RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Engineering Castles
by Mixed S. .. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2018 12:02:10

A great little book about all the different kinds of castles that you might want to have in your world. It's a good mix of text and tables. It includes useful information about construction materials and what that might mean to both physical and magickal attackers, and it covers both castles based on the real-world as well as purely fictional principles (for instance, what might a demon lord use to construct a castle?).

A worthwhile read, and not a bad book to have handy at the gaming table for when your players stumble upon a castle that you hadn't planned on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Engineering Castles
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A0 The Rising Knight -- Adventures for 5th Edition Rules
by Mark L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2017 16:13:07

I'm happy to see some content being created for 5E outside of the official sources made available by the original publisher.

This adventure is both complete and engaging, allowing the PCs to become familiar with the town in which the adventure is centered and the surrounding areas that will lead them to further adventures in later modules. As mentioned in one of the discussions, Hommlet comes to mind while reading over the characters and locations. I’m grateful that the level of detail isn’t nearly as granular as that module, though. There’s enough material to allow the PCs the freedom to explore nearly at will without need for the GM to steer them in a particular direction.

My one complaint would be the desire for better proofreading and editing. Consistent misuse of homophones indicates the writer and/or editor ensured the words remained the same throughout the test, but they are still incorrect. I’d welcome the opportunity to work up a list of changes or corrections whenever I read through this one again, or any of the subsequent adventures If I had a contact willing to accept them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A0 The Rising Knight -- Adventures for 5th Edition Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hello Mark! Yes, we would welcome any proofreading corrections you may have. You can send it to productsupport (@) trolllord. com. Thanks!
Castles & Crusades: 100 Treasure Troves — Treasure Type 1
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2017 08:09:11

6 Total Pages. Page 1 - Title, Author and Description page. Page 2-5 - A d100 type 1 treasure table. A decent listing of some nice type 1 teasures already laid out for you. Just toss the dice and point to the result and there you go. Baubles to Coins to weapons and a few magical items. It's a good spread with enough detail to give your players something good to oggle over especially the lower levels. Page 6 - Credits, contact and licensing. I got mine as part of a bundle for free but this table is worth a buck for any C&C CM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades: 100 Treasure Troves — Treasure Type 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castles & Crusades Arms and Armor
by Tim B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2017 13:18:42

A neuronphaser.com review.

Arms and Armor was updated during the Castles & Crusades "Three Sisters" (AKA core rulebooks) Kickstarter a couple years back (circa 2016), even though the cover pictured on this product page doesn't show it. What this means is that it is a COMPLETE reference for all mundane armors, helmets, shields, and weapons for the Castles & Crusades system, and with scads of pages of descriptive text noting physical features, measurements, and the history of each piece of gear, this is a useful reference for any OSR game, and probably most any D&D-derived system. There may be some historical inaccuracies -- I didn't note any, but that's not my field at all -- and you may see a lot of items with effectively the same stats, but any duplication in game stats is ignored when you have so much good detail on such a wide variety of items. In other words, the fluff is great, the stats are great, so anywhere you find duplication or superfluous distinctions can be ignored because the whole of the work is fantastic.

Opinion only, but I found a few stats wacky...but literally only a handful. And this opinion is almost strictly formed from having the same general damage notations for said weapons for YEARS. For example, the battle axe in Arms and Armor is rated at 1d6+1 damage and has a throwing range (albeit very short!), and the throwing axe is rated at 1d4 and has a slightly longer throwing range. These numbers are comparable to a shortsword and a dagger, respectively, and the low damage numbers on axes across the board suggests...I dunno. Maybe the writer has a problem with axes? Or maybe they were thinking of some weird critical hit rule that makes axes double their damage more often than swords...? I really don't know, but having played with battle axes dealing 1d8 damage for about 30-ish years just made this stand out, so I personally would take a look at things like that and consider them.

Now, as an off-hand mention, I'm planning to use this book in my Dungeon Crawl Classics games. In comparing the AC bonuses, the damage ratings, gear costs, and all that other stuff to the same in the DCC RPG rulebook, I found most things were a 1:1 match, and the few that weren't were rarely off by much. I quick skim of games like Swords & Wizardry suggests much the same. Point being: if you want to pick this book up and use it in your OSR game of choice, your conversion work is either non-existent or involves flipping a handful of numbers here or there, at most. That's hugely beneficial, and opens up hundreds of weapons, shields, armor, and helmets for any OSR game you care to play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Arms and Armor
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castles & Crusades Players Handbook 7th Printing
by Keith G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2017 08:48:08

This is a great book (and system) for old and new players alike.

I recently (about 3 months ago) started up a "D&D Night" group at work. Myself and another we old greybeard players/GMs from the olden days and the others never played tabletop. They were all familiar with RPGs in the context of computers and consoles, but playing a tabletop, pen-and-paper RPG was new.

So in looking around, I wanted a rule set that was easy but still invoked the old school feelings. Most of my tenure was during the 2nd Edition days [mostly pre-Player's Option 2.5], with a smattering of AD&D 1st, BECMI D&D [where I cut my teeth initially], and some 3rd Edition. I originally though LL or OSCRIC to get really into the nitty gritty, but unless you were into that sort of thing back in the day, there is a bit a goofiness and complexity that may turn off the uninitiatied.

So I looked into C&C. It fit the bill perfectly. It plays like a lightweight AD&D 1st, mixed with some elements of 2nd, with the Seige Engine mechanics cribbed from 3rd's basic machanic. It's lightweight, plays to classic archetypes and mechanics to the point you can basically throw OD&D, 1st, 2nd, or 3rd materials at it with little thought or modification, and it works. Characters roll up quick, order of play is very straightfoward and a good deal of the rest can easily be roleplayed, ruled from the table, or house ruled in no time flat.

Although I have a soft spot for retro-clones and simulara (or amped up ones like DCC), C&C is an awesome fit for anyone wanting a simple, streamlined, yet classic D&D experience in the modern day.

In regards to this book, it is laid out well, covers everything it should, and not overburdened by too much. It is quite literally what I expect in the Player's Handbook. The art is of good quality and the quality of the PDF file is good as well. I was never a real fan of the faux parchment finish of a lot of RPG books, but since it is so ubiquitious, I will let that criticism slide.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Players Handbook 7th Printing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castles & Crusades Players Handbook 7th Printing
by Bruce M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2017 15:32:45

This is a great book with some great material. It is filled with excellent art and is very well written and put together. I highly recommend this book for both collectors and regular gamers alike.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Domesday Book Issue VIII
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2017 13:18:25

This is a fanzine for Castles & Crusades and it is 63 pages of fan created content including character classes, house rules, adventures and artwork.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Domesday Book Issue VIII
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A1 Assault on Blacktooth Ridge -- Adventures for 5th Edition Rules
by Martin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2017 12:42:37

I love this module. It's everything an introductory module should be.

I own the original C&C print version, but also picked up the 5e conversion in PDF. This modules is very reminiscent of introductory modules of old like T1 Village of Hommlet or B2 Keep on the Borderlands. The parallels between Hommlet and the Moathouse are striking, but that is not to say this isn't a fresh take on a classic RPG trope.

It has a main town with description of a multitude of NPCs. Many of the NPCs also have some other minor hook described where the detail is left up to the GM to flesh out. They are a great source of inspiration for any GM building up a "starting area" for any campaign. The module also describes the surrounding environs with a few encounter sites (aside from the main dungeon). There's enough detail for a GM to make this town the basis of a new campaign, but without over-explaining or giving so much content that a new GM might be overwhelmed.

Lastly, the main dungeon is just the right size. It's not so large that if feels like a slow, grindy dungeon crawl, but it has enough meat to keep the party busy for a few sessions. I honestly can't say enough good things about this adventure. I really couldn't come up with any solid "cons" that weren't just nit picks.

If you are looking for a new low-level setting to start a campaign, you absolutely have to pick this up. Even if you never run it, it is full of great ideas and hooks that will inspire you when building your own "home base" village for your campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A1 Assault on Blacktooth Ridge -- Adventures for 5th Edition Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tainted Lands
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2017 16:21:13

Not very good. I expected better from the author of Metamorphosis Alpha which was the first rpg I purchased in 1977



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Tainted Lands
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castles & Crusades Brindisium Adventures
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2017 15:45:53

  Nice to see some colour maps for a change in a Trolllord.com product, welcome to the 21 St Century



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Brindisium Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castles & Crusades Town of Kalas
by Tom H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2017 15:54:53

Wordy anachronistic high-fantasy pap. If that's what you want it'll serve, but it's not a setting I see myself enjoying running.

Plus: lots of suggested hooks. Minus: sense of humor.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Town of Kalas
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

5th Edition Role Playing -- Mystical Companions
by Gary W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2016 16:43:16

I would not advise purchasing this product. It states that it is a 5th edition supplement- but the rules and mechanics are foreign to the 5e system. For instance the new bard colleges have abilities for bards at level one and two, but cannot be taken till level three. I question whether the material was ever playtested as a 5e product. I had a conversation with the lead writer on the conversion, and he thinks my objections are probably due to typos. I will review the material again as changes are maid. My advice is to definitely wait to look at a hardcover before purchasing this product, make sure it meets your needs and expectations.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
5th Edition Role Playing -- Mystical Companions
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Gary, Just wanted to let you know we've updated the files on this, so hopefully it is more in line with 5e. Thanks! Troll Lord Games
Victorious Phantasmagoria
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/06/2016 08:20:51

This is a 36-page supplement from Mike Stewart. This supplement details a number of NPC, both good (9 total) and vile (12 total). They can be used as allies, villains, or even as Player Characters. Not as interesting as the NPCs from the Core book, but then again how could they be! Couple of nitpicks here, some the characters are described as having children, though the ages of the kids and the heroes don't always work. For example one heroine, Spellbinder is described as being in her late 20s and having a 12 year old son. She is also described as having a Ph.D. Having a kid at 18 and then continuing to get a Ph.D. THEN getting sucked into the past? It is DAMN hard to work on a Ph.D. when you have kids. I know; so does the author of the book. So it struck me as odd. Make her "late 30s" or better yet "mid 40s". I know the core book talks about the slow aging effects of supermankind, so say she is in her 40s but looks younger. Also detailed is the secret organization "Sceptre"; used to fight the enemies of Queen and Country. A prison, Darkmore Prison, is given as a place to lock up all these bad guys you catch.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Victorious Phantasmagoria
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Victorious Manifest Destiny
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/06/2016 07:09:25

These are "Guide" books for Great Britain and America respectively. Both come with the same city maps of London and New York in PDFs. Rules Britania details Great Britain in the time of Victoria and her world-wide empire. The city of London is also covered in some detail. Manifest Destiny does the same for America and New York. Both books are really pretty system neutral with a lot of background information that is great for any Victorian-era game. Manifest Destiny edges out Rules Britania since America is often ignored in many Victorian games. Granted England is ignored in many Civil War and Western games too. One of the features I really enjoyed about Manifest Destiny were the inclusion of the New York gangs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Victorious Manifest Destiny
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Victorious Rule Britania
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/06/2016 07:08:59

These are "Guide" books for Great Britain and America respectively. Both come with the same city maps of London and New York in PDFs. Rules Britania details Great Britain in the time of Victoria and her world-wide empire. The city of London is also covered in some detail. Manifest Destiny does the same for America and New York. Both books are really pretty system neutral with a lot of background information that is great for any Victorian-era game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Victorious Rule Britania
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 274 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG