RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Watchtower
Publisher: Mystic Mountain Productions
by Randy F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2016 14:50:06

Hi! OldSchoolDM here from cardboard-warriors.proboards.com - and I just finished building this model.


This is the best model yet from Mystic Mountains Productions because it is/has:


Versitile: I has a completely playable interior (with removable front for access to all FIVE detailed floors!
Storage: It folds mosly flat and stores in it's own custom box!
Clever: Jerry continues to innovate in fold-flat construction techniques and design - the final assembled model is surprisingly sturdy given that the walls are not glued to each other.
Cutfiles: If you have a silhoutte brand paper cutter, you can print and cut the 15 pages of pieces in just a minutes, which helps a lot as this model takes about 2-3x time to build (there's a tradeoff for interiors and fold-flat.)


I'll upload a comment with links to my photos at the end of September, as this model will be part of my 2016 Papercuts award entry and I don't want to spoil my entry until after the voting is over.


If you want to use minis inside and out of your watchtower, this is one of the few available right-out-of-the-box. Get it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Watchtower
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Casalan Tavern
Publisher: Mystic Mountain Productions
by Randy F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2015 02:39:28

I had the honor of making the cutfiles that are now distributed with this model.


See my build pictures here: http://cardboard-
-warriors.proboards.com/thread/7371/cutfiles-casalan-tavern--
mountain-productions


This is the largest and most detailed fold-flat paper model I've seen. The all-new textures a great and really pop.
There are two stages to building this model now: Creating (cutting, edging, and gluing) the mostly sections and glue-free assembly then eventual disassembly for storage - which can be in a box built from the template supplied!


I can't no overstate how important storage space is to me. I have dozens of buildings, and if I had to find storage space for them all it would take up the better part of a room. Having this large city-corner-sized tavern store in a book-sized box was the key to me buying it and building it. Now I can store it on shelf with other boxed ready-to-assemble kits until I need it!


Very attractive AND innovative, and space efficient.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Casalan Tavern
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vault
Publisher: Mystic Mountain Productions
by Randy F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2015 21:37:18

I built this model, made cutfiles for it, and kitbashed an interior for it. See photos and get the files here: http://cardboard-warriors-
.proboards.com/thread/7232/cutfiles-kitbash-vault-mmp-interi-
or


The fold-flat feature of this model is the best of any model I've built to date. It is strong and self-reinforcing. I'm quite impressed. Now I can store it in a much smaller space until I need it on my table.
As always, this provider produces top-quality textures and ultra-clean geometry. Of course, creating strong tab-slots takes more time than just gluing the building together, but it's certainly worth it.


The reason I built the interior is that the design made it so easy - since the removing the roof is a feature of it's fold-flatness. I just printed the floor with all tiles, and then insert my kitbashed wall-pieces before assembling the building. Bam - playable interior!


Every kit I build from them gets better and better - I'm starting to wonder if constant improvement could be sustainable. Even if it's not, the current quality is best-of-breed, so I'll keep buying and building.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vault
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Village Well - Demo Set.
Publisher: MiniLab Models
by Randy F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2015 14:21:57

This is not your simple box-model - expect to spend some time on it. But I think the results are worth it!


And, I got to play with fire! (Burning the paperclip for the metal parts...) :-)


The well itself is only 1" square, making it smaller than other's I built, but the attention to detail (and the very good instructions) make the piece.


And it's pay-what-you want. What else can you ask for? And now there are cutfiles (see comments)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Village Well - Demo Set.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Arabian Market
Publisher: DramaScape
by Randy F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2015 18:44:48

I printed this out on 8 13x19 sheets of paper and used it as the base for my 3D paperterrain buildout of a market in Sigil. It was a wonderful template for placing market stalls as well as providing perfect ground texture for my table.


Check out the photos in this post: https://the-forsite-irregulars.obsi-
dianportal.com/adventure-log/lost-in-sigil



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arabian Market
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Marauder Ship Paper Model
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Randy F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2015 03:06:25

This is a great mid-sized ship model that is significantly easier to build then many of the popular larger models sold here - it's only 7 pages of parts, and about 3/4 of one page worth is crates. :-)


A big part of that is how low the model sits "in the water"...


My build photos and access to cutter files is here: http://cardboard-warrio-
rs.proboards.com/thread/6759/cutfiles-marauder-ship-graffam--
models



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Marauder Ship Paper Model
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

RAVENFELL: Expansion Set 1
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Randy F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2014 02:59:24

I have limited storage space, so I got the Ravenfell set to replace some of my older stiff-box buildings. When I saw this expansion contained a 3-level, fold-flat Magic Shop with Interior, I HAD to build it right away.
See http://fatdragongames.proboards.co-
m/thread/3170/magic-shop-ravenfell-expansion
for fotos of my build, and build notes - which are handy tips if you're going full-fold-flat-with-interiors.


Lots of character, built very quickly, has interiors, folds flat, and fits in with my existing collection. What's not to like?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RAVENFELL: Expansion Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Elemental Shrine
Publisher: Mystic Mountain Productions
by Randy F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2014 02:53:56

I love building fantasy terrain, but don't have a lot of storage space, so I very rarely build models that I can't modify to fold-flat. This shrine is a wonderful exception! Please see the pictures of my build here:
http://cardboard-
-warriors.proboards.com/thread/6520/elemental-shrine-mystic--
mountain-productions


Though this is NOT for beginners (there are many small and hard-to-access glue tabs and precise alignment is required for a clean build) the result is definitely worth the extra effort. If you have a Silhoutte cutter, I highly recommend using it for this model.


I'm going to use my shrine as part of my D&D campaign, where my players are about to go Planar!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elemental Shrine
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Battlemap - Merchant's Guild
Publisher: Mystic Mountain Productions
by Randy F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2014 21:59:36

This battle map is a perfect fit for it's companion 3D model: The Merchant's Guild see -
http://www.rpgnow.com/product/128698/Merchants-Guild

-

I even used it as the interior floor of a special modified version of this building and it fit perfectly. If you're interested in the 3D kitbash I did, look for my review of the Merchant's Guild building itself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap - Merchant's Guild
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Merchant's Guild
Publisher: Mystic Mountain Productions
by Randy F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2014 21:37:45

Besides being richly textured and having loads of texture-options, it has an amazing amount of character.


So much so, I chose to spend a lot of extra time on mine, pimping it out with an interior and translucent windows. http://cardboard-warrior-
s.proboards.com/thread/6246/evening-adventures-guild-ninjad--
loot


People liked that so much, they gave it the 2014 Papercuts Award for Papercraft in Action!


If you're interested in how I did it, see: http://cardboard-warrior-
s.proboards.com/thread/5948/merchants-guild-interior-kitbash-
-wip


But you don't have to do all this work to make one for yourself - as supplied it is still awesome. (Well, you could still do the translucent windows, that's pretty easy and turns out awesome with a tea-light or two.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Merchant's Guild
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Endless Miniatures - Heroes Volume 1
Publisher: Nemo Works
by Randy F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2014 01:17:23

Incredibly expressive minis from a new designer. More



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Endless Miniatures - Heroes Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eledriel's Cloister - Paper Model
Publisher: Lord Zsezse Works
by Randy F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2014 01:42:45

As always, LZZ's textures are second to none - and this free model works in concert with their kickstarter model to make either a well, cloister, or a special level wrapper on one of their elvent towers!


https://www.kickstarter.com/pr-
ojects/236515712/elven-papercraft-tower-and-wall-set



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eledriel's Cloister - Paper Model
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Meadow Fences and Walls
Publisher: MiniLab Models
by Randy F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/14/2014 00:20:49

I build a lot of paper terrain, but these models are a step above. They take more time to build than the simple boxes I'm used to (and quite satisfied with) - but the extra work provides for an amazing piece of terrain.


You can see pix of my build of just the wicker fence here: ht-
tp://cardboard-warriors.proboards.com/post/58555



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Meadow Fences and Walls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cabin PSD Files
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Randy F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2014 12:27:05

Thanks to the PSD files for the Cabin (a kit I'd built previously) I was able to re-purpose textures (mostly floors) to kitbash the Rustic Cabin kits...


http://cardboard-warriors.proboard-
s.com/thread/5662/dgms-rustic-cabins-kitbash


Selecting the appropriate layers, and arranging the pieces in a different way was all I needed to make a version that had playable interiors, and stored fold-flat.


Please continue to release more PSD versions of your kits!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cabin PSD Files
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rustic Cabins Set #1 PSD Files
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Randy F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2014 12:25:08

Having the PSD versions of this file might seem like overkill for such a simple model, but it allowed me to build my own version of this kit:


http://cardboard-warriors.proboard-
s.com/thread/5662/dgms-rustic-cabins-kitbash


Selecting the appropriate layers, and arranging the pieces in a different way was all I needed to make a version that had playable interiors, and stored fold-flat.


Please continue to release more PSD versions of your kits!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rustic Cabins Set #1 PSD Files
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 32 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG