RPGNow.com
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Age of Undying [DCC]
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2016 19:38:27

This is perhaps one of the rarest of game products--something which truly brings something new to the table. In the more than 30 years I've been buying RPG products, I've seen the same ideas and themes recycled over and over again (not that there's necessarily anything wrong with that, as long as it's done well), and it's fairly rare these days for me to stumble upon something really unique. This product is--it's wonderfully quirky, and even if you don't want to make full use of it (which would radically change an existing campaign setting), there's certainly an idea or two worth borrowing which makes it worth the purchase price.

As the description reads, this product introduces a new set of rules that can be added to a DCC campaign in order to dramatically change the very notion of life and death. The author notes that the idea came about when a cleric in his Crawljammer campaign destroyed a precious artifact with the express purpose of tearing down the veil between life and death in accordance with a cryptic message from his deity. This took the whole table by surprise, and the author generated these rules to explain what happened next. In short, under these rules characters no longer really die as they normally would--you can track hit points if you wish, but they don't really mean anything anymore. Your character's soul can continue to occupy its body, its shell, as long as it is largely intact. Only severe damage (beheading, being cut in half, etc.) will force you to flee your ruined flesh.

Even then, you're not finished! Your soul can attempt to steal another body, probably by seizing it from its current owner, forcing this hapless individual to lie dormant in some remote corner of the brain while you pilot the body. But beware of attemting to possess a body which already has two souls like this; the presence of the third will force all three souls to merge into a psychotic killing machine!

Needless to say, this massive change also brings a number of additional alterations as well--critical hits become more deadly, spell effects change, etc. However, traditional undead still exist (if they were created before the Age of Undying is ushered in, for example), though new forms of "undying" golem-like monsters can be created via "Stitchermen," (which a PC Technomancer could become).

Finally, as noted above with the Technomancer comment, the author of this book also wrote the excellent Crawljammer magazines, so classes from that setting are supported as well by the new rules.

In short, this is a supplement loaded with creative and off-the-wall ideas that an enterprising game master can make good use of, though it will radically change your campaign! However, as the author notes, the Age of Undying could be reversed, so it could be used temporarily if one of your PCs does something drastic like shatter a priceless artifact...it's always good for a game master to have an idea like this handy when such recklessness occurs!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Age of Undying [DCC]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crawljammer zine no. 1
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2015 04:45:44

After playing in a few DCC events with Tim and becoming introduced to his Crawljammer 'zine I immediately purchased the entire collection. The introduction of space battles, crazy techno-mages, fly-people (yes, humanoid fly men!) my eyes were opened to a whole new dimension in space fantasy RPG-ing in the DCC brand.

I enjoy the zany-ness of the DCC game and with Tim's expansion I see new opportunities opening up for gameplay. I encourage anyone that enjoys the fun they have already discovered...to download and try out the Crawljammer 'zines. The dedication to fun, tounge in cheek style and creativity will warm the cockles of your heart...enjoy!

Rating: [5 of 5 Stars!]



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crawljammer zine no. 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crawljammer zine no. 2
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2015 04:45:13

After playing in a few DCC events with Tim and becoming introduced to his Crawljammer 'zine I immediately purchased the entire collection. The introduction of space battles, crazy techno-mages, fly-people (yes, humanoid fly men!) my eyes were opened to a whole new dimension in space fantasy RPG-ing in the DCC brand.

I enjoy the zany-ness of the DCC game and with Tim's expansion I see new opportunities opening up for gameplay. I encourage anyone that enjoys the fun they have already discovered...to download and try out the Crawljammer 'zines. The dedication to fun, tounge in cheek style and creativity will warm the cockles of your heart...enjoy!

Rating: [5 of 5 Stars!]



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crawljammer zine no. 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crawljammer zine no. 3
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2015 04:44:36

After playing in a few DCC events with Tim and becoming introduced to his Crawljammer 'zine I immediately purchased the entire collection. The introduction of space battles, crazy techno-mages, fly-people (yes, humanoid fly men!) my eyes were opened to a whole new dimension in space fantasy RPG-ing in the DCC brand.

I enjoy the zany-ness of the DCC game and with Tim's expansion I see new opportunities opening up for gameplay. I encourage anyone that enjoys the fun they have already discovered...to download and try out the Crawljammer 'zines. The dedication to fun, tounge in cheek style and creativity will warm the cockles of your heart...enjoy!

Rating: [5 of 5 Stars!]



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crawljammer zine no. 3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crawljammer zine no. 4
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2015 04:43:58

After playing in a few DCC events with Tim and becoming introduced to his Crawljammer 'zine I immediately purchased the entire collection. The introduction of space battles, crazy techno-mages, fly-people (yes, humanoid fly men!) my eyes were opened to a whole new dimension in space fantasy RPG-ing in the DCC brand.

I enjoy the zany-ness of the DCC game and with Tim's expansion I see new opportunities opening up for gameplay. I encourage anyone that enjoys the fun they have already discovered...to download and try out the Crawljammer 'zines. The dedication to fun, tounge in cheek style and creativity will warm the cockles of your heart...enjoy!

Rating: [5 of 5 Stars!]



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crawljammer zine no. 4
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crawljammer zine no. 5
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2015 04:42:56

After playing in a few DCC events with Tim and becoming introduced to his Crawljammer 'zine I immediately purchased the entire collection. The introduction of space battles, crazy techno-mages, fly-people (yes, humanoid fly men!) my eyes were opened to a whole new dimension in space fantasy RPG-ing in the DCC brand.

I enjoy the zany-ness of the DCC game and with Tim's expansion I see new opportunities opening up for gameplay. I encourage anyone that enjoys the fun they have already discovered...to download and try out the Crawljammer 'zines. The dedication to fun, tounge in cheek style and creativity will warm the cockles of your heart...enjoy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crawljammer zine no. 5
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crawljammer zine no. 2
by Darrick D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2014 15:17:50

I found issue #2 to be just as awesome as #1. Instead of an introduction to sword & planet adventuring, this is filled with tasty tidbits that GMs should have at their fingertips.

You get a random table for strange space encounters - 1/16th chance per day of space travel?!? Why not 1 in 6? For the 1d7 results, I say just roll 1d8 and if you hit an 8, roll twice.

There's a small assortment of new spells. Nothing reached out and grabbed me, but I appreciated their inclusion.

We have an assortment of vagabonds and cocktails found at the space bar known as Hail Bob's. Very nice; although, the whole 3d24 and 2d24 and match the digits part of the table threw me for a loop. In fact, I tire of DCC's alienation via funky dice. Not just because of Crawljammer, the 7-sided and 14-sided dice are in all the DCC adventures. Why? I understand they're part of the game and they should feel needed but DCC is only a small segment of OSR gamers. Why potentially limit your audience by alienating non-DCC players? Anyways, rant over.

The artwork is also pretty decent and usually amusing.

Best of all are the Technomancer character class and short adventure called Red Planet Rendezvous! Even though the Technomancer is geared towards DCC, I think it could be usable by any OSR GM... the adventure, too.

For this low price, it's a no-brainer if you're into space-faring, sword & planet, spelljammer type campaigns. Pick it up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crawljammer zine no. 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crawljammer zine no. 1
by Darrick D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2014 07:25:05

This isn't what I expected. Crawljammer zine #1 isn't a bunch of random, badly written articles from an assortment of science-fantasy fans collected into one place.

Rather, this is a well-written, focused, and singular vision - a combo of mini OSR fantasy in space (more Space 1889 than Traveller) and sword & planet intro scenario. With this little zine, GMs can take their adventurers to new worlds or just explore the galaxy as if Gandalf, Conan, Taarna, Elric, and the Grey Mouser were meshed with Star Wars/Trek. Obviously, this just a taste... but it tastes good.

This little book is well laid out and adorned with attractive artwork. I could have done with two or three more pieces but that's just me being nit-picky.

Also, three cheers for Cyber-Zombies, grotesque Bat-Men, and Void Ziggurats! If you have any interest in taking your Dungeon Crawl Classics or fantasy OSR campaign into space, then picking up Crawljammer is a no-brainer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crawljammer zine no. 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG