RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
ScreenMonkey v1.5
by Ron S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2005 00:00:00
This is a wonderful product! For what Screen Monkey accomplishes I'm suprised at how low the price is. I love it. Very easy to use.


LIKED: Price for the product is terrific considering the features.
Extremely easy to setup and use.
Getting your PCs connected to the server is as easy as it could possibly be with no extra client software to install.

DISLIKED: not much

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ScreenMonkey v1.5
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fractal Mapper 7.0
by Brian L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2005 00:00:00
I have no drawing skills and this product allows me to create the maps I have in my head.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper 7.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fractal Mapper 7.0
by Wayne H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2005 00:00:00
An excellent mapping utility. Very intuitive and straight forward. You don't need a CAD background to use it either!

LIKED: Intuitive, and easy to use.

DISLIKED: Nothing

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper 7.0
by Andrew H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2005 00:00:00
A very interesting program, although I have not had much of a chance to fully use it yet

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper 7.0
by Larry B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2005 00:00:00
I'm quite happy with this update. Hopefully it won't have the sticky points the older version had.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper 7.0
by Jeff A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2005 00:00:00
Fractal Mapper has some growing to do. While one may be able to make good and functional maps with it, the amount of work it takes to do so is often not worth the effort. I own other mapping products that offer many more options and are easier to use. I mainly bought FM for it's "integration" with Screen Monkey. This integration also needs some work to make it a real integration.

LIKED: Smooth interface, not too cluttered. Scenario Builder is a nice touch. Good support.

DISLIKED: Cannot make simple turning corridors. Adding symbols to a map is convoluted. Grif numbering is too restrictive, and often unreadable for exported maps. There is more...

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ScreenMonkey v1.5
by Jeff A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2005 00:00:00
Screen Monkey fills an important niche in the gaming community. While the application is generic in its approach it does a good job for most gaming applications. However, there is so much more this program COULD be. Users have an extensive wishlist, of which many items overlap. It would be nice to see these commonly requested items be added. The problem appears to be that the author is one person who maintains several popular programs, and not all the programs get equal time.

Some of the common wishlist items:

Ability to type text on the map. The masking function needs a polygon (circle, square/rectangle) mode in addition to freehand. GM needs the ablity to add PCs along with NPCs. GM needs the ability to edit all PC and NPC info on the fly, not just select bits. GM needs the ability to setup different GM "persona" for different games they run (example: GM might be running a Red Dwarf game one night, and a D&D game the next. instead of having to edit the preferences each time, selecting a game/persona would add flexibility.) Coordinate grid numbering instead of in-grid numbering.

LIKED: No user application to download, users only need a browser. The host application works well.

DISLIKED: Grid numbering is too restrictive and often unreadable for the end user. Maps need scalability, not just for the grid, but for the map itself, such as the ability to zoom in and out. No ability to type text on the map. The masking function needs a polygon (circle, square/rectangle) mode in addition to freehand. GM needs the ablity to add PCs along with NPCs. GM needs the ability to edit all PC and NPC info on the fly, not just select bits. GM needs the ability to setup different GM "persona" for different games they run (example: GM might be running a Red Dwarf game one night, and a D&D game the next. instead of having to edit the preferences each time, selecting a game/persona would add flexibility.)

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ScreenMonkey v1.5
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fractal Mapper 7.0
by Bruce H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2005 00:00:00
Really well done product. Well supported. I love it and its integration with ScreenMonkey. Makes my online RPG campaign possible. :)


LIKED: Support, ease of use, not a steep learning curve, easy to import Starship deckplans.

DISLIKED: Nothing

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper 7.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ScreenMonkey v1.5
by Bruce H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2005 00:00:00
I was a little disappointed with the map features of ScreenMonkey in an otherwise excellent product. The integration with Fractal Mapper fixed those problems. The best feature is that only the GM needs to run specific software. Everyone else just runs their browser. (Though MS Internet Explorer and Firefox work best, I see no reason even IBrowse wouldn't work.)

LIKED: Ease of use. Only the GM needs the software, excellent support.

DISLIKED: Map features leave lots to be desired. though full integration with Fractal Mapper fixes this problem.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ScreenMonkey v1.5
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Symbol Pack 1: Campaign World (for Fractal Mapper)
by Donald H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2005 00:00:00
This symbol pack includes vector-drawn work, which means they scale up and down very nicely. I've used Fractal Mapper since an early incarnation, and it's good for organically building worlds and environments. The final product gives the feel of a hand-drawn map which is always nice for giving out at games.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Symbol Pack 1: Campaign World (for Fractal Mapper)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fractal Mapper 7.0
by Mary J. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2005 00:00:00
I have never been a "mapper." But I've created worlds before, and I wanted begin my new GM career with a new world, a good start, and a sound map. I had no intention of BUYING a mapping program. Until I saw and read and researched all I could about "Fractal Mapper 7.0." I splurged and bought it, and have been satisfied with it since.

LIKED: I loved the easy with which you can make landmasses. I admit I have not tried floorplans of buildings or dungeons, but I would imagine it'd be even easier. As a "world builder" my favorite option is seeing the globe rotating with my newly created landmasses upon it.

DISLIKED: I wasn't a "mapper" before Fractal Mapper 7.0 and there is A LOT that I've had to learn, experiment with, and just try out and hope for the best. While the "Help" section IS very helpful, it still could not answer all of my questions, like say, someone who is very familiar with the program and intricaticies standing over my shoulder and pointing out, "No, not that key; this one." But still, the journey has been more enjoyable than frustrating.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper 7.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fractal Mapper 7.0
by Bryon R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2005 00:00:00
Grat Map Maker. Love it. I use it to make maps for almoost any thing.

LIKED: The ablities this program can do

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper 7.0
by Steven S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2005 00:00:00
Excellent product. For quick'n'dirty maps, it does an excellent job, and the tools are there for some more detail. It's a bit simpler than Campaign Cartographer (though highly similar in style). NBOS has gone a long was toward building a single-company suite of programs for role-playing that I fully intend to use for years.

LIKED: It was easy to use, fast, graphically powerful, and very compatible with Screen Monkey (one of the primary reasons I bought it).

DISLIKED: It isn't largely expandable.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper 7.0
by Steven C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2004 00:00:00
I had heard a lot of good press about this product and thought I'd give it a whirl. Never have I seen a program that is so consistent with its best ratings. The Fractal Mapper is a brilliantly intuitive program. Its features are both easy to use and deep allowing you to create fully fleshed-out random worlds, dungeons, towns, whatever in minutes, but also to focus on the most minute details of that perfect setting you've been waiting to build! The basics are easry to grasp yet its intricate capabilities are surprising. NBOS has a gorgeous product here and I can't find a bad thing to say about it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper 7.0 (Upgrade)
by Sean F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2004 00:00:00
This product is a great value for the money. Although the interface takes some getting used to and there are some "features" that make some tasks more painful than they need to be, this product is highly recommended.

I've created a multi-continent game world from scratch over the course of a year, and FM7 makes it very easy to add a new layer with additional detail or make minor changes over time. The printing capabilities are acceptable. There is also a "save as" feature that allows you to export your map to a bmp and then work with it outside of FM.

The most significant downside to this product is the relative lack of graphics that are available to drop on your maps. The online component that comes with the product is nice for getting new ideas or seeing other implementations of the tools and graphics, but additional graphics are hard to come by. The built in graphics sets are sufficient to create a world, but you will be limited in variety.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper 7.0 (Upgrade)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 91 to 105 (of 129 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG