RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Obsidian Apocalypse: World of Abaddon (PFRPG)
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2012 07:03:09
It's a nice guide to set up a nightmare world in the Pathfinder system. However there are no stats for anyone or creature. Good artwork.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Obsidian Apocalypse: World of Abaddon (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Obsidian Apocalypse: World of Abaddon (PFRPG)
by Thomas M R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2012 12:38:29
Excellent source of adventure in a world turned upside down. Rules are fairly easy to follow, can't wait to see other modules do to advance the recovery.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
NeoExodus Adventures: Undying Legacy of the First Ones (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2012 02:30:44
This module is 18 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/SRD/thank to donors, 1 page advertisement and 1 page back cover, leaving a total of 14 pages of content, so let#s check this out!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

All right, Still here? Ok! The village Pushkar (complete with settlement modifiers, btw.) originally founded by the Dominion and now nestled in the Caneus Empire, near the town of Hassani. Wait, you say. Dominion? Yes, the adventure gives you a short rundown of some elements featured in this module that are peculiar to NeoExodus campaign setting. While I'm familiar with the setting and could point you towards all the reviews I did for it, I'll instead try to elaborate on some basics.

The Pcs are hired by Father Issek, a devotee of the Sanguine Covenant (think hardcore medieval Catholicism meets Bloodmagic and worship of saints that are powered by a kind of sanguine anima universalis), the dominant religion of NeoExodus, hires the PCs to travel to aforementioned town of Pushkar and push back a tribe of Calibans that is besieging the town. Like the famous literary figure, these beings are savage - unlike him, though, the Calibans of NeoExodus, albinism-white cannibalistic humanoids that sustain on a diet of their consumed foes are fearsome foes and can draw strength from their victims. There's a cheap Monsters of NeoExodus-pdf detailing further their tactics and feats, but all information you'd need for this module is contained herein. After vanquishing a first group of raiders with the help of the father, the PCs arrive in town.

The town has problems, that is readily apparent - the Pcs are not greeted as saviors, but with suspicion and even the aiding of the old leader doesn't seem to help at first - the reason becoming quite clear once the crowd assembles : The attacks have stopped with the departure of the good father. Hopefully the PCs can calm down the mob. Investigating the local town as well as the burned outlying farms yields scarce clues, but enables the PCs to track the calibans back to their camp... where none of the cannibals can be found. The Pcs can, from there, track the creatures to ruins, where they will find a shaft leading to a once sealed temple - worse, the carcass of a dog contains bone-shards, which point towards the Scythians (Bone-spurred humanoids, savage killers that spawn from shards and were bred as a warrior race), dread servitors to the First Ones (collective term for the ancient races of evil that once held sway over all of NeoExodus). In order to get inside the dungeon, though, the PCs will have to solve a handout-enhanced minor puzzle that should stupefy none.

In the dungeon (which comes with a functional map, but no player-friendly version of the map - not that bad, though, since the cartography is not exactly appealing), the Pcs will be sorely tested by Kyaaa'Gwa, an undead skeletal Scythian Champion who has reaped the calibans and anyone else he could get his bone-studded claws on via the magical "Bed of Galowyeet", a dread magical object that can reanimate its victims. Once they have vanquished the foe (who gets a STUNNING full-color artwork), they still have to decide how to deal with the one survivor, a caliban woman - a nice final moral conundrum.

The pdf also includes 2 spells (Deaden Senses and Battlemind) and 4 different pregens providing one for the Cynean (Living Crystal beings), P'Tan (Cat-like people with sinister abilities), Enuka (wild, mutating beastmen) and, of course, Human race. It should be noted that thankfully, the pdf takes into account e.g. players playing Kalisans (civilized calibans) and similar races from the NeoExodus setting when discussing e.g. diplomacy in the crowd scene.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting is very good, I didn't notice any jarring glitches. The module adheres to a 2-column, full-color standard and the full color artworks ranks among the best you'll be able to find out there. The pdf has no bookmarks, which is a bummer. The title of this module is rather grand and it doesn't wholly deliver on the dread promised by it - First one horror is rather subdued when compared with the sourcebooks released so far.
However: This is a free module, designed to introduce people to PFRPG and the world of NeoExodus and what can I say? I really like the setting. It's uncommon, non-standard, exciting new fantasy that throws all the tired dwarves etc. out the door and replaces them with rather intriguing races and clever political plots. This adventure, due to space constraints and its introductory nature, is more straight-forward and provides us with a selection of aptly-presented encounters that lead up to a satisfying finale while introducing players and GMs alike to the basic concepts of NeoExodus. It should be noted that the background-fluff of the setting can be downloaded for free, so GMs wanting to give this a try might check it out as well. In the end, this is a solid module and while I hope for future NE-modules to feature better maps (the quality of the cartography vs. the one of the stellar artwork is rather jarring) and more complex plotlines that take the political, social and religious peculiarities of the setting into account, I'll nevertheless congratulate LPJr Design and all patrons involved on the creation of a nice, free module - check this out, you literally have nothing to lose by checking this out and perhaps, the module whets your taste for the setting.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
NeoExodus Adventures: Undying Legacy of the First Ones (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Obsidian Apocalypse: World of Abaddon (PFRPG)
by Eric R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2012 19:41:38
I liked this download very much. It gave a clear and concise description of the setting, and provided many options to explore. It also made me eager to see any new sourcebooks that will synergize with the setting.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Obsidian Apocalypse: World of Abaddon (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 16: Bruno Balixa
by Al S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2012 09:32:01
Once again LPJ Design delivers by providing publishers with high quality artwork at a reasonable price. There is a nice variety in this package with two hellish landscape, two fantasy towers, two cave scenes and a misty forest.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 16: Bruno Balixa
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ultimate Spell Decks: Sorcerer & Wizard Spell Cards (PFRPG)
by David S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2012 07:33:54
there is only 1 spell per page which is not too bad but the PDF does not include bookmarks to make finding a spell much easier - 458 pages to scroll through is time consuming
even just bookmarks A B C D E .... would be great addition

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Spell Decks: Sorcerer & Wizard Spell Cards (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 13: Juan Diego DIanderas
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2012 10:19:34
Juan Diego Dianderas is a talent to keep an eye on. His art style is of an extremely high quality, and his inclusion in the Portfolio series is a welcome addition, and I can only hope to see more from him in this vein.

Yet another solid addition to this line of stock art offered by LPJ

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 13: Juan Diego DIanderas
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 9: Storn Cook
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2012 09:51:55
With only 5 pieces, this collection felt a tad light in comparison to other collections of the same price with a higher picture count, which would be about the only thing I can complain about this release, as the level of artwork is consistent and excellent as always.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 9: Storn Cook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 6: Storn Cook
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2012 09:49:08
LPJ and Storn again come through with a level of consistency that is amazing. The go to collection for ready made available art for small publishers and home GM's alike, the Portfolio series is a must for those looking to add good quality artwork to their projects for a reasonable value with a workable fair usage license.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 6: Storn Cook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 7: Storn Cook
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2012 09:44:38
One of the best things I can say regarding this addition tot he Portfolio line is that it does not follow the standard stereotype for characters in that we have two gentlemen who are not the "classic" Euro-fantasy type right off the bat, and that is always a good thing to see, as adventures should take players all over a globe, and art is needed to represent far more than one culture.

As always the art level of quality is exceptional, anyone familiar with the portfolio series should know what to expect in regards to style of art, and there is at least one free sample portfolio available for those not in the know to get a feel. Well worth the price, this portfolio gives us two characters with full scenery, something I would love to see more of, as those often times make some of the best layouts in a PDF.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 7: Storn Cook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Armada: Expanded Sea Combat and Rules Sourcebook (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2012 13:51:55
This pdf is 28 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/SRD,2 pages of advertisement, leaving 24 pages of content, so let's check this out!

Intended as supplemental material for the naval combat material by Paizo, this sourcebook kicks off by providing 5 new types of ship: The Baochuán are giant 9-masted treasure ships, while catamarans, of course, should be a known type of smaller vessel and the two-masted, hard-to-ground coastal pirate dhows also get their own stats. Sailors from Osirion or similar Egyptian-themed lands may now sail forth on Khemetic Barques and finally, if you're into steampunk/playing on the verge of an industrial revolution or just want to feature an insane gnomish ship, you're in luck - the steamboat also makes an appearance here.

Now if that didn't provide a clue: There are also new propulsion methods in here. To be precise, a steam engine and power by elemental fury: Each of the 4 traditional elements provides a unique advantage and disadvantage to a ship powered by them. Propulsion mechanisms are also included: Elemental fonts, screws, stern paddlewheels and midwheeels. After these new ways to outfit a vessel, we're in for ship-templates:

A total of 10 different ship templates are provided and they are applied much like you'd expect them to be applied. Cargo-barges, heavily-armed bomb ketches, agile corvettes, dwarf-and elf-crafted vessels, cruisers, frigates and galleon merchant-ships can be created thus. If you want, you can also make your ship ironclad or even a luxury vessel.

If you want to, you can also modify your vessel with an adamantine bowsprit, brand it by the elements, include a bilge pump, weather-influencing sails, an improved armory, sickbays etc. and even make it (slightly)kraken-proof with spikes below (but I don't get why they don't make it easier to run aground...).
Specialized harpoons and the option to enchant cannonballs are also covered. 5 "piratey" traits are also included, though they felt not too exciting for me. 15 new feats are also part of the deal that range from lame bonuses to social skills when interacting with convicts (and penalties when dealing with agents of the law) and some birthright-feats available only at first level. These are sometimes a bit strange: One e.g. grants you knowledge whether one has killed via Sense Motive and whether the target is an assassin/executioner or has been sentenced to death. Weird and oddly specific. There's also a feat that helps you when ramming foes with your ship and I would have much preferred more "captain's"-feats like that to the other ones presented herein.

4 new diseases (including scurvy) seek to claim the lives of naval characters and about 3 pages are devoted to providing a glossary of nautical terms. There also are some mundane pieces of equipment including a price-list.
The pdf closes with a special ship-sheet.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are unfortunately not the strongest suits of this pdf - I noticed both formatting glitches and quite a few editing glitches - another pass would have helped there. Layout adheres to a mostly printer-friendly two-column standard and artwork is stock. The pdf has no bookmarks, which is very unfortunate for a rules-supplement like this.

This supplement, at least for me, has a hard heritage - my frame of reference will be Mongoose Publishing's "Seas of Blood" and take into account the fact that this pdf is, of course, intended as a smaller supplement. I really enjoyed the new ships, propulsion methods and ship supplements. The non-naval supplements like feats and traits, at least for me, didn't keep up with this usefulness and feel rather like filler, as did the glossary of naval terms. Even after a vast amount of careful deliberation, I'm not entirely sure about my stance on the ship templates - several of them felt rather like ship types than templates to me and I think, I would have preferred more ships to the amount of templates. I was also rather astonished how cheap e.g. the luxury vessel template comes and e.g. with the Kraken spikes I also felt that the repercussions of some of the modifications have not been entirely taken into account. That being said, the pdf still provides some valuable pieces of crunch, even though not all of it is an absolute hit. For the amount of content provided, the pdf is not exactly cheap and especially when compared to the caravan handbook, feels a bit less imaginative. In the end, due to the glitches and aforementioned reasons, I'll settle for a final verdict of 3.5 stars, rounded down to 3 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Armada: Expanded Sea Combat and Rules Sourcebook (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Classes of NeoExodus: Machinesmith (PFRPG)
by Franklin N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2012 22:54:33
I really like this class. This is exactly what I was looking for to use in my Steampunk setting. One problem I have, though, is there's quite a bit of spelling mistakes. You even refer to the machinesmith as an alchemist. Other than that, it looks great and I plan to use it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Classes of NeoExodus: Machinesmith (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Courtroom Clash
by Antonio M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2012 17:14:35
Overall this is a pretty fun game. It's a very simple game with not much too it. It only takes 30 - 45 minutes to play (if that) and is resolved pretty easily. It's nothing like law & order though like some people might think. You basically just roll (literally dice wise) through the entire scenario. The solitaire part isn't too bad while the multiplayer part is slightly more fun in my opinion since you don't know everything that's coming plus it's harder. The only real complaint I have is that i had to read the entire PDF twice because I couldn't understand it the first time through. Good thing it isn't long ;) All in all, this is a pretty good game with simple mechanics (once you understand) and a neat solitaire system.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Courtroom Clash
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 14: Storn Cook
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2012 21:49:12
I grabbed this collection because of the cover piece, and quickly found that the interior pieces were just as well drawn and useful. An excellent series for small publishers, this line of stock art packs puts fantastic character pieces into the hands of publishers at an extremely affordable price range.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 14: Storn Cook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ultimate Spell Decks: Blank Spell Cards (PFRPG)
by James H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2012 04:29:24
The point of spell cards is for the information to be concise and easy to access. These cards are spread over 3-4 cards which for holding a spell book worth of spells is a nightmare. Don't waste your time.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Spell Decks: Blank Spell Cards (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 91 to 105 (of 698 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG