RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
AstroSynthesis v3.0 (UPGRADE)
by Bobby M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2012 13:53:59
As with all the NBOS software that I have bought over the last couple of years, I am extremely happy with the new version of AstroSynthesis v.3.0. I think the best new feature is "On the Fly Surface Map Generation" in my opinion. I love to click on a planet and have it automatically generated and ready to be examined for a possible RPG adventure setting.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AstroSynthesis v3.0 (UPGRADE)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

AstroSynthesis v3.0 (UPGRADE)
by Jeffrey C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2012 00:20:14
AstroSynthesis V3 has some great enhancements like the 3D models for spaceships and you can add your own to. I have not fully explored the new version but I do like the tabs that let you specify a FWE file to use and or an image file to use, the only thing I have not been able to accomplish is when you make a report in the htm format none of the planet graphics are exported with it like in V2, but it could be because I did not use the image map tab. The one thing I was would of liked to see, is adding the data for some of the other information like the escape velocity being able to add to the planet data display list, if you wanted that data. This new version is great overall!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AstroSynthesis v3.0 (UPGRADE)
by Paul L. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2011 12:30:58
A must-have upgrade. Smoother movement, easier on the eyes, and much more stable for me. For anyone that has an interest in sci-fi and/or other space enthusiasts, I fully recommend it. The only drawback I could find is with regards to it being "windows only". :( If this could get ported to the Android OS for use on a tablet, it would be *the* coolest thing ever for any sci-fi RPG game. Maybe in v4. :)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Inspiration Pad Pro 2.0
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2011 12:33:09
This is a really interesting piece of software that will do pretty much anything you want - roll dice, generate loads of random - or not so random - monsters for any system you want; it would if generate characters for virtually any rpg, right down to skills. Of course the only drawback is that you would need to spend time to produce the appropriate data files and write the code. It is here that I have my only grumble (it seems churlish to complain about free software, but I am a churl!). The help files are not always as useful as they might be. I copied directly from examples given in the help files instances of code, only to find that they did not work as written. It took ages (and trial and error) to determine that IPP 2.0 does not cope with blank lines in the code - remove the blank lines and the code worked fine.
This is an excellent product, which could be even better with more precise and informative (and accurate!) help files. Still, I would recommend it to anyone. I would give it 4 and a half stars, but, since that is not an option, I'll give it 5.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inspiration Pad Pro 2.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

AstroSynthesis v3.0 (UPGRADE)
by David A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2011 22:29:39
AstroSynthesis v2.X was an excellent three dimensional mapping program, but v3.0 is even better. It does everything it says on the tin.

Everything in the new version of AstroSynthesis seems improved over 2.X. Switching from interstellar views to intra-system views is the first obvious difference, and makes use of the program feel much more fluid. The addition of a calendar is also a wonderful feature of the new release. The program is a little bit unconventional in navigation, but it is very easy to learn, with solid documentation. AS 3.0 handles very large maps more smoothly than in past releases, so if you have more than a few star systems you'd like to map, this is an excellent way to do so.

I wish that there was a "control-Z" undo function, and I wish that I could set stars in a close multiple system orbiting the combined center of gravity. It is possible to make unintended changes, and then be stuck with them. My solution has been to save often and revert, but that is less than ideal. For multiple systems, there are also work-arounds.

The community of users has supported the program with some handy scripts in the past, with plug-ins to support Traveler and GURPS, as well as some universally useful tools. Support from the publisher is solid. The forum is sparsely populated, but checked by the publisher frequently.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AstroSynthesis v3.0 (UPGRADE)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Inspiration Pad Pro 2.0
by Tex M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2011 17:21:11
Inspiration Pad Pro is an extremely handy program with particular benefits for GM's who have to create a small adventure on the fly. The program comes with pre-installed generators for PC encounters, NPC names & treasure; and whilst these have limited usefulness, the programs true brilliance is in its ability to be highly customisable by a GM to uniquely suit whatever campaign setting that they are currently running. Inspiration Pad comes with a "How-to" help section so that the GM can create whatever generator he/she needs. The existing encounter generator for an Orc Raiding Party is a good example of this - the generator creates a party leader (bigger & stronger than the rest of the party) and then breaks the raiding party down into 6 hunting parties, each with their own captain & 10 privates/underlings. Along with the 67 strong raiding party, each Orc has a name, weapon, HP and armour! Once you have a handle on creating your own tables & generators (notepad or any other text file will do) you can create your own fully equipped monster encounters, whether that be 1 monster, a group of monsters/hostile NPC's or a whole army! What more could a GM need to cause Havoc & Mayhem!
Inspiration Pad Pro would also be of untold worth as an overall encounter generator to someone who wanted to create their own GM free system, or merely modify an existing GM free system!
My only criticism (and I really have to stretch to find it) is that the pre-existing generators that come with Inspiration Pad Pro are a bit limited - but heck, this great little program is free and you can create whatever you want with it once you customise it! The generators that you do get are Encounter - Adventure Hooks (only 50), NPC on Street, Orc Formal Introduction, Orc Hunting Party, Orc Raiding Party, & Skrat Minions; Names (and it is the name generator that is the most useful as the program stands without any customisation, with 14 different NPC name generators in Hungarian, Czech, English, Icelandic ... ect); & Treasure - Orc Hoard, Random Books, Random Treasure, & Spell Book.
A great product that I will now use in my campaigns exclusively for encounter generation (once I finish customising my version) and one that is definitely worth getting - I would happily pay $10-$15 for Inspiration Pad Pro 2.0.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inspiration Pad Pro 2.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
by Julia E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2011 10:40:27
I've been keeping my game files on the computer, in folders beyond folders, for over a year now. While that's better than straight paper, The Keep is better still! The database is easy to use, the GUI is clear, and The Keep runs well off Dropbox, so I have access to my game files anywhere. Good job, NBOS!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ScreenMonkey Lite
by Bryan I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2011 08:56:40
I picked up a copy of this product as a test to see if it would suit my needs with the intention of buying the full version if the answer was yes.

After playing around with it a little bit to get the hang of it I did find certain tasks were less intuitive than I would have liked in a programme I'm going to be using to run live games with players distracting me with their questions and actions and so on, but on the whole, once you have a bit practice you find it starts to become more natural. So far, so good.

Then we tried a live game and every single player, myself included, had problems getting the programme to work. Popping over to the forums to raise a question on how to configure it to work live I spotted that thread after thread was by people having similar issues.

Now, the staff and other users were very helpful in taking people through the procedure. However, in the end we found it was faster to give up and use a free browser based alternative that did the same things, slightly more intuitively and without all the configuration annoyances.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
ScreenMonkey Lite
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ScreenMonkey v1.5
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2011 01:18:49
NBOS SCREEN MONKEY IS THE BEST! THE BEST!!!
I love this program, and lately I have been using it just about every day with my D&D friend online.
It really shines when you start customizing. Lately I have been designing my own miniatures and importing maps from 4th edition D&D that I scanned, sizing them, and cropping off the text in paintshop, then importing them into Screen Monkey.
The customized miniatures and scanned maps make for really GREAT looking games!
There are a lot of neat chat commands too. I can save text to a clipboard (00-99) ahead of time and then with the scrpting comand recall it instantly.
Also there is a automatic initaitive roller that comes in handy. The "take hits/add hits" makes keeping up with hit points very easy and convenient. And you can customize the "comditions" to any game. I did mine for 4th edition D&D.
The great thing about Screen Monkey is that I (me) am the only one that needs the program installed. There are a number of ways players (plural) can log on. I have found that copying the host address I.P. link to the clipboard, and then pasting it to the text area in a yahoo email and sending it works great for me since I have a yahoo account. But there are others ways to do it too.
I love this program and have gotten sooooooo much enjoyment out of it. I would HIGHLY recomend it to anyone that want to do online gaming.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ScreenMonkey v1.5
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
by Danny M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2011 08:54:59
Although it would be nice to see more frequent updates, I am thoroughly pleased with The Keep 1.x! It does an excellent job of tracking GMing tasks. I have the entire NBOS suite and it is quite impressive. Warning: there is a bit of a learning curve with the NBOS products if you are someone without any scripting experience, although they are great at documenting and offering tutorial information through their help files. They are quick and responsive on their online forums if you have questions or difficulty.

NBOS is an AWESOME company. I have been running games for more than 30 years, and I can say with full confidence that these folks not only know their craft, but are there to enjoy your successes with you.

There are always things that a GM will desire that don't magically manifest themselves in any commercial product, but for THIS GM, that list with the NBOS suite of gaming solutions is the smallest I've ever encountered.

Thanks, NBOS!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2011 19:23:42
I run this on my 5-year old laptop: it works, but when I click on a PDF file in database, it takes a while to load it; otherwise, the DM note-taking, on the fly, is superb! In the past, I relied heavily upon my players to keep copious notes, and I would interpolate a lot of the game from their very good notes... That was when I had a different group of players who were superb at taking voluminous notes -- they're all gone now.

The program is remarkable in its breadth, and scope: I have both PDF, and HTML versions of the 2nd Ed. AD&D books that I use, and they all can be integrated within this program -- I no longer have to have an 8" stack of books on my table to play! The total integration of my books, my notes for the game session, and my world gazeteer notes (this, alone, is 20+ pages to sift through, if necessary), are all integrated within this program, making them all just a couple of clicks away.

I have not spent enough time with the map-maker software (purchased separately, but works seamlessly from within this program), so I can't really comment on that yet. When I do get my maps put onto the laptop, though, the integration will be complete.

Where this program truly shines, for me, personally, is the on-the-fly note-taking. When I start up a game session, I click to open a new note page for that session; it is time and date stamped automatically; I just start typing my notes, as I deem necessary, with complete control over basic formatting (bold, italics, underlining, font and point size, etc.). I don't have to remember to save my notes, as when I close the program, it automatically saves them for me. I love that I can export my entire dB to a thumb-drive, and port/copy it to another PC, so that I can take it to work with me to work on it during my lunch hour. This program has, from the first use in my game, transformed the way I DM. It was more cash than I wanted to spend, but I would do it again in a heartbeat! Cheers!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AstroSynthesis v2.0
by Peter H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2011 09:15:23
Creating a star map for your universe spanning campaign is tedious and somewhere inevitably becomes boring.
One more star system. Distance to other systems. Trade Routes. Planets, asteroid belts, gas giants...
A load of work if you want to offer some details.
But there is this nice tool that creates the basic system infos for you.
Wonderful!
Astro Synthesis is easy enough to get you started within some minutes but offers such a load of details and options that you can spend hours and still discover new stuff.
It takes some getting used to but it's well worth the time.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
AstroSynthesis v2.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fractal Mapper v8.0 Upgrade
by David G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2010 03:09:40
Used other versions of the products and liked then.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0 Upgrade
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fractal Mapper v8.0
by Dominic M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2010 02:22:07
I found this product to be extremely useful in my effort to make my world maps. Fractal Mapper provides me with an infinite number of land ideas, worlds, dungeons and story ideas whenever I use it. This purchase has been completely worth it and I would recommended to anyone in the need of new ideas or some map making tool.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

AstroSynthesis v2.0
by Juan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2010 16:38:15
Full 3D mapping software for space. Lets you import stellar data as CSV files, exports to XML. Lovely stuff to play with your universe with! And very pretty too...

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
AstroSynthesis v2.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 129 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG