RPGNow.com
Browse
 Información de la editorial













Regresar
Otros comentarios dejados por esta editorial:
N.E.W. The Science Fiction Roleplaying Game v1.2
por Douwe W. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/17/18 03:58:31

This was my first RPG experience. I wanted to have a game where I could leave out magic or psi/chi and this book gave me that option, skipped the PDF and went straight for the hardcover. Loved the career system as you can make a well rounded PC with it. Such an open system that allows careers from OLD and NOW to work smoothly in NEW. The supplements are also great too. With an active community and creater on Enworld.org you can discuss rules and encounters so that you never feel alone and stuck.

Loved it! No, Loving it!



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
N.E.W. The Science Fiction Roleplaying Game v1.2
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

N.E.W. The Science Fiction Roleplaying Game v1.2
por David B. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/11/18 09:27:48

A sandbox system that provides a fast playing comprehensive rules set that give you the opportunity to play in almost any setting. However what sets this title apart is the community behind it. Educated, interested and witty are the people you'll find using WOIN and they have a vast array of resources you can use to flesh out your games. It's a bargain for the price.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
N.E.W. The Science Fiction Roleplaying Game v1.2
por Jeff R. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/09/18 14:30:40

I bought the book after acquiring the Primer. I wasnt exactly thrilled with the Primer, but I thought that it had promise so I went and got the Hardcover book. Overall, the material is good, but the presentation is iffy.

Plenty of typos throughout the book, made up words ["inbuilt" ??? i assume the writers meant "built-in" or "builtin"] <--- I stand corrected.

Stats dont match the artwork provided The Redeemer Warframe on page 115 and described on page 117 and statted on page 120 makes no reference to the weapons other than mentioning that the wearer can mount an existing rifle or weapon to it.The description doesnt mention its 2 [TWO] mounting hardpoints. What about this???

Chromed Evolved Combat Suit - also not detailed until page 138. Or this?

Still have not found rhe descriptions of the Exotic Melee weapons statted on page 98. Or this???

None of the vehicles, mechs or walkers depected on page 125 [including the obvious "pod racer rip-off" are described. The few that are statted and depected with weapons do not have any weapon systems statted in the book. I didnt ask about rules, I asked about descriptions and weapon stats.

Combat rules are all over the place and barely make sense. A nice, clear of example of a combat situation would be highly beneficial. This concern was avoided as well.

The Good... The overall, general mechanics of the system are ok if not a little clunky. The art is nice.



Puntuación:
[1 de 5 estrellas!]
Creator Reply:
Hi! Thanks for the review! Just to clarify - "inbuilt" is a real word, not a typo, and the vehicle rules are found in N.O.W. The Modern Action Roleplaying Game and also in a separate supplement, Pimp My Ride. Glad you enjoyed the art! :)
War of the Burning Sky: The Complete Campaign (D&D 3.5)
por Branden L. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 05/05/18 08:56:55

Holy crap. I purchased and downloded this for a few bucks with minimal expectations. What I got is something that could easily have been sold by Wizards for $50. This a professional-quality, full-blown campaign guide with a well thought-out story, detailed NPCs, maps, etc... I run my campaign in an existing setting of my own (well, my wife's) own creation. Fortunately, this campaign guide also includes suugestions for incorporating this campaign story into your own setting.

I'm really looking forward to getting started with this campaign.

If you're looking for a rich campaign setting for your players, or just want some inspiration for your own campaign, I highly recommend purchasing this guide.

My only wish is that they published a 5E version, but 3.5 will do.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
War of the Burning Sky: The Complete Campaign (D&D 3.5)
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

Creator Reply:
Hi! So glad you liked it. We are, indeed, releasing the adventure path for 5E. The first adventure and two guides were just released today, in fact!
[WOIN] Starship Construction Manual v1.1
por Ben B. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/27/18 12:29:22

A fantastic resource for N.E.W. or Space Fight!

Build pretty much any ship you want, captain it in NEW or pit it off in arena combat in Space Fight! Make your own design or dig up information on ships from any fandom you are a part of, and build those, the sky is the limit!



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
[WOIN] Starship Construction Manual v1.1
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

[WOIN] Xenomorphs: The Fall of Somerset Landing
por Ben B. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/27/18 12:07:16

The campaign outlined in the book is fairly fun and I will definitely run it with some peopel at some time... But what I really wanted this book for was to create my own Xenomorphs campaign. All we really need is a template to make other races Xenomorphs and it makes this fully cross compatible with anything WOIN. I mean think of the crossover possibilities. Batman VS Judge Dredd VS Xenomorphs VS Predators is almost fully supported in the WOIN universe. Using this, the NEW core rulebook, and The Last Star Knight supplement, you can make a more amazing Xenomorphs Star Wars crossover than is even remotely possible in Star Wars D20 (trust me, I've tried)

This book is pretty great, I have no complaints. After running homebrew Xenomorphs in other systems that needed too much tweaking, I was happy to see these majestic beasts made available from the publisher :)



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
[WOIN] Xenomorphs: The Fall of Somerset Landing
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

[WOIN] Starship Recognition Manual
por Ben B. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/27/18 11:59:39

There is no shortage of words to describe this book, so I will use only one, phenomenal.

If you like reading about Starships and looking at pretty pictures of starships, this book is well worth the cover price. As an added bonus, it is one of the best starship resources for any game I've ever seen in this price bracket, it has full colour artwork, a table of quirks for used ships, full stats, detailed information on each spacecraft, and some of them even have deck plans. I really love this book and it's quite obvious the authors poured a lot of time and love of their own into this. I honestly recommend this to ANYONE with an interest in starships. And have to say it is an ESSENTIAL resource for any WOIN campaign in space. And also for Space Fight!



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
[WOIN] Starship Recognition Manual
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

[WOIN] The Holds of Vendalyr
por Ben B. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/27/18 11:36:42

Until I got this book I had wondered what made the Venetians different from Vulcans or maybe Elves, and now I know! This book delves into the rich and interesting history of this race and is definitely worth a read for GMs or any player who wants to play a Venetian character. Almost any kind of information you'd want to know about the Venetian people is in this book as well as some careers, exploits, starships, NPCs, and information on Venetian Martial Arts. Well worth the price and would definitely consider buying again as a present if I have a player interested in playing a Venetian...



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
[WOIN] The Holds of Vendalyr
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

[WOIN] The Moons of Boria
por Ben B. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/27/18 11:01:15

I will note that my print copy came misprinted, but that is not the fault of EN Publishing and I have been properly reimbursed by DriveThru RPG, so I will not be changing my 5 star rating.

This book itself is amazing. Almost anything you want to know about Borians is in here, from their really interesting star system in a nebula to their society, language, how important crafting and apprenticeships are to them, items, legal info, more careers, star ships, why some Borians are red and some Borians are blue, and even how to talk in a Borian accent!

This book has definitely taught me that there is more to Borians than being "space dwarves" and I think I actually like the Borians more than I like Dwarves (and I like Dwarves)

This book is simply amazing and I wholeheartedly recommend it to any N.E.W. GM (even just the star system can give you ideas) or any player who wants to play a Borian, fantastic resource.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
[WOIN] The Moons of Boria
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

WOIN Art Pack (Fantasy)
por Bryan H. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 01/24/18 08:31:30

34 pieces of imaginative artwork. Most of it very usable in games.



Puntuación:
[4 de 5 estrellas!]
WOIN Art Pack (Fantasy)
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

O.L.D. The Fantasy Heroic Roleplaying Game
por Keith S. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 01/22/18 17:07:10

Love this book! First off, it is absolutely beautiful. I bought the PDF when it first became available, and then had to have the hardcover when it came out. I hear a lot of complaints about how crunchy the magic system is, but that is actually one of my favorite things about the game. Magic becomes much more rarified and those who do study it actually have to invest time into learning the secrets of their craft. Creating personal spellbooks adds so much flavor to magic weilders, instead of just making them a tempory dip into a career to just to get some powers. Using the careers for charcter creation is a dtroke of genius, as it allows you to tell the story of your character during creation, often leading into new concepts and personality quirks that you hadn't concieved of at teh beginning.

TLDR: Great for customization of characters, magic is deep.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
O.L.D. The Fantasy Heroic Roleplaying Game
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

[WOIN] Spires in the Sky
por Keith S. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 01/22/18 16:56:25

Just did a quick read through, looks like a really fun adventure. can't wait to play it. i like the way it supports the players being a part of the indigenous culture or an advanced space-faring society hiding among the locals a la Star Trek. They did a great job of pacing and i love the characters and the artwork .



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
[WOIN] Spires in the Sky
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

[5E] A Touch of Class: 7 New Classes for 5th Edition
por Jeff H. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 01/19/18 06:31:53

The Noble (a 5E Warlord, basically) is by far the best thing here. If a smallish writeup that basically takes that idea and does it reasonably well is worth the price to you, buy it. Otherwise, don't, because the rest ranges from nothing to write home about to actively bad.

It's dubious whether some of these concepts - particularly the Feywalker and the (somewhat misleadingly named) Occultist - are interesting and archetypal enough to support their own classes. Several of them could be done more satisfyingly as archetypes for classes that already exist.

But even the good ideas are not, in general, executed well, especially from a balance standpoint. The Alchemist - the one I was most looking forward to conceptually - can get Cure Wounds as a ritual starting at second level (and eventually, at 20th level, as a cantrip), which dramatically alters the game's balance, basically flipping a huge middle finger at several of the game's underlying assumptions, not least the entire concept of hit dice. A party with a competently built alchemist is almost not playing the same game anyone else is. On the other end of the scale, the Occultist appears laughably weak, so obviously inferior to all the other melee classes that, even if a player really liked the concept, the only thing I could do in good conscience is steer him or her toward reskinning a fighter or barbarian to incorporate that concept, rather than using this class as written. With these two examples in mind, I don't know why I'd trust anything else in the book enough to let it into a game.

The formatting is also kind of dodgy. The back cover promises that the classes have been revised and expanded, and this was also strongly implied in the Kickstarter campaign that resulted in this book. That's kind of hard to credit. I haven't got the relevant EN5ider issues that would let me say for sure, but it sure looks like they've just directly copy-pasted a bunch of magazine articles (what these classes started as) together into a book, with at most superficial changes to use a unified trade dress. The Alchemist, for example, is still broken into three separate articles. Even dirt-simple things that would have taken literally seconds to fix (the Noble's chapter using a completely different naming convention from the others, for instance) haven't been changed. There are feats (some of them of potential interest to more than just characters of these new classes) scattered all over the book instead of sensibly compiled together into their own appendix. (Also, one of the feat names hits a pet peeve of mine - while I'm reliably told both forms are correct, I will never not wince when people say "Cardshark" instead of "Cardsharp".) All of this could probably have been fixed in an afternoon of InDesign work by a minimally competent layout person, preferably one who was also (or was working closely with) a good editor. Overall this aspect of the book feels very lazy.

One other thing that makes this project feel a bit of a Frankenstein's monster is the art style - or rather, the many art styles. Many different artists have been used, as well as what look like a few public-domain historical pieces, and the overall result feels every inch the stitched-together mishmash it is. If there's a unifying thread to the art here, it's that most (not all) of the art styles used are a bit too cartoony for my tastes, though even that manifests in varying ways. But that bit is admittedly very subjective.

Don't let this review turn you off EN Publishing altogether - many of their adventures are just excellent. But this particular product was very disappointing to me.



Puntuación:
[2 de 5 estrellas!]
[5E] A Touch of Class: 7 New Classes for 5th Edition
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

To Stake A Vampire
por Thilo G. [Crítico destacado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 01/03/18 04:45:15

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This massive adventure clocks in at 75 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, 1 page advertisement, leaving us with 70 pages of content, so let’s take a look!

This review was requested and made possible by one of my patreons.

This module is the direct sequel of “To Slay a Dragon” and thus assumes a 7th level party that is preferably able to cover the basic 4 core roles; particularly having a cleric is something I’d strongly suggest. The module makes use of Holdenshire as a backdrop – like its prequel, and medium advancement track is considered to be the default. Considering the highly random chances of the dragon Cirothe destroying a variety of places, this aspect may be one that GMs running the prequel should take into account.

Another note to be aware of: While it is possible to run this as a stand-alone, the end of the previous module saw the PCs knighted, which means that a certain authority and sense of responsibility is assumed – if your PCs are murderhobos from the lower social strata, this may require some tinkering.

Anyways, this being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players should jump to the conclusion.

..

.

All righty, so lord Pemberton has fallen ill and his wife is consumed with caring for him, leaving the citizens of Holdenshire to fend for themselves as a particularly harsh winter is approaching. The pdf provides a full gazetteer-like section of Hengistbury, the most important settlement, and the key NPCs found here – the NPCs come with mugshots, though groups that have ran Zeitgeist will be familiar with the mugshots, which can be a bit jarring. Much like its predecessor, we begin this module with a series of modular, smaller quests and we do get a random encounter table.

Hengistbury is not the usual, friendly place – the cold inds seem to mirror the coldness and hostility of the folk there and indeed, it seems as though a curse has fallen on the village, one that requires some investigation: You see, a pig-farmer (whose pigs represent one of the threats here), has been turned into a covert-Ops-style vampire spawn and he has been poisoning the food of the local people – something the PCs can hopefully stop! The PCs are also contacted by Stephanie Rosewynd, one of the gypsies, who fears for the health of Ugg, the friendly hill giant mascot of the region. Her vision proves true – his dire bear companion has been vampirized and may well spell doom for the poor creature.

Ultimately, the PCs will have to track down the vampire spawn pig farmer…which will also lead them to a mini-dungeon, where the amulet of the spectral grove can be found – a 78K item amulet that duplicates protection from evil keyed specifically to vampires and vampire spawn and may allow the wielder to become a ghost, leaving the body behind and emitting untyped damage-causing pulses of light. The rules-language regarding these pulses is wonky – action economy constraints prevent the multiple uses the item ostensibly allows per round. I am also quite sure that we have a 3.Xism here, with return to one’s body requiring a save (that becomes harder, the more the powers of the amulet are used) to avoid dropping to -10 hp: This can kill characters with bad Con and I’m pretty sure it’s instead supposed to deliver the target right at death’s door – which would be negative Constitution hit points. Why is this important? The VERY valuable item is one of the tools the PCs are supposed to use to defeat the BBEG. Issues in the rules here are problematic.

Returning to Holdenshire does not provide the relief expected, though: Injuries fail to clot and vicious animals attack – oh, and in one section people uncontrollably “bleed tears.” I am pretty sure this was supposed to read cry blood. The module does have a rumor-battling mini-game – basically, the PCs gain points and so does the GM, which may then be used to modify social interactions. While the mini-game per se is nice, it does not really come that much into play; it would have imho made more sense as the central motif for an adventure or section, but that may be me. (It should be noted that the release of this module predates Ultimate Intrigue, so I won’t complain about a lack of synergy there.)

Anyways, in order to deal with the afflictions ailing Holdenshire, the PCs will have to explore a variety of tombs, all around the theme of one hero – as such, each of the brief tombs offers a couple of minor challenges like traps and combats and nets one potent item each, while also allowing the PCs to deal with one of the curses. These tools include a quickbow, a variant hand crossbow that allows for quicker shots at -5 to atk, a good-aligned magical earthbreaker that grants 3 feats (power Attack, Cleave and Great Cleave, sans penalties versus the undead!), hastening anti-undead starknives, a gun that transforms holy water into beams of sonic energy – which is per se damn cool and basically a non-weapon launcher, closer to how magic items than regular weapons work. Each of the tombs also sports nightmares for the PCs to experience (depending on sequence) and, in case you were wondering, the aforementioned amulet acts as basically a beacon. Having collected all, the items point the PCs towards the final artifact of the Order of Light, whose tombs the PCs had to raid…and banishes the curses, but then, the vampire lord mastermind’s remaining agents assault the PCs, making for a brutal finale to the second act.

The PCs now may have brought the common folks some respite from the unearthly, vampiric curses, but in order to be triumphant, they will have to track down the vampire lord Nemirtvi – and deal with his most prized agent, which is, unsurprisingly, the vampire-spawn’d lord Pemberton. Yeah, we all saw that one coming and one big issue of the module is that it would make a lot of sense for the PCs to suspect that from the get-go and deal with it at all costs – the GM must engage in some serious handholding here, at least when dealing with more experienced players. The dungeon that lead downwards is mostly mapped with player-friendly full-color maps, but not exclusively so – it should be noted that, much like “To Slay a Dragon”, the exploration of the dungeon sections of this pdf don’t go room by room, but instead provide the basic tools. The relative simplicity of all dungeons and their linearity are one of the aspects that will probably not be to everyone’s liking, particularly regarding the old-school crowd that this is marketed for. (The module, much like its predecessor, even states old-school feeling as a design goal, so that is not just an observation!) Interpreting a mad dwarven engineer’s rhyme, the PCs can destroy a horrible crystalline construct that enhances the vampire – and would allow the beast to return, unless it is dealt with for once and for all. In the lair of the vampire lord, the PCs have to brave the vampire and Pemberton among countless wax statues, who may btw. be saved by competent PCs…of sorts. He can become the intelligence of an awakened relic of the order of light, further enhancing the relic – from there, he may actually be returned to life.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are good, though not as tight as usual for EN Publishing’s modules. There are a couple of formal and rules-language snafus here and there. Layout adheres to a nice two-column full-color standard and the pdf sports solid artworks, though fans of EN Publishing will be familiar with most. The pdf comes fully bookmarked with nested bookmarks.

Russ Morrissey, Mike Myler and Brian Casey’s anti-vampire romp…left me singularly unimpressed. Much like its predecessor, it feels more like a sketch than a finished adventure and makes you do A LOT of prep-work. The non-standard presentation (all stats etc. at the end of a section) make running the module less convenient than it should be. The exploration of multiple bland and extremely linear tombs is a boring grind and unbefitting of the cool idea of the curses and makes the center part of the module feel redundant. Much like its predecessor, the adventure does not care about WBL that much, so PCs will have some serious wealth on their hands, item-wise.

The issues of “To Stake a Vampire”, beyond these, are two-fold: On one hand, it tries to be an investigation-heavy adventure; on the other, its railroad overall structure doesn’t necessarily help with that premise. The obviously vampified friendly NPC is a potentially huge roadbump for the GM. As for the old-school premise, I’d disagree in the module excelling at capturing that style of play – compared to the original Ravenloft-module, this, alas, falls woefully short in feeling and aesthetics – old-school GMs will not like this one and should probably instead take a look at Frog God Games’ Quests of Doom I, which sports two nice anti-vampire modules…or, you know, the classic Ravenloft modules.

In fact, the saving graces of the module are when what I assume to be Mike Myler’s pretty distinct playfulness and new school high-concept aesthetics break through; while this doesn’t fix the issues in structure and themes, it does elevate what I’d otherwise consider to be a very underwhelming scenario to one that sports a couple of saving graces. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 2.5 stars, rounded up by a margin for the purpose of this platform. I’d strongly suggest getting one of the excellent vampire modules out there instead.

Endzeitgeist out.



Puntuación:
[3 de 5 estrellas!]
To Stake A Vampire
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

[5E] A Touch of Class: 7 New Classes for 5th Edition
por Jordan B. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 01/02/18 07:33:50

I went in with high hopes for this book ($15 for homebrew content with only a couple reviews, but neat ideas) and was hoping the authors would "wow" me with good mechanics to match some of the cool ideas put forth in the description (was especially excited about the Diabolist, Feywalker, Noble). Unfortunately, I can not recommend this to anyone looking to expand their table's class selection.

An overarching issue is that most of the classes thematically (and some, mechanically) appear as though they easily could have been (and due to a variety of reoccuring balance issues, perhaps should have been) created within the framework of existing classes. Diabolist stands out especially in this regard for both, the class description presents no real difference between it and the Warlock and the core mechanics (Necro debuffs, summons) could easily have been a Patron and/or Pact Boon combination with these simply giving access to summoning spells/abilities and a Debuff effect for certain spells (with the addition of some Invocations, if that would be easier to streamline). I simply do not understand some of the mechanical choices made to represent some of the ideas, which themselves take unnecessary steps to distance themselves from existing classes (and sometimes in flat out poor ways, such as elevating the class in its description text above existing classes).

There's is a correlation within this document that the more an ability deviates from existing framework/class abilities the more mechanical and balance issues it tends to have. Some abilities (The Noble's Expertise comes to mind, which grants expertise to 3 skills rather than 2 like every other Expertise ability in the 5e) are blatantly overpowered compared against their counterparts. The Cardcaster (as fond as I may be of its inspiration) is perhaps the most unique class produced in the document and, unsurprisingly, suffers the most in terms of balance, unnecessary complexity (read: fat could have been trimmed to produce the same desired effect) and poor design. This correlation is entirely consistent throughout the document.

While not as critical as the mechanics, the flavor text is often poorly written in that it references mechanical concepts rather than taking the opportunity to highlight what such a character of this class might be like, might believe. Referring to "lawful slavers" and "chaotic" characters does not accomplish this at all. Combined with how the classes fail to differentiate themselves effectively from their core class counterparts, I get the feeling the concepts did not successfully transition from bundles of custom-tailored mechanics to fully realized and rich classes: skill kits from which different sorts of believably rounded people might grow and develop. That might not bother you if you're looking for a new class to tinker with, but for some it is a pretty big let down.

I did find the Alchemist class to have some of the more creative ideas but it too suffers from horrible balance issues that should have been very apparent during playtesting (scaling at 1st, 5th, 9th, 13th, 17th levels instead of 1st, 5th, 11th, 17th like every other spell effect in the game? And throwing multiple of them as well?). I also thought the formatting and art was very well done and the quality for these was consistent through the document. Unfortunately, the design problems were too great to ignore. That's perhaps the best way to describe this document as a whole: "Poorly Executed Design".

I am a huge fan and supporter of homebrew developers and love seeing the community produce new and exciting content to try at my table, but the problems here are simply far too much for a normal 5e table to incorporate without immense revision which might as well be an overhaul. When you charge professional prices ($15 for 70~ pages of content) you need to take the time to ensure your work can at least approach existing professional standards in the field. This does not even begin to approach that qualifying level of quality.

I would recommend you spend your money elsewhere.



Puntuación:
[2 de 5 estrellas!]
[5E] A Touch of Class: 7 New Classes for 5th Edition
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido RPGNow.com

Mostrando de 1 a 15 (de 690 críticas) Páginas de resultados:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Siguiente >>] 
0 artículos
 Los mejores productos
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG