RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Fractal Mapper v8.0 Upgrade
by Mark O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2007 00:10:09
With FM8, NBOS at last has a 100% acceptable alternative to Campaign Cartographer 3 from ProFantasy. Almost any mapping goal that one can reach with CC3 also is obtainable with FM8. In addition, FM8 has many advantages that CC3 doesn't offer:
1. It was developed with and works fine under Windows Vista.
2. It doesn't have a sizeable list of bugs yet to be fixed.
3. It's easy to learn and to use. (The CC3 learning curve is about as steep as Mt. Everest).
4. It embeds its raster symbols, making native formats portable (not the case with CC3).
5. It can use CC3 raster symbols and CSUAC raster symbols.
These points are only the most important. This is an excellent mapping program that every GM should consider.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0 Upgrade
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ScreenMonkey v1.5
by Mike S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2007 22:01:39
Great product, but requires a registration code that I am unable to find.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ScreenMonkey v1.5
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

AstroSynthesis v2.0 (UPGRADE)
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2007 00:00:00
I bought v1.0 sometime back and never really used it and then I purchased 2.0 always with the intention of creating my campaign maps with this program. Well, I finally delved into the program and I am quite pleased with what this can do and even the potential this program has.


LIKED: The new features are a big plus and I personally enjoy adding and/or deleting data as I see fit.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AstroSynthesis v2.0 (UPGRADE)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fractal Mapper 7.0
by Sandra L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2007 00:00:00
I have been using this program for 6 months now, and I still love it. I know I have not been using anything like its full capability, yet it still lets me do more than I ever expected to be able to do with my level of expertise. I can whip out a rough map for an evening's campaign in ten minutes, and lavish loving attention to the world's map over the course of weeks or months.


LIKED: This program makes maps that can be expanded almost indefinitely, to incredible detail. Initially the learning curve looked to be steep but the tutorial helped a lot.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper 7.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Symbol Pack 1: Campaign World (for Fractal Mapper)
by Sandra L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2007 00:00:00
I needed these, but I don't think they were as good a value for the money as the original package. Nevertheless, I would probably buy more if another collection were offered.


LIKED: This add-on gave me more terrain mapping symbols, which I needed badly for my world map, and some new buildings.

DISLIKED: If you have updated to Fractal Mapper 7.1, this add-on will revert your copy to 7.0. Don't panic, you can run the update again and your maps will be okay. It is an unpleasant few moments until then, however.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Symbol Pack 1: Campaign World (for Fractal Mapper)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

AstroSynthesis v2.0
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2007 00:00:00
An excellent product (if a bit tricky to use at first). Once I got the hang of it I enjoyed using it immesely and found it an invaluable aid to gaming. I also have fractal mapper which is a big bonus and rounds out the set.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
AstroSynthesis v2.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

AstroSynthesis v2.0 (UPGRADE)
by Les W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2007 00:00:00
I have been using this for some time since version 1 (pre-one actually)... and really recommend the upgrade (you're going to love the new features if you are already using v1).

If you are new to star mapping, this one is very good and not that hard to learn.


LIKED: Astro tours!

DISLIKED: Some of the nagivation isn't as smooth going as it could be.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
AstroSynthesis v2.0 (UPGRADE)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fractal Mapper 7.0
by Scott G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2007 00:00:00
I've been trying unsuccessfully to use mapping software for years. Not their fault, just my lack of inspiration and determination.

FM7 has been easy to understand and use, so far. Coupled with ScreenMonkey, I've put together a short campaign for my group to run through, including making a screen full of hidden treasure that I can reveal if they successfully search for it.


LIKED: Works with ScreenMonkey (by the same company). Fairly easy to use the advanced features.

DISLIKED: So far, I like it just fine.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper 7.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ScreenMonkey v1.5
by Scott G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2007 00:00:00
So far, this seems like a nice program, especially when paired w/FM7. The hard part is getting all my players to agree on a time to log in. It's a little hard for me to find all the right chat commands, but I'm really not used to on-line play.


LIKED: Ease of use for both GM and players. Very fast over broadband. Gaming system neutral.

DISLIKED: I'd like to see the availability of "adventure bundles" similar to those available for Fantasy Grounds, mainly so I can see how it's done.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ScreenMonkey v1.5
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

AstroSynthesis v2.0 (UPGRADE)
by Brian C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2007 00:35:21
Excellent program.
It runs a bit slow on a 2.0 GHz P4 with 512 MB, but the results are worth the wait.
Depending on the OS and its configuration (Win 2k in my case), it will generate occasional errors at inconvenient times, so I suggest saving frequently (I use sequential numbers).
I also recommend saving before initiating ANY significant changes as there is no 'undo' capability.
Since the search function will only list the first 5,000 entries, one should make the search parameter as narrow or specific as possible.
Full sector reports can take a considerable amount of time. A 100 x 100 x 100 sector may take upwards of 20 minutes to generate.
When one considers the complexity and capabilities of this program, and its relatively flat and short 'learning curve', it would be a bargain at twice the price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AstroSynthesis v2.0 (UPGRADE)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ScreenMonkey v1.5
by Corey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2006 00:00:00
This is our main mapping tool with a computer projector facing down from the ceiling. Could be better in many ways but it does the job till I find somthing better.


LIKED: Ease of use.

DISLIKED: Unlike others I've seen this does not have area of effect snap-to grids that can be pulled from a character.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ScreenMonkey v1.5
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ScreenMonkey v1.5
by JERRY M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2006 00:00:00
I purchased ScreenMonkey after visiting the booth at Gen Con and seeing what the program had to offer. While there are other platforms out there that will allow similar types of online gaming, SM has the advantages of being:
A) Inexpensive: Once the GM gets it, all the players get to play for free! Though only the owner can run games.
B) Easy to use: Quick and simple. Even after a few minutes of the Demo, it becomes ovious how easy and fun SM will be for online play
C) Well supported: with the questions I did have after purchasing the game, I never waited more than one day before getting an answer back, often withing an hour or so of sending an email!

Overall, this is great for gamers who have drifted apart-physically- from their old game groups, GMs who want to try something with other groups, or gamers who just aren't geographically close enough to get together and play face to face.

With the addition of Fractal Mapper and Inspiration PAd, there are a lot of nice things that GMs can add to the game, like detailed online maps and detailed tables.

My one problem was getting the maps I imported to scale properly. It took some work to make the maps chow up so that the counters didnt appear to large or too small. A scaling function on the main toolbar would have helped.

Overall, I would recommend this to anyone who wants to play real RPGs (as opposed to MMORPGS) online.


LIKED: Ease, cost, support.

DISLIKED: Scaling maps took some time.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AstroSynthesis v2.0
by Daryl D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2006 00:00:00
Excellent program, exactly what I needed! IT SHOWS exactly what I need to show, and is 3d! Does a WONDERFUL job!


LIKED: Everything! Graphics importation is particularly wonderful!

DISLIKED: Nothing.

Weeel...more specific star classifications would've been nice. Slows things down quite a bit when I have to look up masses for star classifications I picked.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AstroSynthesis v2.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

AstroSynthesis v2.0
by Jonathan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2006 00:00:00
amazing software, very useful, both for quickly creating random systems, and (with a bit of a time commitment) entering in data from an existing star map as well. I'm currently in the process of entering all the system data from the old alternity Star*Drive campaign book for my current game


LIKED: amazing visuals - one of the best pieces of software available for a GM that runs a lot of sci-fi games

DISLIKED: it runs a bit sluggishly on lower end systems

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AstroSynthesis v2.0
by Jarec B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2006 00:00:00
excellent planetary visualisation tool but needs time to master


LIKED: Ease of use

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 61 to 75 (of 129 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG