RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town - Row Houses Vol. 1
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2009 21:33:32
This is a very nice set and the best set that I have seen from Skeleton Games. I still wish they would make liberal use of PDF layers so that a single tile set can serve many different purposes (like removing carpets or other add-ons.

Out of all the SKG sets that I own this is the only one that I feel is worth the price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town - Row Houses Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Taverns Vol. 1
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2009 21:30:53
Much better effort than their outdoor tiles - these look good in the PDF and on the table. Just a few problems that stopped this from being a 5-star set.

A) No stairs (up or down), ladder, or other method to reach any other levels. It would have been pretty easy to add a couple of tiles for these.

B) No small taverns. This tileset makes very large D&D style of taverns, but it would be very difficult to use them in a more realistic setting.

C) No all cobblestone tile. Sure you can get it in row houses, but it is a glaring omission for this set.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Taverns Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
e-Adventure Tiles: Deciduous Wilderness
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2009 21:21:20
I am not sorry that I purchased them - given the price, but these could have been so much better (like all of the e-Adventure sets). I could pretty much put the same knocks unto most of the e-Adventure tiles.

1) They are not square. This is a very bit hit against these tiles. Because they are not square you cannot easily rotate them to change a setup. I cannot stress how important this knock is against the e-Adventure tiles. These tiles are 6x9 - so you can do 3x2 tiles rotated, but this makes mixing and matching a nightmare.

2) No layering. PDFs have a wonderful layering capability that give easy access to a larger number of tiles simply by turning on and off different layers. Sure, they accomplish the same thing by including a decent number of tiles, but it is not like this set contains that many tiles.

Set specific

A) Another flat and lifeless set (see Forest Paths). These artwork is quite simply dull and lacking in any imagination.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Deciduous Wilderness
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
e-Adventure Tiles: Wilderness Paths
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2009 21:17:34
I am not sorry that I purchased them - given the price, but these could have been so much better (like all of the e-Adventure sets). I could pretty much put the same knocks unto most of the e-Adventure tiles.

1) They are not square. This is a very bit hit against these tiles. Because they are not square you cannot easily rotate them to change a setup. I cannot stress how important this knock is against the e-Adventure tiles. These tiles are 6x9 - so you can do 3x2 tiles rotated, but this makes mixing and matching a nightmare.

2) No layering. PDFs have a wonderful layering capability that give easy access to a larger number of tiles simply by turning on and off different layers. Sure, they accomplish the same thing by including a decent number of tiles, but it is not like this set contains that many tiles.

Set specific

A) This is about as basic as you can get. No frills and the look is a step down from other efforts (see the Swamp set). The terrain is flat and lifeless.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Wilderness Paths
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
e-Adventure Tiles: Swamp Shoreline
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2009 21:14:03
I am not sorry that I purchased them - given the price, but these could have been so much better (like all of the e-Adventure sets). I could pretty much put the same knocks unto most of the e-Adventure tiles.

1) They are not square. This is a very bit hit against these tiles. Because they are not square you cannot easily rotate them to change a setup. I cannot stress how important this knock is against the e-Adventure tiles. These tiles are 6x9 - so you can do 3x2 tiles rotated, but this makes mixing and matching a nightmare.

2) No layering. PDFs have a wonderful layering capability that give easy access to a larger number of tiles simply by turning on and off different layers. Sure, they accomplish the same thing by including a decent number of tiles, but it is not like this set contains that many tiles.

For this specific set.

A) There are some nice tiles here. They transition well from other green fielded sets of the e-Adventure set.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Swamp Shoreline
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
e-Adventure Tiles: Desert Ruins
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2009 21:10:27
I am not sorry that I purchased them - given the price, but these could have been so much better. I could pretty much put the same knocks unto most of the e-Adventure tiles.

1) They are not square. This is a very bit hit against these tiles. Because they are not square you cannot easily rotate them to change a setup. I cannot stress how important this knock is against the e-Adventure tiles. These tiles are 6x9 - so you can do 3x2 tiles rotated, but this makes mixing and matching a nightmare.

2) No layering. PDFs have a wonderful layering capability that give easy access to a larger number of tiles simply by turning on and off different layers. Sure, they accomplish the same thing by including a decent number of tiles, but it is not like this set contains that many tiles.

A specific hit against this tileset

A) Where is the simple blank tile. Without that tile you have to either leave a blank space in the build-out or the structures are crunched together.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Desert Ruins
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
e-Adventure Tiles: Wilderness Cabins
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2009 00:54:24
You cannot go wrong with E-A tiles. These are particularly useful as you can set up a small (and simplistic) village, a cabin in the woods...many options.

Remember, guys: you've done dungeons & caverns to death. Village & urban tiles, chop-chop!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Wilderness Cabins
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
eFuture Tiles: Maintenance Tunnels
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/25/2009 07:36:11
Something to delight your Engineer characters (or drive them to despair as they have to go and fix yet another problem, and if you've got the tiles out there will probably be a brawl as well!) this product contains 25 tiles depictin the maintenance tunnels that any spaceship or space habitat seems to be riddled with.

Although they seem a bit roomy - I play a lot of Engineer characters, and I don't recall such palatial maintenance tunnels on anyone's ships - there is a fine variety of passage shapes, complete with various consoles, access plates and storage bins along the sides. There are suggestions for an overarching layout, but they seem quite versatile and it should not be too difficult to create a layout suitable for existing ship or habitat plans - people who play Engineers often have good spatial awareness and will call you on obvious discrepancies!

The tiles are printed crisply with good definition and a range of colours appropriate to their nature. Enjoy!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
eFuture Tiles: Maintenance Tunnels
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ptolus Bonus Map Pack
by Kenneth A. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2009 09:15:39
Another must-have for Ptolus fans, lots of great maps that will make your DM'ing a little easier.

Ed Bourelle delivers a series of stunning maps once again!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus Bonus Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ptolus Deluxe City Map
by Kenneth A. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2009 02:48:54
For all of you ptolus fans... this is a must-have!

I use this to pick out smaller areas within the city, much easier to handle than the large poster map from the Ptolus book! So if you own the Ptolus book and think, "maybe I dont need this..." well, maybe you do!

Another map from Ed Bourelle of very high quality!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus Deluxe City Map
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ptolus e-Adventure Tiles: Ghul's labyrinth II
by Kenneth A. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2009 02:44:49
If you are a fan of Ptolus... if you are a fan of Ed Bourelle... then this is a product to buy!

I probably wont use these maps as intended, mostly because I dont use tiles, but they are very inspiring and gives a very good picture of what Monte Cook intends for the Ghul's Labyrinth.

These are maps of very high quality!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus e-Adventure Tiles: Ghul's labyrinth II
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
e-Adventure Tiles: Swamps
by Craig B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2009 02:51:08
I just picked this up and love it. Could use some reed tiles and some murk water-only tiles.
Once again brilliant work by Ed :)
Thanks very much!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Swamps
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Master Tiles No.0 - Infinite Chamber
by John W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2009 12:50:29
I recently tried out this Master Tile and two competing products, Empty Room's tiles and Fat Dragon's EZTiles. All three make use of the technology to drop down elements onto your PDF tiles.

This set is "only" five tiles, less than the competition. I found it just as useful, however, since these guys have thought of one more wrinkle than the others. One of the things I can do with this set is remove the walls AND THE FLOOR TILES FOLLOW SUIT. Let me explain further. The base tile of all five of these tiles is a 6x6 tile full of floor. When I turn the walls on and off, the wall comes in at, say, the upper left corner, cutting off the four top left squares. Unlike the competition, who give me set shapes, I can use the set shape created by adding the walls, or just make a 6x6 tile with the same additions (platforms, arcane runes, bars/porctilli, etc.) in any combination.

I could be wrong, but I feel like I get more "cool items" to turn on and off on the master tiles than I do with the other two. Playing with tile 2, for example, I can make a before and after trap with a dunk into an acid pool, a recessed floor area with a void orb and piping (the macguffin for the heroes to destroy?), an L-shaped chamber with or without bars, or many other combination.

I do feel that SkeletonKey's art is a bit more cartoony(?) or early D&D-ey, primitive and a little abtracted. Take a look at all their cool E-adventure tiles. If those are great art for your purposes, then ignore my qualms. If it looks a little cheesy or abstracted, then you might think about experimenting a great deal with this product before you lash out for any of the sequels.

POSITIVE: Most flexible, combines well with other SK products

NEGATIVE: slight cartoony quality to the art.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Master Tiles No.0 - Infinite Chamber
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Master Tiles No.0 - Infinite Chamber
by Doug E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2009 09:39:21
I've found a second wish to follow 'all eFuture tiles to include printable thumbnails for map planning': 'All tiles converted to Master Tiles!'

Fickle folk that we are, some of us love the tiles as we get them, some want all furnishings removed, or square-conforming, or just remove the movable items like crates, or, or, or...

With Abobe Layers properly thought out and drawn, the variations aren't just different optional items, they can be ways to create different styles.

Excellent!

Did I mention I want it right now?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
e-Adventure Tiles Weekly No. 1
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2009 02:53:57
e-Adventure Tiles Weekly 1 features quasi-modular tiles for four encounter areas: a dungeon prison, an alchemy shop, a vermin nest, and a desert shrine.

THE GOOD: Everything about this product shines. The artwork is crisp, vivid, and flavorful. This installment definitely keeps up the SkeletonKey tradition of high visual quality. Moreover, each encounter area suggests interesting story ideas.

THE BAD: The alchemist's home, attached to his shop, needs a privy. I mean, really. He's an alchemist. He could even have a waterless toilet.

THE UGLY: In a SkeletonKey Games product? Are you kidding?

BUYING ADVICE: Pair Weekly No. 1 with Dungeon Details Vol. 3, which includes a torture chamber (perfect companion to the prison in Weekly No. 1) and a forgotten lab (which could be secreted under the not-so-benign-after-all alchemist's shop).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles Weekly No. 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 76 to 90 (of 1027 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG