RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Peril in Freeport (Pathfinder)
by JK R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2015 02:29:53
An excellent set of five linked adventures set in the city of Freeport and all on obviously nautical themes. The adventures will work just as well in any seaport - specific details relevant to Freeport are included, but are easy to modify to suit any other setting. The scenarios are set up to allow PCs a good deal of freedom in how to resolve them, and, while they are linked, they don't have to be run consecutively. (OTOH, they are all scaled for 6th to 8th level characters, so you won't want to leave too long between them).

The nautical theme works well, with shipwrecks, slave traders, giant squid, and even a tavern brawl to keep the players entertained and active. It can be run straight through as an action piece, but there's also plenty of opportunity for roleplaying for those who want it. All in all, a very good set of adventures.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Peril in Freeport (Pathfinder)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

One Million Magic Items
by Andrew J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2015 18:10:20
This product is a good grab and is great for quickly generating random magic items. One of my biggest gripes with the 3.5e OGL rules is that they don't cover many magical items. They DO cover a bunch of powers that you can combine to create magic items, and the rules for doing so are workable, but a table to actually generate the magic items would be very helpful indeed... and here it is! So if coming up with your own magic items gives you a headache, then definitely grab this!

My only gripe is that the second step (2nd of 3), which involves selecting the "base item", i.e. is it a bottle, a sword, a suit of armor, etc, is pretty heavily focused on armor and weapons. That being said, if you don't want the PCs to find another weapon, then just omit this step entirely! So I'm not gonna take off points for that.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Million Magic Items
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Expert Feats
by Andrew J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2015 18:00:43
I don't think that this was really worth it's price. The document is 4 pages, the last of which is the OGL page, so nothing useful there. It contains exactly 5 feats, all of which are intended for NPCs, but which can be applied to PCs if they are endeavoring to become craftsmen of some renown. It can be useful if your group of PCs has that special NPC or two whom they consult with and ask for special orders from, but in my opinion, these feats would be a better value if they were rolled into a larger product that covered a wider range of NPC feats... or perhaps as part of a Marketplace Guide that covered a range of NPCs that one might encounter in a town or city marketplace and all of their associated feats. In short, $1.99 is a lot to pay for 5 feats with a limited use.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Expert Feats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

40 Alchemical Items
by Andrew J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2015 18:40:35
This product does just what it's description says - it provides a new use for the Craft (Alchemy) skill/feat. The items mentioned are all potions, powders, salves and the like. The descriptions also tell a bit about the item's availability (i.e. how likely are the PCs to find one of these items in an alchemist's shop). Some of the items are medieval versions of things like weed killer, energy drinks, and stain removers, but others are more mythical, like a love potion and the Golem salve.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
40 Alchemical Items
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thrilling Tales Adventure Deck (Savage Worlds)
by Richard B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2015 16:10:51
This is a beautiful set of cards! I can't wait to introduce them into my Ravaged Earth-based pulp game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales Adventure Deck (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thrilling Tales 2e: Pulp Villains - The Red Menace
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2014 15:04:45
A generous thought and very nice supplement. I'd put GRAmel's work at least on a level with Adamant's own Nazis.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales 2e: Pulp Villains - The Red Menace
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Modern Dispatch (#42): Pulp Adventure Generator
by Eibhlin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2014 04:21:21
Solid adventure and plot ideas with just enough grit to capture the imagination. Nicely constructed. Authentic details. This provides an almost immediate immersion into the genre, and it does so with considerable flair and style.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Dispatch (#42): Pulp Adventure Generator
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thrilling Tales Adventure Deck (Savage Worlds)
by Ken F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2014 11:01:53
These high quality cards make a wonderful addition to your Thrilling Tales (or really any pulp-style Savage Worlds game) campaign. Much of the art is seemingly pulled from old pulp magazine covers and lends perfect detail to the card effects. Most of the deck replicates previous adventure decks, so GMs will not be too surprised by anything the players may be dealt. Other cards are tweaked slightly for clarity and/or to ramp up the pulpy flavor.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales Adventure Deck (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thrilling Tales 2e: The Steel Legion
by Dustin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2014 18:39:35
A play on the classic “Giant Robot” pulp era story, this is a fairly fun play through inline with weird fiction of the time.

The story is great for your mystery men or ace pilot since the robots can easily be scaled for different leveled characters (such as in “Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow”)

These unstoppable robots are balanced by humans henchmen to an evil scientist. (I mean you have to be able to fight the enemy right?)

There are a limited number of items added, but depending on your game they can be confiscated and used in future play through.

Since I prefer to play a non-lethal mystery man (the Green Hornet) I can see the value of the technology found and how the items can be disputed over in future play through of a campaign.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales 2e: The Steel Legion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Five Families: Criminal Organizations for Every Campaign World
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/02/2014 04:33:57
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 43 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, leaving us with a massive 40 pages of content, so let's take a look, shall we?



We kick off this pdf with a short introduction and then delve into generating an organization - which is surprisingly simple: Organizations receive stats, just like characters. These would be Force, Response, Resources, Information, Magic and Influence - if you haven't noticed by now: They are rather self-explanatory and analogue to a character's attributes. Now hit points for such organizations are interesting - they are calculated via members, strongholds etc. and high-level members provide more hit points. Loss of members via events etc. is covered with concise rules, as is an organization making skill-checks. Since it represents a pooling of resources, skills used take longer, but quite probably also yield rather nice results. From obtaining a mount to diverse levels of military support and making requests, the list here is pretty concise, makes sense and in-game, turns out to be working rather well. Much like characters, organizations may take feats - organization feats. A total of 15 of those are provided and my only gripe here would be that I would have loved to see this expanded much, much further. So these basic rules out of the way, let's take a look at the sample families created, shall we?



The first would be the House of Nath, which, like all organizations herein, comes with full stats and background information. This one would be a powerful criminal syndicate, appropriate for a large city or metropolis. The curious reader will also notice that no less than 4 sample NPC-builds with full stats are provided - from the lowly street-thug to the boss. While the statblocks lack the respective CRs, they do come with XP and all other relevant information. Beyond these nice builds, we also get information on the manse of the family, their signature sleep-inducing magic saps and 4 adventure hooks provide even further inspiration. While the manor's maps in full color are aesthetically perhaps not the best maps one could ask for, the sheer fact that the stronghold is mapped already is a nice bonus in my book - so kudos!



Now if you were looking for something more out there, what about the second organization, the Carnival of Air - devoted wholly to the grand game of cons. With dreamweavers, fireworks and illusions galore, this mobile organization brings something completely different to the table - once again, with fully mapped carnival's grounds, an AWESOME piece of b/w-art for the kitsune lord of the place and two damn cool signature magic items. And that's before the neat hooks. Two thumbs up ! (Even though no carnival will ever come close to my love for a certain evil one in the Scarred Lands...)



The third family is no less awesome - the "Daughters of Repose" as a secret organization of all-female assassins in service to the Deity of Death - you can't contact them, you donate and pray and hope they'll hear your prayers and end the target - especially if said target has been brought back from the dead. After all, we can't have those folk try to prolong their allotted time now, can we? Now these killer-nuns become even more awesome once you realize they can meld weapons via a new special quality with their bodies...Lethal, iconic in imagery...neat.



Now the Minders could be considered a conglomerate of academics, scholars and those embittered by those in power - all devoted to dragging the ugly, pesky secrets into the open and profit from them. Think "The Riddler", Wikileaks or just an extortion ring meets paparazzi, all combined with massive intelligentsia. Yeah, if the DM plays these guys right, the result will be nasty for the players...Have I mentioned the magical tape recorder brooch?



Now the final organization would be the Skrinn - think Warhammer's Skaven ratfolk gone full-blown sewer-drug-dealers - living in subterranean cities long buried and build over, this syndicate deserves special mention for a small array of nice traps to add to the 3-pages of dungeon levels that constitute their warrens. plus, I always liked evil ratfolk, so this is another winner for me. Add to that grappling liquid and sleep-inducing smoke and we have another neat one.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are better than in most Adamant-books I've seen so far and actually good - not much to complain on that end. Layout adheres to a 2-column b/w-standard and the b/w artworks range from stock art to beautiful pieces I haven't seen been. The maps are okay and do their job, but come sans player-friendly ones, which is a pity. The pdf has no bookmarks, which is a major comfort detriment.



Author Peter Aperlo delivers an easy-to-grasp, concise system for handling organizations, any organizations, really, herein and then trumps it with 5 awesome sample organizations full of interesting statblocks and even maps to supplement them. I...I didn't expect this, but I really, really loved this book. Sure, there could be more organization feats. (And why stop there - go for TRAITS as well - only dwarves, only elves, drug-focus etc. - the possibilities to expand the system are endless!) And what I'd give for proper synergy with the downtime-rules from Ultimate Campaign to get a full-blown organization stronghold-kit... Or for a guideline for Prestige Awards/tie-in with the request-system...



But honestly, you can make this synergy work out yourself. The organization-as-character-system is simple, easy to grasp, remains firmly in the DM's control and does not invalidate characters, but allows you to depict full-blown shadow-wars, campaigns in which powerful organizations are the adversaries of the PCs, etc. This book is surprisingly glorious. Yes, it has some glitches. No bookmarks. And overall, these formal nitpicks add up. But it's still just...awesome. Inspiring and immensely useful. Note that these rules can easily make a village, a thorp etc. a character-like entity as well!



This is one of those humble, overlooked underdog pdfs I just love - and it should have so much more exposure. While I can't rate this in the highest echelon due to formal, NOT writing/quality-issues, I still can recommend the hell out of this damn fine, cool supplement - even if you ignore the organization-creation-rules and just go for the organizations themselves, this offers ample bang for your buck due to the cool ideas, neat characters and generally iconic options these families bring toa campaign. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at an unusual 4.5 stars, rounded up to 5 and still add my seal of approval as a sign of my personal love for this beast.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Five Families: Criminal Organizations for Every Campaign World
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Modern Dispatch (#66): Superheroic Adventure Generator
by Dustin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2014 16:50:03
A fairly cost effective muse.
I have used this as a method to devise simple scenarios for my players.
It's not very intense and it will definitely require imagination on the part of the GM, but it does help create the framework for a story.

Scenarios I have created involved:

1. Saving an alien defector from space police while on the Moon (Thus limiting the PC's use of their powers).
2. Infiltrating another team who is searching for a Vampire in a crowded market; with the secret goal of helping the vampire escape.
3. Stopping a mad Occultist who runs people off the road using an 18-Wheeler which he has imbued with a fear spell.
4. Rescuing one of the PC's arch-nemesis from a haunted house after the rival botched a spell to summon a demon; things are complicated when the rival sees a way to escape by offering the heroes up in his place

There are several options, but they will require 2 d8 dice and the application of imagination.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Dispatch (#66): Superheroic Adventure Generator
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Saga: An Optional Story-Based Combat System
by patrick r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2014 22:56:33
For a book claiming to reduce all the math and complexity out of combat, it's astounding how it manages to do exactly the opposite of that. Each and every narrative combat roll is split into different stances, divided by needlessly minute factors that increase the math exponentially, and make 'narrative combat' take 5 times long as normal. The sheer amount of addition, subtraction, and division (?!) applied to a single combat roll is mind boggling.

For example, every single feat is translated into a specific bonus or mathematical application to your narrative combat, including a specific narrative phrase to accompany it. If I have to flip through a book just how every feat is operates differently to modify a single attack roll, how is that quicker than just using my normal feats? If I have to repeat a specific phrase to describe something as mundane as feat, something is seriously wrong with me and my ability to "narrate." Some combat rolls have over 5 phases to pass through before being resolved, at which point you throw up your hands and have to ask yourself "what's wrong with just a basic combat roll?? What fever addled brain could possibly think remainders from division makes combat easier???"

By far the worst purchase I've made on DriveThruRPG, and I've been using this site for over 5 years. If you want this much math to speed up your combat, just a buy a 4th grade math textbook and make everyone at the table practice their long hand division. It'd be faster than running combat using this atrocity.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Saga: An Optional Story-Based Combat System
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
by Matt J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2014 11:33:30
Thrilling Tales is the quintessential “Savage Pulp” book. Whether you’re a pulp vet or new to the genre this book has it all. The first chapter provides background on what pulp was and the genres it encompassed. This is followed by a timeline of historic events from the 1930’s to help fuel adventure or campaign ideas based on what was happening at the time.

The new edges and hindrances really fit the setting and for the most part would work in other Savage Worlds settings as well. The character types suggested in Thrilling Tales provide the framework for just about any pulp archetype you can think of.

Thrilling Tales introduces a few new mechanics to Savage Worlds which are optional but you’d be doing the setting a great injustice by not working them into your game. Examples of two of these are stunts and story declarations. A stunt is an over the top flashier and more difficult way of accomplishing an action that if successful results in bennies for the player. Story declarations allow the players to spend a benny to shape and direct small aspects of the story.

The last section I want to touch on is the adventure generator. By rolling a series of dice across a number of tables you will end up with a well plotted adventure broken down by acts and supplying everything for you from story hooks to plot twists.

I can’t say enough great things about Thrilling Tales! If you are in the least bit interested in pulp or have always been curious but didn’t know where to start this is the best book out there.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Once Upon A Time In The Far West
by Dustin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2013 00:00:00
Not a bad soundtrack overall. I definitely enjoy the whole "Far East meets Wild West" feel that Sam Billen has provided in each of these songs. My only beef is that I wish there were more tracks, especially for the price ($5.00 regular price, $1.99 sale price when I'd bought this album).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Once Upon A Time In The Far West
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ICONS Team-Up
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2013 11:03:35
This is a work of pragmatic rpg genius. Team Up essentially contains the elements of a full-fledged GM's guide writ shorthand for ICONS. ...worth the year plus delay of its release.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Team-Up
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 533 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG