RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
URBAN JUNGLE - Anthropomorphic Noir Role-Play
by Ben T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2016 18:33:50

Surpised nobody has written a review for this yet.

A nice, solid update to the Ironclaw system. Combat feels much more lethal then in Ironclaw, given the subject matter I like the trait system, reminds me of the adjective system from Numenera/The Strange/Cypher System, and I think it adds a lot. Skill bloat seems tamed, what you did with SOAK was amazing, effectively adding conditional Deus ex machinas to explain why the shotgun didn't leave you a ragged mess. You need it. The surgery rules where a nice added touch on how deadly the world is, with the surgeons fighting the DM on who finished up the "Life/Death" bar first.

Kind of biting at the bit for the Occult/Lovecraft sourcebook, urban fantasy is my thing, and with the Sci-FI and Horror ones coming up after, this is a system that can only grow!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
URBAN JUNGLE - Anthropomorphic Noir Role-Play
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ALBEDO: PLATINUM CATALYST + STRUCTURAL INTEGRITY [Legacy]
by William H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2016 02:14:59
Disclaimer:

I'm a fan of the setting and of the other Albedo game... so my expectations are built around that.

The Sanguine Game

The system is largely the same as the other games by Sanguine. They use skill driven rolls, multiple sets of standard polyhedrals needed, and attributes as a pool of bonuses. Their unusual mechanics make this game a hard sell for many on a mechanical basis. They do have a good variety of types, and some others can be ported in from the other games.

The Sanguine Approach to the Setting

Sanguine chose to take an "Active Duty EDF Officer" approach, and an "Active Wartime" approach. This is somewhat different than the prior game, and not quite the take most players I have managed to get to play in the setting liked. That said, it's not a totally wild hair, either - the cold war in the comics between the EDF and the ILR was bound to boil over again, and that's where they took it. There is no support for civilian PC's, but it's not hard to add it. The game is focused on small unit military actions, most likely against the ILR. (Independent Lapine Republic - yes, Rabbits are the bad-guys.) It's well suited for such games, and reads very much like a minitures combat ruleset. The lack of space ship rules is also a problem - I was hoping there would be ship rules, but there are not, unlike the older game; the main characters in the comics are space forces officers...

The PDF itself

The PDF version is the full text of both books, in what looks to be OEF for the core, and scanned and OCR for the second. There are no bookmarks, no covers, and no hotlinking. Usable, searchable, but not to the standard I've come to expect from the industry. Further, it's a single PDF of both volumes, not a bundle.

The price

Given that the Magenta game is essentially the same mechanics , with Mr. Gallachi's IP removed, and is "Pay what you want," $15 seems a bit steep. Value for money? iffy.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ALBEDO: PLATINUM CATALYST + STRUCTURAL INTEGRITY [Legacy]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

IRONCLAW: Book of Adventures
by Layne G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2016 00:32:01

a usefull and good book, but the whole dang PDF is out of order and unreadable as it is! guys fix this!!!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
IRONCLAW: Book of Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MYRIAD ALIENS - Even Stranger Options for Role-Play Adventure
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2016 05:53:38

I don't know what sort of issue Robert H. had, but he should check his downloads again.

The book is provided with the front and back covers as .jpg files and the interior as a .pdf. Kind of odd packaging, but all the content is there.

It also continues Sanguine's weird page numbering, as if this can be inserted into an omnibus edition without renumbering pages. Not a problem really, but if you're unfamiliar with their practice it's kind of jarring to see the book start with page 279.

The alien races are neat, and some are pretty weird, so if you're looking for more options for Myriad Song characters it's quite handy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MYRIAD ALIENS - Even Stranger Options for Role-Play Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Magenta
by Timothy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2016 19:07:33

This is, in essence, Albedo: Platinum Catalyst sanitized of its anthropomorphic nature--understandably, of course, in the desire to make a more generic system with broader market appeal. Otherwise it's identical, which leads to the inconsistencies and incompatibilities with the real, human world that other reviewers have commented on. Their aim for "realism" comes mostly from the fact that rather than psychological trauma being either a near-inevitable erosion of mental fortitude or simply nonexistent, it's a constant grind that works more or less like physical health--I quite like that mechanic.

The document itself shows that they didn't take much care with it. The formatting is poor on the PDF readers I use, with heading fonts in particular cutting themselves off because they were originally written for a shorter font. The tables are image cut-and-pasted from Albedo, and retain the errata from that book. Everything's there, though, and it's usable.

This is donationware, so one does get what one pays for. A quick pass back through the fonts and some table corrections would definitely make it worth the five-buck average it's going for as of this writing.

As it stands, I'd use this particular product mostly for mechanics and a very rough guideline for homebrew versions, especially when it comes to character creation, setting, and actual ranks and whatnot. SPI/RQI makes sense in Albedo, not so much in any realistic military setting.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Magenta
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MYRIAD SONG - Role-Play Adventure of Ten Thousand Worlds
by Josh S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2015 22:26:57

If you're fan of Moebius, Jodorowsky, Heavy Metal, or Jack Kirby's trippy space gods work, you're going to love Myriad Song's setting. The system itself is a nice mix of indie-story-driven rules and crunchy options for those that like to deck out there character sheet in stats. It does a great job of balancing the free-form RPG styles like FATE and the Cypher System with more rules heavy systems like D&D and Pathfinder. In short, something for everyone.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MYRIAD SONG - Role-Play Adventure of Ten Thousand Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MYRIAD ALIENS - Even Stranger Options for Role-Play Adventure
by Robert H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2015 13:36:08

I bought this product on sale, $9.95, instead of the $19.95 price. For the $9.95 price you get only the front and back cover and not the 32 page interior.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
MYRIAD ALIENS - Even Stranger Options for Role-Play Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ironclaw Book of Fools
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2015 12:34:07

This is not an adventure, but a set of character classes (so to speak) of various varieties of clowns, jesters, amusers and troublemakers. Not likely to be used in combat heavy situations, but very good for social, political situations. Even possibly as a sidekick..



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironclaw Book of Fools
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ironclaw Book of Fools
by John P. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2015 15:03:51

An excellent addition to the game, especially if you have a player crazy enough to get serious mileage out of goading opponents. My test run with a party had a haranguer that was almost game-breaking in his ability to cause disruption. It was most entertaining.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
IRONCLAW: Preview
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2015 14:09:26

I was very surprised at how much information was given in this preview. Basically you could make characters and go ahead and play them. You do not get the whole list of possible characters, and while the world map is given, you don't have the full details of the culture etc., but you are given far more than I expected. I had the original edition, and can see how much has been smoothed out and simplified.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
IRONCLAW: Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MYRIAD SONG - Role-Play Adventure of Ten Thousand Worlds
by Matt W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2015 12:59:27

A thoughtful, clever game that feels to me a bit like if Guardians of the Galaxy were a Don Bluth cartoon from the 1980s. It offers a sort of combine-three-things character creation that still provides variety, an easy-to-understand dice pool mechanic, and the opportunity for all kinds of interstellar hijinks.

The galaxy is in chaos because the all-powerful domineering Syndics mysteriously vanished, leaving ten thousand other intelligent species wondering, "well, huh, we're free, now what?" Numerous factions have risen up, each with its own unique agenda, and the characters typically find themselves in the middle of it all.

Character creation is mostly a matter of picking from a few templates (species, career) that provide a set of abilities, and then you can fine-tune a bit. While that might sound a bit constraining, I would guess without doing the math that there are more than a thousand different species/upbringing/career combinations, and with the fine-tuning, you won't find two characters who seem anything alike. Starting characters by default are competent but not unstoppable. Optional rules include suggestions on how to create more/less powerful characters, too.

The core game mechanic, if you aren't familiar with Sanguine's other games, is basically a dice pool where you count successes, and the difficulty will tend to require 1-3 successes depending on if it's something anyone/a professional/an expert could do.

There's some assumption that characters will find themselves in violent situations, and so the rules provide quite a bit of information about combat and fighting. Instead of something like "hit points" the game uses a wound-levels approach more like the old Star Wars D6 game, but with some clever updates that encourage teamwork and cooperation.

Possibly my favorite thing about the game is the experience/reward system, where characters write down goals, and when they're accomplished the GM gives them "gifts", abilities appropriate to a) how they accomplished the goal, and b) how hard it was to do it. Gifts somewhat resemble feats from D&D3+ and can provide extra dice, contacts, psychic abilities, you name it. Seems like a really good way to encourage communication between player and GM about the characters.

The only thing I wish the game had, and perhaps I missed it, is some advice on how the characters and their goals might evolve over time, for example from scrappy scoundrels who want to get paid, to dashing heroes who want to protect the galaxy from a deadly menace. An experienced group could probably figure that out no problem, but this game might also appeal to inexperienced younger gamers who could use the advice.

I also kind of wish there were a less expensive print option available here besides full color hardback.

That said, the creators of the game are tremendously supportive and can't wait to offer assistance if you find yourself confused. If you're interested in some colorful hijinks on strange worlds with seriously endless opportunities, you might like this game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MYRIAD SONG - Role-Play Adventure of Ten Thousand Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

IRONCLAW Player's Book
by Aaron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2014 09:07:03

First off let me say my lower review is not based on the game itself per se, just this particular product.

I love the set up for the game and the way it handles things mechanically and how character creation is set up. It's not the usual d20 type and conflict resolution is actually pretty quick. What I disliked the most about this book is this, it's simply the first 135 pages of the Omnibus. What does that mean? While it covers everything you absolutely need to make a character it cuts out EVERYTHING related to the setting as well as advanced magic. Honestly, had I known it was literally half of the Omnibus I would have just spent the money for that instead. I wish the description just stated outright that this is in fact just half of that book, don't just say it's reproduced FROM the Omnibus, it IS HALF of the Omnibus The description also mentions the Host's Book... which doesn't seem to exist on DriveThru otherwise I guess I would just buy that and use acrobat to combine the two pdf's.

So in the end, if you are looking for an interesting game with lots of potential for fun times and good games, you've found it, but if you want to buy one of the books for it, just buy the Omnibus right off the bat so you won't be stuck debating paying for this particular product a second time just to get the other half.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
IRONCLAW Player's Book
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Magenta
by Ryan G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2014 18:06:19

Magenta has very little going for it as a military game. The game claims to be realistic rather than romantic, it is frankly neither.

The system is a pretty standard die stepping system, with some attempt made to spice it up a bit, with being able to push for more dice, risk for bigger dice, or breeze for more smaller dice with a chance of overwhelming success.

Magenta assumes all players have a main character who makes command decisions ranking from basic training recruit (really?) to General of the Army, but only in wartime (again really?), and a squad of four other supporting characters, who really do the dirty work. This is marginally interesting I guess, with the stated intent being that you are supposed to care about what happens to your semi-disposable mooks, and I guess that is where the drama is supposed to come in.

What baffles me the most about this game is that in a world where major powers have been at war for a decade, veterans abound, and actual military field manuals are freely available on most subjects to anybody with access to Google, this game completely fails to even remotely understand what soldiers do. For example Airborne Infantry are listed as Aerospace specialists, with bonuses in resisting G-forces and Aeronautics, rather than simply being the light infantrymen that they are. I was a paratrooper myself and I promise you I have never been in an airplane where resisting G-force was even relevant. This game is like being in a Tom Clancy novel where the characters aren't awesome.

It being a PWYW game, most of it's flaws can be forgiven at some level, I would not play the game as it was written, and I would be careful about what you pay for it until you have a chance to read it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Magenta
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MYRIAD SONG - Role-Play Adventure of Ten Thousand Worlds
by Joseph M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2014 07:42:02

An amazing sci-fi product. I love the colorful art, was always a fan of Sanguine's system from IronClaw, and he overall playablity of the game is aces. The pdf copy I have seems to lack a reader friendly outline and the TOC doesn't have links soooo...ya that's an issue. But the content is well layed out and the rules presented in a very readable format. Also, love he easy on the eye font they used. Bravo.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MYRIAD SONG - Role-Play Adventure of Ten Thousand Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MYRIAD SONG - Role-Play Adventure of Ten Thousand Worlds
by Robert G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2013 16:53:33

A fully playtested, well made experience. A lot of fun can be found here. You have great versatility in character creation and progression, a deceptively simple base mechanic to follow, and some gorgeous artwork within the pages of the book.

It is one of the best RPG's to come out this year, which is saying a lot considering I doubt people heard of it before. Well worth the buy and just lots of fun to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 28 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG