RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hard Boiled - Apartment Set
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2010 02:18:47

A very nice apartment depiction -- allowing you to quickly integrate players into a common area for a modern setting adventure (say, Call of Cthulhu), where you might need to arrange for your players to meet quickly -- how better than an apartment building where Graduate Students at Miskatonic U can stay and get acquainted? The layouts are sensible, especially for the 1920's to early 1930's period and allow players to rapidly determine where they are, and to visualize how the action is going -- even to game it out with miniatures if you are so inclined. It also provides a likely setting for murder mystery or gumshoe style event to play out -- heck, even some of the classic "Maltese Falcon" was filmed in a simple apartment like these. All in all, a very nice addition for your modern city role-playing game. As usual the data comes in layers, so you could even have one or more of the rooms completely blank, and with the extra items provided in some of the other Empty Room City Tiles sets, you could even redecorate!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hard Boiled - Apartment Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hard Boiled: HMS Shearwater
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2010 02:03:47

Empty Room tries something very difficult here -- putting together a usable miniatures/Role Playing template for a modern steamer. There are a few glaring issues with the ship (which Empty Room admits right up front, but states were done in the interest of more playing surface) such as the lack of Smokestacks or funnels and scuppers and that sort of thing. But overall, they do succeed admirably. As usual, they've layered the data, and provided sufficient additional items that it ought to be possible to convert the Shearwater into a tramp steamer with a few accomodations cabins thrown in -- a la Indiana Jones. The ship would be very usable, especially for miniatures gun battles (anyone for the final confrontation scene from the novel, The Berkut? You could do it on this ship...). An excellent overall effort, all things considered, and one of the nicer touches is the "flip and fold" lifeboats and elevator -- which allow you to have some overturned lifeboats in the water if you are in the midst of ship-wrecking your adventurers, or to have someone gain access to the roof of the elevator if they need or want to. One minor quibble -- it's definitely NOT the HMS anything -- HMS was reserved for naval vessels in His Majesty's Service. Steamers of this sort were simply the "SS Whatever" (which is simply the abbreviation for "steam ship") and this product should probably be relabeled if Empty Room ever decides to re-issue it. I'd also suggest they consider adding in the smokestacks and funnels as at least optional items -- after all, how can Indiana Jones hide in one of the darn things if there AREN'T any?!?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hard Boiled: HMS Shearwater
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hard Boiled - City Tiles 2
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2010 01:20:34

Another great item from Empty Room. These particular tiles will work wonderfully well to help lay out your city for any miniatures action you want. They even provide some vehicles (though admittedly they are only really useful for late 1920' to 1930's pulp action). The church is well configured for all sorts of adventuring (including the catacombs beneath the graveyard) and should work very will with your Horror or Crime or Call of Cthulhu type adventures. In addition, there are items you can use to replace the existing features within the church, or change the configuration by adding more doors and stained glass windows. There are event items which would even allow you to make it abandoned if you wanted. Plenty of "extras" are included too in the form of spare church features, sidewalk tiles, and various stretches of road and road intersections, complete with storm drains and manhole covers. All in all, this is an excellent piece of work with superior graphics which should be easily enough to reproduce. The diagrams also include trim lines so you can fit the church together on your tabletop. Overall, I have to rate this one a 5 for flexibility and all the extras! Good job, Empty Room.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hard Boiled - City Tiles 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Warriors of Mars
by H. M. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2010 10:39:26

(full disclosure: I am a freelance writer working on Adamant's MARS line, so my comments may be biased. :) )


'Warriors of Mars' is an excellent expansion for MARS. Savage Worlds excels at blending tabletop miniatures action with roleplaying adventures, and MARS as a setting is perfect for the sort of sprawling tactical battles that Savage Showdown does so well.
The Good:
'Warriors' details combat troops for all the various races in the MARS setting, and includes three tabletop battle scenarios so you can set up and play immediately. The Savage Showdown rules and a custom 'Warriors' Excel troop-builder spreadsheet are even included in the download. The artwork (primarily by Jesus Garcia Lopez) is gorgeous and very evocative. All told, 'Warriors' is a great value for the price.
The Bad:
Unfortunately, there are some spelling and grammar errors which slipped into the final product. Nothing that makes the text unreadable or the information unclear, but it is an annoyance in an otherwise fine product (and the cause of my 4-Star rating instead of the 5-Star rating I wanted to give).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warriors of Mars
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Warriors of Mars
by Andrew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2010 18:53:42

I snapped this up as soon as I saw it was released. I;m a big fan of the MARS Savage Worlds products, and this is another great addition to the line. I am already planning to build me own tripod and sky galleon! The art is fantastic... look a that cover!!!


Adamant, please, please PLEASE come out wit ha line of paper minis for this game... I beg you! PLEASE! (trifold, pretty please!)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WARPATH: Rules for Mass Combat
by Jonathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2010 21:09:19

I haven't had the chance to actually read the book yet, so I cant comment on its content. I am wanting to comment on the excellent customer service received from Adamant concerning the problems I had downloading this product. After I get the opportunity to read the book I will be back to give it a review as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WARPATH: Rules for Mass Combat
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Horrors From Beyond 1
by William G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2010 19:15:18

Great product.


Everything it claims.
The ground tile is multi-layered with an optional 1" grid, trees, stumps, a log, bones, bloody body, arcane symbols, 2 wells, and a pond!


I look forward to seeing more in this collection. Horror, or more correctly Lovecraftian Mythos inspired creatures, are under-represented. THis product takes a good step forward to correcting that.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Horrors From Beyond 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
by Andrew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2010 19:16:13

Savage Worlds doesn't need too much help to do pulp, but this guide has some really fun supporting material, including new edges and hindrances, some alternate rules to increase the daring do, and and expanded equipment list, with black and white photos of 1930's weapons and vehicles.


It also has a great random adventure table, some sample villains, and a series of linked pulp adventures that form a complete series, "The Crimson Empire."


Since it is basically a collection of converted materials for Savage Worlds, it's a bit of a strange mix. But most of the info is useful, the new pulp rules seem to work well, and of course, it sports the cover of one of the greatest pulp games in history!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sons of Tara - a MARS One-Sheet
by Andrew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2010 19:09:17

Considering this was just a free one sheet, I wasn't expecting much. After downloading it, I was pleasantly surprised! This is a great little adventure, with memorable encounters, some neat Mars creatures, and a really cool twist! If your a Mars fan, grab it, you won't be sorry!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sons of Tara - a MARS One-Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thrilling Tales 2e: Secret Squadron Membership
by Keith G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2010 01:24:53

Its been two months since i wasted money on a Secret Squadron Membership. I can't comment on any of the Thrilling Tales material as i have yet to recieve any.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales 2e: Secret Squadron Membership
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sons of Tara - a MARS One-Sheet
by Lewis M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2010 04:19:16

A free adventure with a nice twist. What more can you ask for!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sons of Tara - a MARS One-Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thrilling Tales 2e: Secret Squadron Membership
by bruce b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2010 17:33:03

Good product. poor delivery. I paid $40 for 6 'episodes' that run $2 a piece...I'm still waiting for the rest. I guess I have to complain in public on the Savage Worlds forums to get the remaining material.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales 2e: Secret Squadron Membership
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

THRILLING TALES: Zeppelin Adventures
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2010 16:40:59

OK - This is a good product and I would like to say some good things about how good its goodness is. I bought Zepplin Adventures for $1 during a crazy sale by Adamant Entertainment. I got a real bargain. This adventure includes useable plans of a ridgid airship (which is why I bought it). WIth that, you get an adventure fit for Indiana Jones. You get spies. You get action. You get a lost island with dinosaurs. You get a dessert topping! (OK - actually no dessert topping.). There is a lot more to this product than initially meets the eye. At $7.95 I would rate it at three stars and say that your 20 Modern money could be spent here. At $1 (yes, one dollar) I was immensely pleased and I would easily give it five stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
THRILLING TALES: Zeppelin Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

THRILLING TALES - Pulp Villains: PERILS OF THE ORIENT
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2010 21:40:26

Overall, I rather liked this one. While I see the justice of some of the other reviewers' critiques, it seems to me that they were expecting an awful lot from a 40+ page supplement. It seems clear from the context of the book, that while the Oriental villain is FROM China (or at least the far east), he isn't supposed to be encountered IN China. He's here in the United States (or perhaps Great Britain) pursuing his nefarious ends, and to that end most of the material included in the supplement is highly useful, especially including the information on the Tongs and Chinatowns. The various minions and henchmen in the text take up a lot of space, but then, you would expect an Oriental mastermind to HAVE lot's of varied minions and henchmen, so again, it seems like no problem, and, while I will admit the fiction provided as an intro in the first ten pages took up a lot of space, it was well enough written that I really don't see it as a problem either.


Like the supplements on the Nazis and the Thugee, this one provides a sufficiency of information to permit you to at least establish the concept of the Fu Manchu-like villain; though if you plan to make such a villain a major part in your campaign, you'll clearly want to do a lot more research on the subjects briefly touched on in this volume -- just as you would need to with the Nazis and the Thugee. The technical detail provided gives you plenty of information to use in your search (the Wikipedia article on Mongolian Death Worms is an interesting read), as well as providing enough information to play even without exhaustive additional research. The illustrations are evocative and add to the feel of the material. As usual, DriveThru has done an excellent job reproducing the material, and the entire product was legible, readable and viewable. Overall, I have to give this one a "4."



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
THRILLING TALES - Pulp Villains: PERILS OF THE ORIENT
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

THRILLING TALES - Pulp Villains: THUGEE
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2010 18:42:43

This is actually a pretty good little sourcebook on the cult of the Thugee. This was the cult in the second of the Indiana Jones movies and the information provided herein allows you to approach the cult from several angles, depending on how you want things to play out in your universe and on what kind of campaign you're running. The history of the actual end of the Thugee is as fascinating a story as any in real history and the variations on that theme provided by this book are excellent and well thought out. Details of the cult are provided, though a more thorough treatment of the ceremonies involved in the cult might have helped play out some of those crisis moments a little more enthusiastically and "realistically" in the game.


Technical information is generally good, with descriptions of the various organizations that you might want to have your cult use, as well as various motivations for the people in charge of the cult. The NPC's provided (while not of much use to me, since I use these supplements to add to my Call of Cthulhu campaign) would clearly be very interesting to play in just about any campaign, but perhaps even more so in a campaign set in the 1890's.


There are a lot of plot hooks in this volume, and generally speaking I have to say that I felt like I got my money's worth on this one. The quality of the graphic reproduction by DriveThru meets their usual high standards, and, overall, I thought this one was pretty well done. There really weren't any big detractors for me on this one, barring the lack of information on the inner workings of the cult. While some of that may simply be unknown, I suspect that a little more research on the author's part might have brought to light all sorts of useful speculation on the part of the British authorities. Still, this one easily earns a solid "4" for its workmanlike nature and general usefulness!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
THRILLING TALES - Pulp Villains: THUGEE
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 121 to 135 (of 538 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG