RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ultimate Spell Decks: Sorcerer & Wizard Spell Cards (PFRPG)
by David S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2012 07:33:54
there is only 1 spell per page which is not too bad but the PDF does not include bookmarks to make finding a spell much easier - 458 pages to scroll through is time consuming
even just bookmarks A B C D E .... would be great addition

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Spell Decks: Sorcerer & Wizard Spell Cards (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 13: Juan Diego DIanderas
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2012 10:19:34
Juan Diego Dianderas is a talent to keep an eye on. His art style is of an extremely high quality, and his inclusion in the Portfolio series is a welcome addition, and I can only hope to see more from him in this vein.

Yet another solid addition to this line of stock art offered by LPJ

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 13: Juan Diego DIanderas
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 9: Storn Cook
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2012 09:51:55
With only 5 pieces, this collection felt a tad light in comparison to other collections of the same price with a higher picture count, which would be about the only thing I can complain about this release, as the level of artwork is consistent and excellent as always.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 9: Storn Cook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 6: Storn Cook
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2012 09:49:08
LPJ and Storn again come through with a level of consistency that is amazing. The go to collection for ready made available art for small publishers and home GM's alike, the Portfolio series is a must for those looking to add good quality artwork to their projects for a reasonable value with a workable fair usage license.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 6: Storn Cook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 7: Storn Cook
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2012 09:44:38
One of the best things I can say regarding this addition tot he Portfolio line is that it does not follow the standard stereotype for characters in that we have two gentlemen who are not the "classic" Euro-fantasy type right off the bat, and that is always a good thing to see, as adventures should take players all over a globe, and art is needed to represent far more than one culture.

As always the art level of quality is exceptional, anyone familiar with the portfolio series should know what to expect in regards to style of art, and there is at least one free sample portfolio available for those not in the know to get a feel. Well worth the price, this portfolio gives us two characters with full scenery, something I would love to see more of, as those often times make some of the best layouts in a PDF.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 7: Storn Cook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Armada: Expanded Sea Combat and Rules Sourcebook (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2012 13:51:55
This pdf is 28 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/SRD,2 pages of advertisement, leaving 24 pages of content, so let's check this out!

Intended as supplemental material for the naval combat material by Paizo, this sourcebook kicks off by providing 5 new types of ship: The Baochuán are giant 9-masted treasure ships, while catamarans, of course, should be a known type of smaller vessel and the two-masted, hard-to-ground coastal pirate dhows also get their own stats. Sailors from Osirion or similar Egyptian-themed lands may now sail forth on Khemetic Barques and finally, if you're into steampunk/playing on the verge of an industrial revolution or just want to feature an insane gnomish ship, you're in luck - the steamboat also makes an appearance here.

Now if that didn't provide a clue: There are also new propulsion methods in here. To be precise, a steam engine and power by elemental fury: Each of the 4 traditional elements provides a unique advantage and disadvantage to a ship powered by them. Propulsion mechanisms are also included: Elemental fonts, screws, stern paddlewheels and midwheeels. After these new ways to outfit a vessel, we're in for ship-templates:

A total of 10 different ship templates are provided and they are applied much like you'd expect them to be applied. Cargo-barges, heavily-armed bomb ketches, agile corvettes, dwarf-and elf-crafted vessels, cruisers, frigates and galleon merchant-ships can be created thus. If you want, you can also make your ship ironclad or even a luxury vessel.

If you want to, you can also modify your vessel with an adamantine bowsprit, brand it by the elements, include a bilge pump, weather-influencing sails, an improved armory, sickbays etc. and even make it (slightly)kraken-proof with spikes below (but I don't get why they don't make it easier to run aground...).
Specialized harpoons and the option to enchant cannonballs are also covered. 5 "piratey" traits are also included, though they felt not too exciting for me. 15 new feats are also part of the deal that range from lame bonuses to social skills when interacting with convicts (and penalties when dealing with agents of the law) and some birthright-feats available only at first level. These are sometimes a bit strange: One e.g. grants you knowledge whether one has killed via Sense Motive and whether the target is an assassin/executioner or has been sentenced to death. Weird and oddly specific. There's also a feat that helps you when ramming foes with your ship and I would have much preferred more "captain's"-feats like that to the other ones presented herein.

4 new diseases (including scurvy) seek to claim the lives of naval characters and about 3 pages are devoted to providing a glossary of nautical terms. There also are some mundane pieces of equipment including a price-list.
The pdf closes with a special ship-sheet.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are unfortunately not the strongest suits of this pdf - I noticed both formatting glitches and quite a few editing glitches - another pass would have helped there. Layout adheres to a mostly printer-friendly two-column standard and artwork is stock. The pdf has no bookmarks, which is very unfortunate for a rules-supplement like this.

This supplement, at least for me, has a hard heritage - my frame of reference will be Mongoose Publishing's "Seas of Blood" and take into account the fact that this pdf is, of course, intended as a smaller supplement. I really enjoyed the new ships, propulsion methods and ship supplements. The non-naval supplements like feats and traits, at least for me, didn't keep up with this usefulness and feel rather like filler, as did the glossary of naval terms. Even after a vast amount of careful deliberation, I'm not entirely sure about my stance on the ship templates - several of them felt rather like ship types than templates to me and I think, I would have preferred more ships to the amount of templates. I was also rather astonished how cheap e.g. the luxury vessel template comes and e.g. with the Kraken spikes I also felt that the repercussions of some of the modifications have not been entirely taken into account. That being said, the pdf still provides some valuable pieces of crunch, even though not all of it is an absolute hit. For the amount of content provided, the pdf is not exactly cheap and especially when compared to the caravan handbook, feels a bit less imaginative. In the end, due to the glitches and aforementioned reasons, I'll settle for a final verdict of 3.5 stars, rounded down to 3 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Armada: Expanded Sea Combat and Rules Sourcebook (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Classes of NeoExodus: Machinesmith (PFRPG)
by Franklin N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2012 22:54:33
I really like this class. This is exactly what I was looking for to use in my Steampunk setting. One problem I have, though, is there's quite a bit of spelling mistakes. You even refer to the machinesmith as an alchemist. Other than that, it looks great and I plan to use it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Classes of NeoExodus: Machinesmith (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Courtroom Clash
by Antonio M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2012 17:14:35
Overall this is a pretty fun game. It's a very simple game with not much too it. It only takes 30 - 45 minutes to play (if that) and is resolved pretty easily. It's nothing like law & order though like some people might think. You basically just roll (literally dice wise) through the entire scenario. The solitaire part isn't too bad while the multiplayer part is slightly more fun in my opinion since you don't know everything that's coming plus it's harder. The only real complaint I have is that i had to read the entire PDF twice because I couldn't understand it the first time through. Good thing it isn't long ;) All in all, this is a pretty good game with simple mechanics (once you understand) and a neat solitaire system.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Courtroom Clash
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 14: Storn Cook
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2012 21:49:12
I grabbed this collection because of the cover piece, and quickly found that the interior pieces were just as well drawn and useful. An excellent series for small publishers, this line of stock art packs puts fantastic character pieces into the hands of publishers at an extremely affordable price range.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio Platinum Edition 14: Storn Cook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ultimate Spell Decks: Blank Spell Cards (PFRPG)
by James H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2012 04:29:24
The point of spell cards is for the information to be concise and easy to access. These cards are spread over 3-4 cards which for holding a spell book worth of spells is a nightmare. Don't waste your time.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Spell Decks: Blank Spell Cards (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

NeoExodus: A House Divided Campaign Setting (PFRPG)
by Nathan C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/01/2012 12:45:38
LPJDesign does not do anything by the books. When they set out to design a campaign world it is always something you have never seen before. Do not be mistaken, it is always fantasy. But the take is some mad man’s vision of fantasy. Whether it be a planet that has evolved in eternal darkness or a world where its adventurers take the skies, LPJDesign take the ideas of fantasy and turns them on top of their head. In NeoExodus: A House Divided Campaign Setting, the publishing house takes us back to one of their earlier settings, this time was a hundred more pages of detail and expansive new purpose.

NeoExodus started a few years ago as a 3.5 campaign setting, but did not have the detailed needed to sustain it for a long running campaign. In this revised Pathfinder edition, we finally get the detail needed to sustain the campaign for years to come.

With a detailed and richer history to begin the 190 page PDF, Neoexodus starts off on a great foot. The writing is immersive and draws you into the myths of the world. Neoexodus is a world that was once dominated by a vicious assortment of beings called the First Ones. They eventually disappeared from the world, but their reappearances sparks this new age of heroes. In the mean time, a volatile assortment of countries set the background for the politics of the world.

Among the many changes to the world is an introduction to a fantasy plane where magic is as common as a sneeze. Nine races set the tone for the world. There are plant people, magical golems, talking rats, tentacle monsters, felines and 4 other races that stretches your beliefs on what fantasy really means. These races interact like the lands claiming to be king in Game of Thrones. The writing on the politics of this world is very good and allows a DM to pick where he wants to begin a campaign. A mystery or political campaign is actually really viable in this world.

Equally as well written are the assortment of new feats, classes and spells, all of them centered around a world where magic is powerful, so the more uncommon the magic, the better results of catching your opponent off guard.

For the Player
LPJDesign does balance well. They hire very competent mechanical engineers to insure that you can take any of the material of their campaigns and use it in a normal campaign and it works just as find, so long as you can explain why you’re playing master splinter in Golorian you won’t have any problems transferring any of this information into your normal game world. IF you have this option, sneak in the Barbarian archetype: Fist of the Dragon. It’s an amazing version of the barbarian that gets its powers from one of the various dragons you choose.

For the Dungeon Master
The First Ones are some of the best written villains if you like dark fantasy. They are very dark, and border on that line between suitable and decrepit. I used them in my following campaign even after I finished my first NeoExodus campaign.

The Iron Word
This is a campaign setting for a group of players that just want a different type of fantasy. Neoexodus features strong elements of high-end magic and psionics and a touch of steampunk. This feels like what aliens play when they play Dungeons and Dragons.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
NeoExodus: A House Divided Campaign Setting (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Classes of NeoExodus: Machinesmith (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2012 07:36:30
This pdf is 22 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 4 pages of advertisements, leaving 16 pages of content for the new, revised Machinesmith-class, so let's check this one out!

The Machinesmith is a new base-class that gets d8, 4+Int skills per level, proficiency with light armors, greatworks-weapons (see below), simple weapons and repeating crossbows, a special kind of spellcasting (again, see below) of up to 6th level and medium BAB as well as good fort and ref saves.

The spellcasting of the Machinesmith is tied to INT and works pretty much like a wizard's spellcasting, but with some tweaks - essentially, they create small devices from blueprints, so-called prototypes which duplicate spell-effects. These and other abilities of the class are powered by the machinesmith's inherent magical energy, the mobius energy. Machinesmiths can create blueprints from magical spells they encounter, but wizards cannot extrapolate spells from blueprints. Prototypes also use costly materials if the spells they're based on do so . Prototypes remain active for only a day and can exclusively be used by the machinesmith that created them. Making a prototype takes one minute and in contrast to wizards, a machinemsith can thus e.g. leave a significant part of his daily prototype-allotment uncreated and make them as the adventuring-day requires them.
Additionally, a machinesmith creates a greatwork at first level, which improves over time. The machinesmith can choose from 3 different greatworks that automatically improve over the levels, with the first being the Analyzer: Most of its abilities work on a at-will-basis, while other use up charges. An analyzer has 3+Int mod-charges that automatically recharge every day and over the progression of the class, add progressively more sensorial enhancements to a machinesmith's arsenal. Starting with humble detect-spells, the analyzer get more and more divination-style-abilities. It should be noted that the analyzer has received a major overhaul - it now mostly uses charges (a godsend to DMs who don't want XYZ numbers of divinations to constantly track) and has gotten some neat new tricks, but more on them later

The second choice is the Mechanus, which could be considered an equivalent of the a summoner's eidolon. 4 base-forms are available (humanoid, aquatic, serpentine, quadruped/tracked/wheeled) and the Mechanus gets 15 HD over 20 levels, +15 BAB, +5 saves, up to +11 AC-bonus and a str/dex-bonus of +8 during the course of their progression. A mechanus also get 3 major upgrades which include a breath weapon-style cone at 15th level, which makes the mechanus devastating against minor foes. It should also be noted that the mechanus can be made larger and later changed. The mechanus now caps in size at huge. It should be noted that the destruction of the mechanus requires it to be recrafted and costs money. And that machinesmiths get the ability to use an improved version of mending via his/her repair-ability, usable 3+int-modifiers per day, thus potentially making the team Machinsesmith/Mechanus a deadly force.

The final choice the Machinesmith gets is adding a mobius core to a weapon, thus creating a weapon of terrible destructive capabilities. On a basic level, the weapon comes with Int+0.5 x class-level charges and could e.g. utilize these charges to grant temporary access to a selection either melee or ranged feats while wielding the weapon. With the respective upgrades, the Machinesmith can add more feats to the respective feats available and choose multiple feats at the same time, as well as using charges to get luck bonuses and even expending charges to confirm critical hits automatically at higher levels.
Machinesmiths, in case I've forgotten to mention that, are good at dispelling magic via their Axiom ability.
That's not all, though: The Machinesmith gets more craft-feats and at 7th level, can transform prototypes into dispel magic-like effect. Also, the machinesmith gets access to a selection of gadget-tricks, some of which are augmentations for their greatworks and can only be taken by those having the respective greatwork.
A total of 24 different gadgets are included in the deal and feature e.g. turrets than can be fitted out with different kinds of crossbows. The turrets can be further upgraded to have multiple ones and increase the magazine-capabilities of the individual turrets. Also included in the selection is the option to fire explosive ammo via mobius weapons, creating an invisibility cloak a magnetic grappler that can use telekinesis on metallic objects, the option to boost your mechanus into overdrive an even alchemist-fire-powered portable ornithopters! Especially the latter is an awesome gadget in its iconicity. I am happy to report that the analyzers have received a bit more love via these gadgets and may now steal spells they successfully dispelled. While I still prefer the Mechanus and the Mobius Weapon, now I can see someone taking the analyzer.

After that, we are introduced 14 new spells for the machinesmith, which includes tiny bladed drones the machinesmith can redirect to attack other foes. The tiny drones can be destroyed btw. Other examples include alchemist's fire clusterbombs, irritating guardian drones, force shackles and a music box that spits out tiny constructs each round. Thankfully, the utterly broken "Hand of the Marksman" has been replaced with better, new spells and the drones now have all the information necessary to run them, which makes these spells awesome! This section has seen massive revision and now ROCKS!

LPJr Design is not pulling any punches here: The last bits of crunch depict now 4 archetypes instead of the original 2, the Bombardier and the Technologist. The bombardier gets bombs like the alchemist instead of a greatwork and now comes with all necessary information. The Technologist capitalizes on the science vs. magic-trope and can, by explaining his disbelief, grant his spellcraft as a save to his allies much like the bardic countersong, but less limited. The technologist may also grant himself spell resistance by expanding his repair uses. The formerly broken automatic resistance of his creations has been nerfed by making the components illegible to being enchanted or the creation of magic items. but what are the new ones? The Arcanamechanist is an archetype exclusively for machinesmiths with the analyzer and represents a machinesmith searching for lost, arcane technology. To reflect this, he can use Mobius energy to enhance e.g. wands and staffs, apply metamagic effects to spells cast from wands by expending additional charges and later even to scrolls. I liked the archetype, no balance-concerns on my behalf. The second new archetype is the combat engineer - proficient with medium armors and weapon training, this archetype represents the frontline tinkerer and thus gets e.g. better initiative, and the option to quickly activate gadgets and greatworks, but also diminished prototypes and no axiom-ability.

Even better, we now also get a new 10-level PrC, the Transmechanical Ascendant, who gets full BAB, medium fort-saves, 9 levels of prototype progression) and who seeks to become a machine by implanting a mobius core into his body and slowly turn less human and more like the machines he seeks to emulate. The PrC is a nice metamorphosis-class and comes with 2 new machinesmith tricks and unfortunately also the only remaining, but rather major blunders I could find in the revised version of the Machinesmith: The PrC lacks information regarding its Hit Dice and its skills-per-level, which constitutes a major blunder.

The pdf closes with a description on how machinesmiths work in the world of NeoExodus.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting have been thoroughly revised - Jeffrey Erwin has done a great job and made the whole pdf clearer, more appealing and much more professional. Layout is beautiful, adheres to NE's full-color 2-column standard and the original pieces of full color artwork by Carlos Herrera Portilla are beautiful. The pdf now comes with extensive bookmarks, which is awesome. Clockworker/tinkerer-classes are notoriously difficult to do and the machinesmith, a kind of spiritual successor of HHG's Clockworker tries very hard to do it. Now, in the revised edition, I'm extremely happy to report that the pdf actually succeeds in bringing us all a tinkerer-class with rock-solid rules, iconic options galore and cool ideas. ALL of my major complaints have been addressed, the formatting glitches (italics etc.) have been purged, wording has been clarified AND new content has been added. Quite a lot of it, actually! And quality content to boot! In fact, now this pdf actually can be considered a must-buy among the classes out there and I'd immediately go 5 stars plus seal of approval - were it not for the lack of HD and skill-info in the new PrC, which cost this pdf a star for a final verdict of 4.5 stars. I hope to see more of Jeffrey's excellent work in the future and am quite impressed that the team of LPJr Design has managed to pull this class off in the revised edition!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Classes of NeoExodus: Machinesmith (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monsters of NeoExodus: Harvester of Sorrow (PFRPG)
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/08/2012 15:00:57
The Harvester of Sorrow fills an interesting niche in the ranks of the undead and can be used in many styles of campaigns. However, it is a very power-oriented creature, if its abilities (especially the wail) can be negated, it is likely to find itself easy prey for its hunters.

Monsters of NeoExodus: Harvester of Sorrow is part of the support for the NeoExodus Pathfinder setting by Louis J Porter Jr Design providing monsters and enemies linked to that setting, this volume was written by Greg Oppedisano and Tom Baumbach with Louis Porter Jr. It is a seven-page product (4.5 after cover, ad and OGL) with an easy to read layout and the only art being the very nice full color cover piece (of which part is used for the character tokens included at the end of the product) with the last two pages being a sheet of tokens and a record sheet.

Harvesters of Sorrow are undead created when the soul of a suicide victim is refused entry to the afterlife. The Harvesters of Sorrow seek others to kill and convert into lost souls like themselves. It is a solid background for an undead creature with appropriate hooks into mythology.

The Harvesters of Sorrow uses a plaintive wail to overwhelm the listeners with its terrible soul-felt grief (inflicting the new aggrieved condition). While its bite carrying a magical disease whose victims in turn become Harvesters of Sorrow as well, allowing the numbers of these foul creatures to grow.

In addition to the standard Harvester of Sorrow (CR 4), a Dread Harvester (CR 6) is also presented, the Dread Harvester’s suffering aura is manifest around it, making it a much more dangerous foe than the lesser version.

The product is solid but would be strengthened by a few scenario seeds.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of NeoExodus: Harvester of Sorrow (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Classes of NeoExodus: Machinesmith (PFRPG)
by David J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2012 16:13:57
Like the class idea, and the art is very well done.
Needs more proofreading though. I saw a lot of redundant text, in one case most of a paragraph was repeated.
On the whole, quite happy with the purchase.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Classes of NeoExodus: Machinesmith (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Races of Pirates of the Bronze Sky: Kaylethon (PFRPG)
by tyrel c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2012 12:25:57
looks like an awesome race but would be nice if i could find the book its in.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Races of Pirates of the Bronze Sky: Kaylethon (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 106 to 120 (of 708 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG