RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Last Prayer of the Dying
by Charles M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2017 23:37:36

In my opinion, low level adventures are the hardest to write. In "Ther Last Prayer of the Dying", John R. Davis has come up with some brillaint solutions on how to make an adventure interesting without being overwhelming for first level player characters. Also, he gives the adventure a lot of good atmosphere. Everything you need to to launch a campaign is in this document. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Last Prayer of the Dying
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you Charles
Swords Against Chaos Part 1: Crimson Curse
by Brett S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2017 15:26:13

Crimson Curse is a fun starter adventure with an interesting problem to solve and a fun location to explore. Not the usual boring first level fare. I hope the other parts get published.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Swords Against Chaos Part 1: Crimson Curse
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi thanks. Part 2 should be out soon
The Great Game
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2016 16:20:34

My third review for the extremely fun and challenging Jack Hack line. You will need the Black Hack and the Jack Hack to use this. This supplement brings in espionage and conspiracy to the regular gutter crawl of the Jack Hack. The Sherlock Holmes movies of late come to mind most readily. This book is the most comprehensive of the three (Jack Hack, Penny Black and this pdf) in my opinion. In broad strokes it paints a political picture of the British Empire in 1888. Both at home and abroad. One could also dabble in organized crime stories with the material I imagine. Two new classes, the Mounter (informer) and Gutter Monger (reporter). The same great random tables, story suggestions and even an updated adversaries table. All the better to challenge the players. I give it 4 stars due to grammatical and spelling errors that could be easily fixed (I would give this 5 stars easily if that were to happen). In closing these are my thoughts and recommendations.

  1. Buy these games! This has been my most enjoyable foray into Victorian role playing. They are cheap, versatile (from mundane to occult to broader/deeper stories) and very innovative.
  2. I would love to see these Jack Hack books put into a compedium of sorts. At least print options for the Penny Black and the Great Game.
  3. Do some editing and correcting. It could make already great projects shine!
  4. FINISH DEAD LONDON! Seriously! The wait is killing me Mr. Davis and I am ready to throw my money at you.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Great Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Thanks. The current plan is to release a five book boxed set next year. Illustrated, edited and expanded in a number of areas.
The Penny Black
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2016 15:43:44

My second review for a Jack Hack product. This is a supplement to the supplement of the Jack Hack. You will need the Jack Hack and the Black Hack to play it. Set in Whitechapel 1888, during the infamous Jack the Ripper murders. This adds the supernatural to the regular misery that the player characters face. It facilitates stories like those of the gothic novels, penny dreadfuls (isn't that a TV show) and the occult. Made famous by such secretive orders as the Golden Dawn. It introduces a new usage die. The Purple. A Representation of the eldritch dread permeating the area. There are a lot of uses for this idea beyond just what is suggested. It also introduces a new class, the Mesmerist. A sort of medium. Again, it has useful random tables, ideas and new supernatural creatures to graft on to the regular game. I would have like to have seen some advice on how to bring arcane or divine magic into the game but that is not difficult to extrapolate. Unfortunately it continues with spelling and writing errors that keep it from a full five stars. Free is a more than generous price to an already awesome game. Keep going Mr. Davis and...finish Dead London!!!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Penny Black
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Jack Hack
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2016 14:57:44

Let me start by saying that the Black Hack has been a great addition to the OSR landscape. A ton of settings to add to a simple and versatile system. The Jack Hack is by far my favorite of those. Late Victorian roleplaying dealing mostly with the seedy, criminal side of life. You play a desperate person, fallen on hard times and barely hanging on. All this against the backdrop of the Jack the Ripper murders. The unique usage dice of the white and black help to flesh out what a character was before their fall from grace and what contributed to their fall. It is gritty, street level play and very challenging the more detail you add (just look up the Victorian era legal system and range of punishments). The random tables, use of era appropriate slang and story hooks are terrific. My quibbles are small but I feel they keep this product just great and not fantastic. This REALLY needs a some editing. Numerous typos and mistakes are distracting. Some basic information about social mores, standard prices and definitions of the said slang would be really helpful for us on the other side of the pond. Granted one could find this elsewhere but having it here in an abbreviated form would be easier. That said this product is awesome and reasonably priced. With a little more polish this would be five stars easily. Also finish Dead London...please!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Jack Hack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Penny Black
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2016 14:22:23

An add-on for The Jack Hack, from the same publisher. I can't help thinking of Bram Stoker's Dracula or Showtime's Penny Dreadful when I read through this. I love the new character classes and random tables. This will work together with the Jack Hack to let you create gothic horror games pretty much on the fly. I'll definitely be using this at our future game sessions!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Penny Black
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Jack Hack
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2016 14:13:50

A fun addition to the Black Hack family of games. If gothic horror or Victorian times are your thing you ought to check it out. The game has a neat mechanic, the White Die and the Black Die, for reflecting the outer respectability and inner torment of so many characters in this genre, from Dr.Jekyll to Sherlock Holmes. Plus there are a lot of great tables to help inspire your Whitechapel adventures. And you can't beat the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Jack Hack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your positive review. John
The Hex Hack- A Sandbox Campaign
by Christopher W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2016 06:31:34

Not rules to run a sandbox hexcrawl with The Black Hack, like I was hoping for. Instead, it's a very nice homage to a classic sandbox the author remembers fondly. Seems like the kind of thing where you could sit down with some players who have no idea what they're doing or where to go, and just start rolling on tables. It's very focused on the "enchanted forest" style setting. If you'd like to start rolling with this theme, go for it! If you're looking for more structure to lend to a Black Hack game you're already planning, this might not be for you. Lots of heart went into this production, it shows.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Hex Hack- A Sandbox Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Christopher. Thanks for your comments & review. I did contemplate a more structured way to run a sandbox but decided to just have lots of content, and stuff for the GM/Players to deal with. John
The Jack Hack
by Simon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2016 08:08:48

Jack Hack is a fantastic little product. Full to the brim of handy tables of events, items, happening and people you can meet in the seedy underbelly of Victorian London during the time of Jack the Ripper. Althought the subject is dark, Jack Hack injects some humour into it All this allows you to jump right and run a game on the Fly.
Good work Mr Davis, I can wait for your next project.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Jack Hack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Thanks. Look out for a free file coming soon called the \'Penny Black\'. It adds a few supernatural elements to the Jack Hack. being free it doesn\'t even cost a penny! John
The Danger At Darkwater
by Jeremy G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2016 13:20:01

A great little dungeon delve for starting characters. For $1 it's well worth a punt.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Danger At Darkwater
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG