RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
Five Henchmen
Five Henchmen
Pay What You Want









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Psionics Expanded: Hidden Intentions
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2012 14:53:54
The final installment of the Psionic Expanded-pdfs is 52 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, leaving 49 pages of content, so let's check out this final installment of DSP's series!

Following the format of the series, we get a short introduction to the serialized release that is Psionics Expanded and then delve right into the new Core-class, the Cryptic. Crunch-wise, the class gets d8, 4+Int skills, 3/4 BAB-progression, up to 128 Power Points and access to up to 20 powers of to 6th level. But what are they about? Cryptics harness the hidden patterns of reality and manipulate them by having them show up as tattoos - their manifesting is harder to identify by other classes, but they can't suppress the additional manifestation of the pattern that accompanies their casting. They can use the mastery of the pattern to improve their defenses a limited amount of times per day and also gain e.g. trapfinding, trapmaking and similar roguish abilities. When the cryptic focuses, she can also disrupt the pattern of foes of a type she chooses at the time of focusing via a black ray. Cryptics, due to their insights in the patterns of reality, also get special talents called "insights", one at 2nd level and every 2 levels thereafter, of said talents a total of 26 different ones are provided, lending to quite a variety of choices. While the obvious enhancements of the ray they can shoot are there, the cryptic also gets some rather intriguing abilities that distinctly set the class apart from its brethren - one of the insights, e.g., lets the cryptic and his allies temporarily bypass traps without setting them off - now if you don't get some rather cool tactical ideas for that one, I don't know what will - imagine the dastardly trap-cluttered bases an NPC (or the players!) can easily create or a chase of a cryptic through a trap-riddled dungeon. One of the very intriguing options also halves the healing foes hit by your ray receive. Oh, have I mentioned that cryptics may fold traps into small patterns an throw them into unoccupied spaces of up to 30 ft. away or even redirect a trap's effect at foes and repair teh damage done to the pattern of allies, granting them minor healing capabilities adn at 16th level even the ability to bring back the dead. Of course, they can also opt to learn ranger traps and a whole page is devoted to them. It should also be noted that the class has not one or two, but a selection 8 different capstone abilities to choose from - now if that's not nice, what is?

After this new class, we are introduced to new options for the core psionic classes: Psions get the mindbender advanced discipline bent (haha) on enthralling and subjugating foes via Telepathy. Wilders get the new chaotic surge, which may provide power, but also weaken the wilder and prove a quite high chance of enervation, while the Efficient surging option reduces the amount of power points a power costs instead of increasing the level or augmented output. The warping surge can increase allies' caster level and decrease the one of the foes close to it.

Psionic archetypes are also part of the deal and the very first one is already a winner: If you've read my other PE-reviews, you'll know how much I loved the reimagination of the Aegis and the first archetype makes me happy indeed: The Aberrant does not use an ectopic suit, rather modifying and mutating the body into new forms - eyestalks, stingers, poison and even a protective shell are part of the 12 new customizations for this creepy archetype. The ectopic artisan on the other hand blends the powers of the shaper and artisan, manipulating ectoplasma and creating astral swarms to do his bidding at the cost of less power for the astral suit. The Trailblazer, in comparison, is rather boring - it provides 2 new customizations to reflect ranger abilities. The Cryptic gets the pattern breaker archetype which focuses on improving her ray and intimidation. The stellar Dread-class also gets a supplement, the Fear in Flesh archetype, which lets the Dread use the claw/bite powers on a more or less permanent basis and enhance these attacks to carry the powers of fear. The Marksman gets the Kaigun archetype, a kind of psionic gunslinger that has some rather interesting options, like spending power points and expending the focus to gain grit. The Shroud in contrast is a hunter focused on staying hidden while sniping. Two new psionic deeds are also included. Psions can use the new archetypes herein to throw exploding stones, access two disciplines and become better creators. Psychic Warriors get a complex archetype that uses kineticist powers and marries it with martial prowess. The Meditant can be considered a monk/psychic warrior crossover, including increased unarmed damage, while the Protector can be considered a psionic bodyguard. The Soulknife-cutthroat is gets sneak attacks and the nimble blade is rather finesse-focused. 5 talents for the soulknife let the class wilder in the rogue's territory via evasion, trapfinding etc. and a 1-page comprehensive list of weapon abilities is included for your convenience. Quite cool, the Tactician gets the battle medic archetype, which gains limited access to some of the Vitalist's tricks and the Vitalist gets the Life Leech, which can share and shift debilitating conditions, while the Miasmic delight in causing sickness rather than curing it. The combat and blasting wilders can enhance their physis via surges and chain their surge blasts respectively.

Core-classes also get psionic options: From the Enlightened Monk to the cerebral infiltrator rogue (who gets 3 new talents and 2 advanced talents to take psionic feats, powers etc.) and then there are the 15 new feats: While some of which, like "Unwilling Participant" overlap with other PE-releases, especially the "Cushion the Blow"-feats rock: As long as an individual is part of your collective, you can hamper the respective attacks on your allies to make them count as if the foe has rolled 1s on the damage dice via an immediate action and even reduce them further by expanding your focus.

After that, we get the cryptic's power-list as well as a revised vitalist-info - good to see the terminology with knacks etc. streamlined. The powers per say are top-notch and include with everyman one of my player's favorite powers ever. Special mentioning also deserve the ectoplasmatic grapnel that lest you do batman/spiderman-style moves to move enemies and objects to you and can be used in a myriad of ways - the power is longer than a page! From special hiding powers and the ability to launch across the battle-field, the new powers herein are generally well-conceived and none of them felt unbalancing.

Racial favored class options for blues, dromites, elans, half-gaints, meanads and xephs as well as human are covered for the cryptic class and we also get PrCs:

The Body Snatcher (d6, 2+Int skills per level, 6 levels, 1/2 BAB progression, 4 levels of power progression, medium will-saves) ffocuses on mind switches and may retain some sort of muscle memory and retain some of the host's capabilities - a godsend class for recurring villains or great infiltrators and they may even switch minds with their killers, thus granting them one last chance to escape death's clutches. The Soul Archer (10 levels, d10, 4+Int skills, full BAB, medium ref-save, 9 levels mind blade progression) is essentially a ranged version of the soulknife, complete with arrows that may phase through nonmagical terrain like trees, walls etc.

The 16 new psionic items are solid, and especially steampunk-fans and aficionados of victorian aestehtics will be delighted by the new enchanted monocles. Cryptics get some neat tools of the trade to enhance their own pattern-related abilities.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to DSP's printer-friendly 2-column standard and the interior artwork is full-color and both nice and coherent in style. The pdf comes fully bookmarked. After having delivered two of the best and in my opinion coolest classes for PFRPG in the last two installments, I was somewhat dreading the release of this installment. The Cryptic could have easily fallen into the bland concept of "He's a rogue psionics". I'm happy to report that that's not the case. Instead, DSP managed to create a class that is distinct and has a whole unique identity and fluff - ever wanted to create a character that can calculate terrain and use freak "accidents" and traps to his/her advantage? The Cryptic might do exactly that for you. And yes, they can fill the rogue's role, but much like the Vitalist for example, the class feels wholly distinct not only in its mechanics, but also in its fluff and strategies. I'm also delighted to report that the majority of new archetypes ROCK. If you're following my reviews, you probably know that I'm all for complex archetypes and e.g. the Aberrant and the Kaigun rock! The powers and PrCs are also nice and offer a vast array of new storytelling devices and options. In the end, I'll settle for a final verdict of 5 stars and omit the seal of approval only because I would have loved to see more options for the Cryptic and Dread-classes. (Hopefully in the compiled book?)

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Psionics Expanded: Hidden Intentions
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Psionic Bestiary: Cerebremorte and Cognition Devil
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2012 18:08:46
This pdf is 4 pages long, 1 page SRD and 1/2 page editorial, leaving 2.5 pages of content for two monsters:

The CR 8 Cerebremorte - a blackened, undead, lower jaw-less thing with a remnant of its spine wreathed in purple flames - its darkfire shaking the resolve of mortals is one of its attacks, the other being a ray that drains PSP or mental attributes.

The second creature herein is the CR 12 Cognition Devil, a being not only shrouded in an aura of deadly hellfire, but also psionically endowed to reduce mortals to their violent base instincts and desires via their psi-like abilities.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to a 2-column standard and both new creatures get their own unique piece of full-color artwork, which is nice. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length. What can I say about the two creatures apart from that they're nice, provide signature abilities, come with neat artworks and at a very fair price. While they did not blow me utterly out of the water, I enjoyed them and thus will settle for a final verdict of 4.5 stars, rounded up to 5 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Psionic Bestiary: Cerebremorte and Cognition Devil
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Psionic Bestiary: Automatons
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2012 12:42:47
This pdf is 5 pages long, 1/2 page editorial, 1 page SRD, leaving 3.5 pages of content, so let#s check this out!

This pdf provides us with 3 automata of the inevitable subtype:

The CR 4 Alpha-scouts are skilled in hunting their quarry and are preternaturally quick.
The CR 8 Betas come with broader training and an enmity-field and its defensor shield and blast batons interact in a rather cool and unique way with this signature ability.

The final automaton is the CR 14 Gamma can be considered as a specialized inevitable to hunt down psionically active individuals and is immune to psi-powers as well as capable of emitting a dispelling pulse - a nice alternative to psi-killers.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to a two-column standard and each of the inevitables herein comes with its own nice b/w-artwork. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length. The overall quality of the inevitables herein is top-notch and personally, I love the concept of them - having finally also inevitables to mercilessly police psionicists is neat indeed. Especially the cool interaction of the Beta's leech field with its equipment is nice indeed - I hope to see more of the kind in the future. On the down-side, the Alpha is not as awesome and rather mundane. But then there's the almost unbeatable price - for this low price, I think you'll definitely enjoy the file. Thus, I'll settle for a final verdict of 5 stars for this micro-bestiary.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Psionic Bestiary: Automatons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Psionics Expanded: Master the Battle
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2012 13:03:22
The fifth installment of DSP's "Psionics Expanded"-line is 45 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, leaving 42 pages of content, so let's check out what this installment has to offer!

After the by now obligatory one page of introduction, we're introduced to the new base-class of this installment, the Dread. I have to admit something here. I'm a bit biased with regards to this class. Its 3.5 predecessor, the Morphean, was one of my all-time favorite psionic classes and the PC in my Ravenloft-campaign one of the most iconic ones to ever be created. But can the new incarnation hold up to this expectation? Well, the Dread gets d8, 6+Int skills per level, proficiency with light armor, simple and martial weapons, but not shields, 3/4 BAB, good ref- and will-saves, up to 128 PSP and learn up to 20 powers of to 6th level. But that's not what they're about: The very first level provides them with a touch attack that deals 1d6 + class-levels damage against living foes by channeling FEAR. Dreads are about TERROR and harnessing powers other would consider dark, but without necessarily being evil. Every even level, they can choose from a list of so-called terrors, essentially dread talents. A Dread can use a total of class-level + cha-mod terrors per day that range from keeping enemies from retreating to gaining concealment and even striking creatures at high levels dead with fear! The obvious options like striking someone with fear, shaken them etc., are of course also covered, as are more exotic abilities like the power to gain hp when dropping foes and even drain power points and spells from the victims of the terror-attack. One of the more intriguing options is the mindlock, which enables the dread to hit the mindlocked target without fail with his touch and intimidate the target, even without line of sight. The usages of the ability and its story-telling potential is vast. Also intriguing: The option to teleport short ranges via shaken targets.

If you're thinking: "Who cares, too many foes are immune to fear." - enemies within 10 ft. of a 3rd level Dread lose that immunity! Ouch! The dread has another iconic ability available at 11th level: The Shadow Twin! Essentially, the shadow twin and the dread are one person and can flank etc. - if one is healed, so is the other, but if an area-effect hits both, only one is hit. Otherwise, detrimental and beneficial effects that affect one also affect the other. The higher the level, the farther away an the twin go. If this does not fill your head with all kinds of neat strategies, especially when combined with the fear aura and the shaken teleportation, then I don't know what will. All in all - vastly superior to the 3.5-iteration and one cool, iconic class with truly ingenious signature abilities.

Following the format of the line, we also get new options for the core psionic classes with the new soulknife archetype "Armored Blade", which replaces enhanced mind blade with the option to get a soul-armor much like the knife. The "Deadly Fist" is essentially a soulknife-monk channeling his powers into his unarmed strikes, while the "Shielded Blade" gets a mind shield. With 34 new blade skills to choose from, the soulknife can be considered a definite winner of this pdf and is developing into one rather versatile class - from additional stored soulknife configuration at your beck and call to absorbing lesser powers and spells by expending the psionic focus, imposing penalties instead of damage on foes and even several blade skills for the archetypes, this selection is guaranteed to be enjoyed by fans of the class. Psychich Warriors also get new material: The agile Dervish and Interceptor paths, while wilders get the new Pain surge.
The fighter gets a new archetype, the psionic fighter, who gets access to psionic feats. A bit wonky, though, as to take psionic feats, one needs PSP or the ability to manifest powers.

EDIT: The archetype GETS Wild Talent as a bonus feat. My bad. BUT: The bookmark for the archetype, at least in my version of the pdf, doesn't work.

After that, we are introduced to 39 new feats, of which a significant selection deals with advanced version of psychic warrior paths and options to enhance the usability of the new Dread-class via e.g. "Broken Dreams Style", which lets you deliver your wracking touch attack via unarmed attacks - neat and oh so painful for your foes! Psionic improved versions of several combat maneuvers like shield bash, trip etc. also ensure that your psionic fighting character won't be restricted to bashing at the foes via regular attacks.

The section on new powers includes a new descriptor, the [Trigger] - powers with that descriptor go off once a specific set of criteria is met. After full power-lists for Dread, Gifted Blade, Psychic Warrior, Marksman and similar classes, we are introduced to a total of 44 powers, which range from a temporary banishment of the subconscious to overloading a foes senses with sensorial cascades to swapping positions with the next foe you hit with a melee attack. Many of the powers gain additional benefits and cool second effects depending on the triggers. I love the descriptor and frankly, I think that more powers/spells should provide tactical options like this. While there are some powers I can recall from other PE-installments, the majority is new and more importantly: Exciting.

Racial favored class-benefits for the Dread are covered next for 2 psionic races from PU and 3 Core-races.

This installment provides us with 2 PrCs, the "Adaptive Blade" (10 levels, d10, 2+Int skills, )/10 manifester-progression, good BAB, medium fort-and ref-saves) is truly intriguing - being able to analyze foes while focused, they can not only find holes in the fighting styles of their adversaries, but also mimic skills, proficiencies, block attacks, mimic feats etc., making this the first truly interesting super-analyst defensive fighting-PrC I've so far read for PFRPG. And we know the type from literature and personally, I love it! The Second PrC, the "Telekinetic Weaponmaster" is only 5 levels long, comes with d10, 2+Int skills, 4/5 manifester-progression, medium ref-saves, good BAB and the ability to add telekinetic reach to his weapons, throw them, block attacks via force and, at the peak of its mastery, telekinetically wield a weapon in addition to his own and make improved telekinetic whirlwinds!

Finally, the pdf provides us with a new psionic weapon quality as well 5 new crystalline focus items.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are good, though not perfect: I noticed an instance of a superfluous "x" as well as the lacking information in the archetype. Layout adheres to a beautiful full-color 2-column standard that remains printer-friendly and artworks present a concise style. This pdf is on par with its predecessor in that it is a must-have - the new class is stellar, the PrCs rock, the descriptor is genius and all the feats and new tools for soulknives are awesome as well. In fact, I loved just about everything herein apart from the few glitches and will thus settle for a final verdict of 4.5 stars - as soon as they've been taken care of, I'll gladly round up to 5 and add my seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Psionics Expanded: Master the Battle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Psionics Expanded: Unlimited Possibilities
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2012 06:11:37
This pdf is 45 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, leaving 42 pages of content - so far the best bang-for-buck ratio in the series, so let's check this out!

After the by now obligatory introduction-page, we are introduced to the new Aegis-base-class. The Aegis gets d10, 4+Int skills per level, proficiency with simple and martial weapons, light armor and shields, up to 70 PSP, full BAB, good fort-and will-saves and up to 26 customization points. What is the Aegis? Essentially, the Aegis is a tank-class that is similar to the soulknife in that it takes psionic powers to construct something, in the Aegis' case, a custom suit of armor. The astral suit can be customized via a vast variety of customization options that include extra arms, wings, adhesive feet and similar goodies. Sounds familiar? Yeah, the closest analogy I can come up with is being a fighter who pilots his own, mindless eidolon, but without needing to play two characters. The Aegis' suit also grants improving DR, can be customized faster at higher levels etc. Sounds like a cool, balanced class? Yep, it is. Nothing to complain about. Great customization-options, versatility, iconic imagery, cool artwork.

Two psionic disciplines are introduced as per the other pdfs - this time, though, they are slightly more complex: The Maestro is an expert in astral constructs and can construct astral swarms instead (CR 7, statblock provided). The erudite-discipline offers us the options to manifest a minor amount of powers sans paying the power point cost when being focused.
The soulknife gets the gifted blade archetype, who can also manifest a limited amount of powers, 7 total of up to 4th level (this time, the power list is included in the pdf). The pdf also includes 3 new blade skills. This installment of PE also includes 28 new feats for your perusal that range from improved advanced constructs and include a massive slew of metapsionic feats that include dealing subdual damage and similar effects. From elemental effects to the ability to exclude allies from your area-effect powers, the selection is rather useful for aspiring manifesters, especially due to the inclusion of feats that let you dip into psionic powers without belonging to the psionic classes.

The new powers include the now (with the advent of rogue talents) unfortunately-named talents, which essentially are a psion's cantrips and include information on how to implement them in your game for the different classes. More interesting, knowing certain 1st level powers grant access to certain talents - a smart method of rewarding smart choices.23 powers are included, some of which overlap or are talent-versions of 1st-level powers. The classes from PU get a very detailed treatment in this installment - alternate racial traits and favored class options are included for them and favored class options for the core-races are part of the deal as well. That's not where the trait-extravaganza ends, though - psionic traits for psionically active characters and non-psions are introduced as well as psionic traits specifically designed for the PU-races. Commendable and always cool to see extensive support for new content.

In contrast to the other PE-releases so far, this one actually contains two new PrCs instead of one. The first one is the Metaforge (d10, 4+Int skills per level, full manifester progression, full BAB, medium will-save), a variant that enables access to an Aegis' suit and a soulknife - very cool psionic knight! The second is the Psicrystal Imprinter (d6, 2+Int skills per level, bad BAB, medium will-save, 9 levels of manifester-progression) on the other hand is a specialist who manages to imprint and store powers in his psicrystal. Interesting PrC with regards to crunch, but I'm a bit torn about the classes iconicity. Apart from that, nothing to complain about with these PrCs.

The pdf closes by providing 5 new psionic items, including boots that grant/improve the nomad's step ability. Neat items, nothing to complain here either.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch this time around, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to the 2-column standard and the artwork is mostly b/w and again, inconsistent in style - the aegis is by far the best piece of artwork herein. The pdf is fully bookmarked. Of all the pdfs from the PE-line, this one not only provides the best bang-for-buck-ratio, but also includes the best base-class in terms of design and iconicity. The Aegis is iconic and, while not subtle, very cool and something that has not been done before. The rest of the content, including the archetype, is up to the standard and no botches in design would detract from the content. Add to that the talents, traits and the very cool Metaforge-PrC and, apart from the inconsistent art-styles, I have nothing to truly complain about. Thus, I'll settle for a final verdict of 5 stars - well done.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Psionics Expanded: Unlimited Possibilities
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Psionics Expanded: Pawns and Powers
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2012 04:58:02
This pdf is 33 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, leaving a whopping 30 pages of content, so let's dive in!

After the by-now obligatory introduction to the series and basic concepts, we are introduced to the new base-class, the Tactician. The class gets d8, 4+Int skills per level, medium BAB, good will-save, up to 343 PSP and access to 20 powers of up to 9th level. The Tactician utilizes a similar mechanic as the Vitalist in that the class designates members of a collective who then benefit from the abilities and powers of the class. Where the vitalist focused primarily on healing/support, the tactician's focus is on coordinating allies, granting them bonuses and providing help with so-called strategies, which essentially are talents for the class. 12 strategies are provided. That's not where the lass stops, though: Much like the Inquisitor, 6th-level tacticians get a teamwork feat and are better at using it. However, they can essentially change their teamwork feats via a paltry hour of meditation - all of them, not just the latest. While he does not get solo-tactics, this ability essentially grants him a multiple selection of ALL Teamwork-feats in one.

I don't like that. One bit. The most interesting ability of the Tactician, though, at least for me, is that starting at 8th level, they may echo spells and powers cast on members of their collective for a cost in PSP. If you're already thinking about how broken this ability is by my description, fret not, for actually there are a number of restrictions on this supernatural ability that make it actually work at the table without unhinging your game.

Following the format of the Psionics Expanded pdfs, this one also features more crunchy bits for the psionic base-classes, to be precise the Insight and Jaunting disciplines for the psion and the new Gladiator Psychic Warrior path. Especially the latter is rather bland, though. To make up for that minor shortcoming, psychic warriors gain the new Traceur-archetype, a fighter centered on agility, movement and acrobatics. A valid and interesting choice for those of you who would love to make a swashbuckling psychic warrior...after all, up the walls is twice as cool when you use it to run up to a chandelier and let it crash down.

8 feats are included in the deal, most of which expand upon the collective. There are some overlaps with the other Psionics Expanded-books here. The new powers are prefaced by a complete powers-list for the Tactician, as well as lists that denote the place of the new powers on the grid for the psionic core-classes. If I haven't miscounted, you'll get 33 new powers from this pdf, including, again, some overlap with "Mind over Body" - "brutalize wounds", one of my favorites, is included in this pdf as well. It should also be noted that there's a variety of "Distract" included in the count and some others like "Conceal thoughts" as well, which have been modified. It should be noted that there are several powers included that share the [Network]-descriptor, just like for the vitalist. The tactician offers the more compelling usages of [Network]-powers, though - via combinations of character strengths and weaknesses, plain old buffs and repositioning allies, the powers and class offer a neat array of options to strategically help your allies and pool their strengths.

In contrast to the first two PE-pdfs, this one also includes favored racial class options for the tactician-class for both the PU-races and the core-races.

This installment's PrC is the sighted seeker, who gets d8, 6+Int skills per level, medium BAB, medium ref-and will-saves and minor (up to 86) PSP, access to powers of up to 4th level and can learn 12 powers from the sighted seeker powers-list...which is now part of the deal. This is very good, as the PrC ROCKS incredibly hard - essentially, the sighted seeker is an urban ranger with clairsentient powers and superhuman analyzing abilities. The only way that could have made this PrC even cooler, would be synergy with SGG's stellar Investigator-class (which admittedly had not yet been released when this pdf came out).

Finally, we get a headband that can mindlink a bunch of people.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good - while I did not notice any major glitches. Layout adheres to the two-column standard and the full-color artworks are, for the first time in PE, consistent in quality and rock. Their unified style lends a sense of wholeness to the installment that has been absent from the first two. The pdf comes fully bookmarked.

In contrast to the first two PE-books, I have nothing major to complain about with regards to the base-class apart from it being slightly more linear in its abilities than I personally prefer. However, the overlapping of content is a minor downer. Content-wise, this is my favorite of the first 3 PE-books, but in execution I'll have to detract stars for the lack of bookmarks and the missing list as well as for some balancing concerns. I'm also not entirely sure how the class holds up when directly compared to Tactical Archetypes, the War Master from SGG or similar classes and soon will know more about that, as a player of mine wants to play a tactician. I'll keep you updated. In the end, I'll settle for a final verdict of 4.5 stars, rounded down to 4.
Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Psionics Expanded: Pawns and Powers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Psionics Expanded: Mind Over Body
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2012 04:56:21
This pdf is 25 pages long, 1page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, leaving 22 pages of content, so let's check out what we get this time around!

After a short introduction to the concepts at hand, this pdf kicks off with the new Vitalist-base class: The vitalist gets d6, 2+Int skills per level, bad BAB, good fort and will-saves and up to 343 PSP and access to 11 powers of up to 9th level. Vitalists are interesting in that they may forma collective between willing individuals and redistribute/divide up healing effects. Thus, if you for example heal 18 points of damage, your vitalist may redirect (your willingness provided) e.g. 5 to himself and 6 to another of your comrades, leaving you with 7 HP healed. The vitalist also learns from a selection of 6 knacks with which to inflict negative effects on his foes. More importantly, the vitalist may transfer wounds from his allies to himself and suffer the transferred damage as subdual damage. At higher levels, the allies of the vitalist can request healing and receive it without using up the vitalist's actions via telepathy.

3 different methods are detailed, which essentially constitute bloodline-like sub-professions. The Guardian (2 additional knacks) centers on keeping his allies from being harmed, the mender (1 additional knack) improves healing capabilities and the soulthief gets 2 soulthief talents, which is a bit confusing - while vitalists get knacks and knacks essentially ARE talents, the name should stay consistent to avoid confusion. Soulthieves focus on transferring the wounds to their foes and leeching HP from foes subjected to their offensive powers. The methods are all quite detailed and provide different abilities and cap-stone abilities for the class, which is nice to see.

Next up is more support for the base-classes, starting with the Transmogrifist discipline for the Psion, the Infiltrator and Survivor paths for the psychic warrior. I have a problem with the survivor path: It uses "Mettle"(Ex). If you expend your focus, you're treated as having the ability until the next round. Mettle always was and still is broken. It's essentially evasion (and at later levels, improved evasion) for fort- and will-saves combined. SICK. Ever since the introduction of this ability in 3.0, I HATED it. Let it die. Even the limited access to the ability, which somehow balances it, does not make this a good design choice. Just my 2 cents, though. Wilders can now use healing and raging surges.

After that, we get 9 new psionic feats, most of which deal with expanding the options available to vitalists via their collectives/method-abilities.

The new powers-section of the pdf is prefaced by the vitalist's power-list (as well as extensions for psions/wilders and psychic warriors) and includes 17 new powers. And boy, what powers! Some of my group's psion's favorite powers from 3.5 are included - from the awesome buff "battle-sense" to the curse-like compulsion "brutalize wounds" and the last-resort save "deferred fatality", these powers are excellent. Seriously, they include some of the most innovative and iconic powers.

The pdf also includes a new PrC, the Metamorph (d8, 2+Int skills per level, medium BAB, medium fort-save, 9 levels of manifester-progression), which is centered on manifesting metamorphosis-powers. Surprise. They get 7 additional menu choices to choose from when using respective powers and may even modify their changes on the fly. While the PrC is rather linear and usually, I don't like PrCs that are too tightly focused, I actually love this particular one. With one catch: The artwork for it is downright horrendous and features an obviously evil lady grinning a shark's grin. She does not look cool or threatening. She looks stupid. The class deserves better.

Seeing that Psychometabolism is the focus of this pdf, the grafting special quality for items should come as no surprise. And come on, who doesn't consider equipment temporarily fusing with you cool? The gloves of the beast, which grant you natural claw attacks and the mender's vestments, which improve a vitalist's ability to transfer wounds make for the final bits of content we get in this installment.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are quite good, though not perfect - soulthief talents, e.g., should be renamed knacks. Layout adheres to a 2-column standard that is easy to print out. The artworks follow no consistent direction and I hope that in the final book, we get one coherent style, preferably not the one of lady shark-grin. The pdf features extensive bookmarks. I'll come right out and say it. I don't like the vitalist. There. I don't think psions should be able to heal others. The transferring wounds-trope fits, at least in my book, better with shamans and mystics than with adepts of the mental arts. That being said, the class is actually well-constructed: While not as efficient a healer as divine casters, their ability to split healing and heal allies without using their own actions is innovative and should lead to the class being appreciated in game while avoiding the heal-bot trap. Design-wise, this class is smart. However: I would have loved to see some clarification on whether e.g. a summoner's eidolon or similar being (familiars) constitute one member of the collective (and thus take up a slot) or are members by proxy. The material herein is very much geared towards the supportive psion and thus I was rather surprised to not see an adaption of the 3.5-power Sudden Shield, especially for the Guardian as a knack, a special kind of shield would have been cool - and more balanced than the 3.5 sudden shield and its greater variant.

The powers within, as already mentioned, are excellent and the feats are ok - IF you're looking for more options for the vitalist. If you're not intrigued by the class, you won't be able to use most of them. The PrC is excellent, though the artwork is...well, I'll stop my rant.

How do I rate this, then? For me, personally, this pdf was a dud. I don't like the concept of the Vitalist. However, in a world without clerics like the Third Dawn setting, the class SHINES and if you're sick and tired of healers having to be a heal-bot, this might very well be a godsend. The design per se is excellent (and probably better than for most divine healing classes) and feels quite different from the standard divine healer-tropes. The additional content is more tightly geared towards the new base-class than in "Find the Mark" and, while I would have preferred a larger selection of powers for the vitalist, I get the design-rationale. How to rate this, then? In spite of disliking the concept of the base-class, I like its execution and while there are some rough edges here and there, the overall content of this installment of Psionics Expanded is quite well-written. Not as consistent or generally useful as in "Find the Mark", though. If you look at this pdf as a class-book, I'd recommend it to you as a 3.5 or even 4-star file. If you're rather looking for some additional options for other classes, this might be less useful, but is still worth the low asking price. My final verdict will thus be 3.5 stars, rounded down to 3.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Psionics Expanded: Mind Over Body
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Psionics Expanded: Find the Mark
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2012 04:52:33
This first part of the "Psionics Expanded"-series/book is 29 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, leaving 26 pages, so what exactly do we get?

After the introduction to the material at hand, we are introduced to the update of one of my favorite 3.5-base-classes, the Marksman. Being a specialist psionic ranged fighter, the marksman gets d10, 4+Int skills per level, proficiency with most ranged weapons and light armor, full BAB, good ref and will-saves, up to 70 PSP and access to up to 4th level powers. Depending on your own preference, your marksman will choose from a style of ranged weapons that include bows, crossbows, thrown weapons and spears. Over the course of the marksman's 20 levels, they get access to respective style talents that enable them to rain vast amounts of arrows down on their foes or become the quintessential sniper. While I do love the individual styles in their iconicity, I can't help but feel that they are restricting in that, once chosen, no array of powers or talents is provided to choose from, making the class distinctly more linear than it ought to be.

After this new base-class, we take a closer look some new options for the psionic core-classes - psychokinticists can now focus on telekinetically pummeling foes, a new psychic warrior path is provided to make them archers and soulknives can now become soulbolts via a complex archetype that enables them to use a ranged form of their iconic trademark weapon. In order to offset some balancing concerns you might have, the soulbolt loses access to several blade skills of the soulknives, but can choose from 10 new blade skills.

16 new psionic feats are included in the deal as well and at first, I was rather stupefied by some of them: (Greater) Intuitive shot and Deadly Throw let you add your Wis and Dex-bonuses to damage with your ranged attacks as long as you're focused. While the usefulness of these feats is somewhat diminished by working only within 30 ft., they still are wide open to abuse and personally, I'm wary of them. On the better side, there's also a feat that lets you have your weapon return to you after being thrown and if you expend your focus, the weapons immediately return, enabling you to potentially make a full attack with one thrown weapon. Oh, and there's a feat with concise rules for riccochet-attacks. Which rocks.

The last major section of the pdf is taken up by new powers and kicks off with the respective power-lists, including the new list for the marksman and most of them rock, as they expand upon class-abilities and in some cases, are even reliant on them, resulting in a set of rather complex connections and a feeling of organic wholeness that links the options provided by class-features with those provided by powers.

In case you're looking for a new PrC, the Mystic Archer might be what you've been looking for: The class spans 7 levels, gets d10, good BAB, good ref and will-saves, 2 + int skills per level and give life to one iconic classic of fantasy: The Blind Archer. Gaining blindsense, tremorsense and even blindsight, the ability to expand their senses and unleashing inevitable strikes (as per the power), it is hard to hide from these mystics. If you're playing in an Oriental campaign, this class makes for a great zen-archer!
5 new weapon qualities, specially suitable for ammunition and 3 new magical items round up the book.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting were very good, I didn't notice any glitches that impeded my enjoyment of the pdf. The book adheres to an easy-to-read, printer-friendly 2-column standard and the b/w-artworks ROCK. The pdf comes with extensive bookmarks. On the one hand, I love this pdf, on the other hand, I'm disappointed. Let me elaborate: Most of the crunch is expertly-crafted and I love to see the Marksman find his way to PFRPG. What I don't like, is that while Psychic Warriors, Wilders etc. all now have a wide variety of options, the Marksman is still very limited in styles to choose from and there is a distinct lack of transparency between the styles. If the approach of talents etc. would have been taken and more options provided, the class would be even better. Secondly, while I love the treatment the archetype-soulbolt got, I still would have loved to see a soulbow-PrC-class in addition to the archetype - after all, sometimes PCs want to learn certain things later in the game. That being said, my disappointment probably stems from extremely high expectations and is not entirely fair.
The (with the aforementioned notable exceptions) excellent feats provide an entertaining selection of cool new options and the new powers and magic items can be considered to be unanimously well-made. I do have another gripe, though: Where's the psionic gunslinger? Seriously! I recall an excellent psionic duelist PrC in the deepest recesses of 3.5 and now, with the release of UC, support should be included. In fact, the lack of a gun-style for the marksman is another downer for me, as I always considered Roland of Gilead a multiclass Pala/Gunslinger/Marksman-type of character. I seem to recall that Find the Mark was released before UC, but in the final book, the option of including UC-support should definitely be considered.

While the pdf is still very cheap and I guarantee you won't regret buying it, I can't bring myself to rate this higher than 3.5 stars due to the accumulation of afore-mentioned, nit-picks and gripes. Due to the low price, though, I'll round up to 4 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Psionics Expanded: Find the Mark
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

From the Deep: Uncertain Futures
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2012 13:41:57
EDIT: This review reflects the new and improved version of the adventure - Dreamscarred Press
The first part of Dreamscarred press's AP set in the all-psionic world of Ksaren is 55 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD and 1 page back cover, leaving a whopping 51 pages of content, so let's sharpen our mind's eye and check this one out!

This being an adventure review, I urge potential players to jump to the conclusion due to rampant SPOILERS.

Still here? Righty right! When the second-most powerful seer in Arbil collapses dead after a cryptic prophecy about the unraveling of future, the PCs are charged to prevent the destruction of futures as prophesized by the now-dead psionic. Thus, the pdfs are set off on a sandboxy journey through the city of Arbil and the surrounding area - after all, trade with the nearby kobold mines have all but ceased and the recent earthquake does not bode well. In Arbil and the surrounding lands, a plethora of sidequests of the fetch(kill-variety abound and make one reminiscent of e.g. Baldur's Gate 1. It should be noted, though, that the xp-rewards for these quests and throughout the whole adventure are rather massive for my tastes.

EDIT: Dreamscarred Press have gone above and beyond in revising this adventure and provided A LOT of new maps, making now each area of the adventure mapped. While the main story still feels like one among many different small and medium quests, the new maps as well as the revised fluff-boxes do a lot to do evoke a sense of immersion in a campaign world that feels distinct and different as well as organic - kudos! In the Kobold City, a minor murder mystery is set, that as presented is nothing but a series of skill-checks. While the new map makes the city easy to picture, I think the overall presentation as a series of skill-checks is somewhat detrimental to the mystery's appeal - a pity in the face of the rather neat little mystery, for the main antagonists of this adventure are puppeteers, slug-like mind-controlling parasites that make each and every defeated foe count double - saving as many as possible will have major influence on the adventures to come.

The adventure also features two dungeons, the old and the new mines, both fully mapped and especially the new mines coming with some beautiful pieces of artwork and the option to crash through the mine in a cart - very cool! EDIT: The formatting problem with the maps has been taken care of.
The final fight against a puppeteer hive brain is cool and sees the Pcs destroy a machine creating the psionics-weakening disturbance in the flow and, depending on the PC's performance, an exodus of the kobold populace to their city - very cool, as it features real consequences of the PC's deeds throughout the adventure.

/SPOILERS

Also included is information on the city of Arbil, a 4-page extensive write-up of Kobolds as a playable race and an article on Duels in the Ophidian Protectorate. It is here that the 3.5-legacy indebted to Malhavoc Press's Hyperconscious becomes readily apparent - once, the duel was a form of subcombat via Mindscapes, which was cumbersome, slowed the game to a grinding halt and was a prime example of mechanics that just don't work well. In PFRPG, these duels as a means of advancement have been streamlined and in the second iteration of this adventure, expanded: While the basic concept is still not absolutely awesome, the revised iteration of the rules adds some tactical depth to the opposing rolls of the combatants.

On a more positive note, we get a random monster table and compiled stats (including artworks) of the beasts herein: Brain Moles, Crysmals, Deep Hounds (regular and dire), Folugubs, Maenads and 3 kinds of puppeteer as well as temporal filchers, thought eaters and advanced wolverines makes their appearance.

The pdf concludes with an overview of the adventures to come in the arc and seem to span a wide array of different themes, which is nice.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting have SIGNIFICANTLY improved in this second iteration of the adventure and now fall into the upper echelons. The 2-column layout is full-color and both maps and artworks are nice. The adventure comes with bookmarks. Damn, this one is hard to rate. On the one hand, I really like the attention to detail given with all the subquests and the fact that the PCs actually accomplish relevant things and influence the degree of success. I also like the difficulty of the adventure, for without clerics a fall of 4d6 at first levels is a rather lethal trap...

The points of criticism I had for the boxed texts have been thankfully taken care of, but this adventure still feels like a 64 or 72-page adventure that has been cut down to accommodate gazetteer-like sections, which, while not bad, would have been put to better use with more details. Ksaren is an intriguing world and the AP feels completely different from all the commercial adventures for PFRPG I've read so far, which on the other hand is a plus - it takes quite an effort to do that to jaded yours truly. In the end, though, the sketchy nature that at times make this adventure feel less detailed than it could or should have been. While the section on psychic duels has been improved, I'm still not sold on the overall idea.

Dreamscarred Press have done a MASSIVE amount of fixing with the second iteration of their first adventure and it shows - from text to maps to rules, each and every aspect of the adventure has been improved. Seeing that the team has managed to improve even the terrible basic idea of psychic duel that has plagued psionics for several editions to a point where I can consider the rules ok - not splendid, but usable. The sandboxy adventure featuring varied quests, wilderness, crawling etc. feels unique and in the end, the improvements pay off. While the overall structure of the adventure still feels a bit cramped and the mystery a bit rudimentary, I still think that none of the other adventures released for PFRPG feel just like this, making the overall experience distinct and unique. Thus, my final verdict for the revised edition will be a solid 4 stars for a good start to the AP.
Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
From the Deep: Uncertain Futures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Player's Guide to From the Deep
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2012 08:44:11
This free player's guide is 21 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial and 1 page SRD, leaving 18 pages of content, so let's check it out!

Being the free player's supplement for the new AP by Dreamscarred Press, this little pdf introduces us to the world of Ksaren, to be more precise, to the Ophid Protectorate. Ksaren is an interesting world due to several choices: First of all, there is no magic. Yeah, you heard me right - psionics only here! That means no wizards, no gods, no divine healing. Secondly, no gnomes, no halflings, no half-elves, no blues. The latter I don't understand, though. The pdf introduces us to the races first: Adonais are savage elves and their racial traits still say "Elves" in one of their abilities. Chimairans are hybrids of two races and unable to use psionics. Dromites have only recently tried to gain independence, Dwarves, Duergars, Xephs and Elans are mostly what you would expect. Orcans are the Half-orc substitute and Half-giants (called Jettur) are mostly unchanged. Maenads are the prime sea-faring power and make for deadly pirates while the reclusive Kobolds have only begun interacting with the Protectorate again, which is under the control of the Ophiuans.Yep, humans are not the dominant species in the psionocracy! Interesting idea! If you haven't gathered it from above description - there are stats for kobolds and the other variants as playable races including starting age tables.

We are also introduced to Ksaren#s languages, the classes available in Ksaren and two ranger archetypes - the skirmisher ranger archetype (reprinted from the APG) and the Ksarite ranger, a psionic ranger. We also get 3 new oils/potions, 2 new weapons, stats for the reptilian horse-substitutes used in Ksaren, 9 traits and a primer to the starting city of Arbil, including well-known information on some characters as well as an introduction to Ksaren's dominant philosophies: The Godminds and The Flow. Godminds can be pictured as collectives of psionic ideals/thoughts, while the flow is essentially a philosophy of abstraction and inter-connectedness that sees and manipulates patterns.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are good, although I did notice some glitches. Layout adheres to a two-column full color standard and the map of Arbil and artworks are nice for a free player's guide. The pdf does a good job of providing one with a general over-view of the world of Ksaren, enough to intrigue one enough to want to know more about the world. The pdf has 3 alibi-bookmarks that don't really help and feature a typo. When all's said and done, this player#s gudie does a good job of introducing one to the merest basics of the Third Dawn campaign setting, though several questions remained for me due to the lack of at least a basic history of the world. Due to the minor glitches and the fact that, while it does a good job and is free, it is not perfect, I'll settle for a final verdict of 4 stars. Oh yeah: Why are there no blues in Ksaren? ._.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Guide to From the Deep
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Psionics Unleashed
by Dark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2011 14:24:09
Psionics Unleashed by Dreamscarred Press

This product is 231 pages long. It starts with a cover, credits, and ToC. (5 pages)

*Note – (I wanted to point out, I was never a huge fan of Psionics, I was given this product for the purpose of this review. I have nothing against Psioncis they was just never my thing. So I am writing this review from the point of view of someone who is coming in that is new to psionics.)

Introduction (2 pages)
This gets into what Psionics are, about their powers, over all chapter breakdown, changes made and why, it ends with a message from the two main authors of the book, talking about the project.

Chapter 1 – Races (12 pages)
This section has 8 new races, who are all psionicly adept. It lists full information about them. From game mechanics, society, description, relations to other races and Psionic Aptitude.(special things they get when taking their favored class) Below is a list of the new races and brief overview.
Blue – a goblin race.
Dromite – Halfling sized insect people.
Duergar – you know what they are, dwarves.
Elan – created race, chosen from other races and transformed.
Half-giant – They sound more like a new race of giants though they are supposed half fire giant but it doesn't really say or imply what other half they are, I suppose human.
Maenad – More or less a new ethnic group of humans.
Ophiduan – a reptilian based race.
Xeph – a new race that looks fairly human.

Chapter 2 – Classes (18 pages)
This section has 4 new base classes. It has a section about how to update your old classes to the new versions, a section on multi-classing, and power points. After this it gets into each of the new classes. I copied a bit of the book below to give a bit about each class.
Psion: A master of the mind, a seeker of knowledge of psionics. - More or less the equal of a full caster class. Low BaB, hp etc. They have six disciplines to choose from, sorta like magic schools in a way.
Psychic Warrior: A soldier who combines psionic power with physical prowess. - To me it seemed to be more like a self buffing bard that fights. They gain warriors paths, abilities to do special things based on the theme of the path.
Soulknife: A warrior who creates a unique weapon out of mental energy. - This one is a bit hard to explain, it is a light armored fighter that uses their mind to create weapons to attack with. Other than just giving their mental energy weapon bonuses they can also give them special abilities, such as shocking, holy, keen etc.
Wilder: A natural talent with psionics who channels emotion to wield uncontrolled power. - There is really no class or roll they are really like. They have great power but limited control.

Chapter 3 – Skills and Feats (18 pages)
This talks about any skill that works different, or in the case of spellcraft how it is used for psionic power checks etc. The choose to condense the skill list to fit pathfinder and mesh psionics and magic more. Use magic device is used for magic and psionic devices for example. Some might not like these changes, me I do. That was always one of my issues with psionics before. It does the same thing with feats, such as magic item creation feats, what types of psionic items can be created with the feat. There is also 69 new psionic based feats, to many to list honestly but all of them seemed on par with existing feats.

Chapter 4 – Psionics (14 pages)
This section gets into how powers work, saves, costs, adding powers, resistance(which like other stuff is now the same as Spell Resistance, a monster with one has the same for both), how to use psionics in your games, variant rules so psionics and magic don't overlap. Basically a overview of how the powers work and how to use them in your campaign.

Chapter 5 – Powers (86 pages)
This has the power lists for the classes. Followed by the write up of each of the powers. There is about 290 powers in the book. Some copy the effects of existing spells(to a point), while others are totally new.

Chapter 6 - Prestige Classes (20 pages)
This section deals with new prestige classes for the psionic base classes or non-psionic base classes to take. There is 9 new PrC's in this section.
Cerebremancer: A practitioner of both arcane magic and psionic power, wielding both efficiently. - Combines psionic powers with arcane spells.
Elocater: A master of altering gravity and space, performing seemingly impossible maneuvers. - any martial class and psionic class could work.
Metamind: A manifester who sacrifices his expertise with higher level abilities to expand his reservoir of power.
Phrenic Slayer: A hunter of a type of psionic creature who gains abilities to aid in the chase. - Can work with any melee class and psionic class, but ranger seems to fit best.
Psion Uncarnate: A manifester who has left the need for a physical body behind.
Psychic Fist: A monk who uses his innate psionic ability to augment his martial prowess. - Seems like a good soul knife/monk combo.
Pyrokineticist: A wielder of flame, sending bolts of fire at enemies and using their body heat to heal.
Thrallherd: A manifester who puts out a psionic call for thralls and believers. - a PrC that focuses on controlling the minds of others.
Warmind: A devastating warrior who learns many secret combat techniques.

Chapter 7 – Psionic Items (28 pages)
How to use psionic items. More or less they are similar to how magic items already exist in the game. It does have some psionic effects of their own and a good list of psionic premade items.

Chapter 8 – Psionic Monsters (25 pages)
There is 20 monsters in this section, with a couple having more than one variation like the construct.

Glossary (2 pages)
This explains all the terms used in the book and what they mean.

It ends with a OGL and ad. (2 pages)

Closing thoughts. As I mentioned at the start I was never a fan of psionics, I had nothing against them. I just felt they never added enough, for the work required to add a new total system to the game. With this book combining a lot of the aspects like use of skills, resistances etc that in my honest opinion makes psionics a lot easier to adapt into more traditional games. The writing was good and I didn't notice any major errors, it was fairly easy to understand for a newbie just get into it. The layout was decent but there was a few spots where there was some wasted space, end of the feats chapter was a big one. A single feat on a otherwise blank page.

The art ranged wildly, some was color, some was black and white. Some was cartoony and other more traditional. The quality also wildly ranged as well. I honestly found the art to be a let down. It wasn't the quality but the clashing styles was more of a problem for me. This book basically takes the existing psionic rules and updates them to Pathfinder rules and meshes them much better with the game in my opinion. I think these rules as someone who was not a fan of psionics before to be a vast improvement over the old rules. Enough so that I for the first time in a very long time, will experiment with using them in my games again. To see how it goes. I am not ready to let them fully in, but the book did a good enough job that I will sprinkle them in and see how it goes.

The feats, powers, classes etc. They all seem well written and well balanced against the existing Pathfinder core rules. I didn't find anything overly powerful or overly weak. I am unsure how it stacks up with the previous books as I only have passing knowledge with the 3.5 psionic rules. My main issues with the book was clashing art styles and I thought the layout could have been done better. So whats my rating? I find this one hard to rate since I think it depends if you was already a fan of psionics or not. Personally I am giving it a 4 star review from my point of view. For fans of psionics that want something for their Pathfinder game I think you will be very pleased. For those that thought psionics had issues before but was not dead seat against them, you might want to check the book out, it might just change your mind. If you was one of those that just hate the idea of psionics in fantasy, well I don't think this book will change your mind.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Psionics Unleashed
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Psionics Unleashed
by Nathan C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/30/2010 12:34:31
Some people are just naturally inclined to do some things. The creative minions at Dreamscarred Press have proved time and time again that there is no other group of writers on this content that can do Psionics as good as them.

A little history on Dreamscarred Press. Throughout the 3.5 days, they consistently made the psionics writers at WOTC look like amateurs with their own system. Dreamscarred pretty much rewrote the core book and added races and classes that made psionics feel like the alien techno-magic that it is.

It should be no surprise to anyone that Psionics Unleashed, the official psionics book for the Pathfinder system, is a delightfully comprehensive addon to any campaign. It takes all the good psionics rules that were in the previous 3.5 edition, and enhances them with the type of power trip that makes Pathfinder so much fun.

The 231 page book is bloated with every detail you will need to run a psionics campaign, add psionics to your current campaign or create a psionics character. Dreamscarred even gives you a little peek inside the minds of the creators and explains why certain changes were made.

Unleashed does a great job of making sure that everyone knows there is a distinct difference between magic and psionics without making the distinction mechanically cumbersome as in the previous decision. Flavorfully, psionics feels like an alien magic. It opens up a new world of casting where players use mental abilities to enhance themselves and hamper foes. Mechanically, Unleashed nixes pointless skills and rules to make psionic characters compatible and usuable in a normal magic world.

The PDF starts off by presenting psionic races and all the usual suspects are here except the Gith. However, the new lizard like Ophiduans will do nicely in their spot. The book then moves on to classes and you are shown more of the psionics system.

The power point system is intact. However, psionic classes now have abilities they can cast frequently just like other pathfinder races. There are four classes presented in the book. All of which are adaptations of classes from the 3.5 Psionic system. Knowing the extraordinary psionic classes from Dreamscarred products, I was surprised to not find one or two thrown in here. However, the complete reworking of the supermonk Soulknife class suffices enough. Certain to be the most used class, it combines the decent fighting abilities of a monk with a limited amount of psionic powers that can tip the field of battle.

After reworking the way magic skills interact with psionic skills, by making them work the same, Unleashed then introduces the powers themselves. As with its predecessor, the spells feel strange and foreign. The descriptions are written to make the reader feel the supernatural essence that differentiates psionics from magic.

To insure that it is a complete supplement, items, monsters and additional campaign options round out the PDF.

For the Player
Psionics is great for players who enjoy being different without being obnoxious. The spell point system feels far more natural than the Vatican spell system that haunts D&D.

For the Dungeon Master
This book brings back some emotional memories for me, as my first campaign was a psionics campaign. The efforts to minimize the once overpowering aspect of psionics works well and adds a new dimension to a campaign world.

The Iron Word
Psionics Unleashed is the kind of supplement you need to have in your arsenal. You can plan an entire game around around the new mysteries of psionics, or add it to your world when the PCs go to some unknown land.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Just a quick note: Psionics Unleashed is not the official psionic system for Pathfinder roleplaying game. Otherwise, thanks for the good review!
Psionics Unleashed
by Shane O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/28/2010 15:02:20
Oh psionics…you had me at “psi.” The powers of the mind are one of those things that people have either loved dearly or hated passionately every since they were introduced to D&D, and now thanks to the efforts of Dreamscarred Press, they live again in Pathfinder in the form of Psionics Unleashed. But will this repository of psionic material blow your mind, or just give you a walloping migraine? Let’s take a look.

Weighing in at just under 250 pages, Psionics Unleashed handles itself admirably on the technical details. A single PDF file has full, nested bookmarks and has copy and paste enabled. The book’s artwork is somewhat sparse, usually manifesting as illustrations (usually black and white, but with the occasional color piece) set in the center of the page, letting two columns of text flow around them. Interestingly, most have a caption beneath them.

The major thing that needs to be made clear about Psionics Unleashed is that this is the Pathfinder version of the 3.5 psionics rules. This cannot be overstated. Dreamscarred Press went out of their way to emulate the design principles and philosophies that Paizo Publishing adopted when creating Pathfinder – from having an open playtest to removing XP costs for powers, the changes here are pervasive, but many of them are subtle.

The biggest not-so-subtle changes are among the various races and the classes. All of the familiar psionic races are here (save for those protected by WotC’s PI), alongside the blue, now treated as a PC race in its own right, and the serpentine ophidians. Similarly, the four psionic base classes have gotten a fairly significant overhaul. Psions now choose a particular discipline to specialize in, or simply be a generalist, with each discipline having a number of additional powers and bonus abilities (much like wizard schools). The psychic warrior now selects various warrior paths that add skills, powers, and abilities as they level. Similarly, wilders can select various types of wild surges, which can also be utilized in different manners.

The biggest class to be changed, however, is the soulknife. Fans of Dreamscarred will know that they’ve been applying ways to fix this sub-optimal class for a long time, and here they put that history to good use. Finally upgraded to a full-BAB progression class, the soulknife now can take various blade skills at every even level to improve or alter his mind blade in various ways, alongside simply increasing its power as he gains levels. It’s nice to see such a thematic class finally be made strong enough to hold its own.

The remaining changes are somewhat harder to spot, but as with the Pathfinder Core Rules, tend to add up. The Psicraft and Use Psionic Device skills, for example, are now gone; folded into their magic counterparts. A number of feats – oftentimes ones that relied on maintaining psionic focus – now have additional functionality, usually being based around expending your psionic focus for a short-lived greater boost. Psionic powers no longer have XP costs (instead requiring expensive crystalline components to act as a sort of focusing device), and in many cases have had their names changed. These nomenclature alterations are reserved to those that were called “[magic spell], psionic” so as to stop with the impression that these are second fiddle to magic. Want to control someone else’s actions? Use “mind control” rather than “dominate, psionic.”

It should also be noted that virtually none of the expanded options from the Advanced Player’s Guide are reproduced here. Most psionic races do have a favored class option to take an additional psionic power point instead of a skill rank or hit point, but that’s about it. No new racial options, class archetypes, etc. are to be found. This isn’t something I held against the book; that will most certainly come in time. Rather, it should be made clear that Psionics Unleashed is what you get when you merge the PF Core Rules with the old Expanded Psionics Handbook.

Ultimately, this book won’t win over anyone who wasn’t already a fan of psionics, but then again, it’s not meant to change the whole dynamic. What it’s meant to do is give the people who want psionics in their Pathfinder game a means of having them. And in that regard, Psionics Unleashed delivers in spades. Fixing what needs it and leaving alone what doesn’t, this book is a true Pathfinder upgrade to 3.5’s psionic legacy. So, if you’ve been waiting for a chance to dust off your old telepath, or have your soulknife power up his mind blade again, or want to attack your PCs with some unexpected mental powers, pick up this book, convert your character, and unleash the power of the mind in your Pathfinder game!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Control
by Mark A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2009 20:10:24
Well written. This has become a valuable part of my toolbox for my incessant rules tinkering.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Control
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Mind Unveiled: Psionic items
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2009 08:03:57
A good item, but the cover has an unreadable title (the characters are jumbled atop each other, superimposed). It has great items in it, including orbiting power stones for a psionic staff, psychoactive skins, and much more. Highly worth the price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Mind Unveiled: Psionic items
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 86 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG