RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
PO-1 The Stolen Child
PO-1 The Stolen Child
Pay What You Want









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Betabunny's Guide To Familiars
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2009 01:17:54
I was looking for some rules for Familiars since a number of classes can have them. This book is full of rules. Some are restrictive - only one Familiar at a time and only of a certain size. Others are very empowering - Familiars' powers increase along with their masters'. There are more rules here than I dreamt possible. Some I'll use and some I'll ignore. But if you want to use your Familiar as more than a prop then you'll get some good ideas from this package.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Betabunny's Guide To Familiars
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Bestiary: Predators
by Edwin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2009 19:51:14
This is an excellent product. The selection of creatures is fantastic, and it is fairly easy to find mundane challenges for a party. My players now post watches EVERY time they stop to rest in my campaign.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Bestiary: Predators
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Bestiary: Bears
by Davin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2008 19:48:49
Waste of time. The difference between species of bear is minimal when expressed through d20 stats.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Bestiary: Bears
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Bestiary: Predators
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2008 06:36:22
Delightful & informative (and I'm something of a zoologist already). Seemingly well-researched. Additionally, the stats given keep in line with the official SRD material. This is the sort of real-world-animals-in-game-terms data that should be mandatory for any rpg. I lament that this publisher has not done a similar treatment of prey species.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Bestiary: Predators
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Apes of Nature, Myth, & the Imagination
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2007 09:58:18
Good book it certainly covers the topic at hand very well. I've been a fan of apes related fiction as long as i can recall (kong, mighty joe young, planet of the apes) and this book easily draws on the appeal for the topic I have and adds to it. Lots of entertaining and useful write-ups on a variety of apes.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Apes of Nature, Myth, & the Imagination
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Bestiary: Predators
by Jack M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2007 15:35:25
This book does a great job of making animals more feaarful for my PC's. It does this and at the same time makes a real world animal's D20 statis more realistic. A great job.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Bestiary: Predators
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Betabunny's Guide To Familiars
by Debra L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2007 17:11:56
This is a comprehensive guide to familiars dealing with everything from core rules explanations about having a familiar to dismissing one and what happens when a spellcaster loses a level. The book itself is 39 pages long (including covers, title page, index, and the open gaming license). The text is broken into seven sections with two appendices.

I found some of the material in the beginning sections to be duplicative of information found in the Core Rulebooks. However, However, having all the information in one source does make it a lot easier to access. Furthermore it includes such gems as rules clarifications, supplemental rules and house rules.

There are new rules for assigning behavior traits to familiars. There are new feats including one that allows a spellcaster to obtain an additional familiar and one that allows you to obtain an undead familiar. There are 9 new spells but only one new example of a familiar--a white-headed capuchin. Adding a couple of additional familiars would have been much nicer.

Appendix B was probably the weakest part of this product since it included 1. the step-by-step rules for disarming and sundering, and 2. rules for "breaking and entering. " Unfortunately, neither section was related in any way to familiars.

The artwork was limited and there were large several blank columns in the product. I would have preferred a shorter product with no blank columns or to have the columns filled with more useful information. A few pieces of art were of very low quality.

Overall, this product will be more useful to a completist rather than someone looking for a lot of new information.

While I enjoyed reading Betabunny's Guide to Familiars, I feel that it just wasn't

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Betabunny's Guide To Familiars
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Hi Debra, Thanks for the review. I wanted to respond to one point you made. You mentioned that Appendix B provided rules for disarming, sundering etc. and that these were not related to familiars. However, if you refer to the section on familiars in combat, sunder and disarm are used to attack a carried or concealed familiar. Cheers, Sean
The Bestiary: Predators
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2007 20:47:55
Entertainingly written, comprehensive and useful. Ther eis a host of predatory beasts of the natural world covered herein. Plenty of information to incorporate the various beasts in ones campaigns are given wether as goals, foils or challenges.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Bestiary: Predators
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Bestiary: Predators
by David M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2007 08:29:58
¡Este suplemento es fantastico! Incluye muchisima información sobre depredadores reales (y también alguno de fantasía), con unas bellas ilustraciones y escala comparativa con mediano y humano medio. Esta dividido en varias secciones: Mamiferos, Aves, Reptiles y Marinos. Hay gran cantidad de información e incluye variaciones para la gran cantidad de especies. Está claro que no puede incluir a todos, pero los que tiene no te decepcionarán. Escrito completamente en inglés.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Betabunny's Guide To Familiars
by David M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2007 08:21:46
Bonito suplemento para cualquier mago o hechicero que quiera saber más sobre los familiares y nuevas opciones. Esta acompañado por dibujos e información sobre estos, además de algunos conjuros y material relacionado. ¡No tiene desperdio!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Betabunny's Guide To Familiars
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Apes of Nature, Myth, & the Imagination
by David M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2007 08:04:57
Este bestiario sobre simios contiene mucho material interesante, tanto especies reales como otras imaginarias, acompañado por ilustraciones de algunos como por escalas. Esta escrito completamente en inglés. Muy recomendable si quieres incluir en tu campaña a nuestros primos lejanos.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Apes of Nature, Myth, & the Imagination
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Apes of Nature, Myth, & the Imagination
by Shane O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/28/2007 00:00:00
Apes of Nature, Myth, & the Imagination is a sourcebook from Betabunny Publishing. The zipped file is just over two and a half megabytes in size, and contains a single PDF file. The PDF is sixty-six pages long, with two pages for the covers, one for the credits/legal, and one for the OGL. The product has full bookmarks.

Apes is a book with quite a few pieces of artwork. While the only full color art is the cover (the small interior globe showing the location of Skull Island notwithstanding), black and white art is fairly replete, from illustrations of various apes to charts comparing height. The lack of a printer-friendly version shouldn't be too bad, as the only page borders are very thin lines around the top and sides of each page, but for some people it may be an issue.

Taking a slightly different turn from Betabunny's previous release, Apes deals with apes of, well?nature, and myth, and the imagination. To be slightly more clear, the book covers apes that still (or used to) exist in the real world, apes that people once thought existed but never did, and fictitious breeds of apes from various forms of media. Make no mistake though, this is far more than a mere book of monsters.

The first section covers mythological apes, which never existed but were believed to back in ancient times. Here is where we first note that Betabunny is still using the fantastic format laid down in The Bestiary: Predators, where they list various non-mechanical statistics, such as climate, lifespan, behavior, reproduction, and much more, all in addition to game stats. Numerous sidebars pop up immediately, with everything from quotes by Pliny the Elder to notations on the mythological satyr. All of this is in addition to the game stats given.

The second section covers apes that do (or once did) exist in the real world. A number of apes are covered in the same detail, and the sidebars continue to remain useful in unexpected ways (such as rules for powdered dragon bones).

The third section deals with fictitious apes. From dire apes to apes from Mars to sentient species of apes, quite a few crazy monkeys are given here. Many of them also have stats given for playing them as a PC race, since quite a few of these apes are sentient. A new ape deity, Nzumi, is also given. The detail presented for this new god is exemplary, as it gives the usual information you'd expect for a deity (divine rank, portfolio, alignment, etc.), plus notations on his dogma, herald and allies, afterlife, godly realm, and more. Full stats are given for the ape god, as well as a Challenge Rating (which is unusual for deities).

The fourth section is devoted to the most famous of all apes, King Kong. The phenomenon of King Kong is discussed first, before two different versions are given. The first is the twenty foot-tall version from the original story, while the second is the one hundred fifty-foot monstrosity that battled Godzilla to a standstill. A sidebar even covers miracle berries.

A number of appendices close out the book. Notes are given for using various apes as animal companions or familiars. A new clerical domain and two new spells are presented. New and revised skills, feats, and special abilities with animals in mind are presented, as well as the formatting for reading the various creature entries. An index for the product is given, along with a list of suggested further reading on ape-related matters. Finally, the book ends with an index of what apes are on what pages, and a list of apes by CR.

Even a casual perusal of this book shows that Betabunny Publishing went beyond the extra mile in writing it, which is what we've come to expect from them. The stats are solid, the extra information interesting, and the presentation is superb. While there are minor issues such as the lack of a printer-friendly version, this book is one that is put together so well that you can't help but forget about the very minor flaws. Whether you want to make a monkey out of your players, or just drive them ape, Apes of Nature, Myth, & the Imagination is the book for you.



LIKED: This product presented an overload of interesting information, from the real-world information of its apes (even for the fictitious and mythological ones) to the sidebars replete with bonus goodies.

DISLIKED: While this is a minor issue, a printer-friendly version of the product would have been slightly helpful.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the excellent review! I'm glad you enjoyed the product. Sean P.S. I have posted a printer-friendly version of the products cover page on our web site at http://www.betabunny.com/apes/files/printer_friendly_cover.pdf
The Bestiary: Predators
by Daniel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2007 00:00:00
This animals sourcebook is really good! As a DM, I find it serves in a previously-lacking place in d20 -- animals havent really been seriously covered until this book series came out. It succeeds in completely filling a niche in the d20 system that was missing. Taken with the upcoming additions to the series, this series will cover most of the animal kingdom known on planet Earth that is relevant in a d20 game. Why is this good for DMs? Well, it allows us to inject more realism into our d20 gameworlds. It seems gameworlds have been lacking realistic animal-life, be they friendly, neutral, or foe. Actually having the full stats and superbly researched info for any Earth animal is really useful.

I tried it out in my own game session. Inserting real-world animal encounters into the d20 game DOES make the gameworld seem more realistic and believable to the players. I had my players get attacked by a believable boa-constrictor snake. After almost getting killed, my players decided to eat the snake (it was pretty large). In this book it actually describes what the snake meat tastes like, as well as what properties the snake meat has (snake meat has healing properties). If your players decide to skin it and sell the meat, it gives coin values for that.

This sourcebook about animals has so much good information in it that it will serve as my primary source for animal encounters in D&D. Awesome book!

This is a very good book and any serious DM should not miss out on this series. I can tell you right now that I will be buying the entire series.

So I am very happy with this purchase.


LIKED: Great real-world research into animals resulted in superb statistics and impressive animal descriptions. This book series is the best animal resource for d20 ever created. And the "Bestiary: Predators" is merely the first book in the series. I am very excited about the next books in the series, due to come out sometime soon. Check out their website and look into what else they are planning. Its great stuff.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Bestiary: Predators
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Bestiary: Predators
by Derek H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2007 00:00:00
An excellent work covering many different species. It isn't the stat blocks that make it so useful, but rather all the other information.

A must for those DMs who want realistic animals in their settings.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG