RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
Test-Chuck
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Spacemaster: Datanet #2
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2010 23:54:19
A variety of excellent resources - both thoroughly reliable and imaginative enough to inspire many new ideas for adventures - for any reasonably hard SF system. This really is a lot of research for the price asked. 4.5 stars

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Spacemaster: Datanet #2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Spacemaster: Datanet #3
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2010 23:46:21
This issue covers the single, though important, subject of creating alien species and cultures in two parts, firstly in concept, then Spacemaster statistics.

The first, systemless section covers a number of broad questions through the example of a species of photosynthetic turtle-people, illustrating how a slightly odd concept carries through to modify the usual assumptions, with good consideration of alien psychology, nonhuman culture and, just as importantly, why a GM might want to maintain a light hand on such potentially baffling subjects for game purposes.

The statistics-based section had in places a slightly questionable balance of techniques, from my reading, with some frankly odd ideas - rules for soul departure? To be fair, I haven't tried using these rules to construct a Spacemaster species and can't speak for how the total result would balance out in play.

In total, an excellent conceptual source.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Spacemaster: Datanet #3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

10 Million Ways To Die
by Dave H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2008 10:56:51
This is a very neat little rolemaster add on. It gives you lots of bits and pieces for a modern rolemaster campaign. It might be useful to add criticals and weapons to other systems. A must for the Rolemastered.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
10 Million Ways To Die
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cyradon Gazetteer
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2008 11:03:04
Nice addition to the Cyradon main book, with some cool new locations and details to the HARP default setting.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cyradon Gazetteer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HARP Martial Law PDF
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2008 23:42:04
A average product; good production values, but the efforts to add additional aspects to the system end in greater complexity with no great result. The body-location system is especially inadaquate.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
HARP Martial Law PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Weapon Law: Firearms
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2008 12:44:41
Great product. With this, Arms Law/Armory, and Blaster Law, you can handle any combat from Rome to Star Wars. I would recommend getting the Equipment Guide for several high-tech weapons charts, and Vehicle Law for their vehicle combat system as well.

One compliant: FA is not fully compatable with Blaster Law's armor. It would be nice if it could be adjusted.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weapon Law: Firearms
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Armory PDF
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2008 12:38:16
A solid addendum to Arms law, adding Asian weapons both real and Hollywood, specific Euro polearms, and some other odds and ends of weapons which really open up the game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Armory PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Spacemaster Equipment Manual PDF
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2008 12:35:57
This product consists of 129 pages with the clean set-up and quality interior line-art common to ICE products. It spends the first 30-odd pages laying out the writer’s concepts of the various stages of tech development and social evolution (a good deal of the latter being rather asinine or wildly optimistic, and which certainly would cripple RPG use, but then, ICE has always been good with systems, terrible with settings).

The next twenty-odd pages cover weapons and armor, somewhat redundant if you have Blaster Law, largely useless if you do not.

At p.55, you start getting into equipment, specifically clothing. Equipment is broken down into general categories, with each item described, plus a handy table listing items and prices. I would have preferred that the list be at the start of each section, but that is not a large issue.

After thirty pages of equipment (less than they spent discussing the evolution of technology from the rock to FTL, and the rise of society from killing each other with rocks, to killing ach other with blasters), we go to Section IV: Using Equipment. This covers using designing, building, malfunctions, and repairing equipment. This requires 12 pages, including the usual full-page charts.
At p.99 we go to the Appendixes, which include the usual information on how to convert the stats given t other systems, and a collection of critical hit results, some of which are rather useful, and some which can be found in other ICE supps. On p.105 we get weapons pages ala Arms Law for such high-tech weapons as the battle axe, broadsword, and club. Fortunately they do go to some advanced tech weapons such as the needler, flamer, and the like, which are extremely useful.

The supp closes with a re-print of all the equipment tables, and an index, both of which are useful.

Overall, a solid piece of work. There are weapon tables here you will not get in Blaster Law, and the equipment is fist-rate. I would like to drop about 15-20 pages of ‘what the writers think tech/society will be’ in favor of more equipment, but with ICE, you have to accept a certain amount of wastage.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Spacemaster Equipment Manual PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Arms Law (2003 version) PDF
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2008 22:29:05
You can't go wrong with ICE. Arms Law is the best hit point-based system on the market.

Since I need 50 characters to post this, I'll say it again:

You can't go wrong with ICE. Arms Law is the best hit point-based system on the market.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arms Law (2003 version) PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Spacemaster Blaster Law PDF
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2008 22:25:16
Solid. That said, while this has combat rules and illustrations, be advised that it is a combat system, rather than a dedicated weapons listing, and is, like Arms Law, strongly generic in flavor. This is very good, but its important to know beforehand.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spacemaster Blaster Law PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rolemaster Classic: Creatures & Treasures
by Dave H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2008 20:29:36
This is a very nice revision of the classic Creatures and Treasures supplement for Rolemaster. Rolemaster Classic for those who are wondering is Rolemaster 2nd edition with minor updates. It is well worth the entry price for new folk and worth buying for old salts who have fallen away from Rolemaster since the Red Book Blue Book days. So this is the monster part of the system and the best of the revised pieces so far. The art work is really darn good. There are new Creatures and new treasures in addition to the old classics. If you Rolemaster buy this book.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Classic: Creatures & Treasures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HARPer's Bazaar Vol #1 Issue #8
by Andre B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2007 00:00:00
I really liked the mystical monk from issue #8. Sounds very intersting, so that I will have a mystical monk as a NPC soon.

New interesting magic staves.

For HARP players who want to play on Shadow World there is a nice article about how to use the Shadow World Races in HARP.

Overall a very good product.

DISLIKED: nothing

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HARPer's Bazaar Vol #1 Issue #8
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HARPer's Bazaar Vol #1 Issue #9
by Andre B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2007 00:00:00
Very useful artivle about diseases to use in HARP. That was missing in the HARP core rules.



QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
HARPer's Bazaar Vol #1 Issue #9
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cyradon (HARP world setting) PDF
by Chris G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/27/2006 00:00:00
Welcome to HARP. HARP is a fantasy game system that stands for High Adventure Role Playing. It is its own system so not d20. And that is one of its strengths and one of the reasons as a die hard d20 fantasy person I enjoy it. Every game comes with assumptions that are built into the rules and the way things are done. Now in d20 some companies have fought these and done a nice job of expanding beyond what D&D is but it is nice to view another fantasy game that has roots well away from D&D and see how they do things. HARP is solid game that is a lot of fun and comes at fantasy in a familiar yet different way. It is point based, has a nice spell system, has easier character generation especially for people that have to stat out ever NPC, and captures fantasy very well. I have said that many of the books for HARP would make great d20 books if they followed the d20 rules. They books about fighters and mages have a better approach then most of the d20 counterparts. Their monster book is very useful allowing for construction of monsters as well as presenting ready made monsters. One of my bigger complaints about the game was that it had no setting. I find settings to be very informative as they tell me how the writers envision their game being played. So, I am very pleased to see Cyradon, a fantasy setting for HARP.

Cyraden right now comes in a nice PDF format and will be coming out in print in a few weeks to a month I believe. Iron Crown Enterprises (also known as ICE) are the publishers and have been doing a really nice job of making their books available as PDFs and as print books. The book is one hundred and eighty six pages long. The art is good to really good and the layout is easy to read and well organized. The book does have page borders and is black and white; printing will be noticed by the ink and paper it consumes but it is not as bad as other books I have dealt with. The book has a good table of contents, a great six page index, and nice book marks. As a setting book that will be referenced a lot by DMs and players these tools are invaluable.

Cyraden has what I believe makes a good setting. The first and probably the hardest part is the hook. This is built on mystery of people basically appearing in the setting after some huge apocalyptic event it seems. The world is being rediscovered and molded as the people go out and meet the races that have survived and find adventure and intrigue in the world. The second thing I look for in a setting is details. I do not want just an overview of everything I want good descriptions of places and people. This book has it. The first many pages is all about the world and the different places. It has good descriptions of the countries and places of interest and has enough places left undefined for the DM to be creative and place in their own things. Third, the book needs to have something for the players to do. This book has the usual adventure hooks that I get reading through settings but it takes it even farther. It has a section on just adventures. This is brilliant and I found that the adventures I thought of while reading the setting were for the most part the adventures they are pointing out and expanding on. I have never had a game company read my mind like that, it was quit eerie.

One nice thing the book does it is separates the rules from the setting. The setting info is not intertwined with the rules parts making it easy to use the setting for other systems. Do not get me wrong though, this book does expand on the rules for HARP over new player options for the classes and spells that really fit the setting. HARP for me seems like a game that really can be easily molded make the rules fit the setting. I never noticed it until I saw how well it worked for Cyradon. I think that makes the game very DM friendly allowing not to much prep time for a new setting to go a long way.

Cyradon is described as a swashbuckling setting but it is not limited to being a swashbuckling setting. There is a lot of potential for different styles of play and for a variety of adventures and campaigns. That is another strength of the setting and the system as it really does support the game a DM and players want to run.

HARP is a game that is growing on me. At first I was not as impressed with it as I am now. It just seems that the support books are really well written and do a great job of supporting the core game. This setting is exactly what the game needed I think to show the HARP rules in action and how they interact with a set place and how it can all be pulled together.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyradon (HARP world setting) PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Arms Law (1995) PDF
by Dave H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2006 00:00:00
First of all Rolemaster Rocks. The various componenets can be used (plug and play) with almost any system you care to use. The scan quality here is excellent - much superior to older D&D scans. The quality of the material is truly superior. I have been using the Arms Law section since 1983 picking up each update as they came.

Do you want a system were there is the possibility of severe injury or death from almost any foe (Granted the odds do get very long when you need an open ended attack, then a decent second attack roll then a 90+ critical when that kobold is attacking the 20th level fighter)? Do you want the possibility of killing the Dragon with a single mighty blow (Long Odds again there friend but it is possible)? Then this is the system for you.

There are not enough stars for this item. The only complaint that you might have after 20 years using it is that there might be a bit wider swing of results for the perfest weapon against the perfect armor (Trident verus human skin, Lance versus Plate). Don't listen to that last part! Buy this and buy it NOW!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arms Law (1995) PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 35 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG