RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Narrow Results
Simpli-6 Zombies!
Simpli-6 Zombies!
Pay What You Want











Back
Savage Worlds Deluxe: Explorer's Edition $29.99 $9.99
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
5 7
2 0
1 0
0 0
0 0
Savage Worlds Deluxe: Explorer\'s Edition
Click to view
Savage Worlds Deluxe: Explorer's Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/12/2015 02:01:36

http://www.teilzeithelden.de/2015/11/12/rezension-savage-worlds-deluxe-wilde-welten-kommen-nicht-in-die-jahre/

Savage Worlds hat dieses Jahr das erste Dutzend Jahre vollgemacht und scheint sich ungebrochener Beliebtheit zu erfreuen. Dieses Jahr hat sich auch ein Regelupdate eingeschlichen, das den Spielfluss im Kampf beschleunigen soll. Anlass genug für uns, die aktuelle Version nochmals kurz vorzustellen.

Rezension: Savage Worlds Deluxe – Wilde Welten kommen nicht in die Jahre!

Dieser Text bezieht sich auf die englische Ausgabe der Savage Worlds Deluxe: Explorer's Edition, die im zweiten Halbjahr 2015 aktuell ist. Eine weitere Kennzeichnung der Version nimmt Pinnacle trotz vorhandener Änderungen nicht vor.

Savage Worlds (kurz: SaWo) ist jetzt schon seit vielen Jahren fest in der Spieleszene etabliert. Obwohl der Hype sich inzwischen hin zu FATE und dann weiter zu den Varianten von Apocalypse World verlagert hat, erscheinen weiter neue Produkte und Settings, sowohl von Pinnacle selbst als auch unter Lizenz. An Vielfalt möglicher Spielwelten ist SaWo jedenfalls kaum zu überbieten, egal ob es nun Fantasy wie in Fritz Leibers Lankhmar ist, eine Mischung aus Krieg und Lovecraft-Horror wie bei Achtung! Cthulhu, die neu erschienene Reihe Savage Tales of Horror, eine fiktive Renaissance mit Untoten wie in Ultima Forsan oder viktorianischer Steampunk à la Space 1889: Red Sands – die Bandbreite ist wirklich beeindruckend.

Im aktuellen PDF der Savage Worlds Deluxe: Explorer's Edition sind im übrigen alle Errata und das aktuelle Regelupdate bereits mit eingearbeitet.

Universalsystem mit Anpassungen

Den meisten, und sicherlich den besten, Savage-Worlds-Settings ist gemeinsam, dass sie den Regelkern oft nur geringfügig erweitern. Die Basisregeln werden hierbei zumeist um einige Talente, Handicaps und Setting-Regeln ergänzt. Mit relativ wenig Leseaufwand und Regelstudium ist ein SL darum in der Lage, Charaktere für ein neues Setting zu erstellen und mit seiner Gruppe loszulegen.

Für die typischen Subgenres orientieren sich viele Settings auch an den von Pinnacle veröffentlichten Companions bzw. fasst Pinnacle dort etabliert genretypische Regeln zusammen – so entsteht wiederum eine gewisse Einheitlichkeit. Solche Companions gibt es für Fantasy, Science-Fiction, Horror und Superheldengeschichten.

Im Regelfall braucht es zwischen ein und vier Büchern, um ein Setting zu bespielen. Das Grundregelwerk wird immer benötigt. Settings sind manchmal als Einzelbände erhältlich und manchmal in einen Spieler- und Spielleiterband aufgeteilt. Gelegentlich referenziert ein Setting auch noch Regeln aus einem Companion. Deadlands Reloaded erfordert zum Beispiel das Grundregelwerk, den Player's Guide und das Marshal's Handbook;diese drei Bänder überlappen sich inhaltlich nicht. Bei den Abenteuerbänden Savage Tales of Horror wird hingegen auf das Grundregelwerk und (zumindest im Buch selbst) den Savage Worlds Horror Companion verwiesen. Mit Settingband und Grundregelwerk kann man aber in den meisten Fällen losspielen.

Was übrigens die deutsche und englische Ausgabe unterscheidet, ist, dass Prometheus oft alte Regeln als Optionalregeln im Buch belassen hat. Die englische Ausgabe schreitet hingegen ungeniert ohne Blick zurück fort.

Fast, Furious, Fun

Savage Worlds ist mit relativ wenig Regeldetails gut zu beschreiben, auch wenn es Zusatzregeln für viele Situationen gibt. Alle Attribute und Skills sind mit den Würfeln beschrieben, mit denen sie auszuführen sind. Man hat also zum Beispiel einen W8 in Stärke oder einen W6 in Schießen. Bei Proben ist in der Regel die 4 die Zielzahl. Manchmal gilt eine andere Zielzahl (zum Beispiel im Nahkampf die Parade) und oft gibt es einen Modifikator auf den Wurf selbst, der direkt auf den Wurf aufgeschlagen wird.

Hierbei gilt, dass Würfel „explodieren“ – wirft man die höchste Augenzahl auf einem Würfel, dann darf man diesen Würfel erneut würfeln und das einzelnen Ergebnisse zusammenrechnen, gegebenenfalls auch mehrmals. Dadurch sind in der Theorie beliebig hohe Ergebnisse möglich, in der Praxis liegt der Erwartungswert eines Würfelwurfs bei explodierenden Würfeln etwas höher. Die explodierenden Würfel führen aber zu einem Restrisiko, das immer wieder mal zu Instant Kills führt – sei es bei Erzbösewichten im Showdown oder bei SC. Das gehört zum Spielgefühl bei SaWo einfach dazu und unterscheidet es von leichter abschätzbaren Systemen wie der Trefferpunkterechnerei bei Dungeons & Dragons.

Zu Beginn jeder Spielsitzung hat jeder Spieler bereits Bennies, eine Spielwährung, mit der man sich das Wiederholen von Würfen erkaufen kann. Man kann sich damit auch den Versuch erkaufen, Schaden abzuwenden, anstatt ihn hinzunehmen. Stets entscheiden aber weiterhin die Würfel. Die SC gelten als besonders begabte Individuen, als Wild Cards. Im Gegensatz zu für die Handlung weniger relevanten Extras dürfen Wild Cards einen Würfel mehr werfen, den Wild Die. Das ist in der Regel ein W6, und das bessere Ergebnis gilt. Doch Vorsicht – auch der SL hat Bennies und Erzschurken sind auch Wild Cards. Eines bleibt jedoch den Spielern vorbehalten: Sie können sich durch gutes Rollenspiel und das Ausspielen von Nachteilen weitere Bennies verdienen. Dies kann auch im Kampf geschehen und das Ergebnis entscheidend beeinflussen.

Im Gegensatz zu anderen Spielen verwendet SaWo keine Trefferpunkte. Ein SC kann bis zu drei Wunden hinnehmen, bei der vierten kippt er aus den Latschen. Die Wunden unterscheiden sich aber von regulären Trefferpunkten dadurch, dass jede Wunde auch zu Abzügen auf alle Würfe führt. Damit dreht sich das Kampfglück bereits, wenn man durch Wunden bedingt immer schlechtere Wurfergebnisse einfährt.

Systemspezifische Besonderheiten

Einen Sonderzustand namens „angeschlagen“ gibt es auch: Man hat noch keine Wunde einstecken müssen, ist aber desorientiert. Erst durch das Ausgeben eines Bennies oder das Schaffen eines Wurfs kann man diesen Zustand wieder verlassen. Hierbei wurden die Regeln entscheidend entschärft und der Spielfluss beschleunigt. Früher konnte ein SC im Zustand „angeschlagen“ relativ lange steckenbleiben, jetzt reicht ein einfacher Wurf gegen die Zielzahl 4, um wieder handlungsfähig zu werden. Damit können die Kampfteilnehmer in relativ kurzer Zeit und meist ohne Verbrauch von Bennies wieder am Geschehen teilnehmen und wenn man sich den Zustand des Gegners zunutze machen will, muss man schnell schalten und Aktionen gut koordinieren und kombinieren, denn ein angeschlagener Gegner ist leichter zu verwunden. Eine Regeloptimierung, die übrigens erst 2015 in die Standardregeln übernommen wurde, aber sicher dem Spiel-Motto „Fast, Furious, Fun!“ deutlich näher kommt.

Damit ist die ursprüngliche SaWo-Design-Prämisse „Up, Down, or Off the Table“ endgültig erfüllt: Auf dem Spielplan bildet die Miniatur den Zustand der Spielfigur direkt ab. Stehend („up“) bedeutet, dass sie handlungsfähig ist. Liegend („down“), dass sie „angeschlagen“ und vorübergehend handlungsunfähig ist. Wird die Spielfigur durch Wunden völlig handlungsunfähig gemacht, wird sie vom Spielplan genommen („off the table“). Den alten, impliziten Zustand „angeschlagen, aber erst in der nächsten Runde handlungsfähig“ gibt es nicht mehr – damit kann schon auf dem Tisch das Wichtigste ohne weitere Hilfsmittel im Blick behalten werden.

Eine andere Besonderheit ist das Abwickeln der Initiative durch Pokerkarten. Für alle an einem Kampf Beteiligten werden Karten vom Stapel gezogen und die höchsten Werte (oder Farben) agieren zuerst (oder auf Wunsch verzögert). Eine besondere Rolle kommt hierbei den beiden Jokern zu: Sie bringen dem Spieler ein +2 auf seine Würfe in dieser Runde und in manchen Settings noch weitere Vorteile. Spielkarten werden auch in anderen Regelsituationen wie Verfolgungsjagden, Herausforderungen unter Zeitdruck oder beim Bestimmen von Zufallsbegegnungen eingesetzt.

Individuelle Charaktere mit wenig Aufwand

Savage Worlds kommt mit fünf Attributen und knapp zwei Dutzend Skills sehr gut zurecht. Es gibt in der Regel nur die drei Kampfskills Schießen, Kämpfen und Werfen. Das mag relativ grob erscheinen, hat sich aber in der Praxis bewährt.

Individualisiert werden Charaktere über Talente und Handicaps. Talente sind regeltechnische Vorteile, Handicaps ebensolche Nachteile oder Macken, die es auszuspielen gilt. Und diese Macken sind wichtig, denn für ihr Ausspielen gibt es die überlebenswichtigen Bennies! Pro Spielsitzung gibt es zwischen 1 und 3 Erfahrungspunkte und je 5 XP darf ein SC sich ein neues Talent oder andere Verbesserungen kaufen. Es gibt also in der Regel alle zwei Spielsitzungen etwas zu verbessern. Zusätzlich steigen die Charaktere alle 20 XP einen Rang auf und können dann mächtigere Talente erwerben, bis sie lebende Legenden sind. Aber auch lebende Legenden haben in SaWo nur drei Wunden, bevor sie tief in der Bredouille sind, ein Restrisiko bleibt stets.

Es wird immer wieder mal behauptet, SaWo-Charaktere wären sich zu ähnlich. Zu wenig Variationen der Spielwerte und Klassen gibt es schließlich auch keine. Aber aus der Spielpraxis heraus kann ich nur sagen, dass das nicht richtig ist. Die Kombinationen von Attributen, Fertigkeiten, Talenten und Handicaps (und manchmal auch Rasse) zusammen mit dem individuellen Rollenspiel erzeugen immer neue Variationen selbst über die eigentlichen Werte hinaus. SaWo mag ein Universalsystem sein, aber mit minimalem Aufwand verstehen es gute Autoren sehr wohl, das System nie generisch wirken zu lassen.

Einem geübten SL geht ein SC sicher in einer Viertelstunde von der Hand. Bei neuen Spielern dauert es deutlich länger. Aber selbst gesteigerte Charaktere höherer Ränge bauen sich im Schnitt deutlich schneller als in anderen Systemen wie zum Beispiel Pathfinder. Der elegante Regelkern macht's möglich.

Fazit

Savage Worlds hat über die Jahre für mich nichts an seinem Reiz verloren. Mal schnell ein eigenes Setting oder ein Abenteuer ohne ausgearbeitete Welt zusammenbauen? Mit SaWo und den Companions kein Problem. Es gibt haufenweise One Sheets (Abenteuer, die auf ein Blatt Papier passen) zum Herunterladen oder Kaufen, so dass man mit minimaler Vorbereitung losspielen kann. Es existieren viele interessante Settings und auch Abenteuerbände.

Was mir auch immer Freude bereitet, sind die Reaktionen der Spieler. Der Jubel, wenn ein Würfel besonders hoch explodiert – oder der Schrecken, wenn dies dem SL glückt. Am Spieltisch hat SaWo eigentlich immer gezündet, und wenn man es, wie ich, ohne Bodenplan spielt, oft auch mit minimalem Aufwand. Spieler scheinen sich auch nach längeren Pausen wieder ohne Mühe in die Regeln einzufinden.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Deluxe: Explorer's Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Jason F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2014 08:34:34

Die-hard, (ancient) Dungeons and Dragons 2nd Edition fanatic here.

That said, I bought and learned (and taught my preteen children) Cubicle Seven's Doctor Who relatively simplistic RPG in 2013 . Savage Worlds is incredibly similar to this mechanism (enough to where I am assuming at this point that Cubicle Seven was HEAVILY influenced by this product, but I could be wrong), and once I obtain their "Space 1889" (of which I have been a huge fan for over 25 years), I plan on spreading the good word, so to speak.

I believe that this system is a must-have for RPG aficionados, especially for those who are looking for a rules system that provides an incredible range of flexibility for the Game Master - story telling versus rules lawyering.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Deluxe: Explorer's Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Heath D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/24/2014 17:17:11

Having already owned the hard copy of this, I saw the sale you had and snapped up a digital copy for use on my chrome book where I use roll20.net to manage my campaigns. Ever since a friend of mine introduced me to this system, I have been hooked. I now use this system pretty much exclusively.

The PDF quality is good. No scanning errors detected.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Deluxe: Explorer's Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Keith (. T. A. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 09/14/2013 14:16:11

A Deluxe treatment of the Savage Worlds Core rules brings a few new elements without alienating the throngs of Savages that hold their SW Explorer's Editions as the best RPG they've ever bought. Or, at least the best value and definitively lives up to it's Fast, Furious, and Fun pulpy play goodness.

Those that have the original Savage Worlds Hardbound will notice that we're seeing the evolution of a game system that has gone from the 146 page hardbound that was a fun alternative to d20 (d20 conversion guide included), to the 160 page (and famously $10) Explorers Edition and now back to a hardbound Deluxe Edition. I believe everyone can admit that the SW:EX form factor took SW from established indie/fringe to something every gamer and podcast has talked about for the past few years. I grinned and chuckled to myself as I made my weekly game store visit many months ago and saw the DnD 4e "Essentials" format books. I thought "Oh, how the mighty have fallen!" In a way, it's one of the nicest compliments Pinnacle could have received. WOTC's 4e Gamma World rules were also in SWEX sized format but proved that the right size with crap rules is still a poor combination. That's another rant for another time. Recently, I've seen Troll Lord's 3 book, smaller than SWEX, Castles and Crusades "Digest" set that has gone a bit too far. But, you get the point, the market has changed and Pinnacle was a driver to a new and better way.

The covers of the 3 SW editions tell an evolving story. We see it visually. Originally SW is carved in stone and with the Deluxe Edition's SW logo - it's embossed gold. But for those of us who loved DnD in it's primitive days have learned, really great art doesn't a great system make, but it helps.

First Blush: Great Art. Cover: newish logo with multiple genres telling the story. Full page ads for Pinnacle settings between the Intro and Chapter 1: Character Creation that capture the different genres nicely. The Ripper's ad with it's hunter sporting wolverine-like claws confronting a Promethean monstrosity rocks! Lots of full page great looking art sprinkled throughout. Design Notes - as you could guess, it's a paragraph that focuses on an aspect of the game that the designers want to emphasize. Good insight from the creators! GUTS are gone! - out of the core rules and into setting rules that need it. Makes sense. Dramatic Tasks - adds a mechanic for when a hero is in a dramatic situation and needs to perform a task to save the day under a tight time restriction. This mechanic or element adds to the feel of the pressure. New Setting Rules - ie "Blood & Guts: Characters can spend Bennies on damage rolls! Use this rule when you really want to up the carnage." Also, Born A Hero, Critical Failures, Fanatics, and Gritty Damage.... are some other examples. Gritty Damage sounds ALOT like the styles found in Reality Blurs: Realms of Cthulhu. Interesting! There are quite a few new ideas here that can really add a new feel to the very same adventures you've played. Interludes - essentially using character down-time to add to character development. A simple mechanic that involves the GM picking a character and that player picks a card (Clubs-tragedy, Spades-Victory, Hearts-Love, and Diamonds-Desire). The player then tells the tale of the type chosen (tragedy, love, etc..). Assuming a moving or entertaining tale is told, a reward is given of a Benny or Adventure Card chosen by the player. GM section - The Countdown - (a Design Note) put a limit or sense of urgency to limit those that are taking too long to make decision of what to do next. Not to be overused. Fun new One-Sheet adventures While not exhaustive, I think you'll agree there's quite a bit of good new stuff to add to our Savage Worlds adventures. I didn't get the feeling that the system suddenly changed but just had some additional mechanics that can add to the fun...and some stress! I think I'll go start prepping some stories for an interlude.

Here's a much longer list of features by a current GM for our 1930's Pulp Campaign, John Riggs who dug through the Pinnacle forums for this compilation:

CHANGES

  • Guts skill removed from core rules (but mentioned as a possible setting rule)

  • Driving is now a free action unless the character is performing a maneuver

  • Leadership Edges can be used on Wild Cards

  • Background Edges can be taken after character creation

  • Double Barrel Shotgun slightly tweaked in how it works

  • A Shaken while on Hold loses Hold Status

  • Shaken results now merely limit the character to free actions (instead of no actions) and do not halve the character's Pace

  • new Incapacitation table (including some "Bleeding Out" rules)

  • Healing can now only be attempted on each individual's fresh wounds once in the "Golden Hour." (Plus an attempt to revive if the target is Incapacitated.) They can't cause an additional wound through rolling a 1 or less however.

  • area effect attacks now get an extra 1d6 damage for a raise (like most attacks)

  • prone defenders may no longer rise to defend themselves automatically (it requires an action and takes 2" of movement)

  • new Chase rules (also, the Climb stat for aircraft works differently in this context)

  • tweaks to some powers (e.g., the Bolt power can be used for multiple bolts, or one increased damage bolt, but not both at once)

ADDITIONS

designer notes (explanations and reflections on the rules by the PEG folks) archetypes (character templates that let you create NPCs easily on the fly, or allow new players to jump right in) example Races (e.g., elf, dwarf, android, etc.) race creation rules (similar to those found in the Fantasy Companion or Slipstream) clarified rules on common knowledge v. specific knowledge Knowledge: Language rules about 20 new Edges (including some new combat and leadership edges) many more vehicles included in the gear section (more similar to the old hardback SW rules than SW:EX) some notes for playing without miniatures, including how to approximate area templates without a battle map rules for Improvised Weapons rules for Push (which can be used to push, shield bash, or knock someone prone) rules for Rapid Attack (basically three attacks in one round, all at a penalty) rules for Firing Blind rules for Social Conflicts rules for Dramatic Tasks (basically performing tasks with a time limit - e.g., diffusing a bomb) rules for Interludes (sort of like little "flashback" scenarios for in between major parts of the plot) a section on common Setting Rules (e.g., the Guts skill, gritty damage, etc.) inclusion of a bunch of new powers (including many from from the Fantasy Companion) inclusion of power trapping rules Combat Ratings (notes on balancing and scaling combat encounters) several one-sheet adventures a character sheet

This is truly one of the best values in gaming. I played for two years in the core rule book before every buying a supplement. If you like rapid-fire combat and intuitive rules, Savage Worlds is the system for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Deluxe: Explorer's Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by David S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2013 12:08:24

Very well written, clean, concise, to the point, with just the right amount of fluff. The design notes really help to get a better understanding of why rules were created the way the were.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Deluxe: Explorer's Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/20/2012 01:04:25

WHAT WORKS: The minis combat works much smoother than I could ever have dreamed. I used to hate minis until SW, and now I’m a convert. I love the middle ground between character customization and Too Much Work. The optional rules and third party support have made Savage Worlds incredibly versatile over the years.

WHAT DOESN’T WORK: I don’t like Power Points. Easily my least favorite part of the system. Some of the selected art in the book is pixilated, marring an otherwise gorgeous book. The Powers have come a long way, but there are times where I find them lacking, even with Trappings. I much prefer the Dramatic Interludes Pinnacle released with Zombie Run over the Interludes that made it into these rules.

CONCLUSION: Savage Worlds is my favorite RPG ever and the best RPG purchase I have ever made. I have used it to run a supers game, two Deadlands campaigns, Solomon Kane (with a single support PC who was seamlessly controlling a party of NPCs), a one shot horror game and a homebrew fantasy game, and I don’t think I have ever not had a blast. Early on in my Necessary Evil game, we had a combat with 29 figures on the map, and it ran as smoothly as any combat I have ever ran…pretty sure that was the point where I fell in love with the game.

Even as a Deadlands fan I prefer the new, Savage Worlds-powered Reloaded version, because combat is faster and smoother, NPCs are quicker and easier to make and the additional material that has been released since Reloaded came out has restored a lot of the missing "flavor" that people complained about with the new version.

I’ve bought the corebook twice (both the “regular” Explorer’s Edition and the Deluxe) and own a ton of books in print and PDF. It’s not a perfect system and it’s not the best system for EVERYTHING, but it does a LOT of things really well (more than it gets credit for, in my opinion). And, in my view, the Deluxe Edition is just a fantastic version of the rules, as I always love more options. There is a reason I am a Savage Worlds fanboy: It’s because I enjoy it more than any other RPG I have ever played.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2012/10/tommys-take-on-savage-worlds-deluxe.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Deluxe: Explorer's Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 09/26/2012 15:03:31

While on vacation recently, I stopped by a game store and found the print version of the Savage Worlds Deluxe Explorer’s Edition. I picked it up and read through it and was amazed at the quality it contained. This book is an amazing value at just $10.

I’ve played Savage Worlds before and have read the old Explorer’s Edition extensively. The rules in the Deluxe version are not a great departure from what was in the previous book. The basics are all there and there have been some minor tweaks to the system. The most notable change was the elimination of the Guts skill from the core rules, which I think is a great move.

The thing that stands out to me the most from this book are the Situational Rules. There was a section in the old book with the same name, but the section stands out so much more in Deluxe. I think part of it has to do with the development notes that are strewn throughout the entire book. And there are now rules for social conflict! Woo!

All in all, this is a wonderful product, and it’s so freakin’ gorgeous! The value you get is worth way more than the $10 that you’re spending. If you dig Savage Worlds, you really can’t be without this book. And, if you’ve never played Savage Worlds, this book is the perfect entry for you. All the rules to play any kind of game you want, at the tip of your fingers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 7 (of 7 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG