RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Treasures of NeoExodus: Silence (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2012 10:07:40
This installment of the Treasures of NeoExodus-line is 3 pages long, 1 page SRD and 1 page item-cards, leaving us with 1 page content, so let's check this out!

Silence is a legendary spear created by an Arman shaman (or received - none knows how...) to defeat the sorceror-kings of Abaddon and thus, this +1 vicious cold iron short spear is a bane of magic users:
Silence can be used to thwart enemy magic: Beyond a +2 resistance bonus to saves, the spear has an interesting signature ability: When the user is targeted directly or even just included in an area of effect spell, he can use an AoO to brush the spell aside, his attack-roll becoming the SR for the respective spell, on a 20 even sending the spell back at its caster. Furthermore, the spear may deliver a greater dispel magic at CL 13 once per day.

A powerful ability indeed, even with the caveat of working only vs. spells that allow SR and against spells of which the wielder is aware!

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to the new parchment-background 2-column NeoExodus-standard and the pdf comes with no bookmarks, but needs none at this length. The pdf comes with a more printer-friendly version that adheres to the old NE-standard with its white background. The artwork of Silence is nice, as we've come to expect from LPJr Design. Silence is an interesting weapon with an iconic, unique signature ability whose limits serve to offset the potentially gamebreaking powers of its special ability. While requiring a handle with care when introduced by the DM, the weapon makes for an iconic addition to the game and thus I'll settle for a final verdict of 5 stars, though with the caveat of the DM realizing the power of this weapon.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Treasures of NeoExodus: Silence (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Treasures of NeoExodus: Hellfrost Hammer (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2012 08:40:35
This installment of the Treasures of NeoExodus-line is 4 pages long, with 1 page devoted to the SRD and 1 to the item cards.

The Hellfrost Hammer was the weapon of a dread caliban wight warlord that led a band of roving beings from the frigid South into Protectorate territory - only after being struck by a full-blown artillery assault did the read being succumb, its mysteriously well-crafted weapon testament of strange things and threats still slumbering somewhere beyond the sanguine wall.

Mechanically, the hammer is a +2 blackfrost icy burst warhammer that grants its wielder benefits for coup-de-gracing foes - cold resistance 5 as well as 3 temporary HP per HD of the fallen foe for 10 minutes per HD of the foe. Undead instead gain 5 HP and +1 to attack and hit for the deed. Killed creatures of the fire subtype convey an improed cold resistance of 10.

The new Blackfrost property is also detailed - when dealing more than 3 points of damage, these weapons also deal 2 points of dex-damage: Combined with the coup-de-gracing enchantment of the hammer, this makes the weapon wicked indeed. What sucks, though, is that the new blackfrost magical weapon property lacks information on as what equvalent the enchantment is supposed to work or what kind of aura such a weapon has - my gut feeling tells me, I'd make it a +3 equivalent, but I'm not sure.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to the two-column, drop-dead-gorgeous new NeoExodus standard with its parchment-like background and comes with a more printer-friendly version that adhere to the background-less, also rather beautiful full-color standard of older NeoExodus publications. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length and its artwork, as with many LPJr Design-releases, s up to the highest level of quality, making the dread hammer come alive. Twisted in its mechanical concept, extremely lethal and tied in with a nice background to boot, I have nothing to complain about in this installment of the series apart from the lack of information regarding the new weapon property. Thus, I'll settle for a final verdict of 4 stars and hope the property will be revised so that DMs can create their own blackfrost nightmare weapons. Once the property is rectified, this can easily be considered 5 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Treasures of NeoExodus: Hellfrost Hammer (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Treasures of NeoExodus: Staff of the Red Mage (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2012 03:04:23
This installment of the Treasures of Neoxodus-series is 4 pages long, 1 page RD and 1 page devoted to item-cards, so what is this staff all about?

The Red Mage's Staff is essentially an unofficial badge of honor - named after the very first Red Mage, who was a pioneer in adventuring for the good of the people instead of for personal gain, the staff has survived the centuries and countless near or full-blown destructions - today, it is in the hands of a Cynean seeking to end the Quickslaver-threat (Still waiting for the sourcebook on them! ;] ).

Mechanically, the staff is a +1 flaming/+1 frost quarterstaff that can cats Good Hope, Heroism, Greater Heroism and Haste and which can be reconstructed at 1/3 of its price by the current Red Mage and teleport back to the Red Mage's hand. Unfortunately, the staff does not mention how many charges it usually comes with when found, which is a minor bummer.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are good, though not perfect - I noticed e.g. plural-s-glitches and the fact that the staff lacks information about its charges sucks. Layout adheres to the beautiful parchment-background-style 2-column standard of the NeoExodus line and the printer-friendly version's old full-color NeoExodus layout is no less beautiful. The artwork of the Staff, as we've come to expect from LPJr Design, is up to the highest standard one can have. I liked the background story of the staff, but mechanically it utterly underwhelmed me. If all the Red Mages were such powerful figure, how come their staff is that weak? +1 on both ends? This limited array of spells? Not even one unique offensive or defensive quality? Just lame teleporting back and easier reconstruction? LPJr Design products have awesome ideas that sometimes stumble in their mechanical execution. This is the opposite - mostly sound in mechanical execution, the staff's crunch is just boring as hell and doesn't stand up to the story. Combined with the minor glitches, especially this relative blandness makes me settle on a final verdict of 2.5 stars, rounded up o 3 for the purpose of this platform due to the low price. You guys can do better and you have shown so in the series!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Treasures of NeoExodus: Staff of the Red Mage (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Classes of NeoExodus: Machinesmith (PFRPG)
by Nathan C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/20/2012 08:50:33
Iron Nugget
Succeeds

Oh Machinesmith, you had me at steampunk. For some reason, publishers are not interested in making a boat load of money and practically ignore the many fans out there who want a touch of steampunk in their Pathfinder. To satisfy our cravings, LPJDeisgns presents the Machinesmith, a meaty 22-page class writeup of a magical alternative class that uses a fusion of technology and magic to produce magical effects.

Having built two iterations of the class, the Machinesmith can hang right in there with the wizards and sorcerers. It even can take spellbooks and prepare spells from it, which means that the class will not be isolated like so many magic alternative classes. The Machinesmith is not just sitting back and launching prototypes though. Much like the alchemist class, the machinesmith design allows users to delve into three types of Machinesmiths. One type will alow the player to sit back in a traditional spell slinging roll, the other two allow players to get into the thick of combat. My favorite is the Morbius weapon.

Machinesmith does not just present one class, it gives a lot of bells and whistles for the class. Feats, spells and archetypes help make the class a little easier to integrate into a variety of campaigns.

Fail
I wish the class was a little more tech and a lot less magical. The class comes off as a better written artificer than truly a mechanical genius from a flavor point of view, yet the abilities are clearly designed for a more tech described class. I also hated the prestige class included. It’s built only for the Machinesmith, which makes it useful as a prestige class. It should have been designed so current classes can get a piece of the tech tree.
The Iron Word
Machinesmith presents a great class for campaigns looking to institute a little more tech into their magical soup. It does not go all out with the tech, which will be a positive or a negative for some.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Classes of NeoExodus: Machinesmith (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Treasures of NeoExodus Subscription Service
by Benjamin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2012 04:29:25
This review is for the subscription service itself, not the actual products. Those I tend to find range in quality from about 3-5 stars.

This subscription has some major problems. Aside from the two "exclusives", I have had to contact DriveThruRPG for every release to have it added to my library. Given that the main reason for the subscription was convenience (the savings was not really that substantial), this to me means that the subscription is really a complete failure. I'm not sure where the fault lies...maybe LPJ isn't properly tagging the. Uploads to be a part of the subscription, maybe DriveThru is just continually dropping the ball on this one. But I'm tired of getting the email telling me that a a new product has been added to my library and then having to contact DriveThru and wait a day or two in order to actually make the product available.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Treasures of NeoExodus Subscription Service
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

NeoExodus Chronicles: Usual Suspects (PFRPG)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/13/2012 10:38:15
Here is a fine collection of diverse NPCs drawn from throughout the world of NeoExodus, all ready to serve as bit-part players in your adventures. It dives straight in to the listings after a brief note as to what other works have been drawn upon for a few of the feats, items, psionic powers and spells - mostly other books within the NeoExodus line, with some psionics from Psionics Unleashed from Dreamscarred Press. (If you are fond of using psionics, this is well worth acquiring, by the way.)

The individual entries are grouped sensibly by organisation or role, with a range within each: so, for example, within the sample Imperial Janissaries - a bunch of wandering monastics dedicated to universal peace who'll use psionics, diplomacy or even martial arts to resolve disputes - you get several Janissaries of different levels of experience. Pick one of an appropriate level or if you prefer, a number of lower-level ones with a more senior in command. Each entry comes with a brief overview of the group from which they are drawn, and each individual NPC has a full stat block. You will still need to add the 'fluff' such as name, appearance, personality, motivations and what they are actually trying to achieve... much of the last, at least, will derive from the scenario you are running, of course. The real advantage is that the mechanical work has been taken care of for you.

The PDF is well-bookmarked, making it easy to pick out what you want, although there is no index or much in the way of introduction or overview. You get a slightly more 'printer-friendly' version as well as the full-blown version with a background similar to the cover throughout - personally I think the white background makes for a crisper look and it's the one I prefer to use on-screen as well.

This is a very handy resource, and if the opposition you plan for the characters to face involves a fair number of organisations - Caneus High Guard, Order of Kaga Augers, those Imperial Janissaries or even a few Phoenix Guard Terrrorists (and many more) - you will find the basis for serried ranks of foes within these pages.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
NeoExodus Chronicles: Usual Suspects (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Treasures of NeoExodus: Mordant Wrath (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2012 05:03:27
This pdf is 4 pages long, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 3 pages of content, so let's check this out!

Mordant Wrath is a weapon crafted during the war between the legendary sorceror-kings of Abaddon versus the Cavians and actually is inhabited by the spirit of a dragon who still seethes with rage and thus seeks to slay all but its wielder. The intelligent +3 furious corrosive burst greataxe has changed hands many times, often between Samentian barbarian warlords and dragons, which the axe seem to consider rivals. Beyond its senses and the ability to cast rage 3/day, the axe also can also cast a new magus-spell at will: Corrosive Consumption, a spell that inflicts those hit by the touch with acid that continues to deal damage over 3 rounds.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting is top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to NeoExodus' beautiful 2-column full-color standard with an awesome full-color artwork for the axe and a parchment-like background as well as an alternate full-color background-less version of the pdf that adheres to the more printer-friendly old NeoExodus-standard. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length. The axe mordant wrath s cool, deadly and a potentially two-edged axe (pardon the pun) that is powerful enough to be kept in spite of its risks. Well-designed and with two version covering both printer and screen-users, this is so far my favorite installment of the series and thus scores my full 5 stars + endzeitgeist seal of approval.

DISCLAIMER: There is a slight ambiguity regarding DC and caster-level of the spell-like ability. I've written to Louis and he told me he would revise the pdf. Since I'll be offline for a time, this review reflects the changes in good faith. Sans the changes, this pdf would "only" score a 4 star-review.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Treasures of NeoExodus: Mordant Wrath (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Treasures of NeoExodus: Helm of the Communal Mind (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2012 07:11:10
This pdf is 4 pages long, 1 page SRD, leaving 3 pages of content, so let's check this out!

Helms of communal command were brought to NeoExodus by warriors from another world that had been fighting a war against medusas and similar creatures on their homeplane - devoid of slits, they grant immunity to sight-based effects like color spray and grant blindsight to the wearer. Up to 6 communal mind-helmets may be attuned to each other, granting a kind of collective perception between attuned helmets and a bonus ti initiative an AC for everyone in the network. Silence for example can suppress the helm's effects. Even better yet, Section Omega has created a psionic alternative of these helms, which can be fitted with cognizance crystals and are suppressed by catapsi-effects. Nice and wholly compatible with Psionics Unleashed!

The pdf comes with item cards for both versions.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to the new parchment-style background and beautiful full-color NeoExodus standard, but we get o printer-friendly version. the full-color artwork of the helm is awesome. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.

The items are cool, the option to get a psionic variant is awesome and the idea behind the items and their minor weakness/possibility to disable them make them even cooler. Due to the low price and the provided variant, I'll round up from my verdict of 4.5 stars (which is due to the lack of a printer-friendly b/w-version) to 5.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Treasures of NeoExodus: Helm of the Communal Mind (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Image Portfolio 1.14 Fantasy
by Leland S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2012 13:39:12
Let me preface this with Art Quality: 5/5!

The problem though is that it is a secure PDF. When selling artwork to use in stock art, there needs to be a better way of sending the document in a secured format that cannot be easily opened in Photoshop. What is more frustrating with this document is the fact that the images are a bit harder than the previous ones to copy and paste in other of the same series. Short of screenshotting or distilling into XPS, both of which degrade the image quality, and then back-out there is little way to get the images for your own use.

Unluckily, this defeats the purpose of the product... hence, the 1 star review. I have 12 images that look good in a PDF by themselves, but are impossible to use as stock imagery for a project.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio 1.14 Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Obsidian Twilight Campaign Setting (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2012 05:31:04
This pdf is a whopping 168 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page dedication, 3 pages ToC, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover.
The pdf also comes with a 4-pages character sheet and 21 pages of printable tokens containing artwork from the book to be used as counters. Unfortunately they e.g. bear the face of Calix Sabinus, severely limiting their usability. The pdf is also fully bookmarked.

That leaves 135 pages for the Obsidian Twilight campaign setting, of which 16 pages make up the introductions to the respective chapters, all in the format of one page introductory quote and a two-page spread complete with a nice piece of artwork. I won't count these pages in my page-count for the respective chapters.
The first chapter gives us an introduction to the world of Abaddon, a world devastated by a cataclysmic meteoric strike that wiped out more than 85% of the world's populace and makes for a grim backdrop. Spanning the general events of the cataclysmic 100 last years, this makes for a nice lead-in. (5 pages)
Chapter 2 (25 pages) features the races of Abaddon. It kicks off with notes on the standard races, how they deviate from a standard campaign setting (Halflings are e.g. feral cannibals that file their teeth) as well as featuring some in-character names for the races. While I liked them, I think that the very comic-style artwork provided for them makes one thing clear: You DON'T WANT to play standard races in Abaddon. Why? Well, first of all, the OT-specific races all feature cooler, extremely nice artworks. Secondly, they are more powerful.
The new races are:
-Exalted, the direct offspring of celestials like Zebadiah (see later), that may actually have been born from rapes and the like, adding a shade of grey to the do-goodie angels trapped in Abaddon. I liked the fact that their nomenclature features a family name derived from their progenitor/Zebadiah. They are lawful native outsiders, have 90 ft. Darkvision (where 60 ft. is more common, but ok), +2 Charisma, can summon an immaterial blade and get to choose from a very limited spell-list a spell-like ability to cast 3/day. While some of the spells felt weak, e.g. Charm Person, Disguise Self, Purify Food and Drink and Detect Magic seemed like godsends in Abaddon to me.
-Genesai, offspring of demonic outsiders mating with angelic outsiders, felt a bit weird to me. They get +2 Con, + 2 Wis and -2 Cha, are native Outsiders, have 120 ft. Darkvision (!!!), immunity to charm and compulsion, a summonable blade and bonuses against outsiders (+1 to hit and damage, + 4 Dodge). These strengths are somewhat offset by an aura that unnerves animals, resulting in some penalties. All in all, though, I think that this race is slightly stronger than the standard ones.
-Harrowed are the offspring of mortals and undead and as such, feared and loathed. While I personally don't like the concept of undead being able to father children with mortals, I have to admit that the race is somewhat cool: The are not undead, but rather get a +50% damage from undead-targeting spells and heal only half as many hit points by being cured. They also get bonuses to disease, poison, death and paralysis, Darkvision 60 ft, can hold their breath longer and don't need as much food as mortals. They also get a bonus on attacks and damage against undead. Their attributes get a + 4 Str and +2 Con bonus contra -2 Cha. While this deviates from the standard formula of 2 plus-2 bonuses and one -2 penalty, I think it works due to the healing drawback. Neatly done, although the in PFRPG uncommon +50%/-50%-stuff adds a bit to book-keeping for the player, but hey, you get a prime candidate for melee classes.

-Infernals are the offspring of demonic bloodlines and as such, are chaotic outsiders. They also get a whopping 120 ft. Darkvision, +2 Con, the unnatural aura, can choose 2 qualities from a list of Infernal Taint abilities like resistances to elements and the like. They also get a plus 2 bonus against summoning and teleportation as well as the ability to cast specific spells 3/day like the exalted. They also get a natural claw attack. Due to their flexibility and the fact that you get to choose both 2 Infernal Taints and a spell-like, they felt slightly stronger to me than the standard races.

-Khymer. Of all the new races, this concept is the weirdest by far and I didn't know whether to love or hate it at first. Ok, bear with me: Khymer are actually psionic, sentient, toxic (1d6 Str) and necromantically active blood. Khymer are aberrations and are immune against spells that specifically target humanoids, +2 Wis, get 60 ft. Darkvision and a bonus PSP as well as the ability to metapsionically enhance their psionics by burning out their body vessel faster. Body Vessel? Yep, Khymer die when left outside a host body for longer than 2d12+Con rounds, which means they'll need a lot of corpses to inhabit, as the limit for one vessel is 100 hours. They also get double damage from dehydration and +50% damage from fire and cold, the latter of which is a rather uncommon mechanic in 3.5/PFRPG. Dreamscarred Press's Psionics Unleashed had not yet been released and due to the fact that I'm still waiting for my dead tree copy of said book, I can't comment on whether they are compatible. They felt a bit strong as psions and while their vulnerabilities somehow offset it, the body vessel (which makes Khymer cool) also makes them kinda clunky to play - they can only change bodies when within 2 hours of burning out their body or reduced to lower than 10% of their HP. Mechanically, that's not too user-friendly.

-Lykians are the lycanthropes of Abaddon. They get +2 Dex, - 2 Int and -2 Cha, but get low-light vision, a +8 bonus to acrobatics with regards to jumping, a +2 bonus to climb and survival, better concealment-miss-chances, a diseased bite as well as natural weapons (claws and bite). These are offset by a savingthrow-less vulnerability to silver and cold iron as well as a -2 penalty to will saves. All in all, while they make "Werewolves" playable, they felt a bit weak to me due to the significant penalties.

-Osirian: Black-skinned humanoids, they have a cool background as a favored race before the cataclysm. They get +2 Dex, + 2 to reflex saves and +2 against necromancy spells. They also get an ability called "Necromantic hellfire" that causes fatigue in living beings and disrupts undead. Compared to the other races, this one felt rather weak, but I'd also use them in another setting. In Golarion, they would have to have another name, though.

-Raijin: Raijin are a fusion of a mortal and a vengeful spirit and are applied as a template t other races that could be acquired during play. I like that as a nice alternative to treasure. They get -2 Cha, get the equivalent of the Die Hard feat, +2 on Will and Fort saves and all weapons they use are treated as plus 1 for purposes of bypassing DR. I really like that concept.
All in all, most of the races are cool. So cool in fact, that they are what I deem "Devil-may-cry-cool", which is not bad per se, but means that they are somewhat over the top and I think that less would have been more here. The fact remains that these races practically guarantee that people belonging to them are heroes or villains, somewhat diminishing the moral choice of becoming a hero and stand against the overwhelming darkness or succumbing to it. I can't for the life of me, imagine e.g. a Genesai in any other profession than a PC-class. Most of the races felt subsequently a bit stronger than the base races and more inclined towards specific classes than usual. I'd have my PCs earn Raijin-status and refuse to add the template to any of the new races apart from Osirians due to balance reasons.
Chapter 3 contains new spells found on Abaddon. (39 pages) 6 pages contain spell lists by class.
I liked most spells and for the sake of me completing this review this century, I'm just going into extremely cool spells or problems.
-Blood Tentacles summons tentacles from dead or dying people (killing them) that grapple enemies. cool idea, however, no CMB is given in the spell description.
-Bone construct: Makes it possible for a Necromancer to make moving things from bones. Great spell to get creative and create/amplify undead. I love "roleplaying" spells like this one, though I think that the spell should have a monetary component to balance out the fact that it's permanent. As it stands, it conflicts with PFRPG crafting.
-Bones of Adamantine has a casting time of "One kill round". Not sure whether that's a typo or if there is something like a kill round.
-Chains of Antimagic: Great idea, I've been using a spell like this in my homebrew for years.
-Consume Man: One of my favorite spells (Cuigna Arthanath or something like that) from the complete book of eldritch might, this insta-kills one enemy, violating PFRPGs retake on Instakill-spells.
-Corpse Storm: 4 corpses per level of the caster bombard an area, propelled by a black cloud of negative energy and bludgeon and panic the poor guys in the area. 'Nuff said.
-Curse of Warts: Cover the target in warts from head to toe. Great way to humiliate cocky PCs.
-De-vein is a lvl 6-Insta-kill spell and thus does not conform with PFRPG design philosophy.
-Disintegration Field works like a mass 3.5.-Disintegrate. It should be revised to conform to PFRPG disintegrate.
-Healing Interdiction: Cool high-level curse that prevents healing.
-Identify Scrier: Mechanically ok, I hate this spell. It identifies the name of a scrier. This could break many an adventure plot.
-Knotting the Cord: Another 3.5-favorite of mine from Ancient Kingdoms: Mesopotamia - nice to see it back in print.
-Maggot Infestation: A very cool spell that unfortunately suffers from 3.5-Insta-death-syndrome. Needs to be updated to PFRPG.
-Mark of Death: Another Insta-death-itis-spell that needs to be updated to PFRPG.
-Realign the Heavens: Powerful spell that does just that - very nice.
-Tendrils of Eternal Night: Iconic spell, unfortunately lacks a CMB for your convenience.

In conclusion one can say that this chapter contains several appropriately dark spells, most of which are somewhat useful or cool. Unfortunately there has been some serious recycling of spells from 3.5-sources (I would have preferred new spells), but this per se is no problem. The fact that several spells still use 3.5.-mechanics, though, is a serious problem, somewhat limiting the usability of this chapter and giving you the impression of a cut-copy-paste-job. Plus: They are NOT new spells as advertised.

Chapter 4 contains new prestige classes and feats (25 pages).
-Blade Witch (d8, 4+Int skills, medium BAB, good Ref-save): A gish-like class that can empower her blade via the sacrifice of spell-slots and regain spells by killing foes. My main gripe here is: The PrC has no capstone ability for 10th level. The final level of the class is a "dead" level: BAB +1, +1 Ref, +1 level spellcasting. Who'd go for that? Besides, it violates PFRPG design philosophy: No more dead levels, at least get access to a new level of spells. That is not ensured by +1 spellcasting level in a PrC.

-Blood Duelist (d10, 4+Int skills, good BAB, medium Ref-save): Khymer warriors that use their blood-body to enhance their combat prowess. The 4th level ability grants DR 5/Fire and reduces all piercing attacks against the Khymer to 1 point. Oo Op, anyone? Apart from this ability, though, the class rocks. I'd suggest amping the DR up to 10 and canceling out the piercing damage-negating ability.

-Dark Overseer (d6, 4+Int skills, slow BAB, medium Will-save): Leader-type Character, demoralizes foes and uses fear. I can't see my players picking this class, it feels rather weak. The level 10 capstone is cool, though: You get a lich-like phylactery. All in all, a nice class for charismatic mastermind antagonists.

-Demon Seeker (d10, 2+Int skills, good BAB, irregular Fort + Will saves [both +6 at 10th level]): "Evil" Paladin-like Anti-infernal zealots. Ok class, I guess, but nothing to write home about.

-Headhunter (d8, 4+Int skills, irregular BAB [+9 at 10th level], irregular Fort + Will saves [both +6 at 10th level]: Very cool class that uses shrunken heads of slain enemies to bolster their own combat prowess.
-Reaper (d10, 2+Int skills, good BAB, good fort-save):This class is utterly and completely over-powered. Reapers may attack more than one square with one hit, up to all 8 around them at 10th level. Why take whirlwind attack again? If that was not enough, they learn to ignore ANY DR a undead creature may have. At the second level of the class. Which means that a level 8 character can wade through the DR of ANY undead creature. This is a stellar example of "cool idea - lacking execution". I'd rather eat my dice than allow this class in my game.

I'm not going into details on the feats that make up the rest of this chapter and just comment on the ones where I see problems or that I consider especially well-thought out.
-Cannibalism [Lykian]: I think Halflings should also be able to do this, at least from the sparse fluff I read. Apart from that, eating a slain enemies heart to restore 1d8+1/HD HP is not that much. Useful at lower levels, but I think it should scale accordingly.
-Casting out the Unclean: Turn evil outsiders. I don't know, I think clerics should be able to turn undead first as a prerequisite to this feat, which is no longer a given in PFRPG.
-Death Touch: Clunky mechanics taken straight from the cleric ability in 3.5. Needs revision.
-Erupt[Khymer]: Lets a Khymer burst his body vessel in a toxic explosion. Great idea, but I think the damage should scale with the levels - 4d4 is rather laughable at medium and high levels.
-Fade out [Genesai]: While powerful, the loss of actions and the usage of their shattersoul blade makes this ability to cease to exist (and become immune to damage) for a short amount of time quite interesting. Strong, yes, but it can be handled.
-Final Revenge[Rajin]: even if you die, the spirit within keeps you around as a stronger Zombie for one final bid for revenge. Cool idea, especially due to still being able to be resurrected.
-Ghost blooded [Harrowed]: Can turn incorporeal for lvl/rounds per day. Can break adventures and is VERY strong at lower levels.
-Lace spells: Originally from the Book of Eldritch Might, I considered them OP then and still do so.
-Poltergeist[Rajin]: Use telekinesis BAB times per day as a free action. DC is 10+level+Wis-mod, only one telekinetic attack per round, but can use normal attacks in addition. Ähem. This is OP. Srsly. You can grapple with telekinesis. You need Wis and Con 14+ and a BAB of 3+, but nevertheless: This feat is broken.
-Prehensile Tail [Infernal]: Get a second off-hand for a light weapon with your tail. No. Just no. OP. I don't even have to do the math, just think about it.
-Torch Fighter: Now this is a cool feat: Use a torch as unarmed attacks and set enemies on fire.
-Unscry: Great feat, but why doesn't it have a captivating fluff text? Just two lines could have inspired awesome adventure ideas.

To sum it up: Apart from the blood duelist and the headhunter, the PrCs didn't wow me and the feats didn't either. Some racial feats are very cool, most are standard fare - good, but nothing to write home about. I was kinda irked by the amount of material from the Book of Eldritch Might I've seen so far - there is serious recycling going on when some of the original ideas show that the authors can deliver cool original concepts and I want more NEW material.

Chapter 5 describes the dangers of Abaddon (25 pages).
The chapter kicks off with 2 new monsters (with two versions each, normal and paragon) as well as a template for necromantic infused creatures.

The monsters are:
-Boneshard Golem (CR8)
-Paragon Boneshard Golem (CR 11)
-Souleater (CR 8)
-Paragon Souleater (CR 11)
Both the monsters and the template get their own, drop-dead gorgeous artworks. The fluff for the creatures is both plentiful and aptly written and I'm glad they have been updated to PFRPG - in my first version of the pdf, they still had been 3.5..
After that, we move on to the major players of Abaddon:
-Asi Magnor: Asi Magnor is a CR 30 mummy-king with a quite complex stat-block befitting of such a big baddy. The entry comes with a short history of the villain as well as some magic items of his regalia.
While I really do like complex stat-blocks, I am not too great a crunching numbers myself. One of the things that struck me as a bit strange was the creatures speed of 25 ft., when a normal mummy has 20 feet. Oh well.
The regalia of Asi Magnor unfortunately does not live up to his cool premise and the component weapons, while featuring cool names, seemed quite weak to me or at least not befitting a CR 30 endgame villain.

-Calix Sabinus: Calix Sabinus, the CR 35 vampire-lich lord is quite possibly the most powerful entity in the blasted, cataclysmic land of the Obsidian Twilight setting. While I vastly prefer this stat-block to e.g. the one of Asi Magnor, Calix's melee capabilities somehow left something to be desired for me. Yes, his vast arsenal of spells and abilities make him deadly and his nature makes him almost unkillable, but he is a fragile enemy and I'm not entirely sure he should be.
Once again, his magic items, while this time iconic, are nothing to write home about at this power-level.

-Zebadiah: Zebadiah (CR 30) is the crippled angel and progenitor of the exalted race. Once a mighty and perhaps the last force of celestial good in the lands of Obsidian Twilight, the angel Zebadiah has been crippled, defeated and mutilated by Calix Sabinus, forever roaming the lands with his half-scarred form, seething with righteous anger for his humiliation.
His statblock is great and actually makes him a credible threat for high-level PCs (or Npcs) and for once, his magic items are befitting in power-level of such a high-level creature.
It should be noted that all three legends have been updated to PFRPG and DO have CMB/CMD etc. While the artwork for Asi Magnor left me unimpressed, the other two ones are simply stunning. If you already own the "Fallen of Obsidian Twilight"-series, though, you'll already know them.

After that, we get 8 new diseases, ranging from DC 14 to DC 20. The fluff of the diseases is actually quite cool and tells you something about Abaddon, while the mechanics are not that imaginative. They don't suck either, though.
We also get 20 new environments & hazards, one of which actually takes up more than a single page! There are some more typos here, which somewhat impedes the enjoyment of the otherwise captivating descriptions of the hazards.
The final page of the pdf is a full-color map of Abaddon.

Conclusion:
For 10 bucks, you get an awfully beautiful book. That's the first thing you'll notice. Apart from some artwork that has been recycled from other LPJ books, most of it is original and stunningly beautiful. The layout of the book is on par with this beauty. However, the book loses some of this appeal if you already own the "Races of Obsidian Twilight" and "Fallen of Obsidian Twilight"-pdfs, as the artworks for e.g. the races have been used in both. Unfortunately, editing is subpar at best with typos, double paragraphs etc. This book deserved a better editing and some of the abilities and spells go against some of the revisions of PFRPG. (Insta-death, looking at you...)

To understand my final verdict, you have to understand something: I saw this setting and immediately wanted to love it. I'm a Ravenloft-DM and have always loved Dark Sun.
Why then, has this book left me feeling somewhat confused and irritated?

The answer is quite simple one of sub-par advertisement of the setting: Obsidian Twilight has almost nothing in common with Ravenloft, there is no psychological, subtle gothic horror anywhere in sight. In fact, you'll probably play such an inhumane race that it will be hard to create the subtle traumas and effects on sanity etc.
I'd also disagree with regards to Dark Sun, there are not enough survival aspects as of yet.
Do I like the premise of OT? Yep, otherwise I wouldn't have bought it. Can I tackle it on its own, without these two frames of reference? Yes. It is a setting of high-powered races and powerful villains - Epic Fantasy in a dark, post-apocalyptic setting. In the end, this is closer to Midnight than it will ever be to Ravenloft, which is not bad, as I love that setting, too.
Would I buy it again? Hard to tell. Why? Well, I already owned the "Fallen of OT"-series and the "Races of OT"-book. This "Campaign setting" does not feature THAT much new content. Many of the spells I already knew from the complete "Book of Eldritch Might, "Magic of Arcanis" and other sources. The same goes for non-racial feats. This disproves that the spells are all new. Which is a pity, as I really like some of the concepts and especially the powerful Rajin has captured my interest.

I didn't notice the new magic items and equipment either, so that's false advertisement.

The central problem of this book and what really, truly irritated me though, was: Even after reading the book, I know almost nothing about Abaddon. Highly detailed? Ähem. No. Sorry, but just: No.
There is no sample town, no sample nation, no political landscape, no sample NPCs apart from the big three, nothing. There is the chronology in the beginning, granted, but THAT IS NOT ENOUGH TO QUALIFY AS A CAMPAIGN SETTING.
All I know about the world, I had to pierce together from the sparse fluff throughout the book and that makes me crave for more. But there isn't any more. Instead of a developed world or at least a broad overview, I got a sketch of an interesting setting that actually contains far less information that e.g. the Gazetteer for Golarion. Or just about every other campaign setting or even Player-friendly book I ever read. Heck, I've read short stories that tell you more about the world they are set in.
This book, at least for me, is a prime example of squandered potential - the world HAS potential and I WANT to know more about it. I don't want x pages of spells that have been cut-copy-pasted from 3.5-books without heeding design changes in Pathfinder. I don't want x pages of tokens with Calix' face that either detract from his horror or just plain don't work for other creatures. What I want is, what this book is advertised as - a CAMPAIGN SETTING for this cool and unique world. As it stands, the book unfortunately falls terribly short of this premise.

That being said, I so desperately WANTED to give this book a good review. It's beautiful. It makes me yearn for more. I can't. There are several typos (-1 star). There are some design-issues with the races and PFRPG (-1 star). There is A LOT of recycled material that takes up the space that could have been used for...A friggin' campaign setting. Or the Information from the product description LIKE EQUIPMENT, MAGIC ITEMS OR HIGHLY DETAILED REGIONS; HISTORY AND ORGANIZATIONS (-1 star). Damn, this depresses the hell out of me. My final verdict will be 2 stars. HOWEVER: If you can live with the sketchy backdrop of the setting, the design-incompatibilities with PFRPG, if you only want some inspiration: Go for it. The artwork is gorgeous and you'll surely be able to scavenge some parts. I really hope for OT to succeed and get the careful, caring treatment its potential deserves. As it stands, it unfortunately leaves much to be desired.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Obsidian Twilight Campaign Setting (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Treasures of NeoExodus: Protectorate Twilight Bow (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2012 05:12:45
The latest addition to the Treasures of NeoExodus-line is 4 pages long, 1 page SRD and ~1/2 a page advertisement, leaving us with 2.5 pages of content, so what exactly is this bow?

Created by the Arman Protectorate during the Twilight War as a magical weapon to eventually mass-produce, the twilight bow is a prime example of misspent military budget - not because of its undoubted effectiveness, but because of its utter economical unfeasibility. Mechanically, the bow is a +4 seeking mighty composite longbow that draws inspiration from modern longbows and treats wielders as if they had a +4 str-bonus, even if the bonus would otherwise be lower. The bow also has a range increment of 200 ft, ignores the first 5 points of hardness and 10 points of object's DR due to its power, with all of these effects being due to superior engineering, not supernatural or magical effects. The pdf also provides a short description to along with the awesome artwork as well as item-cards for the bow.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch this time around - I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to a 2-column standard in full color and has been revised to reflect a new, even more beautiful layout than the older NeoExodus-pdfs. However, the now parchment-style background also means that this pdf is less printer-friendly than older NeoExodus pdfs and I hope LPJr Design will address this by releasing a printer-friendly version in the future. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length. This is a first in the series for me, since this weapon not only has an awesome artwork (a given for any LPJr Design product, really), it also features interesting mechanical properties that could be the source of whole adventures - Think about it: Players hunting for the bow to replicate its non-magical properties by reverse-engineering its creation - or preventing a competing group/general/nation from getting their hand on this technology! Awesome! Especially since you can still just use the weapon as a cool magical bow. In the end, I only have one gripe with this pdf and that is the lack of a printer-friendly version, which makes me settle for a final verdict of 4.5 stars, rounded up to 5 for the purpose of this platform. I really hope the series can keep this mechanical/editorial level and does not revert to this items predecessor's mistakes.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Treasures of NeoExodus: Protectorate Twilight Bow (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Treasures of NeoExodus: Oathbreaker (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2012 06:55:16
This pdf is 3 pages long, with about a page devoted to SRD and editorial, so let's check out this item!

Oathbreaker is an axiomatic guisarme that was originally crafted for a fanatic of the Sanguine Covenant, seeking to root out any pagan priests and subsequently falling from grace. The guisarme also grants 2 to saves vs mind-influencing effects, can cast 3/day cure serious wounds or remove disease, 1/day take control of a summoned creature and even potentially postpone the repercussions of violating a codex/code of conduct for some time.

The pdf comes with a page of item-cards.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are terribly flawed for such a short pdf. There is one sentence on the second page (which also includes editorial SRD - lot of wasted toner/printer for printing out a couple of lines)that is either missing or a combination of a cut-copy-paste-job gone wrong. The crunch also fails to put spell-names in italics and also at which caster-level these spell-like abilities work, rendering this weapon unusable as intended. Which essentially renders an otherwise nice weapon with an interesting ability unusable as presented. The pdf has a beautiful artwork, layout adheres to a 2-column standard and the pdf has no bookmarks. In the end, though, the cool ideas can't really save this item, since it just doesn't work as intended. Taking the shortness of the pdf into account, I'll have to settle for a final verdict of 1.5 stars, rounded down to 1 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Treasures of NeoExodus: Oathbreaker (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ultimate Spell Decks: Alchemist Spell Cards (PFRPG)
by Chris V. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2012 19:09:37
The product is a very good idea, especially considering how fiddly alchemists can be in Pathfinder. I have to ding them a little on the implementation, because the cards have text on both sides, so they can be annoying to print. They did point me in the right direction for getting what I needed printed out on reference cards myself.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Spell Decks: Alchemist Spell Cards (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Treasures of NeoExodus: Omen Blade (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2012 06:34:05
This pdf is 4 pages long, 1 page editorial/SRD, ~1/2 a page content, leaving 2.5 pages of content, so let's check out this item!

The item detailed herein is an interesting blade - a short sword once wielded by an infamous panther warrior named Barassa: Composed of glossy obsidian interlaced with orange veins, the artwork is great and the mechanics are also rather interesting: The Omen Blade is a 4 short sword with a threat range of 18-20. All people and objects with the power to cast hexes and curses cast no reflection in the blade. If an action of the wielder while wielding the blade would result in a curse to be placed on him/her, the blade falls to the ground. Also, as a swift action, the blade can bestow curses on opponents - and if the wielder also elects to get hit by a curse, the target doesn't even get SR or a save. The blade can also produce an augury-effect.

The pdf also includes one page of item-cards for the blade.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are good, though not perfect: I noticed some minor glitches, like the blade's ability to empathically communicate without having intelligent item stats. Layout adheres to NeoExodus' excellent, beautiful 2-column standard and the full-color artwork is awesome. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length. The omen blade should probably get the keen descriptor or draw its keenness from its material - additional clarification there would be nice. I'm not a fan of the no-save-curse either: The curse has a fixed DC. Why not make the DC scale à la DC = 10 1/2 caster level attribute modifier X? If the wielder takes the curse him/herself, why not simply add e.g. 10 to such a DC? The item would feel much more versatile and simply more apt regarding the mechanics. The concept and curse/hex-detection abilities rock and if all mechanics would be as solid, I'd go for 4.5 or even 5 stars, but as presented, I'll have to rate this down to 3.5 stars, rounded down for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Treasures of NeoExodus: Omen Blade (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Treasures of NeoExodus: Malice Blade (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2012 03:02:15
This installment of the Treasures of NeoExodus-line is 4 pages long, 1 page SRD/editorial, 1/2 page of advertisement, leaving us with2.5 pages of content, so let's check out the Malice Blade!

Created by one of the legendary order of Janissaries to channel his pent-up fury and rage into a deadly weapon, this crystal falchion seems to be blood red - whihc is problematic, since it started off as looking like amethyst - the theory being that the blade siphons of the hatred and rage of its wielders, slowly turning more violent with each wielder. Rules-wise, the falchion is a 3 psychokinetic collision crystal falchion that enables its wielder to enter rages as per the spell - but makes it hard for the wielder to get out of the rages. While not going full-blown berserker, the wielder will have a hard time granting quarter.

One of the pages is devoted to weapon-cards of the item.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are ok - I noticed some punctuation errors and minor glitches that should not be present from such a small pdf. Layout adheres to the beautiful 2-column, full-color standard we know from NeoExodus publications. The original piece of artwork for the blade is awesome. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length. All in all, I like the idea and background story of this blade, but I feel it could have been more interesting in the mechanical area: Why not temporarily grant the wielder a rage power when under the effects from the blade's rage, for example? A unique ability like this would go a long way in making the blade stand out more. In the end, this in combination with the editing glitches, results in my final verdict of 3 stars - an ok, though not perfect offering.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Treasures of NeoExodus: Malice Blade (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 91 to 105 (of 719 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG