RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
NeoExodus: A House Divided Campaign Setting (PFRPG)
by Nathan C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/01/2012 12:45:38
LPJDesign does not do anything by the books. When they set out to design a campaign world it is always something you have never seen before. Do not be mistaken, it is always fantasy. But the take is some mad man’s vision of fantasy. Whether it be a planet that has evolved in eternal darkness or a world where its adventurers take the skies, LPJDesign take the ideas of fantasy and turns them on top of their head. In NeoExodus: A House Divided Campaign Setting, the publishing house takes us back to one of their earlier settings, this time was a hundred more pages of detail and expansive new purpose.

NeoExodus started a few years ago as a 3.5 campaign setting, but did not have the detailed needed to sustain it for a long running campaign. In this revised Pathfinder edition, we finally get the detail needed to sustain the campaign for years to come.

With a detailed and richer history to begin the 190 page PDF, Neoexodus starts off on a great foot. The writing is immersive and draws you into the myths of the world. Neoexodus is a world that was once dominated by a vicious assortment of beings called the First Ones. They eventually disappeared from the world, but their reappearances sparks this new age of heroes. In the mean time, a volatile assortment of countries set the background for the politics of the world.

Among the many changes to the world is an introduction to a fantasy plane where magic is as common as a sneeze. Nine races set the tone for the world. There are plant people, magical golems, talking rats, tentacle monsters, felines and 4 other races that stretches your beliefs on what fantasy really means. These races interact like the lands claiming to be king in Game of Thrones. The writing on the politics of this world is very good and allows a DM to pick where he wants to begin a campaign. A mystery or political campaign is actually really viable in this world.

Equally as well written are the assortment of new feats, classes and spells, all of them centered around a world where magic is powerful, so the more uncommon the magic, the better results of catching your opponent off guard.

For the Player
LPJDesign does balance well. They hire very competent mechanical engineers to insure that you can take any of the material of their campaigns and use it in a normal campaign and it works just as find, so long as you can explain why you’re playing master splinter in Golorian you won’t have any problems transferring any of this information into your normal game world. IF you have this option, sneak in the Barbarian archetype: Fist of the Dragon. It’s an amazing version of the barbarian that gets its powers from one of the various dragons you choose.

For the Dungeon Master
The First Ones are some of the best written villains if you like dark fantasy. They are very dark, and border on that line between suitable and decrepit. I used them in my following campaign even after I finished my first NeoExodus campaign.

The Iron Word
This is a campaign setting for a group of players that just want a different type of fantasy. Neoexodus features strong elements of high-end magic and psionics and a touch of steampunk. This feels like what aliens play when they play Dungeons and Dragons.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
NeoExodus: A House Divided Campaign Setting (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Classes of NeoExodus: Machinesmith (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2012 07:36:30
This pdf is 22 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 4 pages of advertisements, leaving 16 pages of content for the new, revised Machinesmith-class, so let's check this one out!

The Machinesmith is a new base-class that gets d8, 4+Int skills per level, proficiency with light armors, greatworks-weapons (see below), simple weapons and repeating crossbows, a special kind of spellcasting (again, see below) of up to 6th level and medium BAB as well as good fort and ref saves.

The spellcasting of the Machinesmith is tied to INT and works pretty much like a wizard's spellcasting, but with some tweaks - essentially, they create small devices from blueprints, so-called prototypes which duplicate spell-effects. These and other abilities of the class are powered by the machinesmith's inherent magical energy, the mobius energy. Machinesmiths can create blueprints from magical spells they encounter, but wizards cannot extrapolate spells from blueprints. Prototypes also use costly materials if the spells they're based on do so . Prototypes remain active for only a day and can exclusively be used by the machinesmith that created them. Making a prototype takes one minute and in contrast to wizards, a machinemsith can thus e.g. leave a significant part of his daily prototype-allotment uncreated and make them as the adventuring-day requires them.
Additionally, a machinesmith creates a greatwork at first level, which improves over time. The machinesmith can choose from 3 different greatworks that automatically improve over the levels, with the first being the Analyzer: Most of its abilities work on a at-will-basis, while other use up charges. An analyzer has 3+Int mod-charges that automatically recharge every day and over the progression of the class, add progressively more sensorial enhancements to a machinesmith's arsenal. Starting with humble detect-spells, the analyzer get more and more divination-style-abilities. It should be noted that the analyzer has received a major overhaul - it now mostly uses charges (a godsend to DMs who don't want XYZ numbers of divinations to constantly track) and has gotten some neat new tricks, but more on them later

The second choice is the Mechanus, which could be considered an equivalent of the a summoner's eidolon. 4 base-forms are available (humanoid, aquatic, serpentine, quadruped/tracked/wheeled) and the Mechanus gets 15 HD over 20 levels, +15 BAB, +5 saves, up to +11 AC-bonus and a str/dex-bonus of +8 during the course of their progression. A mechanus also get 3 major upgrades which include a breath weapon-style cone at 15th level, which makes the mechanus devastating against minor foes. It should also be noted that the mechanus can be made larger and later changed. The mechanus now caps in size at huge. It should be noted that the destruction of the mechanus requires it to be recrafted and costs money. And that machinesmiths get the ability to use an improved version of mending via his/her repair-ability, usable 3+int-modifiers per day, thus potentially making the team Machinsesmith/Mechanus a deadly force.

The final choice the Machinesmith gets is adding a mobius core to a weapon, thus creating a weapon of terrible destructive capabilities. On a basic level, the weapon comes with Int+0.5 x class-level charges and could e.g. utilize these charges to grant temporary access to a selection either melee or ranged feats while wielding the weapon. With the respective upgrades, the Machinesmith can add more feats to the respective feats available and choose multiple feats at the same time, as well as using charges to get luck bonuses and even expending charges to confirm critical hits automatically at higher levels.
Machinesmiths, in case I've forgotten to mention that, are good at dispelling magic via their Axiom ability.
That's not all, though: The Machinesmith gets more craft-feats and at 7th level, can transform prototypes into dispel magic-like effect. Also, the machinesmith gets access to a selection of gadget-tricks, some of which are augmentations for their greatworks and can only be taken by those having the respective greatwork.
A total of 24 different gadgets are included in the deal and feature e.g. turrets than can be fitted out with different kinds of crossbows. The turrets can be further upgraded to have multiple ones and increase the magazine-capabilities of the individual turrets. Also included in the selection is the option to fire explosive ammo via mobius weapons, creating an invisibility cloak a magnetic grappler that can use telekinesis on metallic objects, the option to boost your mechanus into overdrive an even alchemist-fire-powered portable ornithopters! Especially the latter is an awesome gadget in its iconicity. I am happy to report that the analyzers have received a bit more love via these gadgets and may now steal spells they successfully dispelled. While I still prefer the Mechanus and the Mobius Weapon, now I can see someone taking the analyzer.

After that, we are introduced 14 new spells for the machinesmith, which includes tiny bladed drones the machinesmith can redirect to attack other foes. The tiny drones can be destroyed btw. Other examples include alchemist's fire clusterbombs, irritating guardian drones, force shackles and a music box that spits out tiny constructs each round. Thankfully, the utterly broken "Hand of the Marksman" has been replaced with better, new spells and the drones now have all the information necessary to run them, which makes these spells awesome! This section has seen massive revision and now ROCKS!

LPJr Design is not pulling any punches here: The last bits of crunch depict now 4 archetypes instead of the original 2, the Bombardier and the Technologist. The bombardier gets bombs like the alchemist instead of a greatwork and now comes with all necessary information. The Technologist capitalizes on the science vs. magic-trope and can, by explaining his disbelief, grant his spellcraft as a save to his allies much like the bardic countersong, but less limited. The technologist may also grant himself spell resistance by expanding his repair uses. The formerly broken automatic resistance of his creations has been nerfed by making the components illegible to being enchanted or the creation of magic items. but what are the new ones? The Arcanamechanist is an archetype exclusively for machinesmiths with the analyzer and represents a machinesmith searching for lost, arcane technology. To reflect this, he can use Mobius energy to enhance e.g. wands and staffs, apply metamagic effects to spells cast from wands by expending additional charges and later even to scrolls. I liked the archetype, no balance-concerns on my behalf. The second new archetype is the combat engineer - proficient with medium armors and weapon training, this archetype represents the frontline tinkerer and thus gets e.g. better initiative, and the option to quickly activate gadgets and greatworks, but also diminished prototypes and no axiom-ability.

Even better, we now also get a new 10-level PrC, the Transmechanical Ascendant, who gets full BAB, medium fort-saves, 9 levels of prototype progression) and who seeks to become a machine by implanting a mobius core into his body and slowly turn less human and more like the machines he seeks to emulate. The PrC is a nice metamorphosis-class and comes with 2 new machinesmith tricks and unfortunately also the only remaining, but rather major blunders I could find in the revised version of the Machinesmith: The PrC lacks information regarding its Hit Dice and its skills-per-level, which constitutes a major blunder.

The pdf closes with a description on how machinesmiths work in the world of NeoExodus.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting have been thoroughly revised - Jeffrey Erwin has done a great job and made the whole pdf clearer, more appealing and much more professional. Layout is beautiful, adheres to NE's full-color 2-column standard and the original pieces of full color artwork by Carlos Herrera Portilla are beautiful. The pdf now comes with extensive bookmarks, which is awesome. Clockworker/tinkerer-classes are notoriously difficult to do and the machinesmith, a kind of spiritual successor of HHG's Clockworker tries very hard to do it. Now, in the revised edition, I'm extremely happy to report that the pdf actually succeeds in bringing us all a tinkerer-class with rock-solid rules, iconic options galore and cool ideas. ALL of my major complaints have been addressed, the formatting glitches (italics etc.) have been purged, wording has been clarified AND new content has been added. Quite a lot of it, actually! And quality content to boot! In fact, now this pdf actually can be considered a must-buy among the classes out there and I'd immediately go 5 stars plus seal of approval - were it not for the lack of HD and skill-info in the new PrC, which cost this pdf a star for a final verdict of 4.5 stars. I hope to see more of Jeffrey's excellent work in the future and am quite impressed that the team of LPJr Design has managed to pull this class off in the revised edition!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Classes of NeoExodus: Machinesmith (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Monsters of NeoExodus: Harvester of Sorrow (PFRPG)
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/08/2012 15:00:57
The Harvester of Sorrow fills an interesting niche in the ranks of the undead and can be used in many styles of campaigns. However, it is a very power-oriented creature, if its abilities (especially the wail) can be negated, it is likely to find itself easy prey for its hunters.

Monsters of NeoExodus: Harvester of Sorrow is part of the support for the NeoExodus Pathfinder setting by Louis J Porter Jr Design providing monsters and enemies linked to that setting, this volume was written by Greg Oppedisano and Tom Baumbach with Louis Porter Jr. It is a seven-page product (4.5 after cover, ad and OGL) with an easy to read layout and the only art being the very nice full color cover piece (of which part is used for the character tokens included at the end of the product) with the last two pages being a sheet of tokens and a record sheet.

Harvesters of Sorrow are undead created when the soul of a suicide victim is refused entry to the afterlife. The Harvesters of Sorrow seek others to kill and convert into lost souls like themselves. It is a solid background for an undead creature with appropriate hooks into mythology.

The Harvesters of Sorrow uses a plaintive wail to overwhelm the listeners with its terrible soul-felt grief (inflicting the new aggrieved condition). While its bite carrying a magical disease whose victims in turn become Harvesters of Sorrow as well, allowing the numbers of these foul creatures to grow.

In addition to the standard Harvester of Sorrow (CR 4), a Dread Harvester (CR 6) is also presented, the Dread Harvester’s suffering aura is manifest around it, making it a much more dangerous foe than the lesser version.

The product is solid but would be strengthened by a few scenario seeds.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of NeoExodus: Harvester of Sorrow (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Classes of NeoExodus: Machinesmith (PFRPG)
by David J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2012 16:13:57
Like the class idea, and the art is very well done.
Needs more proofreading though. I saw a lot of redundant text, in one case most of a paragraph was repeated.
On the whole, quite happy with the purchase.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Classes of NeoExodus: Machinesmith (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Races of Pirates of the Bronze Sky: Kaylethon (PFRPG)
by tyrel c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2012 12:25:57
looks like an awesome race but would be nice if i could find the book its in.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Races of Pirates of the Bronze Sky: Kaylethon (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 17: Storn Cook
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/22/2012 14:48:54
Another great package of Storn Cook art from LPJ. Really, Storn's name alone should sell this package, but a few good words never hurts. This package contains seven pieces of color fantasy art from long time industry art luminary Storn Cook. Two of them are ready made for use as cover art, and the others have a variety of characters in poses that have some action to them, rather than the usual unmoving and static look that some posed art can have. I think these pieces have an "old school" quality to them that isn't dated but instead is timeless.

This package is definitely worth the price of admission. The art is made up of Storn's usual bold line work, and the color is understated but still strong. Any of the pieces of art from this collection would make an excellent addition to any project.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 17: Storn Cook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
A Place Beyond Hell (PFRPG)
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/12/2012 11:09:10
This is an excellent supplement for any GM looking to add some otherworldly horror to a Pathfinder campaign. The H'Laqu are horrors from another dimension that are detailed here with ritual feats, spells, and lore, plus a list of adventure seeds for each of their different incarnations.

The production values are top-notch - the layout and art are beautiful, and the writing is clear, well written, and well organized. NOTE: The PDF appears to be bookmarked, but the bookmarks did not work on my copy. This is an issue that may have been updated.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Place Beyond Hell (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Enemies of NeoExodus: Crimson Hand (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2012 03:51:21
This pdf is 34 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/SRD, 2 pages monster-sheets, leaving 30 pages of content for the latest faction of deadly foes for the NeoExodus campaign setting.

Since the Crimson Hand is an extremely secretive conspiracy, I urge players to jump to the conclusion of this review in order to avoid the inevitable SPOILERS.

Still here? Okay! Essentially, the Crimson Hand is a conspiracy headed by a particular crafty individual Khaynite, who seeks to use his blood sorcery to once again make the resurgence of the First One empire a reality, but who may very well end up working WITH the PCs. How? Well, the mastermind Valos (CR 10 and 20 versions provided) has created a special spell that enables him to dominate/charm all individuals of a specific bloodline and now seeks to merge all kinds of different families in order to achieve supreme dominance - peace and coexistence may actually prove to be the undoing for the nations of Exodus, at least if Valos' complex plans come to fruition. Even worse, his political machinations have already shown promising results and, a s of yet, his elite cadre of deadly coconspirators have went under the radar of everyone. Supremely stealthy, hidden beyond layers upon layers of misdirection, the Crimson Hand makes for terrifying foes for smart players, especially if you're into intrigue. Not that the individuals don't stand their ground in battle:

Apart from Valos, the two other members of the inner circle are Lucia (CR 9 and 17), an Exodite killer of the highest caliber and Geist (CR 7 and 14) - and Geist rocks. The entity is an incorporeal, brilliant possessing, teleporting amoral construct that makes for a supreme spy and assassin indeed - most individuals will never know what hit them or that they even encountered the thing!

There also are 5 enforcers, i.e. assassins and executioners sent when special services are required - all are carefully created and stored and once one has been killed, the inner circle tends to reincarnate them. They all come with two incarnations as well and consist of two deadly crocodile-folk Kroca, an Exodite saboteur and an Aneishi-assassin/ranger. Of course, a trusty messenger is also one of the specialists included in the cadre of elite-enforcers of the crimson hand.

Two 3-level PrCs are provided for the elite Crimson Hand operatives - the casting Crimson Hand Acolytes (d6, good will and fort-saves, bad BAB, 2+Int skills per level, 2 levels spellcasting progression) can cast special sigils, which essentially are better symbol spells and an exsanguination ability, which not only kills grievously injured foes, but also heals the acolyte. The more martially-incline folks working for the Crimson Hand may take the Crimson Enforcer PrC (d10, 4+Int skills per level, good BAB, good Fort and Ref-saves), the ability to cast special spells as a spell-like ability and the option to gain AoOs against damaged foes and the power to vampirically heals themselves. They can also "Twist the Blade", which deals additional negative effects to his victims if he/she deals better than average damage on an attack. Along these two PrCs, we get 4 new feats and 7 new spells used by this elite cadre of dread conspirators. It is here that I should note something:
While the section with the PrCs and the feats and spells are tentatively headed as "player's options" the pdf mentions explicitly that the balance of these crunchy bits is intentionally on the upper hand. The Crimson hand is a small, elite cadre of individuals who take highest profile risks and don't have a lot of allies as well as the problem of having to stay secretive. If you do allow your PCs access to these classes, the additional risks have to offset the power of the content. Even though the pdf acknowledges this, the options are powerful with a capital "P":

Jugular Strike enables you to sacrifice sneak attack dice to potentially coup-de-grace foes - DC equals 10+ total number of dice of sneak attack + 1 per dice of sneak damage not used. OUCH! And there is a spell that is essentially an extremely powerful plot-device that makes an individual almost invulnerable. I'd usually harp on how overpowered these options are, but seeing that these individuals have managed to plague Exodus for as long as they have and their collective genius-level intellect, I can see them using these deadly abilities without feeling op or like cheating and best of all - the pdf acknowledges that some of these abilities should not end in player's hands. There are essentially plot-device spells and abilities herein which could severely unhinge a game when falling into player hands. The book does acknowledge the vast power these options provide, though, and seeing that the cabal has eluded the authorities for as long as it has, I can see the reasoning behind offering their operatives power beyond what would usually be considered appropriate.
While the PrCs are powerful, I'd deny my players access to the new (but very cool) spells and feats, though - they are clearly intended for these villains. Were I to compare the Crimson Hand to another sourcebook, it would probably be one of my favorite Scarred Lands-books featuring a certain shadowy secret society...

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are not perfect, but can still be considered good - while I did notice some minor hickups due to auto-formatting like bold "Will"s in the text or superfluous tabs and the spells fail to specify what class they're available for (reading e.g. only "Level 3" instead of "Sorc/Wiz 3, Witch 4 etc...", the overall reading enjoyment was left intact for me. The pdf comes with extensive bookmarks and adheres to the beautiful 2-column layout of the NE-books.
As has been the tradition with LPJr-publications and specifically the NeoExodus-line, the artworks are simply stunning and each of the characters of the Crimson Hand actually gets his/her/its own mug-shot in gorgeous full-color.

The additional pieces of crunch herein that go beyond this highly political conspiracy have to be considered carefully and definitely are very powerful, but also utilize some rather innovative mechanics to do their work. As a result, the Crimson Hand feels like a shadowy cabal of supreme power, but one I'd discourage the DMs out there to let their players ally themselves with - at best, they should be pawns. Very expendable pawns who don't even know who they're working for...until it is too late. Writing-wise, only the Folding Circle surpasses this particular installment in the line in its cool ideas, which will also serve as my benchmark here - There are not as many statblocks provided for the operatives of the Crimson Hand as for the Folding Circle and a more extensive mythology of their exploits would have helped in creating scenarios involving this team of super-genius operatives. The crunchy bits beyond the statblocks are very strong and if you want to use the bits for your players, you might be disappointed.


If you're a DM looking for a truly deadly elite cadre of operatives/secret agents, you definitely should check them out, though. Thus, I'll settle for 2 verdicts - as a player-associated organization, this does not work well and should be considered 2.5 -3 stars, depending on the power-level of your campaign. The pdf knows this, though and if you're looking for a group to use against your players/smart antagonists with a deadly edge, you will probably really enjoy this one. For you, this is 4 stars or even 4.5. Seeing that I really enjoyed the Crimson Hand, I'll settle for a final verdict of 4.5 stars, rounded down to 4. Sometimes style and ideas are more important than rock-solid crunch, especially for NPCs.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Enemies of NeoExodus: Crimson Hand (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Debatable Actions (PFRPG)
by Nathan C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/29/2012 09:40:36
Debateable Actions changes very little from its 3.5 counterpart, but it did not need to. If you are looking for courtroom drama in your Dungeons and Dragons, this is a fun mini-game to build a campaign around. This game works like combat maneuvers, except for social interactions between two parties. The biggest downfall in the system is the sheer magnitude of it, which can be daunting. Future versions could use a cheat sheet.

Iron Uses: This is a great supplement for any DM to have in their back pocket. Instead of "breaking out" being the only solution for PCs who get arrested, you can make this a regular part of a game. The game also includes a quicker social interaction game that functions similar to 4th edition skill challenges.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Debatable Actions (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Trade Routes: Expanded Caravan Rules Sourcebook (PFRPG)
by Rodney H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2012 09:45:30
I bought this knowing that the material was repeated from the Jade Regent's Player's Guide but with additional goodies. The additional goodies are fair and give some catalysts for creativity but nothing was a "wow, I would have never thought of that" piece. What really fails with this product is the lack of editing of the repeated information from the Player's Guide. Page numbers reference the original document, not the new page numbers of the current document for example. If this is to be a generalized expansion on the Caravan Rules, then references to the Jade Regent should be omitted entirely. Someone reading this blindly is going to wonder who the heck "Sandru" is and why some PCs start with three wagons. The most irritating aspect of the product is the omission of the caravan month salary table! I went to look up the cost of an additional cook and ended up having to dig out the Player's Guide which seems to be contradictory of what the LPJ product should be doing. For $3 spent, I would have gotten more bang for my buck out of a cup of java at the local coffee shop.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Trade Routes: Expanded Caravan Rules Sourcebook (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Initiative Cards (PFRPG)
by D'Anne N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2012 15:11:04
Love these initiative cards. Used them for a recent convention and they worked just great for what I needed.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initiative Cards (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ultimate NPC Deck
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/24/2012 11:49:39
A great collection of fantasy character profile art to use for PCs or NPCs. Pictures vary a little bit in detail level, but all are very good, and run the spectrum from typical fantasy characters to monstrous, bestial, alien, undead, and demonic characters.

One thing I like to do with resources like this one is use them for creative inspiration, such as drawing a card at random and then brainstorming details about the character, why they would be involved in the campaign, what their motivations might be, why they look the way they do, and so on. Try it sometime!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate NPC Deck
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Initiative Cards (PFRPG)
by Cheryl L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2012 07:44:34
These will be great for gaming. I can keep the quick information needed in front of me instead of keeping books out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initiative Cards (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
NeoExodus: A House Divided Campaign Setting (PFRPG)
by Alexander O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/10/2012 20:20:58
You should pick up NeoExodus. It should matter to me that it's written for Pathfinder -- a game system I don't follow. But in the modern RPG era of D&D retroclones, neoclones, alterclones and the multiplicity of game systems that evolved from the D20 explosion, it shouldn't really matter. It's a setting that is both packed with history and detail in almost every corner of its universe, but has been constructed to allow minor additions and major game changers to its setting.

Quite possibly the first thing that should be read is not the history, but Page 24: Unique Elements of NeoExodus. It gives the broadstrokes approach that was taken for the creation of the setting, and it feels like they kept referring to it as they lovingly created every bit of it. Here they are in condensed form:

NeoExodus is...

... a world full of magic.
... a world built on epic adventures, heroic quests, and valiant expeditions into the unknown.
... is a setting of unique empires and nations with their own sovereign rights, powers, and issues.
... is a world that is rarely a peace for long.
... mixes traditional fantasy, horror, magic, modern politics, and science fiction.
... is full of all new unique races.
... is a world built on conspiracies, deception, and intrigue.

Everything has a place in NeoExodus.

In terms of production values, I compare it favorably to the Forgotten Realms 3E setting book and the Forgotten Realms supplement Lord of Darkness combined, but infused with the subversive fantasy settings like Talislanta, the over-the-top high magic terror of Arduin, the epic feel of the early Exalted line, and the anything-can-show-up vibe of Rifts.

The art is fantastic and yet labors to give a real sense of an alternative fantasy world without straying too much from what you look for in the genre. The stat blocks and data tables for character classes, races, nations, and other information necessary for making this setting your own are nicely laid out and are very readable.

This isn't something you skim over. This is a book you read from cover to cover -- though I obviously have opinions as to the best sequence to read the chapters -- to identify the things you want to emphasize, and craft your campaign around those elements, leaving the rest of extraneous campaign flavor.

I want to go on longer about specific races that I find cool, about the nations that really speak to me in terms of campaign potential, about historical elements that would have a wealth of plot devices to kick off any number of adventures -- but I think I'd go on too long.

This is one of my favorite type of kitchen sink settings (a term I tend to in my blog -- armchairgamer.blogspot.com -- to refer to settings that have been crafted to allow almost any type of element into it from its genre, or even from other genres). It is a kitchen sink setting that can manage to retain its own identity when other non-native elements are shoved in; any number of rationales -- from the Gates to the high magic running through the setting -- can be brought to bear.

And even if the setting isn't for you, you can mine it for monsters, races, and campaign ideas for years.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
NeoExodus: A House Divided Campaign Setting (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Prototype: Radiation Hougan
by william w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2012 13:31:40
As a concept I thought the idea of a Radiation wielding Voodoo Priest/Priestess would be perfect for my P.A. Campaigns. But sadly this product just didn't really deliver. It just didn't seem to tie into the P.A. angle at all. To me the "radiation" piece seemed tacked on and illfitting to what was detailed in the product. Overall I was quite disappointed in this product. It would require a good bit of work and retweaking on my part in order to properly use this in my P.A. Campaigns.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Prototype: Radiation Hougan
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 106 to 120 (of 698 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG