RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Complete Book of Eldritch Might
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2009 12:51:26

One of the best resources for magic and arcane casters. It combines all of the eldritch might supplements. The ember mage and eldritch warrior my PC's favorites. Weaving some of the eldritch spells into my campaign gave all of the PC's something new to look forward to. There are different magic locales listed. I used the City in the storm and my PC's are still talking about it! The list of Bard Spellsongs is a great addition to any 3.5e player looking for more details for the bard class. All in all a great addition to all spellcasters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Complete Book of Eldritch Might
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Chaositech
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2009 12:40:48

Adding a sinister element to you campaign is made easy. Monte Cook goes over numerous cults and villians to test your characters, such as the priests of chaos, or the tolling bell cult, or the crimson coil. Too many to talk about here. This book covers fantasy tech powered by the power of chaos. Items like disk blades and emitters to name a few. It also details various items and symbiotes to add you you game. The book is clear and concise on adding these items to your game, along with the stats for each item. Mutations, chaos slaves, and the stat blocks for the Master of Chaos himself are included and detailed! It presents alot of material in a clear and easy format. This sourcebook adds a new element to your game that will keep your players guessing. Best of all, will your players be brave enough to use this against their enemies, and take the chance of becoming tainted by chaos! Great content, easy to add to any campaign, new ideas, and a few new monsters to boot.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chaositech
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monte Cook Presents: The Year's Best d20
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2009 11:29:51

This is a great product with a lot of nice ideas for customizing your d20 games. I really wish they had kept producing a "best of" every year, but things in the once united d20 universe started blowing apart with WotC's various changes to 3E (i.g. 3.5, dumping it for 4E). Reading this brings me back to the days when everything in gaming seemed to revolve around d20. On the other hand we're probably better off without a million d20 clones anyway.

Good: This is a great product idea very well executed.

Bad: They never made another one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monte Cook Presents: The Year's Best d20
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of Experimental Might
by Kenneth A. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2009 03:26:11

I'm sure I wont use any of this material ever, but it does look interesting and it's always nice to see what Monte Cook comes up with.

And why wont I use this material... well, it seem a little too complicated at least in its complete form. I will probably use a few of the rules, however, like the new hit points system. We'll see.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Experimental Might
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ptolus: A Player's Guide to Ptolus
by Kenneth A. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2009 03:14:15

A must-have for any fans of Ptolus! It really sets the mood for the players and they really feel like they know the city, which they do, of course. A great idea to make a player's guide to a setting, saves the GM a lot of work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus: A Player's Guide to Ptolus
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of Hallowed Might
by David S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2009 18:29:37

Well thought out and put together... a must have especially since you can no longer get the other similar product from that other company.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Hallowed Might
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of Roguish Luck
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/24/2009 12:41:44

As with prior Malhavoc releases dealing with magic (Eldritch Might) and fighters (Iron Might), Roguish Luck expands upon the activities of everyone's favorite highly-skilled D20 class, the rogue. Incorporating several different versions of rogues from fantasy literature, as well as modern criminal sensibilities, this book is a great addition to any D20 library. I hadn't read anything by Wolfgang Baur before this, but immediately sought out other materials he wrote after reviewing this book.

I've used Roguish Luck several times in campaigns and players have always appreciated the extra flavor and texture that this supplement provides. My particular favorite part was how to construct a crime organization - everyone likes being part of that sort of thing, or to fight against them, or perhaps both.

As always, the quality of the PDF is top-of-the-line. You can always count on Malhavoc for that. There are no particular added electronic features.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Roguish Luck
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of Iron Might
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/24/2009 12:37:24

The Book of Iron Might purports to do for fighters and martial characters what the Books of Eldritch Magic did for spellcasters, and it is more than up to the task. Actually I almost like it a bit better because of what it tries to do! Books of More Magical Stuff are pretty easy to find (though of course most are not up to Malhavoc's high standards), but a whole book of new stuff for fighting characters? That's much rarer.

The Book of Iron Might has many things to recommend it. It is very well organized. It has many new options for campaign and character design, including "maneuvers", to give fighters more things to do in combat. Heck, it even has a new character race that is quite similar to and predates Eberron's warforged and other "artificial" player character races!

Mike Mearls knows what he is doing with D20 and it shows through in this excellent work. As always, Malhavoc produces some of the best PDFs in the industry, though this one does not contain any extra hyperlinks or other electronic enhancements.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Iron Might
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Temple of Mysteries: In Media Res
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/24/2009 12:33:37

SPOILER ALERT!

This very clever adventure scenario has well-rounded pregenerated characters, a compelling storyline, some fun fights, and a twist ending that will have players laughing and applauding. One of the best adventure modules produced during the d20 era. As always, you can count on Malhavoc to optimize the PDFs and have a solid electronic product. No extra bells and whistles, though, it is simply an adaptation of the marvellous print product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Temple of Mysteries: In Media Res
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cry Havoc
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/24/2009 12:31:14

This exceptional book continues the top-flight work of Malhavoc games. The idea of an "event book" is one that was long overdue - it is simply easier and more natural to work a massive event like a war or a magical comet into a fantasy game than to suddenly plop a new kingdom or city onto the map.

Cry Havoc is about war, introducing it and making it adventurous in your Third edition campaign. Skip Williams, one of the best of the best, does a tremendous job of making an engaging setting element out of something that is often "too big" for a group of player characters to do much with.

If I were to name one way to improve Cry Havoc, it would be to go into more detail on how things like spying, sabotage and other bits of skullduggery factor into a war. Those are often carried out at a level much closer to the normal group of PCs, and if incorporated into the war system, the players could see their actions turning the tide in a very natural way.

A truly exceptional work, and well-optimized for PDF, though it does not include any extra features in electronic form.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cry Havoc
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Anger of Angels
by Ron M. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/10/2009 11:49:11

Anger of Angels From: Malhavoc Press Reviewed by: Ron "Seawolf" McClung

Anger of Angels is a new Fantasy d20 RPG Supplement from Malhavoc Press.

The concept of the "War in Heaven" was introduced to me by the movie The Prophecy. I thoroughly enjoyed that movie at the time and love the concept of warring angels. Sean Reynolds has put together a well thought-out and thoroughly engaging source book on this subject, from the perspective of fantasy role playing in the d20 system. It is compatible with the 3.5 version of the d20 core rules. From the Page 3: “From the dawn of civilization, people have wondered about how they came to be and what happens to them after they die.”Anger of Angels opens with a introduction explaining the core concept and purpose of the sourcebook.  The primary focus is on Judeo-Christian mythos, with the occasional mention of other religions. Because the concept of a war in heaven between angels and demons is primarily a Christian concept, I can understand it. It also comes from a monotheistic point of view, simply referencing the Almighty as God.

Chapter 1 covers the background needed to understand the War in Heaven--from the fallen angel of Satan to the jealousy angels had for humans; from the corruption of the angels into demons to the invasion of Heaven. In these two pages you get general information, with only a few specifics. It's flexible enough to fit into any fantasy game but specific enough to give you the meat of the perceived-game-universe.

The second chapter delves into the origins of angels and how they are created. It even introduces ways for other angels to create angels. It also covers issues like angels and free will, the mortality of angels, angels breeding with non-angels, the creation of half-angels, and the corruption of angels. Interestingly, death for an angel is final because they are the physical manifestation of spiritual energy. They are unaffected by raise dead or resurrection. The chapter further explores aspects of angels including angelic vessels - shells that angels wear as disguises, angelic wings, armor, and weapons.  

The bulk of the second chapter is taken up by the angelic races that are playable as player characters. Eleven races are presented here with the standard array of d20 statistics and text. Virtually every conceivable archetype is covered in these 11 angels. From Cherubim, Heaven's sentinels and Malakim, Heaven's soldiers to the fiery wheels of the Ophanim, Heaven's messengers and Seraphim, the most holy of angels, these races range from the familiar and mighty to the strange and awkward. I am just not so sure how one plays a fiery wheel or a winged serpent - but I guess that's where vessels come in. The chapter closes out with a few interesting paragraphs on creating variant angels.

The key thing to note when planning to use these races is to plan on a high starting level campaign. Level adjustments range from 3 to 9, with most being 5 or 6. So depending on the type of campaign you want to run (see Chapter 3), the mortals in the party (if any) will have a high starting level to be able to keep up. Not that this isn't expected or anything bad, but I do realize there are some players that prefer to start out at low levels and work their way up. The GM and the players just have to be prepared.

From the back cover: “The sanctity of heaven was shattered at the dawn of the world, when prideful angels rebelled”

Chapters 3 and 4 cover a lot of the material needed to run a campaign caught up in the war between Heaven and Hell. Chapter 3 is the campaign guide, covering advice on how to handle the different types of possible campaigns and how angels interact with the Material Plane, as well as background material for the angel society, angel rankings, angelic personalities, and their relationship with mortals. Of note is the beginning of the chapter where it breaks campaigns down for a GM and conveniently puts this book in perspective. The GM should decide on the type of campaign he wants to run. The author presents 4 types - Angelic, Mentor, Standard, and Adversaries. Each are well defined and make it more clear as to what kind of game this source book would fit in.

Of note within Chapter 3 is a short section on using this sourcebook in d20 Modern. In a couple of short paragraphs, it basically says feel free to use it in the modern setting or even sci-fi setting (in anticipation of d20 Future).

Chapter 4, Planer Geography, is the mappings of Heaven and Hell - the battle grounds for angels and fiends.  The seven planes of Heaven and the many facets of Hell are mapped out and described in moderate detail. Familiar things like Jacob's Ladder, Eden, the River Styx, Limbo and Purgatory are presented. Each, of course, is a supernatural realm, so they are presented in more abstract form. Chapter 5 and 6 are focused on prominent angelic non-player characters and organizations. Full of a wealth of prominent angels, Angels of Note includes some familiar names like Gabriel, Metatron, and Michael. It has statistics of the Eight Archangels, as well general notes about several others. Chapter 6 describes four very interesting angel organizations started on the mortal realm These open up new possibilities of plot and intrigue when you consider groups like the Council of Wings (a group of allied fiends and angels who have grown weary of the War in Heaven and work to protect the mortal realm from its ravages) or the Society of Godsblood (a group that protects half-celestials and their related kind).

Chapters 7 through 10 cover the d20 specific information to include angels and fiends in your d20 world. Chapter 7 covers feats for angels and fiends - a total of 45 angelic or fiendish feats to add to your d20 world. Many have the prerequisite 'angel' or 'fiend', as you would expect. Chapter 8 presents angelic Prestige Classes including ones like Angel of Death and Angel of Terror - a total of five. Chapter 9 covers Magic and Spells - all angels have spells and have immediate access to all spells in the list as long as they meet the prerequisites. Chapter 10 covers heavenly and hellish creatures as well as more angel NPCs to add to your campaign world.

In conclusion, I have to say that I am already inspired by this book and hope to use it in one of my d20 Modern games. It is well written and researched ( and includes a good bibliography for those wanting more resources of angelic legends and beliefs). Being written by what I would call one of the "big dogs" of the gaming industry, Sean K. Reynolds, I was honored to have a chance to review it. My only complaint, I would say, is that the type face was a little small - but that might be because I am getting old. The art was good, and appropriate for the subject matter. It was also well edited.  

I would recommend this for those GMs seeking to expand into new realms like this and to those GMs looking for new and refreshing inspiration.  

For more details on Malhavoc Press and their new Fantasy d20 RPG Supplement “Anger of Angels” check them out at their website http://www.swordsorcery.com, and at all of your local game stores.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Anger of Angels
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Chaositech
by Michael L. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2009 10:18:41

Treuly astonishing Book for D20. HP Lovecraft, Meets Future Tech in A fantasy Role-playing World. The Gulchat make formidable shadow enemies and the new TEch adds exotic, if dangerous, new toys for those who want to play with them.

Hellraiser comes to mind with the Creatures and I love the ideas this book brings into my mind. Will I ever use the information? Probably not, Why? I don't play anymore, but this so intrigued me I BOught the book anyway.

Recommend to everyone that wants to add a horror side to their HIgh elven magic world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chaositech
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ptolus: The World of Praemal
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2009 01:35:15

This is one chapter of the overall Ptolus campaign setting. See my review of the combined product. In short--it's great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus: The World of Praemal
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ptolus: Organizations
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2009 01:34:45

This is one chapter of the overall Ptolus campaign setting. See my review of the combined product. In short--it's great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus: Organizations
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ptolus: Monte Cook's City By The Spire (Ptolus Core)
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2009 01:32:36

It's pretty much impossible to describe all the goodness of this product in a short review—or even a long one. I have never seen any campaign setting--much less one that's really just a single city--presented with such great care and thoroughness. If you're looking for a new setting for a 3.5e d20/OGL campaign, and you're interested in urban adventures, look no further. From the gazetteer to prestige classes to new spells and monsters, this product offers incredibly rich play experiences. Malhavoc also publishes several adventures for the setting, and SkeletonKey Games offers a poster map of the city (well, if you assemble it as such after printing) and miniatures-scale map tiles especially for Ptolus. I would still be running my Ptolus campaign if I hadn't upgraded to 4e (converting or recreating Ptolus in 4e stats was far too daunting a task)--and if I ever go back to 3.5e, I'll also go back to Ptolus.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus: Monte Cook's City By The Spire (Ptolus Core)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 132 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG