RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ironclaw Book of Fools
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2015 12:34:07
This is not an adventure, but a set of character classes (so to speak) of various varieties of clowns, jesters, amusers and troublemakers. Not likely to be used in combat heavy situations, but very good for social, political situations. Even possibly as a sidekick..

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironclaw Book of Fools
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ironclaw Book of Fools
by John P. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2015 15:03:51
An excellent addition to the game, especially if you have a player crazy enough to get serious mileage out of goading opponents. My test run with a party had a haranguer that was almost game-breaking in his ability to cause disruption. It was most entertaining.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
IRONCLAW: Preview
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2015 14:09:26
I was very surprised at how much information was given in this preview. Basically you could make characters and go ahead and play them. You do not get the whole list of possible characters, and while the world map is given, you don't have the full details of the culture etc., but you are given far more than I expected. I had the original edition, and can see how much has been smoothed out and simplified.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
IRONCLAW: Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MYRIAD SONG - Role-Play Adventure of Ten Thousand Worlds
by Matt W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2015 12:59:27
A thoughtful, clever game that feels to me a bit like if Guardians of the Galaxy were a Don Bluth cartoon from the 1980s. It offers a sort of combine-three-things character creation that still provides variety, an easy-to-understand dice pool mechanic, and the opportunity for all kinds of interstellar hijinks.

The galaxy is in chaos because the all-powerful domineering Syndics mysteriously vanished, leaving ten thousand other intelligent species wondering, "well, huh, we're free, now what?" Numerous factions have risen up, each with its own unique agenda, and the characters typically find themselves in the middle of it all.

Character creation is mostly a matter of picking from a few templates (species, career) that provide a set of abilities, and then you can fine-tune a bit. While that might sound a bit constraining, I would guess without doing the math that there are more than a thousand different species/upbringing/career combinations, and with the fine-tuning, you won't find two characters who seem anything alike. Starting characters by default are competent but not unstoppable. Optional rules include suggestions on how to create more/less powerful characters, too.

The core game mechanic, if you aren't familiar with Sanguine's other games, is basically a dice pool where you count successes, and the difficulty will tend to require 1-3 successes depending on if it's something anyone/a professional/an expert could do.

There's some assumption that characters will find themselves in violent situations, and so the rules provide quite a bit of information about combat and fighting. Instead of something like "hit points" the game uses a wound-levels approach more like the old Star Wars D6 game, but with some clever updates that encourage teamwork and cooperation.

Possibly my favorite thing about the game is the experience/reward system, where characters write down goals, and when they're accomplished the GM gives them "gifts", abilities appropriate to a) how they accomplished the goal, and b) how hard it was to do it. Gifts somewhat resemble feats from D&D3+ and can provide extra dice, contacts, psychic abilities, you name it. Seems like a really good way to encourage communication between player and GM about the characters.

The only thing I wish the game had, and perhaps I missed it, is some advice on how the characters and their goals might evolve over time, for example from scrappy scoundrels who want to get paid, to dashing heroes who want to protect the galaxy from a deadly menace. An experienced group could probably figure that out no problem, but this game might also appeal to inexperienced younger gamers who could use the advice.

I also kind of wish there were a less expensive print option available here besides full color hardback.

That said, the creators of the game are tremendously supportive and can't wait to offer assistance if you find yourself confused. If you're interested in some colorful hijinks on strange worlds with seriously endless opportunities, you might like this game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MYRIAD SONG - Role-Play Adventure of Ten Thousand Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

IRONCLAW Player's Book
by Aaron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2014 09:07:03
First off let me say my lower review is not based on the game itself per se, just this particular product.

I love the set up for the game and the way it handles things mechanically and how character creation is set up. It's not the usual d20 type and conflict resolution is actually pretty quick. What I disliked the most about this book is this, it's simply the first 135 pages of the Omnibus. What does that mean? While it covers everything you absolutely need to make a character it cuts out EVERYTHING related to the setting as well as advanced magic. Honestly, had I known it was literally half of the Omnibus I would have just spent the money for that instead. I wish the description just stated outright that this is in fact just half of that book, don't just say it's reproduced FROM the Omnibus, it IS HALF of the Omnibus The description also mentions the Host's Book... which doesn't seem to exist on DriveThru otherwise I guess I would just buy that and use acrobat to combine the two pdf's.

So in the end, if you are looking for an interesting game with lots of potential for fun times and good games, you've found it, but if you want to buy one of the books for it, just buy the Omnibus right off the bat so you won't be stuck debating paying for this particular product a second time just to get the other half.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
IRONCLAW Player's Book
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Magenta
by Ryan G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2014 18:06:19
Magenta has very little going for it as a military game. The game claims to be realistic rather than romantic, it is frankly neither.

The system is a pretty standard die stepping system, with some attempt made to spice it up a bit, with being able to push for more dice, risk for bigger dice, or breeze for more smaller dice with a chance of overwhelming success.

Magenta assumes all players have a main character who makes command decisions ranking from basic training recruit (really?) to General of the Army, but only in wartime (again really?), and a squad of four other supporting characters, who really do the dirty work. This is marginally interesting I guess, with the stated intent being that you are supposed to care about what happens to your semi-disposable mooks, and I guess that is where the drama is supposed to come in.

What baffles me the most about this game is that in a world where major powers have been at war for a decade, veterans abound, and actual military field manuals are freely available on most subjects to anybody with access to Google, this game completely fails to even remotely understand what soldiers do. For example Airborne Infantry are listed as Aerospace specialists, with bonuses in resisting G-forces and Aeronautics, rather than simply being the light infantrymen that they are. I was a paratrooper myself and I promise you I have never been in an airplane where resisting G-force was even relevant. This game is like being in a Tom Clancy novel where the characters aren't awesome.

It being a PWYW game, most of it's flaws can be forgiven at some level, I would not play the game as it was written, and I would be careful about what you pay for it until you have a chance to read it.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Magenta
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MYRIAD SONG - Role-Play Adventure of Ten Thousand Worlds
by Joseph M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2014 07:42:02
An amazing sci-fi product. I love the colorful art, was always a fan of Sanguine's system from IronClaw, and he overall playablity of the game is aces. The pdf copy I have seems to lack a reader friendly outline and the TOC doesn't have links soooo...ya that's an issue. But the content is well layed out and the rules presented in a very readable format. Also, love he easy on the eye font they used. Bravo.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MYRIAD SONG - Role-Play Adventure of Ten Thousand Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MYRIAD SONG - Role-Play Adventure of Ten Thousand Worlds
by Robert G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2013 16:53:33
A fully playtested, well made experience. A lot of fun can be found here. You have great versatility in character creation and progression, a deceptively simple base mechanic to follow, and some gorgeous artwork within the pages of the book.

It is one of the best RPG's to come out this year, which is saying a lot considering I doubt people heard of it before. Well worth the buy and just lots of fun to play.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MYRIAD SONG - Role-Play Adventure of Ten Thousand Worlds
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2013 18:49:49
This is a tested, solid game system with an interesting pulp scifi setting heavily influenced by late '70s and early '80s cinema. It lacks severely in terms of starships, though.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
IRONCLAW: Book of Jade
by Lynda W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2013 09:52:28
A very nice book that introduces fun new options for an already excellent game. Finally, I can play a red panda! However, I cannot give this particular pdf the rating I would like because of one very serious problem: There are no bookmarks! I'm not sure what the publisher was thinking here. You can't just flip through a pdf the same way you can a physical book. Bookmarks are absolutely necessary for this digital medium. In choosing to not include them, Sanguine Productions forces the reader to fumble through the book manually for every little thing they would look up. It makes using the pdf a pain. And that's a real shame, because otherwise this is a product that deserves /at least/ a 4 star rating, if not an outright 5.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
IRONCLAW: Book of Jade
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

IRONCLAW: Preview
by Robert W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2012 12:13:59
Personally I liked it. It has even turned out to be great game aid.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
IRONCLAW: Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

IRONCLAW Omnibus: Squaring the Circle
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2011 21:35:28
Well other then alot of starting download problems more due to the fact I'm a noob with PDF's I found the game once I got it to work was very satisfying and it was very immersing the setting and world it has is awesome and the actual game play is very easy to get the hang of I even found it to be easier to use then D&D which I normally play and this is very refreshing since it plays smoother and the artwork is very beautiful as well all and all I find this a product that ism perfect for anyone who wants to find a good game to introduce themselves to RPG gaming and could be enjoyed for countless days.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
IRONCLAW Omnibus: Squaring the Circle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

IRONCLAW: Preview
by Jesse J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2011 16:53:30
This Preview of IronClaw will let players get into the game fast and easy. It was not in my taste felt almost kiddish in the story arch and how the characters are set up. Great way to get people into gaming though.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
IRONCLAW: Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

USAGI YOJIMBO ROLE-PLAYING GAME [Legacy]
by Salith T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2011 10:25:10
Perhaps the best version of Sanguine's rule system. It's quick, clean, and (appropriately for a samurai game) quite deadly.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
USAGI YOJIMBO ROLE-PLAYING GAME [Legacy]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

IRONCLAW: Preview
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2010 05:30:00
I'm not entirely sure I would call these sample Ironclaw characters; they're more just sample Ironclaw character SHEETS.

With a world as detailed and complex at this I would have expected full-page background histories and descriptions so you could really get a feel for what this world is like and how someone finds a life of adventure within it.

Oh well. At least it's free, and players can just grab these sheets to learn the system or GMs can use them as NPCs.

Note: A lot of these are iconic Ironclaw characters. I've actually got a miniature of Vesper tucked away somewhere, from back when the art was more Redwall and less Disney (though I note that I like the new artwork better!) Should you choose to play these characters, those miniatures may still be able to be found.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
IRONCLAW: Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 21 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG