RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Imperial Age: Hell Hath No Fury
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2016 06:22:15

Characters start with a locked-door mystery, and end up with a monsterous twist. A very Combat-lite,Roleplay-heavy plot, which I was looking for to ease new players in to the hobby. Newer GM/DMs will need to step up their game to make sure the NPCs are portrayed correctly. Over all; Excellent and Well done! Very printer friendly, except for the beautiful cover art. Lets face it all cover art, if done right, is not exactally printer friendly anyway. All the artwork within the pages is also beautiful and done well, it definately adds to the flavor of the setting, I just wanted a bit more of it. I wanted a couple of pieces of "Show 'Em" type artwork or maybe a couple of handouts too. As for the letters and the telegram used in the story, they aren't something that I can't reproduce on my own. I enjoyed the callback to the Thrilling Tales adventure and it has a really nice alternative set up for the next printed adventure (The Price of Immortallity) as well, so you could run the two back to back. Which I'm considering doing exactally that. I feel it is worth the time and price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Imperial Age: Hell Hath No Fury
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hot Pursuit: ON FOOT
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2016 05:55:18

I have been using the Hot Pursuit rules for vehicle chases for years, and I finally found this! So many badguys are going to start RUNNING away too...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hot Pursuit: ON FOOT
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

FREE d20 to FATE Conversion Guide
by Mike K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2016 14:45:10

This is good if you want to convert games like Dungeons and Dragons to Fate Core. Most things translate easily.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FREE d20 to FATE Conversion Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2016 14:08:27

I didn't review this book back when I purchased it when it first appeared - both the D20 version and this SW version?? Shame on me! I know I did contact the author-designer, because this is (I need large fonts for this.)


MUCH BETTER THAN THE D20 VERSION!!


It's not that the first version wasn't well done, it's that the D20 system didn't lend itself to a rollicking, knock-down drag 'em out the door type of session that the pulp genre needs. Great example in fiction: Archie Goodwin gets fed up with an obnoxious visitor to Wolfe's office, and literally knocks him down and drags him out the door by his heels. That could take up to a half hour with D20; with SW it's over almost before it starts - leaving other PCs and players wondering "Wha' happened??"


The supporting material for Thrilling Tales is just as exciting as that scene, and the "rules" (Be prepared for a set of rules which tell you that the adventure is MUCH more important than looking up rules.) can keep your players hanging on by their fingernails. It adapts well to every pulp genre I tried (even westerns, but especially Cousins of Cthulhu) and deserves wider use.


For a time, Adamant was able to include chapters of ollllld serial cliffhangers, to really get your players in the mood. Most of the old classics are available in the public domain -- I recommend you put them to use. And steal from them most boldly!


At less than $10, it's a ridiculously cheap bargain.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MARS Free Preview
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2016 20:35:46

If you like me you have read the Edgar Rice Boroughs books three times through you will instantly spot lots of differences. Nothing killing in the preview, but enough to show that they couldn't get the licence from his estate, so had to make changes.
Still it is a well done preview, and makes you want to see more. Very good art, and I agree the Savage Worlds would be the system to go on this rather than the d20.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MARS Free Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Death In A Cloudless Sky - a MARS One-Sheet
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2016 08:45:02

For a single sheet adventure, this One-Sheet provides a lot of potential plots and RP. Though it's made for MARS, it can be easily used in any fantastic realm of flying ships. I highly recommend this product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death In A Cloudless Sky - a MARS One-Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thrilling Tales Adventure Deck (Savage Worlds)
by Steve N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2015 06:11:56

These cards are gorgeous! Unlike other settings that provide (though free) a mere handful of cards, this is an entire deck! All devoted to pulp adventure.


They are very high quality and I can't wait to get my pulp game going!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales Adventure Deck (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Peril in Freeport (Pathfinder)
by JK R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2015 02:29:53

An excellent set of five linked adventures set in the city of Freeport and all on obviously nautical themes. The adventures will work just as well in any seaport - specific details relevant to Freeport are included, but are easy to modify to suit any other setting. The scenarios are set up to allow PCs a good deal of freedom in how to resolve them, and, while they are linked, they don't have to be run consecutively. (OTOH, they are all scaled for 6th to 8th level characters, so you won't want to leave too long between them).


The nautical theme works well, with shipwrecks, slave traders, giant squid, and even a tavern brawl to keep the players entertained and active. It can be run straight through as an action piece, but there's also plenty of opportunity for roleplaying for those who want it. All in all, a very good set of adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Peril in Freeport (Pathfinder)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

One Million Magic Items
by Andrew J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2015 18:10:20

This product is a good grab and is great for quickly generating random magic items. One of my biggest gripes with the 3.5e OGL rules is that they don't cover many magical items. They DO cover a bunch of powers that you can combine to create magic items, and the rules for doing so are workable, but a table to actually generate the magic items would be very helpful indeed... and here it is! So if coming up with your own magic items gives you a headache, then definitely grab this!


My only gripe is that the second step (2nd of 3), which involves selecting the "base item", i.e. is it a bottle, a sword, a suit of armor, etc, is pretty heavily focused on armor and weapons. That being said, if you don't want the PCs to find another weapon, then just omit this step entirely! So I'm not gonna take off points for that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Million Magic Items
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Expert Feats
by Andrew J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2015 18:00:43

I don't think that this was really worth it's price. The document is 4 pages, the last of which is the OGL page, so nothing useful there. It contains exactly 5 feats, all of which are intended for NPCs, but which can be applied to PCs if they are endeavoring to become craftsmen of some renown. It can be useful if your group of PCs has that special NPC or two whom they consult with and ask for special orders from, but in my opinion, these feats would be a better value if they were rolled into a larger product that covered a wider range of NPC feats... or perhaps as part of a Marketplace Guide that covered a range of NPCs that one might encounter in a town or city marketplace and all of their associated feats. In short, $1.99 is a lot to pay for 5 feats with a limited use.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Expert Feats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

40 Alchemical Items
by Andrew J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2015 18:40:35

This product does just what it's description says - it provides a new use for the Craft (Alchemy) skill/feat. The items mentioned are all potions, powders, salves and the like. The descriptions also tell a bit about the item's availability (i.e. how likely are the PCs to find one of these items in an alchemist's shop). Some of the items are medieval versions of things like weed killer, energy drinks, and stain removers, but others are more mythical, like a love potion and the Golem salve.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
40 Alchemical Items
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thrilling Tales Adventure Deck (Savage Worlds)
by Richard B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2015 16:10:51

This is a beautiful set of cards! I can't wait to introduce them into my Ravaged Earth-based pulp game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales Adventure Deck (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thrilling Tales 2e: Pulp Villains - The Red Menace
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2014 15:04:45

A generous thought and very nice supplement. I'd put GRAmel's work at least on a level with Adamant's own Nazis.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales 2e: Pulp Villains - The Red Menace
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Modern Dispatch (#42): Pulp Adventure Generator
by Eibhlin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2014 04:21:21

Solid adventure and plot ideas with just enough grit to capture the imagination. Nicely constructed. Authentic details. This provides an almost immediate immersion into the genre, and it does so with considerable flair and style.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Dispatch (#42): Pulp Adventure Generator
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thrilling Tales Adventure Deck (Savage Worlds)
by Ken F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2014 11:01:53

These high quality cards make a wonderful addition to your Thrilling Tales (or really any pulp-style Savage Worlds game) campaign. Much of the art is seemingly pulled from old pulp magazine covers and lends perfect detail to the card effects. Most of the deck replicates previous adventure decks, so GMs will not be too surprised by anything the players may be dealt. Other cards are tweaked slightly for clarity and/or to ramp up the pulpy flavor.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales Adventure Deck (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 540 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG