RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Initiative Cards (Free)
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2011 16:12:44
This was a brilliant idea and a must have for any d20 3.X GM. There is also a version for d20 Modern.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initiative Cards (Free)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Pathfinder Initiative Cards Encounter Cards: Set 1 (Low-Level Dungeon)
by Helen L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2011 17:34:19
As a new GM running my first campaign, these cards are incredibly helpful. They are clear, easy to use, and definitely worth more than the tiny price! I can pull the cards that I am planning to use for the session and have them at-hand, so the players don't get the helpful clue of me paging through the bestiary and start warming up for an attack.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pathfinder Initiative Cards Encounter Cards: Set 1 (Low-Level Dungeon)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Come for the Reaping
by Michael T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/30/2011 06:26:17
When I first started this campaign, my original promise was to deliver a game filled with zombies. It took nearly 40 sessions to finally deliver on that promise.

I combined this scenario with Delta Green: Countdown's Dead Letter. My primary issue with Dead Letter was that it provided a host of details without a clear plot to follow. It's entirely possible to conduct a raid without encountering any zombies whatsoever (a crying shame!) or the Karotechia. So I of course manipulated the plot to ensure both Reinhard Galt, the Neo-Nazi cannibal, released the Sapphire pathogen just as the agents arrived, ensuring zombies of all types.

I used the mansion (along with its secret lab) from Come for the Reaping to flesh out the one in Dead Letter, which wasn't nearly as detailed. The placement of the zombies, their attire, and what key cards worked in what location were invaluable.

What I didn't plan on was the forethought of the players, who so energized the plot with their role-playing that they convinced Fiona Lin-Wei, an irritating hippy activist and one-note NPC, into a full-blown radical eco-terrorist. She became far more important than I ever imagined, and suddenly the entire campaign revolved around her: Hammer's relationship with her, Archive's Elder Sign, and the very future itself.

The only thing more shocking thing than delightful turn of events was how close this scenario mirrored the plot of the new Terminator movie. We all went to see it afterwards, and the similarities are eerie: the protagonist meets an exotic woman of mixed Asian/European descent and teams up with her, special forces raid a processing plant, encounter mindless humanoid killing machines, and finally a heavily accented and indestructible Austrian stalks our hero through a dangerous industrial site.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Come for the Reaping
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Initiative Cards (Free)
by Michael T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/27/2011 06:22:32
Sometimes it's the simple things that make the best accessories. These initiative cards answer the age old question that's bedeviled gamers for as long as games have existed: Who's turn is it?

The cards are much more useful than just determining initiative. There are monster cards, character cards, and end of round cards for concluding effects. All of the cards are editable in Adobe.

The character cards cover class, race, level, AC, all the d20 attributes and saves, speed, vision, select skills useful in hiding and spotting, languages, and special notes. The monster cards are similar but more open-ended, with space for attacks, open-ended skills, and a scratch area for hit points.

The cards all have a spot in the top right for initiative. The game master records initiative on each card, shuffles the deck accordingly, and then cycles through the cards and each opponents' actions. Since there's limited space to fill in initiative, it's likely game masters will be printing multiple sheets of these for each character and each encounter.

This concept – cards as a critical accessory to role-playing games – is so intuitive that it eventually became a proper part of Dungeons & Dragons 4th Edition. These cards can also be used for a variety of D20 games that use similar statistics. And best of all, it's free!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initiative Cards (Free)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Initiative Cards (Free)
by Andy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2010 17:21:25
Fantastic cards! They're roughly system-independent, even though they were designed to work with 3rd Edition OGL. They work with 4th Edition D&D as well, though. In fact, these are easily on par with the cards made by the 4th Edition Character Builder, but more flexible, allowing for DMs and players to write in their own values. And it's free--who can complain?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Initiative Cards (Free)
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/24/2009 12:49:31
Facts:

1 - Everyone needs initiative cards, even if you don't think you do.

2 - These are great initiative cards.

3 - They are free.

Conclusion: You are dumb if you don't download these initiative cards.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Initiative Cards (Free)
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2009 08:40:22
This item set the standard for our campaign on how to track not only initiative, but also tracking monster information.
The only down side was when the monster got it, if you were using the card to track HP, you had to pull it out of the initiative stack to record it and sometimes it went back into the wrong spot.
This was only replaced by the Paizo Magnetic initiative board several years later.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Initiative Cards (Free)
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2009 13:56:03
These are the best 3.x initiative cards I have found. I use them in all my face to face 3.5 games. I think they are the best because the designers managed to find the right trade off between the size of the information boxes and trying to get the biggest area for each box.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Initiative Cards (Free)
by Chadd D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2009 04:20:37
Good

Initiative Cards are one of the greatest rpg tools I've ever seen, they streamline combat and make the gm's job easier by providing a tool to make tracking combat simpler, I've tried using spread sheets to track games to no avail., but the card are simple and easy to use.

Bad

I wish they made them for more then just D20 based systems.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Modern Organizations: Crime and Punishment
by Louis P. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2008 02:18:45
Interesting and somewhat useful if you don't know anything about criminal organizations and how they work. If you already know that you might want to pass on this one.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Organizations: Crime and Punishment
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Initiative Cards (Free)
by DeWayne W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2008 20:38:09
Thought this would solve a problem but they didn't

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Initiative Cards (Free)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Initiative Cards (Free)
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2008 01:09:05
Its free. Why bother reading a review? I threw them away because I had them confused with another product, and I don't use the system they were for, but they were FREE, so no harm done.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Temple Quarter: A City Quarters Sourcebook
by Malcolm M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2008 18:23:09
A top-quality product with one significant flaw.

Temple Quarter: A City Quarters Sourcebook is well-made, with good art, layout, and maps -- the same as every other recent Game Mechanics game product I've seen. WotC game designer JD Wiker does the writing here, and his professional skill definitely shows through.

The biggest problem I had with the product? I didn't realize when I bought it that this "sourcebook" is more accurately a _setting_ book. You're buying a specific Temple Quarter, with specific fantasy deities, that are all part of a specific fantasy city -- the city of Liberty. Even the major maps are pre-marked as "Liberty".

Certainly, an ambitious GM could tinker with the content to make it mesh more with his or her home campaign -- but this would be rather like genericizing Greyhawk, Ptolus, Waterdeep, Freeport, or Stormreach content. If you strip out these deities, and the temple story-elements which surround them, you're also stripping out a lot of the unique content that you paid money for ...

So, it's an excellent product, but the product title can be a bit misleading. This is not so much a general-use sourcebook for _your_ fantasy cities; rather, it's a close-up view of the Temple Quarter of an _existing_ fantasy city named Liberty.

All in all, a good product, provided you know in advance what you're actually buying.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Temple Quarter: A City Quarters Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Initiative Cards (Free)
by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2008 10:27:18
This is such a simple idea, and presented so simply and beautifully! I know I get frustrated trying to keep track of all the NPCs, monsters, and summoned critters running around. These cards are the perfect little tool to solve that problem. These are one of those things you can't imagine how you ran your game without them.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initiative Cards (Free)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Modern Player's Companion, Volume One
by alan d. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2008 16:15:38
So, it's been a LONG time since I bought this, but I finally realized I never put a review together. Sure, d20 Modern may be dead to some of you, but to the rest of us, we believe it is still alive, as long as the core rules are available.

That said, Modern Player's Companion is for many d20 Modern players already considered 'core.'

This product is, without question, one of the best supplements to come out for d20 Modern. It is used on nearly every tabletop. It has just the right amount of additional classes and equipment to take off any campaign that doesn't get enough out of the core rulebook.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Player's Companion, Volume One
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 242 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG