RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hard Boiled -City Tiles 1
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2010 02:48:23
This tile set by Empty Room Studios represents an Antique shop and a couple of houses, surrounded by streets and sidewalks. In addition, there is a complete basement complex that makes it look like some pretty nefarious things have been happening in the 'hood. The details are well done, with things like pillows, candy dishes, a rusted-out car, and the occasional statue of Cthulhu (at least from the look of it) scattered throughout the area. The setting is perfect for a gruesome murder (indeed, at least one has already apparently occurred), or a eldritch battle against things man was not meant to know. Empty Room uses the layering capability of Adobe to lay out the rooms and allow you to adjust or edit them as you like. Given all the extras thrown in at the end, you can easily redesign and "redecorate" the buildings as you like, ranging from the Beverly Hillbillies look all the way up to a fairly nice block of houses with an upscale shop. This one is a good one, with lots of flexibility.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hard Boiled -City Tiles 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hard Boiled - The Docks
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2010 02:23:55
A great product from Empty Room Studios. Basically, this provides an entire area of docks for use with your modern era city campaign. Perfect for use with crime, pulp-era, Call of Cthulhu, horror and Supers games. As always with their materials, it includes plenty of extras and a few options that you can substitute for the features on the main tiles, and, Empty Room makes use of the "layering" function of Adobe to permit you to remove items from the areas you want to print. Thus, you can vary the warehouses from building to building, simply by carefully selecting which layers you want to print. I strongly recommend playing with this feature a bit before rushing into print, but the way -- it will give you some excellent ideas for further use of the buildings! There is guidance included on how to print, where to trim, and how to attach different sections together to complete the big picture. There are also areas where other Empty Room products (such as Dungeon Tiles or Cavern Tiles) can be attached -- perfect for those attempts to recreate the docks of haunted Innsmouth! A job well done by Empty room.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hard Boiled - The Docks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hard Boiled - Apartment Set
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2010 02:18:47
A very nice apartment depiction -- allowing you to quickly integrate players into a common area for a modern setting adventure (say, Call of Cthulhu), where you might need to arrange for your players to meet quickly -- how better than an apartment building where Graduate Students at Miskatonic U can stay and get acquainted? The layouts are sensible, especially for the 1920's to early 1930's period and allow players to rapidly determine where they are, and to visualize how the action is going -- even to game it out with miniatures if you are so inclined. It also provides a likely setting for murder mystery or gumshoe style event to play out -- heck, even some of the classic "Maltese Falcon" was filmed in a simple apartment like these. All in all, a very nice addition for your modern city role-playing game. As usual the data comes in layers, so you could even have one or more of the rooms completely blank, and with the extra items provided in some of the other Empty Room City Tiles sets, you could even redecorate!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hard Boiled - Apartment Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hard Boiled: HMS Shearwater
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2010 02:03:47
Empty Room tries something very difficult here -- putting together a usable miniatures/Role Playing template for a modern steamer. There are a few glaring issues with the ship (which Empty Room admits right up front, but states were done in the interest of more playing surface) such as the lack of Smokestacks or funnels and scuppers and that sort of thing. But overall, they do succeed admirably. As usual, they've layered the data, and provided sufficient additional items that it ought to be possible to convert the Shearwater into a tramp steamer with a few accomodations cabins thrown in -- a la Indiana Jones. The ship would be very usable, especially for miniatures gun battles (anyone for the final confrontation scene from the novel, The Berkut? You could do it on this ship...). An excellent overall effort, all things considered, and one of the nicer touches is the "flip and fold" lifeboats and elevator -- which allow you to have some overturned lifeboats in the water if you are in the midst of ship-wrecking your adventurers, or to have someone gain access to the roof of the elevator if they need or want to. One minor quibble -- it's definitely NOT the HMS anything -- HMS was reserved for naval vessels in His Majesty's Service. Steamers of this sort were simply the "SS Whatever" (which is simply the abbreviation for "steam ship") and this product should probably be relabeled if Empty Room ever decides to re-issue it. I'd also suggest they consider adding in the smokestacks and funnels as at least optional items -- after all, how can Indiana Jones hide in one of the darn things if there AREN'T any?!?

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hard Boiled: HMS Shearwater
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hard Boiled - City Tiles 2
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2010 01:20:34
Another great item from Empty Room. These particular tiles will work wonderfully well to help lay out your city for any miniatures action you want. They even provide some vehicles (though admittedly they are only really useful for late 1920' to 1930's pulp action). The church is well configured for all sorts of adventuring (including the catacombs beneath the graveyard) and should work very will with your Horror or Crime or Call of Cthulhu type adventures. In addition, there are items you can use to replace the existing features within the church, or change the configuration by adding more doors and stained glass windows. There are event items which would even allow you to make it abandoned if you wanted. Plenty of "extras" are included too in the form of spare church features, sidewalk tiles, and various stretches of road and road intersections, complete with storm drains and manhole covers. All in all, this is an excellent piece of work with superior graphics which should be easily enough to reproduce. The diagrams also include trim lines so you can fit the church together on your tabletop. Overall, I have to rate this one a 5 for flexibility and all the extras! Good job, Empty Room.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hard Boiled - City Tiles 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Warriors of Mars
by H. M. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2010 10:39:26
(full disclosure: I am a freelance writer working on Adamant's MARS line, so my comments may be biased. :) )

'Warriors of Mars' is an excellent expansion for MARS. Savage Worlds excels at blending tabletop miniatures action with roleplaying adventures, and MARS as a setting is perfect for the sort of sprawling tactical battles that Savage Showdown does so well.
The Good:
'Warriors' details combat troops for all the various races in the MARS setting, and includes three tabletop battle scenarios so you can set up and play immediately. The Savage Showdown rules and a custom 'Warriors' Excel troop-builder spreadsheet are even included in the download. The artwork (primarily by Jesus Garcia Lopez) is gorgeous and very evocative. All told, 'Warriors' is a great value for the price.
The Bad:
Unfortunately, there are some spelling and grammar errors which slipped into the final product. Nothing that makes the text unreadable or the information unclear, but it is an annoyance in an otherwise fine product (and the cause of my 4-Star rating instead of the 5-Star rating I wanted to give).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warriors of Mars
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Warriors of Mars
by Andrew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2010 18:53:42
I snapped this up as soon as I saw it was released. I;m a big fan of the MARS Savage Worlds products, and this is another great addition to the line. I am already planning to build me own tripod and sky galleon! The art is fantastic... look a that cover!!!

Adamant, please, please PLEASE come out wit ha line of paper minis for this game... I beg you! PLEASE! (trifold, pretty please!)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WARPATH: Rules for Mass Combat
by Jonathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2010 21:09:19
I haven't had the chance to actually read the book yet, so I cant comment on its content. I am wanting to comment on the excellent customer service received from Adamant concerning the problems I had downloading this product. After I get the opportunity to read the book I will be back to give it a review as well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WARPATH: Rules for Mass Combat
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Horrors From Beyond 1
by William G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2010 19:15:18
Great product.

Everything it claims.
The ground tile is multi-layered with an optional 1" grid, trees, stumps, a log, bones, bloody body, arcane symbols, 2 wells, and a pond!

I look forward to seeing more in this collection. Horror, or more correctly Lovecraftian Mythos inspired creatures, are under-represented. THis product takes a good step forward to correcting that.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Horrors From Beyond 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
by Andrew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2010 19:16:13
Savage Worlds doesn't need too much help to do pulp, but this guide has some really fun supporting material, including new edges and hindrances, some alternate rules to increase the daring do, and and expanded equipment list, with black and white photos of 1930's weapons and vehicles.

It also has a great random adventure table, some sample villains, and a series of linked pulp adventures that form a complete series, "The Crimson Empire."

Since it is basically a collection of converted materials for Savage Worlds, it's a bit of a strange mix. But most of the info is useful, the new pulp rules seem to work well, and of course, it sports the cover of one of the greatest pulp games in history!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sons of Tara - a MARS One-Sheet
by Andrew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2010 19:09:17
Considering this was just a free one sheet, I wasn't expecting much. After downloading it, I was pleasantly surprised! This is a great little adventure, with memorable encounters, some neat Mars creatures, and a really cool twist! If your a Mars fan, grab it, you won't be sorry!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sons of Tara - a MARS One-Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thrilling Tales 2e: Secret Squadron Membership
by Keith G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2010 01:24:53
Its been two months since i wasted money on a Secret Squadron Membership. I can't comment on any of the Thrilling Tales material as i have yet to recieve any.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales 2e: Secret Squadron Membership
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sons of Tara - a MARS One-Sheet
by Lewis M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2010 04:19:16
A free adventure with a nice twist. What more can you ask for!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sons of Tara - a MARS One-Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thrilling Tales 2e: Secret Squadron Membership
by bruce b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2010 17:33:03
Good product. poor delivery. I paid $40 for 6 'episodes' that run $2 a piece...I'm still waiting for the rest. I guess I have to complain in public on the Savage Worlds forums to get the remaining material.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales 2e: Secret Squadron Membership
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

THRILLING TALES: Zeppelin Adventures
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2010 16:40:59
OK - This is a good product and I would like to say some good things about how good its goodness is. I bought Zepplin Adventures for $1 during a crazy sale by Adamant Entertainment. I got a real bargain. This adventure includes useable plans of a ridgid airship (which is why I bought it). WIth that, you get an adventure fit for Indiana Jones. You get spies. You get action. You get a lost island with dinosaurs. You get a dessert topping! (OK - actually no dessert topping.). There is a lot more to this product than initially meets the eye. At $7.95 I would rate it at three stars and say that your 20 Modern money could be spent here. At $1 (yes, one dollar) I was immensely pleased and I would easily give it five stars.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
THRILLING TALES: Zeppelin Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 106 to 120 (of 526 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG