPG system.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Only minor faults given in the comments above. Still gets 5 stars.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your enthusiasm! I hope you and your family enjoy playing this game as much as I do! I have been using miniatures and battlemats to play it since I first wrote it. I guess I could add a page emphasizing that this is an excellent way to represent the action.
Fatal Flaws: Disadvantages for the d20 System
by A. F. Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2005 00:00:00

This is fun! I want to add it into my game ASAP :) They feel alot of like the 2nd ed Feats but that's ok (I really liked them too).<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The different types of flaws to pick from.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Could have had some more flaws.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fatal Flaws: Disadvantages for the d20 System
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Glad you enjoyed these! I may try and come up with another suppliment like this in the future. perhaps focusing on mystical flaws for characters.
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
by I. P. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/04/2005 00:00:00

?The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon? is an interesting product to evaluate. It is intended to be the bare bones minimum needed for a dungeon master to run a session with only last minute preparations. It is certainly bare bones. If you expect any kind of descriptive text, you are looking at the wrong product. The PDF is actually three pages, map, room information, Open Game License.


There are 17 rooms, and one of those rooms has areas a - d. Unfortunately, the map contains door symbols that prevent it from being used for player viewing. There is no player friendly version, nor is there any way to ?deselect?, as other products have begun to incorporate, particular options which would result in a player friendly version. Despite the room symbols, other symbols are not on the map, such as traps. I would like to see products such as this provide a complete map and a player friendly version.


As I already said, the room information is minimal and squeezes stats on the proposed encounters. The text is single spaced and densely covers the page. I would have a very difficult time using the sheet as it is.


If you use this product as intended, you will be providing descriptions of everything from rubble strewn floors to vacated dormitory space. What I would like to see in this product is a more complete description of the physical space to help set the mood for the DM in a rush. I know this would take more space, but the single sheet could be supplemented with a sheet of descriptive text so that the user would have the option of using it or not.


In the end, I am not sold on the one sheet concept. I would rather see the information presented in a better format and with more emphasis on the physical descriptions, even if the monsters (or just their stats) had to be left off. Though, if they are no longer limiting themselves to one sheet, there would be no reason to leave anything out. My main concern is that this product would not actually be quicker to prepare than an adventure that provided more information. In the situation where the dungeon master has no time to prepare, the brevity of this product is a liability. A more complete product would require less preparation and allow for a passable experience. (Remember, nobody ever said that running an adventure with minimal preparation is the best way to run a game!)


While I am discussing the options that are available, I should mention that you could also use the map and fill the dungeon with your own critters. This is likely the best use of this product, but at that point, you are purchasing the map and no longer benefitting from the ?no prep? concept. For this purpose, the old school map is enjoyable. Note that printing this map would tax your ink reserves.


While I like the ingenuity shown in attempting this product, I cannot say that I would purchase it. The best use would be to use the map and populate it yourself. Anyone willing to do that could either make their own dungeon, purchase a product intended to be used in that manner, or find one free.


To rousing gaming and ample rewards,
I. Perez<br><br><b>LIKED</b>:



  1. Attempt to provide what, eventually, every DM needs. This will keep the DM from having to dig up an old adventure map (in my experience, often an old official module!) to run a gaming session at the last minute.

  2. Simple map for quick use.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>:

  3. I would like to see a player?s version of the map, without concealed doors, etc. There should also be a version of the map without the grid, so that those that can use an electronic version can apply their own grid. (Whether face to face or online.)

  4. One sheet concept.
    <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Disappointing<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Well, we are going to be making it so that there is more room in the furure. Instead of stating out every creature for every encounter, future releases will simply cite the page number in the Monster Manual (or there will be a seperate page with monster stats). This would leave some room for more descriptive text. Another thought I had was making a map and including a random generator for making the dungeon work for parties of 2nd, 5, 7, and 11th level all with the roll of a die...
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
by Steven T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/03/2005 00:00:00

This is one of those products that makes so much sense I wish I had thought of it myself.
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon #1 ? The Buried Temple is an innovative product. Taking the very idea of the small PDF gaming product to the extreme, BAG offers an entire dungeon ? 17 rooms and encounters ? in a surprisingly compact format.


The first page is the dungeon map. This is done in the classic top-down ?blueprint? style familiar to most gamers. The map is clear, if a bit Spartan, but it is completely gridded, and perfectly useable for running this dungeon.


Page two presents (in a VERY small font) the plot hook/premise of the dungeon, and the encounter key to all the rooms shown on the map. The encounters are balanced for the levels the product is written for (four second level characters). And there is quite a bit of flavor text crammed into such a tiny product. The encounters are also surprisingly varied. This isn?t just a map and a list of enemies to slay. There are traps, hazards, and even the opportunity to interact socially with the denizens of the Buried Temple.


This product has a very ?old-school? feel to it. The map is reminiscent of early TSR modules, and the encounters have a very organic if haphazard feel to them. You get the impression that this dungeon really is a buried temple only recently uncovered and corrupted by the forces of evil. Which is a remarkable achievement in a file this small!


While some of the mechanics are a little off from perfect accuracy to the rules, this is only a minor flaw. If I need a dungeon in a hurry, I?m not likely to bother to grade the text on math and formatting. I want a map, some challenging encounters, and some clever plot twists. This product delivers exactly that and nothing more. It?s tight, concise and it leaves me wanting more. When I ran this for my gaming group, they were left wanting more as well. There is plenty of room left for the DM to elaborate on how the Temple was buried, who else might be seeking the artifact contained within. I applaud Rutkowsky?s ability to cram so much into so little space.
<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: It fills a very real niche. If you have a game coming up in a few minutes and have nothing ready, then you can run The Buried Temple minutes after downloading it. I also liked the "old-school" blueprint-stle map.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Some of the math and formatting are off. This is a minor problem, and does not interfere with the playability of the dungeon. I do hope that fture installments are a little better edited though. This is <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
I am glad you enjoyed the product. We do indeed intend to tighten up the loose ends for the next installment, and will also probably re-release this one with proper adjustments made. Also, a more printer friendly map may be included as well.
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
by James H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/26/2005 00:00:00

The Buried Temple, an "Amazing One Page Dungeon" from Basic Action Games is a simple 'dungeon crawl' for four second-level characters that weighs in at three pages and is priced to move at $1.25. The first of the document's three pages doubles as its cover and sports a non-descript dungeon map with seventeen different areas to explore, the second page contains a one line plot hook and descriptions of the seventeen areas displayed on the map, and the third page contains the obligatory copy of the Open Game License. So, is The Buried Temple worth the asking price of $1.25?


Yes. If your friends ring up and tell you that they want to game in thirty minutes, you don't have any pre-scripted adventure modules sitting around, and you don't have time to search for any free content online, The Buried Temple can fill the void in a pinch. For $1.25 you get a simple 'find the sparkly whatzit' plot hook and a brief pre-scripted crawl through a self-contained dungeon environment that should be good for three hours or so of entertainment, keeping your players satisfied for the night.


No. If you have more than half and hour to prepare for your upcoming game session, a few quick internet searches will produce well over a hundred pre-scripted adventure modules, campaign outlines, and maps of every size, shape, and sort that you can download for free (many of which are more detailed and provide more utility than The Buried Temple). Further, note that the standard pricing scheme for many PDF publishers comes out to roughly $.10 per page of a given document.


So, here's the bottom line: In a pinch, provided that you have no other means at your disposal to search out a pre-scripted adventure module or dungeon map and don't mind paying $.95 over the standard price point of most commercial PDF documents, then The Buried Temple is for you. If, however, you've got time to run a few quick Google searches and are looking to get the most for your money, you'd do well to pass over The Buried Temple.


[This review has been edited to correct spelling errors]<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: I liked the simple, straight forward, presentation of the product - if I had no other options available to me, The Buried Temple would make for a good, quick, one-shot adventure in a pinch. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I disliked the product's limited utility and quantity of content for the asking price - I can turn up dozens of more detailed out adventure scenarios with a simple Google search, many of which are freely available.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Right, but remember the product's tagline- the person it is marketed to is specifically someone who IS going to have to run an adventure off the cuff without time to sort through and preread an adventure. THe purpose of the product is specifically to serve as a good, quick, one-shot adventure in a pinch, when you don't have time to sort through a whole 20+ page module.
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
by Patrick T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2005 00:00:00

Ran this as a quickie game one night when I needed a map. Ended up serving for nearly two game sessions, and I could have stretched it a bit further if I had wanted to. My players liked the idea, and thought the old school map was neat. Overall, quite useful for such a small and cheap product.


I didn't use the suggested "adventure" (a few slapdash stats, really), instead substituting my own monsters and so forth. Still, the map itself was the main thing. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Neat little map, cheap.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The adventure supplied wasn't so hot, but hey, who cares? <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Well, glad you liked the map!
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
by Philip R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2005 00:00:00

Pretty much exactly what I expected. I bought this because it fits a model I've been considering and I wanted to see how someone else approached the idea. Useful if you find out you're DMing -- tonight! -- and need some quick adventure material.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
I am glad you were pleased. There should be more on the way this summer!
BASH! Fantasy Edition
by DAN E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2005 00:00:00

I liked BASH Super heroes so much that BASH Fantasy was a must.
Once again Basic Action Games has come through.
The system is easy, fun and complete.
No cross-referencing charts to find out what it takes to hit.
Just roll vs. your opponent and done.
Plenty of options for the expert and simple enough for the beginner.
I cant wait until BASH Sci-fi is out?hint, hint..


<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Fast and easy system that plays great.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Not a thing<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Dan, Thanks for the kind words. Bash Sci Fi is in the works, and you can get updates on its development on www.bashrpg.com, our website.
Fatal Flaws: Disadvantages for the d20 System
by Bill L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2005 00:00:00

I don't play D20, but I do buy a lot of supplements and convert them over to my system of choice. This one was OK -- it yielded a few interesting ideas and for $1, who can complain?<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: It yielded a few ideas for my system of choice.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing really -- for $1, who am I to complain?<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fatal Flaws: Disadvantages for the d20 System
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I am glad you found it useful!
Fatal Flaws: Disadvantages for the d20 System
by Nathan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2005 00:00:00

This is a great companion with the flaw system discussed in the UA. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The variety of flaws and how easy I can customize them for pcs.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I would have liked to see more non combat flaws. I also would have liked to see more flaws for other classes. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks, Nate. We will try to come up with another batch soon, possibly focusing on spell-casting classes this time.
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
by Jeffrey M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2005 00:00:00

If it looks like Super Heroes on the cover, I will buy it, and have. I love RPG's, and I love Super Heroes, and have played many different RPG Supers games.


It is amazing how so many game designs equate complexity with quality. Unfortunately in the world of comic book Super Heroes this is especially true. In a genre clogged with games systems that range from simply overly complicated to down right unplayable, BASH is a welcome and refreshing change. Points based? Yes. Full of options? Yes. Complicated? Not at all! (Hurray!)


BASH has all the strengths of a good Supers RPG with none of the weaknesses. Character creation is as fast and easy as any that I've seen for this genre without sacrificing diversity. And the actual game play is easy to learn. A group I introduced to the system were playing like pros in seconds! And it all works!! All of it!


BASH has become my Super Hero RPG of choice. I urge you to give it a try. Buy it! Download it! Read it! And for Goodness Sakes, Play it!! This game translates to the table top the way an RPG should. It's not just a pretty collection of numbers on a page. It is a very friendly, very playable RPG.


The downloaded PDF is actually two copies of the game. One has graphics (some very attractive super hero themed black and white clip art), and one is without (print friendly). So the actual game manual only constitutes about 30 pages. Thirty pages is all that is needed. The BASH system is both eloquent and functional, and it doesn't require additional padding.


This new version of the rules has been reorganized to make it easier to use, and includes a few rules additions and clarifications (and a cover with greatly improved coloring). These were needed and welcome changes. I honestly can't think of a better Super Hero themed RPG, that I have played.


This is the best.
<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Clean eloquent game system! Easy to learn! Easy to play! Great character creation!<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Not one thing.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks, Jeff. We aim to please! Be on the lookout for more BASH products in the near future! BASH Fantasy is very near completion, and Megapolis: A City of Supers is also well under way, and expected to be out this summer!
Displaying 76 to 90 (of 94 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG