RPGNow.com
Browse
Free Stuff











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Ninth Eye
by Evan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2017 12:10:55

I bought this primarily to see a good example of how a 7th Sea adventure is constructed, and that's what I got! The theme is not really in line with what I want for my games, but I thought it was well-written and useful for my purposes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ninth Eye
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Big Book of Little Games
by Kristopher R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2017 00:15:03

My only complaint is it does not include Dragon: A little game for little dragons. Yes that game was kind of incomplete and uses the same system as Cat. But I still think Dragon is the best game John Wick ever made! Putting thatt gripe aside, the Big Book of Little Games delivers. I own the Flux and while the art is different, the content is the same. The text has a cleaner look. The Pdf has no book marks you you have to scroll and can't just jump to the game you want. But All the content is crisp black and white and seems printer freindly. Also some of the games seem to be able to mix and match together. Worth the price unless you already have all these games seperately.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Big Book of Little Games
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Meretrices of Magdelene
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2017 21:34:20

A secret society of little guys looking out for the other little guys - that's kind of neat. It's a good concept that I wish had been expanded on more. Here are some things I'd like to see expanded on:

  • A description of what the Meretrices think of the various Nations and Secret Societies as well as possible conflicts and alliances.
  • Some fun plot hooks to draw heroes into the story outside of the earning and spending favor that can help me link the organization into my campaigns, and
  • An NPC or two that I can introduce to my Heroes so I don't need to just make something from the ground up.


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Meretrices of Magdelene
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sweet Jenny
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2017 20:21:20

Wow. I was not expecting to find so much in this fun little resoure. I haven't had a chance to play the game itself yet, but just from reading throug the rules look like a solid game in itself, but what's REALLY neat about this resource is how it fits Sweet Jenny the card game into somethng that Heroes can play AND unlike a lot of little games within games lke this it has rules to make Heroes just outright awesome. You want a casino royal-esq scene where against all odds the Hero manages to come out on top? There are rules that allow players to make moves and manipulate play in a way to make that happen so that you can literally emulate your Hero being a card shark even if you - the player - are just okay at it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sweet Jenny
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eldritch High: A Little Game about Wizards, Witches and Warlocks
by Caroline G. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2017 06:47:39

This is a very poorly put together system. The idea behind it is interesting. But the result that is this pdf file, is horrible. The whole booklet is poorly written and confusing. Stuff only being mentioned one time. And things being mentioned by several different names so you have to guess that they mean the same. There's also funktions that don't have any meaning in the game like fudge. Could never find out when or what that's for.

Almost impossible to make the characters you want as well unless you either want a jack of all trades wizard or a skillful fighter. Cause of the restriction to classes.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Eldritch High: A Little Game about Wizards, Witches and Warlocks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

7th Sea: Nations of Théah, Volume 1
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2017 19:15:28

The material covered in this book could have and should have been included in the core book. The content is far too "thin". While the material attempts to answer overall excluded content questions from the core book, it still feels very incomplete; and that there are two volumes priced separately just feels like a money grab.

I want information about playing a role playing game based on a good, solid setting, not a "The Once and Future King" retelling (T.H. White did a better job of telling that story). Overall, this lackluster book feels like a disjointed tall tale instead of role-play material. Headings, subheadings, basic paragraphs and bullet points. That's what you're buying. Rules? Stats? Solid Content? Nope.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Nations of Théah, Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

7th Sea: Compendium
by Chris T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2017 16:12:05

I bought this because I saw it on ForeverVerse. I looks cool. I haven't used it yet but WOOO! Pirates!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

7th Sea: Nations of Théah, Volume 2
by Tim F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2017 13:21:39

Great read! Adds a lot of much needed backpround information to the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Nations of Théah, Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Devil's Due
by Seth W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2017 15:10:22

A helpful resource for pirate adventures. Almost a must have if you plan to use The Devil Jonah as an important element in your campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Devil's Due
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vergogne - City of Romance
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2017 13:02:57

Okay, first off, the pictures that Andrew selected for this that are not from the free resources from DriveThruRPG are spot-on perfect.

Much of the product is devoted to the fleshing out of Vergogne, both its history and how being Theah's romance capital affects day-to-day life for the residents and travelers. I have to say, this is a very interesting setting, and could be easily used as a focal point for a campaign, even if the Heroes are not currently in the romance market themselves. The bit on local festivals and people of interest provides some great story hooks for GMs to build a Story around.

In terms of game mechanics, there's very little in the way of crunch to be had, which is perfectly fine. Andrew did update his work on fashion from the 1e web supplement Noblesse Oblige, discussing the basics of how clothing is worn in Theah, who generally sets the fashion trends, as well as a breakdown of the different articles of clothing worn by men and women and the degrees of quality for such garments. If you're playing a courtier or a noble, or just plan on not making a fool of yourself in high society, this is a pretty useful section, with the mechanical bits kept to a minimum.

Also of use given the supplement's theme is a discussion on employing romance in your games, including a number of does and don'ts that can be helpful to a GM in deciding just how much romantic elements they want to incorporate into their games and where the lines should be drawn for the benefit of all those at the gaming table.

The supplement ends with a rundown of the traditional Vaticine wedding ceremony and then a handful of plot hooks centering around Vergogne, any one of which can make for an entertaining adventure, with Making Matches being my favorite of the lot just due to the potential for hilarity and hijinks to ensue, especially if one or more of the Heroes are not the sort to attend polite social gatherings, or favor a more "earthy" approach to romance.

All in all, this is a fun supplement, offering up a very intriguing setting for adventures to take place in and opportunities galore for socially-adept Heroes to get into mischeif. This one is definitely worth grabbing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vergogne - City of Romance
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hearts and Harlots
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2017 11:25:43

So first off, this is pretty much an update of the old Jenny's Guild web supplement from first edition, pertaining to the Vendel League, both authored by Andrew Peregrine. And while it doesn't get into the sordid details of the Jenny's Guild, it does cover quite a bit of the Guild's history and how the Guild operates as a business entity. It certainly does provide a bit more detail on what the life of a Hero with the Jenny Background might have been like, especially depending on which Nation they originated from, such as what particular fashion trend they might have employed during the course of their "work," to say nothing of citing what roles men and children would have within the Guild, with it being made very clear that children are kept as far away from "the work" as humanly possible. It also discusses how the Jenny's Guild represents itself in each Nation, with Vodacce pretty much outlawing it due to the Guild's ties to the Vendal League, to how in Castille the patrons are more likely there to attend an exciting dance (vertical!) show than to avail themselves of the more salacious offerings, to how different each of the three kingdoms of the Glamour Isles view the Jenny's trade.

There's not a whole lot in terms of new mechanical crunch, limited to a handful of Advantages that lend themselves towards the Jenny's trade and a New Story Option. There's also a brief bit focused on broadening the usage of the Tempt skill as pertains to "the work." There's also an option to have the Jenny's Guild operate in a manner similar to a Secret Society, including ways to gain and spend Favor with Jenny's Girls. Following that is a breakdown on how a player might go about creating a brothel for their Hero by means of the Brothel Owner Advantage. About the one thing that was possibily missing was a new Background option or two with regards to the Jenny's Guild, such as Madame (offering a rank or two of the Brothel Owner Advantage). The supplement ends on a series of potential Story Hooks, none of which require any of the Heroes to themselves be associated with the Jenny's Guild.

Overall, if you're looking for new mechanical benefits, this won't be of much use. On the other hand, if you as a player or as a GM are looking to expand upon the Jenny's Guild and its members in a campaign, this is an invaluable resource to have.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hearts and Harlots
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Nation: Lustain
by Joshua S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2017 15:48:49

Really enjoying this so far. I'm most excited about Eidhorer, because I feel like it will allow me to play the game in an entirely different way. I'm a much more out of combat player, and Eidhorer offers a LOT of opportunities to expand on that part of 7th Sea. The Jeger fighting style seems pretty unique as well. I'm not big into combat, but I appreciate the image of someone fighting with a crossbow in one hand. The nation feels pretty well fleshed out too. I never found myself wondering X about Lustain. Everything seemed devoloped enough that aspects not explicitly written out came naturally. Definitely looking forward to using it in play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nation: Lustain
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

7th Sea: Nations of Théah, Volume 1
by Mat G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2017 20:57:48

208 pages is simply not enough space to properly cover six nations. Avalon suffers from the design choice not to recognize that Inismore and the Highland Marches should receive suitable representation in the book. Lumping them in with the Avalon section just doesn't work with the page count allotted to them.

Inismore receives three pages of dedicated space. The Marches gets about four. Rather than being fleshed-out, these islands are merely paraphrased.

If the Glamour Isles is not a big selling point to you, then perhaps you'll find this book a worthwhile purchase as it is more forgiving to the sections covering Castille, Montaigne, and Vesten. Still, when compared to the Nations books from 1st Edition or to the wonderful Pirate Nations book released for 2nd Edition, this is just too thin on content for me to recommend.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Nations of Théah, Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Schauermarchen by John Wick
by Antonio G. I. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2017 22:42:42

This game is dangerous. It is filled with bits and pieces of story and fear and hands you just enough to gain a sense of hope. But the true horror of the game is less in what is already in the book, and more in what the players will end up doing to each other or to the other children in the story to survive.

Schauermarchen is a masterful work that invites the group to trust in each other to tell a tale of horror and despair and yet gives you just enough tools to make you believe there is a way to get home in the end. Highly recommended especially for groups that are searching for a zero-prep horror experience.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Schauermarchen by John Wick
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tarnished Iron
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2017 16:09:42

Not bad, as it does put Dracheneisen items in the hands of beginning Heroes and plays to the 1st edition approach that Dracheneisen was the purview of Eisen's nobles rather than being doled out by a secret society like it is in 2nd edition. I'm not entirely sold on the two Dracheneisen-related Advantages both being Signature Item on an IV of Red Bull; thinking if that if I do allow this, I'll probably strip the Signature Item benefits save the "spend a HP to recover if lost" and make Heir to Iron a 4pt advantage and adding a 1pt Advantage to the Iron Heir background. Speaking of the two new Backgrounds, they're both very solid in terms of Skill ranks provided (very Eisen) and the Quirks, though I feel that Iron Heir is the more interesting of the two in that respect.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tarnished Iron
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 234 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG