RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Castles & Crusades Nine Worlds Saga Volume III: Crises in Alfheimer
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2015 06:19:51
Not only do I like the concept behind the Saga, but the story itself is a new take on such an adventure and the cost has been very reasonable. Keep up the good work!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Nine Worlds Saga Volume III: Crises in Alfheimer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castles & Crusades PDF1 Encounters: Bands of Orcs
by Tomàs R. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2015 09:55:49
This is what I was looking for: useful NPC stats of some groups of orcs ready tu use in my game. The player characters enetred orc wastelands and I have no time to personalize every encounter, so this suplement is perfect. Also, in every group described in this suplement, there are described their possible motivations to enhance the encounter.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades PDF1 Encounters: Bands of Orcs
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castles & Crusades Castle Keepers Guide
by Johnathan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2015 00:04:22
Excellent game, just the right feel. Easy to play and quick to learn.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Castle Keepers Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Amazing Adventures Companion
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/05/2015 12:01:55
The Amazing Adventures Companion is now out. If you enjoy the Amazing Adventures game (and I do) then this is great news. The book is 162 pages with covers and OGL statement. Beyond that it is packed with all sorts great things.

Book One covers Astounding Action Heroes, or ways to improve your characters or make them closer to your vision. Abilities above 18 are covered and even how to get them there.
Each class is also presented and tips on how to play "other classes" with them. For example The Gadgeteer can be refocused into a street-level, Pulp Age Superhero. Think Batman in his early days. OR take the Gadgeteer and make his gadgets into potions and you have The Alchemist. The Gumshoe can give you an Ace Reporter (something I have really wanted) or the Consulting Detective. Play that aging Sherlock Holmes if you like. No new rules are needed for these since the rules are largely flexible enough. But....if you really want new characters then you are covered here as well. The Companion introduces The Acrobat, The Archer, The Duelist, The Gunslinger, The Pirate and The Soldier. What they do should be fairly self-explanatory.
The next section is one I was really looking forward to reading. This discusses porting over the classes in AA over to a Fantasy game like Castles & Crusades. While there is nothing shocking here it is a good set of guidelines. With the new classes, say like the Alchemist, Archer and Gunslinger it is nice to have so guidelines.
Next we have AA multiclassing, which is a port of the C&C "Class and a half".
We dive into equipment next which includes an expanded firearm list and how to use "classical" armor in an AA game.

Book Two covers Advanced Action Heroes. New rules for your Pulp Character. This includes some new generic class abilities. My new favorites are Occult Library and Wild Talent.

Book Three is Mysteries of Magic, Mentalism and Gadgets. It's like it was written just for me!
More information is given on Magic and Sanity; with caveats of what sort of game are wanting to run. A game where magic is dark can include Sanity and then some spells are removed, others added. We get a few pages of new spells, some tips on adapting C&C spells and then some revised Spell Lists.
For Mentalists we get some new Psionic Powers. For Gadgeteers we get some new gadgets and powers.

Book Four is Astonishing Stories. This covers some basic and advanced rules including contested rolls, Fate points, "Movie Physics", and various issues regarding damage and healing. It's kind of a catch-all chapter, but the overall theme is making your game more cinematic when you want to.

Book Five is Spinning Strange Tales. While it does feature a kickass Snake-headed monk get ready for some kung-fu fighting there is more to this chapter than that. This chapter covers different types of games you can play with AA and what alterations are needed. Most times this is about which classes to include and what equipment to use or not. My favorite might be the "Science Fantasy" section. I mean really, what is more "Pulp Adventures" than Edgar Rice Burroughs? Seriously. Reading this section suddenly I want to give up all my current games and play a Barsoom game using AA/C&C.
Of course I have to mention the section on "Tales of Swords and Sorcery". The author, Jason Vey, has honestly forgotten more about Conan and Robert E. Howard than I'll ever know. He makes some great points about using AA to emulate a Conan style game. Ok. Conan on Mars. That's what I want to play now.

Book Six is our Rouges Gallery. NPCs and Groups. This includes the historical (Harry Houdini) the semi-historical (Robert Locksley) and the comics.

All in all if you are a fan of Amazing Adventures or the Pulp Era in general then this is a must buy!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Adventures Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Magnificent Miscellaneum Vol. 4
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2015 16:32:52
These books are a collection of various items for use in C&C by James Michler. Vol 4. has to offer five new artifacts/magic items and 10 new White Box style monsters.
Again not bad for the money.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Magnificent Miscellaneum Vol. 4
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Magnificent Miscellaneum Vol. 3
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2015 16:30:10
These books are a collection of various items for use in C&C. Vol. 3 includes a couple of new artifacts, about a dozen new "White Box" menaces (monsters) and finally (and why I bought it) 3 new druid spells.
Not bad for the price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Magnificent Miscellaneum Vol. 3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castles & Crusades The Giants Wrath
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2015 16:25:17
Another Celtic-themed adventure featuring some classic Irish and Welsh monsters and situations. Giants used to populate the lands but now men do. Some of those giants are not happy about it.
This adventure is 26 pages and can be played in a couple of sessions. Be warned though, it is a tough one given that there are a large number of giants to fight. Characters should be strong and the party should include a fair number of fighters and rangers. A wizard would help too.
This adventure also makes for a good bridge (somewhat literally) between the normal fantasy of C&C to the Celtic-fueled darker fantasy of the Codex Celtarum.
Also a good way to introduce the lands of faerie to new players.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades The Giants Wrath
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castles & Crusades A Druid's Lament
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2015 16:15:21
A nice little adventure that can be played in a single session. While not specifically tied to the Celtic world of Codex Celtarum, it does work well with it. It is an introduction adventure so there are many of the tropes of that, but that is fine. It works here.
If you have an afternoon and couple of bucks then this is a great choice.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades A Druid's Lament
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castles & Crusades The Goblins of Mount Shadow
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2015 15:22:17
Another Celtic/Fey themed adventure for characters 1st to 5th level. This time they have to deal with the rise of the Grey King (who I really, really want to call Jareth). The book is 26 pages with the artwork you come to expect from Troll Lords. Also written by Brian Young this adventure feels like someone should be playing uilleann pipes in the background. I love that C&C can effortless emulate old-school D&D, but these adventures take to someplace new...or rather someplace old. Someplace that is a little darker.
This adventure is simple enough (as it should be) but it also might be more difficult in terms of the challenges faced. Granted life in Celtic, even pseudo-Celtic, times was supposed to be harsh. I would say have the characters start at 2nd level instead.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades The Goblins of Mount Shadow
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castles & Crusades Night of the Sprits
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2015 14:26:51
I LOVE Halloween themed adventures. This one comes from Brian Young who also gave us Codex Nordica and Codex Celtarum. The adventure takes place in the Codex Celtarum version of the world over three days of Samhain, or Halloween to you heathens.
The veils between the worlds are thin and there is every chance that fae lords and lady or even th Lord of the Dead himself will make an appearance.
Personally I am a little jealous of this one. It features the machinations of a Dark Druid. I ran something similar myself many years before. I am jealous because this one just oozes style and creepy atmosphere. The adventure is not long. It could be played in a couple of sessions or a longish one on Halloween night. Start at 6:00 or so and you can be hitting the end of Act 3 at Midnight.
Honestly. There is so much I love about this adventure I kinda want to blame Brian Young for hiring clairvoyants to get exactly what I wanted out of my head and on to print.
It is that good and I hate him forever for it.
(not really...but maybe a little bit)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Night of the Sprits
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castles & Crusades Book Of Familiars
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2015 13:48:11
I love playing magic using classes. I also love having familiars. Nothing it more iconic that a witch and her cat or a wizard with his owl. Or a necromancer and a floating skull!
This book covers the basics; what is a familiar? How is it different than an animal companion? What does it do for a wizard?
We move into a number of familiar "abilities" that a caster can use. Now these look an awful lot like feats from 3.x. That is no shock, this book began as a d20 supplement and this is the new C&C version. That is fine, they have been reworked and it works well here. Don't think of them as feats really. Familiars also get a few special abilities themselves. A lot of these are true special abilities and set the familiar off from the rest of animal kind.
We get a list of "standard" familiars and the benefits they grant. We also get "Greater" and "Supreme" Familiars. Pretty much anything can now be a familiar.
If we wanted to just talk about basic familiars we could stop here. But we don't. Next chapter deals with the familiars Assassins can get. This is followed by a chapter on Barbarian familiars and special mounts. This is includes an awesome bit on Totem Spirits. Buy it for the wizards, keep it for the barbarians! (and we are only 1/4 of the way through!) This is followed by chapters for Bards, Clerics, Druids, Fighters, Monks, Paladins and Knights, Rangers, Rogues, and finally special ones for Wizards.
We get 12 pages of new animals and 25 pages of new monsters.
We get 2 pages of new spells and 4 of new magic items. All in all 210 pages. Pretty nice really.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Book Of Familiars
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castles & Crusades Black Libram of Naratus
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2015 13:27:23
So. Obviously I grabbed this one since it deals with darker magic and was part of the Haunted Highlands campaign (which I also enjoy). There is also the cover which is a call back to the infamous Eldritch Wizardry of OD&D.
The first part covers necromancers and necromancer spells. This includes a way for normal spell casters to gain a level of Necromancer. A nice little add on for any CK really.
There is also a great spellbook in here called the "Grimoire of the Witch Queen" that makes the whole book worth it to me all by itself!
That's the first half of the book. Later we get into Ritual/Sacrificial magic, magic items and some new monsters. Given the types of games I run and the magic I like to have this is a "Must Have" book for me. The book is a tight 38 pages.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Black Libram of Naratus
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Amazing Adventures Rise of the Red God
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2015 11:07:49
GREAT adventure for Amazing Adventures. Maybe I should have said amazing.
But seriously this adventure has it all. Exotic locations, cults, demons, two fisted/high calibre action. Even an ancient text to be found.
But more than your lives are stake here. You sanity or even your soul will be lost.

I have had the pleasure of running this under both AA AND Castles & Crusades (converting from Pulp to Fantasy) and both times it worked out great. So even if you don't play AA (and why aren't you??) then you can run this with some thematic tweaks (and almost NO mechanical ones) with Castles & Crusades.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Adventures Rise of the Red God
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Amazing Adventures! Manual of Monsters
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2015 11:02:13
I won't lie. I LOVE Monster books. They are to this day one of my favorite things to buy for any game. The Amazing Adventures Manual of Monsters manages to give me monsters I have seen before, but with a whole new take. I mean a mummy is a mummy right? Well...your old monster book won't tell you how it reacts when you fire your .38 into it. But beyond that this book also has a lot of new monsters. Enough to make it worth while in my opinion.
Also as an added bonus feature is an appendix of monsters from different countries. So fight that Kelpie on it's native soil. Or tangle with the machinations of the Greys.
If you play AA then you need this book.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Adventures! Manual of Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castles & Crusades Character Reference Sheets
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2015 10:52:10
Sheets specifically designed for Castles & Crusades. Plenty of room for all your equipment, information and spells.
I like that they are a nice combination of both modern functionality (3.x era) and old-school sensibilities (AD&D). Diving the sheets up by what ability the characters need (Strength, Dexterity, Wisdom) is a nice call back to the old "golden rod" sheets of a bygone age.
Yes you can find sheets on the web for free, but these are worth the price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Character Reference Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 237 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG