RPGNow.com
Browse
Free Stuff











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Nation: Lustain
by Joshua S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2017 15:48:49

Really enjoying this so far. I'm most excited about Eidhorer, because I feel like it will allow me to play the game in an entirely different way. I'm a much more out of combat player, and Eidhorer offers a LOT of opportunities to expand on that part of 7th Sea. The Jeger fighting style seems pretty unique as well. I'm not big into combat, but I appreciate the image of someone fighting with a crossbow in one hand. The nation feels pretty well fleshed out too. I never found myself wondering X about Lustain. Everything seemed devoloped enough that aspects not explicitly written out came naturally. Definitely looking forward to using it in play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nation: Lustain
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

7th Sea: Nations of Théah, Volume 1
by Mat G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2017 20:57:48

208 pages is simply not enough space to properly cover six nations. Avalon suffers from the design choice not to recognize that Inismore and the Highland Marches should receive suitable representation in the book. Lumping them in with the Avalon section just doesn't work with the page count allotted to them.

Inismore receives three pages of dedicated space. The Marches gets about four. Rather than being fleshed-out, these islands are merely paraphrased.

If the Glamour Isles is not a big selling point to you, then perhaps you'll find this book a worthwhile purchase as it is more forgiving to the sections covering Castille, Montaigne, and Vesten. Still, when compared to the Nations books from 1st Edition or to the wonderful Pirate Nations book released for 2nd Edition, this is just too thin on content for me to recommend.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Nations of Théah, Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Schauermarchen by John Wick
by Antonio G. I. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2017 22:42:42

This game is dangerous. It is filled with bits and pieces of story and fear and hands you just enough to gain a sense of hope. But the true horror of the game is less in what is already in the book, and more in what the players will end up doing to each other or to the other children in the story to survive.

Schauermarchen is a masterful work that invites the group to trust in each other to tell a tale of horror and despair and yet gives you just enough tools to make you believe there is a way to get home in the end. Highly recommended especially for groups that are searching for a zero-prep horror experience.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Schauermarchen by John Wick
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tarnished Iron
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2017 16:09:42

Not bad, as it does put Dracheneisen items in the hands of beginning Heroes and plays to the 1st edition approach that Dracheneisen was the purview of Eisen's nobles rather than being doled out by a secret society like it is in 2nd edition. I'm not entirely sold on the two Dracheneisen-related Advantages both being Signature Item on an IV of Red Bull; thinking if that if I do allow this, I'll probably strip the Signature Item benefits save the "spend a HP to recover if lost" and make Heir to Iron a 4pt advantage and adding a 1pt Advantage to the Iron Heir background. Speaking of the two new Backgrounds, they're both very solid in terms of Skill ranks provided (very Eisen) and the Quirks, though I feel that Iron Heir is the more interesting of the two in that respect.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tarnished Iron
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Dark Journal - Part 2
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2017 16:00:24

Again, another Eisen-centric supplement, which by default makes it something of a mixed bag. Unlike the prior volume, Part 2 goes straight for the horror with monsters that can't really be fought, seeing as how they're based upon various types of infections. Unless your Heroes have knowingly signed on for a game that is very high on the horror and less so on the over-the-top heroics of most 7th Sea games, these monsters may not be very welcome additions to a GM's campaign. Sadly, the two new Monstrous qualities are nothing to write home about, as one is just an extension of what Fear from the core rulebook already does and the other reads as just an unfair way for a GM to pile extra dice into a Monster's role instead of spending Danger Points.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Dark Journal - Part 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Dark Journal
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2017 15:54:08

This is quite useful for a campaign set in Eisen or is going to be heavy on monster-hunting, as it does offer some interesting takes on vampires that have little to do with the classic stereotypes. There are a number of new Monstrous qualities of varying quality and usefulness, with Nightmarish perhaps being the most worrisome for Heroes given how it can make the number needed to make skyrocket to the point that a player will be lucky to make more than a single Raise while Cowardly seems better suited as something left to playing the monster than a mechanical trait, that or rework it so that it's something the players can take advantage of rather than something that almost completely benefits the monster.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Dark Journal
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

High Price of Love
by Charlie B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2017 21:19:52

This one shot adventure is great for experienced players and GMs or those just beginning to set foot in the world of Theah and RPGs in general. The author provides enough information to allow for a multitude of different approaches from the players and leaves room for players and GM's to really make the story their own. One of the best pre-written games I have had the pleasure of ever playing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High Price of Love
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Razor Sharp Dalliance
by Christophe T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2017 04:19:03

Great product. I would have liked Nera and Janelle in Heroes & Villains format.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Razor Sharp Dalliance
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wilderness of Mirrors 002 Edition
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2017 14:59:20

The game has promise, but for a second editon its horribly edited. There are references to old terminology from the first edition that make no sense in the newer version, and some rules are very unclear, again likely owning to poor editing between versions. It looks like fun, but if this had been a Pay What You Want Game, I'm not not sure I would have paid even the $3 it cost



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderness of Mirrors 002 Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Wine List
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2017 11:17:50

Of the Explorer Society PDFs released thus far, this is probably my favorite. While I understand the reasons it's set to be free, I'd have gladly paid a couple of bucks for this.

Short version, it's a look at alcohol consumption in the various nations of Theah, and Andrew (the author) gives a lot of solid information on the types of libations served in each nation, covering not only what each of the major nations drink but also their traditions while drinking.

There's also a number of fun adventure hooks tucked away in here, such as Heroes' efforts to earn themselves a prized bottle of Chateau Soliel du Montaigne, or to perhaps track down one of the increasingly rare Vodacce-made bottles of 'Montaigne du Falisci.' Or perhaps put their liver to the test by claiming to be of Inish descent in an Inish village as a means of making allies, or simply unwinding at Castille's annual La Fiesta de Borachos (which can provide a good reason why any Castillian male Hero might drink in moderation).

Given that most Heroes tend to be amidst the social elite (even if on the lower rungs), they'd probably know a thing or three about their native nation's drinks and drinking customs, and with a price tag of free this simply is too good to pass up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Wine List
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sweet Jenny
by William L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2017 12:32:21

As one of the testers for this game within a game, I have to say that it's a blast. It's fun, flavorful, and full of opportunities to screw over your friends. We've played quite a few games of this and enjoyed it so much that for a couple meetups players requested to play this instead of 7th Sea because it was so much fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sweet Jenny
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

At Sword's Point
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2017 12:10:12

Okay, not really a formal review, but thought I'd weigh in on this one since I'd been working on something similar a while back.

In short, if you're one of those that think that Duelists are horribly unbalanced, this PDF is not going to improve your opinion one bit.

It starts off with a rundown of duelist weapons, breaking the corebooks tenet of all weapons are equal by handing out a myriad of screwy bonuses if your Hero rolls a 10 during a Risk using a specific weapon. This adds extra complications for minimal benefit, breakign the "less is more" vibe the core rules have going for them. About the only useful thing with this section is that it provides a nice clarification of what constitutes a Fencing weapon vs. a Heavy weapon, and I'll be completely ignoring the various mechanical effects of using different weapons; if I want that kind of granularity with weapon selection, I'll go play D&D. On the upside, at least it's not handing out damage bonuses, but it does little for those folks that feel that Heroes who choose to use Brawling or weapons other than swords are arleady getting the short end of the stick.

Next we get to Duelist Academy Techniques. Most of these boil down to one of two categories: Either a slight tweak of an existing style bonus (generally by swapping the Traits/Skills used) or something that requires a Hero Point to trigger; those tend to be very powerful, especially if the player knows their GM will be handing out Hero Points on a steady basis. There's a handful of fairly original style bonuses, but some of those are so laughably bad that the only reason to take that particular style is purely for role-playing purposes. There are a couple gems, but those are far and few between.

So in summary, this one's very much a mixed bag in terms of overall value. The purchase price is 3 bucks, but frankly this feels like it should have been a dollar in terms of actual usefulness and originality of the material provided. Frankly, unless you really have a mad-on for Duelists or are running an all-Duelist campaign, I'd say skip this one entirely or wait until there's a sale and you can get it at a deeply discounted price.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
At Sword's Point
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

High Price of Love
by Prof Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2017 20:24:11

An excellent two session story designed for a group that hates staying on the rails. Descriptive language; interesting plot, and no rails. There are alternate plot points, events, and characters for just about anything your players can think up. Whether your friends want a combat-filled adventure or decide to work from the shadows or at court this adventure is already prepared with events and characters and plot points.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High Price of Love
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Marc S. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2017 20:53:25

Some context first: I never player first edition so I cannot compare it with the old material (no fanboy resistance), and I backed the kickstarter.

Now, my impressions:

After reading it for the first time, my mind wasn't able to assimilate the game system. I liked a lot because it's simplicity and because it was narrative oriented, but the change of paradigm was so strong that I didn't assumed it. It was like seeing a Lamborgini Diablo and having its keys... wow, what a car but... uuuh... will I be able to drive it?? How?? I was very afraid to use the system to my players, and also I was afraid to not knowing how to use it as a game master and doing it bad.

I also disliked the lack of equipment and description of weapons, armors and tools of the setting. I had to search what a zweihander was, and seeked videos in how it is used. I think items have a personality, too, and that may affect the story. I dind't know how to manage it.

Until two weekends ago, when I played a one shot demo as a player... and I enjoyed it a lot. I was playing an Inismore Bard trying to make his friend a reputated hero... and it was the character I enjoyed the most of all characters I ever played. EVER.

So I game mastered that same adventure to a pair of friends, with pregenerated sheets: an Eisen Krieger and the Inismore Bard. I was afraid, and I warned them that the game would be a strong change of paradigm (they are players used to Rolemaster and Dungeons and Dragons).

The result was fantastic. They enjoyed a lot the game. When oportunities were first introduced, a player asked me "wait, you're telling me I can decide what happens in the scene? Seriously?". I told them "well, if it is appropiate with the story and the narrative, yes, you can". He was overjoyed, and used it to make the narrative very interesting.

They enjoyed also the combat system. When they saw that narrating what they heroes did to overcome the brute squads gave them extra dice, they enjoyed explaining the movements of their heroes... and surprisingly, they kept on doing so forgetting to claim me the extra dice: they simply were inmersed in the narrative.

I found myself comfortable with the system, with less weight in my shoulders, rules and narrative speaking, and it was easier for me to keep the story on.

When I asked the players their impressions, they insisted in how they liked feeling part of the story, to participate in the narrative and can decide events in a scene and not only reacting at what the GM throw them. They also liked narrating themselves what they heroes did and how. They asked me for another session. They want to keep playing the adventure and the game. Yay!! ^^

Now the fear is gone. The change of paradign is still there, but I am re-reading the rules and I understand them a lot more now. And the equipment? Well, the Eisen player wore a plate armor on the chest, a panzerhand and a family shield that used to narrate how his Eisen Krieger bashed some brutes to the sea... and he didn't care that there were no rules for the shield nor the armor. And me, neither.

So, I reccomend it? It depends. Want to play simulationist? Forget this game. Want crunch? Forget this game. Want tons of pages describing how to rule everything? Forget this game. You hate FATE-like systems? Run away from this game, now.

You want light rules and share the weight of the narrative with the players? Take it. Want to be narrative? Take it. Don't care about initiave modifiers and damage reductions and calculations about how difficult is to be hitted? Take it. Do you see your players as your heroes? Take it. Do you want a system that helps to focus on the history with rules oriented on helping you instead of slowing the pace of the story? Take it.

You are warned: you will love it or you will hate it. If you remember that there is a BIG change of paradigm, things will be easier.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wield
by Kenneth S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2017 22:26:13

I picked this up because it sounded like Bloodlust, which was a French game I'd heard about where the PCs were intelligent weapons and other players were the characters using them. So Wield has that same basic concept and some fun suggestions for items and character creation. It's a nice looking book too. It doesn't really have a setting. No bestiary or equipment lists or NPCs or maps... or anything. Beyond the concept of the Vatcha it's just an outline of some simple mechanics... simple to the point that I wonder if the authors' goal was rules-lite or work-lite. I'm not so fond of it's combat system... it feels like something from a kid's party game and is very 'meta'. Overall, it was worth the purchase for some grand ideas... but I think I'll be using the Vatcha in a different system, probably some flavor of BRP. Now... If I could just find a copy of Bloodlust in English...



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wield
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 223 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG