RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
by Steven T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/03/2005 00:00:00
This is one of those products that makes so much sense I wish I had thought of it myself.
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon #1 ? The Buried Temple is an innovative product. Taking the very idea of the small PDF gaming product to the extreme, BAG offers an entire dungeon ? 17 rooms and encounters ? in a surprisingly compact format.

The first page is the dungeon map. This is done in the classic top-down ?blueprint? style familiar to most gamers. The map is clear, if a bit Spartan, but it is completely gridded, and perfectly useable for running this dungeon.

Page two presents (in a VERY small font) the plot hook/premise of the dungeon, and the encounter key to all the rooms shown on the map. The encounters are balanced for the levels the product is written for (four second level characters). And there is quite a bit of flavor text crammed into such a tiny product. The encounters are also surprisingly varied. This isn?t just a map and a list of enemies to slay. There are traps, hazards, and even the opportunity to interact socially with the denizens of the Buried Temple.

This product has a very ?old-school? feel to it. The map is reminiscent of early TSR modules, and the encounters have a very organic if haphazard feel to them. You get the impression that this dungeon really is a buried temple only recently uncovered and corrupted by the forces of evil. Which is a remarkable achievement in a file this small!

While some of the mechanics are a little off from perfect accuracy to the rules, this is only a minor flaw. If I need a dungeon in a hurry, I?m not likely to bother to grade the text on math and formatting. I want a map, some challenging encounters, and some clever plot twists. This product delivers exactly that and nothing more. It?s tight, concise and it leaves me wanting more. When I ran this for my gaming group, they were left wanting more as well. There is plenty of room left for the DM to elaborate on how the Temple was buried, who else might be seeking the artifact contained within. I applaud Rutkowsky?s ability to cram so much into so little space.


LIKED: It fills a very real niche. If you have a game coming up in a few minutes and have nothing ready, then you can run The Buried Temple minutes after downloading it. I also liked the "old-school" blueprint-stle map.

DISLIKED: Some of the math and formatting are off. This is a minor problem, and does not interfere with the playability of the dungeon. I do hope that fture installments are a little better edited though. This is

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
I am glad you enjoyed the product. We do indeed intend to tighten up the loose ends for the next installment, and will also probably re-release this one with proper adjustments made. Also, a more printer friendly map may be included as well.
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
by James H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/26/2005 00:00:00
The Buried Temple, an "Amazing One Page Dungeon" from Basic Action Games is a simple 'dungeon crawl' for four second-level characters that weighs in at three pages and is priced to move at $1.25. The first of the document's three pages doubles as its cover and sports a non-descript dungeon map with seventeen different areas to explore, the second page contains a one line plot hook and descriptions of the seventeen areas displayed on the map, and the third page contains the obligatory copy of the Open Game License. So, is The Buried Temple worth the asking price of $1.25?

Yes. If your friends ring up and tell you that they want to game in thirty minutes, you don't have any pre-scripted adventure modules sitting around, and you don't have time to search for any free content online, The Buried Temple can fill the void in a pinch. For $1.25 you get a simple 'find the sparkly whatzit' plot hook and a brief pre-scripted crawl through a self-contained dungeon environment that should be good for three hours or so of entertainment, keeping your players satisfied for the night.

No. If you have more than half and hour to prepare for your upcoming game session, a few quick internet searches will produce well over a hundred pre-scripted adventure modules, campaign outlines, and maps of every size, shape, and sort that you can download for free (many of which are more detailed and provide more utility than The Buried Temple). Further, note that the standard pricing scheme for many PDF publishers comes out to roughly $.10 per page of a given document.

So, here's the bottom line: In a pinch, provided that you have no other means at your disposal to search out a pre-scripted adventure module or dungeon map and don't mind paying $.95 over the standard price point of most commercial PDF documents, then The Buried Temple is for you. If, however, you've got time to run a few quick Google searches and are looking to get the most for your money, you'd do well to pass over The Buried Temple.

[This review has been edited to correct spelling errors]

LIKED: I liked the simple, straight forward, presentation of the product - if I had no other options available to me, The Buried Temple would make for a good, quick, one-shot adventure in a pinch.

DISLIKED: I disliked the product's limited utility and quantity of content for the asking price - I can turn up dozens of more detailed out adventure scenarios with a simple Google search, many of which are freely available.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Disappointed

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Right, but remember the product's tagline- the person it is marketed to is specifically someone who IS going to have to run an adventure off the cuff without time to sort through and preread an adventure. THe purpose of the product is specifically to serve as a good, quick, one-shot adventure in a pinch, when you don't have time to sort through a whole 20+ page module.
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
by Patrick T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2005 00:00:00
Ran this as a quickie game one night when I needed a map. Ended up serving for nearly two game sessions, and I could have stretched it a bit further if I had wanted to. My players liked the idea, and thought the old school map was neat. Overall, quite useful for such a small and cheap product.

I didn't use the suggested "adventure" (a few slapdash stats, really), instead substituting my own monsters and so forth. Still, the map itself was the main thing.

LIKED: Neat little map, cheap.

DISLIKED: The adventure supplied wasn't so hot, but hey, who cares?

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Well, glad you liked the map!
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
by Philip R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2005 00:00:00
Pretty much exactly what I expected. I bought this because it fits a model I've been considering and I wanted to see how someone else approached the idea. Useful if you find out you're DMing -- tonight! -- and need some quick adventure material.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
I am glad you were pleased. There should be more on the way this summer!
BASH! Fantasy Edition
by DAN E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2005 00:00:00
I liked BASH Super heroes so much that BASH Fantasy was a must.
Once again Basic Action Games has come through.
The system is easy, fun and complete.
No cross-referencing charts to find out what it takes to hit.
Just roll vs. your opponent and done.
Plenty of options for the expert and simple enough for the beginner.
I cant wait until BASH Sci-fi is out?hint, hint..



LIKED: Fast and easy system that plays great.

DISLIKED: Not a thing

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Dan, Thanks for the kind words. Bash Sci Fi is in the works, and you can get updates on its development on www.bashrpg.com, our website.
Fatal Flaws: Disadvantages for the d20 System
by Bill L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2005 00:00:00
I don't play D20, but I do buy a lot of supplements and convert them over to my system of choice. This one was OK -- it yielded a few interesting ideas and for $1, who can complain?

LIKED: It yielded a few ideas for my system of choice.

DISLIKED: Nothing really -- for $1, who am I to complain?

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fatal Flaws: Disadvantages for the d20 System
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
I am glad you found it useful!
Fatal Flaws: Disadvantages for the d20 System
by Nathan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2005 00:00:00
This is a great companion with the flaw system discussed in the UA.

LIKED: The variety of flaws and how easy I can customize them for pcs.

DISLIKED: I would have liked to see more non combat flaws. I also would have liked to see more flaws for other classes.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thanks, Nate. We will try to come up with another batch soon, possibly focusing on spell-casting classes this time.
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
by Jeffrey M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2005 00:00:00
If it looks like Super Heroes on the cover, I will buy it, and have. I love RPG's, and I love Super Heroes, and have played many different RPG Supers games.

It is amazing how so many game designs equate complexity with quality. Unfortunately in the world of comic book Super Heroes this is especially true. In a genre clogged with games systems that range from simply overly complicated to down right unplayable, BASH is a welcome and refreshing change. Points based? Yes. Full of options? Yes. Complicated? Not at all! (Hurray!)

BASH has all the strengths of a good Supers RPG with none of the weaknesses. Character creation is as fast and easy as any that I've seen for this genre without sacrificing diversity. And the actual game play is easy to learn. A group I introduced to the system were playing like pros in seconds! And it all works!! All of it!

BASH has become my Super Hero RPG of choice. I urge you to give it a try. Buy it! Download it! Read it! And for Goodness Sakes, Play it!! This game translates to the table top the way an RPG should. It's not just a pretty collection of numbers on a page. It is a very friendly, very playable RPG.

The downloaded PDF is actually two copies of the game. One has graphics (some very attractive super hero themed black and white clip art), and one is without (print friendly). So the actual game manual only constitutes about 30 pages. Thirty pages is all that is needed. The BASH system is both eloquent and functional, and it doesn't require additional padding.

This new version of the rules has been reorganized to make it easier to use, and includes a few rules additions and clarifications (and a cover with greatly improved coloring). These were needed and welcome changes. I honestly can't think of a better Super Hero themed RPG, that I have played.

This is the best.


LIKED: Clean eloquent game system! Easy to learn! Easy to play! Great character creation!

DISLIKED: Not one thing.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thanks, Jeff. We aim to please! Be on the lookout for more BASH products in the near future! BASH Fantasy is very near completion, and Megapolis: A City of Supers is also well under way, and expected to be out this summer!
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
by Gregory B S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2005 00:00:00
This is a real time saver. I liked it. If you are late or frantic about getting a game together then this generic dungeon crawl is great. I used it for a side-trek encounter when two of my players failed to attend the weekly gathering.

LIKED: The text page is crammed with info at about 9 pt font. It's packed.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thank you very much. We always are glad to hear that we have made a new fan! We plan to release a new 1 sheet dungeon every month or so, so be on the lookout for #2 sometime in June!
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
by DAN E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2005 00:00:00
Bash is what I was hoping for.
An easy to play Super Hero game that makes play fun!
I have tried many SH rpg?s over the years and was looking for a fun, rules light and action heavy game.
I found it in Bash.
Making your own characters is fun and easy.
Conversion to any comic book character will be easy.
Good job guys.
Ill defiantly pick up your next product and join the Yahoo group.
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/bashrpg/
Well worth the price!


LIKED: Easy to use and play


DISLIKED: nothing, very happy


QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
We are always glad to find a new fan! We plan on releasing a few more products in the BASH line down the road. Stay tuned for Megapolis: A City of Supers, our first gazeteer for the BASH system, and also BASH: Fantasy edition is very close to completion. BASH Sci-Fi is also in the works!
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes
by DAN E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2005 00:00:00
Bash is what I was hoping for.
An easy to play Super Hero game that makes play fun!
I have tried many SH rpg?s over the years and was looking for a fun, rules light and action heavy game.
I found it in Bash.
Making your own characters is fun and easy.
Conversion to any comic book character will be easy.
Good job guys.
Ill defiantly pick up your next product and join the Yahoo group.
Well worth the price


LIKED: Easy to use and play.

DISLIKED: nothing very happy

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thanks a lot, Dan. We are always glad to make new fans! You can look forward to our next product soon, Megapolis: A City of Supers! We are also on the lookout for creative gamers to submit their characters to us to include in our book. Those entries that are chosen will have their character published in our next book and their name in the credits!
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes
by Jeffrey M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2005 00:00:00
I ran this game for my group this past weekend. Overall we were very pleased with the system. Character creation is easy and quick. The game system was easy to teach to my players and we were off and running in minutes.

This game is Supers-Lite. It is a 51 page PDF download, but it's split 50/50 between a print friendly version and a version with illustrations (all black and white). So there's only about 25 pages of real content.

The Basic Action System uses a few 6 sided dice and it works. I had not played a system like it before, but it is well suited to the genre. Overall characters seem well balanced.

The orginization of the content isn't very intuitive, but a GM who is experienced in reading RPG rules will have no problem finding what they need or filling in the holes.

If you are looking for a quick Supers game to fill a Saturday night one-shot, give this a try.


LIKED: Good selection of powers and options.
Rules-Lite but not dumbed down or watered down.
Quick read and easy to grasp. Easy to convert from the written word to the table-top. Very playable.

DISLIKED: Coloring on the cover was spotty, amaturish... may push some readers away.
Some rules-holes need to be filled in by an the gaming group.


QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your kind words. We plan on releasing more modules for the system that will also include the core rules. We encourage customers to write us with suggestions for new powers, skills, and advantages as well as rules they would like to see in future incarnations of the game. This is a system that is made to be built upon, and we plan to include our customers in the building process. You can look forward to a new and improved edition of the rules that will address these holes to be included in our next module. Please note, anybody who buys these rules will recieve a 3 dollar discount on their next BASH product!
Displaying 76 to 87 (of 87 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG