RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
THRILLING TALES Advanced Class Collection One
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/23/2011 21:01:48
Adamant Entertainment's Thrilling Tales has been a top-notch pulp game for many years, whether in its d20 Modern incarnation - as in this collection - or in its current Savage Worlds incarnation. By going directly to the source material - 1930s and 1940s pulp stories, Thrilling Tales has a unique, authentic feel that "neo-pulp" approaches like the Indiana Jones movies lack. It's not afraid to shy away from the weird - period pulps emphasized action and adventure over perfectly assembled plots or deep characters.

The Advanced Class Collection assembles 8 advanced classes from the Thrilling Tales line.

The Mystery Man is a masked crimefighter, who combines combat effectiveness and investigative prowess, the Air Ace is a stunt and combat pilot, the Paragon is a unique Doc-Savage-esque near-superhero, the Mesmerist is a powerful hypnotist, the Mad Scientist, Mastermind is just what it sounds like, the Noble Savage is a Tarzan-esque master of the wilderness, and the G-Man is an investigator who also has abilities related to government backup.

Although each of these are very fun and flavorful, there's a few things to note: first, game balance is not a goal of these advanced classes. The Paragon is just better than any other advanced class out there, which is as it should be - in Doc Savage stories, he really was better than most of his compatriots. The idea is that this would be the central character of your series, and the other characters would be support characters. It's not a problem exactly, but it's something to be aware of.

If there's a weakness to the collection, it's that there's not much attention to integrating the classes into your campaign. While each of them are flavorful and interesting, it is hard to decide exactly how to use them. Some attention to how the Air Ace would fit into a campaign would especially be nice, since plenty of times characters based around vehicles or transportation have a difficult time becoming part of the action outside that transportation. While the Mastermind is mentioned as being a villain, I think it could be interesting to be a Mastermind player character - some incarnations of the Shadow are best understood this way. Developing how these classes affect gameplay would be the best way to improve this product.

In general, if, like me, you use your advanced classes as a way to make d20 Modern campaigns distinct and flavorful - even if they're not perfectly balanced - this product is for you. You might even get some good ideas for character types for your Savage Worlds Thrilling Tales game if you don't have a lot of experience with pulp archetypes.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
THRILLING TALES Advanced Class Collection One
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Far West: Amble's Map
by Andy G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2011 12:17:22
I have no complaints about this map for the upcoming Far West game. It is full of unmarked spaces in which to carve out one's own stories, and although the environment is mostly desert (as would be expected for the genre), there is still a variety of environment types such as lakes, mountains, forests and rivers. The artwork fits the Far East meets western mashup well, and the story that the map was created by a character in the game gives it a further sense of realism and allows for changes to be made later if needed; after all, he may be inaccurate or have purposefully fudged some details on the map.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Far West:  Amble's Map
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Fell Beasts: Volume Two
by Jeffrey T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2011 23:34:43
Overall, some pretty good beings, especially in concept. A few things need looking over, though: for example, the mer-octopi have an effective straight-line speed of about 200' thanks to a lack of a limit on their "jet" ability. You can certainly mine worthwhile ideas, though.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fell Beasts: Volume Two
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Blood of Freeport
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2011 08:06:50
This adventure is 28 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving 24 pages of adventure, so what's up with this Freeport adventure?

I only recently saw this particular Freeport adventure, as it somewhat has slipped beneath my radar in the 3.5-days of old. Wanting to complete my Freeport collection, I immediately bought it.

This being an adventure review, this contains SPOILERS. Potential players beware.

Set in a dastardly hot summer that has tempers across the city of adventures flare, Blood of Freeport is an unconventional adventure in both its premise and presentation: This adventure has the PCs stumble into a merchant feud between the (almost) equally depraved and hate-consumed Lotharian and Ischern merchant families, being recruited for either side (or serving as double agents) to give the family an edge in the current escalation of the conflict, which, among others, sees a double-cross involving mega-raptors as well as family-specific final encounters. While I did love this rather non-linear, open-ended approach as well as themes like a descent into alcoholism/lost honor etc., this adventure has several problems as well:

First of all, the formatting could have been better - not due to glitches, but due to the fact that the linear narrative structure has to juggle a lot of alternative situations for the PCs: Are they aligned with the Lotharians? The Ischerns? Double-agents? - All these opportunities are accosted for in a steady stream of text, making running this semi-spontaneous rather impossible, something that could have easily been accosted for by better formatting.

On a rules-side, this adventure unfortunately is also not exciting - the henchmen that provide the cannon-fodder throughout the adventure as well as the families per se are rather dull with regards to their crunch. The adventure also features no cartography, which is especially annoying as the finale(s) take place around the families' mansions and no maps are provided. Seeing that the adventure seeks to evoke a secret-agent/family-feud-theme, this lack makes running the espionage action rather hard. The adventure suggests handwaving the infiltration by forcing each PC to succeed on bluff-checks every day, which should pop out as a bad idea immediately to anyone.
Furthermore, while the families are not necessarily despicable, I found a lack of champions/special bodyguards a bit disconcerting.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are ok, while I did notice some glitches and the formatting could be better, it's not enough to qualify this as abysmal. Layout adheres to a no-frills b/w-2-column-standard and apart from the cover-artwork, the interior-artwork seems to have been reused from other/stock sources. The pdf has no bookmarks.
This adventure has me gnashing my teeth for several reasons - first of all, I love the premise and the fact that such feuds/socially-driven adventures are rather rare. However, at the same time, the plethora of options leads to a dilution in quality and crunch-wise, the adventure also falls rather short of its own premise by abandoning an inner-family-strife plot-point altogether, handwaving the central exciting action (the espionage/double agent-story) in favor of dull combats with unnamed henchmen. The climax features a masque and the lack of cartography makes unfortunately for a confusing, hard to run finale. As written, this adventure needs A LOT of work. Additionally, I couldn't shake the feeling that this was supposed to be Freeport's Romeo & Juliet (The subtitle being "love & betrayal"), but was cut down to size, as the "love"-aspect is completely absent from any NPC's motivations. Had this adventure been expanded to the 60+ pages that would have been necessary to make it work and unique with all different options, this would have been an awesome adventure indeed. As written, though, it feels like a hastily cobbled together sketch of an adventure rather than a full-blown installment worthy of Freeport. Oh yeah, campaign-specific fluff is also mostly absent from this pdf apart from some generic nods towards local flavor. While this is in no way a bad sketch, it's also far away from realizing its potential. If you're willing to invest a lot of time, you might consider this a 3-star file. For all others, this is 1.5 stars, rounded up to 2.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Blood of Freeport
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
THRILLING TALES: Omnibus Edition
by Txabier A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2011 12:22:26
Quite simple: this is the very best Pulp-inspired RPg on the market today. The engine is modified d20, but fine-tuned to the stunts and technology of the time and style. With lots of add-ons, sure, but this one really has everything you need to start a sound and fun campaign full of two-fisted action and .38 special reasoning.

I heartily recommend it for anyone seriously into Pulp, as it is one of the best researched tomes you will ever find.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
THRILLING TALES: Omnibus Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
MARS: Savage Worlds Edition
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2011 19:05:24
It's a very nice product. The setting rules are a nice addition to the Savage Worlds rules and really fit the genre.
I especially appreciated the Random adventure generator. It waves some nice plots and allows you to prepare a basic plot in minutes. Then you thrust the characters in it, and wait for the action to start. Normal GMing, just made easier.
I also really appreciated the attention to politics between Red Martian cities and other races. Obviously, these give you even more plots waiting to happen. And it's a good thing that the Earthmen aren't totally overwhelming, like they would be in an ERB books. This way, you can have a nice mixed party.
All in all, I have only good words for this product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MARS: Savage Worlds Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
UNEARTHLY: Cosmic Heroes
by David J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2011 23:02:48
Contains good advice about how to run games for Green Lanterns and Galactus Heralds or Greek and Norse gods when they're out among the stars. While reading it, I started to think about Azathoth's stats. That means it was hitting the right buttons.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
UNEARTHLY: Cosmic Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
ePublishing 101 - Collected Edition
by Brian B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2011 14:11:37
I picked this book up and it truly opened my eyes to the world of e-publishing. This is a simple pdf; it contains next to no art and its design is no frills. But what it lacks in visual coolness, it makes up in spades with content.

Point blank, if you want to e-publish -- don't hesitate to pick this up.

-Necro/TPK Games

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ePublishing 101 - Collected Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Modern Dispatch (#91): Space Opera Adventure Generator
by Alexie R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2011 21:05:01
Is five page PDF worth the price? The answer is, quite simply, yes! Astonishingly, this product is exactly what it says on the cover: a random mission generator that could be adapted for any system in space opera genre. A few dice rolls is all it takes to get a plotline and with a little bit of effort, you can make your own story seed generator using the example given. Very handy for rules-lite, minimum preparation games.

But the best part is that this PDF gives you a valuable lesson in plot structure that you wouldn't otherwise know unless you took courses in script writing. A welcome cure for writers' block.

Since I got a lot of mileage out of this product, I give it a definite A.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Dispatch (#91): Space Opera Adventure Generator
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
30 Character Motivations
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2011 06:47:17
This pdf is 12 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, leaving 10 pages of new content, so let#s take a look at it.

We have all seen it in different media: Be it comics, cinema, books or even real life: Motivations that drive us to the point of being driven, principles that can and will not be broken by the respective people and, while constraining, also provide for a tremendous boost in capabilities at the same time, enabling them to endure and draw strength from their particular idiosyncrasies. This is made especially evident in moments where conflicting values between hero and villain or pro-and antagonist collide.
Why is it, then, that these iconic moments happen not too often in RPGs? First of all, there is a disconnection between players and PCs - the first reaction in many an otherwise great round will be to do what benefits the group in contrast to what the character might usually do. While some rpg-groups (Thanks for all the great years, fellows!) manage to transcend the benefits of the group for an "authentic" character reaction, it always leaves a shallow taste, even when XP-rewards are handed out later. There just is no immediate benefit for "driven" characters that adhere to a principle or flaw.

30 character motivations sets out to change that. Being portrayed as 15 pairs of opposable concepts, their mechanics are simple: When conflicted/confronted with a situation that goes against the motivation, a special check of d20+Int or Wis-mod is rolled against a DC set by the DM (guidelines are provided, basic DC is 15) - when successful, the PC can reign in his/her/its urges and act contrary to them. Otherwise the motivation has to be acted out, though not necessarily in self-destructive ways. From loyalty to lustfulness, honorable characters and cruelty - the range covered in the short space is quite interesting and offers something for just about anyone. Each motivation also comes with objects, i.e. concrete triggers: If your family has been slaughtered by goblinoids, you might have your lust for vengeance triggered in the face of these creatures.
Mechanically, the bonuses are not to be trifled with - they offer a higher power-gain than a feat (e.g. Brave: Immune to shaken and frightened conditions, +4 against fear and despair effects and reroll a fear/despair-related save once per day), thus a GM wishing to implement the rules should definitely make sure that situations come up that trigger the motivation to the detriment of the character in order to balance the benefits. On the other hand, the system facilitates e.g. playing characters like a smart fighter or a headstrong rogue.
We also get a new feat that gives you a bonus on the check to reign in the motivation.

Conclusion:
Layout is ok and adheres to the two-column standard. Editing is fine, too and the full-color artworks are also ok. The pdf is short, thus I won't detract a star from the rating due to the lack of bookmarks - at 10 pages the file is easily maneuverable. I should note that the sub-header of the book is "New Traits for Characters", which is kind of a misnomer - this system has nothing in common with the standard traits in PFRPG. That being said, to tackle the system on its own ground, it works, is concisely written and professionally presented. However, as always with systems like that, DM-and player-discretion is advised when using the system to prevent suicidal stunts and balance issues/too frequent character deaths. My only true points of criticism for the system are that a) the motivations and their benefits are not that balanced and that some grant significantly stronger bonuses than others. GM-discretion is advised; and b) we don't get more content - while 5 bucks is not expensive, it's at the upper range of the impulse-buy range. I hope that we'll see 30 more motivations in a future supplement - the concept does lend itself to expansion. My final verdict will thus be a straight 4 stars.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
30 Character Motivations
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
30 Character Motivations
by Dark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2011 17:19:38
30 Character Motivations by Adamant Entertainment

This product is 12 pages long. It starts with a cover. (1 pages)

Introduction (2 pages)
This explains what they are, how to use them and then gives two examples. It is suggested each character only be allowed a single motivation.

Motivations (8 pages)
Each motivation has a positive and negative version of them. Both version give the character bonuses to stuff, just different things. The ones included are as follows. There is also one new feat. Controlled, grants you a bonus to go against your motivation.
Honorable / Unscrupulous
Brave / Cowardly
Concerned / Apathetic
Accepting / Contemptuous
Chaste / Lustful
Forgiving / Vengeful
Compassionate / Cruel
Dutiful / Rebellious
Just / Partisan
Generous / Avaricious
Ambivalent / Envious
Amorous / Despising
Loyal / Treacherous
Modest / Proud
Honest / Deceitful

It ends with a OGL. (1 pages)

Closing thoughts. The layout and editing are ok, the artwork is color and fair. The pages have a gray jagged torn parchment look. Which looks nice but makes it less print friendly. As for the motivations for the most part they match pretty well to what you would expect. Some I disagreed with but all and all not bad. Let me say I like the idea of this product. Now with that said I did have a few issues. One the negatives are helpful too. I kinda would have rather them have more negative aspects to them. Also they are not really balanced I thought some of them was much stronger than some of the others. The weak ones I would say is worth a feat likely. The strongest though I would say is worth three feats. Such as one of them gives you a +2 luck bonus to all saves.

So I liked the idea but felt it needs some work and I would have liked to have seen it done slightly differently. Maybe for each positive motivation you had to take a negative one to counter balance it. I think that would have been better personally. All and all it's not but a bit pricey. So if the idea interest you it is worth picking up. So what's my rating? I am going to have to give it a 3 in the end. It is a neat idea and the RPing idea's it helps provide and character fleshing out I felt was worth half a 3 star.

Trust me, I'm a Succubus.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Gangs of Freeport
by Michael T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/27/2011 20:05:18
Gangs of Freeport is an adventure for four characters of 5th to 7th level. This review contains spoilers. To identify my group’s experience with the adventure, I used the PLAYTEST tag.

In Gangs of Freeport, the PCs find themselves swept up in events as a mysterious power, making use of techniques both mystical and malign, shows signs of succeeding where others failed. The various gangs of the city work together, and the Sea Lord's Guard proves helpless to stem the rising tide of crime. Only through keen observation, determined investigation, and the judicious use of bloody violence can the characters uncover an old evil behind the threat, and take steps to put it down.

PLAYTEST: Some days, no matter how much I try to plan, things go awry. Whenever we don’t have enough players for the D&D game, my plan was to start up a D20 Modern game, which has a larger pool of players. But of course, those folks weren’t available either. So I figured I’d play D&D with the two fighters of our group. Except that Beldin’s player didn’t show up either. That left Vlad. Vlad’s something of an everyman hero, and his player Matt is an old school gamer. He likes to kill things and take their stuff. And yet, Vlad is often underestimated because he’s “just a fighter.” Vlad’s much more than that, and Matt demonstrates in this solo adventure that he can more than handle himself.

As the adventure begins, the PCs have been recruited for a simple task: escort a shipment of foreign silks and textiles from the docs to a merchant’s warehouse, clear across the Warehouse District. On the way, they come under a surprisingly well organized and orchestrated assault by gang members intent on stealing the shipment. Although the opponents are not impossibly tough, their tactics make them a threat to be reckoned with.

PLAYTEST: What made this adventure possible as a solo adventure was that the fighter had a ring of spell storing, which allowed him to cast a variety of spells (including fireball, among others) to take on multiple opponents.

Having witnessed the battle, a criminal by the name of Cristophe Cirgall, one of Bloody Jack’s lieutenants, approaches the party. He explains to the PCs that he has discovered outside influence in the gang, and was nearly murdered for failing to partake of the new narcotic. Obviously, he cannot go to the Guard, so he offers to compensate the characters if they will assist.

PLAYTEST: Instead of Cirgall, I used Finn, the leader of Finn’s Syndicate. It made Finn being beaten up and asking for help all the more pathetic.

During their investigations, the PCs likely visit a Cutthroat hideout, the Broken Mug tavern, and a capsized ship currently serving a sinister purpose. By combining the clues they obtain in those locations, the PCs can begin pointing fingers, and evidence, at those responsible.

PLAYTEST: Central to the plot is “white smoke” a narcotic that makes it easier to use mind-influencing magic on the population. This is how the gangs are slowly being taken over. I changed the drug to ghoul juice, picking up where The Consequences of Vice left off.

Commissioner Williams still cannot trust his own Guard, so it remains to the PCs to follow through. Only once they have confronted the so-called “serpent priests” in the Eastern Quarter, and captured Tillinghast himself before he escapes his hidden camp, will they truly have broken the back of the nascent guild, just as Marquetta did a century gone by.

PLAYTEST: I pulled few punches. The bad guys play to win, but they play smart, and in a few cases some unexpected things happen. I also applied rules I don’t always remember to use to the bad guys—the lack of Precise Shot when a spell caster attacks with a ray, for example. That kept things in Vlad’s favor. When Vlad faced off against Aboir, he failed – and Aboir acted as a cleaner of sorts, erasing all memory of him from Vlad and sending him after Tillinghast.

Gangs of Freeport involves redirection, drug addiction, and a lot of investigation, which makes it an interesting change of pace for the usual Freeport adventure. With a few tweaks, it can be tightly tied to the previous Freeport adventures to help the PCs bring down the criminal element while helping another one rise to the top.

Continue reading on Examiner.com: RPG review of Gangs of Freeport - National RPG | Examiner.com http://www.examiner.com/rpg-in-national/rpg-review-of-gangs--
of-freeport#ixzz1Km8sQmo4

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gangs of Freeport
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Venture 4th: Pact of Ghosts
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/26/2011 23:16:58
An interesting addition to the 4th edition game. I liked many of the powers and did not feel they were too overpowered or underpowered. I also liked the different flavor they gave to the Warlock class.
3rd party publishers of D&D4 material are at a severe disadvantage. They can't add their material to the DDi and that makes them less attractive. But if you can get past that this is a very good class build and one I plan on using in my games.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Venture 4th: Pact of Ghosts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
by Marcus B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2011 08:10:19
I never was a huge Fan of Pulp RPG but this converted me! Great inspiring book. I especially love the Adventure generator which really does inspire and delivers weird, exciting, pulpy adventures and the NPCs for it too. Great overall job!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Thrilling Tales 2e: The Malay Coins
by Samuel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2011 20:22:56
If I could give half-star ratings here, I'd probably give this a 3.5 - I like it better than the Radio Marauders but not quite as much as the Valley of Mystery or Curse of the Jade Monkey. It's good, but it feels more like a sketch or outline than a fully developed adventure. That's not necessarily a bad thing, though - as they say, it is designed in such a way as to make for easy expansion by the GM into a series of more detailed adventures, which I suspect most GMs will want to do. Again, no maps (I'm contractually obligated to complain about that ... ). There are some errors as well (e.g., Li-Ming Jade's Parry score should be 9, not 7), but nothing too serious. Recommended, but only after you get Valley and Curse.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales 2e: The Malay Coins
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 61 to 75 (of 523 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG